View Full Version : Rangers, Protestantism and Scottish society

EuanH78
16-07-2012, 09:56 PM
Interesting one this. Think I'll just throw it in here and skulk away

http://therangersstandard.co.uk/index.php/articles/rfc-politics/136-rangers-protestantism-and-scottish-society

By Harry Reid

Earlier this year, when I realised how serious the Rangers crisis was, I suggested to a couple Church of Scotland ministers I know – both ardent Rangers fans – that they might set up an organisation called “Revs for Rangers”. My approach might have been officious, but it was well intended: I thought there was a need for some moral leadership. Or if not leadership, guidance from people representing the best of what might be called the Protestant tradition. I wasn’t suggesting a search for divine intervention: just a considered input from men of standing in the community who had a genuine love for the club and an understanding of its history.

Perhaps inevitably, the idea never got off the ground. But I still cannot find, in all that has happened since, anything that represents what I still think of as the robust strength and decency of Scottish Protestantism.

I am a Glaswegian and a member of the Church of Scotland. I come from what might be called solid Protestant stock. My mother’s father and grandfather were both doctors in Dennistoun. My father’s family were small businessmen on the south side of the city. But my family moved to Aberdeen when I was four and I became an Aberdeen supporter when I was in my early teens, round about 1961 or 1962. Much later, when I returned to Glasgow to work, I got to know many people – most of them either colleagues, or professional people I came into contact with – who were committed Rangers supporters. Some of them became good friends. I also became aware of the vast pool of business, commercial, financial, legal and media expertise that exists among the Rangers- supporting community in Glasgow and its environs.

What has surprised me most in the current sad saga is that this large and decent constituency does not seem to have been mobilised. Indeed it has vanished, almost as if it never existed.

Even before Mr Whyte appeared on the scene I wrote a piece for the Herald saying that the one –man, one owner model was surely outdated. I don’t want to boast , but with some prescience I suggested that after the David Murray era Rangers would be much better seeking a wider ownership model, instead of investing all hope in one supposedly wealthy and visionary owner who would somehow emerge as the saviour of the club. I was not suggesting fans’ ownership on the exact lines of what has worked well in Spain and Germany, but something similar.

My reasoning was that there are so many credible and able Rangers supporters who are successful in their working lives. They have considerable clout in professions such as accountancy and the law. Others are successful and respected businessmen. A few of them are seriously wealthy. All of them know how the world works; by far the majority of them are people of probity and experience.

There was certainly a big enough pool of expertise for some of them to form a committee or working party to draw up a proposal for a fans’takeover, with a tiered ownership,

I followed this up, some months later, with a similar piece for the Sunday Herald. It was almost a plea for Rangers supporters with business financial and legal expertise to pull together and chart a way forward. Well, this never happened, as we all know. Some folk told me I was being naïve. I don’t think so. It is a real mystery to me why so many sincere Rangers people, with a lot to offer the club in its time of terminal crisis, did not step up to the plate. Instead we had plenty of demonstrations, a lot of raucous name calling and finger pointing, attacks on the media and goodness knows what else. A huge amount of hot air, but little concerted effort actually to do something, to get together to organise a constructive, credible plan. Whatever happened to the work ethic?

And that takes me on to Protestantism. Here we step onto very delicate ground, very sensitive territory. But I was always aware in my youth that there was an understanding that Protestants, at their best, were supposed to be strong, resourceful, steadfast, enterprising people – just the kind who would be good in a crisis, The implication, although it was never spelt out, was that there was in the Protestant community something that might have been lacking in the Catholic community.

This feeling might well have been erroneous, and I certainly don’t think it was in itself powerful enough to lead to sectarian attitudes or bigotry, but it was there all right; a lurking sense of slight superiority, a vague understanding that Protestants had the stuff of leaders, they were hardworking, honest folk who would be able to provide support when it was most needed. They would not disappear in a crisis. They were certainly not chancers, not weak or feckless or likely to be mired in spivvery, slackness or incompetence.

But unfortunately Rangers Football Club, more than any other Scottish institution I can think of in recent times, seems to become something of a magnet for the wrong kind of people.

I know a man who was a fine Scottish footballer in the late 1950s and early 1960s. He was brought up in a fervently Rangers family in West Lothian. He is one of the most pleasant, most decent people I have had the privilege of knowing.

The first senior club that came for this precocious young schoolboy forward was Patrick Thistle. He signed provisionally for the Firhill club when he was 14. Two years later, none other than the great Bill Struth contacted his father. Rangers wanted to sign his son!

For the father, Bill Struth was a legend. Yet this honourable man, a Rangers fanatic if ever there was one, told his son that Rangers had been second in the queue. Thistle had come first; they had signed him and looked after him. He couldn’t turn away from them now.

I think that anecdote, which is true, sums up all that is best in the honourable Rangers tradition. Rangers had standards and dignity, a sense of pride and self-belief: they were a decent club representing something resolute - aye ready – in the Scottish character and their supporters were honourable people. They had a strength and self respect that was undoubtedly linked to the better aspects of the Scottish Protestant tradition.

All that has withered away now. It is not just because of the demise of Rangers; there has been a parallel decline in the Church of Scotland. Not so long ago it could legitimately claim to be Scotland’s national church; it could speak to Scotland, and speak for Scotland. Now it can barely raise a whimper on any matter of public significance. It may not have collapsed as dramatically as Rangers, but it is no longer the proud, respected national institution that it was as recently as the 1960s.

I’m pretty certain that had Rangers been in crisis during the 1960s, the matter would have been raised, eloquently, at the General Assembly of the Church of Scotland. It would have been seen as a matter of legitimate concern for the Kirk. But much later, as Rangers slipped ever deeper into crisis, the Church of Scotland stood aside and did – absolutely nothing. It is almost as if was embarrassed.

The Kirk is of course embarrassed, correctly, by sectarianism, particularly when it is a distortion of Protestantism. Rangers did once represent, as I have suggested, much that was good in the Protestant tradition. But there was sometimes a downside. Sir Alex Ferguson could – and maybe should - have been by far the greatest manager in the club’s history, for he was born and raised near Ibrox, he played for the club, and Rangers made a very serious, prolonged bid for his managerial services in the autumn of 1983,when he was the most successful young manager not just in Scotland but in the whole of Europe. As he explains in his autobiography, Ferguson had encountered a nasty bigoted man at Ibrox, who held a senior position in the club, when he was a player. This man took against Ferguson simply because he had married a Catholic. So the man who was surely made to be manager of Rangers spurned the club he had been brought up to support. Of course Rangers eventually did much to eradicate this kind of bigotry, particularly in the Souness era when several high profile Catholics were signed– a policy that reverted to the club’s practice in the early part of the twentieth century, when it did employ Catholics.

The overall context in all this is that Scottish Protestantism is in crisis. The demise of Rangers is not directly connected with the decline of Protestantism, but that decline, that lack of self confidence, does not help. The fact that so many well qualified and able Rangers supporters have been standing on the sidelines, simply waiting for the latest dubious saviour to turn up, perhaps indicates that the great Protestant virtues of industry, initiative and self-help are rapidly withering away.

Harry Reid is a former editor of The Herald. He is the author of ‘Outside Verdict: an Old Kirk in a New Scotland’ and ‘The Final Whistle? Scottish Football: The Best and Worst of Times’

Discuss?

:devil:

16-07-2012, 10:06 PM
Self-aggrandising bigotted bovine fertiliser.

What makes the author so convinced that one branch of one religion gives its followers superiority over any other human being?

16-07-2012, 10:15 PM

What makes the author so convinced that one branch of one religion gives its followers superiority over any other human being?

I think he's saying that there was an impression that protestants were more stolid and reliable than the "feckless fenians".

An opinion that was rife at one time.

16-07-2012, 10:16 PM
Broadly accurate, if you ignore some of the more flowery language about the wonders of Protestantism.

The sheer scale of the tax avoidance by Murray (and evasion by Whyte) meant that it was practically impossible for the well-to-do Rangers fans, as personified by Paul Murray / Blue Knights, to rescue them. Even if the richest publicly known Rangers fan (Jim McColl) had fully committed to saving them, it would have taken a significant chunk (>£100M) of his personal fortune (£800M) to simply get them back to square one, never mind buying any players or improving the stadium. Normally when a businessman rescues an at-risk football club (eg Farmer in 1990 or Romanov in 2005) he is only spending maybe 5% of his total net worth. Saving Rangers would have blown out all but the super-rich, who frankly have better uses for that sort of wealth.

The connection to the Rangers crisis and the decline of Protestant values that Reid talks about lies more in the absence of morality in the speculative capitalism that has emerged since Thatcher. We have seen this in other industries, most obviously the banks. This sort of stupendous moral and financial bankruptcy simply would not have happened 40-50 years ago because the leading businessman and officials wouldn't take those sort of risks, for moral as well as economic reasons.

Nobody criticised or batted an eyelid when things initially went well with this debt fuelled binge, but (even worse) there was a conspiracy of silence amongst the media and authorities when it became increasingly obvious that Rangers were bust. Indeed, it took Walter Smith to in effect blow the whistle when he said that LTSB were running Rangers after a game against Hibs (1-1 at Ibrox, October 2009). Yet even after this there was no serious effort to reduce their debts, all they did was cross their fingers that they would qualify for the Champions League each year. When Malmo beat them last season the jig was up.

16-07-2012, 10:17 PM
Deary me.

This part stuck out for me ....

..... it was there all right; a lurking sense of slight superiority, a vague understanding that Protestants had the stuff of leaders, they were hardworking, honest folk who would be able to provide support when it was most needed. They would not disappear in a crisis. They were certainly not chancers, not weak or feckless or likely to be mired in spivvery, slackness or incompetence......

The last sentence implies than non protestants (i.e. Catholics) were of that ilk.

I'm protestant but I couldn't feel more detached if I tried from the tripe Harry Reid has had published.

16-07-2012, 10:19 PM
Deary me.

..... it was there all right; a lurking sense of slight superiority, a vague understanding that Protestants had the stuff of leaders, they were hardworking, honest folk who would be able to provide support when it was most needed. They would not disappear in a crisis. They were certainly not chancers, not weak or feckless or likely to be mired in spivvery, slackness or incompetence......

The last sentence implies than non protestants (i.e. Catholics) were of that ilk.

I'm protestant but I couldn't feel more detached if I tried from the tripe Harry Reid has had published.

The exception that proves the rule!

16-07-2012, 10:33 PM

I don't think he's quite saying that but he does have his head in the sand on certain things.

But unfortunately Rangers Football Club, more than any other Scottish institution I can think of in recent times, seems to become something of a magnet for the wrong kind of people.

Rangers attracted this element long before "recent times", unless he means the last 50 years or so.

He also goes on - Of course Rangers eventually did much to eradicate this kind of bigotry - yet he admits that in recent times they attracted the "wrong kind of people".

The bigotry at Ibrox was never eradicated and the attempts to do so amounted to no more than a fig leaf.

I've no problem with a club representing a community, it's in the roots and DNA of football teams - I've also no doubt that the Rangers he describes in the 1960's existed and that there are, still, many Rangers fans who are non-bigoted, decent people. Reality is this isn't the 1960's. The Church of Scotland is far more concerned about their property portfolios and excursions in Africa these days than the spiritual and physical health of their indigenous adherents. They also missed a trick ages ago - the "prudent" and "steadfast" values of those Protestant Rangers fans should have rung alarm bells when Souness stated they were going to emulate AC Milan, when the natural model was Ajax.

They allowed the thugs the room to thrive within their club's environs and their hunt for glory over the "other side" as well as greed and ego among those who led them has brought them to today, revealed as a tin-pot empire built on smoke, shouting a lot and sneaky accounting.

The guy has a view of his club as seen through the trad. Scottish upper middle class, separated from the trogs and owners and blinkers firmly on when any detail of either is on show. They've sleep-walked through the plunge in fortunes of both their Church and their club.

16-07-2012, 11:01 PM
It the Catholics fault, clearly.

16-07-2012, 11:31 PM
He has missed the point.

Who in their right mind, who is doing quite nicely for themselves, would want to be publicly associated with what rangers have become?

16-07-2012, 11:45 PM
Not much in this I'd agree with but he's written it well (not surprising as he's a former editor of the herald). Can't help thinking that trying to maintain the 'slight feeling of superiority' he refers to, contributed to the club's demise.
However, with the birth of a new Rangers, or whatever they decide to call themselves, worthies like Mr Reid will no doubt campaign for the club to be run on non-sectarian lines from the outset.:rolleyes:

16-07-2012, 11:58 PM
I stopped reading Harry Reid's articles after he wrote a nauseating piece in the Herald explaining why he always voted for Thatcher. This was written at the height of the unpopularity of the Conservatives in Scotland (and especially in the main areas of the Herald's circulation).

That was attention seeking 'look at me' article. The peice cited here probably falls into that category.

seanshow
17-07-2012, 12:20 AM
Yip the guy has a nostalgic blue-spectacled view from the 1950's.......and a rather sour tasting one at that.

It's religion in general and not just Protestantism and it's values that are in decline. reason - Modern secular society.
The blue mainstream weedja is in decline. reason - Technology.
And his football team of choice is kaput. reason - Gross mismanagement.

17-07-2012, 12:24 AM
Utter tosh. People who go to Christian churches in the 21st century do so because they believe in Jesus Christ as their saviour, not because of tradition or some such. The people who went for those reasons are now more likely to be found at orange/republican marches and the like.

This thread should be on the Holy Ground board.

17-07-2012, 01:02 AM
Deary me.

I'm the same J - and I did a Fergie and married a Catholic. I also have a Catholic cousin who has a ST at Ipox!

Anyway, back on topic what a load of elitist (he wishes) tosh. Deluded twit.

17-07-2012, 07:00 AM
A well written article.

But, wow .... I doubt Walt Disney could have matched the misty eyed view of Rangers that pervades most of what he has written.

The doctors, lawyers and assorted business men who have supported Rangers over the decades are to blame for what the club became in the end. At worst they made every effort to perpetuate the Protestant elite myth and at best did nothing to eradicate it.

That probably seemed fine in the cosy dining rooms and gentlemens clubs of Glasgow. I'm sure it was all very civilised. But all it did was encourage the knuckle dragging Billy boy mob to engage in their bigoted sectarian mob mentality in the sure and certain knowledge that it had the tacite approval of the people in control of Scottish society.

The upper to middle class Rangers supporters did nothing to change that attitude, why did he think that their conduct would be any better when the crisis did arrive, even though it was a financial one.

By the time Murray did make an effort to change the thinking and culture around Ibrox it was just too late. Which was proved by the number of times Rangers got a rocket from UEFA for the bigoted behaviour of the knuckle draggers in the following seasons.

I hope the newco can affect a change in the years to come ...... I have my doubts.

17-07-2012, 07:01 AM
It is very much in line with most of his letters or articles he writes for the boardsheets. Unfortunately for him and fortunately for us Scotland and the world has moved on from the 1950s. His claim of memories of a world of protestant domination has long gone. The church leaders have and still use religion as a tool to control people. As is the case of the catholic church wanting to stop equal rights and equal marriage status. The reason why Rangers collapsed is very much the same reason society collapsed in the 1980s, it was all about greed and self importance. Murray was determined Rangers would win at all costs. It was all about him with no thought to others. It was Thatcherism in a footballing sense

Football will grow again in this country if fans are at the centre of decisions, the greed of players and their outrageous attitudes must be addressed. The cost of football has rocketed as clubs chase the Euro dream. Gone are the days when local players played for the local team supported by local supporters. We must as a society address the greed and self centred attitude which is now here in Cameron's Britain and getting back to caring not just for ourselves but also the world we live in

17-07-2012, 07:24 AM
As soon as you connect religion to football then you're already on the slippery slope to bigotry. Keep religion in the churches and mosques and away from football and give it a rest.

17-07-2012, 08:25 AM
Makes me pine for the fore-lock tugging of the Sunday Post of my youth.
We knew our place & we were 'appy, while Reid & his ilk ran the country
through the Lodges & the Kirk.
Glad the country has grown up - I worked in the Clydesdale in Glasgow in
the late 70's/early 80's; we had the Rangers accounts, mass orange/lodge accounts
& one Catholic manager in over 360 branches; it was funnier to have the one
rather than none at all....
Misty eyed blue tinted sentiment gies me the boak.

17-07-2012, 08:32 AM
Re-read the article in case I had missed anything first time round, but it stills seems like a very long winded way to say "wee arra peepul".

Obvious to anyone outside the weegia bubble why smart people would not want to publicly proclaim their allegiance to the rancid Hun 'institution'.

Big Ed
17-07-2012, 11:44 AM
Broadly accurate, if you ignore some of the more flowery language about the wonders of Protestantism.

The sheer scale of the tax avoidance by Murray (and evasion by Whyte) meant that it was practically impossible for the well-to-do Rangers fans, as personified by Paul Murray / Blue Knights, to rescue them. Even if the richest publicly known Rangers fan (Jim McColl) had fully committed to saving them, it would have taken a significant chunk (>£100M) of his personal fortune (£800M) to simply get them back to square one, never mind buying any players or improving the stadium. Normally when a businessman rescues an at-risk football club (eg Farmer in 1990 or Romanov in 2005) he is only spending maybe 5% of his total net worth. Saving Rangers would have blown out all but the super-rich, who frankly have better uses for that sort of wealth.

The connection to the Rangers crisis and the decline of Protestant values that Reid talks about lies more in the absence of morality in the speculative capitalism that has emerged since Thatcher. We have seen this in other industries, most obviously the banks. This sort of stupendous moral and financial bankruptcy simply would not have happened 40-50 years ago because the leading businessman and officials wouldn't take those sort of risks, for moral as well as economic reasons.

Nobody criticised or batted an eyelid when things initially went well with this debt fuelled binge, but (even worse) there was a conspiracy of silence amongst the media and authorities when it became increasingly obvious that Rangers were bust. Indeed, it took Walter Smith to in effect blow the whistle when he said that LTSB were running Rangers after a game against Hibs (1-1 at Ibrox, October 2009). Yet even after this there was no serious effort to reduce their debts, all they did was cross their fingers that they would qualify for the Champions League each year. When Malmo beat them last season the jig was up.

I agree 100% with this.
The only thing I would add to your excellent summation of this rancid institution is their, never mentioned but always implied, spectre of violent menace and intimidation. A recent example of this was when McCoist demanded to know the identity of the three panel members who sanctioned the transfer ban, even though it emerged that he already knew who they were: once named publicly though, they could be subject to the predictable wrath of the Hun Hordes.
Even the acceptable face of the Artists Formerly Known As Rangers, is a ****.

17-07-2012, 07:22 PM
It is very much in line with most of his letters or articles he writes for the boardsheets. Unfortunately for him and fortunately for us Scotland and the world has moved on from the 1950s. His claim of memories of a world of protestant domination has long gone. The church leaders have and still use religion as a tool to control people. As is the case of the catholic church wanting to stop equal rights and equal marriage status. The reason why Rangers collapsed is very much the same reason society collapsed in the 1980s, it was all about greed and self importance. Murray was determined Rangers would win at all costs. It was all about him with no thought to others. It was Thatcherism in a footballing sense

Football will grow again in this country if fans are at the centre of decisions, the greed of players and their outrageous attitudes must be addressed. The cost of football has rocketed as clubs chase the Euro dream. Gone are the days when local players played for the local team supported by local supporters. We must as a society address the greed and self centred attitude which is now here in Cameron's Britain and getting back to caring not just for ourselves but also the world we live in

A wee bit unfair on the CC this .... other denominations are against same sex marriage. For my part I could care less if same sex couples get married in a regisrty office and have exactly the same rights as heterosexual couples.

But any move to force the CC, Baptists, Church of Scotland or whoever to allow same sex marriages to be performed in churches would be rediculous. The argument for or against same sex relationships isnt the point there. The biblical doctrines which are the whole reason for the existence of Christian churches and denominations say that homosexual or lesbian relationships are wrong and for that reason they cant show approval.

The point isnt whether that point of view is right or wrong. The point is that that is what the churches believe and to force them to go against that cant be right.

As far as I am aware any church can deny an athiest a job as a minister or priest .. In any walk of life to deny someone a job because of what they believe ( or dont believe ) is illegal .... but for obvious reasons there is an exeption in such cases.

So whats next ... an athiest goes to college and qualifies as a minister and has the certificate to prove it. He then goes very public that he doesnt believe in God and takes the church to court for not giving him a parish .. after all, he is qualified to do the job on paper.

Sorry .. off the point a bit

ginger_rice
18-07-2012, 04:29 PM
Makes me pine for the fore-lock tugging of the Sunday Post of my youth.
We knew our place & we were 'appy, while Reid & his ilk ran the country
through the Lodges & the Kirk.
Glad the country has grown up - I worked in the Clydesdale in Glasgow in
the late 70's/early 80's; we had the Rangers accounts, mass orange/lodge accounts
& one Catholic manager in over 360 branches; it was funnier to have the one
rather than none at all....
Misty eyed blue tinted sentiment gies me the boak.

"Irish need not apply"

18-07-2012, 06:25 PM
Duplicate... Can't get rid on ma phone :-(

18-07-2012, 06:25 PM
A wee bit unfair on the CC this .... other denominations are against same sex marriage. For my part I could care less if same sex couples get married in a regisrty office and have exactly the same rights as heterosexual couples.

But any move to force the CC, Baptists, Church of Scotland or whoever to allow same sex marriages to be performed in churches would be rediculous. The argument for or against same sex relationships isnt the point there. The biblical doctrines which are the whole reason for the existence of Christian churches and denominations say that homosexual or lesbian relationships are wrong and for that reason they cant show approval.

The point isnt whether that point of view is right or wrong. The point is that that is what the churches believe and to force them to go against that cant be right.

As far as I am aware any church can deny an athiest a job as a minister or priest .. In any walk of life to deny someone a job because of what they believe ( or dont believe ) is illegal .... but for obvious reasons there is an exeption in such cases.

So whats next ... an athiest goes to college and qualifies as a minister and has the certificate to prove it. He then goes very public that he doesnt believe in God and takes the church to court for not giving him a parish .. after all, he is qualified to do the job on paper.

Sorry .. off the point a bit

Very true tho