View Full Version : Olympic flame

12-06-2012, 08:57 AM
what time does it arrive in Edinburgh ?
anyone know the route its taken ?

12-06-2012, 03:56 PM
17.45 Wednesday Gorgie Rd end of Stenhouse Dr. Thence into the west end via Slateford and Colinton Rd/Bruntsfield.

Next day early start Lothian Rd through Lauriston Pl. Goes to Penicuik I believe but I'm finding it hard to stay awake.................:coffee:

12-06-2012, 05:25 PM
5 o clock in broxburn :greengrin

12-06-2012, 08:02 PM
Going by convoy from Broxburn to Chesser, missing out Corstorphine completely. Should have been taken by vehicle to the Maybury then on foot from there. Poor decision.

12-06-2012, 09:08 PM
Comes to Dalkeith aswell :cb

12-06-2012, 09:13 PM
In the Falkirk area around lunchtime tomorrow.

12-06-2012, 09:18 PM
Good luck to our very own Houchy who will be carrying it through deepest darkest Fife tomorrow :thumbsup:

12-06-2012, 09:47 PM
Good luck to our very own Houchy who will be carrying it through deepest darkest Fife tomorrow :thumbsup:

Seconded.

All the best Houchy. Great honour and well deserved.

12-06-2012, 10:09 PM
Good luck Houchy. :thumbsup:

12-06-2012, 10:15 PM

:agree: Well done mate, enjoy :thumbsup:

13-06-2012, 09:03 AM
I came home to fife this week and the flame is passing yards away from my flat in bruntsfield, typical. :greengrin:

13-06-2012, 10:01 AM
Already spoke to Lawrence yesterday, but indeed - best wishes today sir!

Was mightily impressed by the size of crowd which turned out to greet it as it passed through Dundee yesterday - I expected it to be a lot quieter!

We had a flyover from 4 Typhoons from Leuchars yesterday as it passed through the city. Quite a sight to see.

Well done to Dundee City Council - they put on a good event yesterday, complete with the party in Baxter Park afterwards (which featured a live show from Emelie Sandi)

13-06-2012, 12:31 PM
Already spoke to Lawrence yesterday, but indeed - best wishes today sir!

Was mightily impressed by the size of crowd which turned out to greet it as it passed through Dundee yesterday - I expected it to be a lot quieter!

We had a flyover from 4 Typhoons from Leuchars yesterday as it passed through the city. Quite a sight to see.

Well done to Dundee City Council - they put on a good event yesterday, complete with the party in Baxter Park afterwards (which featured a live show from Emelie Sandi)

Emelie Sandi has played everywhere, its Coke thats sponsoring/paying for her.

Are there fireworks for it in Edinburgh? If not, what a load of s****.

13-06-2012, 12:47 PM

I went down to see this in Aberdeen and the feel good vibe amongst the massive crowd took me completely by surprise. Seeing some of the unsung heroes in our communities getting their moment in the spotlight is pretty memorable and quite moving. It was a night my family certainly enjoyed. No fireworks though. :greengrin

13-06-2012, 01:45 PM

Didn't realise that - they were also handing out free bottles of coke yesterday during the procession, as they have a lorry as part of the relay.

13-06-2012, 02:08 PM
its due at asda's at chesser @ 17;58

13-06-2012, 02:48 PM
I think I'll take a wee peek at this as it makes it way along Slateford Road.

13-06-2012, 08:02 PM
Doesny really float ma boat

Cant see the point of watching a wee flame flickering out a big ice cream cone

But fair play to all who like this sort of thing

Really looking forward to the Olympics tho :agree:

13-06-2012, 08:16 PM
Seen it in falkirk today, was dressed in a morph suit outside the howgate so i better be on the telly!!

13-06-2012, 08:41 PM
Doesny really float ma boat

Cant see the point of watching a wee flame flickering out a big ice cream cone

But fair play to all who like this sort of thing

Really looking forward to the Olympics tho :agree:

Agree to an extent.

However given the signigicance of the event its easy to see why carrying it is such an honour.

Reading some of the stories about the people acting as torch bearers is inspiring and at times humbling.

13-06-2012, 08:59 PM
The flame is staying overnight at the castle. Will be at George VI bridge at approx.7:30am. Going to take the kids down before school, bit of a once in a lifetime thing, although I can see poolmans point :greengrin

13-06-2012, 09:34 PM
I think I'll take a wee peek at this as it makes it way along Slateford Road.

Surprised so many folk made the effort! As stated above just went along as its a once in a lifetime type thing.

14-06-2012, 04:41 PM
Seen it in falkirk today, was dressed in a morph suit outside the howgate so i better be on the telly!!

:greengrin That is pretty random. Having said that you probably would not have looked out of place.

thefifer1959
14-06-2012, 06:33 PM
what time does it arrive in Edinburgh ?
anyone know the route its taken ?

who cares aboot the London games. this is only the English parliament trying to hood wink peeps into thinking its the uk games come on people waken up its billed through out the world as the London Olympics.

14-06-2012, 06:43 PM
who cares aboot the London games. this is only the English parliament trying to hood wink peeps into thinking its the uk games come on people waken up its billed through out the world as the London Olympics.

:LOL:

Who was hoodwinked? Whilst you snipe from the sidelines thousands of Scots went out and enjoyed the moment. Just for the record I support Independence and don't believe all the games legacy stuff. Sometimes it's good just to have fun though. Get the chip off your shoulder and try it.:greengrin

14-06-2012, 07:51 PM
I watched it being paraded through Broxburn yesterday and thought the whole event was superb.

Fantastic atmosphere and as my son got to take part in the parade it made it a once in a lifetime event.

A real piece of history :thumbsup:

14-06-2012, 09:06 PM
:greengrin That is pretty random. Having said that you probably would not have looked out of place.

How dare you! :tsk tsk:

GhostofBolivar
14-06-2012, 09:07 PM
I watched it being paraded through Broxburn yesterday and thought the whole event was superb.

Fantastic atmosphere and as my son got to take part in the parade it made it a once in a lifetime event.

A real piece of history :thumbsup:

Aye, you'll always remember where you were the day fire finally came to Broxburn.

14-06-2012, 09:09 PM
In Halifax next Sunday.......

Rugby kick off had to be changed for it :rolleyes:

14-06-2012, 09:27 PM
Get the chip off your shoulder and try it.:greengrin

Thats the attitude I decided to take re The Jubilee Celebrations when I was down in Carlisle a week past Monday, I thoroughly enjoyed myself!

14-06-2012, 10:04 PM

Maybe because it is the London Olympics

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oeP790px1FE

15-06-2012, 06:33 AM
How dare you! :tsk tsk:

Must be honest, it is years since I went into the town centre. To me it is even more depressing than Denny Town Centre and we know how bad that is :-)

15-06-2012, 09:13 AM
I saw it pass through Peebles yesterday and I've got to admit that I was considerably underwhelmed.

The kids seem to enjoy it but I guess that's because they were "released" from the schools especially for the occasion.

15-06-2012, 09:47 AM
Aye, you'll always remember where you were the day fire finally came to Broxburn.

Such a family-friendly event, to be sure.

The fire came to Bhopal 28 years ago, but Seb Coe and Dow Chemical seem to have forgotten that ...

http://action.amnesty.org.uk/ea-action/action?ea.client.id=1194&ea.campaign.id=15017&gclid=CJTY6OD0z7ACFU4lfAodhU3vWw

I wouldn't mind the Olympic hype as much if the organisers were honest and said, "We're holding this huge sports event to provide a massive gravy-train for all sorts of people. We'll justify it by talking about improving the infrastructure of the host city, providing jobs, and inspiring young people to be the best they can be. We won't bother our pretty heads about the politics of the host country, or irrelevances like human rights. We'll take money from absolutely anyone, no matter how dirty they or their money may be, and if anyone asks questions, we'll just ignore them. And while we claim to be an international movement for unity and mutual understandinmg, we'll drape the actual event with all the tawdry trappings of petty nationalism imaginable. And we'll be VERY careful who we test for drugs - wouldn't want to offend any of the big nations, would we?"

Facts - the Olympic flame was first lit in 1928 in Amsterdam. The torch relay is a proud tradition going back to 1936.

Anyone recall who the organisers were that year?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7TI6yIo-tcc (She gets to the point around the 7-minute mark.)

15-06-2012, 10:20 AM
Such a family-friendly event, to be sure.

The fire came to Bhopal 28 years ago, but Seb Coe and Dow Chemical seem to have forgotten that ...

http://action.amnesty.org.uk/ea-action/action?ea.client.id=1194&ea.campaign.id=15017&gclid=CJTY6OD0z7ACFU4lfAodhU3vWw

I wouldn't mind the Olympic hype as much if the organisers were honest and said, "We're holding this huge sports event to provide a massive gravy-train for all sorts of people. We'll justify it by talking about improving the infrastructure of the host city, providing jobs, and inspiring young people to be the best they can be. We won't bother our pretty heads about the politics of the host country, or irrelevances like human rights. We'll take money from absolutely anyone, no matter how dirty they or their money may be, and if anyone asks questions, we'll just ignore them. And while we claim to be an international movement for unity and mutual understandinmg, we'll drape the actual event with all the tawdry trappings of petty nationalism imaginable. And we'll be VERY careful who we test for drugs - wouldn't want to offend any of the big nations, would we?"

Facts - the Olympic flame was first lit in 1928 in Amsterdam. The torch relay is a proud tradition going back to 1936.

Anyone recall who the organisers were that year?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7TI6yIo-tcc (She gets to the point around the 7-minute mark.)

Dearie me, you are a bitter auld cynic aren't you...............:greengrin

15-06-2012, 11:21 AM
Dearie me, you are a bitter auld cynic aren't you...............:greengrin

The word is 'realist'. :devil:

IMO the last Olympics to be even reasonably uncompromised morally or politically would be the London Olympics in 1948, which were allegedly kept very simple in reaction to the Berlin Games immortalised by dear Leni to the glory of Volk, Reich and Fuhrer.

The truth is that I'm not very interested in most Olympic sports, and the BS about the torch and the opening ceremony and the oath and the 'eternal flame' and the rest bores me. Boris Johnson and Seb Coe as the bearers of the Olympic ideal? Puh-lease! Worthy successors to the grey man of Beijing and the wheelers and dealers of Los Angeles and Atlanta, Georgia.

I mean, if 'taking part' is so much more important than 'winning' why all the medal ceremonies? And if it's really about individual excellence, why the medal tables listing the national teams in order of achievement? Why the national anthems? Why the national team strips?

And why all the highly questionable sponsors?