View Full Version : East Fife v Hibs, Saturday 14th - 2pm

11-07-2012, 08:34 PM
http://eastfifefc.info/latestnews/635-change-to-saturdays-opponents

11-07-2012, 09:03 PM
Should be interesting considering hearts are away to Raith rovers too. ;)

11-07-2012, 09:10 PM
Any idea how much to get in?

jonny
12-07-2012, 11:32 AM
Their other friendlies are £6 adult, £4 child. Id imagine ours is the same

12-07-2012, 11:38 AM
No confirmation from Hibs yet, just this........

Hibernian can confirm that dialogue has commenced with East Fife FC with regard to the possibility of a friendly fixture which would take place at Bayview Stadium, Methil at 2pm on Saturday 14 July.

This follows the cancellation of Hibernian's first pre-season friendly fixture against Rapid Bucharest which had been scheduled for Wednesday evening (11 July).

Confirmation of match and attendance arrangements will be published as soon as they are finalised.

1875er
12-07-2012, 11:38 AM
Great Steak pies at New Bayview, was there last year. You can also get into the social club in the Stadium for a pint beforehand too.

OtterHibee
12-07-2012, 12:13 PM
Now on official site:

http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20120712/east-fife-friendly-confirmed_2262950_2847489

mcvie7
12-07-2012, 12:17 PM
Now on official site:

http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20120712/east-fife-friendly-confirmed_2262950_2847489

Is this just pay at the gate?

12-07-2012, 01:14 PM
Is this just pay at the gate?

It will be. Too difficult to arrange tickets etc now.

edit - it was PATG last year also.

12-07-2012, 01:15 PM
Anyone know the best way of getting there by train?

Are there any buses that go from Edinburgh to Methil?

Struggling to find a decent route that doesn't involved taking the car!

12-07-2012, 01:16 PM

You will struggle mate .. car would be best IMHO.

12-07-2012, 01:18 PM
Getting there:

http://www.footballgroundguide.com/scotland/east_fife.htm

12-07-2012, 01:19 PM

Does the X60 not go from Edinburgh to St Andrews? Pretty sure it calls in at the small coastal towns en route up.

12-07-2012, 01:20 PM
X60 and X58 both stop at Leven which is pretty close. Could walk or get a couple of taxis from there.

Crowd of us going, so car isn't ideal.

10:55am will get you to Leven about 12:25pm

12-07-2012, 01:23 PM
X60 and X58 both stop at Leven which is pretty close. Could walk or get a couple of taxis from there.

Much is that m8? Just jump on at St Andrews Bus Station aye?

sorrow sorrow
12-07-2012, 01:25 PM
edinburgh train station to markinch train st then its 5 miles from there to the ground :dunno:

12-07-2012, 01:28 PM
edinburgh train station to markinch train st then its 5 miles from there to the ground :dunno:

Leven to Methil is 1.6miles - walkable.

12-07-2012, 01:30 PM

Would it be cheaper to just hire a people carrier or small minibus from Arnold Clark from the day then?

£105 for a 9-seater from Arnold Clark comes out at c.£15 each (when you add on the fuel).

12-07-2012, 01:31 PM
Get a train to Kirkaldy.

They get a Number 13 Bus that calls at Methil. It takes over an hour so you will need to be at Kirkaldy Bus Station by 12:00.

I looked it up and it hardly seems worthwhile.

12-07-2012, 01:33 PM
Much is that m8? Just jump on at St Andrews Bus Station aye?

Not sure on price mate, here is the timetable:

http://www.stagecoachbus.com/PdfUploads/Timetable_17672_X58%20X60%20Fife%20.pdf

12-07-2012, 01:36 PM
Would it be cheaper to just hire a people carrier or small minibus from Arnold Clark from the day then?

£105 for a 9-seater from Arnold Clark comes out at c.£15 each (when you add on the fuel).

Contacted my coach supplier to see what a 49 seater would cost. Would happily run a bus profit free if I could get the numbers. Around 20 of us had planned on getting the train anyway, so 29 across the messageboards shouldn't be difficult considering how difficult it is to get there.

12-07-2012, 01:57 PM
Great Steak pies at New Bayview, was there last year. You can also get into the social club in the Stadium for a pint beforehand too.

That's good to know. I might take a wee trip over. It's worth £6 of anyone's money :agree:

sauzee=legend
12-07-2012, 02:03 PM

I've got 7seater taxi which would be cheaper.......

12-07-2012, 02:10 PM
Bus to glenrothes will drop you off at the town centre (don't hang about there!) and then you'll be able to get a bus into methil from there.

12-07-2012, 02:25 PM
Bus to glenrothes will drop you off at the town centre (don't hang about there!) and then you'll be able to get a bus into methil from there.

Wots wrong with hanging bout Leven town Centre??? I live in Leven but 5 minute walk from town centre and regularly drink in and around there.

You'll get bother if you go hunting it but if not you shouldnt get any bother at all. May I ask where you are from??

As for getting to ground. Max 10 min walk from bus station, back up towards bawbee bridge up to roundabout at Shell garage hang a left at the ground is down on left.

12-07-2012, 03:42 PM
I Use to live in Leven. Your best bet is to get the x60 to Leven and get off at the bus station. Walk towards Leven swimming pool. Once there you will see ye bawbee bridge, cross the bridge and turn left. Keep walking round that there you will see the new bayview!

Simples

12-07-2012, 03:52 PM
I Use to live in Leven. Your best bet is to get the x60 to Leven and get off at the bus station. Walk towards Leven swimming pool. Once there you will see ye bawbee bridge, cross the bridge and turn left. Keep walking round that there you will see the new bayview!

Simples
That's what we done last year, nice wee trip. Had walk about leven and seen Petrie in the chippy

Hibiza
12-07-2012, 03:58 PM
Mind of being there one night and we got beaten in a cup game. Think Durie played for East Fife that night, could be wrong. Long drive back.

12-07-2012, 04:44 PM
Mind of being there one night and we got beaten in a cup game. Think Durie played for East Fife that night, could be wrong. Long drive back.

Aye - we were pumped good and proper.

12-07-2012, 05:30 PM

Loads of battling went on that night as I recall.

13-07-2012, 07:26 AM
East Fife are voting no to Newco in SFL1, any chance our fans can unite and get a 'stand up for integrity' chant started up?

13-07-2012, 08:51 AM
East Fife are voting no to Newco in SFL1, any chance our fans can unite and get a 'stand up for integrity' chant started up?

Cracking idea - unite and show our stance against Sevco.

Hopefully gets sung.

Just_Jimmy
13-07-2012, 09:25 AM
Leven bus station is a ten min walk to bayview.

13-07-2012, 11:07 AM
After a lot of therapy since May 19th i am still not ready to go and watch Hibs yet, it may take a while and more therapy.

13-07-2012, 11:27 AM
pubs in KDY open at 11 - will be jumping on the half 10 train and getting the 7 bus to leven about 1 o'clock. hopefully stay the whole game unless we're getting pumped :na na:

JIm
13-07-2012, 04:57 PM
pubs in KDY open at 11 - will be jumping on the half 10 train and getting the 7 bus to leven about 1 o'clock. hopefully stay the whole game unless we're getting pumped :na na:

Buzzing. No matter what has happened, this is what we live for. East Fife away on a Saturday, ****ing love iiiiiiiiiiit!

13-07-2012, 05:30 PM
Buzzing. No matter what has happened, this is what we live for. East Fife away on a Saturday, ****ing love iiiiiiiiiiit!

:top marks:top marks:flag::flag:

GGTTH..............

13-07-2012, 06:33 PM
After a lot of therapy since May 19th i am still not ready to go and watch Hibs yet, it may take a while and more therapy.

Ach man up FFS! :greengrin

13-07-2012, 06:34 PM

Some pubs in leven open at 10.

wheniwas5
13-07-2012, 07:03 PM
after wednesdays game being off cant wait for tommorow. i,ll be there with a couple of
hibs fans of the future:flag:

13-07-2012, 07:16 PM
after wednesdays game being off cant wait for tommorow. i,ll be there with a couple of
hibs fans of the future:flag:
Same here. Even took a drive up to suss out where the stadium is earlier today. 4 of us heading through tomorrow, can't wait!

jonny
13-07-2012, 07:17 PM
Will be taking my 4 year old to his first game tomorrow, think I'm more excited than him!

13-07-2012, 07:25 PM

Kirkcaldy will be heaving with Yams, Raith v Hearts at Starks , my mates testimonial.

13-07-2012, 08:05 PM
This is ****ing rubbish. Games been arranged for 3 days now and we've still not had a shot on goal.

That new keeper hasn't come for one cross and don't even get me started on Cairney. McPake looking well overrated, obviously now he's got a contract he's not interested. Clancys a ****ing imposter too.

Fenlon out. Booooooooooo.

13-07-2012, 09:24 PM

we got beat 2-0!

13-07-2012, 09:29 PM
Meh!!

13-07-2012, 09:32 PM
East Fife FC will play Hibernian FC on Saturday, 14th July with the kick off at 2pm. The game against Preston Athletic has been cancelled.
The admission prices are £6 for all adults and £4 for children up to 18 years of age and who are in full time education.
Please note that all Hibernian supporters are welcome in our 2 bars which will be open from 12 noon. Please note that the Club has a Public House licence and no Social Club whereby customers need to sign in. All welcome

13-07-2012, 09:36 PM
East Fife FC will play Hibernian FC on Saturday, 14th July with the kick off at 2pm. The game against Preston Athletic has been cancelled.
The admission prices are £6 for all adults and £4 for children up to 18 years of age and who are in full time education.
Please note that all Hibernian supporters are welcome in our 2 bars which will be open from 12 noon. Please note that the Club has a Public House licence and no Social Club whereby customers need to sign in. All welcome

Thats a very welcoming notice :top marks

13-07-2012, 09:51 PM
Thats a very welcoming notice :top marks

Admission prices are pretty fair :agree: i used to think my geography was pretty good and thought methil was wayyyy before kirkcaldy :rolleyes: it's 8 miles further up, towards norway :(

13-07-2012, 10:09 PM
Admission prices are pretty fair :agree: i used to think my geography was pretty good and thought methil was wayyyy before kirkcaldy :rolleyes: it's 8 miles further up, towards norway :(

Fair! you wouldn't get a pie chips & drink in an SPL ground for £6.....:greengrin

14-07-2012, 05:48 AM
Same here. Even took a drive up to suss out where the stadium is earlier today. 4 of us heading through tomorrow, can't wait!

Plenty parking matty?

14-07-2012, 07:00 AM
Yet again they play 10 mins from my house in Leven but cannot attend as its ma wee girls 3rd birthday party.

14-07-2012, 07:53 AM
Kerr and Maybury due to play today.

Mark79
14-07-2012, 08:53 AM
Kirkcaldy will be heaving with Yams, Raith v Hearts at Starks , my mates testimonial.

Is it lauries testimonial today? Went to primary and high school with that dirty yam.

Scònaldò
14-07-2012, 10:07 AM
How many hibbys are we expecting through here? The reason I'm asking is; i can see the one stand but can't see any standing? Am I being stupid:confused:

14-07-2012, 10:26 AM
Is the game available on radio at all today?

mcvie7
14-07-2012, 10:42 AM
How many hibbys are we expecting through here? The reason I'm asking is; i can see the one stand but can't see any standing? Am I being stupid:confused:

Capacity is only around 1900 so doubt any standing.

14-07-2012, 11:04 AM
On my way to the game now, will we have any trialists in the squad today?

14-07-2012, 11:18 AM
Wots wrong with hanging bout Leven town Centre??? I live in Leven but 5 minute walk from town centre and regularly drink in and around there.

You'll get bother if you go hunting it but if not you shouldnt get any bother at all. May I ask where you are from??

As for getting to ground. Max 10 min walk from bus station, back up towards bawbee bridge up to roundabout at Shell garage hang a left at the ground is down on left.

I was talking about the Glenrothes town centre and more specifically the bus station part of it not being a great place to spend time. :greengrin

Didn't mean to offend your Leven. :wink:

But to answer your question anyway, I'm from Glenrothes.

14-07-2012, 11:19 AM
Plenty parking matty?

Not much. If you're early enough you'll be ok. I'm heading off from Dunfermline in a minute.

14-07-2012, 11:34 AM
On my way to the game now, will we have any trialists in the squad today?

As I said, Kerr and Maybury expected to play.

14-07-2012, 11:37 AM
Ach man up FFS! :greengrin

Will hopefully be cutting my grass today, weather permitting.

That's the only green i will see today. :greengrin

14-07-2012, 12:22 PM
Pishing down here in Methil. Seems a few Hibbies about though

KdyHby
14-07-2012, 12:24 PM
Pishing down here in Methil. Seems a few Hibbies about though

Any signs of civil unrest?

14-07-2012, 12:24 PM
Any team news yet?

ozzie
14-07-2012, 12:29 PM
Well the team came out to warm up then vanished into thin air ;-)

ozzie
14-07-2012, 12:34 PM
Well the team came out to warm up then vanished into thin air ;-)

And thier back ;-)

14-07-2012, 12:37 PM
Nice wee stand , decent Hibs support of a few hundred. Football is back

14-07-2012, 12:38 PM

No standing space at Methil.

It's a strange wee ground. Nice stand with good changing rooms etc. Dugouts on the opposite side of the park from the stand. 3 sides walled off and the power station towering over the wall at one side.

14-07-2012, 12:38 PM
Williams

Clancy
McPake
Stephens
Hanlon

Claros
Cairney
Stevenson

Wotherspoon
Sproule
Doyle

Id expect the above to be XI come the season

14-07-2012, 12:39 PM
SUBS: Booth, Maybury, Monaghan, Stanton, Osbourne, Kujabi, Handling, Caldwell, Antel

WellingtonHibby
14-07-2012, 12:40 PM
No kerr, then?

14-07-2012, 12:41 PM
Williams

Clancy
McPake
Stephens
Hanlon

Claros
Cairney
Stevenson

Wotherspoon
Sproule
Doyle

It will be interesting to see how the back four lines up.

Not sure if it will be Clancy or Stephens that plays right back.

14-07-2012, 12:41 PM
Who is Monaghan?.

14-07-2012, 12:42 PM
I thought we would have more than 1 trialist playing today :na na:

14-07-2012, 12:43 PM
Williams
Clancy
McPake
Stephens
Hanlon
Sproule
Claros
Stevenson
Doyle
Spoony
Cairney

14-07-2012, 12:43 PM
As I said, Kerr and Maybury expected to play.

What did you say😃

14-07-2012, 12:46 PM
Who is Monaghan?.

Was part of the U-19 set up last year.

14-07-2012, 12:47 PM
Who is Monaghan?.

http://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/scotsol/homepage/missscotland/3508573/Rachel-Monaghan-20.html

His sister is no bad :wink:

14-07-2012, 12:49 PM
I was talking about the Glenrothes town centre and more specifically the bus station part of it not being a great place to spend time. :greengrin

Didn't mean to offend your Leven. :wink:

But to answer your question anyway, I'm from Glenrothes.

Nae probs am man Nae probs at all...😉

14-07-2012, 12:57 PM
Bottle green strip is Hibs class

14-07-2012, 12:59 PM
Williams
Clancy
McPake
Stephens
Hanlon
Sproule
Claros
Stevenson
Doyle
Spoony
Cairney

4-5-1?

14-07-2012, 01:09 PM
Yes. Spoony pushing on

Twiglet
14-07-2012, 01:19 PM
Williams doing a lot of shouting, instructing his players what 2 do. Liking him.

14-07-2012, 01:21 PM
According to the official Hibs twitter, Doyle is making his debut today. Smacks of amateurishness.

14-07-2012, 01:22 PM
How are they playing?

hibbybrian
14-07-2012, 01:24 PM
Don't be tempted to check the live events on HibsTV for text updates - it's still got the cup final details :faint:

14-07-2012, 01:24 PM
According to the official Hibs twitter, Doyle is making his debut today. Smacks of amateurishness.

It doesn't read well but they're not, they are saying we're playing with one striker, doyle and Williams, clancey and cairney are making their debuts

14-07-2012, 01:25 PM
Cairney looks decent on the ball. Not a lot in it but Spoony playing well in behind Doyle

Smidge
14-07-2012, 01:25 PM

I'm pretty sure you are reading something into a bad piece of grammar:

Hibernian to start with one striker, Eoin Doyle and Ben Williams and Paul Cairney to make debuts for club

In other words, we are starting with one striker, who is Eoin Doyle. Williams and Cairney are making their debuts.

sbell1875
14-07-2012, 01:28 PM
We are trying to pass the ball which is good to see. Claros is looking for the ball and Spoony has shown some good wee touches. Williams looks commanding and very vocal.

All in all we look all right although I am remembering who we're playing!

14-07-2012, 01:28 PM
Williams

Clancy
McPake
Stephens
Hanlon

Claros
Cairney
Stevenson

Wotherspoon
Sproule
Doyle

If that is our starting eleven in the SPL then we will struggle. Looks to be poor in an attacking sense

However I am pretty sure there will be a few changes to that line up come the start of the season.

Glad to see Booth on bench however

14-07-2012, 01:30 PM
Is Bob Malcom playing for east fife? Heard he signed for them

14-07-2012, 01:30 PM
We are trying to pass the ball which is good to see. Claros is looking for the ball and Spoony has shown some good wee touches. Williams looks commanding and very vocal.

All in all we look all right although I am remembering who we're playing!

Maybe we could do a Sevco?

14-07-2012, 01:31 PM
Is Bob Malcom playing for east fife? Heard he signed for them

Ad have had him in this Hibs team.

14-07-2012, 01:32 PM
I'm pretty sure you are reading something into a bad piece of grammar:

In other words, we are starting with one striker, who is Eoin Doyle. Williams and Cairney are making their debuts.

Just re-read it and your right. Only skim read it hence the mistake.

14-07-2012, 01:33 PM
East Fife hit the bar from a mis placed cross. Very scrappy game

john18722
14-07-2012, 01:34 PM
Test

Twiglet
14-07-2012, 01:35 PM
Williams was just shouting we were too deep, defence moved up and halted a long ball attack up the wing.

14-07-2012, 01:36 PM
Williams was just shouting we were too deep, defence moved up and halted a long ball attack up the wing.

How's McPake?

14-07-2012, 01:37 PM
Ad have had him in this Hibs team.

Me too, another who's slipped under the radar.

14-07-2012, 01:37 PM
Spoony bends free kick round the wall and just over. Good effort

14-07-2012, 01:38 PM
Me too, another who's slipped under the radar.

Hopefully puts in a decent display the day and catches Fenlon's eye.

14-07-2012, 01:48 PM
0-0 half time. Hibs trying to pass but Steveson and Claros not moving enough in forward positions. Williams and Clancy very vocal. Doyle been caught offside a few times but showing for the ball

14-07-2012, 01:50 PM
Some good passing moves from us. Doyle not sharp yet. Ivan and spoony looking up for it and Clancy has looked very decent so far. McPake solid as ever, and lots of talking from Williams. Claros has made a couple of outstanding passes, just needs to get in the game more.

14-07-2012, 01:50 PM
So all in all a very pre-seasonish game?

muirhousehibby
14-07-2012, 01:53 PM
Looked ok first half, still remembering its a friendly and first game at that. Crainey and spoony look very sharpe. We lack height in centre of the park.

14-07-2012, 01:54 PM
Yes and no. Yes because it is and no because its very much the same as last season.

14-07-2012, 01:56 PM

Eh - what else would a game played before the start of the season be :confused:

muirhousehibby
14-07-2012, 01:56 PM
Osbourne,maybury,caldwell on for 2nd half

14-07-2012, 01:57 PM
Stephens, Doyle and Claros off for Caldwell, maybury and ozzy

Twiglet
14-07-2012, 01:58 PM
How's McPake?

Looks alright. One wee mistake which allowed someone to get past him, but it didn't really cause any problems.

Subs on at ht: caldwell, ozzy and maybury. Off: doyle, claros and stephens.

14-07-2012, 01:58 PM
Some good passing moves from us. Doyle not sharp yet. Ivan and spoony looking up for it and Clancy has looked very decent so far. McPake solid as ever, and lots of talking from Williams. Claros has made a couple of outstanding passes, just needs to get in the game more.

If we get another character in the centre of midfield who is vocal like Clancy, Williams and McPake I could see that being a huge step forward. A striker or two too then.

14-07-2012, 02:05 PM
1-0 Ivan. Good work by Caldwell and Cairney.

14-07-2012, 02:06 PM
0-1 Sproule but he looked offside

14-07-2012, 02:06 PM
Am I allowed to celebrate a preseason goal against East Fife? :greengrin

14-07-2012, 02:07 PM
Am I allowed to celebrate a preseason goal against East Fife? :greengrin

No :na na: :greengrin

14-07-2012, 02:10 PM
WOOOOOOOHOOOOOOO

We're gonna win the league. :flag:

14-07-2012, 02:11 PM
No :na na: :greengrin

Ah, it feels good to be a happy clapper again :wink:

14-07-2012, 02:12 PM
How has Cairney been so far?

Ozzy Giving us more drive in midfield, and Caldwell providing more of a presence up front.

Hanlon off for Callum booth

Twiglet
Another Hibs sub. Hanlon for Booth

Bob Malcolm is massive looks more like a prop forward

14-07-2012, 02:14 PM

Never mind him, what about Collin Samuel

14-07-2012, 02:14 PM

Lots of knowledgeable people on here want a massive signing :rolleyes:

14-07-2012, 02:15 PM
Stevenson and Williams off for antell and monaghan

14-07-2012, 02:19 PM
FFS why all the subs, are we trying to throw this lead away?

Twiglet
Their number 9 just thrfew the funniest strop when called offside. Hope it's in the highlights.

Stevenson and Williams off for antell and monaghan

Likes to dribble - hope he takes opportunity....

14-07-2012, 02:20 PM

Blackpools double.

14-07-2012, 02:21 PM
Cairney off for Kujabi

Couple of good chances for us. Keeper made a good save when 1 on 1 with spoony and Ivan ballooned it over the bar when through.

And the strikers strop was hilarious

14-07-2012, 02:22 PM
Any signs of civil unrest?

Guaranteed. It's the 14th of July....... :take that :greengrin

14-07-2012, 02:23 PM
Blackpools double.

14-07-2012, 02:25 PM
http://www.snspix.com/14_07_12_east_fife_v_hibernian/photo/83041.html

Pics of the game so far :cb

14-07-2012, 02:26 PM
Mayburys looked ok so far, caldwell too - very strong. Booth a bit shaky

Sproule or spoony MoM for me so far

14-07-2012, 02:28 PM

the new kit looks superb :thumbsup:

Twiglet
14-07-2012, 02:29 PM
Don't like how McPake keeps bending down and stretching whenever play stops.

14-07-2012, 02:31 PM
Ayr U 2 Motherwell 0 after 30 minutes. Gimps are 1 up and Dundee Utd 1 up too.

14-07-2012, 02:31 PM
Ivan off for Stanton

Clancy just curled a free kick into the top corner. 2-0

14-07-2012, 02:32 PM
Great free kick from Clancy 2-0

14-07-2012, 02:33 PM
Good to see one of the new guys grab a goal.

14-07-2012, 02:34 PM

Excellent - thanks!! The Tache looks like he's enjoyed a good close season!!

ginger_rice
14-07-2012, 02:36 PM
Ivan off for Stanton

Clancy just curled a free kick into the top corner. 2-0

I've waited almost 40 years to read that once again!

14-07-2012, 02:37 PM
Spoony off for Danny Handling

14-07-2012, 02:37 PM
Ivan off for Stanton

Clancy just curled a free kick into the top corner. 2-0why did he not let Kujabi take it

14-07-2012, 02:38 PM
I've waited almost 40 years to read that once again!

you must have missed him coming on last season then :greengrin

14-07-2012, 02:39 PM
Do you remember Kujabi's last free kick effort ? Ha !

14-07-2012, 02:40 PM

I'd imagine that if it was anything serious they would take him off if that's what you're meaning?

14-07-2012, 02:46 PM
why did he not let Kujabi take it

Was asking the same question. I've got a bet on how many throw ins East Fife get so a Kujabi Freekick might have helped !

14-07-2012, 02:49 PM

Maybe he's lost a 20p?

14-07-2012, 02:52 PM
Maybe he's lost a 20p?

I heard that Rod taught him the bending down for a coin technique during pre-season training.

The next lesson will be about catching it on the back of the head.

Twiglet
14-07-2012, 02:57 PM
I'd imagine that if it was anything serious they would take him off if that's what you're meaning?

I know, it's just not something i like to see. Hopefully, he's just a bit tight from those extra training sessions we've heard about and he's 100% fcor dundee utd.

14-07-2012, 02:58 PM
I know, it's just not something i like to see. Hopefully, he's just a bit tight from those extra training sessions we've heard about and he's 100% fcor dundee utd.

He will be. He stretches all the time during games, I noticed it a lot last season.

14-07-2012, 02:59 PM
Who would have thought that Bob Malcolm would finish his career at a higher level than Rangers!?

14-07-2012, 02:59 PM
Is the game finished?

Final score 2 - 0 ?

14-07-2012, 03:01 PM
Is the game finished?

Final score 2 - 0 ?

The rules stipulate 30 seconds added on per substitution, so they're probably still playing.

Twiglet
14-07-2012, 03:03 PM
He will be. He stretches all the time during games, I noticed it a lot last season.

Never picked up on that last season. Good to hear. :)

Twiglet
14-07-2012, 03:06 PM
Is the game finished?

Final score 2 - 0 ?

Yes and yes. Sitting in my car waiting to get out. Not even bothered turning on my engine yet as the traffic is still backed up.

14-07-2012, 03:06 PM
Who would have thought that Bob Malcolm would finish his career at a higher level than Rangers!?

Quality

14-07-2012, 03:07 PM
Is the game finished?

Final score 2 - 0 ?

Yes and yes. Sitting in my car waiting to get out. Not even bothered turning on my engine yet as the traffic is still backed up.

14-07-2012, 03:31 PM
Ayr United pumping a full strength 'Well side 4-0 with still twenty minutes to go.

14-07-2012, 03:34 PM
Ayr United pumping a full strength 'Well side 4-0 with still twenty minutes to go.

Obviously missing their star man Clancey :wink:

14-07-2012, 03:55 PM
Well, here's my two pence worth..

First half was a total non event, we were poor, very poor. We simply can't go into the new season with a midfield that consist's of Wotherspoon and Stevenson, we need better quality in there big time! Don't get me wrong, it was a usual committed performance from Lewis but the fact of the matter is that if we want to move forward as a club and reach a new level then a midfielder of his standard cannot be involved. Same goes for David, for a guy of his age i just can't for the life of me work out why he's just SO incredibly slow. Claros was composed but needs to get involved more in games. I was pretty let down with Cairney, didn't exactly do anything wrong but was a ghost first half.

The defense did ok first half, a few shaky moments here and there but not too bad. Clancy was solid enough in the right back position.

we simply can't (and hopefully won't) go into the new season with just Doyle up front like we did today. He's still far too light weight. Could be a different story however if we sign a good experience striker to play up top with him, he doe's make the odd good run into space.

Second half - MUCH improved. Cairney looks more lively (is he a left midfielder because i thought he was a centre?) This half gave me more hope. Clancy moved to centre half with Mcpake and Alan Maybury brought on at right back. For me, Clancy looked far better in the middle with Mcpake than he did at right back (although as i say, he was solid enough in there). Maybury imo done well. He was alot quicker than i expect and likes to get down the flank and was in the opposition half a good few time's. I'd certainly be tempted to give him a deal and won't be disappointed if pat does. A defense of Hanlon, Mcpake, Clancy, Maybury, could do pretty well.

Ivan was the bright spark on the pitch today, done well. Took his goal brilliantly and was positive going forward. The introduction of Ross Caldwell in the second half was another positive from today. In the first 5 minutes he had already done more than Doyle did for 45. The guy look's strong and he's also quick, hopefully we see alot more of this guy this season. Ozzy also done well when introduced, positive going forward, athletic and strong, i feel he offers something.

All in all a good run out with a much better second half showing than first. BUT....we still need a good few players if we want to avoid another relegation battle. Two midfielders and a striker would make me feel a whole lot more confident :agree:

14-07-2012, 04:01 PM

First half was a total non event, we were poor, very poor. We simply can't go into the new season with a midfield that consist's of Wotherspoon and Stevenson, we need better quality in there big time! Don't get me wrong, it was a usual committed performance from Lewis but the fact of the matter is that if we want to move forward as a club and reach a new level then a midfielder of his standard cannot be involved. Same goes for David, for a guy of his age i just can't for the life of me work out why he's just SO incredibly slow. Claros was composed but needs to get involved more in games. I was pretty let down with Cairney, didn't exactly do anything wrong but was a ghost first half.

The defense did ok first half, a few shaky moments here and there but not too bad. Clancy was solid enough in the right back position.

we simply can't (and hopefully won't) go into the new season with just Doyle up front like we did today. He's still far too light weight. Could be a different story however if we sign a good experience striker to play up top with him, he doe's make the odd good run into space.

Second half - MUCH improved. Cairney looks more lively (is he a left midfielder because i thought he was a centre?) This half gave me more hope. Clancy moved to centre half with Mcpake and Alan Maybury brought on at right back. For me, Clancy looked far better in the middle with Mcpake than he did at right back (although as i say, he was solid enough in there). Maybury imo done well. He was alot quicker than i expect and likes to get down the flank and was in the opposition half a good few time's. I'd certainly be tempted to give him a deal and won't be disappointed if pat does. A defense of Hanlon, Mcpake, Clancy, Muybury, could do pretty well.

Ivan was the bright spark on the pitch today, done well. Took his goal brilliantly and was positive going forward. The introduction of Ross Caldwell in the second half was another positive from today. In the first 5 minutes he had already done more than Doyle did for 45. The guy look's strong and he's also quick, hopefully we see alot more of this guy this season. Ozzy also done well when introduced, positive going forward, athletic and strong, i feel he offers something.

All in all a good run out with a much better second half showing than first. BUT....we still need a good few players if we want to avoid another relegation battle. Two midfielders and a striker would make me feel a whole lot more confident :agree:

Thanks for that, couldn't make it today but was keen to hear what the new guys played like. A long way to go yet!

BarneyK
14-07-2012, 04:08 PM

Second half - MUCH improved. Cairney looks more lively (is he a left midfielder because i thought he was a centre?) This half gave me more hope. Clancy moved to centre half with Mcpake and Alan Maybury brought on at right back. For me, Clancy looked far better in the middle with Mcpake than he did at right back (although as i say, he was solid enough in there). Maybury imo done well. He was alot quicker than i expect and likes to get down the flank and was in the opposition half a good few time's. I'd certainly be tempted to give him a deal and won't be disappointed if pat does. A defense of Hanlon, Mcpake, Clancy, Maybury, could do pretty well.

I thought both played well today.

At The Edge
14-07-2012, 04:09 PM
How was the new keeper? command his area and come off the line now and then?

goosefat
14-07-2012, 04:10 PM
Obviously missing their star man Clancey :wink:

It does make me wonder why teams in the SPL make such a fuss about getting into Europe. Yes, it'll be a bit of money for the clubs involved, but lets not kid ourselves, none of them will get anywhere near the league stages and most will probably fall at the opening qualifying game.

woooosh....

What was that?

That, Mr McCall, was your European campaign for this season.

oh.:yawn2:

14-07-2012, 04:20 PM
Decent performance for the first outing of the season. Thought Wotherspoon was our best player today. Cariney did well when he had the ball was willing to run at people. Caldwell look decent when he came on. Maybury was the bigest suprise, he was actually quite good going forward. Clancy and Williams will add to the expreince at the back and were good talkers but we still need a left back to make us solid. Dont think we can play only 1 up front as Doyle needs a partner. Overall a decent first pre season friendly

14-07-2012, 04:23 PM
Oh, i forgot to mention the keeper, who was another positive today! The guy likes to communicate, he was constantly shouting (has a very LOUD voice!) Kept the defense's shape well. Didn't have too much to do, but look's like he can command his area well with the few crosses he gathered with ease. Will need another game to properly judge but the early signs are very good indeed! :thumbsup:

14-07-2012, 04:26 PM
Decent performance for the first outing of the season. Thought Wotherspoon was our best player today. Cariney did well when he had the ball was willing to run at people. Caldwell look decent when he came on. Maybury was the bigest suprise, he was actually quite good going forward. Clancy and Williams will add to the expreince at the back and were good talkers but we still need a left back to make us solid. Dont think we can play only 1 up front as Doyle needs a partner. Overall a decent first pre season friendly

Completely baffling, but as the saying goes, 'each to their own'.

14-07-2012, 04:30 PM
Ivan was the bright spark on the pitch today, done well. Took his goal brilliantly and was positive going forward.

Not what I saw. He missed a couple of good chances first half. He was also played some good balls down the right but his crossing was poor.

I agree it was a better second half. Definitely need more/better in the striking department.

Wotherspoon did quite well, and unlucky not to get on the score sheet. Stevenson I thought played okay without really trying too hard. First half was played at "bounce game" speed so not easy to make a proper analysis of players (new and old).

14-07-2012, 04:35 PM
That was absolute rubbish. Don't think I've ever been as bored during a game. Still at least 5 players short IMO.

sparkiedelpaco7
14-07-2012, 04:36 PM
Ratings

GK - Ben Williams - 8 - Very Vocal and Sturdy.

RB - Tim Clancy - 7 - Played well and Nice goal. Looked better at CB in 2nd Half.
CB - James McPake - 8 - Usual High Performance.
CB - David Stephens - 6 - Looked shaky at points and gave away the ball too often.
LB - Paul Hanlon - 7 - Played well.

RM - Ivan Sproule - 8 - Gd attacking threat and was involved alot.
CM - Lewis Stevenson - 6 - Did nothing wrong but equally nothing stand out.
CM - Jorge Claros - 6 - Same as Lewis.
LM - Paul Cairney - 8 - Looked very gd on the ball and worked well with spoony.

AM - David Wotherspoon - 8 - My MOTM today. Controlled our attack.

CF - Eoin Doyle - 7 - Wasnt his best game but still well involved

Subs

GK - Callum Antell - 7 - Did nothing wrong
RB - Alan Maybury - 7 - Played well
LB - Callum Booth - 6 - could have done more going forward
RM - Sam Stanton - 6 - Didnt have long
CM - Harry Monaghan - 6 - Played ok but didnt stand out
CM - Isiah Osbourne - 7 - Played well and had some gd shots
LM - Pa Kujabi - 6 - Didnt stand out
CF - Danny Handling - 6 - Didnt have too long
CF - Ross Caldwell - 8 - Held up ball well and played strong

14-07-2012, 04:37 PM
Noticed no O'Hanlon or Scott Smith on the squad today, injured?

JIm
14-07-2012, 04:40 PM

Your analysis is whats baffling me. Wotherspoon was excellent. But as the saying goes "each to their own"

14-07-2012, 04:40 PM
Football is about opinions 2 of posts say Spoony MOM other 2 disagree. Yip footballs back

Leighonel
14-07-2012, 04:41 PM
Ross Caldwell and Ozzy were the difference today.

Caldwell could be that striker we are looking for: used the ball well, won headers, held up play, had a few shots and nearly set up a goal.

Kujabi looked better in midfield.

I also noticed that the ball was rarely off the ground. The only long ball forward, that I can remember, from an outfield player was maybury but he found his man.

Still got quite a bit of work to do but it is the first game so I'm not worried.

sbell1875
14-07-2012, 04:42 PM

I would agree. Wotherspoon look quite dangerous playing off the striker. When he gets the ball and drives at players he looks a completely different player and he did that a few times today. Osbourne was a million times better than in the final and I know it is only East Fife but seeing him and Spoony trying to dribble with the ball and get involved up top I think things look a bit better.

14-07-2012, 04:43 PM

Cant agree with your overall summing up today (differing opinions more than me feeling you are wrong)but you are bang on with this :agree:

14-07-2012, 04:58 PM
I would agree. Wotherspoon look quite dangerous playing off the striker. When he gets the ball and drives at players he looks a completely different player and he did that a few times today. Osbourne was a million times better than in the final and I know it is only East Fife but seeing him and Spoony trying to dribble with the ball and get involved up top I think things look a bit better.

The key point.

When either of these guys can string 4/5 good SPL games together then things will look better.

14-07-2012, 05:00 PM
Great steak pies. Good turn out from Hibs fans. New strip looks brilliant. Already look to be playing more as a team than we have for a long time. If we can afford him Maybury would be a great signing.

14-07-2012, 05:13 PM
I thought the first half was dreadful, very boring and very much like last season's performances.

2nd half was better, thanks in no small part to Caldwell's introduction. Still a long way from being a good team but there were some encouraging signs in the second half.

muirhousehibby
14-07-2012, 05:20 PM
That was absolute rubbish. Don't think I've ever been as bored during a game. Still at least 5 players short IMO.

Well keep wishing cause there will be another 2 added at most from what i was being told after the game in east fife lounge.

From what i was told i can't see hibs wasting resources with and signing maybury,unless we get the players that are not in pf plans out the door soon.:agree:

14-07-2012, 05:22 PM
Well keep wishing cause there will be another 2 added at most from what i was being told after the game in east fife lounge.

From what i was told i can't see hibs wasting resources with and signing maybury,unless we get the players that are not in pf plans out the door soon.:agree:

Did the boys enjoy their pies? Also, did anyone end up speaking to Kujabi?!

muirhousehibby
14-07-2012, 05:25 PM
Did the boys enjoy their pies? Also, did anyone end up speaking to Kujabi?!

lol most had the pasta and kujabi left pretty quickly can't recall anyone speaking to him before he left.:wink:

JoeTortolanoFanClub
14-07-2012, 06:01 PM

Spoony quite often plays just off the striker for Scotland under-21s and is very effective there. Hibs just need to sign Jordan Rhodes !

14-07-2012, 06:02 PM
Wotherspoon was played in his fav position ,,source ,he tweeted it .

14-07-2012, 06:05 PM
I asked mcpake on twitter about him stretching all the time and he says its just so nothin tightens up so hopefully its nothing to do with his back and we get a good season from him

14-07-2012, 07:00 PM
Football is about opinions 2 of posts say Spoony MOM other 2 disagree. Yip footballs back

Make that 3-2 for Spoony!

14-07-2012, 07:08 PM
Make that 3-2 for Spoony!

Ivan was man of the match by a mile. Spoony made a good start to the game but I thought he faded in the 2nd

14-07-2012, 07:14 PM
I know this is not related to the Hibs game today but what a great crowd at Dundee today over 10,000 for a pre season game. :agree::top marks

Twiglet
14-07-2012, 07:18 PM
I asked mcpake on twitter about him stretching all the time and he says its just so nothin tightens up so hopefully its nothing to do with his back and we get a good season from him

Thanks for asking that Super. :)

Billy
14-07-2012, 08:06 PM
Their number 9 just thrfew the funniest strop when called offside. Hope it's in the highlights.

It's in the HTV highlights :greengrin

Clancy's Free kick:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dHf7x-VCTlI&list=UUXKLs14yjDc5s7GJ1txkWxw&index=1&feature=plcp

Twiglet
14-07-2012, 08:10 PM

Clancy's Free kick:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dHf7x-VCTlI&list=UUXKLs14yjDc5s7GJ1txkWxw&index=1&feature=plcp

Thank you!:thumbsup:

14-07-2012, 08:11 PM

Clancy's Free kick:

Don't see this on the Hibernian Interactive page yet? Is it coming Billy?

Billy
14-07-2012, 08:16 PM
Don't see this on the Hibernian Interactive page yet? Is it coming Billy?

Sorry, meant to add that the 27 minute highlights are currently loading onto the system, hopefully it will be up within the next half hour.

14-07-2012, 08:17 PM
Sorry, meant to add that the 27 minute highlights are currently loading onto the system, hopefully it will be up within the next half hour.

Good fellah!

14-07-2012, 08:19 PM
I know this is not related to the Hibs game today but what a great crowd at Dundee today over 10,000 for a pre season game. :agree::top marks
Surely there at too many zeros in there, there could only be 100 at this match as Rangers weren't involved. The Scottish press have told us were all doomed, going bankrupt, followed by a plague of locusts and then years of famine and social unrest without Rangers you know!

Well done the city of Dundee. Can't be bothered to check but I'd bet that the last Utd v Huns match didn't have many more in attendance

14-07-2012, 08:35 PM
Why were East Fife playing in Orange? I thought there colours were Yellow and Black.

14-07-2012, 08:38 PM
Why were East Fife playing in Orange? I thought there colours were Yellow and Black.

It was red.

Billy
14-07-2012, 08:54 PM
Good fellah!

The upload is taking a wee bit longer than I thought, it's currently at 50%. I'll post once on the system.

At The Edge
14-07-2012, 08:59 PM
The upload is taking a wee bit longer than I thought, it's currently at 50%. I'll post once on the system.

:I'm waiti

14-07-2012, 09:22 PM
How did Booth play when he came on

Twiglet
14-07-2012, 09:24 PM
Highlights up.

jamieross
14-07-2012, 09:26 PM
In that clip i see Booth and Kujabi were on the field at the same time, was Booth playing left wing? If so howd he do there?

Twiglet
14-07-2012, 09:32 PM
In that clip i see Booth and Kujabi were on the field at the same time, was Booth playing left wing? If so howd he do there?

Booth was playing LB and Kujabi was in front of him. They were kind of covering for one another, i.e. if Booth went forward, Kujabi stayed back to cover.

14-07-2012, 09:32 PM

For me that's the best part of the day, what a signal of intent, dundee can hold its head up high. Although I'm sure this game would have been arranged prior to them being possibly in the spl but it makes no difference, Armageddon my hoop.

Well done the dees.

Stuff like this makes me want to see us fans collectivley make a gesture to acknowledge this type of thing wether its a banner at a game or whatever, I think this whole sorry situation should bring a lot of clubs and fans together and get back to the friendly rivalry but with the mutual respect teams deserve imo.

Hearts aside :-)

14-07-2012, 09:44 PM
Do you remember Kujabi's last free kick effort ? Ha !

Cracking dig :wink:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GyGZ1gURL78

jamieross
14-07-2012, 09:49 PM
Booth was playing LB and Kujabi was in front of him. They were kind of covering for one another, i.e. if Booth went forward, Kujabi stayed back to cover.

Thanks for the info mate :aok:

The Weeman's Mum
15-07-2012, 01:20 AM
Did anyone else notice the objects thrown onto the pitch in the second half of the game this afternoon? Was sitting near the singing section, and saw 2 items (brown sauce packets) and 1 pen (allegedly laser pen according to the stewards), thrown from behind. Only the pen made it onto the pitch area, others landed at the tunnel. Was also told by a East Fife staff member, that some idiot decided to break some toilets in the men's toilets! If this is true, what total disregard and stupidity!:grr:

15-07-2012, 10:19 AM
Did anyone else notice the objects thrown onto the pitch in the second half of the game this afternoon? Was sitting near the singing section, and saw 2 items (brown sauce packets) and 1 pen (allegedly laser pen according to the stewards), thrown from behind. Only the pen made it onto the pitch area, others landed at the tunnel. Was also told by a East Fife staff member, that some idiot decided to break some toilets in the men's toilets! If this is true, what total disregard and stupidity!:grr:

Yeah I noticed the pen just miss the security man standing at front, he then radioed to two colleagues to come over and check out what was thrown. No matter what it was it shouldn't have been thrown! Then the wee boys decided to sing 'you're not the real police' to the three security men, oh how offensive....not. Some people need to grow up, as for the toilets I never heard that but if true a small fine coming our way and season not even started yet

15-07-2012, 11:06 AM

Some ******** behind me through something, thought it was a piece of metal at first, lucky it was only a pen otherwise someone could have been hurt. Good to see the people around me not holding back and letting the boy know what a tosser he is.

Toilets were fine at HT?

Was good to hear the PR wifey wish us well for next season. The grub was decent and good value for money!

15-07-2012, 11:13 AM
Never seen anything thrown but the toilets were fine after the game.

15-07-2012, 12:22 PM
Well we are off the mark with our first win. PF first full season in charge and his 100% record is intact! The new kit looks seriously good, I think it is the darker green, that works well.

GGTTH This is our season!

dchibs
15-07-2012, 12:57 PM
I heard that Rod taught him the bending down for a coin technique during pre-season training.

The next lesson will be about catching it on the back of the head.

Rod could tell if its heads or tails when it landed.:aok:

The Weeman's Mum
15-07-2012, 02:46 PM
Thanks for the headsup re the thread, as stated, do not post often and didn't realize the merger. As for the toilets, this was discovered at the end of the game when the ground staff checked the toilets for locking up the gates. It was an older man who informed us, mentioned it to another staff member and the female announcer to see if they knew anything about this. Then informed me, they had been told the same thing. I apologized on behalf of the true fans and stated that this was inexcusable! Hope you all don't mind me doing this. I do hope they notify the club about this, not sure if fines apply in pre-season games.

On a side note, the female announcer told me that an older lady popped into their office the other day, (after the SFL meeting to vote "that team" into 3rd Division. She then handed over an envelope with a donation to East Fife FC and said thank you for voting no and keeping integrity intact! Needless to say they were shocked but very thankfull. I thought it was a nice gesture from this other lady, (who was in her 70's and has been a football fan for a very long time)!:thumbsup:

15-07-2012, 02:59 PM
Watching the highlights on HI, and it appears we had a lady doing something or other on the sidelines, was she wearing a Hibs tracksuit?

Hibby_G
15-07-2012, 03:10 PM
cmon we played great

At The Edge
15-07-2012, 04:15 PM
Watching the highlights on HI, and it appears we had a lady doing something or other on the sidelines, was she wearing a Hibs tracksuit?

Noticed that as well. Anyone any idea who she is or what she does?

15-07-2012, 04:19 PM

Just had a PM saying its Tam McCourt midway through his sex change, can anyone confirm it was Tammy?

15-07-2012, 04:20 PM

New trialist.

We've been looking to man up in midfield for quite some time now.

15-07-2012, 04:42 PM

That's Sarah the under 20s physio. Been at the club for quite a few years now

15-07-2012, 05:30 PM
That's Sarah the under 20s physio. Been at the club for quite a few years now

:aok: Thanks, i knew it couldn't be Tam. :wink:

15-07-2012, 08:47 PM
:aok: Thanks, i knew it couldn't be Tam. :wink:

Speaking of Tam, Callum Booth hit him on the back with a ball when the subs were out at half time. CB looked mortified and came over to Tam to apologise while sporting a huge grin. IMO Tam's ball control was awful and he needs dropped :greengrin

muirhousehibby
15-07-2012, 10:20 PM

As i said yesterday http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/18849806 :agree:

jamieross
15-07-2012, 10:32 PM
Any free highlights available to watch online for this game?

15-07-2012, 10:41 PM
Must admit I thought it was a good workout.

We managed to get a good bit heckling in though some of it was slow due to lack of match practice, worked out who a couple of our targets to boo will be this season. got a good bit of moaning about S43(where was the drum?). Disappointed the bench was on the far side of the pitch though as we couldn't heckle the manager.Roll on the new season.................:greengrin

big-mo
16-07-2012, 09:54 AM
Did anyone notice it being mentioned anywhere what the attendance was on Saturday?

16-07-2012, 10:05 AM
Must admit I thought it was a good workout.

We managed to get a good bit heckling in though some of it was slow due to lack of match practice, worked out who a couple of our targets to boo will be this season. got a good bit of moaning about S43(where was the drum?). Disappointed the bench was on the far side of the pitch though as we couldn't heckle the manager.Roll on the new season.................:greengrin

Drum didn't make it due to drummer being away for the weekend!

Was always going to be a struggle for us with only 10-15 folk singing. Can't expect much from a friendly though. Hopefully we will be louder in Belgium after some Stella:cb

16-07-2012, 10:06 AM
Did anyone notice it being mentioned anywhere what the attendance was on Saturday?

Didn't hear it mentioned - stand held 2,000 and the left side was pretty packed. Over 1,000 I would say?

16-07-2012, 01:31 PM
link to some pics from game on EFFC's website -

http://eastfifefc.info/match/match-photos/category/106-east-fife-v-hibs-14th-july-2012