View Full Version : Political footballers

14-07-2012, 06:46 PM
I see David Villa has been tweeting about the protesting Spanish miners again today
http://www.totalbarca.com/2012/news/villa-supports-spanish-miners/

It made me think about how silent footballers tend to be on political matters. Robbie Fowlers striking merseyside dockers t shirt aside, most examples seem to be in Latin or Mediterranean countries: Zanetti was/is a bit of a leftie, Di Canio Buffon and Cassano in Italy all vocal with their right wing views.

Any others?

14-07-2012, 06:53 PM
Didn't Jackie McNamara get involved with one of the hard left parties? Think it was after he retired though.

14-07-2012, 06:56 PM
It's not that footballers aren't political, its just that they tend to keep their views personal and out of the eyes of the media.

Personally, I think politics are a load of tosh. IMO of course. :wink:

14-07-2012, 06:56 PM
I've seen Jarkko Wiss round the Kirkgate selling the Socialist Worker a few times, but apart from that I can't think of any.

14-07-2012, 06:57 PM
Didn't Jackie McNamara get involved with one of the hard left parties? Think it was after he retired though.

Jackie snr was a communist, you're right.

14-07-2012, 06:57 PM
Was John Colquhoun, ex Hearts not something to do with the Labour Party?

14-07-2012, 07:00 PM

I vaguely recall that he used to write newspaper columns that were far more insightful than you'd expect from the average footballer, but I can't remember anything about his politics.

14-07-2012, 07:00 PM
Yes Jackie Mac snr always had the wee red book handy (and not the Evening Times publication)

Colquhoun was involved with the Labour Party

14-07-2012, 07:20 PM
Henry McLeish, former First Minister and author of the report into Scottish football, played for East Fife in the 60s.

14-07-2012, 07:25 PM

Yeah, I didn't mind his politics but unfortunately, my laddie's graduation from Edinburgh Uni coincided wi' him being rector. At his graduation ceremony, my son had to endure being tapped on the heid by a cap made from John Knox's breeches, and as if that wasn't bad enough - by an ex Jambo!!!:grr::grr::grr:

14-07-2012, 07:27 PM

Widely thought to have been behind his exit at Celtic Park.

He and Tony Higgins were obvious Hibby lefties.

14-07-2012, 07:29 PM
Indeed, Henry McLeish is a mealy-mouthed compromiser & as such a perfect example of a politician.
The noted Hibbee convert P. Nevin has always espoused left-wing leanings, but Socrates & Paul Breitner
are better known for political declaration.
Suspect footie players don't want to alienate folk by shouting too loudly.

superbam
14-07-2012, 07:43 PM
Lucarelli of Livorno fame

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cristiano_Lucarelli

14-07-2012, 07:51 PM
Quite an interesting website that I was perusing the other week.

Political Fitba' Players (http://insunandshadow.com/political-footballers-xi/)

14-07-2012, 08:01 PM
Buffon's right wing views... Does anyone have a link to these? Would be disappointed to see that tbh.

14-07-2012, 08:27 PM
Buffon's right wing views... Does anyone have a link to these? Would be disappointed to see that tbh.

To be fair to him, he denies it. But the 88 thing, his ultra contacts and two incidents of using fascist war slogans is a bit suspicious to say the least :greengrin
http://m.guardian.co.uk/football/2000/sep/09/newsstory.sport1?cat=football&type=article

http://luxuryplayer.wordpress.com/2011/07/02/gianluigi-buffon-piazzale-loreto-and-an-uncomfortable-relationship-with-history/

_hucks_
14-07-2012, 08:35 PM
Interesting article about both Di Canio and Lucarelli here http://cultureofsoccer.com/2007/05/01/di-canio-vs-lucarelli-an-ideological-battle-seen-in-salutes/

14-07-2012, 08:38 PM
Clarke Carlisle http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Clarke_Carlisle

14-07-2012, 08:40 PM
Was George Weah not being lined up to be the president of Liberia at one point?

Pretty sure he went into politics after playing anyway

14-07-2012, 08:40 PM
The late great Socrates http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/16019637 Would have like to have seen him sort Di Canio out.

Maradona has some pretty left wing views and Gary Neville is vocal in his support for 'sustainability' in football http://www.sustainabilityinsport.com/

Many Scottish players can't see further than the bottom of their glass sadly.

McIntosh
14-07-2012, 08:47 PM
Lucarelli of Livorno fame

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cristiano_Lucarelli

I love this man after reading the above. He is currently on a free transfer - we should sign him up post-haste!!!!

14-07-2012, 08:57 PM
I love this man after reading the above. He is currently on a free transfer - we should sign him up post-haste!!!!

6million transfer fees, Italian national caps, and over 200 goals against the best defenders in world football?

I know he's 36 but that would be a sauzee-esque signing. Plus he could give dressing room tutorials on John Stuart Mills theory on consent :agree:

14-07-2012, 08:58 PM
Jim Leishman.

14-07-2012, 08:58 PM
Widely thought to have been behind his exit at Celtic Park.

He and Tony Higgins were obvious Hibby lefties.

Who went onto bigger:wink: and better things.

14-07-2012, 09:00 PM
Was George Weah not being lined up to be the president of Liberia at one point?

Pretty sure he went into politics after playing anyway

Aye (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/George_Weah#Political_career).

If we want to widen this to American politics, Gerald Ford (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gerald_Ford#Scouting_and_athletics) was a good football player in his day (Michigan). Jack Kemp (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jack_Kemp) was a star quarterback and ran for vice president in 1996 on the Bob Dole ticket.

14-07-2012, 09:03 PM

Good call . I seem to recall Celtc didnt like his extreme left views when he was there. They wanted rid of the communist from the club. Think it was big news in the papers at the time

Their loss :)

14-07-2012, 09:05 PM
Aye (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/George_Weah#Political_career).

If we want to widen this to American politics, Gerald Ford (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gerald_Ford#Scouting_and_athletics) was a good football player in his day (Michigan). Jack Kemp (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jack_Kemp) was a star quarterback and ran for vice president in 1996 on the Bob Dole ticket.

...and my American footballing hero, Steve Largent, who was a record breaking receiver for Seattle, became a hysterically right wing senator after he retired.

14-07-2012, 09:07 PM
Anyone else remember when Boban and his Dinamo Zagreb team fought with the Serbia police in a game against Red Star Belgrade :take that.

McIntosh
14-07-2012, 09:25 PM
6million transfer fees, Italian national caps, and over 200 goals against the best defenders in world football?

I know he's 36 but that would be a sauzee-esque signing. Plus he could give dressing room tutorials on John Stuart Mills theory on consent :agree:

:top marks The stuff which dreams are made of. We could welcome him with this http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Zk69e1Vcmvg or my favourite
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HrfWJRMh4jE

14-07-2012, 09:39 PM

14-07-2012, 09:41 PM
Paulo Di Canio, John Terry...

14-07-2012, 09:50 PM
Paulo Di Canio, John Terry...

Im not sure calling an opponent a silvery moon qualifies someone as 'political'. Or maybe Gary Mackay SHOULD be included :greengrin

14-07-2012, 10:00 PM
Fraser Wishart and Gordon Taylor?

McIntosh
14-07-2012, 10:00 PM
Bill Shankly, "The socialism I believe in is not really politics. It is a way of living. It is humanity. I believe the only way to live and to be truly successful is by collective effort, with everyone working for each other, everyone helping each other, everyone having a share of the rewards at the end of the day. That might be asking a lot, but it's the way I see football and the way I see life".

Now that is a quote - up there with Marcus Aurelius

14-07-2012, 10:26 PM
Anyone else remember when Boban and his Dinamo Zagreb team fought with the Serbia police in a game against Red Star Belgrade :take that.

£10 to the charity of your choosing if you can find the clip of him booting the policeman. AC Milan legend and a hero of mine.

Used to be on youtube but not now.

15-07-2012, 12:43 AM
Good thread! Der Kaiser, Beckenbauer is rather right wing as I recall (not in the extreme sense either).
Maradona is a left winger.

15-07-2012, 01:34 AM
Brian Clough was an outspoken left winger especially during the miners strike. That annoyed his chairmen at Derby County and Nottm Forest.

Most footballers tend to keep their head below the parapet. I can recall a few going public including Steve Perryman (Tottenham) and Pat Crerand (Celtic and Man United) in support of Labour. Brian McClair (Celtic and Man United) is also a lefty.

Murdo McLeod is a well known Tory supporter as is Graeme Souness and his mate David Murray. Walter Smith on the other hand is a Labour supporter.

Moving to current managers Alex Ferguson and Roberto Manchini are both leftists.

Joey Barton is an interesting one. He appears very left wing despite having a BNP supporting brother who was jailed for a racist murder.

I seem to recall Kevin Keegan being hauled up for a photo opportunity with Thatcher although I think he did much the same with Blair some years later so I would not draw any conclusions from that.

The former Chelsea benefactor Matthew Harding and the late Nottm Forest owner Nigel Doughty were both major donars to the Labour Party.

Middlesbrough owner Steve Gibson was a former Labour Councillor. John Hall, former Newcastle owner, started off as a left winger when he was a miner but moved to the right when he became a property developer.

15-07-2012, 01:38 AM

At the time i recall Jock Stein didn't take kindly to Jackie's political views so that was the reason he was punted to Hibs.

16-07-2012, 03:18 PM
£10 to the charity of your choosing if you can find the clip of him booting the policeman. AC Milan legend and a hero of mine.

Couldn't find the video but there's a photo of it in this article;

http://voices.yahoo.com/bobans-war-2322293.html?cat=37

Cool_Hand_Luke
16-07-2012, 08:21 PM

This the one?

http://www.videosurf.com/video/zvonimir-boban-udara-policajca-56906956

son of haggart
16-07-2012, 08:52 PM

His left wing inclinations were well known. He invited Neil Kinnock along to Tynecastle (and he came). Mentioned this several times in his newspaper columns though I am not sure how active he was int he Labour Party. Like Higgins he was active in theplayers Union and was its president.

16-07-2012, 09:42 PM
His left wing inclinations were well known. He invited Neil Kinnock along to Tynecastle (and he came). Mentioned this several times in his newspaper columns though I am not sure how active he was int he Labour Party. Like Higgins he was active in theplayers Union and was its president.

...although these days, being involved with the Labour Party emphatically does NOT qualify someone as left wing, or even particularly political :greengrin

16-07-2012, 10:19 PM
I'd be surprised if a lot of the more recent crop of Scottish footballers even watch the news / read newspapers, never mind have particularly developed political beliefs!

Didn't Chilavert, the goal scoring mad Paraguayan goalie plan to run for President in his home country? Not sure if he ever did or not...

17-07-2012, 08:45 AM
...although these days, being involved with the Labour Party emphatically does NOT qualify someone as left wing, or even particularly political :greengrin

Sad but true:agree:

17-07-2012, 09:13 AM
Jamie Carragher has strong Labour Party connections. He donated a 5 figure sum to Andy Burnham's leadership campaign, wish it had succeeded!!

neilmartinrocks
17-07-2012, 10:01 AM
I'd be surprised if a lot of the more recent crop of Scottish footballers even watch the news / read newspapers, never mind have particularly developed political beliefs!

Didn't Chilavert, the goal scoring mad Paraguayan goalie plan to run for President in his home country? Not sure if he ever did or not...

no but he did fall out with his goverment for "wasting" money on a football tournament when it should have been spent on education. was he not jailed in france for using false papers in a court case?
on a side note for politcs in football any team in spain with the prefix "real" sposored by franco and the consevatives.

17-07-2012, 10:13 AM

I know he's 36 but that would be a sauzee-esque signing. Plus he could give dressing room tutorials on John Stuart Mills theory on consent :agree:How come extremists of the left are ok but others are not?

neilmartinrocks
17-07-2012, 10:20 AM
How come extremists of the left are ok but others are not?

coz commies are cool man.8448

17-07-2012, 10:28 AM
Ex Barcelona full back Oleguer was hugely political.

Economics graduate who has published works on left wing economics and anti fascism.

He's an absolute hero.amongst Barca and Athletic Bilbao fans due to his support for Catalan and Basque seperatism. He's also spoke openly about his support for the Zapatistas in Mexico. Was widely reported, but never confirmed, that he gave a large percentage of his wages to various seperatist groups.

neilmartinrocks
17-07-2012, 10:33 AM
Ex Barcelona full back Oleguer was hugely political.

Economics graduate who has published works on left wing economics and anti fascism.

He's an absolute hero.amongst Barca and Athletic Bilbao fans due to his support for Catalan and Basque seperatism. He's also spoke openly about his support for the Zapatistas in Mexico. Was widely reported, but never confirmed, that he gave a large percentage of his wages to various seperatist groups.

terrorist groups you mean?

17-07-2012, 10:51 AM
terrorist groups you mean?

Yes and no.

He is supportive of groups such as ETA but is most outspoken in support of political groups commited to separatism/independence who are more comparable to the SDLP or the SNP.

17-07-2012, 11:43 AM
How come extremists of the left are ok but others are not?

I didnt say they were or werent :dunno:

I said Luccarelli would be a sauzee-esque signing because of his pedigree. Personally i like extremists of all descriptions, as long as theyre INTERESTING.

AndyM_1875
17-07-2012, 11:49 AM

A nothing story. He wore the shirt number 88 when he was at Parma. Apparently this number has some sort of right wing connection. On being told that Buffon changed it to 77.

Buffon's goalkeeping idol is Thomas N'Kono of Cameroon, the greatest ever African Goalkeeper and the Juventus legend named his son after him.

17-07-2012, 01:13 PM
A nothing story. He wore the shirt number 88 when he was at Parma. Apparently this number has some sort of right wing connection. On being told that Buffon changed it to 77.

88 = HH (or Heil Hitler)?

17-07-2012, 01:27 PM
88 = HH (or Heil Hitler)?Or he liked his women to be larger and played bingo:greengrin

17-07-2012, 01:53 PM
This the one?

http://www.videosurf.com/video/zvonimir-boban-udara-policajca-56906956

Cracking! :thumbsup:

There was a longer version of Youtube which gave an idea of the situation which was erupting inside the stadium at the time, but I think it was removed because of the comments it attracted.

Still, thoroughly enjoyed that - PM your charity choice sir! :greengrin

Couldn't find the video but there's a photo of it in this article;

http://voices.yahoo.com/bobans-war-2322293.html?cat=37

Good effort - will give £5 for that! Send me a PM! :greengrin

Cool_Hand_Luke
17-07-2012, 03:46 PM
Cracking! :thumbsup:

There was a longer version of Youtube which gave an idea of the situation which was erupting inside the stadium at the time, but I think it was removed because of the comments it attracted.

Still, thoroughly enjoyed that - PM your charity choice sir! :greengrin

Good effort - will give £5 for that! Send me a PM! :greengrin

This one is still there :greengrin

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dktosDLYkAo

neilmartinrocks
17-07-2012, 04:01 PM

Buffon's goalkeeping idol is Thomas N'Kono of Cameroon, the greatest ever African Goalkeeper and the Juventus legend named his son after him.

what the guardian had to say. though i think it had more to do with his "death to cowards" t-shirt and the fact that the milan keeper (cant mind his name) came out as a supporter of the M.S.I.

http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/2000/sep/09/newsstory.sport1

just been told it was Christian Abbiati.