View Full Version : Leigh Griffiths Signed On Loan - Confirmed

Pages : 1 [2]

21-07-2012, 07:52 AM
I hope this is true, will wait till it is official!

21-07-2012, 07:58 AM
Loan til Jan.

RSS Bot
21-07-2012, 08:00 AM
Griffiths to join up with squad later today

More... (http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20120721/player-update_2262950_2855875)

21-07-2012, 08:00 AM
@HibernianFCClub: BREAKING NEWS: Club can confirm that Leigh Griffiths will join up with the squad at their pre-season base in Holland later today. #sparky

21-07-2012, 08:02 AM
:giruy:

21-07-2012, 08:03 AM
On official site, welcome back Leigh :thumbsup:

http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20120721/player-update_2262950_2855875

21-07-2012, 08:05 AM
Great news. Welcome back Sparky

21-07-2012, 08:05 AM
A big step in the right direction, delighted we have got this one sorted out even if it is only a loan as there's every chance a deal can be done now at the end of the loan given his contract situation.

EK_Hibs
21-07-2012, 08:06 AM
.....meh

Why has the thread title been changed to say he's signed on loan? Nothing has been confirmed yet, so you never know.

Really :greengrin

Hibspirational
On official site, welcome back Leigh :thumbsup:

http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20120721/player-update_2262950_2855875

Great news to have Sparky back... :thumbsup::thumbsup:

but a little disappointed it's only a loan till January. :cb

I hope this is true, will wait till it is official!

Didn't have to wait long!

21-07-2012, 08:07 AM
Delighted with that.

Let's get a big hard midfielder and a winger in now.

Need some creativity to set them up for Sparky

21-07-2012, 08:08 AM
Assume Wolves will want something from Hibs in Jan. We might need to buy him then. Either way its good news and one of the few from last season that i wanted back in a hibs shirt.

21-07-2012, 08:10 AM
Hibs don't do 'pushing the boat out', however.

21-07-2012, 08:15 AM
Wonder how many ST's we have shifted since 'the fat lady sung' regarding NewCo / Chairmans statement....:hmmm: must be a few with this happening I would think..

Lets shift some more.....Who next :greengrin

21-07-2012, 08:15 AM
Welcome back sparky! Will definetely be an important player for us

21-07-2012, 08:17 AM
.....meh

:confused::rolleyes:

Offside Trap
21-07-2012, 08:18 AM
Fantastic news. Welcome back Leigh.

Hopefully persuades some more folks to get that season ticket. :agree:

21-07-2012, 08:19 AM
Welcome back Leigh. :flag: :giruy:

21-07-2012, 08:28 AM
Fantastic news. Welcome back Leigh.

Hopefully persuades some more folks to get that season ticket.

and if you can't afford one / make it to games...here a great way to support the club & blood the next generation...

http://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?241243-*****Kicks-For-Kids-Season-Tickets-Fundraiser-23-Season-Tickets-Bought*****

Bob Box Fish
21-07-2012, 08:34 AM
Good news, if we keep signing last years players should at least get second bottom ;)

21-07-2012, 08:37 AM
Yes! Welcome back Leigh

21-07-2012, 08:40 AM
Good news, if we keep signing last years players should at least get second bottom ;)

So you think every player last year shouldn't be here, on maybe just the really crap ones, the guy scored 11 goals in what was the worst team at ER in many a year, at least he gave his all.

21-07-2012, 08:40 AM
Excellent news.

21-07-2012, 08:41 AM
Fantastic news and I am sure Leigh will contribute greatly to Hibs this coming season. I know it says it is an initial six month loan but can see him being here the whole season and beyond.

21-07-2012, 08:42 AM
Yes! Welcome back Leigh

I am overcome with indifference.

21-07-2012, 08:45 AM

Congratulations, I am pleased for you.

21-07-2012, 08:46 AM
I am overcome with indifference.:rolleyes:

Bob Box Fish
21-07-2012, 08:47 AM
So you think every player last year shouldn't be here, on maybe just the really crap ones, the guy scored 11 goals in what was the worst team at ER in many a year, at least he gave his all.

Sweet jesus

Lungo--Drom
21-07-2012, 08:47 AM
He can s**g donkeys for all I care, in his spare time, as long as he repeatedly gets the inflated bouncy thing into the netting hanging from the frame, the one manned by a man in big gloves that he doesn't know from training days.

:giruy: <-- look he's even got his own Hibbicon :agree:

Thats the $6m question, can he?

21-07-2012, 08:49 AM
LG was in probably one of the worst teams in many years but for me was not one of the worst players, he showed me that he could be a player and I think with more quality in team he would be better.

What I will say is if Hibs are in a position to not require LG then we must have some team ready to roll. Hibs are light years away from not needing this player at the moment.

True

Off the bar
21-07-2012, 08:54 AM
good news, just need somene in the midfield who can control the ball, look up and find him! simple

:giruy:

21-07-2012, 08:54 AM
Good news as he will score goals and I agree even in last seasons team he manged to score out the blue (ICT away 3v2 for example).

Last season showed he does need support up there and still another striker and some midfielders are key to give him some service.

Let's hope he also learnt from those suspensions as sitting in the stands is no use to the the club or fans.

Will probably be Hibs top scorer this season :agree:

21-07-2012, 08:55 AM
I find some people on here astonishing.

'Meh, who needs a proven young goalscorer, who will always give 100%, not Hibs class ect ...'

21-07-2012, 08:58 AM
yee ****n ha. am looking forward to next season so much. get midfield a bit stronger tho pat.

21-07-2012, 08:59 AM
A step in the right direction, hope he screws the nut. Ggtth

21-07-2012, 09:00 AM
I can't find his website, not Hibs class!!!!!!!!!

VickMackie
21-07-2012, 09:02 AM
I think this is a good move. Is it a full season?

We desperately need another midfielder and winger. I wouldn't be delighted with that but if we can get another 2-3 quality players in then I'd like to see that.

I don't have a season ticket but I will be at more games this season as a result of the rangers situation and a glimmer of hope and a chance to see Scottish football progress, or at least be more interesting, without Rangers.

Hibs On Tour
21-07-2012, 09:05 AM
Welcome back Leigh.

I find it interesting however that LG is welcomed back with open arms despite his 'issues' in the past whereas DR who is a far better player, far more of a goal threat with a far better track record of goals scored still gets the frowns from many on here. Strange. For me, if our team is improved by having LG here, imagine how much more it would have been improved with DR here...

Regardless, just puzzles me is all :confused:

21-07-2012, 09:07 AM
Very good news. We will definitely be a better team with LG in it. Well done PF for getting this sorted.

21-07-2012, 09:17 AM
Welcome back Leigh.

I find it interesting however that LG is welcomed back with open arms despite his 'issues' in the past whereas DR who is a far better player, far more of a goal threat with a far better track record of goals scored still gets the frowns from many on here. Strange. For me, if our team is improved by having LG here, imagine how much more it would have been improved with DR here...

Regardless, just puzzles me is all :confused:

Work rate - plain and simple

Don't get me wrong would take Deeks as well if we had room

JHFC
21-07-2012, 09:30 AM
Sorry if mentioned but will he be playing tonight?

patlowe
21-07-2012, 09:41 AM
The cup final aside, I thought Griffiths was developing quite nicely towards the end of last season and still has the potential to be a top player. The problem is, if he bangs in 10 goals by January he'll be snapped up by a championship club willing to pay whatever small fee it is that hibs can't afford/don't want to pay. Beggars can't be choosers etc I suppose.

21-07-2012, 09:44 AM
Welcome back LG.

Forgetting the SCF where he barely got a kick of the ball he had a decent season when he did play. He managed to score goals in front of a midfield who were constantly steamrollered and created nothing for the strikers. If the choice had been between him and G O'C then a no contest for me ... at least he has a bit of pace and ball control ... 2 things G O'C doesnt.

Somebody here reminded me that Doyle was a winger before he became a striker .. perhaps PF is thinking of Sproul on the right and Doyle on the left.

With LG signed and the defense looking a bit stronger the big worry is the midfield ... IMO we need at least one more strong signing in that area, probably 2 in fact.

For the last two seasons we have had a midfield which had difficulty winning the ball back when it lost it, couldnt create anything when it did have it and for the most part couldnt protect the back 4. I cant see that changing with what we have at the moment apart from Cairney who may add something going forward.

21-07-2012, 09:44 AM
Delighted, welcome back Sparky!

21-07-2012, 09:52 AM
happy to hear this, should score a few for us next season

21-07-2012, 09:54 AM
Good move for us maybe play Caldwell as the target man with Sparky feeding off him could be rewarding.......

21-07-2012, 10:00 AM
After hearing Fenlon talk about how 'the bad dressing room influences were gone and wont be back', i assumed that was it for Sparky. So assuming Pat wasnt spinning us a line, sparky clearly isnt the bad guy we're sometimes told. Or maybe its a case of desperation in the striking positions.

Whatever, :giruy: to the know it alls :greengrin

21-07-2012, 10:05 AM

You can get an ointment for that

21-07-2012, 10:06 AM
Good move. We were never in a position to turn down a striker of his caliber.

Another midfielder and a winger and I'll be happy.

21-07-2012, 10:16 AM
I think LG's problems were more in field than off.. ie unable to control his temper hence making the gestures. No doubting the guy has talent and 11 goals whilst working hard in games is a good return.

His goal in SF was excellent.

In PF I trust.

21-07-2012, 10:25 AM
Great news!

Welcome back Sparky :thumbsup:

21-07-2012, 10:33 AM
I'm surprised Hibs are paying for an air fare to get him out to Holland, i'd have thought he could get his hands on a jet pack?

Welcome back Leigh, time to mature and show everyone what you are good at.:flag:

21-07-2012, 10:34 AM
WILLIAMS

CLANCY
McPAKE
NEW CB
HANLON

NEW DM

BOOTH
NEW RM

SHIELS

CALDWELL/DOYLE
GRIFFITHS

4 more and I'm happy.

21-07-2012, 10:40 AM
Great news.

The boy has huge potential and always gives 100%.

The season seems like it could be that little bit brighter now.

21-07-2012, 10:42 AM
SHIELS

:pray:

21-07-2012, 10:43 AM
Welcome back Leigh. 4/5 more required imo. keep them coming Pat and Rod

21-07-2012, 10:51 AM
After what Fenlon has said about 'the right characters' in the dressing room id be flabbergasted if he came back. Won't happen.

Fenlon's statement says he is looking for a striker different from the ones we had last season, so it would suggest he isn't high up the wanted list.

Good skills boys :faf:

We have made a "very decent offer" :wink:

On Pie and bovril. Apparently Griffiths will be a hibs player by the weekend.

I would agree with that.

:wink: :thumbsup: Welcome home Leigh :thumbsup:

ChooseLife
21-07-2012, 11:03 AM
Bit of a twat but he's a good striker, as long as we only have 1 twat in the squad it should be fine, :thumbsup:

21-07-2012, 11:10 AM
Good news.

If he keep the head and can focus on his game then he's undoubtedly a very good player.

A midfielder and a central defender to come imo and possibly Maybury if finances allow. Think that's realistic giving the finances with maybe a bit tinkering come January. It's a long term project but its starting to look like its going in the right direction.

21-07-2012, 11:15 AM
Welcome back Leigh :greengrin

Hopefully we can continue to see more development, even if he is here until January before a Championship club move for him he could prove important if he can help us towards a few victories. The squad needed a lot of work, much more work than a single transfer window and I'm happy to see it going in the right direction, hopefully next up will be another midfielder and Maybury, after that I will be happy until the next transfer window to look for more improvements.

21-07-2012, 11:16 AM
:thumbsup: no complaints from me!

However we need another striker. Sutton/Kyle/O'Connor mould :agree:

hibIBZ
21-07-2012, 11:17 AM
not doubting his talent or his level of effort, but still doubt his mental ability. not the brightest and a bit hot headed but we need goals and energy still think we need a proper CF for griffiths to play off plus need to fill the gaps in midfield

21-07-2012, 11:17 AM
Very good news.

Now for a proper midfield to get the ball to him. He's capable of scoring a lot more than 11 goals.

21-07-2012, 11:20 AM
Keep the head LG, start curbing the gestures and you will do just fine. Welcome back.

BarneyHibby
21-07-2012, 11:20 AM
Brilliant news! Welcome back Leigh!:thumbsup:

21-07-2012, 11:21 AM
Delighted! Welcome home Leigh :aok:

21-07-2012, 11:21 AM
He can s**g donkeys for all I care, in his spare time, as long as he repeatedly gets the inflated bouncy thing into the netting hanging from the frame, the one manned by a man in big gloves that he doesn't know from training days.

:giruy: <-- look he's even got his own Hibbicon :agree:

He better not sh*g my donkey.

21-07-2012, 11:23 AM
Leigh welcome home son. If you want to do gestures ask our manager for some instruction on how to do it properly !

:)

Jack Ferrigan
21-07-2012, 11:29 AM
There's no doubt that PF andLO'B have had a major influence on Lee. I see him maturing under their guidance. He will be a threat to all defences in the coming season. I look forward to him donning the Hibs shirt again. He can show a touch of genius at times.

Leighonel
21-07-2012, 11:31 AM
Very happy.

21-07-2012, 11:52 AM
Good move for us maybe play Caldwell as the target man with Sparky feeding off him could be rewarding.......

Hopefully. I don't think he and Doyle compliment each other very much, so I presume it will be Caldwell and Griffiths or the 4-3-3 Fenlon referred to with Cairney, Griffiths and Sproule/New RW up front.

Although if we played that 4-3-3 we'd have to rely on a central three of something like Stevenson,Claros and Spoon which makes me cringe.

21-07-2012, 11:54 AM
Very happy.

Hibstrooper
21-07-2012, 11:54 AM
WILLIAMS

CLANCY
McPAKE
NEW CB
HANLON

NEW DM

BOOTH
NEW RM

SHIELS

CALDWELL/DOYLE
GRIFFITHS

4 more and I'm happy.

That's very optimistic, we would need to shift the additional 3k season tickets to bring in that number.

Williams

Maybury
McPake
Cairney
Hanlon

Claros
Stevenson

Cairney
Wotherspoon
Sproule

Griffiths

Is what I reckon we'll be looking at unless there is significant uplift in Season Tickets. I think we will find rather than Hibs be a lot better next season a lot of the other teams will go backwards and that's what will bring us closer.

Smidge
21-07-2012, 11:57 AM
Williams

Maybury
McPake
Cairney
Hanlon

Claros
Stevenson

Cairney
Wotherspoon
Sproule

Griffiths

Wow, this guy must be some player, if he can fill two positions simultaneously, one of which I don't think he has ever played :greengrin

I'm guessing you meant Clancy at CB....

21-07-2012, 12:00 PM
That's very optimistic, we would need to shift the additional 3k season tickets to bring in that number.

Williams

Maybury
McPake
Cairney
Hanlon

Claros
Stevenson

Cairney
Wotherspoon
Sproule

Griffiths

Is what I reckon we'll be looking at unless there is significant uplift in Season Tickets. I think we will find rather than Hibs be a lot better next season a lot of the other teams will go backwards and that's what will bring us closer.

That CM combo terrifies me. No physical presence at all, and neither look to go forward.

patlowe
21-07-2012, 12:02 PM
That CM combo terrifies me. No physical presence at all, and neither look to go forward.

I'm willing to give Claros another chance after a preseason but I do share your fears!

21-07-2012, 12:03 PM
Teckle!! :aok:

21-07-2012, 12:16 PM
WILLIAMS

CLANCY
McPAKE
NEW CB
HANLON

NEW DM

BOOTH
NEW RM

SHIELS

CALDWELL/DOYLE
GRIFFITHS

4 more and I'm happy.

Williams

Hanlon - McPake - Stephens - Clancy

Kujabi - Stevenson - Wotherspoon - Cairney

Griffiths - Doyle

Subs: Antell/Grant, Booth, Caldwell, Stanton, Galbraith, Claros, O'Hanlon

I don't anticipate many more signings, hopefully Maybury and at least another midfielder who can create chances. Kujabi is a LM and not a LB so he at least deserves a go at his natural position and I don't agree with everyone saying he should be punted. Wotherspoon looks good as an AM so him and Stevenson can provide a temporary solution in midfield and Spoony can interchange with Cairney. To be fair it does leave a lot to be desired, but it is what we have to play with at this moment in time and maybe a few more faces will be joining us.

BarneyK
21-07-2012, 12:19 PM

They're sitting midfielders though, bombing forward is for the other three surely?

21-07-2012, 12:21 PM
Williams

Griffiths - Doyle

I don't anticipate many more signings, hopefully Maybury and at least another midfielder who can create chances. Kujabi is a LM and not a LB so he at least deserves a go at his natural position and I don't agree with everyone saying he should be punted. Wotherspoon looks good as an AM so him and Stevenson can provide a temporary solution in midfield and Spoony can interchange with Cairney. To be fair it does leave a lot to be desired, but it is what we have to play with at this moment in time and maybe a few more faces will be joining us.

I still missed out Sproule as well :doh:

21-07-2012, 12:22 PM

Williams

Maybury
McPake
Clancy
Hanlon

Claros
Stevenson

Cairney
Wotherspoon
Sproule

Griffiths

Not bad, but at a minimum it needs a decent defensive midfielder to put Claros on the bench and maybe a more physical striker (which could be Caldwell).

21-07-2012, 12:23 PM
Good move. We were never in a position to turn down a striker of his caliber.

Another midfielder and a winger and I'll be happy.

Yeah really happy with Griffiths, keeper and defence looking better but the midfield and wide areas are a huge concern.

21-07-2012, 12:28 PM
That's better. Need 2 or 3 more decent signings.

21-07-2012, 12:31 PM
Williams

Maybury
McPake
Clancy
Smith (once fit)

New RW
Claros
New CM
Cairney

Doyle
Griffiths

Subs

Antell
Hanlon
Stanton
Stevenson
Booth
Caldwell
Handling

Hibstrooper
21-07-2012, 12:39 PM
Wow, this guy must be some player, if he can fill two positions simultaneously, one of which I don't think he has ever played :greengrin

I'm guessing you meant Clancy at CB....

Nah, 10 man team. Cut backs 'n all that :wink::greengrin

Too many new boys, I'm getting all their names confused!

21-07-2012, 12:55 PM

Huv a word mate. Geez, some folk. This post just proves that you cannae please All the folk - EVER.

21-07-2012, 01:05 PM
Huv a word mate. Geez, some folk. This post just proves that you cannae please All the folk - EVER.

Think he is just having a laugh with the wee wink there

21-07-2012, 01:30 PM
Griffiths was alright, and we do need another striker so good luck to him. He was in a poor Hibs team last season so don't really see how people can say whether he was particularly good or bad, he scored a few goals, probably quite a few in games where we were beaten anyway, but that's not his fault and that's his job so fair play that way. I do think he needs another striker playing up front with him, to me on his own he is all too predictable and quite easily marked out of the game, but he took his goals well and he has got a bit of pace which is certainly a plus. By the way I noticed a few people talking about Sproule, I hope he isn't anywhere near the 1st team next season, IMO he is one of the 1st players we should be moving on, just my opinion though.

21-07-2012, 01:36 PM
Who's this williams chap missed him.

IFONLY
21-07-2012, 01:40 PM
Williams

Griffiths - Doyle

Thats a well balanced side, two left sided players playing on the right side

21-07-2012, 01:46 PM
:confused::rolleyes:

Maybe it's this jc1 :greengrin

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_MN6jDRs9CM&feature=related

21-07-2012, 02:00 PM

I always start with the left sided players, maybe if you used a bit of thinking and noticed 2 left sided players on the same side and a RB in a slot you presumed to be a LB position you would realise where my left side of the team was.

21-07-2012, 02:09 PM
Williams

Griffiths - Doyle

S & S sorry but a quartet of umpa lumpas is taller than that MF. Sorry but that is a MF

I believe that Maybury (if signed) will be deployed as a Defensive MF.

21-07-2012, 02:30 PM
S & S sorry but a quartet of umpa lumpas is taller than that MF. Sorry but that is a MF

I believe that Maybury (if signed) will be deployed as a Defensive MF.

It is probably one of our best starting midfields from the current players at the club just now, we need at least one big ball winning midfielder to replace Stevenson who would in turn go on the subs bench. I can also see Maybury being a LB with Hanlon moved into CB. We need at least one more midfielder and one more striker.

BarneyK
21-07-2012, 02:33 PM
It is probably one of our best starting midfields from the current players at the club just now, we need at least one big ball winning midfielder to replace Stevenson who would in turn go on the subs bench. I can also see Maybury being a LB with Hanlon moved into CB. We need at least one more midfielder and one more striker.

I think Lewis will still be one of the first picks. And If he keeps up his recent form, quite right too.

21-07-2012, 02:38 PM

really?

21-07-2012, 02:50 PM
I think Lewis will still be one of the first picks. And If he keeps up his recent form, quite right too.

I like Lewis and he always gives it his all, but if we are being honest there are better players that can perform his role and maybe pitch up with a couple of goals or assists. Now that I think about it, is he not a LB? Why not move him there if we do sign another midfielder, it would solve two problems.

BarneyK
21-07-2012, 02:55 PM
I like Lewis and he always gives it his all, but if we are being honest there are better players that can perform his role and maybe pitch up with a couple of goals or assists. Now that I think about it, is he not a LB? Why not move him there if we do sign another midfielder, it would solve two problems.

This time last year I would have agreed with you, however his improvement in the past year is marked. The important thing for me is that he always shows for the ball and always tries to link the play. I think the formation we are trying out - the 4-2-3-1 suits him down to the ground.

21-07-2012, 03:03 PM
How about:

Williams

Clancy
McPake
Hanlon
Booth

Stephens
Claros (both sitting)

Cairney
Shiels (free role)
Griffiths

Caldwell

Gives us the strength needed in the middle in Stephens, a deep lying playmaker in Claros, and attacking threat in Shiels.

And best of all, only requires 1 signing.

21-07-2012, 03:04 PM
This time last year I would have agreed with you, however his improvement in the past year is marked. The important thing for me is that he always shows for the ball and always tries to link the play. I think the formation we are trying out - the 4-2-3-1 suits him down to the ground.

I'll alter my suggested team to the formation we've been trying

Williams

Stevenson - Claros

Kujabi - Wotherspoon - Cairney

Doyle/Griffiths

If any two players make way it will be Stephens and Claros for whoever the replacements will be.

21-07-2012, 03:51 PM
Maybe it's this jc1 :greengrin

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_MN6jDRs9CM&feature=related

Hahahaha

21-07-2012, 04:02 PM
It's more or less the same team that almost got relegated last year!!

Hibiza
21-07-2012, 04:05 PM
great signing, screw the nut, get a term contract. :flag:

Hibstrooper
21-07-2012, 04:36 PM
great signing, screw the nut, get a term contract. :flag:

And stay off twitter...

http://www.express.co.uk/posts/view/333817/Stale-Solbakken-conducts-a-Twitter-clampdown/

IFONLY
21-07-2012, 04:59 PM
I always start with the left sided players, maybe if you used a bit of thinking and noticed 2 left sided players on the same side and a RB in a slot you presumed to be a LB position you would realise where my left side of the team was.

Tactician of the year!!!!!

Macaroon
21-07-2012, 05:26 PM

This ^ :agree:

21-07-2012, 05:33 PM
I'll alter my suggested team to the formation we've been trying

Williams

Stevenson - Claros

Kujabi - Wotherspoon - Cairney

Doyle/Griffiths

If any two players make way it will be Stephens and Claros for whoever the replacements will be.

cant play stephans he will lose us games on his own, he was better as a forward player when he 1st signed

21-07-2012, 06:24 PM
I reckon two signings away from being ready - strong, ball winning midfielder and another striker.

21-07-2012, 06:30 PM
I reckon two signings away from being ready - strong, ball winning midfielder and another striker.

I think Maybury will come in and possibly a new Midfielder, unless we shift a few more ST's I cant see much else coming in imo

21-07-2012, 07:27 PM
Delighted that Leigh is back , for me he is as good a signing as McPake.

22-07-2012, 03:25 AM
If there really is a new set of standards at hibs then I agree that it is slightly contradictory signing a player like Leigh.

I think this is a bit of an exception though. There are bad sides to him, a lot of which can be put down to immaturity. However, there are many positive sides to him. He loves the club, he has exceptional talent and He tries. Anyone who think he goes missing should consider the god-awful midfield last season, the "service" they provided and the frustration associated with that.

All factors would have been weighed-up by Fenlon and he has chosen to include him. I believe here will be enough professionals in our dressing room to enforce the new attitude and more mature players that youngsters can look up to and get the message that hard work pays off.
The type of characters we don't need are those whose heads went down when the going got tough last season and backed up their name infrequently. For all his faults Leigh Griffiths did neither and was an example on the pitch in those respects.

No doubt the law will have been lain down and standards agreed. If he fails then it's over as he's only on loan.

Personally, I'm so pleased he is with us again as I believe we are definitely better with him than without. :thumbsup:

22-07-2012, 08:44 AM
LG is not known for being a bad boy of the pitch. Yes he had two kids in a month but he was not part of the George Street gang. His problem is he bites on the pitch. I think he is a good signing. McPake, Griffiths and the Huns in the 3 division. Great start to the season. Mon the Hibs

jon paul jones
22-07-2012, 09:12 AM
Welcome back LG.

Forgetting the SCF where he barely got a kick of the ball he had a decent season when he did play. He managed to score goals in front of a midfield who were constantly steamrollered and created nothing for the strikers. If the choice had been between him and G O'C then a no contest for me ... at least he has a bit of pace and ball control ... 2 things G O'C doesnt.

Somebody here reminded me that Doyle was a winger before he became a striker .. perhaps PF is thinking of Sproul on the right and Doyle on the left.

With LG signed and the defense looking a bit stronger the big worry is the midfield ... IMO we need at least one more strong signing in that area, probably 2 in fact.

For the last two seasons we have had a midfield which had difficulty winning the ball back when it lost it, couldnt create anything when it did have it and for the most part couldnt protect the back 4. I cant see that changing with what we have at the moment apart from Cairney who may add something going forward.

I think you are on to something Bovril. Standing in the east last season, I seem to remember 2-3 games where Doyle and kujabi linked up well on the left wing heading towards the away end. Doyle certainly likes the combination pass and move into space which can only improve. If we have someone getting into the box when Doyle is released, then a few more chances may be converted.

Fervent prayer to the bug guy above :pray:

Jaymz
22-07-2012, 10:16 AM
(ah my first post)

Really pleased to see Leigh back at Easter Road. Always had a feeling that him & Doyle could be a good combination up front so i'm hoping that proves true. Would like to see a permanent move instead of a loan but perhaps this is a chance for Sparky to prove he's matured a little and will fit into the type of player PF wants before a proper January move. Here's hoping anyway.

Ken
22-07-2012, 11:25 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TN9YtJ3Cmtc&feature=youtube_gdata_player

22-07-2012, 12:29 PM
Possibly the only player from last year who created a sense of anticipation when he got the ball. I am delighted to see him return. He is as daft as a brush though. :greengrin

22-07-2012, 02:19 PM
Possibly the only player from last year who created a sense of anticipation when he got the ball. I am delighted to see him return. He is as daft as a brush though. :greengrin

Can't help but think that there is a brush somewhere due an apology.

22-07-2012, 06:04 PM
Can't help but think that there is a brush somewhere due an apology.

23-07-2012, 08:07 AM
So assuming Fenlon is doing his 4-4-1-1 thing, do we expect

a) Griffiths as the man in the hole behind Crawford or Doyle? b) Griffiths as the man up top or c) Griffiths as a wide attacking midfielder with Crawford AND Doyle playing as the strikers?

id be in favour of a) or c), depending on how well young Crawford comes on.

Hibby_G
23-07-2012, 08:23 AM
LETS ALL DO THE SPARKY:giruy:

23-07-2012, 08:27 AM
So assuming Fenlon is doing his 4-4-1-1 thing, do we expect

a) Griffiths as the man in the hole behind Crawford or Doyle? b) Griffiths as the man up top or c) Griffiths as a wide attacking midfielder with Crawford AND Doyle playing as the strikers?

id be in favour of a) or c), depending on how well young Crawford comes on.

Crawford???

Caldwell I know, Handling I know, but who's this Crawford?

23-07-2012, 08:30 AM
Crawford???

David Crawford I presume, didn't he leave last season ?

23-07-2012, 10:27 AM
Crawford???

Dangnabbit :grr:

My brain was saying Caldwell, my fingers typed Crawford. Its the drink and the age.

23-07-2012, 10:31 AM
Crawford???

Stevie on a pay as you play deal. :agree:

paul_hfc3
23-07-2012, 11:17 AM
Delighted that Leigh is back , for me he is as good a signing as McPake.

Spot on. :flag:

23-07-2012, 12:00 PM
Williams

Clancy
McPake
Hanlon
Booth

Claros
Stephens

Shiels
Wotherspoon
Griffiths

Doyle/Caldwell

23-07-2012, 12:02 PM
Williams

Clancy
McPake
Hanlon
Booth

Claros
Stephens

Shiels
Wotherspoon
Griffiths

Doyle/Caldwell

I don't think we're getting Shiels :boo hoo:

23-07-2012, 12:10 PM
Williams

Clancy
McPake
Hanlon
Booth

Claros
Stephens

Shiels
Wotherspoon
Griffiths

Doyle/Caldwell

That's the first team I've seen which hasn't filled me with dread. It's still heavily dependent on getting Shiels- which looks unlikely at the moment- and Wotherspoon, Claros and Stephens performing at a much higher standard though and I don't think Doyle would be well suited to being up top alone. But I think it looks quite promising.

23-07-2012, 12:20 PM
That's the first team I've seen which hasn't filled me with dread. It's still heavily dependent on getting Shiels- which looks unlikely at the moment- and Wotherspoon, Claros and Stephens performing at a much higher standard though and I don't think Doyle would be well suited to being up top alone. But I think it looks quite promising.

Really? I don't see how you can just overlook last seasons performances and have an sort of confidence they'll be better next season.

The team you quoted has one addition to the defence that was so bad last season, a central defender in midfield, the other midfielder that showed glimpses but was in general pretty poor.

Attacking wise it's a striker on the wing, the other wing a player we're unlikely to sign, the attacking central midfielder someone that's only ever played well for us at right back (with the exception of the last 20 minutes in the semi final against aberdeen) and up front two players with potential but as yet completely unproven at this level.

That team you quoted has only confirmed to me just how much we've got to do to yet this summer.

23-07-2012, 12:24 PM
Williams

Clancy
McPake
Hanlon
Booth

Claros
Stephens

Shiels
Wotherspoon
Griffiths

Doyle/Caldwell

I take it you mean Stevenson and not Stephens? Either way it doesn't fill me with much confidence, the 'engine room' of that team looks lightweight and poor:worried:

Gillyboy
23-07-2012, 08:20 PM
Williams

Clancy
McPake
Hanlon
Booth

Claros
Stephens

Shiels
Wotherspoon
Griffiths

Doyle/Caldwell

Teams will rip our midfield apart ..this is no better than last season. You cannot play Griffiths deep the game just passes him buy as he tries to cover for the LB. 2 up front every day of the week. Fenlon needs to get this team solid from day one and 2 holding midfielders fill me with worry!