View Full Version : Andy Murray

Leishy1995
06-07-2012, 05:31 PM
The boys a hibs fan and is on the verge of the final! Is anyone else watching?

06-07-2012, 05:36 PM
Listening in the cab

Leishy1995
06-07-2012, 05:37 PM
He's got the sun in his eyes now. It's all going wrong!

Leishy1995
06-07-2012, 05:39 PM
5-5 in the 4th set.

06-07-2012, 05:44 PM
6-5 Murray. Tsonga to choke here.

Leishy1995
06-07-2012, 05:46 PM
Tsonga is done, it's over. Murray to win 6-2 in every set in the final.

06-07-2012, 05:47 PM
6-5 Murray. Tsonga to choke here.

Told ya :wink:

06-07-2012, 05:48 PM
Well done Andy! :thumbsup:

Iceman1875
06-07-2012, 05:50 PM
....hibs summer of change ;)

06-07-2012, 05:50 PM
When is the final?

Well played Andy!

hibernator
06-07-2012, 05:54 PM
Tsonga gave his lot in that last set, Some of his second serves where fizzing, Ran out of steam though Andy played well.:aok:

06-07-2012, 05:56 PM
Well done Andy, you have done yourself and us proud. :top marks

06-07-2012, 05:58 PM
When is the final?

Well played Andy!

Sunday!

Well done Andy, brilliant performance, Tsonga was tough and Federer will be tougher but he can do it.

da-robster
06-07-2012, 05:59 PM
I thought reserve umpire Craig Thomson was going to rob Murray at the very end, so its a good thing Wimbledon has hawkeye. :greengrin

mrdependable
06-07-2012, 06:03 PM
Get in :greengrinGood luck Andy :flag:

06-07-2012, 06:05 PM
Played Andy , you are British for at least 2 more days

06-07-2012, 06:10 PM
Awesome.

We don't even play tennis in Scotland.

A wonderful and unlikely, achievement for our wee bit of the UK.

06-07-2012, 06:12 PM

I've had this discussion elsewhere.

He's been mostly called a Scot and Britain's number one.

Lighten up on the xenophobia.

S.sct
06-07-2012, 06:16 PM

Ok them HIBBY Andy Murray......all the best for the final when you read this Andy.

06-07-2012, 06:20 PM

Eh naw , Even the commentators were low key from start to finish . If it was TImmy/insert another Englishman instead of Murray the press/commentators would now be hyper-ventilating , xenophobia ? i dont think so , im just telling it like it is.

06-07-2012, 06:20 PM
When is the final?

Well played Andy!

2pm on Sunday.

06-07-2012, 06:23 PM
Eh naw , Even the commentators were low key from start to finish . If it was TImmy/insert another Englishman instead of Murray the press/commentators would now be hyper-ventilating , xenophobia ? i dont think so , im just telling it like it is.

:agree: Cringeworthy to suggest what you posted was xenophobia.

06-07-2012, 06:25 PM
He played well and it's a great achievement for him.

Can't help but feel Federer will be too strong for him on Sunday but we wait and see.

06-07-2012, 06:54 PM
Ok them HIBBY Andy Murray......all the best for the final when you read this Andy.

You rang:greengrin

06-07-2012, 06:54 PM

That would be because that's exactly what he is?.

06-07-2012, 07:37 PM

Some on here just act/are far too precious and want to be seen as saying the right thing , does my man breasts right in.

06-07-2012, 10:26 PM
Merge! ;-)

07-07-2012, 07:39 AM

What's cringeworthy is the need for so many Scots to look for ways to feel hard done to by the British media and feel sorry for themselves. We should be celebrating a remarkable achievement rather than mumping on about what Sue Barker or Tim Henman did or didn't say/mean/infer.

If the English want to take him to their hearts because he's British, that's great. Isn't that similar to what we do when we support Joe Calzaghe, Graeme McDowell or Rory McIlroy?

Well, whether it's xenophobia or just paranoia, I'm not sure, but either way, suggesting that the media only treat him as British when he's winning is a myth.

Every single report I've read clearly refers to Andy Murray being a Scot, being British and being Britain's number 1 and the same applies to the TV. That's accurate and balanced. If he loses tomorrow, they will do the same so the comments about him only being British for the next 2 days aren't justified.

The commentators I heard, BBC TV and Radio 5 Live, have been desperate for him to win and over the next 48 hours the hype and excitement will reach ridiculous heights.

If you want to read over the top hyper-ventilating, have a swatch at this article (http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/tennis/article-2169824/Wimbledon-2012-Andy-Murray-Final-beating-Jo-Wilfried-Tsonga.html?ito=feeds-newsxml)in the Daily Mail. 20 photographs, an Andy Murray fact-file and gushing words. Unbelievably, it's so excessive that it talks about Murray "evoking shades of 1966 and all that...". That's another discussion right there and bound to irritate you so maybe you shouldn't read it after all!

Wanting to say the right thing and not wanting to perpetrate childish myths are two different things.

07-07-2012, 08:09 AM

With all the attention being given to Murray, you wouldn't know it, but Jonny Marray, an English tennis player, got to the men's doubles final too, the first British man to do so for 52 years.

It's funny, there's no mention in the BBC article (http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/tennis/18745438) of him being English.

I wonder how many complaints they'll receive about that.

07-07-2012, 02:07 PM
What's cringeworthy is the need for so many Scots to look for ways to feel hard done to by the British media and feel sorry for themselves. We should be celebrating a remarkable achievement rather than mumping on about what Sue Barker or Tim Henman did or didn't say/mean/infer.

If the English want to take him to their hearts because he's British, that's great. Isn't that similar to what we do when we support Joe Calzaghe, Graeme McDowell or Rory McIlroy?

Well, whether it's xenophobia or just paranoia, I'm not sure, but either way, suggesting that the media only treat him as British when he's winning is a myth.

Every single report I've read clearly refers to Andy Murray being a Scot, being British and being Britain's number 1 and the same applies to the TV. That's accurate and balanced. If he loses tomorrow, they will do the same so the comments about him only being British for the next 2 days aren't justified.

The commentators I heard, BBC TV and Radio 5 Live, have been desperate for him to win and over the next 48 hours the hype and excitement will reach ridiculous heights.

If you want to read over the top hyper-ventilating, have a swatch at this article (http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/tennis/article-2169824/Wimbledon-2012-Andy-Murray-Final-beating-Jo-Wilfried-Tsonga.html?ito=feeds-newsxml)in the Daily Mail. 20 photographs, an Andy Murray fact-file and gushing words. Unbelievably, it's so excessive that it talks about Murray "evoking shades of 1966 and all that...". That's another discussion right there and bound to irritate you so maybe you shouldn't read it after all!

Wanting to say the right thing and not wanting to perpetrate childish myths are two different things.

Whilst I would agree with you to an extent regarding the "British when he wins, Scottish when he loses" argument that is put forward by a lot of Scots, I don't think there can be any argument at all that the Wimbledon crowd, which is obviously overwhelmingly English, will come away from tomorrow's match if Murray does win it and be thinking deep down;

"Well done to him but it's just a pity he isn't English."

John McEnroe has been referring constantly over the past few days to the fact that the crowd has been very reluctant to get right behind Murray in his past few matches, when he has really needed their support, and I totally agree with him. I don't think Tim Henman faced the same problem when he was having his runs to the semi finals at Wimbledon and I don't think the American, French or Australian players have that issue either at their home Grand Slams.

I don't have any problems with the media referring to him as British tomorrow if he wins, because he IS the British number one, he plays tennis for Great Britain, he doesn't play for Scotland. However, I fully believe that they will also mention the fact that he is Scottish, it's an undeniable fact and they cannot get away from that.

07-07-2012, 02:55 PM
Delighted for Murray :agree: Got a sneaky feeling he might just do it tommrow. Ill try and get back into the house from work tomrow to watch as much as I can :greengrin

07-07-2012, 03:01 PM
Whilst I would agree with you to an extent regarding the "British when he wins, Scottish when he loses" argument that is put forward by a lot of Scots, I don't think there can be any argument at all that the Wimbledon crowd, which is obviously overwhelmingly English, will come away from tomorrow's match if Murray does win it and be thinking deep down;

"Well done to him but it's just a pity he isn't English."

You're right, no-one could possibly argue with that. Unless they're mind readers, of course.

That's the most wildly speculative remark I've read on here for a while.

John McEnroe has been referring constantly over the past few days to the fact that the crowd has been very reluctant to get right behind Murray in his past few matches, when he has really needed their support, and I totally agree with him. I don't think Tim Henman faced the same problem when he was having his runs to the semi finals at Wimbledon and I don't think the American, French or Australian players have that issue either at their home Grand Slams.

I don't have any problems with the media referring to him as British tomorrow if he wins, because he IS the British number one, he plays tennis for Great Britain, he doesn't play for Scotland. However, I fully believe that they will also mention the fact that he is Scottish, it's an undeniable fact and they cannot get away from that.

You have to remember he was wrongly portrayed as being anti-English after he joked with Henman that he would support anyone but England in the World Cup. If an English tennis player had said that about Scotland, we'd cast them as the devil incarnate and actively support their opponents.

To use your phrase, I don't think there can be any argument at all that Murray will receive a damn sight more support from the English crowd at Wimbledon tomorrow than Tim Henman would have got in Scotland.

07-07-2012, 03:01 PM
Mon the Fed Express ! :na na:

07-07-2012, 03:10 PM
Personally I'd love Murray to lose just to win it in 2015 representing Scotland just to get it right up the *****:agree:.

07-07-2012, 04:06 PM
Personally I'd love Murray to lose just to win it in 2015 representing Scotland just to get it right up the *****:agree:.

I would prefer he won it tomorrow no questions asked and then went on to win it many times he is and will always be Scottish . A passport is a document Nationality is inside you.

As an aside its good to see the English get behind him as I would another British athlete. Its just English footballers and Rugby players I detest.:greengrin

07-07-2012, 04:30 PM
You're right, no-one could possibly argue with that. Unless they're mind readers, of course.

That's the most wildly speculative remark I've read on here for a while.

Thanks, I like creating records.

You have to remember he was wrongly portrayed as being anti-English after he joked with Henman that he would support anyone but England in the World Cup. If an English tennis player had said that about Scotland, we'd cast them as the devil incarnate and actively support their opponents.

To use your phrase, I don't think there can be any argument at all that Murray will receive a damn sight more support from the English crowd at Wimbledon tomorrow than Tim Henman would have got in Scotland.

What you have elected to miss out there was that Murray made that comment after Henman had just made a comment to Murray about Scotland not qualifying for the 2006 World Cup.

If roles had been reversed up in Scotland and Henman had just made a comment about Scotland in response to Murray making a joke about England, I think most level headed people would look at the context of the conversation and see it for what it was - a lighthearted joke.

That comment Murray made more than 6 years ago now, when he was just 19 years of age, is just a convenient excuse that the English public has for not supporting him as much as they could.

It wouldn't have mattered if Murray had sung God Save The Queen and worn a t-shirt commemorating William and Kate's wedding before every match that he plays, there would still be the sentiment from many people in England that says;

It's a shame he's not English.

07-07-2012, 09:14 PM

Listening to the Stephen Nolan radio show on 5live last night, the majority of the callers were firmly in the 'anyone but Murray' camp and many openly stated it was 'cos he's Scottish and he hates us English'.

I'm not sure sure. I think the crowd will be 50-50 tomorrow and if it was in Scotland, I think you would find the types who attend Tennis would be a lot more supportive of a 'home grown' player than say, your average football crowd :agree:

07-07-2012, 09:16 PM
ABM hope Fed gives him a right doing!

07-07-2012, 09:23 PM
ABM hope Fed gives him a right doing!

Aye, so you have said. Still a wee bit sore from Engerlund getting stiffed at the Euro's I guess :greengrin

07-07-2012, 09:24 PM
Aye, so you have said. Still a wee bit sore from Engerlund getting stiffed at the Euro's I guess :greengrin

Nah! England exceeded my expectations at the Euros :na na:

07-07-2012, 09:27 PM
Nah! England exceeded my expectations at the Euros :na na:

Good for you.

In that case, I put you down as either:

1. A boring troll

2. A like minded idiotic little englander similar to those on the Beeb radio last night, who hate AM because The Sun told them to.

07-07-2012, 09:37 PM
Good for you.

In that case, I put you down as either:

1. A boring troll

2. A like minded idiotic little englander similar to those on the Beeb radio last night, who hate AM because The Sun told them to.

Wrong on both counts. :giruy: :greengrin

PS I wouldn't wipe my erse with the Sun let alone read it!......................ABM

07-07-2012, 09:42 PM
Wrong on both counts.

My mistake.

I see you are Scouse, so it must be because The Mirror said it.

The sooner you Englander's break away from Scotland the better :agree:

07-07-2012, 09:43 PM
The girl on SSN today said she expected over half the crowd to support Federer. Scouse can joke all he likes but you lot are on the whole anti Scottish unless it suits when you steal our nationality.

Personally I think it is a disgrace that you lot can't get behind a Scot because he once joked about England. For what it's worth I would have liked Jensen Button to win the Grand Prix tomorrow despite a Scot being in the race.

07-07-2012, 09:44 PM
My mistake.

I see you are Scouse, so it must be because The Mirror said it.

The sooner you Englander's break away from Scotland the better :agree:

"You Englanders" :faf:

07-07-2012, 09:48 PM
The girl on SSN today said she expected over half the crowd to support Federer. Scouse can joke all he likes but you lot are on the whole anti Scottish unless it suits when you steal our nationality.

Personally I think it is a disgrace that you lot can't get behind a Scot because he once joked about England. For what it's worth I would have liked Jensen Button to win the Grand Prix tomorrow despite a Scot being in the race.

Oh dear :rolleyes: boo hoo away and dry your eyes FFS.

What ever next pots and kettles indeed!

07-07-2012, 09:50 PM

I've been down to England on holiday for most of the last 12 years and perhaps it's because of the Jubilee and mass flag waving, but this year I noticed a couple of openly anti-scottish comments made in public.

One at a petrol station where the tennis was being discussed and a disparaging remark about Murray (It might have been Scouse Hibby :greengrin) and the other in a bar when a guy was given a Scottish £10 note in his change and he told the barman to 'change the mickey mouse money for a real one'.

The 2 countries are clearly moving in different directions. Practically every house and shop down south still has a Union \ English flag hanging from it. Up here I hardly saw anything during the Jubilee and nothing at all now.

07-07-2012, 09:55 PM
Regardless of your ABM stuff Scouse, the line pathead quoted

"you lot can't get behind a Scot because he once joked about England"

would appear to be absolutely true. It seems a lot of Englanders :wink: can't or didn't want to see the irony in that comment.

I'm not sure if you stated this already but why don't you want AM to win?

07-07-2012, 09:57 PM
I've been down to England on holiday for most of the last 12 years and perhaps it's because of the Jubilee and mass flag waving, but this year I noticed a couple of openly anti-scottish comments made in public.

One at a petrol station where the tennis was being discussed and a disparaging remark about Murray (It might have been Scouse Hibby :greengrin) and the other in a bar when a guy was given a Scottish £10 note in his change and he told the barman to 'change the mickey mouse money for a real one'.

The 2 countries are clearly moving in different directions. Practically every house and shop down south still has a Union \ English flag hanging from it. Up here I hardly saw anything during the Jubilee and nothing at all now.

I am back in Liverpool every six weeks or so and would say the same if given Scottish money in my change, why accept it in your change when the majority of shops in Liverpool unless major retailers will refuse to accept it from me.

Wasn't me unless you were in Liverpool recently :greengrin

07-07-2012, 10:00 PM
I am back in Liverpool every six weeks or so and would say the same if given Scottish money in my change, why accept it in your change when the majority of shops in Liverpool unless major retailers will refuse to accept it from me.

Wasn't me unless you were in Liverpool recently :greengrin

Erm, because it's legal tender?

A perfect example of the dismissive nature that ******s within Englanders.

07-07-2012, 10:02 PM
Regardless of your ABM stuff Scouse, the line pathead quoted

"you lot can't get behind a Scot because he once joked about England"

would appear to be absolutely true. It seems a lot of Englanders :wink: can't or didn't want to see the irony in that comment.

I'm not sure if you stated this already but why don't you want AM to win?

Just for the banter mate just for the banter :wink:

I love how folk on here can dish about the grief to me about the England football team which I take as good old fashioned banter and then start crying when I retaliate over Murray etc.

I could of said it's not Murray I dislike it's the media hype blah, blah, blah but I wont :greengrin

And no I'm not trolling I prefer the term friendly retaliation.

07-07-2012, 10:04 PM

I think you'll find it's actually not! However that's another argument. (Check the Bank of England website)

The fact is if shops/bars won't accept it then it's no good to you in your change it's as simple as that.

So really it's a perfect example of you abusing "Englanders" incorrectly!

07-07-2012, 10:08 PM
Just for the banter mate just for the banter :wink:

I love how folk on here can dish about the grief to me about the England football team which I take as good old fashioned banter and then start crying when I retaliate over Murray etc.

I could of said it's not Murray I dislike it's the media hype blah, blah, blah but I wont :greengrin

And no I'm not trolling I prefer the term friendly retaliation.

On the whole I'm not an ABE man. Only when commentators/press go over the top do I lose/adopt it. Sad to say it is far too often. You behave just like Rangers supporters with a horrible arrogance.

07-07-2012, 10:16 PM
On the whole I'm not an ABE man. Only when commentators/press go over the top do I lose/adopt it. Sad to say it is far too often. You behave just like Rangers supporters with a horrible arrogance.

Yeah I know just look at the press coverage for Murray because he's in a big tournament and doing well...........................outrageous enough to turn anyone to ABM.

Jocks moaning like Rangers supporters because thay feel hard done to anaw!!

07-07-2012, 11:50 PM

Whilst I agree with a lot of what you're saying here, Scottish notes are technically not legal tender. They're just unofficially accepted.

The only legal tender in England and Wales are notes issued by the Bank of England. Although many places in England will accept notes issued by Scottish banks as a means of payment, there is absolutely no legal obligation for them to do so.

08-07-2012, 06:12 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gx-a5rYIAOM

08-07-2012, 08:25 AM
Does anyone else notice that chicken noise Andy makes when he serves? Anyway, Come on Murray!

08-07-2012, 11:03 AM
how touchy are some folk on here, so Scouse hibee doesnt want murray to win so what? how many scots can honestly say they wanted henman to ever win??

this whole brittish when he is winning thing is a load of nonsense, i would love to see a list of articles that refer to him as brittish right up until he loses then says he is scottish..... and if anyone wants to actually look this up to prove a point why not do the same with an english sports person i.e jenson button, i bet hes had been refered to as english and brittish in the press win or lose, just seems us scots activley look for ways to keep the whole anti scots agenda going.

i like a bit of banter as much as the next person and will hapily say to any english person i work with/know ill support ABE just as much as they would support ABS its all banter in most eyes.

Any way C'mon Andy would love him to win.............and I also cheered for Marrey in the doubles final despite being english, and on a side note I have only read how this was the first brittish doubles winner since 1930 odd that damn english media :wink:

08-07-2012, 11:13 AM
how touchy are some folk on here, so Scouse hibee doesnt want murray to win so what? how many scots can honestly say they wanted henman to ever win??

this whole brittish when he is winning thing is a load of nonsense, i would love to see a list of articles that refer to him as brittish right up until he loses then says he is scottish..... and if anyone wants to actually look this up to prove a point why not do the same with an english sports person i.e jenson button, i bet hes had been refered to as english and brittish in the press win or lose, just seems us scots activley look for ways to keep the whole anti scots agenda going.

i like a bit of banter as much as the next person and will hapily say to any english person i work with/know ill support ABE just as much as they would support ABS its all banter in most eyes.

Any way C'mon Andy would love him to win.............and I also cheered for Marrey in the doubles final despite being english, and on a side note I have only read how this was the first brittish doubles winner since 1930 odd that damn english media :wink:

08-07-2012, 11:54 AM
I wanted Henman to win...

08-07-2012, 11:58 AM

Is it any wonder? I'm surprised it took so long for those sentiments to prevail.

It used to be that the English supported Scottish teams, but given that the Scots have been openly anti-English for decades, why would they?

Also, the high profile of the Independence debate further detracts from the relationship.

It's a shame really.

08-07-2012, 12:24 PM
Is it any wonder? I'm surprised it took so long for those sentiments to prevail.

It used to be that the English supported Scottish teams, but given that the Scots have been openly anti-English for decades, why would they?

Also, the high profile of the Independence debate further detracts from the relationship.

It's a shame really.

Where I come from most still do!

08-07-2012, 12:45 PM
According to Sue Barker the first minister of Scotland is Sir Alex Ferguson!

08-07-2012, 12:58 PM

I can honestly say i wanted Henman to win every time he got to the semi, its the same with the olympics. I will want each and every sportman and woman to win medals, hopefully gold ones irrespective if they are English Welsh or Scots.

I dont want England to win the toss, never mind any game of football, purely because of rivalry, just the same as i dont want Hearts to win too.

08-07-2012, 02:24 PM
I can honestly say i wanted Henman to win every time he got to the semi, its the same with the olympics. I will want each and every sportman and woman to win medals, hopefully gold ones irrespective if they are English Welsh or Scots.

I dont want England to win the toss, never mind any game of football, purely because of rivalry, just the same as i dont want Hearts to win too.

agreed. im no english hater. some of the nicest folk ive met aborad are the english . not keen on footy team or the razzmatazz thats blinds them to their own ability but I cheered on marrey last night . banter is just banter

COME ON ANDY .