View Full Version : Hibs Socks

HibeeSoldier
08-07-2012, 06:19 PM
Just put them on and noticed the whole puma logo stitching is very loose thinking it was maybe just excess i gave it a small tug but the whole logo seems to be coming out of the socks anyone else had this problem or have I just got a faulty pair?

08-07-2012, 06:20 PM
Just put them on and noticed the whole puma logo stitching is very loose thinking it was maybe just excess i gave it a small tug but the whole logo seems to be coming out of the socks anyone else had this problem or have I just got a faulty pair?

Before I answer this can you confirm you are over the age of 21?

HibeeSoldier
08-07-2012, 06:26 PM

I am, dunno what that has anything to do with it though :confused:

Jay
08-07-2012, 06:35 PM
Take them back, ours are fine so you must just have a faulty pair.

08-07-2012, 06:43 PM

I use hibs socks for 5aside and I'm over 21. Is this allowed sir?

08-07-2012, 06:44 PM

08-07-2012, 06:49 PM
I use hibs socks for 5aside and I'm over 21. Is this allowed sir?

No! I wear the shirt, but a grown man in full kit is just wrong unless there are mental incapacities that make it okay. Anyone who doesn't have a carer shouldn't be wearing full strip.

HibeeSoldier
08-07-2012, 06:54 PM
Take them back, ours are fine so you must just have a faulty pair.

Yeah guess that's the plan now to find the other half of the receipt

No! I wear the shirt, but a grown man in full kit is just wrong unless there are mental incapacities that make it okay. Anyone who doesn't have a carer shouldn't be wearing full strip.

then wear non Hibs shorts and socks? which gets less money to the club and doesn't look as smart

08-07-2012, 06:55 PM

Who said anything about the full kit :confused:

Thought we were talking about socks.....

08-07-2012, 07:02 PM

You wear the socks alone? I've never seen that. Usually the socks are part of the complete ensemble that is so unacceptable for adults.

08-07-2012, 07:04 PM

I find the thought of a grown man parading about in socks, shirt and no shorts pretty disturbing to be honest. Even worse, just socks. Especially with a wee run in the stiching.

08-07-2012, 07:09 PM
You wear the socks alone? I've never seen that. Usually the socks are part of the complete ensemble that is so unacceptable for adults.

No idea what your going on about. Next time I go into the club shop i'll make sure i let you know so you can check my purchase to make sure its at an acceptable standard. :aok:

08-07-2012, 07:12 PM
No idea what your going on about. Next time I go into the club shop i'll make sure i let you know so you can check my purchase to make sure its at an acceptable standard. :aok:

Please do. Nae soaks in adult sizes :greengrin

08-07-2012, 07:13 PM
I find the thought of a grown man parading about in socks, shirt and no shorts pretty disturbing to be honest. Even worse, just socks. Especially with a wee run in the stiching.

I'm sure no ones wears the full kit, in fact i buy different shorts and socks and wear them sometimes. Can i have your thoughts on a normal t shirt, Hibs shorts and hibs socks (not from same season) to play 5 aside in? :confused:

Rossco1875
08-07-2012, 07:15 PM
If someone wants to wear a pair of hibs socks I dont see what its go to do with anyone else.

More money into fenlons war chest.:wink:

08-07-2012, 07:16 PM
Please do. Nae soaks in adult sizes :greengrin

cheers.

08-07-2012, 07:17 PM

To be honest im with you, even playing 7s if one of my pals turned up with a full kit on they would get pelters!!!

08-07-2012, 07:20 PM
I'm sure no ones wears the full kit, in fact i buy different shorts and socks and wear them sometimes. Can i have your thoughts on a normal t shirt, Hibs shorts and hibs socks (not from same season) to play 5 aside in? :confused:

I really have no advice to offer other than if you are over the age of 40 wear one of those baseball caps with two straws and a can of beer on top. They are ******* hilarious. (Though not as funny as an adult in Hibs socks. Unless they are female which the dormant sexist in me finds strangely alluring.)

08-07-2012, 07:23 PM
I never wear colours, but last season started wearing Hibs socks to matches, became superstitious for a few weeks, christ alone knows why, as we got pumped during my sock wearing strategy...

08-07-2012, 07:25 PM
I really have no advice to offer other than if you are over the age of 40 wear one of those baseball caps with two straws and a can of beer on top. They are ******* hilarious. (Though not as funny as an adult in Hibs socks. Unless they are female which the dormant sexist in me finds strangely alluring.)

I went to Tolouse the other year to watch the cougars and one fan who is about 50 turned up in a hat with a fan in it (crazy crazy), personally i was laughing but i didnt try bully him into thinking he was told old for it.

At what age should people stop waering Hibs shirts to games :confused:

08-07-2012, 07:25 PM

Tiny short shorts and knee length socks. I can see the point you're making :greengrin

08-07-2012, 07:29 PM

No age for shirts, but socks is another world. An adult in fitba soaks is disturbing

08-07-2012, 07:32 PM
No age for shirts, but socks is another world. An adult in fitba soaks is disturbing

Football socks used to play football in, not sure i get your point. What should i be wearing over my shin pads then :confused:

Is non hibs football socks ok for 5aside :confused:

I personally dont wear football shirts for anything other than playing football, i wouldn't wear one to a game but thats my opinion.

08-07-2012, 07:35 PM

Wouldn't wear any kind of full kit, but I don't see what's weird about wearing football socks to play football.

08-07-2012, 07:37 PM
Football socks used to play football in, not sure i get your point. What should i be wearing over my shin pads then :confused:

Is non hibs football socks ok for 5aside :confused:

I personally dont wear football shirts for anything other than playing football, i wouldn't wear one to a game but thats my opinion.

You don't need shin pads for five a side. Stop pretending you're at Hampden :greengrin

08-07-2012, 07:39 PM
I went to Tolouse the other year to watch the cougars and one fan who is about 50 turned up in a hat with a fan in it (crazy crazy), personally i was laughing but i didnt try bully him into thinking he was told old for it.

A tough call but waist size probably over rules age here. If the shirt is stretched to the point of transparency then it's probably best to say no.

Disclaimer. My views on this may be tainted by (a crap ) sense of humour.

08-07-2012, 07:41 PM
You don't need shin pads for five a side. Stop pretending you're at Hampden :greengrin

If you had seen way some tackle then you would understand, plus most wear football boots as its that fake grass stuff they used to have at Hamilton.

Not like that no tackle rubbish you no doubt play :greengrin

08-07-2012, 08:12 PM
I would just like to butt in here and make my views known as well.

Football shirts should be only for footballers or kids. With that in mind, sizes should never be greater than an 'L'.

As a rough rule of thumb, if you wear an XL or larger or are over the age of 18, please don't wear a football shirt!

Thank You :greengrin

08-07-2012, 08:19 PM
I would just like to butt in here and make my views known as well.

Football shirts should be only for footballers or kids. With that in mind, sizes should never be greater than an 'L'.

As a rough rule of thumb, if you wear an XL or larger or are over the age of 18, please don't wear a football shirt!

Thank You :greengrin

A good point about the mordidly obese wearing shirts, yet I get XL and I'm only 12 stone and hardly a giant. We don't want a size zero body confirmity of anorexic Hibs fans :greengrin

08-07-2012, 08:42 PM
If you had seen way some tackle then you would understand, plus most wear football boots as its that fake grass stuff they used to have at Hamilton.

Not like that no tackle rubbish you no doubt play :greengrin

To be fair im known to point out to my outfield players the weirdos wearing those trainer socks to play football in a fives league match, nae protection = leaving the boot in :greengrin

09-07-2012, 06:40 AM
I know folk who only wear football socks as they find them more comfertable than regular socks

09-07-2012, 06:53 AM
I see the sartorial fascists are out in force :hilarious

09-07-2012, 07:01 AM
I see the sartorial fascists are out in force :hilarious

I notice Dashing Bob has not given us an official comment, Nobodys opinion really matters

09-07-2012, 08:09 AM
I notice Dashing Bob has not given us an official comment, Nobodys opinion really matters

Exactly. If Bob says its ok to wear hibs socks with brown jesus sandals matched with a XXXL Hibs keeper.jersey set off with a feather boa and a gola headband, id be inclined to Follow The Leader, as Erik B and Rakim made clear :aok:

09-07-2012, 08:47 AM
I tend to wear a pair of £2 white umbro football socks from sports direct to play 5s in. If someone wants to wear Hibs socks then fair enough but as said above if any of my mates turned up in the full kit of any team to play 5s in they would probably never hear the end of it.

I tend to buy the tops every year but only wear them to play 5s in. Only games I wore a Hibs top to last year was the semi final and final. Something about wearing a football top when not actually playing football just feels wrong to me but each to their own.

crossy1875
09-07-2012, 01:34 PM

I wear the training shorts and socks for 7 a side, I also have the grey tracksuit top and bottoms, I am over 21 but have no carer ;)

TamHibs
09-07-2012, 03:46 PM
So if someone turned up to play football in a football kit, some people on here would take the p**s out them? Why? What are they supposed to play football in?

09-07-2012, 03:49 PM
So if someone turned up to play football in a football kit, some people on here would take the p**s out them? Why? What are they supposed to play football in?

Mix and match is acceptable but if you are over 16 and wear a full official kit its just wrong in my opinion

TamHibs
09-07-2012, 03:52 PM
Mix and match is acceptable but if you are over 16 and wear a full official kit its just wrong in my opinion

Tbh I normally buy the shorts for my holidays each year then when I'm back I'll pick up the socks to play 5's in for the rest of the season, really don't see what difference it makes if you wear this years shorts or last years shorts along with your Hibs top to 5's or 7's. Maybe it's just me.

09-07-2012, 03:52 PM
I never wear colours, but last season started wearing Hibs socks to matches, became superstitious for a few weeks, christ alone knows why, as we got pumped during my sock wearing strategy...

Did you have the shine pads on too? :)

09-07-2012, 03:55 PM
Tbh I normally buy the shorts for my holidays each year then when I'm back I'll pick up the socks to play 5's in for the rest of the season, really don't see what difference it makes if you wear this years shorts or last years shorts along with your Hibs top to 5's or 7's. Maybe it's just me.

Each to their own, its more than likely one of my quirks to be honest, other than playing football in them i cringe when i see any full grown adult in football top, even at games

09-07-2012, 05:26 PM
Hibs.net reasoning perplexes me at times.

Wear your clubs full kit to play 5's in - I don't see the issue, but you'd think it was a henious crime against fashion. But by all means, wear a mix'n'match multi-coloured number? Nae bother :aok:

Half you probably dress like you're modelling for Oxfam.

09-07-2012, 05:31 PM

Wear your clubs full kit to play 5's in - I don't see the issue, but you'd think it was a henious crime against fashion. But by all means, wear a mix'n'match multi-coloured number? Nae bother :aok:

That's the point, its fitba no a fashion show, don't get me started on coloured boots either

09-07-2012, 05:41 PM
Each to their own, its more than likely one of my quirks to be honest, other than playing football in them i cringe when i see any full grown adult in football top, even at games

Cringe away mate, I have both home and away tops and will be wearing them with pride at every game this season.

Ive read some p!sh on Hibs net but this thread takes the biscuit. :rolleyes:

09-07-2012, 05:45 PM
Cringe away mate, I have both home and away tops and will be wearing them with pride at every game this season.

As i said, its a personal preference with me, knock yourself out as long as are happy its none of my bees wax, incidently i also hate chinos and beanie hats worn when the sun is out

09-07-2012, 05:45 PM
That's the point, its fitba no a fashion show, don't get me started on coloured boots either
I don't wear Hibs colours to matches but there's absolutely no issue if folk do.

09-07-2012, 05:46 PM

My secret's out!

Now, stop wearing football strips you bunch of fatties!

OK, I'll allow XL (for tight fitting tops like Puma) but no bigger...OK!?!?!

09-07-2012, 05:47 PM
As i said, its a personal preference with me, knock yourself out as long as are happy its none of my bees wax, incidently i also hate chinos and beanie hats worn when the sun is out

Especially when worn with a pair of those ridiculous hi-tops :hahaha:

09-07-2012, 05:47 PM

Aye HSH but do you have fitbaw socks ? And when do you wear them ? Lol

09-07-2012, 05:49 PM
I don't wear Hibs colours to matches but there's absolutely no issue if folk do.

Neither do i its their choice, im not on some anti football top jihad, its just my opinion

09-07-2012, 05:54 PM
I bought the socks, and they do look great with the shorts and top, but after one wash i found they have gone a bit baggy.

Now to keep them up, i have to wear suspenders, would a matching bra be going too far? :confused:

09-07-2012, 06:00 PM
I bought the socks, and they do look great with the shorts and top, but after one wash i found they have gone a bit baggy.

Now to keep them up, i have to wear suspenders, would a matching bra be going too far? :confused:

You're on the wrong site, bh. There will be 'specialist sites' where certain gentlemen discuss such things :greengrin

09-07-2012, 06:01 PM
Aye HSH but do you have fitbaw socks ? And when do you wear them ? Lol

I do have a home pair and away pair of Hibs socks from a few seasons back. I wear them with my Hibs kilt and Hibs top when abroad watching Hibs. :wink:

09-07-2012, 06:03 PM
Neither do i its their choice, im not on some anti football top jihad, its just my opinion

So why CRINGE when you see an adult in a football top.

09-07-2012, 06:09 PM
So why CRINGE when you see an adult in a football top.
I just think its something for kids to be honest, which is pretty mental as if i saw a scalectrix about id be the first to try have a go, inside my head can be a very strange place especially with the lack of football games to go to

09-07-2012, 06:15 PM
I do have a home pair and away pair of Hibs socks from a few seasons back. I wear them with my Hibs kilt and Hibs top when abroad watching Hibs. :wink:

And you look resplendent sir.

09-07-2012, 06:19 PM
So let me get this straight; a full hibs kit is cringeworthy when playing football, but if an item of the strip is from another season then that is ok....?

Heard it all now :hilarious:

09-07-2012, 06:20 PM
So let me get this straight; a full hibs kit is cringeworthy when playing football, but if an item of the strip is from another season then that is ok....?

Heard it all now :hilarious:

Correct!!!

11-07-2012, 05:53 PM
I was about to post ...... GTF ya Yam Bassa !!!

Then I looked closer and realised it said Socks.

11-07-2012, 07:13 PM
Did you have the shine pads on too? :)

did the shin pads come with socks? If I have been missold this item I will create merry hell.....Petrie:rolleyes:

11-07-2012, 07:14 PM

I will cringe if I see you in Belgium sporting the Club colours, that is so yesterday:greengrin

11-07-2012, 07:17 PM
Wouldn't think twice about wearing full kit if I am playing fives or sevens, wtf is wrong with that?

11-07-2012, 07:19 PM
Wouldn't think twice about wearing full kit if I am playing fives or sevens, wtf is wrong with that?

Because Gok Wan would not approve......Some people have too much time on their hands to find things to moan about....

11-07-2012, 07:30 PM

Someone has to do it....................:greengrin

http://youtu.be/mV1LzXf1TKQ

11-07-2012, 07:44 PM

The word isn't sexist ...

... the word is FETISHIST. :devil:

And this is a very worrying thread.

11-07-2012, 08:35 PM
Can you let a burd wear a Hibs top in bed?

And if so, can I imagine she's Pat McGinlay at the vinegar strokes?

Cheers.

aussie_hibee
12-07-2012, 01:58 AM

Cheers.

Oh yes sir....! :drool:

12-07-2012, 06:54 AM

Cheers.

Only if it's a McGinlay-era Hibs top. If it's a more recent top, you'll have to imagine she's Colin Nish or Sean O'Hanlon.

12-07-2012, 08:34 AM
Only if it's a McGinlay-era Hibs top. If it's a more recent top, you'll have to imagine she's Colin Nish or Sean O'Hanlon.

I'm deciphering the code here. Nish if they go doon easy and O'Hanlon if they're fond of a full wax?