View Full Version : Grangemouth stadium (Rapid Bucharest game) GAME OFF !!

jordanhibs1
03-07-2012, 08:11 PM
hi guys,

This is the first thread I have ever posted but I was just wondering if anyone knew which train station would be best for the rapid Bucharest game at Grangemouth stadium, I found a site saying that polmont station was best but wanted to know if this was right and if it is walking distance from the stadium ?

03-07-2012, 08:14 PM
hi guys,

This is the first thread I have ever posted but I was just wondering if anyone knew which train station would be best for the rapid Bucharest game at Grangemouth stadium, I found a site saying that polmont station was best but wanted to know if this was right and if it is walking distance from the stadium ?

Polmont is nearest station, roughly 1.5 miles to walk to stadium....

jordanhibs1
03-07-2012, 08:15 PM
thanks, much appreciated. :flag:

03-07-2012, 08:17 PM
Game is all ticket too so don't forget to get one :-)

jordanhibs1
03-07-2012, 08:19 PM
yeh just saw this on website thanks.

glenberviehibee
03-07-2012, 08:24 PM
hi guys,

Polmont Station nearest. walk down hill until you come into polmont centre , cross road go right at mini roundabout first left at kirk wynd and walk straight down past the Inchyra grange hotel .The stadium is at the Polmont end of grangemouth should take betwen 30 and 40 minutes

03-07-2012, 08:32 PM
You can jump on a bus from Falkirk town centre, where Falkirk Grahamston is.

03-07-2012, 08:34 PM
Definitely Polmont but I would recommend getting a taxi from there as it would be some trek on foot.

Would take under 5 minutes by taxi.

jordanhibs1
03-07-2012, 08:37 PM
thanks for the help everyone :) GGTTH

Twiglet
03-07-2012, 08:45 PM
Can I hijack and ask how easy it would be to park around there? Planning on going, but would prefer to drive than get the train.

03-07-2012, 08:48 PM
Can I hijack and ask how easy it would be to park around there? Planning on going, but would prefer to drive than get the train.

There is a car park right next to the stadium but I would advise you to get there early if you plan on using it as it's not the biggest.

I would imagine that the streets in the immediate surroundings will be coned off on the night.

Rodsterino
03-07-2012, 08:48 PM
Fiver in a taxi, there's usually 2 or 3 sitting there. If your driving come off the M9 at Jct 5 Grangemouth, 4th exit at the roundabout, 1st exit at next roundabout, left at lights..stadium is on right.

03-07-2012, 08:51 PM
Will there be a supporters bus going out there?

Rodsterino
03-07-2012, 08:52 PM
There's parking at front and rear of stadium, and an industrial estate just past it. parking shouldn't be a problem.

Rodsterino
03-07-2012, 08:55 PM
I'm just peeved I've got to go all the way to ER to get tickets but I live 5 mins from the stadium. :rolleyes:

03-07-2012, 09:45 PM
Polmont Station nearest. walk down hill until you come into polmont centre , cross road go right at mini roundabout first left at kirk wynd and walk straight down past the Inchyra grange hotel .The stadium is at the Polmont end of grangemouth should take betwen 30 and 40 minutes

i know its too late for this game, but when hibs play there get off polmont station. you get a bus down hill to grangemouth stadium on the hour or half past from polmont station bus stop. its a h4, h4a , or a h3 all go to stadium. fare 1.70.

04-07-2012, 12:00 PM
i know its too late for this game, but when hibs play there get off polmont station. you get a bus down hill to grangemouth stadium on the hour or half past from polmont station bus stop. its a h4, h4a , or a h3 all go to stadium. fare 1.70.

You've confused me :confused:.

04-07-2012, 12:53 PM
You've confused me :confused:.

You've got to make allowances for someone who comes from Bo'ness! :greengrin

As it happens, it confused me too!

04-07-2012, 01:08 PM
I'm just peeved I've got to go all the way to ER to get tickets but I live 5 mins from the stadium. :rolleyes:

You have a PM.

FastEddieFelson
04-07-2012, 01:23 PM
this has obviously been asked before, but why grangemouth?

04-07-2012, 01:53 PM

Just bought my tickets today and it says that Rapid are the home team?
They are playing Killie this weekend and Hibs next week as part of their pre Europa Cup game.

aazza91
04-07-2012, 06:27 PM
http://www.greenocktelegraph.co.uk/sport/football/articles/2012/07/04/431495-ton-lose-out-in-bounce-match/

Just noticed online they played today in a bounce match at Grangemouth if anyone wanted to know how they done. Rapid won 5-2.

Young Scott Taggart who used to play with us played for Morton in the game.

04-07-2012, 07:20 PM
You've got to make allowances for someone who comes from Bo'ness! :greengrin

As it happens, it confused me too!

too late for this game meaning the game played yesterday. ill not mention what i heard about people from falkirk

04-07-2012, 07:40 PM
Just bought my tickets today and it says that Rapid are the home team?
They are playing Killie this weekend and Hibs next week as part of their pre Europa Cup game.

Rapid playing Motherwell at Grangemouth too.........

04-07-2012, 07:41 PM
Rapid playing Motherwell at Grangemouth too.........

Rapid must have got a deal from the Inchyra Grange Hotel
Are you going next week

04-07-2012, 07:48 PM
Rapid must have got a deal from the Inchyra Grange Hotel
Are you going next week

Yes heading through Billy....

Rodsterino
04-07-2012, 08:36 PM
too late for this game meaning the game played yesterday. ill not mention what i heard about people from falkirk

The game is this wednesday coming, 11th July.

Rod...in Falkirk.

04-07-2012, 09:16 PM
Rapid also playing stenhousemuir at Grangemouth this week

04-07-2012, 10:39 PM

I'm even more lost now than I was before!

Our game at Grangemouth isn't until next Wednesday!

05-07-2012, 01:20 AM
£10 for a training ground match? no wonder i saw sense and stopped going to preseason games long ago, money is well spent elsewhere

05-07-2012, 06:02 AM

Oi you!! What's wrong with Grangemouth?? Mrs Pitlochry Hibee hails from there. OK, I've just answered my own question :wink: (just as well she doesn't read hibs.net)

05-07-2012, 07:17 PM

What was the score?:confused:

07-07-2012, 10:44 AM
Game that was due to be played between Livingston and Rapid Bucharest at Grangemouth today has been called off for obvious reasons.

07-07-2012, 10:49 AM
Game that was due to be played between Livingston and Rapid Bucharest at Grangemouth today has been called off for obvious reasons.

A wee drop water, FFS these Eastern European teams are wimps......:greengrin

Baba O'riley
07-07-2012, 12:38 PM
Just been round to Easter Road to buy my ticket - although I did ask for a ticket for the Rapid Vienna game! :eejit: :agree:
Miserable out there, I'm not surprised the Livi game has been cancelled. Hope it clears up by Wednesday...

dchibs
07-07-2012, 12:54 PM

I thought i read that there was a stand that you could pay at the gate, First come First serve.

07-07-2012, 01:05 PM
I thought i read that there was a stand that you could pay at the gate, First come First serve.

3,500 capacity. Stands hold 1,200.

All ticket match, but first come basis for the stand, although you must have a ticket for entrance to ground.....

big-mo
09-07-2012, 02:39 PM
Wednesday nights game at Grangemouth against Rapid Bucharest may be in doubt unless summer finally arrives. Rapid's Saturday game against Livi was cancelled and now tonight's game against Motherwell has also been called off.

09-07-2012, 02:48 PM
Was thinking this too big-mo pitch will be toiling as I assume its grass and with rain expected tomorrow and Wednesday a closed doors game at east mains is the likely outcome

09-07-2012, 03:40 PM
Was thinking this too big-mo pitch will be toiling as I assume its grass and with rain expected tomorrow and Wednesday a closed doors game at east mains is the likely outcome

St Johnstone played on the pitch at Grangemouth at the weekend against some european team.

IFONLY
10-07-2012, 09:23 AM
Does anyone think this game will go ahead. Their game against Motherwell was called off last night.

10-07-2012, 09:26 AM
Nope - heavy rainfall later/overnight and tomorrow am will kill it IMHO.

10-07-2012, 09:54 AM
Was planning to get tickets today, might just hold off...

10-07-2012, 10:01 AM
I'm planning on getting ticjets this afternoon so hopefully the game's fine.

10-07-2012, 10:02 AM
No choice but to hold off with these s****y new opening times. If its on i'll just chance it for PATG...

10-07-2012, 10:16 AM
I tweeted the official hibs account last night to ask when will it be decided if the game is on or off, I await reply

10-07-2012, 10:20 AM
No choice but to hold off with these s****y new opening times. If its on i'll just chance it for PATG...
All ticket to my knowledge mate.

10-07-2012, 10:28 AM
Nope - heavy rainfall later/overnight and tomorrow am will kill it IMHO.

Will be gutted if the game is off as I was going to wear my new Hibs top and Hibs socks. Not putting my Hibs shorts on though as that would just look stupid.........:devil:

10-07-2012, 10:29 AM
This game must be in some doubt but both teams will be keen for this to go ahead?
Why not play at East Mains/ER instead?

10-07-2012, 10:32 AM
Summer Fitba. It has to happen.

10-07-2012, 10:32 AM
This game must be in some doubt but both teams will be keen for this to go ahead?
Why not play at East Mains/ER instead?

I would imagine that if it is called off then it will be a closed door game at EM

wearethehibs
10-07-2012, 10:57 AM
Pitch incpection today. Hopefully it goes ahead, ive changed my usual Wednesday "date night" the GF wasn't happy lol

10-07-2012, 11:04 AM
Will be gutted if the game is off as I was going to wear my new Hibs top and Hibs socks. Not putting my Hibs shorts on though as that would just look stupid.........:devil:

I take it you will be wearing something on yur bottom half instead of shorts..,, you'd look even dafter without yur shorts. 😱

10-07-2012, 12:56 PM

I think the only Hibs games I can recall getting called off or that should have been have been in the summer.

Rodsterino
10-07-2012, 01:25 PM
The rain has pretty much held off here (Falkirk/G'Mouth) today, minor showers. The forecast is for heavy rain from tea time and all through the night. Looking likely to be cancelled unless they're wrong.

10-07-2012, 02:05 PM

Why are our summers so bad!?!

10-07-2012, 02:25 PM

Why are our summers so bad!?!
Due to us greeting our eyes oot after a certain day in may!!!!!!
Slight hijack,,,i heard that a hibs 11 beat morton 5-1 on saturday
anybody got any info???
Bt

10-07-2012, 02:28 PM
On the bus down atm. A bunch of annoying weegie woman singing for 3 hours is gona be hell. It better be worth it, please be on!

10-07-2012, 03:28 PM
Given the forecast for Central Scotland \ Lothians for wednesday I would imagine this game is in serious doubt.

Deek01
10-07-2012, 03:50 PM
That's the rain started in Grangemouth now.

10-07-2012, 07:13 PM
You do all realize what colour Rapid play in?

If not, I think you should take a look at this (http://hainute.files.wordpress.com/2008/07/rapid1.jpg) before deciding to go to the game.

On the other hand, some of their fans (http://rapid.tipseri.com/rapid_giulesti_ba1ea19.jpg) are pretty OK :greengrin

10-07-2012, 07:16 PM

Might get a game :-)

10-07-2012, 08:34 PM
You do all realize what colour Rapid play in?

If not, I think you should take a look at this (http://hainute.files.wordpress.com/2008/07/rapid1.jpg) before deciding to go to the game.

On the other hand, some of their fans (http://rapid.tipseri.com/rapid_giulesti_ba1ea19.jpg) are pretty OK :greengrin

Hmmmmm, if she's going I would be tempted.

Would look much better in a dark bottle green shirt though.......

10-07-2012, 08:47 PM
Anybody heard if the pitch passed its inspection tonight?

Been reliably informed that if the game is off we are playing East Fife on Saturday.

10-07-2012, 08:53 PM
Hmmmmm, if she's going I would be tempted.

Would look much better in a dark bottle green shirt though.......

I'd go as far to say she'd look a damn sight better out of her shirt, dark bottle green or not :greengrin

Back to the real world, does anyone know of what sort of time the powers that be will likely be carrying out a pitch inspection tomorrow? Presumably mid afternoon at the latest so we can now for sure before making plans for setting off etc?

10-07-2012, 09:03 PM
Anybody heard if the pitch passed its inspection tonight?

Been reliably informed that if the game is off we are playing East Fife on Saturday.

**** hope the game goes ahead the morn nite. It's ma youngest girls 3rd birthday party on Sat and family and friends coming round. I live 10 minute walk frae Stadium. Grrrrrr

jordanhibs1
10-07-2012, 09:32 PM
went in to get my tickets at around 4:30 today , i realised that i had numbers 159 160 and 161 hopefully we have sold more than this and hopefully the game is on!

Rodsterino
10-07-2012, 09:35 PM
Still no heavy rain in the area..clouds look ominous though.

King Paddy
10-07-2012, 10:07 PM
Can somebody tell me why we are playing this game at the Grangemouth stadium and not ER?

10-07-2012, 10:10 PM
Can somebody tell me why we are playing this game at the Grangemouth stadium and not ER?

It's all part of Rod's plan to take Hibs on the road and pick up new fans to swell the coffers, the next game will be at Murray park apparently!

Aubenas
10-07-2012, 10:14 PM

Rapid are here on a training camp ( as Barca were a few years ago); They will have a package deal (possibly with the Inchyra Grange Hotel) The agent will have fixed up games for them and chosen GRangemouth as convenient. Most clubs don't want their own park played on too soon in the close season to give it chance to repair/grow. Livvi and Motherwell were also playing them at Grangemouth. It's, in effect, Rapid's 'home' game - it's why we played Barca at Murrayfield.

archiebald
10-07-2012, 11:05 PM
Was the game on ?

10-07-2012, 11:15 PM
Was the game on ?

On at present, nothing official telling us otherwise....Hoping tomorrow is dry....

11-07-2012, 05:46 AM
For those that know Grangemouth will know that it is built on the flat ground of the Forth estuary. When the houses were built at Bowhouse (near the stadium) the tenants had problems with their doors sticking, the Council would send joiners to sort the problem and they would find the doors were fine, bit still shave a bit of the bottom. Next day, the door was sticking again, joiners would gofind them fine, shave a bit. This went on for weeks until there were big gaps at the bottom of the doors. SOmebody with two brain cells worked out that the doors were sticking when the tide was in!!

That is a true story.

11-07-2012, 06:07 AM

Did you see our home record last year :greengrin

Rodsterino
11-07-2012, 08:19 AM
Just phoned the stadium. pitch inspection around 10am. doesn't look good, rained all night.

11-07-2012, 08:27 AM
Just phoned the stadium. pitch inspection around 10am. doesn't look good, rained all night.

Cheers for the update.

Deek01
11-07-2012, 09:01 AM
Pouring in grangemouth all morning, no chance of this going ahead.

11-07-2012, 09:52 AM
I don't mind if it's on or off, so long as it's not called off late in the day.

11-07-2012, 09:56 AM

No sign of a decision yet, bloody typical.

woodyhfc4892
11-07-2012, 09:58 AM
James mcpake just tweeted saying, game off in preseason and stuff about the training pitches being flooded..

11-07-2012, 10:01 AM
Need to know ASAP as if I am going I need to get tickets between 12-1pm.

C'mon Hibs.

andrew70
@JamesMcPake: Game off in pre season! Training pitches like puddles! Only in Scotland! And there's a campaign for summer football!! 💦💦💦

big-mo
I have just heard that tonight's game is off, warthogs on pitch.

andrew70
11-07-2012, 10:03 AM
@HibernianFCClub: BREAKING NEWS: Hibernian can confirm this evening's scheduled friendly fixture against Rapid Bucharest has been cancelled

11-07-2012, 10:06 AM
@HibernianFCClub: BREAKING NEWS: Hibernian can confirm this evening's scheduled friendly fixture against Rapid Bucharest has been cancelled

Hardly a surprise - been relentless for hours out here.

11-07-2012, 10:08 AM
What a waste of a £14 bus journey. :( Cinema it is then.....

tooley
11-07-2012, 10:10 AM
Tonights game has been cancelled

Twiglet
11-07-2012, 10:13 AM
Good thing the club's going overseas for part of pre-season. If they'd stayed here the whole time they'd be lucky to get a match the way the weather is round here!

11-07-2012, 10:23 AM
Oh well looks like I'll just have to go to training now.

If the rumour about East Fife at the weekend is true might head over to the metropolis of Methil for that.

11-07-2012, 10:59 AM
Oh well looks like I'll just have to go to training now.

If the rumour about East Fife at the weekend is true might head over to the metropolis of Methil for that.

East fife are playing Preston (EoS) this Sat at Bayveiw.

11-07-2012, 11:10 AM
That's a shame was looking forward to the first friendly of the season. Ah well head up, get my money back and spend it on Guinness instead.

Hibstrooper
11-07-2012, 11:43 AM
Does anyone have an email address for the ticket office. Already spent one Saturday afternoon to make a 50 mile round trip to get tickets, don't appreciate being forced to make another one just to get my money back.

Why have they put a 2 week time limit on refunds anyway? Why not extend it to the Huddersfield game when people will be down at the stadium, do the club not realise that we don't all live in Leith!

11-07-2012, 11:58 AM

Indeed, and the need for it has got little to do with the weather.

mcvie7
11-07-2012, 12:18 PM
Does anyone have an email address for the ticket office. Already spent one Saturday afternoon to make a 50 mile round trip to get tickets, don't appreciate being forced to make another one just to get my money back.

Why have they put a 2 week time limit on refunds anyway? Why not extend it to the Huddersfield game when people will be down at the stadium, do the club not realise that we don't all live in Leith!

Just had this conversation with guy on the phone at the Hibs shop. I stay in Dunfermline and didn't fancy traveling back through to get a refund. I asked just put it onto the Huddersfield game? This was not possible. I have to post tickets back with a telephone number so they can call me to refund it back to my card.

Hibstrooper
11-07-2012, 01:12 PM
Just had this conversation with guy on the phone at the Hibs shop. I stay in Dunfermline and didn't fancy traveling back through to get a refund. I asked just put it onto the Huddersfield game? This was not possible. I have to post tickets back with a telephone number so they can call me to refund it back to my card.

Thanks for this. Did you pay by card? I paid cash so not sure if they would be able to refund a card I didn't use?

mcvie7
11-07-2012, 01:24 PM
Thanks for this. Did you pay by card? I paid cash so not sure if they would be able to refund a card I didn't use?

I paid by card in the club shop

11-07-2012, 02:56 PM
SYNTHETIC PITCHES NOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:flag:

11-07-2012, 03:04 PM
This proves why Scotland must switch to Summer football to avoid this sort of fiasco!

11-07-2012, 03:51 PM
This proves why Scotland must switch to Summer football to avoid this sort of fiasco!

11-07-2012, 03:54 PM

:whistle:

11-07-2012, 05:26 PM
I would imagine this game would be played tonight at east mains behind closed doors in order to get both teams a game ? or is that 2 simple ?

just_joe
11-07-2012, 05:28 PM
Why couldn,t they just play at ER in the first place?

11-07-2012, 05:38 PM
Why couldn,t they just play at ER in the first place?

I imagine the costs involved were Larger and that the oppositions base is out that way

11-07-2012, 05:50 PM
game is off, warthogs on pitch.

Now, I know big-mo's info is usually absolutely bang on, but surely this isn't right?

11-07-2012, 05:54 PM
Now, I know big-mo's info is usually absolutely bang on, but surely this isn't right?

I was personally really hoping it wasn't an auto-correct cock up, and there were genuinely feral warthogs rampaging around Grangemouth. Would be for the best if they stayed away from the refinery mind you.

11-07-2012, 05:54 PM

Nah mate His info is bang on big ones too i hear :greengrin

11-07-2012, 06:28 PM

Haha nice try. ;)

11-07-2012, 06:40 PM

Post your tickets to someone on here who lives close to ER and then meet up with them at the Huddersfield game to collect your cash!

11-07-2012, 06:46 PM
I was in the shop today anyway and retuned my tickets. As I paid cash for my tickets I have to wait on Hibs raising a cheque and sending it back to me.
Bit of a long winded and costly way for the club to give a refund