View Full Version : Alan Maybury training with Hibs (merged)

05-07-2012, 03:03 PM
I dont know if we are looking to sign him or are just giving him training facilities. I hope its the later.

05-07-2012, 03:03 PM
I dont know if we are looking to sign him or are just giving him training facilities. I hope its the later.

Name?

dirtydirk
05-07-2012, 03:05 PM
Is it a Thomson???

Im not willing to say at this moment in time mate.

Austin McCann?

05-07-2012, 03:10 PM
Neilsen?

Maybury

Austin McCann?

Wasn't good enough for Dunfermline

Kaff
Caveman Neilson?

If he's offered terms i would usually say he's average at best, but given that we are trying to change the mindset and professionalism within the squad i'm prepared to accept that he might help in those areas

Edit. And Maybury the same

05-07-2012, 03:11 PM

Robbie?

05-07-2012, 03:11 PM

What a tease:greengrin

05-07-2012, 03:12 PM
My guess would be Neilson

05-07-2012, 03:13 PM
Its not walter kidd or gary 'bellend' locke or craig thomson before you all go off the scale!

05-07-2012, 03:14 PM
WTF is the point in these threads :confused:

If you're not going to bother passing on a proper story, shove it.

05-07-2012, 03:14 PM
Gary Naysmith?

05-07-2012, 03:16 PM
Calm doon missus, its only banter. Dont read or post if you cant handle it.

05-07-2012, 03:16 PM
Naysmith?

05-07-2012, 03:18 PM
I'd rather it were Naysmith than Neilson.

wearethehibs
05-07-2012, 03:18 PM

If you're not going to say who it is why did you start the thread? I could make up any **** I wanted then just refuse to comment about it.

05-07-2012, 03:21 PM

nae point at all........probably a need to feed their inferiority complex coz the wife disnae listen tae them at home.....

05-07-2012, 03:22 PM
Maybury.......im away to see if the wife will start listening to me lol.

05-07-2012, 03:24 PM

Some folk are after silverhibee's 'in the know' celebrity status. :agree: :greengrin

05-07-2012, 03:25 PM
If you're not going to say who it is why did you start the thread? I could make up any **** I wanted then just refuse to comment about it.

You never read the daily record?

dirtydirk
05-07-2012, 03:27 PM
I like the excitement Brooster!

I've been told Robbie nelson won't be signing for us as he is going back down south. Could still be training with us though I suppose

Whilst there is a dublin connection there, Maybury is a Right Back, so I'd be more inclined to believe that Pat's doing a countryman a favour rather than offering him terms.

I take it this will be a LB as we now appear to be sorted at RB with Clancy's arrival?

05-07-2012, 03:36 PM
Who could it be, they have had so many players. Likely suspects:-

Alan Maybury has the Irish connection but think he is listed in St Johnstone's squad for next season and can't see us buying him.

Robbie Neilson is listed in Dundee United's squad but may be out of contract. Do we really need a right back with Clancy signed? Unless PF sees Clancy as a centre half, though sure I read that he has been signed with right back in mind.

Gary Naysmith is without a club. Great player in his day.

Trouble is, all of the above are about 33/34. Maybe a bit past it now but could maybe do a job for a season or two.

Was going to suggest Jamie McAllister but actually remembered hearing he'd signed for someone down south the other week there.

Surely it is not Austin McCann!

05-07-2012, 03:43 PM
Naysmith would be a good signing, even now.

05-07-2012, 03:43 PM
Ive already revealed that its maybury. Sorry for teasing you, I didnt realise some folk were so sensitive.

05-07-2012, 03:49 PM
Ive already revealed that its maybury. Sorry for teasing you, I didnt realise some folk were so sensitive.

Brooster.... Who is training with us sorry I wasn't listening!! 👍

05-07-2012, 03:53 PM
Brooster, gonnae gie us a clue or what?

05-07-2012, 03:56 PM

Brooster.... Who is training with us sorry I wasn't listening!! 

Bobo
05-07-2012, 04:00 PM
We're not gettin' Harry Potter as our other centre half are we? :)

05-07-2012, 04:11 PM
We're not gettin' Harry Potter as our other centre half are we? :)

No, Brooster already said it wouldn't be him.

Wonder who it really is though?

05-07-2012, 04:17 PM
All sounds like we are going a roundabout way in this.

Hibiza
05-07-2012, 04:26 PM
Jim Broon,

05-07-2012, 04:29 PM

Dont believe you, its Jeffries, go on admit it its him.:wink:

Rory
05-07-2012, 05:01 PM
So who is it brooster . Tell me its no mcann

05-07-2012, 05:07 PM
Spull,Who is it??

Leishy1995
05-07-2012, 05:19 PM
Is it mcann? It has to be mcann. Nothing you've said indicates otherwise.

05-07-2012, 05:21 PM
Is it mcann? It has to be mcann. Nothing you've said indicates otherwise.

Hope no cis we could if signed Mcallister when he was released from Bristol. He's pants but better than McCann. Good I really do hope not??

Leishy1995
05-07-2012, 05:27 PM
Hope no cis we could if signed Mcallister when he was released from Bristol. He's pants but better than McCann. Good I really do hope not??

I'm shaking with excitement that we are going all out and gonna sign the barca full back dani alves. He could do a job.

05-07-2012, 06:01 PM
Is it a Thomson???

Jason ?

05-07-2012, 06:02 PM
I'm shaking with excitement that we are going all out and gonna sign the barca full back dani alves. He could do a job.

Pit it away please!!!! 😃

Mikeystewart
05-07-2012, 06:12 PM

Since when did he play for the yams? :greengrin

05-07-2012, 06:28 PM
As I type this, my dinner's cooking in the oven. Mmmm, it smells AMAZING, and looks FANTASTIC and I CAN'T WAIT TO EAT IT, oh boy, it's going to be SO DELICIOUS but I'm sorry......

I cannae tell you what it actually is.

05-07-2012, 06:36 PM
If it's McCann I'm sending my season ticket to Petrie and telling him to shove it, it's the last straw with Scottish fitbaw:grr:

05-07-2012, 06:37 PM
Fraser Mullen, the under-19s are just wanting to make him cry again

05-07-2012, 06:40 PM
I've got Tosh McKinlay in the sweepstake.

05-07-2012, 06:48 PM
Almost hope its that fat Lithuanian builder they had playing at right back for a while, forget his name but he was so bad it was hilarious.

Might not be as funny if he played for us right enough though

05-07-2012, 06:50 PM
I've got Tosh McKinlay in the sweepstake.

So seriously is is it maybury I am on a stag doo and can't be arsed thinking or trying to get the jokes.

05-07-2012, 06:51 PM
Almost hope its that fat Lithuanian builder they had playing at right back for a while, forget his name but he was so bad it was hilarious.

Might not be as funny if he played for us right enough though

Nerijus Barasa :aok:

So seriously is is it maybury I am on a stag doo and can't be arsed thinking or trying to get the jokes.

Aye, it's Maybury.

HibsMax
05-07-2012, 06:51 PM

Find myself wondering the same thing. What is the point in spilling some of the beans? It would be a better story if you actually told us something. I understand you might not be in a position to name names for one reason or another, e.g., protecting your source, but I don't get it.

05-07-2012, 06:57 PM
So we have a ex-hearts player training with us who was spotted in the Maybury casino.

05-07-2012, 07:00 PM
Find myself wondering the same thing. What is the point in spilling some of the beans? It would be a better story if you actually told us something. I understand you might not be in a position to name names for one reason or another, e.g., protecting your source, but I don't get it.

You do know he did tell us earlier in the thread?

05-07-2012, 07:04 PM

FFS I was only messing about.....dinny get so precious about it all. Sorry for sharing snipets.

05-07-2012, 07:12 PM
FFS I was only messing about.....dinny get so precious about it all. Sorry for sharing snipets.

I think all Max is saying is that if you know the player's name, then why not just say it when you post in the first place? You said the name in the end anyway, so why not just say it from the start?

05-07-2012, 07:14 PM
How long will we have to wait for Alan Maybury's wife's take on this? :I'm waiti

05-07-2012, 07:24 PM
I think all Max is saying is that if you know the player's name, then why not just say it when you post in the first place? You said the name in the end anyway, so why not just say it from the start?

It's a totally fair question, and he wasn't even being radge about it or anything when he asked it.

Because I was having a wee bit fun, inviting folk to guess, once Maybury's name came out I confirmed....18 minutes later. Sorry for commiting such a crime. I get some bits of inside info here and there from various sources and always post it on here if I can (without teasing) but Im beginning to wonder what the point is if folk are gonna pick holes. As is becoming the norm on this forum you have to weed through the tosh to get the decent info.

05-07-2012, 07:28 PM
Because I was having a wee bit fun, inviting folk to guess, once Maybury's name came out I confirmed....18 minutes later. Sorry for commiting such a crime. I get some bits of inside info here and there from various sources and always post it on here if I can (without teasing) but Im beginning to wonder what the point is if folk are gonna pick holes. As is becoming the norm on this forum you have to weed through the tosh to get the decent info.

Hang your head in shame mate!

On the subject of Maybury, I reckon he's probably finished at SPL level. Hopefully we can attract better.

05-07-2012, 07:33 PM
Hang your head in shame mate!

On the subject of Maybury, I reckon he's probably finished at SPL level. Hopefully we can attract better.

Agreed Sean. Hows is your man at East Mains shaping up pre season? Raring to go is he?

05-07-2012, 07:34 PM
No thanks - Maybury is a complete and utter cunp

05-07-2012, 08:03 PM

Who said it was a crime? And I wasn't having a go at you about it either, I was just asking a genuine question. And you were blasting other folk for being too sensitive... ;-)

05-07-2012, 08:09 PM
All sounds like we are going a roundabout way in this.

:greengrin :thumbsup:

05-07-2012, 08:09 PM
Can't believe we are riding a poster who's always spot on with his info and shares it on here.

Keep them coming booster.

05-07-2012, 08:14 PM
Agreed Sean. Hows is your man at East Mains shaping up pre season? Raring to go is he?

Most definately S :aok:

05-07-2012, 08:24 PM

My thoughts exactly. Its pure attention seeking playground pish!

"i know something you dont know, na na na na na"

Mark79
05-07-2012, 08:26 PM
Maybury is honking. Rather have hart back.

05-07-2012, 08:27 PM
My thoughts exactly. Its pure attention seeking playground pish!

"i know something you dont know, na na na na na"

Are you for real? If you bother to read the thread, you'll see Brooster has named the player.

05-07-2012, 08:29 PM
Damn, I was just going to guess Maybury based on that clever cryptic post you made where you said it was Maybury.

So who is it then? McCann?

:greengrin Is it maybe an anagram?:confused: beats me.

05-07-2012, 08:54 PM

i think i'd rather have walter kidd than maybury!

FastEddieFelson
05-07-2012, 09:00 PM
So we have a ex-hearts player training with us who was spotted in the Maybury casino.

I laughed...

hibbill2002
05-07-2012, 09:04 PM

So it IS McKinley, is it?

05-07-2012, 09:49 PM
I have just reported Brooster for "Spam", accidentally of course ;)

Seriously though admins, just disregard it. I'm using tapatalk and meant to quote his post but hit "more" in error, started chatting to my brother - whilst simultaneously 'tapping', for some reason - and ended up reporting him!

05-07-2012, 09:52 PM
As is becoming the norm on this forum you have to weed through the tosh to get the decent info.

Hello Mr Pot, looking a little black over there ;)

(this is what I was going to post - but reported you instead :doh:)

05-07-2012, 10:00 PM
Can't believe we are riding a poster who's always spot on with his info and shares it on here.

Keep them coming booster.

This is a family Board, what you and Brooster do in your spare time is your business:greengrin

05-07-2012, 10:01 PM
This is a family Board, what you and Brooster do in your spare time is your business:greengrin

05-07-2012, 10:07 PM

magpie1892
05-07-2012, 10:08 PM

Without a name - who gives?

05-07-2012, 10:14 PM
You're a bit off the pace son.

Without a name - who gives?

Iceman1875
05-07-2012, 10:21 PM
Never rated maybury - don't see what he would add to us at all IMO

05-07-2012, 10:33 PM

Can Maybury play at Hart Back?

06-07-2012, 12:06 AM

I was under the impression that we don't let players use our training facilities just to keep fit , :wink: so whoever it is we must be looking to sign him. :greengrin

Leishy1995
06-07-2012, 12:11 AM
Since when did he play for the yams? :greengrin

Saw him play on trial last summer I think. Might just be my eyes.

06-07-2012, 12:12 AM
Whilst there is a dublin connection there, Maybury is a Right Back, so I'd be more inclined to believe that Pat's doing a countryman a favour rather than offering him terms.

Hope he is paying for using the facilities.

Plenty gyms he could be training at, Hibs are not a charity case for players needing to get fit. :cb so i was told on here a while a go. :wink:

06-07-2012, 12:15 AM
Dont believe you, its Jeffries, go on admit it its him.:wink:

It's a naughty boy. :greengrin :wink:

06-07-2012, 12:18 AM

Keep them coming Brooster. :aok:

Leishy1995
06-07-2012, 12:18 AM
Bring back Michael Hart I say bring back Michael Hart!

06-07-2012, 01:59 AM
i like maybury as a full back, always impressed me when at the hertz, since then hes picked up alot of experience, something our team neads in the back line, if available id sign him.

06-07-2012, 05:35 AM
Hope he is paying for using the facilities.

Plenty gyms he could be training at, Hibs are not a charity case for players needing to get fit. :cb so i was told on here a while a go. :wink:

Only ex players that are refused training facilities I believe:cb

06-07-2012, 05:43 AM
i like maybury as a full back, always impressed me when at the hertz, since then hes picked up alot of experience, something our team neads in the back line, if available id sign him.

have saints released him or has he rejected an offer?

06-07-2012, 08:07 AM
How long will we have to wait for Alan Maybury's wife's take on this? :I'm waiti

Not sure if he still with her or not but i used to work with the lassie he was going out with when he played with hearts and she is very nice, will go down a treat at ER!

06-07-2012, 08:47 AM
It's a naughty boy. :greengrin :wink:

Or maybe he is the Messiah we have all been looking for! :wink:

06-07-2012, 04:28 PM
Only ex players that are refused training facilities I believe:cb

since90plustwo
09-07-2012, 03:52 PM
If we do make an offer for him what sort of reception can he expect, being an ex-jambo an all...

09-07-2012, 03:56 PM
Don't care who anyone played for as long as they are decent, something in my opinion he has never been

Kaiser_Sauzee
09-07-2012, 03:56 PM
If we do make an offer for him what sort of reception can he expect, being an ex-jambo an all...

A player running out wearing the green? He'll have my full support.

09-07-2012, 04:34 PM
It's all about performance in the green jersey.

I've no qualms whatsoever about his previous record as long as he produces the goods for us.

09-07-2012, 04:52 PM
It's all about performance in the green jersey.

I've no qualms whatsoever about his previous record as long as he produces the goods for us.

If he does earn a contract I can see him getting a game at LB.

09-07-2012, 04:54 PM
i can remember mildly cheering on andy watson, not cos he was ex hearts but cos he was pish, eamon bannon was alright though, makes no difference to me if maybury played for the unwashed.

09-07-2012, 04:55 PM
If he does earn a contract I can see him getting a game at LB.

He'll be the 5th left back on the books then.
Scott Smith
Pa Kujabi
Calum Booth
Paul Hanlon

Surely he's more likely to be cover for Clancy at right back as he's the only player we have on the books who naturally plays there

VickMackie
09-07-2012, 05:01 PM
Plays well = Great reception.
Plays **** = JAMBO *******.

09-07-2012, 05:07 PM
He'll be the 5th left back on the books then.
Scott Smith
Pa Kujabi
Calum Booth
Paul Hanlon

Surely he's more likely to be cover for Clancy at right back as he's the only player we have on the books who naturally plays there

I will say 4 as PH is a CH that can cover mate.

09-07-2012, 05:08 PM
Is he not about 34 years old???

loanheadhibby
09-07-2012, 05:16 PM

Off all the players available this summer, is he really the best we can get? Worrying times. Where are the young hungry players like murphy, Sheils etc that Mowbray used to pick up?

09-07-2012, 05:18 PM

He is 34 in August , thought he was pretty decent with Hearts but never really noticed him with Aberdeen or St Johnstone.

Hope PF comes up with better tbh .[but if he signs and plays outstanding fair do's]

09-07-2012, 05:19 PM
I don't have an issue with who he has played for in the past, my problem is that I don't think he is much good and he spends most of his time trying to get opposition players booked. I would hope for better.

Offside Trap
09-07-2012, 05:45 PM
Worth a 12 month contract I'd say. Strikes me that us Hibs fans spend a lot of time looking up the table at the St Johnstones and Motherwells and wondering why they seem to outperform us. I think the likes of Maybury and Clancy provide the answer - solid pros fulfilling a solid team role week in week out for their clubs.

We do need an exciting signing who will be a creative influence (striker or wide man) but we also need to recognise what works in the SPL. Also, most Saints fans sad to see Maybury go...

09-07-2012, 06:00 PM
Couldnt care less that he used to play for Hearts. If Fenlon rates him and he offers him a deal thats good enough for me.

Im not entirely sure we need him though. It sounds as if Clancy will be first choice RB, and Wotherspoon, assuming he is staying, should be able to be back up to him. Its been made clear that financially things are quite tight, so couldnt the money be used elsewhere in positions that we dont actually have anybody eg striker, goalkeeper, wingers?

09-07-2012, 06:09 PM
I don't have an issue but loads of folk will not give an ex jambo the same amount of patience as they would another new player.

09-07-2012, 06:13 PM

Yep, and didn't play much for St Js.

Hfc_Since1875
09-07-2012, 06:23 PM
I think this could turn out to be a decent signing! PF had mentioned that he wanted a smaller but more flexible squad. Alan maybury can play both rb/lb and has plenty of experience, he wouldn't command a huge wage and I'm struggling to think who we would play of Clancy gets injured?

Might not be the biggest name signing but I think it could turn out to be a good bit of business!

09-07-2012, 06:41 PM

not the quality i was hoping Hibernian would be going for....... but if he pulls on the famous greenjersey, I will back him 100%

09-07-2012, 06:54 PM
Yep, and didn't play much for St Js.

Sorry but we can and should be aiming higher when It comes to signing players.

09-07-2012, 07:05 PM

Wot if we can't afford anything better??

lenny leith
09-07-2012, 07:13 PM

correct. Another crock we don't need. Get the feeling he will spend more time injured than playing.

There has to be better out there. Sorry but I hoped for better from Fenlon.

09-07-2012, 07:14 PM

Spot On! :top marks

09-07-2012, 07:56 PM
I new Maybury when he used the David Lloyd a few years ago, although he played for them, he is Irish and stated to me that he has no preference when it came to Hibs or Hearts, just a pro and keeps it that way.

09-07-2012, 08:01 PM
I'm going to boo him constantly.

09-07-2012, 08:05 PM
Wot if we can't afford anything better??

Then I'd be very worried about the clubs future if that's the type of player we are looking at.

09-07-2012, 08:06 PM
I'm going to boo him constantly.

Hehe now now.

09-07-2012, 08:09 PM
Did we not sign Clancy to play right back?

09-07-2012, 08:18 PM
Then I'd be very worried about the clubs future if that's the type of player we are looking at.

I would agree to an extent but if he's fit and fits the bill, does a job then I will be happy.

Those years ago when the GJP bought in Fenwick and Smith folk were saying they were ***** etc.

Won't judge at the mo and we shouldn't get ahead of ourselves. I am going to think positive.

09-07-2012, 08:19 PM
Hehe now now.

Gonna boo you as well :na na:

09-07-2012, 08:29 PM
Maybe he's available at a low wage to provide depth. Don't want to pay big bucks to someone who won't play much but it's good to have some experienced cover on the bench, especially at RB where we're thin.

09-07-2012, 08:40 PM
Scarily familiar to the signing of Michael Hart.

09-07-2012, 08:46 PM

Not really, hart was billed as a good player that was going to be our answer to solve the right back problem, he was coming from a championship club and going to be on a big wage.

Maybury is a cheap experienced squad player we're having a look at before deciding if he's worth a deal.

09-07-2012, 08:47 PM
Off all the players available this summer, is he really the best we can get? Worrying times. Where are the young hungry players like murphy, Sheils etc that Mowbray used to pick up?

My belief is at this stage instead of young and hungry like murph and deano we need some experienced pros to bring on the likes of Smith Caldwell Stanton Handling Foster as well as Hanlon Booth and Spoon

09-07-2012, 09:37 PM
Don't care who he played for.

Can he play centre-back? He's a bit old.

09-07-2012, 09:57 PM
Gonna boo you as well :na na:

Hey ho, I'm used to it. :D

09-07-2012, 09:59 PM
Could not care who he played for as long as he does the business for us! Personally, I think he is well past it!

09-07-2012, 09:59 PM
Don't care who he played for.

Can he play centre-back? He's a bit old.

Mayberry can't, but if he plays RB then Clancy can cover CH.

EK_Hibs
10-07-2012, 12:18 AM
http://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/scotsol/homepage/sport/spl/4420471/Pair-can-make-Mark-at-Hibs.html

Bit more on Maybury and Kerr in the Sun...
Apparently we face "a battle" with St Johnstone to sign Kerr?
....oh dear

10-07-2012, 07:44 AM
http://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/scotsol/homepage/sport/spl/4420471/Pair-can-make-Mark-at-Hibs.html

....oh dear

Interestingly, St Johnstone finished way above us in the league last year. It's not just the players - and perceived calibre thereof - that make a team, but how the manager gets them to gel and play football.

10-07-2012, 07:47 AM
Could be wrong but suggesting that Maybury maybe training to get match fit

http://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/spl/kerr-and-maybury-aim-to-impress-fenlon-as-they-link-up-with-hibs-1-2401957

10-07-2012, 08:14 AM

....oh dear

Jeezus! So far we have spread our net for recruitment to an ex-loanee (albeit a very good one), Motherwell, Partick and possibly Kerr (Dunfermline) and Maybury (Perth) .. and a much reduced offer to Mark Brown. We have known for months that this team needed strengthening and it is still woefully short of adequate IMHO with little over 3 weeks to ko. At this moment in time, I can say I am not hopeful of much improvement next season.

10-07-2012, 08:29 AM
We signed Clancy to play at right back. Why are we looking at Maybury? We should be looking to spend budget on other positions in the squad that are in desperate need of players. We don't need a right back or a left back.

10-07-2012, 08:35 AM
Jeezus! So far we have spread our net for recruitment to an ex-loanee (albeit a very good one), Motherwell, Partick and possibly Kerr (Dunfermline) and Maybury (Perth) .. and a much reduced offer to Mark Brown. We have known for months that this team needed strengthening and it is still woefully short of adequate IMHO with little over 3 weeks to ko. At this moment in time, I can say I am not hopeful of much improvement next season.

Doesn't bode well does it however can I put this to you

Would we take Kerr, may bury and Brown IF we signed the boy Lubo, Deano, LG, Beattie or that Lith dude?? We also need a keeper.

I personally believe we need at least 6 more

GK, CH, 2 x Str, MF/winger x 2

Min IMHO

10-07-2012, 08:43 AM

Would we take Kerr, maybury and Brown IF we signed the boy Lubo, Deano, LG, Beattie or that Lith dude?? We also need a keeper.

Min IMHO

ST sales are down and - unless I'm missing something - we have bugger all in the way of sellable playing assets.

Where in god's name is the money coming from for 6 further signings?? We'll see a GK, 2 midfielders and a striker come in at most IMO.

Also, I'd actually prefer it if I'd never heard of them, as this might actually mean the scouting team is spreading its wings beyond the "players who have played for us before/long-established bottom 6 cloggers" route they seem to love so much.

10-07-2012, 08:56 AM
ST sales are down and - unless I'm missing something - we have bugger all in the way of sellable playing assets.

Where in god's name is the money coming from for 6 further signings?? We'll see a GK, 2 midfielders and a striker come in at most IMO.

Also, I'd actually prefer it if I'd never heard of them, as this might actually mean the scouting team is spreading its wings beyond the "players who have played for us before/long-established bottom 6 cloggers" route they seem to love so much.

There will be players and I would say at least a keeper, mf and 2 x strikers. As you've mentioned

10-07-2012, 08:57 AM
Maybury and Fenlon share the same Dublin-based agent.

No point in speculating about motives just as long as his mates from Westlife don't show up looking for a game as well...

10-07-2012, 09:06 AM

Would we take Kerr, may bury and Brown IF we signed the boy Lubo, Deano, LG, Beattie or that Lith dude?? We also need a keeper.

Min IMHO

I agree and I think we will get them. But I do despair at the delay in getting players in. For seasons we have been IMHO too late in getting a squad assembled, fit and settled in. It would be interesting to look at the last season with least turnover of players in the last 10 years, and I'd bet in was a successful one eg 2007.

10-07-2012, 09:10 AM

Is this a serious question?

10-07-2012, 09:11 AM

No point in speculating about motives just as long as his mates from Westlife don't show up looking for a game as well...

Im always very wary where managers acquire players on the strength of shared agent connections. Time will tell.

Hopefully he will be Hibs class and not Maybury league :wink: standard.

10-07-2012, 09:23 AM

My thoughts exactly, I hope I am wrong but were going to struggle next year and if he is looking at players like Maybury and Kerr, then sorry, his network is not very good.

10-07-2012, 09:27 AM
I'm happy with Clancy, McPake and Cairney. But the other 2 players are for me just a joke. I hate all this "who would you sign then on this sort of money"? Well to start with i'd be looking down south in the lower leagues and actually have a proper scouting system. I watched an interview with David Moyes on SSN and he said managers prefer to have the squad in before pre season starts. I fully agree and hope to god we don't go to the wire again and then hope who ever comes in hits the ground running. A good pre season with the players you want already signed is vital IMHO. I agree there may be the odd late signing and that's ok as long as we have 99% of the squad in place and know exactly how each other plays.

I'll bet anyone that Maybury and Kerr don't do well at Hibs if signed and we will be moaning about it 5 to 6 weeks into the season.

10-07-2012, 09:46 AM
I'm happy with Clancy, McPake and Cairney. But the other 2 players are for me just a joke. I hate all this "who would you sign then on this sort of money"? Well to start with i'd be looking down south in the lower leagues and actually have a proper scouting system. I watched an interview with David Moyes on SSN and he said managers prefer to have the squad in before pre season starts. I fully agree and hope to god we don't go to the wire again and then hope who ever comes in hits the ground running. A good pre season with the players you want already signed is vital IMHO. I agree there may be the odd late signing and that's ok as long as we have 99% of the squad in place and know exactly how each other plays.

I'll bet anyone that Maybury and Kerr don't do well at Hibs if signed and we will be moaning about it 5 to 6 weeks into the season.

http://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?240613-Goalkeeper-Situation&p=3289266&viewfull=1#post3289266

10-07-2012, 10:15 AM

One of them was a promising young keeper at Leeds before stardom beckoned.

10-07-2012, 11:28 AM

AM hasn't been on the treatment table for the last 3 seasons and has played first team football consistently. Hart spent a near season away from competitive football and was consistent in picking up injuries at Hibs.

Aberdeen fans were disappointed to not secure AM when he was on loan there - seemed to be very well thought of too. He also comes from a side who played beyond what was expected of them and reached top 6 last season.

There are far far worse players than AM out there and I'd be quite keen to get this one tied up to be honest. Steady, good talker, lives on the back pages not the front pages, will help the younger players in the side. Very good disciplinary record too. Can handle the big occasion and that will help come games v Hearts and Celtic.

Kerr - have to say, scratching my head with that one a little. I can only think that PF sees him as a midfield 'sitter', a buffer between defence and midfield, allowing others to get forward and attack.

However with Maybury, I don't know any club he has been at that have complained about him.

hibIBZ
10-07-2012, 01:18 PM
no thank you to both of them! not a fan of kerr and never have been and just not inspired by maybury at all. i know we have a tight budget this season but these 2 just dont do anything for me

15-07-2012, 04:51 PM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/18849806

Hibs unsure of funding for Alan Maybury deal

Pat Fenlon is unsure whether Hibernian can afford a deal for former Hearts full-back Alan Maybury.

The 33-year-old Irishman played the second half of Hibs' 2-0 friendly win over East Fife on Saturday as he looks for a club after leaving St Johnstone.

But no deal is imminent amid the fallout from the collapse of Rangers.

“He's probably someone we could do with around the place”

"Whether we are able to do it at the moment, I'm not too sure with the way things are," Hibs manager Fenlon told his club website.

Maybury, who has 10 Republic of Ireland caps, started his career with Leeds and spent four years with Hearts before spells with Leicester City and Colchester United before joining Saints in 2010

He also had loan spells with Reading, Crewe Alexandra and Aberdeen.

"We have had Alan in training for a week. He's a great professional and a very, very good player," added Fenlon.

"He's probably someone we could do with around the place."

"So we'll just have to wait and see.

We're going to have to get used to this situation. If we can't afford him, tough. I'd prefer to see the Huns in their rightful place and us cutting our cloth accordingly rather than have their stench but a few more bob to spend. Sorry if already posted but didn't see anything.

15-07-2012, 04:57 PM
Was just about to post this myself.

I like how they manage to squeeze a mention of the Rangers collapse in there, as if thats the reason we can't do it. :rolleyes:

VickMackie
15-07-2012, 04:59 PM
I read it as we've got other priorities but if we had enough cash we'd take him.

15-07-2012, 05:02 PM

I like how they manage to squeeze a mention of the Rangers collapse in there, as if thats the reason we can't do it. :rolleyes:

Well it is the reason - we all knew that when we were fighting for 'fairness' unless this was your position :ostrich:

And that until / unless those who held off get ST's pronto we will struggle to sign anyone else...and even if that happens we will be worse of than last season...

15-07-2012, 05:05 PM
Well it is the reason - we all knew that when we were fighting for 'fairness' unless this was your position :ostrich:

And that until / unless those who held off get ST's pronto we will struggle to sign anyone else...and even if that happens we will be worse of than last season...

If Rangers were still sitting in the SPL right now, our current funds would still be no greater than they are right now.

Dalkeith
15-07-2012, 05:12 PM
players will need to lower their demands as well

Stonewall
15-07-2012, 05:14 PM
If Rangers were still sitting in the SPL right now, our current funds would still be no greater than they are right now.

Yes, but our budget would be higher.

15-07-2012, 05:19 PM

I'm sorry, but it's delusional to say that the Rangers situation does not have a potential effect on Hibs signing players. No business would add to its payroll if they thought there was a chance of its income declining by 15% (based on last year's figures). Once it is clarified what the effect on central revenues are they can adjust the player budget accordingly. If the doomsday scenario comes true then there won't be any more players and Farmer will have to fund the inevitable losses, even on a relatively low payroll. If there's no or little effect they can afford more.

15-07-2012, 05:24 PM
I guess it's all down to the ST proceeds... The club have told us often enough :-(

Bottom line is that if we want more players we need to sell more ST's....... (ST cash is ring fenced to players and is regardless of the Sevco debacle)

And as a declaration... that's coming from me who's wife is being made redundant and work commitments mean I miss most Saturdays so we WON'T be getting a ST's .... I WILL however maximise my spend through the year attending games as a walk up etc which will help on the non player side of things regarding costs ... Just hope all taken together that's enough.

15-07-2012, 05:26 PM
I read it as we've got other priorities but if we had enough cash we'd take him.

Yeah thats what Fenlon will have meant, regardless of any spin put on it by the media.

I also dont see much problem in what hes saying. We have other areas that are in greater need of guys being brought in, and whilst Maybury is a player he would like, we will have to see whats available after those areas have been sorted. Every club will be in the same position (if they can even afford to bring in players).

15-07-2012, 05:28 PM
I'd like Soares, Leigh and Maybury.....with Shiels if I'm greedy.

15-07-2012, 05:35 PM

Yes they would in terms of projected income from central revenue :confused:

SneakersO'Toole
15-07-2012, 05:36 PM
I'd like Soares, Leigh and Maybury.....with Shiels if I'm greedy.

Very surprised to read that you would take Soares back TH.

Guy is a passenger IMO.

15-07-2012, 05:37 PM
Start living within our means like every other club in the land.

Relying on OF money has always been a flawed business plan and we better get used to it.

15-07-2012, 05:43 PM
Would rather the wages were spent on forwards, we are really lacking up front and will struggle if this isn't resolved.

15-07-2012, 05:43 PM
Id like to think that its a case of not being able to afford him as well as other priorities, we have quite a few options at FB, so he wouldnt be a priority (Smith, Booth, Kujabi, Hanlon) & (Clancy, Wotherspoon), whereas no stand out CM, Wingers or Strikers.

15-07-2012, 05:44 PM
Very surprised to read that you would take Soares back TH.

Guy is a passenger IMO.

Yes and no mate. The lad clearly has quality, and perhaps suffers from a number of things.....lack of first team football, maybe needs to lower his current aspirations, and came up north outwith his comfort zone.

To counter that, and add substance to my argument, each time I saw him play he was either involved in the build up of goals, or assisted them. A few times he had the confidence to, he drove on and took shots on, often hitting target. He also looked like he enjoyed Hibs and played with a smile. I totally agree he posted missing sometimes in periods of play, but I see a good player in the boy.

15-07-2012, 06:40 PM
I guess this puts the McManus rumour to bed

15-07-2012, 06:49 PM
I wonder how many season tickets we have sold since the announcement of Division 3 as destination for The Rangers?

15-07-2012, 06:59 PM

I read it as a prompt to Maybury to lower his demands.

15-07-2012, 07:04 PM
Start living within our means like every other club in the land.

Relying on OF money has always been a flawed business plan and we better get used to it.

You Nailed it mate..... It's why Hibs have the urgent need to sell ST's as these are solely what finance any player deals.

15-07-2012, 07:07 PM
You Nailed it mate..... It's why Hibs have the urgent need to sell ST's as these are solely what finance any player deals.

Unfortunately I'm not in a position to get a ST this season again.

My son will make sure we get to as many games as possible though :greengrin

15-07-2012, 07:11 PM
I wonder how many season tickets we have sold since the announcement of Division 3 as destination for The Rangers?

A lot will be waiting til it is definate that they will be there and there is defo no carve up to get them on SPL.

Don't think the shenanagins are over for a while yet

LeighLoyal
15-07-2012, 07:11 PM
a guy from St Johnstone is out with our budget? I don't see this is a great loss all the same. Deano would be #1 signing priority for me. I'd be quite happy to go with young Handling and Caldwell as the strikers if money is so tight. Let these lads have a chance. If it isn't working out we can get in loans in the next window.

15-07-2012, 07:21 PM
more sensationalist journalism to me, If you look at the quotes. Of course the budget will be tighter. It just makes it even more important that the players Fenlon does choose to bring in are the right ones.

15-07-2012, 07:33 PM
Fenlon obviously just wants him to lower his wage demands. No chance he will be asking for any more than Williams, McPake and Clancy are on otherwise he would've been told to bolt.

15-07-2012, 07:33 PM
I think he needs to get one or two out the door before offering him something

Emerald
15-07-2012, 07:55 PM
If Maybury wants to continue his career at the age of 33 in Scotland, he will have to take any offer he gets. The big contracts are a thing of the past and its these huge wage demands of run of the mill players that has been a major factor in the shambles that we now face. There is a financial melt down in the world, loads of folk are getting paid off, facing wage cuts or pension cuts, but these footballers seem to want to keep taking movie star wages. Take it or leave it and look somewhere else if he's not happy, see how many other teams meet his demands. :agree:

15-07-2012, 08:01 PM
No doubt at all that the Rangers situation will affect our budget, but that's the same for every club so I see it as more a way of trying to get Maybury to reduce his demands while we have other areas to improve on as well.

15-07-2012, 08:02 PM
a guy from St Johnstone is out with our budget? I don't see this is a great loss all the same. Deano would be #1 signing priority for me. I'd be quite happy to go with young Handling and Caldwell as the strikers if money is so tight. Let these lads have a chance. If it isn't working out we can get in loans in the next window.

No chance, we couldnt afford to go into the season with those and Doyle IMO, by the time January comes we could be ****** if these guys arnt upto it. I do really want to see them about the first team this season but we need 2 more proven decent strikers IMO

I agree with another poster we need to get rid of a few still to free up wages, start with Galbraith as for me its a waste of a wage, and not seen anything from him that would suggest he would be a miss.

Ive been pretty vocal about Hanlon, Wotherspoon, Stevenson previously also, I stand by my stance however I do believe that its a new season and they may well warrant a clean slate and see what they offer. If theres no change the first half a dozen games and they dont improve id say we try and get shot.

Mind saying that I suppose with the huns debacle we may just have to go with what we have and be thankful were in a better financial position than most (I hope).

15-07-2012, 08:12 PM
I think he needs to get one or two out the door before offering him something

I would agree wholeheartedly, however its not as easy as it sounds.

We want rid of them because they're not good enough so why the hell would somebody else want them.

When money is tighter than ever we are saddled with these type I'm afraid.

15-07-2012, 08:50 PM
A lot of posters seem to be reading something " sinister" in what PF said about Maybury .
Could it not simply be he has one/two other players in the pipeline that are going to use up all/most of the cash he has to spend ?
If this is the case it is down to priorities :greengrin
Anything left he can use to offer M a deal

15-07-2012, 08:52 PM
A lot of posters seem to be reading something " sinister" in what PF said about Maybury .
Could it not simply be he has one/two other players in the pipeline that are going to use up all/most of the cash he has to spend ?

Spot on. That was ma reading of it

15-07-2012, 08:54 PM

ForrieGreen
15-07-2012, 09:27 PM
After yesterday's short performance i don't want him anyway

15-07-2012, 09:33 PM
After yesterday's short performance i don't want him anyway

Aye let's hang him on a pre-season game :confused:

As other's have said i read this as a "lower your demands" or "the money is allocated on others and Maybury would be a 'nice to have'"

15-07-2012, 09:37 PM
Hopefully

Kujabi released, leaving Booth & Smith for LB (or Hanlon)
Galbraith released,
Sean O'Hanlon released
Claros Loan cancelled

Leaving (ideally 2 per position)

Williams, Antell

Clancy, Wotherspoon
McPake, Stephens
NEW CB, Hanlon
Booth, Smith

NEW RM, Horner
Osbourne, Stanton
NEW DM, Stevenson
Cairney, Sproule

NEW CF, Doyle,
NEW ST, Caldwell,

4 players out, and 5 first teamers in, from the positions identified, ideally Michalik, Griffiths, Shiels, Forbes and a Ball Winner, Goodwin?

At The Edge
15-07-2012, 09:52 PM
Hopefully

Galbraith released,
Sean O'Hanlon released
Claros Loan cancelled

Williams, Antell

Clancy, Wotherspoon
McPake, Stephens
NEW CB, Hanlon
Booth, Smith

NEW RM, Horner
Osbourne, Stanton
NEW DM, Stevenson
Cairney, Sproule

NEW CF, Doyle,
NEW ST, Caldwell,

4 players out, and 5 first teamers in, from the positions identified, ideally Michalik, Griffiths, Shiels, Forbes and a Ball Winner, Goodwin?

Kujabi, Galbraith, O'Hanlon are all still under contract, so Hibs would probably have to offer them some sort of package to leave early, Claros is a Loan deal, Goodwin signed an extension to his Buddies contract so would cost a transfer fee to release from said contract.
Hibs are in no position to be shelling out money which they don't have. Hibs release all them then the already sparse cash available to Pat becomes even less when the above players are dealt with

15-07-2012, 10:00 PM
Hopefully

Galbraith released,
Sean O'Hanlon released
Claros Loan cancelled

Williams, Antell

Clancy, Wotherspoon
McPake, Stephens
NEW CB, Hanlon
Booth, Smith

NEW RM, Horner
Osbourne, Stanton
NEW DM, Stevenson
Cairney, Sproule

NEW CF, Doyle,
NEW ST, Caldwell,

I think we would still benefit from hanging on to all those guys - Galbraith is a winger and has shown loads of promise, it's just unfortunate he has been injured. O'hanlon was great against Aberdeen, might be worth keeing until his contract ends.

I think Kujabi has been getting a really bad press since the final, it's not his fault we lost mind. There were 9 others who were just as responsible that day. He was fantastic in his first few games, so why not keep him?

15-07-2012, 10:09 PM
I think we would still benefit from hanging on to all those guys - Galbraith is a winger and has shown loads of promise, it's just unfortunate he has been injured. O'hanlon was great against Aberdeen, might be worth keeing until his contract ends.

I think Kujabi has been getting a really bad press since the final, it's not his fault we lost mind. There were 9 others who were just as responsible that day. He was fantastic in his first few games, so why not keep him?

Opinions eh. I don't think Galbraith has shown ANY promise. He has maybe had 2 decent games. For a winger, he can't take on a man or provide a decent cross, or have any real pace.
I agree about Kujabi tho. Hasn't been as bad as people make out.

15-07-2012, 10:17 PM
So this Rangers thing means that going into the next season, almost all the SPL clubs will have to be carefull and live within their means?? No change there then. If Motherwell for eg, can't pull in more than 4,000 home fans despite being clearly the best of the rest last year, that has nothing to do with RFC. Rangers bankrolled themselves with duplicity and cheating, and some others bankrolled themselves with Rangers. The reality check has to trickle down.

Billy
15-07-2012, 10:34 PM
Here is the interview that we did with the manager after the East Fife match:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cbzo1ieZ-TY&list=HL1342391562&feature=mh_lolz

15-07-2012, 11:34 PM
Hopefully

Galbraith released,
Sean O'Hanlon released
Claros Loan cancelled

Williams, Antell

Clancy, Wotherspoon
McPake, Stephens
NEW CB, Hanlon
Booth, Smith

NEW RM, Horner
Osbourne, Stanton
NEW DM, Stevenson
Cairney, Sproule

NEW CF, Doyle,
NEW ST, Caldwell,

It doesn't work like that. Hibs can't just sack players who are still under contract. For better or worse we have an agreement with them into which we entered freely and from which we can't just walk away. The most we can do is say to them that they if they're looking for first-team football, they'd be better looking for another club. Nor can we just 'cancel' a loan deal without reimbursing the other club.

Besides, Wotherspoon has never looked like a full-back to me. If we were to release a CB I's almost rather ti were Stephens than O'Hanlon. And if Pat's doubtful that the funds are there for Maybury, where's he going to get funds for ANOTHER (presumably better) defender, two midfielders and two forwards - all as good as or better than the players we already have?

Principles cost money - in this case a LOT of money. I think some of the folks who were most vocal about Rangers being properly punished (which I agree with, BTW) didn't count the cost of their principles. I would NOT be surprised if there were a couple or three SPL clubs in real money trouble by the end of October.

I read this as a three-way message from PF - to players, to moderate their demands, to Hibs, to do everything they can to loosen the purse-strings as far as is humanly possible, and to us, the fans, to get real about how much he's going to be able to do this window.

GoldenMeerkat
16-07-2012, 12:16 AM
In this current financial predicament we need to start utilising the lower leagues of Scottish football. Instead of signing 30+ year olds on higher wages and with little or no sell on value.

16-07-2012, 12:20 AM
In this current financial predicament we need to start utilising the lower leagues of Scottish football. Instead of signing 30+ year olds on higher wages and with little or no sell on value.

:agree: Hibs are probably better-prepared than most of the SPL, but the enxt few years are going to be tough. Signings from the SFL and bringing on the kids is the way to do things.

yekimevol
16-07-2012, 12:22 AM
i dont think its a case of we cannot afford him but that their are other positions that need players first i.e. strikers. Then depending on the players that we bring in, is their money left in the coffers.

HKhibby
16-07-2012, 02:40 AM
No doubt at all that the Rangers situation will affect our budget, but that's the same for every club so I see it as more a way of trying to get Maybury to reduce his demands while we have other areas to improve on as well.

Did everyone think of this when they wanted Rangers booted out of the SPL and into whatever league?...but i forgot it was in the interests of fairness?....no such thing as fairness in business, especially when it comes to ST'S and TV rights / coverage etc..in football leagues, think about it...who wants to buy TV rights etc.. and watch games like Inverness / St Johstone, Ross County / St Mirren (not taking anything away from these teams) etc.. otside these places, even in Scotland?...let alone anywhere else or overseas.
I live in Asia, whats the chance of watching Hibs on channels here without the OF games?...not alot, same goes for alot of places, people in other parts of the world havnt heard of your Ross Counties and your St Johnstones etc.., but have heard of (unfortunatly) the OF, which going back to the original part...makes the money, incidentally i cannot stand the OF at all, as much as Hearts!, and i just wish it had happened to Celtic more!
Its not just Hibs that will have to get used to less revenue...all the SPL / SFL etc.., including Smeltic!

Gala Foxes
16-07-2012, 04:57 AM
On the subject of full backs if Kujabi is going to feature this season I hope they have worked hard with him on his game following the horror show at Hampden - I can still picture average Hearts players giving him the runaround

16-07-2012, 06:27 AM
Did everyone think of this when they wanted Rangers booted out of the SPL and into whatever league?...but i forgot it was in the interests of fairness?....no such thing as fairness in business, especially when it comes to ST'S and TV rights / coverage etc..in football leagues, think about it...who wants to buy TV rights etc.. and watch games like Inverness / St Johstone, Ross County / St Mirren (not taking anything away from these teams) etc.. otside these places, even in Scotland?...let alone anywhere else or overseas.
I live in Asia, whats the chance of watching Hibs on channels here without the OF games?...not alot, same goes for alot of places, people in other parts of the world havnt heard of your Ross Counties and your St Johnstones etc.., but have heard of (unfortunatly) the OF, which going back to the original part...makes the money, incidentally i cannot stand the OF at all, as much as Hearts!, and i just wish it had happened to Celtic more!
Its not just Hibs that will have to get used to less revenue...all the SPL / SFL etc.., including Smeltic!

Quite happy to see Hibs bring on young players like we used to do before money became the driving force in Scottish football.

Money has done nothing positive for Scottish football.

As long as the Extinct Firm are allowed to buy success by sucking the life out of the other clubs using ££££s, then our game will continue to stagnate.

Wasn't that long ago that every now and then that smaller Scottish clubs could cross swords with the best in Europe and come away with their pride intact. That would never be the case in your money driven league.

16-07-2012, 06:27 AM
I agree that every team has to cut their cloth to suit due to the Sevco outcome and also agree that financially we may be in a better position than some to cope.

My concern though is we are less well off in a football sense than most. The Sevco drama has maybe diverted some peoples minds from the sheer poverty of Hibs football last year. Dire, dire performances, the poorest midfield in living memory culminating in a humiliating cup final defeat.

Now having lost our main goal threats and so far limited change to our uninspiring midfield my fear is we go down the way as Sevco go up.

16-07-2012, 06:54 AM
Like every other club in the SPL our forward planning was done taking into account the current TV deals on the table and at least one visit from Rangers ... ones now not going to happen and ones looking likely to be severely adjusted down the way.

Anybody posting wish lists on here for another 4 players or whatever is kidding themselves. As for ST money, it can only be ring fenced as a result of revenue from elsewhere, if that dries up it will have to be used to keep the club afloat.

There was a great turn out in Dundee yesterday ... perhaps they have got the message that their clubs need them.

This is the cost of integrity and we had better get used to it. We did the right thing, lets hope the folk who demanded we put ourselves into this position are prepared to support their clubs.

16-07-2012, 07:00 AM
Wow! Its just amazing what the hun pound was buying every team in the land if you believe the pish printed by "media".

My goodness, 1 away stand filled a max twice a season and teams all of a sudden can't afford to pay aggie the tea lady etc

Loadypish.

Personally cant wait for the start of the fitba proper so all these scare stories are put to bed and the reality of a dead cheating club becomes clear to all those hun bawbags in the press

16-07-2012, 08:08 AM
Did everyone think of this when they wanted Rangers booted out of the SPL and into whatever league?.

Yes, everyone was aware of the consequences, e.g. the 8 million pages of the 'huns in admin' thread

I live in Asia, whats the chance of watching Hibs on channels here without the OF games?...not alot,

So we should have voted to let derhun back in to the SPL because overseas fans will now not be able to see us getting shafted by them twice a season at ER on telly?

16-07-2012, 08:20 AM

Deary me, imagine wanting to play in a league thats not fixed? :rolleyes:

16-07-2012, 08:33 AM
The situation is PF has a budget and is choosing which positions to fill first. Its like having to choose between 2 bags of sweeties..........................I'll leave the building

16-07-2012, 09:00 AM
Wow! Its just amazing what the hun pound was buying every team in the land if you believe the pish printed by "media".

My goodness, 1 away stand filled a max twice a season and teams all of a sudden can't afford to pay aggie the tea lady etc

Loadypish.

Personally cant wait for the start of the fitba proper so all these scare stories are put to bed and the reality of a dead cheating club becomes clear to all those hun bawbags in the press

It's not the entrance money from the OF fans turning up twice a season that's the problem.

It's the money from the TV contracts that SKY and ESPN only agreed provided they contained a get-out clause if either Rangers or Celtic left the SPL. Like it or not, the big seller for the satellite channels is the OF game. Not a big audience for ICT-Hibs on a bad day in December, I'm afraid.

Along with that there's the sponsors' money that depends on the sponsors getting air time on SKY/ESPN plus the advertising money that depends on TV air-time ...

What's a loadypish is the idea that any SPL club can survive comfortably on gate money alone these days. :bitchy:

16-07-2012, 09:15 AM

I must have missed that he was showing loads of promise watching Hibs, 1st division player, imo.

16-07-2012, 09:18 AM
I believe there's room for 2, possibly 3, more without having to shift anyone. I'd expect Sparky to be the next announcement based on the comments of his Jet Packed pal at the Tayside derby on Saturday.

After that, Pat's got to decide whether he wants to offer Michalik more brass, give it to Maybury or have another go at getting a midfielder.

After that, it's trialists unless we can shift one or more of SO'H, DG, or IS.

Not heard anything about the Framcomb, McFadden, Grounds or Zoumer rumours.

There's no doubt though, that forecast-able income is the key and only sponsorship and STs are going to give Hibs that.

16-07-2012, 09:23 AM
I believe there's room for 2, possibly 3, more without having to shift anyone. I'd expect Sparky to be the next announcement based on the comments of his Jet Packed pal at the Tayside derby on Saturday.

After that, Pat's got to decide whether he wants to offer Michalik more brass, give it to Maybury or have another go at getting a midfielder.

After that, it's trialists unless we can shift one or more of SO'H, DG, or IS.

Not heard anything about the Framcomb, McFadden, Grounds or Zoumer rumours.

There's no doubt though, that forecast-able income is the key and only sponsorship and STs are going to give Hibs that.

Quite happy with that outlook, cheers for the info.

16-07-2012, 09:36 AM
It's not the entrance money from the OF fans turning up twice a season that's the problem.

It's the money from the TV contracts that SKY and ESPN only agreed provided they contained a get-out clause if either Rangers or Celtic left the SPL. Like it or not, the big seller for the satellite channels is the OF game. Not a big audience for ICT-Hibs on a bad day in December, I'm afraid.

Along with that there's the sponsors' money that depends on the sponsors getting air time on SKY/ESPN plus the advertising money that depends on TV air-time ...

What's a loadypish is the idea that any SPL club can survive comfortably on gate money alone these days. :bitchy:

Everybody is going to (have to) find their place.

The TV deal in this country has and always was a crock. For example, where is the TV money from say the BBC?

I am more important to Hibernian FC than SKY.

16-07-2012, 09:38 AM

Mind you, Hibs say we lost out on it.

We had more games than most moved times and lost fans at the gate because of it.

We then finished second bottom so got virtually nothing from the TV deal as a result.

16-07-2012, 11:35 AM

Obviously not looking in the right places then??

16-07-2012, 01:59 PM
Mind you, Hibs say we lost out on it.

We had more games than most moved times and lost fans at the gate because of it.

We then finished second bottom so got virtually nothing from the TV deal as a result.

I'm not saying it worked faultlessly, Andy. We seemed always to be playing mid-day Sunday or some daft time on a weekday evening. But even last year TV, sponsorship and advertising money was a huge chunk of our income. We'll miss it badly, I think.

16-07-2012, 02:07 PM
I'm not saying it worked faultlessly, Andy. We seemed always to be playing mid-day Sunday or some daft time on a weekday evening. But even last year TV, sponsorship and advertising money was a huge chunk of our income. We'll miss it badly, I think.

By all accounts it wasn't though - we actually ended up with less because we lost punters in the door because of kick of changes and the money we got in from the TV deal was less than the amount we lost out on. Hibs say we'd have been better off without a TV deal at all.

16-07-2012, 02:12 PM
Delighted. If we're going to pay over the odds for a player, (and sometimes we should) let's not do it for an average has-been.

16-07-2012, 02:17 PM
By all accounts it wasn't though - we actually ended up with less because we lost punters in the door because of kick of changes and the money we got in from the TV deal was less than the amount we lost out on. Hibs say we'd have been better off without a TV deal at all.

Ah - didn't hear that.

then obviously, how the games are chosen needs to be one of the things sorted out when we move on to reconstructing the game.

16-07-2012, 02:18 PM
http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/page/seasonticketmemberships

This statement from Fenlon / the board about Season Ticket sales a few weeks ago.

"My budget for next season is based on Season Tickets actually sold, not what we might sell. I know that I will get access to every single penny that comes into the club through new Season Ticket sales. "

Is this statement a lie or will the money actually go towards players ?

What happened to Rangers is irrelevant when it comes to our budget if the club are telling the truth.

The media have over exaggerated the money lost in the SPL with Rangers away - many numbers branded about and rarely any evidence backing them up.

Regarding Maybury - experience is important but surely there is other players out there if he is demanding too much / we are being tight as usual.

16-07-2012, 02:29 PM
http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/page/seasonticketmemberships

This statement from Fenlon / the board about Season Ticket sales a few weeks ago.

"My budget for next season is based on Season Tickets actually sold, not what we might sell. I know that I will get access to every single penny that comes into the club through new Season Ticket sales. "

Is this statement a lie or will the money actually go towards players ?

What happened to Rangers is irrelevant when it comes to our budget if the club are telling the truth.

The media have over exaggerated the money lost in the SPL with Rangers away - many numbers branded about and rarely any evidence backing them up.

Regarding Maybury - experience is important but surely there is other players out there if he is demanding too much / we are being tight as usual.

Don't think he's demanding too much, more the fact we have 2-3 players we need to ship out to release their wages ( O'Hanlon/Galbraith etc )

16-07-2012, 02:48 PM

:agree: I spoke to Rod about this, and he confirmed what you said Andy. He said we were the club affected most in the SPL.

glenn6270
18-07-2012, 04:52 PM
is still on trial with the club and joined the squad in Vlissingen last night

Macaroon
18-07-2012, 04:55 PM
He's on the bench for the game tonight

lugz
18-07-2012, 04:57 PM
is still on trial with the club and joined the squad in Vlissingen last night

Id imagine he'll be signed once ozzy completes his move to Blackpool.

RSS Bot
19-07-2012, 11:20 AM
ALAN MAYBURY is to stay with Hibs for the remainder of their mini-European tour after making a last-minute dash to join Pat Fenlon’s squad before the opening game of their four-match schedule, a 1-1 draw with Belgian outfit Lierse SK.

More... (http://www.scotsman.com/maybury-to-stay-for-rest-of-hibs-tour-1-2421249)

19-07-2012, 11:30 AM
It's a promising development. I think he would enhance the quality of the squad.

It would be good if there was work going on behind the scenes whereby we see others join Hibs on the tour with a view to signing.

19-07-2012, 11:38 AM
Good player to have around the place imo.

Wouldn't be disappointed if he signed.

Lendo
19-07-2012, 11:47 AM
perhaps with Osbourne leaving for Blackpool this has freed up the wages.

19-07-2012, 11:52 AM
Notice PF saying offers in for players but will withdraw and move on if required.

Persevere80
19-07-2012, 12:28 PM
Notice PF saying offers in for players but will withdraw and move on if required.

It would be intresting to know what offers have been made to players we will now potentially be missing out on for Maybury but we will never know. I just hope we can get one or two up front.

19-07-2012, 12:56 PM
It would be intresting to know what offers have been made to players we will now potentially be missing out on for Maybury but we will never know. I just hope we can get one or two up front.

Will hopefully find out and hopefully sooner rather than later.

19-07-2012, 12:58 PM

I don't read it that way. I think Maybury is an extra and the other deals are for priority positions.

19-07-2012, 01:10 PM

AND he played for Potter at Leicester.

AND he played for Leeds United.

He hasn't half got previous, mate.

BUT he's a solid professional, lots of experience, can play in a number of positions in defence and he's a sound character - not too likely to be photographed going into the Sheriff Court or getting done for driving his Lamborghini while out of his skull on angel dust.

And supposing he IS 33 going on 34? He's younger than Pirlo and Pujol, and they manage to do without their Zimmers when they're playing.

He's coming over from the Dark Side. If Pat's happy, we should be well ready to give the guy a chance.

"I tell you that in the same way there will be more rejoicing in heaven over one sinner who repents than over ninety-nine righteous persons who do not need to repent...." (Luke 15.7)

19-07-2012, 01:32 PM
AND he played for Potter at Leicester.

AND he played for Leeds United.

He hasn't half got previous, mate.

BUT he's a solid professional, lots of experience, can play in a number of positions in defence and he's a sound character - not too likely to be photographed going into the Sheriff Court or getting done for driving his Lamborghini while out of his skull on angel dust.

And supposing he IS 33 going on 34? He's younger than Pirlo and Pujol, and they manage to do without their Zimmers when they're playing.

He's coming over from the Dark Side. If Pat's happy, we should be well ready to give the guy a chance.

"I tell you that in the same way there will be more rejoicing in heaven over one sinner who repents than over ninety-nine righteous persons who do not need to repent...." (Luke 15.7)

You get the impression from PF saying that he's 'someone that he'd like to have around the place' that he thinks he will be a positive influence around EM and ER, maybe even do a bit of coaching.

If Pat decides that Maybury is for us, I'm fine with that.

19-07-2012, 01:54 PM
I'm not happy about the prospect about us signing Maybury.

Nothing to do with him being an ex-Jambo, couldn't care less where players have played previously if they are good players.

It doesn't even have much really to do with him being 33/34.

My problem is that for the last two years he has not even been a regular pick at St Johnstone. Are we really now at the level where we sign St Johnstone fringe players? That said, maybe I should drop that attitude as St J have been miles better than us in the last two years so we could well be at that level.

I see Gary Naysmith is on trial at Aberdeen. Not sure but might a 46 times capped international defender not be a better option if we are looking at 30-someting ex-yam full backs?

19-07-2012, 01:59 PM

Nothing to do with him being an ex-Jambo, couldn't care less where players have played previously if they are good players.

My problem is that for the last two years he has not even been a regular pick at St Johnstone. Are we really now at the level where we sign St Johnstone fringe players? That said, maybe I should drop that attitude as St J have been miles better than us in the last two years so we could well be at that level.

I see Gary Naysmith is on trial at Aberdeen. Not sure but might a 46 times capped international defender not be a better option if we are looking at 30-someting ex-yam full backs?

And that's the St Johnstone that have been easily better than us over the last 2 years

19-07-2012, 02:02 PM

Alan Maybury has played 61 games for St. Johnstone since he signed in August 2010.

19-07-2012, 02:03 PM
And that's the St Johnstone that have been easily better than us over the last 2 years

Did concede that in my post.

19-07-2012, 02:04 PM

So we're looking at Maybury, a right back, but you think Naysmith, a left back, is the better option. OK then. :aok:

19-07-2012, 02:05 PM
Alan Maybury has played 61 games for St. Johnstone since he signed in August 2010.

How many did he start?

19-07-2012, 02:08 PM
So we're looking at Maybury, a right back, but you think Naysmith, a left back, is the better option. OK then. :aok:

Maybury can play either side. Did so on countless times for Hearts. Given we have signed Clancy for RB as even stated by PF when he signed him and that left back has been a problem position for us for a good while now, I would guess we are in the market for a left back and Maybury has been ear-marked for this.

19-07-2012, 02:39 PM
How many did he start?

Hibiza
19-07-2012, 02:58 PM
Sign Maybury, class act.

19-07-2012, 03:01 PM
Sign Maybury, class act.

:wtf: :wink:

19-07-2012, 03:08 PM

Really? Fair enough if he did but would be interested to see where you got that from.

19-07-2012, 03:11 PM
Really? Fair enough if he did but would be interested to see where you got that from.

http://www.soccerbase.com/players/player.sd?player_id=8906

19-07-2012, 03:32 PM
http://www.soccerbase.com/players/player.sd?player_id=8906

Cheers. More than I would have thought but an average of 22.5 starts per season plus an average of 8 games off the bench each season does not suggest he was injured a lot and therefore was not a solid first pick for St Johnstone.

If you allow for cup games, that means he has started around half the games available accross a two season period. Not really inspiring stuff to get excited about the prospect of him signing for us.

I know St J have been better than us in the last two years but the thought of us signing someone who is basically a squad player there for me is not good enough, unless he is coming as cover and we have other targets in mind for the first XI berth.

19-07-2012, 04:54 PM
Reading the St J's fans forum, "we are Perth" they seem keen on Maybury. A number of posters wishing to retain him, and mentioning how useful he is in a number of positions.

If he's been a good professional, without too many injuries, he may well have a couple of years left in him yet.

Heckys Wheel
19-07-2012, 10:19 PM
Maybury can play either side. Did so on countless times for Hearts. Given we have signed Clancy for RB as even stated by PF when he signed him and that left back has been a problem position for us for a good while now, I would guess we are in the market for a left back and Maybury has been ear-marked for this.

Maybe we're in the market for a cheap option to cover bothe left and right back?

Hard to find a player that understands he won't be first pick but is happy to join and pass on his wealth if experience.

20-07-2012, 09:04 AM
Cheers. More than I would have thought but an average of 22.5 starts per season plus an average of 8 games off the bench each season does not suggest he was injured a lot and therefore was not a solid first pick for St Johnstone.

If you allow for cup games, that means he has started around half the games available accross a two season period. Not really inspiring stuff to get excited about the prospect of him signing for us.

I know St J have been better than us in the last two years but the thought of us signing someone who is basically a squad player there for me is not good enough, unless he is coming as cover and we have other targets in mind for the first XI berth.

This is 38 League games plus Cup ties each season. We're actually talking about a player who was involved in roughly 2/3 of St Johnstone's games over the last two seasons, which suggests he was a significant member of their first-team squad.

AM can play anywhere in the back four, and as a defensive midfield player. As I've said already, he's a solid character with experience at a high level of the game and Pat seems keen on signing him. IMO he could be the sort of guy Pat could use as a second-half sub to stiffen the team and protect a lead as well as cover for the first-choice defenders, but again IMO there's no real reason to assume that he wouldn't be a first-pick depending on his form and the form of the other defenders. He would also be a positive influence in the dressing room and at training - this we need badly as at least one of the younger players didn't understand that when the boss tells you to report back for pre-season no heavier than 'x' pounds weight, he means it.

I would be a lot more comfortable right now with a back four of Clancy-McPake-Maybury-Hanlon (or Clancy-McPake-Hanlon-Maybury) than with Kujabi or Booth on the left flank. Playing either of those wide on the left of midfield might also make sense, but it's early yet and I would expect Pat to be experimenting against Leuven, Zeeland and Union Berlin and in training right up to kick-off on the 5 August. We won't see his final thoughts even against Huddersfield, I guess.

20-07-2012, 03:25 PM
This is 38 League games plus Cup ties each season. We're actually talking about a player who was involved in roughly 2/3 of St Johnstone's games over the last two seasons, which suggests he was a significant member of their first-team squad.

AM can play anywhere in the back four, and as a defensive midfield player. As I've said already, he's a solid character with experience at a high level of the game and Pat seems keen on signing him. IMO he could be the sort of guy Pat could use as a second-half sub to stiffen the team and protect a lead as well as cover for the first-choice defenders, but again IMO there's no real reason to assume that he wouldn't be a first-pick depending on his form and the form of the other defenders. He would also be a positive influence in the dressing room and at training - this we need badly as at least one of the younger players didn't understand that when the boss tells you to report back for pre-season no heavier than 'x' pounds weight, he means it.

I would be a lot more comfortable right now with a back four of Clancy-McPake-Maybury-Hanlon (or Clancy-McPake-Hanlon-Maybury) than with Kujabi or Booth on the left flank. Playing either of those wide on the left of midfield might also make sense, but it's early yet and I would expect Pat to be experimenting against Leuven, Zeeland and Union Berlin and in training right up to kick-off on the 5 August. We won't see his final thoughts even against Huddersfield, I guess.

Statistics eh? It's all about how you present them.

During the time in which Maybury was a Saints player they played 88 league and cup games. 44 games per season, averaging 22.5 starts per season. That means he was considered a first pick for around half these games. To me, this is a squad player and maybe if he is coming as a squad player then he will do us a turn but I get the feeling we are looking at him as a first team pick given the lack of activity and speculation regarding other players.

I feel we should be capable of aiming a wee bit higher than signing a squad player from St Johnstone even given the current climate and the fact that they have been a better club than us for the last two years.

You are right to say that with 61 appearances from a possible 88, Maybury was involved in two thirds of their games though I would like to see us signing players who started a bit more, indicating they are ready to come to Hibs and nail down a spot. I just feel we have had too many of these "can play a few positions" players over recent years and it isn't getting us anywhere.

Would be a lot happier if we signed Maybury as squad cover and signed a recognised left back in same mould as Clancy at right back i.e. proven SPL player who is the other side of 30 and has been starting a bit more in recent years.

Do agree that Maybury would be a better bet at left back than Booth, Kujabi and even possibly Hanlon. Also agree that PF should try Kujabi and Booth at left midfield or even more radically, left in front three. Not sure if Kujabi would be up to it but I think Booth has the potential to be quite effective as the left sided player in a front three.

20-07-2012, 08:51 PM
Statistics eh? It's all about how you present them.

During the time in which Maybury was a Saints player they played 88 league and cup games. 44 games per season, averaging 22.5 starts per season. That means he was considered a first pick for around half these games. To me, this is a squad player and maybe if he is coming as a squad player then he will do us a turn but I get the feeling we are looking at him as a first team pick given the lack of activity and speculation regarding other players.

I feel we should be capable of aiming a wee bit higher than signing a squad player from St Johnstone even given the current climate and the fact that they have been a better club than us for the last two years.

You are right to say that with 61 appearances from a possible 88, Maybury was involved in two thirds of their games though I would like to see us signing players who started a bit more, indicating they are ready to come to Hibs and nail down a spot. I just feel we have had too many of these "can play a few positions" players over recent years and it isn't getting us anywhere.

Would be a lot happier if we signed Maybury as squad cover and signed a recognised left back in same mould as Clancy at right back i.e. proven SPL player who is the other side of 30 and has been starting a bit more in recent years.

Do agree that Maybury would be a better bet at left back than Booth, Kujabi and even possibly Hanlon. Also agree that PF should try Kujabi and Booth at left midfield or even more radically, left in front three. Not sure if Kujabi would be up to it but I think Booth has the potential to be quite effective as the left sided player in a front three.

I'd like to see us signing more players, too.

But I don't think we have enough money right now.

Players who can play in more than one position may be the way we have to go right now.