View Full Version : BBC vs ITV for tonight

01-07-2012, 05:00 PM
We have the choice between the 2 cooncil telly channels for tonight's game. Which one will be getting your viewing figure?

For me, despite appalling miscreansce that is Mark Lawrenson, I'll be going with BBC. Far better foreign pundits, no Clive Tyldesly, no Andy Townsend and - the clincher - no Adrian ****ing Chiles.

01-07-2012, 05:04 PM
Just press the red button on the BBC channel and put 5 live on. Problem solved.

Hibspirational
01-07-2012, 05:05 PM
We have the choice between the 2 cooncil telly channels for tonight's game. Which one will be getting your viewing figure?

For me, despite appalling miscreansce that is Mark Lawrenson, I'll be going with BBC. Far better foreign pundits, no Clive Tyldesly, no Andy Townsend and - the clincher - no Adrian ****ing Chiles.

Mark Lawrenson on BBC = I'll be watching ITV!

BBC for me. Dunno why they just seem to do the big occassion better :confused:

Any programme that Alan Hansen or Mark Lawrensen appear on I will avoid like the plague unless completely necessary to watch it. Cant stand they two pricks.

01-07-2012, 05:06 PM
BBC1 HD for me. Cant be bothered much with greetin face Lawrenson but theres no annoying advert breaks on the BBC :aok:

01-07-2012, 05:07 PM
the clincher - no Adrian ****ing Chiles.

Totally agree - you would never tire of hitting the fud. :take that

01-07-2012, 05:08 PM
Why didn't ITV have either semi final on live? Anyone know?

wearethehibs
01-07-2012, 05:09 PM
Why would anyone watch a channel with adverts over a channel with no adverts? Bbc for me.

At The Edge
01-07-2012, 05:20 PM
BBC for me, ITV 'pundits' blow big time both before and during. Townsend is an even bigger pie patch than Lawrenson.
plus no adverts on the Beeb.

01-07-2012, 05:23 PM
BBC for me, ITV 'pundits' blow big time both before and during. Townsend is an even bigger pie patch than Lawrenson.
plus no adverts on the Beeb.

No ads and no Clive Tyldesley - has to be BBC despite the misery that is Lawrenson

01-07-2012, 05:27 PM
BBC. I refuse to listen to those toads Townsend and Tyldesley.

BBC and the red button - no conpetition.

I'll even put up with Hanson before Keane and Redknapp.

01-07-2012, 05:31 PM
I voted ITV by mistake! :brickwall

BBC is the obvious choice. Its the only way you can avoid any mention of 66!. :grr:

Nuitdelune
01-07-2012, 05:35 PM

Yes that is what to do

01-07-2012, 05:37 PM
BBC1 HD for me....better pundits plus no breaks

01-07-2012, 05:40 PM

BBC is the obvious choice. Its the only way you can avoid any mention of 66!. :grr:

I predict now that if Italy win, Tyldelsley will be the first to say it - if only England had won the penalty shoot out, they'd be European Champions 2012. :faf:

01-07-2012, 05:41 PM
Why didn't ITV have either semi final on live? Anyone know?

They thought England would get knocked out early so took two of their group games in exchange for BBC having later games (England q/f if they got there and both semis). They also had the first two Ireland games, which would have had quite high UK ratings.

Daily Mail article about this subject (http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-2073084/Euro-2012-England-TV-schedule-revealed-BBC-ITV.html?ito=feeds-newsxml)

01-07-2012, 06:01 PM
BBC , far too many ad breaks on ITV

01-07-2012, 06:01 PM
Italy 1 up before the game even starts, catchy national anthem :agree:

01-07-2012, 06:07 PM
Super Mario chatting to the fans ! :greengrin

Just_Jimmy
01-07-2012, 06:11 PM
Bbc. No adverts.

Thomson
01-07-2012, 06:13 PM
BBC HD for me as STV don't have an HD channel on sky.

01-07-2012, 06:14 PM
BBC for me as I don't have to watch stupid adverts but it only took that tube who is interviewing Martin Keown 5 minutes to mention england...un f*****g real!

goosefat
01-07-2012, 06:23 PM

...and suffer Alan Green? :no way:

I'd rather slam my fingers in the car door...and when they've healed up, do it again.

01-07-2012, 06:27 PM
BBC.

I feel sorry for Viali. One of the coolest, most intelligent men on the planet in a Shearer-Hansen sandwich.

01-07-2012, 06:31 PM

I'll be watching BBC to hear all the snide comments. Then I'll be back here with a full report.

jamieross
01-07-2012, 06:37 PM
BBC. Id rather be a hearts fan than choose to watch Chiles.

01-07-2012, 06:37 PM
Viali & Klinsman were superb as pundits during Thursdays semi, just showed how bad the guys we have to put up with every week are.

01-07-2012, 06:42 PM
BBC. Anyone but Chiles.

01-07-2012, 06:46 PM
Viali & Klinsman were superb as pundits during Thursdays semi, just showed how bad the guys we have to put up with every week are.

Was just saying that, the foreign guys have been far better :agree:

Littlest Hobo
01-07-2012, 06:58 PM
BBC. Anyone but Chiles.

01-07-2012, 07:00 PM
Lawrenson is annoying me tremendously already

Five Live option only works if you can put up with non HD TV

Good goal, c'mon Italia

VickMackie
01-07-2012, 07:01 PM
ITV

1. Lawrenson is a slavering ****.
2. Commentators who talk utter bs about things that you've just seen, even during the replay!

E.g. Nani in the Spain when he had 2/3 players around him. Ref blows for a free kick, Nani turns them all about a half second after and starts running.

The tits on the BBC are slating the ref for not playing advantage despite the whistle already being blown.

Lost count of the amount of **** they talked.

01-07-2012, 07:05 PM
STV for can't stand Lawrenson

01-07-2012, 07:10 PM
Switched CBBC commentary on for a moment, I think Lawrenson would be better suited to CBBC

01-07-2012, 07:11 PM
Townsend is a bit of a dick as well

Stevo1875
01-07-2012, 07:41 PM

me too... but half time with bbc!

01-07-2012, 07:44 PM

This :rolleyes: watching bbc but somehow managed to vote itv :doh:

01-07-2012, 08:03 PM
I like to think of myself as a bit of a liberal. But id stab Lawrensons eyes out with a blunt pencil and laugh while doing it.

booshsutton
01-07-2012, 08:10 PM

That's what I've done every game, much better than the regular BBC commentators. I really enjoy Green's commentary and like how they switch half way through each half. Vialli has been quality too, always been a fan, used to have a Chelsea top with Vialli 9 on the back that was my pride and joy!

I notice they have CBBC commentary too. Who's on that? Dick and Dom? :thumbsup:

01-07-2012, 08:54 PM
BBC HD for me as STV don't have an HD channel on sky.

Yes they do. You can manually tune it in. Same with itv1 too

01-07-2012, 09:36 PM
I like tyldsley ITV all the way

01-07-2012, 09:40 PM

For me, despite appalling miscreansce that is Mark Lawrenson, I'll be going with BBC. Far better foreign pundits, no Clive Tyldesly, no Andy Townsend and - the clincher - no Adrian ****ing Chiles.which ever one was on in the pub :cheers:

Couldnae hear the slaverin' ***** for the noise in the pub anyway :thumbsup:

Niffy
01-07-2012, 09:44 PM
Itv was 6 seconds behind BBC. Imagine that.

01-07-2012, 10:04 PM
Despite Lawrenson, I watched on BBC. No adverts and especially no Townsend or Tyldsley.

Rarely bother with the pundits and use half time for something more productive.

01-07-2012, 10:05 PM
Despite Lawrenson, I watched on BBC. No adverts and especially no Townsend or Tyldsley.

Rarely bother with the pundits and use half time for something more productive.

Ditto :agree:

01-07-2012, 11:44 PM
Itv was 6 seconds behind BBC. Imagine that.

Delays are common with digital TV.

I was watching Wimbledon last week and the scores were coming up on the on-line Slamtracker before the 'live' TV coverage.

02-07-2012, 12:38 AM
Yes they do. You can manually tune it in. Same with itv1 too

Gaun then, how do you do that.

jonny
02-07-2012, 12:47 AM

On sky go into the options menu, select “other channels‘ and press down. ITV 1 HD should be there.

deek
02-07-2012, 07:45 AM
To add ITV1 HD in STV or UTV regions you need to do this.

Press "Services" on the remote control (or from the Guide go to "Options" on the top menu).

Press the down arrow, and then scroll across to "Add Channels".

Press "Select" or the down arrow, to highlight the frequency.

Using the number pad on the remote, enter the following frequency: 10.832

Press the down arrow, and use the left or right arrow to change the Polarisation from V to H.

Check that the Symbol Rate is 22.0 and that the FEC is 5/6, and adjust if necessary.

Press the yellow button to Find Channels.

Once it has finished scanning, find & highlight one of the channels "ITV1 HD" (there should be two of them) and press the yellow button to store it, and then press Select to continue.

You can now view ITV HD by going to "Other Channels" within Services/Options (it's next to "Add Channels") & pressing Select to reveal channel ITV1 HD & then pressing Select again to view it.

02-07-2012, 11:20 AM
Lawrenson is a twat. Negative and with nae clue what so ever.

You can also hear him all the time making 'off mike' noises, often disparaging about players attempts or laughing, or groaning or whatever...he is the the Victor Meldrew of commentators but with a huge ego.

You seriously have to wonder how on earth he manages to hold down his job...I don't think I have ever read anyone ever liking him or his summarising.

02-07-2012, 11:59 AM
Totally agree - you would never tire of hitting the fud. :take that

This. The boozer was mobbed, so, you couldnae really hear what was being said which suited me fine.

da-robster
02-07-2012, 12:27 PM
Looks like our poll was accurate: BBC1 averaged 10 million while ITV only averaged 1.7 million. The peak figure (that is the moment in the match where most people were watching, which was just after half time) was 13.4 for the BBC and 2.2 for ITV meaning 49% of all people watching TV were doing so on the BBC and 8% were doing so on ITV.

I get the feeling that Chiles won't be doing the world cup in 2014 :greengrin

goosefat
02-07-2012, 12:49 PM
Lawrenson is a twat. Negative and with nae clue what so ever.

You can also hear him all the time making 'off mike' noises, often disparaging about players attempts or laughing, or groaning or whatever...he is the the Victor Meldrew of commentators but with a huge ego.

You seriously have to wonder how on earth he manages to hold down his job...I don't think I have ever read anyone ever liking him or his summarising.

Get him a season ticket at ER. He'll fit right in.

08-07-2012, 10:54 PM
Cheers Deek/Jonny,

Will give that a go.