View Full Version : Paul Cairney signs 2 year deal with Hibs

02-07-2012, 08:31 AM
Officially confirmed.

AldoHFC
02-07-2012, 08:31 AM
Hibs twitter have just announced that Paul Cairney has signed on a two year deal! :thumbsup:

02-07-2012, 08:33 AM
Wow! That came out of nowhere!:greengrin

Welcome Paul :flag:

02-07-2012, 08:36 AM
We are slowly getting there :thumbsup:

02-07-2012, 08:40 AM
Good stuff, now we are venturing into the unknowns...

02-07-2012, 08:43 AM
Nice one.

02-07-2012, 08:46 AM
Great news, good to see a new team beginning to emerge.

More of the same please Pat:greengrin

02-07-2012, 08:58 AM
Good stuff, now we are venturing into the unknowns...

Much more exciting :thumbsup:

Well come PC!

02-07-2012, 08:58 AM
Welcome to the club.

Im pleased with this signing, so many other SPL clubs seem to do well picking up players from the lower division which is something we dont do enough imo.

02-07-2012, 09:10 AM
Midfielder that can score goals.

What is this all about then?

02-07-2012, 09:18 AM
Happy days!

Anyone else think we might split the Old Firm this season? :wink:

scott7_0(Prague)
02-07-2012, 09:22 AM
Midfielder that can score goals.

What is this all about then?

A mid-fielder that used to score goals until he signed for Hibs.... :greengrin

wearethehibs
02-07-2012, 09:26 AM
Welcome to the Hibees

02-07-2012, 09:28 AM
:flag: Welcome To Hibs paul.... :flag:

Walter
02-07-2012, 09:33 AM
If it's true that he's like Pat McGinley, my all-time favourite player, then that is great

02-07-2012, 09:38 AM
The new Pat McGinlay?

Let's not heap too much pressure on the boy. Remember Ivan Sproule on a motorbike.

If Paul Cairney achieves even half the level that McGinaly did during his two spells at Hibs, he'll have done very well.

02-07-2012, 09:44 AM
welcome to ER paul :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:,,,if your the new pat mcginley,whos the brian hamilton thats gonna do all yon unseen work :wink::wink::wink:
3 down,,,many more to come please...:flag::flag:
bt

02-07-2012, 09:56 AM
Excellent, exactly the type of signing we should be making but haven't done for a number of years now.

Welcome aboard Paul!

Leishy1995
02-07-2012, 10:19 AM
Is the tache on drugs?

02-07-2012, 10:21 AM
Is the tache on drugs?

Supposedly takes an anti-depressant every time he opens his wallet. Aside from that I can't say.

Delighted with this signing. Like many others I have bemoaned the fact that hibs have been behind the likes of Dundee Utd in finding players on our own doorstep. We know that Pat has taken in a lot of first division games - having unsuccessfully played 'guess the signing target' on here every time he was spotted at one. Cairney will have been well watched.

Pat knows what he wants and so far, it seems, he is being backed by the club in getting it.

02-07-2012, 10:30 AM
Happy days!

Anyone else think we might split the Old Firm this season? :wink:

Its funny cos its true

Leishy1995
02-07-2012, 10:32 AM
Supposedly takes an anti-depressant every time he opens his wallet. Aside from that I can't say.

To be fair, he hasn't actually paid for anyone yet. But is bringing in players the fans collectively want too see. Next stop, balotelli.

02-07-2012, 10:34 AM
Welcome to the club, lets hope we as fans remember he's fairly young and give him enough time to develop into the good player we hope he becomes, all to often we pressurize these young lads and expect too much too soon.

02-07-2012, 10:34 AM
Welcome to the family Paul. :thumbsup:

Keep going Hibernian :agree:

02-07-2012, 11:20 AM
Great news. But we need more of this to get us higher up the table where we should be.

02-07-2012, 11:47 AM
http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20120701/cairney-joins-hibernian_2262950_2828753

There's the link. No explicit mention of the world-class training centre, so I can't see him lasting long. Petrie will be sharpening the stake as we speak.

02-07-2012, 12:15 PM
Welcome Paul! :thumbsup:

02-07-2012, 12:21 PM
http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20120701/cairney-joins-hibernian_2262950_2828753

There's the link. No explicit mention of the world-class training centre, so I can't see him lasting long. Petrie will be sharpening the stake as we speak.

02-07-2012, 12:22 PM
A mid-fielder that used to score goals until he signed for Hibs.... :greengrin

02-07-2012, 12:42 PM
Moving in the right direction Pat/Rod keep them coming the exitement is building!!!

:flag::flag::pfgwa:flag::flag:

02-07-2012, 12:45 PM

Can I be the first to boo the short ersed weegie wage thief?!

Booooo!!

02-07-2012, 12:57 PM
The guy has been misquoted already -

The former Partick Thistle player on signing for Hibs actually said,

" Signin for the Hibees is pure quality man - by the way, .... know whit i mean, an' that, ?
Ah'm pure totally gonna ge' it laldy when i get a gemme and get right intae them.

An' awwwwwwwwwwwwwwww - Have yeez pure seen the size o' that training centre. Hibs are pure totally huge, man.

Glory Glory ............ an that

is that okay............... wull that dae ye Jimmy - ah mean Mr Tache?"

02-07-2012, 01:54 PM
Welcome Paul! :thumbsup:

Also, that kit just looks better evey time I see it :aok:

Hibiza
02-07-2012, 02:01 PM
Welcome Paul. :flag:

02-07-2012, 02:09 PM
Welcome Paul, I'll neither build you up or knock you down, just simply give you my support when you turn out for Hibs and make my judgements on what I see on the park. The same goes for everyone else we sign no matter who they are, reputations, previous teams etc will have no bearing on my judgement of them being a decent signing, I will simply wait until they play.

DAVE1875
02-07-2012, 02:28 PM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ztd84cmGPDg

mon the cabbage
02-07-2012, 02:38 PM

Just watched it before you posted it!

Great penalty, silky lob and good movement. Getting on the referees back aswelll, Maybe the man to wind up other teams and players.

The new Leigh Griffiths

02-07-2012, 02:49 PM
Welcome aboard Paul, hopefully you have the talent to succeed.

Niffy
02-07-2012, 02:59 PM
If it's true that he's like Pat McGinley, my all-time favourite player, then that is great

You couldnae have liked Pat that much if you can't spell his name.

02-07-2012, 03:01 PM
welcome, a good positive signing. dont stop here.

02-07-2012, 03:06 PM

Excellent! Who was left footed fair hair guy in mid for PT? he looked a player. Was that our fav ref in charge?

dchibs
02-07-2012, 04:27 PM
[QUOTE=AberGreen;3282340]Happy days!

Anyone else think we might split the Old Firm this season? :wink:[/QUOi
I have bet my morgage on it, Welcome Paul

02-07-2012, 04:30 PM
Never seen him play and never heard of him before he was linked with us. However, sometimes that's better than having a player with a big pedigree signing with us as there's no pressure on him.

One thing I will say is, he SURELY cannot be any worse than the dross we've been watching over the past couple of years!

02-07-2012, 05:22 PM
I also know nothing of his ability but look forward to seeing what he can add. Welcome to Hibs, Paul :flag:

02-07-2012, 06:12 PM
Good luck Paul.

Just remember .... the harder you train and the fitter you get the luckier you will be.

Niffy
02-07-2012, 06:43 PM
[QUOTE=AberGreen;3282340]Happy days!

Anyone else think we might split the Old Firm this season? :wink:[/QUOi
I have bet my morgage on it, Welcome Paul

Who'd have thought that the answer to "who might split the old firm this season" would be EVERYONE.

guffaawwwww

02-07-2012, 06:52 PM
A good solid signing.

More of the same please.

hibby67
02-07-2012, 07:16 PM
Welcome to the hibess Paul
Enjoy the rollercoaster

Littlest Hobo
02-07-2012, 09:47 PM
Welcome to the family, like most families we are a little disjointed at the minute but we all get together on occasion and we can be quite noisy after a few beers.

Your mission = Destroy the Hearts

02-07-2012, 11:39 PM
He looks like a miniature John Hartson to me, with a bit more hair :D

03-07-2012, 12:07 AM
:thumbsup: - Liking the look of him - a goal scoring threat from midfield has been long awaited. I like his background too - from Queens Park to Thistle to hibs - good progression making it clear he's being totally earnest in saying he's delighted to be here. I'm sure he'll work his socks off to make the most of the oportunity and prove he can cut it at SPL level.

A signing with heaps of potential - Welcome to the hibees Paul! :thumbsup:

04-07-2012, 08:43 AM
Got a bit more info from Jags fan this morning.

He's not that quick, a bit of skill but won't really skin people or go flying up any wings.

His game seems to be more about being quite clever in terms of being in the right place at the right time and making good runs into the box.

The one thing he said that stood out about him was his desire to get involved and win. He is always looking for the ball, always getting in about the play and even when he is having a nightmare he doesn't hide. Sounds like the right type of character anyway, but also someone that we will have to accept will not have a great game every week!

04-07-2012, 08:46 AM
Got a bit more info from Jags fan this morning.

He's not that quick, a bit of skill but won't really skin people or go flying up any wings.

His game seems to be more about being quite clever in terms of being in the right place at the right time and making good runs into the box.

The one thing he said that stood out about him was his desire to get involved and win. He is always looking for the ball, always getting in about the play and even when he is having a nightmare he doesn't hide. Sounds like the right type of character anyway, but also someone that we will have to accept will not have a great game every week!

Thanks fur that Andy... Hopefully he can get that consistency and tbh we need a MF that can reach double figures in terms of goals. Not expecting too much but looking toward to his desire to win.

04-07-2012, 11:15 AM
http://sport.stv.tv/blog/109268-why-paul-cairney-could-become-a-real-fans-favourite-with-hibernian/?utm_source=dlvr.it&utm_medium=twitter