View Full Version : Time to back the club now that it has done the decent thing

Pages : 1 [2]

15-07-2012, 03:45 PM
It's the duplicity of Rod Petrie I'm referring to

http://blogs.channel4.com/alex-thomsons-view/rangers-leaked-email/2305

Doesn't matter what role he was fulfilling at the time in my opinion - he's a fundamental part of running Hibernian Football Club

Unless of course Rod is seen, or sees himself, as the next Chief Executive of the SFA (or new body). Which I think he does (and others do too).

I was a supporter of Rod until two seasons ago when I thought he hid behind statements, many of which were economical with the truth, and when he steadfastly refused to accept real blame for Hibs' poor position and mismanagement. Regards the Rangers fiasco, I think he is being found out, and quelle suprise, silent. He only speaks when wanting something - more often than not, fans paying more money, due to his (and staffs) poor management.

Last three years the football has been poor, the discipline has been poor, the recruitment has been poor, the finances have been poor.

He should have stood down, or aside, after the Calderwood bungle.

Hibernian need a fresh approach, a new energy behind the scenes, and innovative and aggressive marketing. Rod, like the team, is stale. Both Hibs and Rod need a fresh challenge IMHO.

15-07-2012, 03:58 PM
It's the duplicity of Rod Petrie I'm referring to

http://blogs.channel4.com/alex-thomsons-view/rangers-leaked-email/2305

Doesn't matter what role he was fulfilling at the time in my opinion - he's a fundamental part of running Hibernian Football Club

And have Rangers benefitted from any of this alleged duplicity?

What has been leaked is an email in which the Chief executive asked if RP "could" brief CG so that there were "no surprises". Other posters have pointed out why RP was the man for this or, alternatively, could someone explain how Rangers have benefitted from RP's involvement?

It appears that we have all got the outcome we wanted but it still seems that Petrie is to blame.

15-07-2012, 04:20 PM
And have Rangers benefitted from any of this alleged duplicity?

What has been leaked is an email in which the Chief executive asked if RP "could" brief CG so that there were "no surprises". Other posters have pointed out why RP was the man for this or, alternatively, could someone explain how Rangers have benefitted from RP's involvement?

It appears that we have all got the outcome we wanted but it still seems that Petrie is to blame.There would have been nae need for any meetings and there would have been "nae surprises" for anybody if they'd all stuck tae the rules that were in place instead of scheming.

15-07-2012, 04:25 PM
There would have been nae need for any meetings and there would have been "nae surprises" for anybody if they'd all stuck tae the rules that were in place instead of scheming.

The problem is there aren't any hard and fast rules to cover insolvencies. It's just Scottish custom and practice that liquidated teams have to start again (Third Lanark, Clydebank, Airdrie, Gretna). That's why you have clubs voting on each proposal. If there were rules specifically covering what has happened then the only vote would have been amongst SFL clubs to determine who filled the SFL3 vacancy. If it hadn't been for the pressure by us fans (and this cackhanded scheme led by Regan to place them in SFL1) then they would have been voted into the SPL with some sanctions attached.

15-07-2012, 04:28 PM
There would have been nae need for any meetings and there would have been "nae surprises" for anybody if they'd all stuck tae the rules that were in place instead of scheming.

I'm with you all the way, but its clear to me, Doncaster and Regan have been hell bent on getting newco firstly into the SPL, then when that didnt work, into Div 1. Now i have no way of telling if Petrie has been behind their moves, but i can only go with the facts.

He's also been on the inside, perhaps using his influence to get the results we see today. As i say, i can only go with the facts as i see them at present, and i have not seen one piece of evidence that tells me Petrie has backed any of what those pair of clowns have said and tried to implement.

The position he's in with the SFA, gives him the platform to speak on this, i may be wrong but silence can sometimes be a good thing too, its not always a sign of guilt?

15-07-2012, 04:38 PM
They voted tae exclude sevco from the SPL but tried tae bully them in tae the 1st division, that's no quite the same thing.

I will be back and I will have a season ticket when and only when I see those fixtures published with them in the 3rd division and there is absolutely nae room for any further other underhand maneuvering. I wouldnae trust any of these ***** as far as I could throw a grand piano and that includes Petrie, I wouldnae believe them if they telt me it was Sunday today.

This is where I'm at.

I want Petrie to explain his actions in this debacle, and I want Doncaster and Regan removed from office. To me, they are just as much cheats as David Murray and co, just a little less competent and ambitious. I doubt their can be any faith in the footballing authorities until they've gone. And I say this because most people still believe that they are actively conspiring to circumvent the democratic vote and push the Huns further up the footballing structure, by any possible means.

15-07-2012, 04:45 PM
At the end of the day, we can't have a chairman at our club who is stuck in 2 minds about this fiasco. We need a chairman who is for the benefit of the club and the long term benefit of the game.

Theres currently no hard proof to tell us where RP stands when wearing his SFA hat. Although I would like to think that it doesn't differ from the Hibs one.

He has to have his own opinion and stick with his own opinion, regardless of what role he is playing in. He can't allow his work to influence his opinions and decisions.

He's made his stance quite clear (for the club) and I would hope that its a stance that he genuinely believes in and will stand by throughout all of this.

15-07-2012, 07:18 PM
I'm with you all the way, but its clear to me, Doncaster and Regan have been hell bent on getting newco firstly into the SPL, then when that didnt work, into Div 1. Now i have no way of telling if Petrie has been behind their moves, but i can only go with the facts.

He's also been on the inside, perhaps using his influence to get the results we see today. As i say, i can only go with the facts as i see them at present, and i have not seen one piece of evidence that tells me Petrie has backed any of what those pair of clowns have said and tried to implement.

The position he's in with the SFA, gives him the platform to speak on this, i may be wrong but silence can sometimes be a good thing too, its not always a sign of guilt?