McSwanky
13-06-2012, 09:44 PM
Shakespear's?

13-06-2012, 10:29 PM

13-06-2012, 11:20 PM
What was it formerly known as?Palmers (bar) ..

13-06-2012, 11:31 PM
How long ago was that hh? doesnae ring any bells.

13-06-2012, 11:35 PM
How long ago was that hh? doesnae ring any bells.Palmers rings a bell HH as Im sure I asked a former colleague its "former" name as he drank in there at the time ..that was a good few years ago though, perhaps over 15 years back ..:agree:

14-06-2012, 01:17 AM
Any idea if that's what it was called immediately before Shakespeare's?

14-06-2012, 01:24 AM
iirc, it was indeed called palmers 15-20 years ago

14-06-2012, 01:27 AM
Fair enough, cheers folks, cannae remember that at all!

14-06-2012, 06:26 AM
It was The Shakespeare back in the late 70s/early 80s.

14-06-2012, 08:06 AM
It was The Shakespeare back in the late 70s/early 80s.Ive asked former Draymen who delivered the beer to that establishment for years & the only two names any of them come up with are Palmers & Shakespeares ...

14-06-2012, 08:11 AM
Ive asked former Draymen who delivered the beer to that establishment for years & the only two names any of them come up with are Palmers & Shakespeares ...

Those are the only names I can remember. I think it changed to Palmers (all decorated in pastel shades) about 1983/84.

Twa Cairpets
14-06-2012, 08:47 AM
Those are the only names I can remember. I think it changed to Palmers (all decorated in pastel shades) about 1983/84.

It was a little later, and it was Shakespeares before Palmers before changing back again

14-06-2012, 09:02 AM
Cheers for the responses guys.

14-06-2012, 09:06 AM
It was a little later, and it was Shakespeares before Palmers before changing back again

I frequented the 'old' Shakespeare before I was totally legal and I sort of recall going to Palmers with a lassie from Haddington I went out with (we all make mistakes!) when I was 17/18 - though I could be getting her mixed up with someone else from Dechmont (we all make mistakes!).

14-06-2012, 09:20 AM
I frequented the 'old' Shakespeare before I was totally legal and I sort of recall going to Palmers with a lassie from Haddington I went out with (we all make mistakes!) when I was 17/18 - though I could be getting her mixed up with someone else from Dechmont (we all make mistakes!).

I'm sure when it changed to Palmers it was one of the first pubs in Edinburgh to have a "video jukebox" - I remember sitting there chilling out watching the likes of Spandau Ballet, Duran Duran and ABC....which fitted in well with these pastel shades alright....!

22-06-2012, 07:47 AM
Here ye go...looks like mid 1970s

http://www.flickr.com/photos/sixtiesedinburgh/6986496569/in/set-72157629230445366/lightbox/

22-06-2012, 07:49 AM
Here ye go...looks like mid 1970s

http://www.flickr.com/photos/sixtiesedinburgh/6986496569/in/set-72157629230445366/lightbox/Good pic ..love the traffic free road tae ..:aok:

22-06-2012, 11:27 AM
Meant to say i was in there last Friday night and the manager confirmed it was formerly known as Palmers, I still don't remember it though!