View Full Version : silence from the board

King Paddy
10-06-2012, 10:52 PM
Is it just me or do other Hibs suppoters send emails to the board and get no reply?
IMHO it is the ultimate in alienating it's fan base.

10-06-2012, 10:56 PM
If they are getting a hundred of these a day (big estimate) would you prefer they answered each one or got on running our football club?

10-06-2012, 11:05 PM
Is it just me or do other Hibs suppoters send emails to the board and get no reply?
IMHO it is the ultimate in alienating it's fan base.

Just you I'm afraid.

10-06-2012, 11:16 PM
The board have been very good interacting with the fans imo.

10-06-2012, 11:24 PM
The board have been very good interacting with the fans imo.

Not that good, I'm still waiting on a reply from a few weeks back.

10-06-2012, 11:32 PM
It's not replies to individuals that are needed, it's big statements concerning our future and the direction we are heading in and more importantly, assurances that these promises will be delivered.

11-06-2012, 12:14 AM
It's not replies to individuals that are needed, it's big statements concerning our future and the direction we are heading in and more importantly, assurances that these promises will be delivered.

That's why we aren't hearing these big statements.

The board are finding it hard to deliver there promises.

11-06-2012, 12:50 AM
If its true that they've sold big numbers of STs on the back of the cup final, we've removed all need from them to engage with the support. They're just as likely to ignore the support until it's looking likely that STs sales for the following season will be catastrophic than they are to continue their comms. The fact that we're still waiting for the second tranche of answers to the Hibs.net questions shows how important we are.

TrickyNicky
11-06-2012, 01:20 AM
If its true that they've sold big numbers of STs on the back of the cup final, we've removed all need from them to engage with the support. They're just as likely to ignore the support until it's looking likely that STs sales for the following season will be catastrophic than they are to continue their comms. The fact that we're still waiting for the second tranche of answers to the Hibs.net questions shows how important we are.

I think the silence implies they don't actually know what to do to break this bad cycle.

I don't for a minute think it's an easy task, far, far from it actually and I'd be interested to know if they have researched and/or sought the help of any persons who may be regarded as specialists in these areas.

Some of these areas may be the marketing of HFC, planning, communication with the fans,as well as the obvious footballing shortcomings we are experiencing ( managers, playing staff, coaching, youth, scouting -IMHO a club like Hibs has to think a little out of the box and be a little riskier at times to move forward as it's obviously a lot more difficult for Scottish teams outwith the OF in the world of football.

Surely the present pattern of free-fall must be of great concern and we seem to be in no-man's land ( not really doing it the old-fashioned way and not being forward thinking either ).

Littlest Hobo
11-06-2012, 04:04 AM
I know for a fact that RP will be working away behind the scenes trying his very best to bring in players that Par Fenlon has identified.

You can be sure Rod will as usual be playing hardball regards contracts and wage demands, for the long term good of the club.

The rigidness of the clubs Policy to get the very best deal and to stick to a wage budget and not cross that line is what worries me.

Even if that means taking their time and shopping around.

We don't have time.

Good players aren't out of contract for long.

Good players don't wait around.

Sometimes it might be better to pay slightly higher in the short term snd be sure of getting quality, rather than paying more in the long term by bringing in yet more run of the mill players that won't excite the fans to come and watch in big enough numbers.

I really hope the board have learnt some lessons over the last few seasons.

The fact that there has been no movement on the signing front is ominous though ;(

The club is dieing a slow death in my view which wasn't helped at all by that result.

This was the time for the club to act quickly, instead we have heard nothing.

11-06-2012, 05:19 AM

11-06-2012, 05:36 AM

Agreed. They dinnae give a flying F about us

11-06-2012, 05:51 AM
Its not statements we need, it's action. Until we see some anything they say will quite rightly be met with suspicion at best. What could they really say at this point anyway that would not involve the normal platitudes?

Velma Dinkley
11-06-2012, 06:18 AM
The management at Hibs have more important things to do than respond to mumps and grumps in dozens or hundeds of emails/letters. It's a football club, not a penpal club.

Don Giovanni
11-06-2012, 06:31 AM
Its not statements we need, it's action. Until we see some anything they say will quite rightly be met with suspicion at best.

11-06-2012, 06:39 AM
Its not statements we need, it's action. Until we see some anything they say will quite rightly be met with suspicion at best. What could they really say at this point anyway that would not involve the normal platitudes?

No more PR please. I just want to see a better team.

11-06-2012, 07:01 AM

Yup, I agree with this. Can never understand the frequent requests from fans for a statement from the board.

11-06-2012, 07:14 AM

A quick read at this thread shows why a tough gig it is.

We want our personal emails answered pronto

We want large club statements not time wasted in individual responses

We don't want any more PR statements, we want action

They are working hard behind the scenes

The lack of announcements means nothing being done

They had better end world poverty (Hyperbole alert :wink:)

etc etc

11-06-2012, 07:36 AM
Club needs to start doing their talking on the park.

The entire club needs to organise and prepare as never before this close season.

After a 10th and 11th finish there is a huge amount of work required.

A complete overhaul of playing personnel a must.

I don't believe the club should have well remunerated senior staff spending a huge chunk of their day replying to emails.

However, I don't understand how some get the template reply and others don't.

Supporters relations are at a all time low ebb with this board. Because with justification there is no faith that they are capable of overseeing a successful side on the park.

They have a lot to do.

11-06-2012, 10:40 AM
Not that good, I'm still waiting on a reply from a few weeks back.

Fyfe used it when they ran out of bogroll in the boardroom ensuite. :wink:

Club needs to start doing their talking on the park.

The entire club needs to organise and prepare as never before this close season.

After a 10th and 11th finish there is a huge amount of work required.

A complete overhaul of playing personnel a must.

I don't believe the club should have well remunerated senior staff spending a huge chunk of their day replying to emails.

However, I don't understand how some get the template reply and others don't.

Supporters relations are at a all time low ebb with this board. Because with justification there is no faith that they are capable of overseeing a successful side on the park.

They have a lot to do.

Rod's got a throbber list.

The email's get filtered like spam etc by sender. If you're on the throbber list you don't get a reply. If you're on the trumpet list, you get a template. If you're female, Rod replies personally with a bottle of Chardonnay and a voucher for 30 mins of PetriePassion* (Subject to being an ST holder obviously)

11-06-2012, 10:47 AM
Folk could be forgiven for thinking the worse, in the run up to our relegation battle and consequent cup final appearance.

Rod was never off the telly or internet begging us to come and support the club, or buy a season ticket.

Yet since the cup final, there's been nothing????? PR is not the best at easter road, but i did think it was going the right way recently. I asked a few weeks ago just were was the leadership coming from at the club, who was actually showing signs of being up for the battle?

Now they have our money, it appears again the silence is deafening.

11-06-2012, 10:54 AM
Folk could be forgiven for thinking the worse, in the run up to our relegation battle and consequent cup final appearance.

Rod was never off the telly or internet begging us to come and support the club, or buy a season ticket.

Yet since the cup final, there's been nothing????? PR is not the best at easter road, but i did think it was going the right way recently. I asked a few weeks ago just were was the leadership coming from at the club, who was actually showing signs of being up for the battle?

Now they have our money, it appears again the silence is deafening.

They made a statement after the Cup Final.

It's early June and football holiday time - do you want a statement every week??

BH - have you decided this season you aresn't going to be sensible any more? I know the final was a tough one to take but overall nothing has changed from what needed done when Felnlon arrived.

11-06-2012, 11:01 AM
The club have a massive opportunity this summer to radically improve the relationship with supporters. We need to get faster, better quality information flowing from the club into the support without the need for floods of emails, board statements or weighty 'consultation' processes.

Get together - meet regularly - talk honestly

Create a real family - not just PR spin

11-06-2012, 11:01 AM

It's early June and football holiday time - do you want a statement every week??

BH - have you decided this season you aresn't going to be sensible any more? I know the final was a tough one to take but overall nothing has changed from what needed done when Felnlon arrived.

I am always sensible Andy,:wink: Yes i do want a statement every week, i want to see leadership from the top. If that means bull**** from Petrie, then so be it. He needs to change the way he's been running and marketing this club, its just not working is it.

I want to see our chairman giving out rallying calls, bigging the club up, keeping our name in the papers and at the forefront of peoples attention. Leading from the front, if those in charge do that, perhaps it might just trickle down and rub off on the management team and players.

11-06-2012, 11:29 AM
Get together - meet regularly - talk honestly

Create a real family - not just PR spin

Getting a couple of dozen of the same folk in for a chat every couple of months won't engage a support of thousands.

11-06-2012, 11:37 AM
I have always received a prompt response to my emails, usually from Fife Hyland.

Right now, I hope that every second of the Directors time is being spent in supporting Pat Fenlon in recruiting new players.

11-06-2012, 11:59 AM
I am always sensible Andy,:wink: Yes i do want a statement every week, i want to see leadership from the top. If that means bull**** from Petrie, then so be it. He needs to change the way he's been running and marketing this club, its just not working is it.

I want to see our chairman giving out rallying calls, bigging the club up, keeping our name in the papers and at the forefront of peoples attention. Leading from the front, if those in charge do that, perhaps it might just trickle down and rub off on the management team and players.

Wow so you are actually advocating a weekly bulls**t announcement from Rod rather than the club communicating something when there is actually something to say. Bizarre.

I'm not sure what people actually want the club to say that hasn't already been said? They have put out a number of statements previously and as Andy stated put one out after the cup final.

The hard sell has been done on the season tickets and I assume the numbers are reasonable enough not to waste huge amounts of time and energy trying to get what will be only a limited amount more than would re-new or buy anyway before the start of the season.

In the meantime there has been a kit launch with another one to come and I'm sure we will parade our signings when they happen...there is going to be quite a few so plenty of opportunity to 'get the message' across then.

11-06-2012, 12:03 PM
Its not statements we need, it's action. Until we see some action anything they say will quite rightly be met with suspicion at best. What could they really say at this point anyway that would not involve the normal platitudes?

Until we see any tangible evidence of the current efforts on building a new squad, we have to live with the Board's statement of 21 May on the official site thanking supporters. Two sentences in that statement were particularly appropriate:

"The match and the result were devastating to everyone associated with Hibernian ..."

and

"The Board and Manager recognise that the nature of Saturday's defeat reinforces the scale of the task that faces us in rebuilding the squad in preparation for next season."

To come out with another more detailed version of that statement now, before we've announced any new signings, would be a complete waste of time on their part.

As for the reason why some get standard email responses from the Board and others don't, I reckon that will be down to:

a) The subject matter of the communication they receive.

(Far easier to respond to the performance of the officials at the Cup Final, for example.)

b) The tone of the communication they receive.

11-06-2012, 12:20 PM
I actually hope the silence continues and I never here from this board again, this club lies in a shambolic state on the park all the prudence off the park IMO is now wasted on what it will cost to bring in basically a new team that can compete.

If Hibs are to be up there they need signings on decent contracts, the loans and 1yr deals are a disaster the odd 1 or 2 is ok not most of the team. I expect to see Hibs 3rd/4th and that will now not come cheap due to the depths we have fell. IMO they need to speculate to accumalate simply due to the gross incompetence of hiring managers and bringing in rent a sqauds.

Utter shambles Hibernian and there is no excuses.

11-06-2012, 12:34 PM
Getting a couple of dozen of the same folk in for a chat every couple of months won't engage a support of thousands.

Agreed. These listening forums etc sound poorly attended and appear ineffective in conveying any message of a board listening and being pro active.

11-06-2012, 12:37 PM
I want to see deeds, not words.

There's been too much hot air out of Hibs in the last while. I want them to get on with it and to get on with it properly. The fans have stepped up when asked. Time for the club/board to do the same.

11-06-2012, 12:50 PM
Wow so you are actually advocating a weekly bulls**t announcement from Rod rather than the club communicating something when there is actually something to say. Bizarre.

I'm not sure what people actually want the club to say that hasn't already been said? They have put out a number of statements previously and as Andy stated put one out after the cup final.

The hard sell has been done on the season tickets and I assume the numbers are reasonable enough not to waste huge amounts of time and energy trying to get what will be only a limited amount more than would re-new or buy anyway before the start of the season.

In the meantime there has been a kit launch with another one to come and I'm sure we will parade our signings when they happen...there is going to be quite a few so plenty of opportunity to 'get the message' across then.

Ok maybe not bull****ting every week, but a progressive board and chairman who has the club out there in the forefront of the news, building its stature, lifting the fans and leading the club into a new era. Dont you find it funny just how accessible they become when they need us, the fans?

As you said, the hard sell might well have been done on season tickets, but we could always sell more.

PR from the club is poor imo, we need to be seen to be at the forefront of scottish football, not sitting in the background only saying things when asked. Its all about building the image of the club, as at this minute in time its a joke. Numerous newspaper articles about drug taking, punch ups in town or fraud.

I dont want to hear any of that again, i want the men at the top to talk the club up AT EVERY OPPORTUNITY.

11-06-2012, 12:57 PM
Agreed. These listening forums etc sound poorly attended and appear ineffective in conveying any message of a board listening and being pro active.

To be fair, I was at one and less than half the people who said they would come along bothered to turn up. And those were people who'd filled in a questionnaire and indicated they wanted to attend.

The club does many things wrong, but they can't be held accountable for inviting people who've said they want to be invited and then don't bother to go.

11-06-2012, 01:22 PM

They are poorly attended because many who say they will go along don't bother their backsides on the day. There's a simple solution, contact the club and say you wish to attend the next get together.

11-06-2012, 01:25 PM
They are poorly attended because many who say they will go along don't bother their backsides on the day. There's a simple solution, contact the club and say you wish to attend the next get together.

What are we looking to get out of these meetings, as i'd imagine the only thing we really want is a winning football club?

HibbyDave
11-06-2012, 01:26 PM
There is another thread about a"Big Meeting"....I understand from that thread that the board will not be represented at any meeting with the fans. Fantastic interaction from the directors.

People might ask difficult questions like: EXACTLY how many ST's have been sold?

OR
Is there any truth in the stories concerning recent signings of players?
OR

How many players will be released under the alleged "Clearout"?
OR
Dear Rod, how did you feel when Take That got back together?

11-06-2012, 01:28 PM
What are we looking to get out of these meetings, as i'd imagine the only thing we really want is a winning football club?

Agreed. And we want it NOW. :soapbox:

11-06-2012, 01:39 PM
To be fair, I was at one and less than half the people who said they would come along bothered to turn up. And those were people who'd filled in a questionnaire and indicated they wanted to attend.

The club does many things wrong, but they can't be held accountable for inviting people who've said they want to be invited and then don't bother to go.

And I wasn't suggesting that they were?

However, if these little forums are to communicate you have to question their effectiveness...

Or perhaps Newsnight on BBC2 tonight just shouldn't bother broadcasting. The Beeb should hand pick some viewers. Hope they turn up and expect whoever does goes out and spreads the news...!!

11-06-2012, 03:11 PM
More red herrings on here

The last forum was in February - no more are planned.

There were three in all - no supporter was invited to more than one

The objective of these sessions was not to communicate to fans

The purpose was 'listening' - for the club to to collect ideas

http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20111128/forum-feedback_2262950_2530879

A working group has been formed with supporter volunteers to take things forward during the summer

Some people who attended the forums are involved but new faces have been invited to keep things fresh

As per the last forums - supporters minutes will be published on messageboards within 48 hours

11-06-2012, 03:20 PM
I don't want to hear anything from the board.

For example -

Honking on about the "Hibernian Family". I don't want to hear that, I want them to show me that they think of me as part of a family by not insulting me with rubbish fobbed off as quality on the park.

I want them to make feel part of a family not just say it as some kind PR, advertising schpeil.

OR

Briefing new signings to claim part of the attraction of signing for my club is the "marvelous state-of-the-art" training facilities at East Mains. I don't want to hear anything about how good East Mains is, or what the facilities are, or how the players love it out there.

The only reminder I want about East Mains is fit footballers working as hard as possible out on the park.

Most of the words coming from the board for years have been double-talk, clap-track and easy to say PR. I want action. Then they can start talking again.

Offside Trap
11-06-2012, 04:35 PM
The board do have a difficult balancing job - no doubt. But they are at a low ebb in the eyes of the fans at the moment and they need to understand that us fans need real leadership and actions from them right now. Calderwood was an acutely poor choice on their part - I defy anyone to explain to me what qualities he exhibits as a leader - and the inability to identify this at interview shows, for me, a worrying lack of people judgement on the part of the board. They simply shouldn't underestimate how much the Calderwood episode has set fan confidence back.

On the positive side, I think Fenlon is a good appointment and has the qualities to move us forward but only if he is financially enabled and empowered to do so. Jury is still out so far on that - the transfer window hasn't really got going yet for any clubs - but I am a little surprised that McPake isn't a done deal yet and/or announced - the board must know there is an almost disproportionate amount of clamour amongst the fans to get him signed and the fact that Hibs haven't delivered yet (even if it is pushing the financial boat out a wee bit) is a worrying indication of old habits, questions over judgement and not hearing the mood music...

Hoping to be proved wrong though!!

:pfgwa

alexedwards
11-06-2012, 09:06 PM
I know for a fact that RP will be working away behind the scenes trying his very best to bring in players that Par Fenlon has identified.

You can be sure Rod will as usual be playing hardball regards contracts and wage demands, for the long term good of the club.

The rigidness of the clubs Policy to get the very best deal and to stick to a wage budget and not cross that line is what worries me.

Even if that means taking their time and shopping around.

We don't have time.

Good players aren't out of contract for long.

Good players don't wait around.

Sometimes it might be better to pay slightly higher in the short term snd be sure of getting quality, rather than paying more in the long term by bringing in yet more run of the mill players that won't excite the fans to come and watch in big enough numbers.

I really hope the board have learnt some lessons over the last few seasons.

The fact that there has been no movement on the signing front is ominous though ;(

The club is dieing a slow death in my view which wasn't helped at all by that result.

This was the time for the club to act quickly, instead we have heard nothing.

No probs - Rod's a genius.

11-06-2012, 09:14 PM
I don't want to hear anything from the board.

For example -

Honking on about the "Hibernian Family". I don't want to hear that, I want them to show me that they think of me as part of a family by not insulting me with rubbish fobbed off as quality on the park.

I want them to make feel part of a family not just say it as some kind PR, advertising schpeil.

OR

Briefing new signings to claim part of the attraction of signing for my club is the "marvelous state-of-the-art" training facilities at East Mains. I don't want to hear anything about how good East Mains is, or what the facilities are, or how the players love it out there.

The only reminder I want about East Mains is fit footballers working as hard as possible out on the park.

Most of the words coming from the board for years have been double-talk, clap-track and easy to say PR. I want action. Then they can start talking again.

11-06-2012, 11:46 PM
More red herrings on here

The last forum was in February - no more are planned.

There were three in all - no supporter was invited to more than one

The objective of these sessions was not to communicate to fans

The purpose was 'listening' - for the club to to collect ideas

A working group has been formed with supporter volunteers to take things forward during the summer

Some people who attended the forums are involved but new faces have been invited to keep things fresh

As per the last forums - supporters minutes will be published on messageboards within 48 hours

If that's directed at me, you've sort of proved my point and I didn't claim half of the red herrings that you've gotten so defensive about anyway. To address your points though....

The club 'listened' to a couple of dozen supporters.

Like it or not, there are a fair number of the 'same old faces' at these things. Out of a support of thousands, I refuse to believe that they would struggle to get attendees if they really tried.

A working group has been set up - great. The working group represents a minute proportion of the support.

The folk that use messageboards are a small proportion of the support. What about those that don't use them?

12-06-2012, 04:01 AM
Like it or not, there are a fair number of the 'same old faces' at these things. Out of a support of thousands, I refuse to believe that they would struggle to get attendees if they really tried.

Have you ever tried to organise any unpaid community events? If you have you will know that you get plenty of enthusiasm and pledges of support before the event. When it comes to getting firm commitment though the excuses come in thick and fast and you end up with the 'same old faces'. (Often the loudest voices pre-event are quickest off the mark with reasons why they themselves can't actually do something.)
Have you ever put yourself forward to attend and if not why not do so? Sniping from the sidelines about it being the same old faces is pointless if you haven't.
I have never attended one of these things, not my cup of tea. I also question their true value. It seems that most people only want communication with the club during the bad times. But anybody complaining about the same old faces simply has to contact the club and ask to be involved. Or is that too much effort?

12-06-2012, 07:01 AM
I think its a difficult balancing act for the board and I suppose its easier to come out with the Hibernian family stuff, rather than with promises they cant keep or statements of intent they cant back up. As folk are saying though, its better to do your talking through results on the park than by sweeping statements off it.

The biggest mistake they have made during the post Collins era has been their inaction during the Calderwood "two bags of sweeties" episode. His attitude was insulting to the people who had given him the chance to manage a great football club, insulting to the players and worse of all ........ insulting to us.

He should have been told by the board at that time to commit to the job fully, stop p1s1ng about or get out. The fact that we didnt led to him getting a longer run than he should have and the chance to create a bigger mess than he should have been allowed to.

12-06-2012, 07:47 AM
Have you ever tried to organise any unpaid community events? If you have you wil know that you will get plenty of enthusiasm and pledges of support before the event. When it comes to getting firm commitment though the excuses come in thick and fast and you end up with same old faces. (Often the loudest voices pre-event are quickest off the mark with reasons why they themselves can't actually do something.)
Have you ever put yourself forward to attend and if not why not do so. Sniping from the sidelines about it being the same old faces is pointless if you haven't.
I have never attended one of these things, not my cup of tea. I also question their true value. It seems that most people only want communication with the club during the bad times. But anybody complaining about the same old faces simply has to contact the club and ask to be involved. Or is that too much effort?

:agree: plenty of this when there is no personal commitment :protest: until someone suggest that individuals should be part of the solution and could maybe get involved then its often :offski:

12-06-2012, 08:25 AM

Not at St Mirren, St Johnstone, Arabs .. all making signings when their squads are already way ahead of ours.

12-06-2012, 08:29 AM
That's why we aren't hearing these big statements.

The board are finding it hard to deliver there promises.

They won't. They will be found wanting.

12-06-2012, 08:57 AM
I have only e-mailed the board once, to let them know that my Dad and I would be on holiday just after the payment plan deadline, and that I wouldn't be able to return the Zebra Finance form within the allotted week - I added that if we couldn't not renew via this means, we would not be doing it via any other. The following morning Fife Hyland responded with this: -

Hi Steven

Message received and understood - I have briefed the accounts and ticket office teams and Finance Director (in copy) to ensure all is well with your application.

Enjoy your holiday and thanks for your renewal and that of your father.

All the best

Fife

Obviously the threat of losing two ST sales prompted the swift action, but so it should. Along with others, I do not feel the need to hear anything else from the board right now - the post-cup final statement is enough for now and they need to follow it up by backing Fenlon to make several quality signings. Which I've no doubt they will.

12-06-2012, 10:11 AM
Not at St Mirren, St Johnstone, Arabs .. all making signings when their squads are already way ahead of ours.

St Johnstone and Dundee utd have an early start to their season due to Europe do they not? Probably why they are acting so swiftly. They are possibly signing who they can rather than who they want. Given the response some of our targets have been getting on here (not aimed at you) i cant imagine massive wave of support if any of these players signed for us. I would guess there would be many claims of bargain basement shopping and the board penny pinching.

12-06-2012, 10:23 AM
They won't. They will be found wanting.

Stuff it then. Let's all send our season tickets back now.

12-06-2012, 10:35 AM
If the board did make a statement it would just get torn to shreds anyway.

I'm as frustrated as anyone about Hibs at the moment but reading a load of PR nonsense wouldn't make me feel any better. What I want to see is action and signings and hear about them as they happen, the sooner the better.

My minimum expectation is that the board, coaches and manager are working to secure signings, I don't need a statement to tell me they are doing so.

12-06-2012, 11:17 AM
Have you ever tried to organise any unpaid community events?

Yup, and I didn't have a potential volunteer pool of 10k+.

Have you ever put yourself forward to attend?

Yup, and have now pretty much given up expending timeon offering my opinions/ideas to Hibs (although I still managed to fill in the survey and say I'd attend a meeting) as it was made pretty obvious on numerous occasions that they were not really welcome nor listened to.

I've no problem criticising the club for anything when I think it's deserved, just like I don't have any problem defending the club when I think it's deserved. As I've said, on support engagement, their efforts smack of tokenism. That would be bearable if everything was rosy elsewhere but, unfortunately, it's not.

12-06-2012, 11:24 AM

I'm as frustrated as anyone about Hibs at the moment but reading a load of PR nonsense wouldn't make me feel any better. What I want to see is action and signings and hear about them as they happen, the sooner the better.

My minimum expectation is that the board, coaches and manager are working to secure signings, I don't need a statement to tell me they are doing so.

Agree with all this.

12-06-2012, 11:27 AM
Stuff it then. Let's all send our season tickets back now.

Change needed from top to bottom.

12-06-2012, 11:28 AM
St Johnstone and Dundee utd have an early start to their season due to Europe do they not? Probably why they are acting so swiftly. They are possibly signing who they can rather than who they want. Given the response some of our targets have been getting on here (not aimed at you) i cant imagine massive wave of support if any of these players signed for us. I would guess there would be many claims of bargain basement shopping and the board penny pinching.

They've lost fewer than us and replacements have been made. Seems to be a sensible way forward to me.

12-06-2012, 11:36 AM

:top marks:agree:

12-06-2012, 01:23 PM
Statement from The Board:

Dear Cretini,

Thank you for the ST cash. We know that emotion drives purchasing decisions and we got you again there didn't we? We know that you putzs will always dig deep when we play that card.

Right, basically I'm bored of being in charge at Hibs. It takes up your whole life, it's crammed packed full of disappointment and no matter who is in charge or who we sign it all turns brown and we get throbbers anonymous telling me to 'loosen the purse strings Rod'. Loosen the purse strings? **** off!! We've blown all the cash ages ago on Makalamby and you lot don't give us much so we ain't got none. We've got losses up the yingyang AGAIN this year and you're never happy no matter what I do, so what's the point?

So, for that reason, I'm out. The chequebook's in the safe and I've restocked the brandy decanter in the boardroom. All the best.

PS - Our main signing targets told us to **** off weeks ago. We then went for players you would've thought as 'not Hibs Class' and they said no. We then went for players that would have disgusted you if we'd got them but they signed for more money at the likes of Barnet and Kettering etc. We're on trialists now.

Never forget though, what a big club we are, pffff, trumpets!

Rod.

12-06-2012, 01:26 PM

Dear Cretini,

Thank you for the ST cash. We know that emotion drives purchasing decisions and we got you again there didn't we? We know that you putzs will always dig deep when we play that card.

Right, basically I'm bored of being in charge at Hibs. It takes up your whole life, it's crammed packed full of disappointment and no matter who is in charge or who we sign it all turns brown and we get throbbers anonymous telling me to 'loosen the purse strings Rod'. Loosen the purse strings? **** off!! We've blown all the cash ages ago on Makalamby and you lot don't give us much so we ain't got none. We've got losses up the yingyang AGAIN this year and you're never happy no matter what I do, so what's the point?

So, for that reason, I'm out. The chequebook's in the safe and I've restocked the brandy decanter in the boardroom. All the best.

PS - Our main signing targets told us to **** off weeks ago. We then went for players you would've thought as 'not Hibs Class' and they said no. We then went for players that would have disgusted you if we'd got them but they signed for more money at the likes of Barnet and Kettering etc. We're on trialists now.

Rod.

Superb. :faf::faf:

12-06-2012, 01:33 PM
Yup, and I didn't have a potential volunteer pool of 10k+.

Yup, and have now pretty much given up expending timeon offering my opinions/ideas to Hibs (although I still managed to fill in the survey and say I'd attend a meeting) as it was made pretty obvious on numerous occasions that they were not really welcome nor listened to.

I've no problem criticising the club for anything when I think it's deserved, just like I don't have any problem defending the club when I think it's deserved. As I've said, on support engagement, their efforts smack of tokenism. That would be bearable if everything was rosy elsewhere but, unfortunately, it's not.

Did you receive an invite to that meeting? A good number of people did and accepted and the %age who actually turned up was apparently very poor. Yet people will still snipe about the same old faces being there.

12-06-2012, 01:34 PM
Change needed from top to bottom.

Finally.:thumbsup:

Why hasn't somebody posted this up before?:greengrin

12-06-2012, 02:03 PM

Dear Cretini,

Rod.
That's almost word for word the reply I got. :agree:

12-06-2012, 02:23 PM
The last forum was in February - no more are planned. There were three in all - no supporter was invited to more than one. The objective of these sessions was not to communicate to fans. The purpose was 'listening' - for the club to to collect ideas

A working group has been formed with supporter volunteers to take things forward during the summer. Some people who attended the forums are involved but new faces have been invited to keep things fresh. As per the last forums - supporters minutes will be published on messageboards within 48 hours

If that's directed at me, you've sort of proved my point and I didn't claim half of the red herrings that you've gotten so defensive about anyway.

No it wasn't Beefster. There were a few posts stating supposition - I was merely stating fact. Facts don't need a defence and I certainly was being defensive - merely supplying information

To address your points though....

The club 'listened' to a couple of dozen supporters. Out of a support of thousands, I refuse to believe that they would struggle to get attendees if they really tried. The folk that use messageboards are a small proportion of the support. What about those that don't use them?

The questionnaire wasn't limited to messageboard fans. Several hundred (over 1000?) completed the questionnaire. A couple of hundred?? ticked the box to be invited to the forums. Invitees were randomly selected by the club. 100 were invited. 60 accepted at the given time. 40 turned up across the 3 sessions. They might think that wasn't a bad try?

Like it or not, there are a fair number of the 'same old faces' at these things.

In my group all attendees were a)critical and challenging b) passionate c) full of ideas d) keen to see progress made and e) willing to devote personal time / volunteer. As in life it tends to be the 'same old faces' that volunteer - whether it be HSA branches, bus convenors, Hibs12thMan, Sect43, Erin Trust, The Hibernians, Disables Supporters etc. Not everyone can devote personal time to volunteer but I agree we need to make sure everybody who has something to offer gets the chance to do so

A working group has been set up - great. The working group represents a minute proportion of the support.

What size would you suggest is workable? If their membership is non-permanent and rotating won't that reduce the risk of the 'usual suspects'?

Good challenges and much appreciated feedback
I'll make sure your comments are discussed tomorrow night

12-06-2012, 06:44 PM
Did you receive an invite to that meeting?

Nah, no invite. Not that I'm particularly bothered about that - I just think their efforts smell of being something so they can say "see, we tried". We go through the same stuff every couple of years - usually when ST sales are likely to be catastrophic.

I know from experience that they're not that interested in being approached with ideas and suggestions.

The questionnaire wasn't limited to messageboard...

What size would you suggest is workable?

The questionnaire was a good idea and if they can get a fair number to complete it online, by mail, whatever then it's their best route for feedback IMHO.

I'm not really a fan of shadow boards or fixed focus groups in practice. I'm of the opinion. That these things tend to turn into a platform for individuals to drive change so that it reflects their views rather than the support at large (although I'm sure this doesn't happen with everyone). None of this is a criticism of those who go along to these things incidentally.

IMHO the club need to start by answering the countless questions we have. I'll be sceptical of how serious they are about engaging us until they either start answering the questions we do have or stop answering them with spin (see the Hibs.net questions for prime examples of them not answering questions and giving PR answers when they do).

12-06-2012, 10:09 PM
They've lost fewer than us and replacements have been made. Seems to be a sensible way forward to me.

No, I totally agree that we need replacements, we have lost alot and as alot have said, it's quality we need. I hope that this time we get it right. We have signed players over the last few seasons that a lot of fans had high expectations for that have not come good for whatever reason. The main point I was making was that they have less time than us to bring in replacements rather than the actual need for numbers.

12-06-2012, 11:39 PM
No, I totally agree that we need replacements, we have lost alot and as alot have said, it's quality we need. I hope that this time we get it right. We have signed players over the last few seasons that a lot of fans had high expectations for that have not come good for whatever reason. The main point I was making was that they have less time than us to bring in replacements rather than the actual need for numbers.

I am sure we heard the quality over quantity as far back as Mixu and repeatedly by every manager since. I, therefore, don't have any confidence that it will happen this time around. I'm not sure a lot of quality is available in the last week(s) of the window..