View Full Version : Greggs Wotherspoon to Sheffield Utd (EEN)

08-06-2012, 07:50 AM
Apparently has a picture of the new kit, and news of an English club being interested in one of our players. Any ideas?

08-06-2012, 07:53 AM
Wotherspoon to Sheff Utd?

Willis1875
08-06-2012, 07:54 AM
Apparently has a picture of the new kit, and news of an English club being interested in one of our players. Any ideas?

Sure I read on here yesterday that Sheffield united were sniffing about wotherspoon

08-06-2012, 07:57 AM
Sure I read on here yesterday that Sheffield united were sniffing about wotherspoon

My car has a full tank and ready to go....

Willis1875
08-06-2012, 07:59 AM

Too late I'm already half way there!

08-06-2012, 08:06 AM

I am prepared to cough up half the petrol money!

08-06-2012, 08:09 AM
Hanlon? Has continued to be a stand out with Scotland as Captain of U21's and had a very good end to season beside a player that he had confidence in.

Fulham did have scouts up a couple of times apparently

It might explain why we are being linked with several CH's ?

I hope not as we will look back in years to come when he has gone on to bigger and better and wish we had had him longer

justlikebrazil
08-06-2012, 08:11 AM

That's the hibees spirit!! We have some great fans that fill our team with confidence!!!

08-06-2012, 08:12 AM
Hanlon? Has continued to be a stand out with Scotland as Captain of U21's and had a very good end to season beside a player that he had confidence in.

I hope not as we will look back in years to come when he has gone on to bigger and better and wish we had had him longer

That was my immediate guess as well. Totally agree that he could be one of those that moves onto bigger things :agree:

08-06-2012, 08:15 AM

Or the player actually being looked at is Wotherspoon,
and the manager disagree's with you, thinks Hanlon has been poor and wants a replacement central defender to play alongside McPake if he can get him too?

08-06-2012, 08:20 AM
Or the manager disagree's with you, thinks Hanlon has been poor and wants a replacement central defender to play alongside McPake if he can get him too.

And the player actually being looked at is Wotherspoon?

I think you will find he played more games than any other player this past season - over 120 in 3 years with different managers. Still you may be right :wink:

08-06-2012, 08:21 AM
Or the manager disagree's with you, thinks Hanlon has been poor and wants a replacement central defender to play alongside McPake if he can get him too.

And the player actually being looked at is Wotherspoon?

I think you will find he played more games than any other player this past season - over 120 in 3 years with different managers. Still you may be right

08-06-2012, 08:22 AM
I like Wotherspoon, hope for his sake that he gets a move and proves numpties on here wrong.

08-06-2012, 08:23 AM
I think you will find he played more games than any other player this past season - over 120 in 3 years with different managers. Still you may be right :wink:

Yes i think i am. :greengrin Personally I have a funny feeling we will be seeing Hanlon at left back next season.

Alan62
08-06-2012, 08:26 AM
I actually think Wotherspoon is a very good young player. He's only 22 and has already chalked up over 100 appearances for Hibs. He's been a little unfortunate to have played with a poor side and he's had to play in a number of different roles all over the park but, make no mistake, he's a very good player. Those who want to drive him to Sheffield, careful what you wish for, he could easily be replaced with some journeyman dud with half the ability and none of the potential.

As for Hanlon, it's a similar story. He's young and, yes, he makes some mistakes but overall, he's a good player. I think he'll end up in the English Premiership, personally. I see him in the Gary Caldwell mould. Mind you, Caldwell wasn't good enough for Hibs either, was he?

Its a shame the way folk are talking about Wotherspoon. It looked at one time as though he was going to be a big player for us, but its true that over the last few seasons he has failed to improve.

The question is, how much of an influence has playing in a series of crap teams been on his lack of developement. It cant have helped him and so if he does leave I for one would wish him all the luck in the world and hope he does well wherever he ends up.

That's the hibees spirit!! We have some great fans that fill our team with confidence!!!

I've supported more poor players on here than I care to remember, however, for whatever reason it's just not working out for Wotherspoon here. He has some talent but I think can go down as one of those with a weak attitude.

If anyone wants to take him and get more out of him then great, it gives us another space to get the type of players we currently need.

08-06-2012, 08:27 AM
I like Wotherspoon, hope for his sake that he gets a move and proves numpties on here wrong.

I think he's got something but I also believe he's gone backwards these last 2 years.

Seems to have lost a lot of pace which was a big part of his game. Could it attributed to the fact that he has obviously been bulking up more in training and is less focused on pace?

08-06-2012, 08:32 AM
I've supported more poor players on here than I care to remember, however

I can vouch for that. Your championing of Alan O'Brien when it was blatantly obvious to every other Hibs fan that we'd be better off with richard o'brien on the wing is the stuff of legend :aok:

08-06-2012, 08:39 AM

If a player isn't very good, should people lie and just say that he is?? I thought forums were for giving opinions.

08-06-2012, 08:40 AM
I can vouch for that. Your championing of Alan O'Brien when it was blatantly obvious to every other Hibs fan that we'd be better off with richard o'brien on the wing is the stuff of legend :aok:

dwlt
08-06-2012, 08:41 AM
I think he's got something but I also believe he's gone backwards these last 2 years.

Seems to have lost a lot of pace which was a big part of his game. Could it attributed to the fact that he has obviously been bulking up more in training and is less focused on pace?

I actually think Yogi burned him out by playing him in nearly every game in his first season with the first team. He certainly looks like he's running through treacle these days, so you could be right on the bulk over pace thing too.

08-06-2012, 08:41 AM
I thought forums were for giving opinions.

They are but you're not obliged to.

08-06-2012, 08:48 AM

What the numpties that have watched him put in piss poor performances for the last 2 year.

If he didn't come through the ranks he would have been hounded out long before this. Don't forget sentiments aside, we have paid his wages for the last 2 years and had nothing in return. We don't have the luxury of wasting wages on players like this these days.

Let him go, wish him well and hope he can kick start his career.

08-06-2012, 08:54 AM
I actually think Yogi burned him out by playing him in nearly every game in his first season with the first team. He certainly looks like he's running through treacle these days, so you could be right on the bulk over pace thing too.

He played his best football then, and was actually taken out the team at the later end of that season.

I'm sure his legs have recovered now though. :rolleyes:

Burnt out by 30 games in a year at 19 or 20, I would hope not.

justlikebrazil
08-06-2012, 09:02 AM

Very true!

08-06-2012, 09:06 AM
What the numpties that have watched him put in piss poor performances for the last 2 year.

Yep. Those ones.

08-06-2012, 09:10 AM
If we can get 100 or 200k for Wothers it would be a right result. His career has stalled at Hibs so a move would be the best for both parties.
Stick the usual clause or two in there so we benefit if he does produce the goods and move on but I wouldn't hold my breath.

When he first came into the team I thought he was our next big thing too..............

08-06-2012, 09:13 AM
Re Wotherspoon, I think we need to ask ourselves how does a player that looked very promising in his first few matches - scores against St.Mirren and has great shots against Celtic and Hertz producing world class saves - then over time becomes a poor player.

Is it because of the negativity from the stands and/or the coaching staff? I certainly would not like to play in such a negative atmosphere and the opposition managers know this! Who will be the next to suffer?

Is it down to the player. He obviously had the talent when first introduced to the team, but then that talent deteriorates. Is he trying hard enough? He did look slow and unfit during the past season. Is he carrying an injury? Is this affecting his confidence? Why does he constantly overhit crosses / free kicks, surely a professional player should be able to do this better.

I don't know the answer to these questions, but what I see is a shadow of the player from three years ago. I really hope the real David Wotherspoon starts delivering soon, whether that is at ER or elsewhere.

08-06-2012, 09:15 AM
Re Wotherspoon, I think we need to ask ourselves how does a player that looked very promising in his first few matches - scores against St.Mirren and has great shots against Celtic and Hertz producing world class saves - then over time becomes a poor player.

Is it because of the negativity from the stands and/or the coaching staff? I certainly would not like to play in such a negative atmosphere and the opposition managers know this! Who will be the next to suffer?

Is it down to the player. He obviously had the talent when first introduced to the team, but then that talent deteriorates. Is he trying hard enough? He did look slow and unfit during the past season. Is he carrying an injury? Is this affecting his confidence? Why does he constantly overhit crosses / free kicks, surely a professional player should be able to do this better.

I don't know the answer to these questions, but what I see is a shadow of the player from three years ago. I really hope the real David Wotherspoon starts delivering soon, whether that is at ER or elsewhere.

Or is it he's just not progressed as we all hoped he would?

08-06-2012, 09:17 AM

Some players just don't kick on or develop. He still has glimpses of what he showed when he came in, but then again, there isn't much expectation at 19.

He's 22 now with nearly 100 games under his belt. That's a fair age to start showing something, even in a poor team.

By that stage the likes of Whittaker, Brown and O'Connor were getting their multi million pound moves. Can Wotherspoon play above our level? I think he'd have to sjow he can cope with this level for a couple of years first never mind stand out at this level.

He seems a nice enough guy but that's half the problem with our current squad.

A team full of Wotherspoon's and we'd be relegated, no question.

08-06-2012, 09:28 AM
Yep. Those ones.

Gotta laugh

08-06-2012, 09:29 AM
DW is an enigma, much like Hanlon for me. Both talented, but both inconsistent and very much 'confidence players' - I honestly don't think either have been helped with playing out of position, or different positions in the last 3 seasons.

I'm on record that I don't really rate Paul - I find he switches off too easily and stands a yard off too often. His positional sense was poor, but I concede that McPake's organising and experience has brought him on - but he'd be chewed up at Championship level.

David has talent, but his confidence was knocked by Hughes, and the fans. He gets no slack from the punters. His best position for me, was where he played youth level for Scotland - just behind the strike pair, centrally but with licence to roam.

Both players though, in my opinion, have been bulking up at the expense of technique. For some reason David in particular looks heavy, and it is noticeable in his fitness levels and stamina/pace. He needs to be leaner.

Both need our support though, that's key. I am willing on both players to succeed. But both need to raise their game significantly in my humble opinion. You can't be carried by others at this level. They both need to make themselves key team players regardless of who is next to them.

08-06-2012, 09:34 AM
DW is an enigma, much like Hanlon for me. Both talented, but both inconsistent and very much 'confidence players' - I honestly don't think either have been helped with playing out of position, or different positions in the last 3 seasons.

I'm on record that I don't really rate Paul - I find he switches off too easily and stands a yard off too often. His positional sense was poor, but I concede that McPake's organising and experience has brought him on - but he'd be chewed up at Championship level.

David has talent, but his confidence was knocked by Hughes, and the fans. He gets no slack from the punters. His best position for me, was where he played youth level for Scotland - just behind the strike pair, centrally but with licence to roam.

Both players though, in my opinion, have been bulking up at the expense of technique. For some reason David in particular looks heavy, and it is noticeable in his fitness levels and stamina/pace. He needs to be leaner.

Both need our support though, that's key. I am willing on both players to succeed. But both need to raise their game significantly in my humble opinion. You can't be carried by others at this level. They both need to make themselves key team players regardless of who is next to them.

I agree with all you said bar that, Hughes actually gave him his debut. He stuck with him even when i personally thought he was not deserving of a place. He did take him out of the team, his form had dropped and he did not deserve to be in the team.

I think the rest of your post is 100% spot on. :agree:

08-06-2012, 09:34 AM

How so? I've just been having a disagreement with another poster who believed that Booth was badly treated when he was dropped for playing poorly - how did Hughes making Wotherspoon a first team regular when he was playing well knock his confidence?

Every manager we have had since DW broke into the first team has given him a fair crack of the whip, but he hasn't looked good since Hibs last looked good, i.e. prior to February 2010.

08-06-2012, 09:35 AM
Can't say i would be that fussed if we lose Hanlon or Wotherspoon, but I would be amazed if anyone would buy Wotherspoon.

08-06-2012, 09:40 AM
How so? I've just been having a disagreement with another poster who believed that Booth was badly treated when he was dropped for playing poorly - how did Hughes making Wotherspoon a first team regular when he was playing well knock his confidence?

Every manager we have had since DW broke into the first team has given him a fair crack of the whip, but he hasn't looked good since Hibs last looked good, i.e. prior to February 2010.

If in doubt blame Hughes. He was a bully don't you know? And too much of a mate at the same time.

Playing someone in a position where they played well in a team that finished 4th is obviously abuse of the highest order.

08-06-2012, 09:42 AM
If in doubt blame Hughes. He was a bully don't you know? And too much of a mate at the same time.

Playing someone in a position where they played well in a team that finished 4th is obviously abuse of the highest order.

:agree: Remember when 4th was deemed not good enough, we'd kill for that these days.

08-06-2012, 09:43 AM
I agree with all you said bar that, Hughes actually gave him his debut. He stuck with him even when i personally thought he was not deserving of a place. He did take him out of the team, his form had dropped and he did not deserve to be in the team.

I think the rest of your post is 100% spot on. :agree:

No denying Hughes gave him his debut BH, but it was in a completely foreign position, in a top league. DW had no real time to adjust - full back is a specialised position as we have seen to our cost since losing Murphy and Whittaker. In fact, Hughes took him out of an, unbeaten side at Ibrox, if I recall correctly - after this David's confidence for whatever reason took a dunt.

His form did dip, and he was introduced into different positions in a losing team. But someone, somewhere, has got David to bulk up top half, and he is not carrying this well - he's lost a couple of yards.

My point I suppose, about them both, is that they now need to stand on their own and not be carried by others. It's an unforgiving league - I'll continue to support both though as long as they are here.

08-06-2012, 09:44 AM
:agree: Remember when 4th was deemed not good enough, we'd kill for that these days.

There's also this from Woterspoon when Hughes was sacked:

"The manager has had a huge impact on my career, he kick-started it. I had just moved up to the U19s and he put me in to the first team. I wasn't expecting such a quick start to my career. But he had faith in me and stuck with me and I really appreciate that."

Doesn't sound like he was ruined by the guy to the extent that he is still crippled two years later.

08-06-2012, 09:48 AM
No denying Hughes gave him his debut BH, but it was in a completely foreign position, in a top league. DW had no real time to adjust - full back is a specialised position as we have seen to our cost since losing Murphy and Whittaker. In fact, Hughes took him out of an, unbeaten side at Ibrox, if I recall correctly - after this David's confidence for whatever reason took a dunt.

His form did dip, and he was introduced into different positions in a losing team. But someone, somewhere, has got David to bulk up top half, and he is not carrying this well - he's lost a couple of yards.

My point I suppose, about them both, is that they now need to stand on their own and not be carried by others. It's an unforgiving league - I'll continue to support both though as long as they are here.

His debut was wide right, i was there he scored against St Mirren? When he played right back, he was part of a team with the best defensive record in the country, surely that breeds confidence?

I cant remember the exact game he was dropped, but he was still a kid. And if being dropped from the 1st team dented his confidence, he should have received a kick up the arse from it, not gone into deep depression imo?

08-06-2012, 09:50 AM

Andy, Hughes played the lad in 5 different positions that season - right back, second striker, left mid, right mid and left/right wing.

My point about Hughes relates to his inability to play David in his best position, and thus knock his confidence. Did Sergio play young McGowan in any other area than full back ? Did Houston play Mackay-Steven anywhere other than his best position ?

David played for Scotland, just before the season started, playing attacking midfield - he was then thrust into right back by Hughes because of this 'Alves notion' he had.

I think that more than anything knocked a fragile young player.

Just my opinion, and not wanting a Hughes debate.

08-06-2012, 09:51 AM
There's also this from Woterspoon when Hughes was sacked:

"The manager has had a huge impact on my career, he kick-started it. I had just moved up to the U19s and he put me in to the first team. I wasn't expecting such a quick start to my career. But he had faith in me and stuck with me and I really appreciate that."

Doesn't sound like he was ruined by the guy to the extent that he is still crippled two years later.

Yip, some folk will be blaming Hughes for the Iraq war soon.

Even when players speak up praising him, there will still be some who want to blame him for (insert players name) poor form.

08-06-2012, 09:54 AM
DW has only looked decent when playing at RB, under Hughes, since then he's been pish and pretty painful to watch..

Needs to unhook the ferry he's towing :aok:

08-06-2012, 09:56 AM
Yip, some folk will be blaming Hughes for the Iraq war soon.

Even when players speak up praising him, there will still be some who want to blame him for (insert players name) poor form.

I agree though the player is highly unlikely to say anything differently about a manager that is picking him for the team.

08-06-2012, 09:56 AM

08-06-2012, 09:58 AM
Some players just don't kick on or develop. He still has glimpses of what he showed when he came in, but then again, there isn't much expectation at 19.

He's 22 now with nearly 100 games under his belt. That's a fair age to start showing something, even in a poor team.

By that stage the likes of Whittaker, Brown and O'Connor were getting their multi million pound moves. Can Wotherspoon play above our level? I think he'd have to sjow he can cope with this level for a couple of years first never mind stand out at this level.

He seems a nice enough guy but that's half the problem with our current squad.

A team full of Wotherspoon's and we'd be relegated, no question.

Totally agree Andy, we were spoiled a few years ago with that golden generation which gave us a good team and a few £m into the bargain, very seldom do so many youth players step up to the next level and make it at the top.

In the EN just a few weeks ago there was an article about our all conquering u19's, only a very few made it to 1st team level at ER, the rest now plying their trade in the lower leagues.

I think Spoony, Booth and Hanlon have reached their respective levels, decent enough players but maybe not quite good enough for Hibs if we want to take that next step, if any decent offers come in we should be looking at them seriously, the monies taken will help bring in better. May I say I've nothing against these lads but you have to be a realist, players levels plateau and occasionally they don't push on as much as you'd hoped.

08-06-2012, 09:58 AM

Easy you, we haven't forgotten about CC being 'The Man'.

08-06-2012, 09:59 AM
His debut was wide right, i was there he scored against St Mirren? When he played right back, he was part of a team with the best defensive record in the country, surely that breeds confidence?

I cant remember the exact game he was dropped, but he was still a kid. And if being dropped from the 1st team dented his confidence, he should have received a kick up the arse from it, not gone into deep depression imo?

Agree BH, his debut was excellent and playing in that area suited him - he also looked leaner and faster. He is a confidence player though.

Certainly not a right back in my opinion though. For me, a lean, keen DW is excellent either outside right or just off the front two.

08-06-2012, 09:59 AM

That petrol will have a higher value than the contents of the car.

08-06-2012, 10:01 AM

You may be referring to the 1-1 draw we got at Ibrox (when Stokes scored that wonder goal) - DW was substituted and Chris Hogg put to RB as Kyle Lafferty was causing us all sorts of problems at the back post. Every other time Hogg was deployed at RB was a disaster, but it worked a treat that day - was sound management from back in the days when Hughes knew what he was doing.

08-06-2012, 10:02 AM
Agree BH, his debut was excellent and playing in that area suited him - he also looked leaner and faster. He is a confidence player though.

Certainly not a right back in my opinion though. For me, a lean, keen DW is excellent either outside right or just off the front two.

Yet every time he has been tried in any of those positions, or wide left where he played for the under 19s, he's been rubbish?

08-06-2012, 10:04 AM
Easy you, we haven't forgotten about CC being 'The Man'.

Best statistically for two+ seasons now... no achievement granted! However (some would say somehow) CC is now at a higher level.

How's the great AOB doing? :wink: :greengrin

08-06-2012, 10:07 AM
Yet every time he has been tried in any of those positions, or wide left where he played for the under 19s, he's been rubbish?

Came on in the middle against the sheep in the semi and played well.

08-06-2012, 10:07 AM
You must be the only person out of the entire Hibs fanbase that think CC is a good manager. Infact probably the entire Nottingham Forest fanbase as well.

08-06-2012, 10:09 AM
You may be referring to the 1-1 draw we got at Ibrox (when Stokes scored that wonder goal) - DW was substituted and Chris Hogg put to RB as Kyle Lafferty was causing us all sorts of problems at the back post. Every other time Hogg was deployed at RB was a disaster, but it worked a treat that day - was sound management from back in the days when Hughes knew what he was doing.

Stevie, I was referring to the game where he was dropped to accommodate Gow.....I think we lost heavily, then went on a poor run thereafter.

08-06-2012, 10:19 AM

I would much rather he stayed and started to perform for Hibs in order to prove people wrong!

08-06-2012, 10:20 AM
Amazed how much stick Hanlon gets. He's a decent defender who is getting better every season. Hibs cannot afford to lose players like him.

08-06-2012, 10:22 AM
Amazed how much stick Hanlon gets. He's a decent defender who is getting better every season. Hibs cannot afford to lose players like him.

I think he's decent, he might go on to better things but he is entirely and easily replaceable. Most SPL teams seem to find dependable centre halfs no problem.

08-06-2012, 10:24 AM
Stevie, I was referring to the game where he was dropped to accommodate Gow.....I think we lost heavily, then went on a poor run thereafter.

Yeah, we lost 3-0, but we played well that day and was a pretty false scoreline. Certainly didn't look like a team that was about to go into the freefall that we did.

Actually, looking at the line up for that day, Hogg was obviously used at RB again, having been well used there in the 1-1 draw.

Regardless, DW needs to have the mental strength to deal with the disappointment of being dropped if he is to have any future as a player.

08-06-2012, 10:25 AM
I think he's decent, he might go on to better things but he is entirely and easily replaceable. Most SPL teams seem to find dependable centre halfs no problem.

Dunno about that, who do you mean? I think it's rare for SPL sides, outwith the old firm, to have decent defenders.

08-06-2012, 10:29 AM
Yeah, we lost 3-0, but we played well that day and was a pretty false scoreline. Certainly didn't look like a team that was about to go into the freefall that we did.

Actually, looking at the line up for that day, Hogg was obviously used at RB again, having been well used there in the 1-1 draw.

Regardless, DW needs to have the mental strength to deal with the disappointment of being dropped if he is to have any future as a player.

Wouldn't disagree with that Stevie.

I think the fans also need to get right behind him (and the side). Confidence then breeds.

08-06-2012, 10:31 AM

I think the fans also need to get right behind him (and the side). Confidence then breeds.

Absolutely, would love to see Wotherspoon playing well in a good Hibs side. It's happened before.

08-06-2012, 10:32 AM

I disagree I think he is absalutley the type of player we could afford to lose. We need better, and think there will be better "Decent" defenders out there who would be a better centre half. As for left back, every time I seen him last seasonm play there he just punted it forward every time he got it.

Again like DW and Lewis I wouldnt be sad to see them leave, they are all good guys and I would love to see them go onto have a great career and prove me wrong but I genuinley believe if we are to progress as a team we need better than what these guys have offered over the last few seasons, youngish or not.

08-06-2012, 10:40 AM
Yet he keeps getting picked for Scotland? In my view he's had a great year aside mcpake, he no longer needs to carry the defence and if he continues to progress we'll do well to keep him as he could be the most valuable player asset we have.

08-06-2012, 10:40 AM

Hibs have regressed over the past few seasons, we are probably now offer a very poor environment for a young player to develop.

Those wanting Wotherspoon out the door make me despair.

08-06-2012, 10:43 AM
Dunno about that, who do you mean? I think it's rare for SPL sides, outwith the old firm, to have decent defenders.

Off the top of my head Hutchinson, Webster, Zaliukas, Gunning, Nelson all dependable centre backs.

08-06-2012, 10:50 AM

Gunning, Webster, Anderson, Barr, Kennith to name a few

08-06-2012, 10:51 AM
Wotherspoon and Sheffield Utd it is. Without saying a great deal other than they are tracking him, along with the earth-shattering news that they have a bigger wage budget than us.

Baker9
08-06-2012, 10:57 AM
I actually think Wotherspoon is a very good young player. He's only 22 and has already chalked up over 100 appearances for Hibs. He's been a little unfortunate to have played with a poor side and he's had to play in a number of different roles all over the park but, make no mistake, he's a very good player. Those who want to drive him to Sheffield, careful what you wish for, he could easily be replaced with some journeyman dud with half the ability and none of the potential.

As for Hanlon, it's a similar story. He's young and, yes, he makes some mistakes but overall, he's a good player. I think he'll end up in the English Premiership, personally. I see him in the Gary Caldwell mould. Mind you, Caldwell wasn't good enough for Hibs either, was he?

He doesn't quite put his body on the line in the way that Calderwood does (and McPake does).

Greenheart
08-06-2012, 11:02 AM

Totally agree both great young players

08-06-2012, 11:12 AM

Hibs have regressed over the past few seasons, we are probably now offer a very poor environment for a young player to develop.

Those wanting Wotherspoon out the door make me despair.

Well said.

08-06-2012, 11:13 AM

He's been the integral part of one of the worst SPL defences of the past two seasons and can only play well beside someone who will cover for his inadequacies (hence the calamity whenever he and Stephens play together). Doesn't scream 'irreplaceable' to me (but then I don't think that any currently contracted player is irreplaceable).

08-06-2012, 11:14 AM
Off the top of my head Hutchinson, Webster, Zaliukas, Gunning, Nelson all dependable centre backs.

Gunning, Webster, Anderson, Barr, Kennith to name a few

Webster and Zaliukas are good, but we couldnt afford them, so nae wonder they're better than what we have.

I like the boy Gunning, looks a good player. Havent seen much of either Hutchison or Nelson. I hope Anderson isnt Russell Anderson, cos he's never fit and is a bomb scare. Barr....good one, I hope he's a starter for the Yams at centre half next season. Garry Kenneth is *****, if he was playing for Hibs he'd get more abuse than Hanlon gets!

I'd have the guy Fraser Wright ahead of Barr, Anderson and Garry Kenneth.

Overall I'd say it's difficult to get good centre halfs at our level. McPake was a brilliant signing.

08-06-2012, 11:23 AM
Gunning, Webster, Anderson, Barr, Kenneth to name a few

Has nothing lined up for next season.

Ultrabee1-0
08-06-2012, 11:54 AM
http://www.scotsman.com/edinburgh-evening-news/football/hibs/hibs-david-wotherspoon-on-radar-for-blades-1-2345400
I know a few of you's aren't keen on the kid but I am I definitely don't want the boy to leave the club.

08-06-2012, 11:56 AM
Wotherspoon and Hanlon are two very experienced players both in SPL and U21 international terms.Yet they week after week continue to make the same mistakes.Wotherspoon lets his head go down at the slightest provocation and for a player with his physical attributes is far too easily brushed off the ball.This could all be caused by lack of confidence and playing in a poor team but for young guys neither player looks particularly fit.No doubt at other clubs they could prosper but to me they are part of the problem not the solution.

08-06-2012, 11:59 AM
Runs like the hairs on his arse are tied together. It's weird - he never seems to really actually sprint, his running style is really laboured. Then there's the fact that he's not developed anything like how we'd hoped. I remember his debut, and he looked great then, but has - if anything - gone backwards.

Wouldn't shed any tears if he left, and good luck to him if he does.

08-06-2012, 12:03 PM
Runs like the hairs on his arse are tied together. It's weird - he never seems to really actually sprint, his running style is really laboured. Then there's the fact that he's not developed anything like how we'd hoped. I remember his debut, and he looked great then, but has - if anything - gone backwards.

Brilliant :aok: - I'll use that one.

08-06-2012, 12:06 PM

Superb:greengrin

08-06-2012, 12:09 PM

:faf::faf: Another laugh out loud moment. :top marks

08-06-2012, 12:11 PM
Sorry but Hanlon and Wotherspoon have done nowt in about 3 years. Time to get rid IMO. A 'clearout' really should mean a clearout :agree:

08-06-2012, 12:13 PM
Think it would be a real shame if DW was to move on from Hibs, he's a good player and people seem to forget that wee bit of flare and spark he showed in the cup SF against the Dons. It's shame he didn't get a chance to push on from a good 15-20 minutes in that game through to the rest of the season. Cetainly would have had him in modfield rather than Claros - performance against Dunfermline aside.

2 of our best young talents have now become 2nd string players who barely make the bench, a real shame IMO

If he goes then best of luck to him, I know what I'd do if I were in his situation :agree:

08-06-2012, 12:24 PM
Paul Hanlon = Ball Watcher.

Littlest Hobo
08-06-2012, 12:26 PM
Sorry but Hanlon and Wotherspoon have done nowt in about 3 years. Time to get rid IMO. A 'clearout' really should mean a clearout :agree:

08-06-2012, 12:27 PM

We've been a disgrace for a while but there's uproar when the likes of Hanlon, Wotherspoon and Booth are talked about for either leaving or not playing.

They are all part of the problem.

Nice lads, footballers in there somewhere but SPL cannon fodder.

Littlest Hobo
08-06-2012, 12:30 PM

What glue you been sniffing ?? Hanlon is part of the reason we are such a soft touch.
I'm no going to hold back with opinions like this anymore.

If you want to continue down the same old road then stick with PH.

If however you want to see a more solid unit at the back then PH has to go.

It's that ****in simple!

08-06-2012, 12:31 PM
We need midfielders who are :

Grafters
Good tacklers
Fast over 5 or ten yards
Mentally strong
Disciplined - no moaning to refs
Make their presence felt
Offer a bit of creativity

This season we had
Stevenson - pass marks in 1, 2, 3, 5?
Osbourne - pass marks in 2, 5 and 7?
Claros - mmmm?
Soares - urghhh!
Wotherspoon - 7 maybe?

in our engine room.

Very little supply for the strikers and not much protection for the defence

08-06-2012, 12:34 PM
He's been the integral part of one of the worst SPL defences of the past two seasons and can only play well beside someone who will cover for his inadequacies (hence the calamity whenever he and Stephens play together). Doesn't scream 'irreplaceable' to me (but then I don't think that any currently contracted player is irreplaceable).

Correct - 100%

08-06-2012, 12:35 PM
What glue you been sniffing ?? Hanlon is part of the reason we are such a soft touch.

It's that ****in simple!

Also correct -100%

08-06-2012, 12:42 PM
That was my immediate guess as well. Totally agree that he could be one of those that moves onto bigger things :agree:

Lol

That is all...:rolleyes:

08-06-2012, 12:57 PM
[QUOTE=Jones28;3257345]Think it would be a real shame if DW was to move on from Hibs, he's a good player and people seem to forget that wee bit of flare and spark he showed in the cup SF against the Dons. It's shame he didn't get a chance to push on from a good 15-20 minutes in that game through to the rest of the season. Cetainly would have had him in modfield rather than Claros - performance against Dunfermline aside.

Wotherspoon has more skill on the ball than any of our current players. He should be played in the centre of midfield, where he made all the difference in the semi.

A few have mentioned Booth, just turned 21 a week ago and again more skill than most. It has gone wrong for him this season but he has the attributes to be a fine player. Would rather keep those two than pay the likes of Claros, Soares, Osbourne to play midfield. Play them in their strongest positions and they will come good.

Hanlon, not sure. I've always said he needs to mean up and dish it out a bit. seems too nice to be a centre half.

08-06-2012, 01:00 PM

It's that ****in simple!

I think you are talking rubbish - "let he without sin cast the first stone". The reason why our defensive record is so poor is that we have such a poor midfield. If we had a midfield that offered support to the defence then we wouldn't be caught out so many times.

The case in point for me, was the last home game against Dunfermline. Yes, we won 4-0, but the number of times our midfield particularly in the first half let the opposition players (the worst performing set of the players in the league) rush through our static and non-tackling midfield to play balls in behind the full backs was frightening - if they had better forwards they would have created betters chances/scored goals. The situation was exactly the same when we played Hertz in the final. Our midfield offers no protection at all.

Sort out the midfield and we will have a more solid foundation IMO.

08-06-2012, 01:00 PM
So from reading this thread it would appear its the whole team that will be replaced as none of them are "hibs class". Its hard to fathom where these new players and the money for them is going to come from. I hope Hanlon doesnt go and I'll put money on him being a Scotland regular within 2 years.

08-06-2012, 01:04 PM
I'll put money on him being a Scotland regular within 2 years.

08-06-2012, 01:23 PM
So from reading this thread it would appear its the whole team that will be replaced as none of them are "hibs class". Its hard to fathom where these new players and the money for them is going to come from. I hope Hanlon doesnt go and I'll put money on him being a Scotland regular within 2 years.

I'll take your money if you are offering it.

08-06-2012, 01:38 PM

Are you talking about the full team? If so i will have a ton on that with you, the winnings going to hibs youth or whatever they are calling it these days?

08-06-2012, 01:45 PM
You are on Blackpool. Full team within two seasons. £100 to Hibs Girls team.

08-06-2012, 01:51 PM
You are on Blackpool. Full team within two seasons. £100 to Hibs Girls team.

Good man. :thumbsup:

Easy money. :faf:

08-06-2012, 05:32 PM
Too late I'm already half way there!

Greetings from sheffield :)

08-06-2012, 06:04 PM
Wotherspoon's best performances have come for Scotland U21's playing in a settled team who pass the ball on the deck and have a decent idea how the game should be played.

For Hibs he's been shifted all over the shop. Right back, right midfield, left midfield, centre midfield, supporting striker.

I reckon he'd be a much better option in centre midfield for next season than a few players and would like to see him get a decent run of games in that position.

08-06-2012, 07:23 PM

It's that ****in simple!

:rolleyes: another reasoned discussion .... I see you end with the word simple

08-06-2012, 07:23 PM
Or is it he's just not progressed as we all hoped he would?

Is this not true of Scottish footballers in general though? We seem to have always had good youth/U21 teams that are reasonobaly successful and when they get to full international status they look pants.

08-06-2012, 09:57 PM
Is this not true of Scottish footballers in general though? We seem to have always had good youth/U21 teams that are reasonobaly successful and when they get to full international status they look pants.

Yip i think you are right, i'm not saying this is the case with Wotherspoon, but from afar it does seem as if we have a lot of players these days who think they have made it, just as soon as they make the first team.

And there sole aim in life is to get a move to one of the old firm, lack of any real desire to make it really big needs real commitment.

Do we have many of these types in Scotland these days?

08-06-2012, 10:41 PM
I got the new strip today with 'W thersp n' on the back.

Will be raging if he is sold.

08-06-2012, 10:50 PM

Mate the lads got nothing to offer...time to go. Sad times when u loik at the squad ans HAVE no decent player to sell..we r in a bad way nothing to di wi the support. Would u like him to be in next seasons team? = ouch

08-06-2012, 11:29 PM

Every time? I seem to remember Hogg scoring one, maybe even 2 goals in a home win against Kilmarnock from RB.

Sorry to be pedantic.

HibeeSince85
09-06-2012, 07:10 AM
Spoony looked a prospect when he broke through, on U21 duty playing central he's also looked good but if the money is decent I'd be happy to let him go, last few years he's hardly played a good game.

09-06-2012, 07:27 AM
If its anything less than £1m I would keep him. He is the only attacking midfielder we have at the club. I like him as a player.

GreenPJ
09-06-2012, 07:29 AM
Spoony looked a prospect when he broke through, on U21 duty playing central he's also looked good but if the money is decent I'd be happy to let him go, last few years he's hardly played a good game.

Similarities to Lewis career. Showed a lot of promise early on then went off the ball like most young players in their second season then they have been on and out with confidence knocked and poor players around them. I would like to see wotherspoon stay with a good playmaker in there think hr could play right mid role but maybe he needs a new start especially when folk are desperate to drive him away.

09-06-2012, 07:33 AM
Similarities to Lewis career. Showed a lot of promise early on then went off the ball like most young players in their second season then they have been on and out with confidence knocked and poor players around them. I would like to see wotherspoon stay with a good playmaker in there think hr could play right mid role but maybe he needs a new start especially when folk are desperate to drive him away.

...or the alternative view, I've kept quiet for 2 and a half seasons, trying to work out what Spoony has ever contributed in a meaningful way, other than hitting the post at Tynecastle once and scoring v Cowdenbeath

HibeeSince85
09-06-2012, 07:34 AM
Similarities to Lewis career. Showed a lot of promise early on then went off the ball like most young players in their second season then they have been on and out with confidence knocked and poor players around them. I would like to see wotherspoon stay with a good playmaker in there think hr could play right mid role but mKaybe he needs a new start especially when folk are desperate to drive him away.

Lewis has had probably 2 more years at Hibs than he should have, he's no longer a young laddie and we end up with average players on our books living off early career promise, Spoony is a better player and I'm no doubting he has got talent but he has been average for 2 years now, he could be another Lewis in that we keep him around waiting for that spark to ignite again, if it never comes we have wasted time and money and ultimately hurting the team.

09-06-2012, 07:40 AM
Lol

That is all...:rolleyes:

Okay just be totally dismissive of my opinion then :aok:

09-06-2012, 07:54 AM
I would be gutted to see David Wotherspoon move on before recapturing the form I know he is capable of showing for Hibernian. I genuinely believe he has the ability to be a good player but needs to be played in a settled position with a manager having faith in him! He has played right back, right, centre and left midfield and even up front in an advanced role I think. For too long at Hibs we have seen players moved about to accommodate for shortcomings in certain area's of the pitch when it would surely be better playing our players in their chosen and best positions.

09-06-2012, 08:02 AM
Lewis has had probably 2 more years at Hibs than he should have, he's no longer a young laddie and we end up with average players on our books living off early career promise, Spoony is a better player and I'm no doubting he has got talent but he has been average for 2 years now, he could be another Lewis in that we keep him around waiting for that spark to ignite again, if it never comes we have wasted time and money and ultimately hurting the team.

The difference between Lewis Stevenson & David Wotherspoon is that DW in my opinion in the right set of circumstances and at the right club could blossom into a really goog player, however, LS, again in my opinion, is playing with heart and commitment but to the best of his abilities!! As stated above it is a gamble keeping Spooney if decent cash is on offer as he may stagnate further and have no future resale value. If the money is right I would sell, and I would be looking to replace Lewis and the entire midfield from last season. Big job ahead!!

09-06-2012, 08:14 AM
Okay just be totally dismissive of my opinion then :aok:

No probs

09-06-2012, 08:21 AM
His wage will rocket. We need the cash. We are a selling club. If the fees acceptable to us then he'll be away..

BarneyK
09-06-2012, 08:24 AM
His wage will rocket. We need the cash. We are a selling club. If the fees acceptable to us then he'll be away..

Agreed. He's not shown enough for us to fight an approach. Good luck to him if he goes.

09-06-2012, 08:38 AM
I got slated on here for saying that DW needed to be rested after he had a nightmare at Ibrox. Well, he was kept in the team and his confidence and progress went downhill from that day.

A move from Hibs would probably be a good thing for his own career.

09-06-2012, 08:42 AM
His time has passed. Even by hibs standards its been a spectacular fall from grace, he looked capable of anything when he first broke through. Something tells me he might have progressed better under JC. Stay off the chicken nuggets Spoony and you might end up a player :aok:

09-06-2012, 09:02 AM
I got slated on here for saying that DW needed to be rested after he had a nightmare at Ibrox. Well, he was kept in the team and his confidence and progress went downhill from that day.

A move from Hibs would probably be a good thing for his own career.

stanton10
09-06-2012, 09:04 AM
I would be gutted to see David Wotherspoon move on before recapturing the form I know he is capable of showing for Hibernian. I genuinely believe he has the ability to be a good player but needs to be played in a settled position with a manager having faith in him! He has played right back, right, centre and left midfield and even up front in an advanced role I think. For too long at Hibs we have seen players moved about to accommodate for shortcomings in certain area's of the pitch when it would surely be better playing our players in their chosen and best positions.

I would take the money and run ,but i think myself that it was petrie that has put this crap about, have said from day one not good enough sell, sell, sell,

09-06-2012, 09:09 AM
John Hughes has to take the blame for the demise of David Wotherspoon.. Pissing the guy about at such an early age and playing him in a different position every other week has ruined him..

09-06-2012, 09:16 AM
John Hughes has to take the blame for the demise of David Wotherspoon.. Pissing the guy about at such an early age and playing him in a different position every other week has ruined him..

I seem to remember him playing him fairly consistently at right back. Indeed he played in that specific position when we had our best defensive record in many a year...

09-06-2012, 09:34 AM
I seem to remember him playing him fairly consistently at right back. Indeed he played in that specific position when we had our best defensive record in many a year...

Exactly, but its always somebody else's fault when a player loses form. Up until Wotherspoon was dropped, many were saying just how well the team were doing, we were actually 3rd. And as you say we were up there at the top of the best defences in britain, the least goals conceded on these isles.

I firmly believe John Hughes is responsible for the Iraqi war.

cad
09-06-2012, 09:38 AM

There may be something in that he had a spell at right back that he excelled at for a period of time then for whatever he lost his spark ,Spoons has looked burnt out for a couple of seasons now if we can get some cash and he can get himself back playing again better for both parties to part company .

09-06-2012, 09:39 AM

Did you see the Wotherspoon quote about Hughes?

Anyway, what a poor excuse for a 'young' player two years later.

09-06-2012, 09:48 AM
Did you see the Wotherspoon quote about Hughes?

Anyway, what a poor excuse for a 'young' player two years later.

What was the quote?

09-06-2012, 10:19 AM
Mate the lads got nothing to offer...time to go. Sad times when u loik at the squad ans HAVE no decent player to sell..we r in a bad way nothing to di wi the support. Would u like him to be in next seasons team? = ouch

I want Wotherspoon to be a starting player next season.

And Booth and Hanlon.

Why spend money? We've already got a right-sided midfielder, a left sided midfielder and a centreback that found some form when he was playing alongside someone dependable in Mcpake. Booth wasn't given an oppertunity under Fenlon, same goes for DW. He got 20 minutes in the cup SF and I felt he did really well when he came on and showed a bit of urgency that the other midfielders didnt show for the entire game.

Get these youngsters in and give guys like Danny Handling (who was on fire for Berwick Rangers) a chance to prove their worth. :agree:

Make 6 key signings: Goalkeeper, a right-back, James Mcpake, central midfielder and 2 strikers.

Farm out young guys for a season maximum, then get them back in to play in the first team.

Why do other teams seem to suddenly have the ability to develop their young players - Aberdeen, Dundee UTD, Hearts - and we can't? Bearing in mind that 6 years ago we had one of the most exciting teams in the country playing brilliant football supplemented by a few key players brought in. Most of the best players were the product of Hibs' youth system. Get back to it! It works, proven formula :aok:

calumb
09-06-2012, 10:28 AM

And Booth and Hanlon.

Why spend money? We've already got a right-sided midfielder, a left sided midfielder and a centreback that found some form when he was playing alongside someone dependable in Mcpake. Booth wasn't given an oppertunity under Fenlon, same goes for DW. He got 20 minutes in the cup SF and I felt he did really well when he came on and showed a bit of urgency that the other midfielders didnt show for the entire game.

Get these youngsters in and give guys like Danny Handling (who was on fire for Berwick Rangers) a chance to prove their worth. :agree:

Make 6 key signings: Goalkeeper, a right-back, James Mcpake, central midfielder and 2 strikers.

Farm out young guys for a season maximum, then get them back in to play in the first team.

Why do other teams seem to suddenly have the ability to develop their young players - Aberdeen, Dundee UTD, Hearts - and we can't? Bearing in mind that 6 years ago we had one of the most exciting teams in the country playing brilliant football supplemented by a few key players brought in. Most of the best players were the product of Hibs' youth system. Get back to it! It works, proven formula :aok:

You might want Wotherspoon to be starting next season but unless he can shake off the lazyitis that has infected Hibs
midfielders the last 2 years then its pretty pointless.

Same with Booth, talented player, but Fenlon has come out and said he's not working hard enough to get in the team so we can all have grand plans about him playing in midfield but if he's not willing to work then again its pointless.

09-06-2012, 11:11 AM
IMO it adds nothing to the debate to compare Stevenson, Wotherspoon, Hanlon & Booth to each others situation as they are individually very different in attitude and playing position / style.

Lewis is frankly never going to improve, his time for doing so has passed. He is committed and dependable but will never score or create a goal in the remainder of his career IMO.

Wotherspoon has ability and looks good playing for the U'21's but in the SPL looks like a wee laddie hiding from the physical demands of the game, he in common with many others in our squad is painfully slow both is speed and thought and I have no doubt that a move would be in everyone's interests as he gets so much stick from guys whose support he needs and I dont see that changing.

Booth looks great going forward and dismal defending, there must be something that the fans dont see that prevents Fenlon trying him at left midfield, were I to guess i would think that similarly to my opinion on Wotherspoon he doesnt have the stomach for the rough and tumble of the SPL and neither can impose themselves on the opposition or the game.

Hanlon IMO gets buckets of unneccessary stick, he is a young boy playing in a crap Hibs team in a position where there is nowhere to hide and he is being bullied by older stronger players.

I see no evidence of lack of heart or lack of stomach for the fight but plenty of evidence of a guy who needs to physically develop, develop a mean streak and be helped out by better and more experienced players around him.

There are not many players of Paul's age that I can think of playing regularly in that position.

A more apt comparison might be with Berra at that age. I think Paul is head and shoulders better and Berra went on to be sold for upwards of £1m and play for anybody but Hibsland under Harry Potter.

09-06-2012, 11:15 AM
IMO it adds nothing to the debate to compare Stevenson, Wotherspoon, Hanlon & Booth to each others situation as they are individually very different in attitude and playing position / style.

Lewis is frankly never going to improve, his time for doing so has passed. He is committed and dependable but will never score or create a goal in the remainder of his career IMO.

Want a bet?

09-06-2012, 11:23 AM

And Booth and Hanlon.

Hanlon, Wotherspoon and Booth are not in the same category as Brown, Whittaker, Riordan et al. Nowhere near it.

09-06-2012, 11:28 AM
Want a bet?

No thanks,

but can you tell me how many he managed in either category last year or in his entire Hibs career to date?

My expectation is that it will be substantially less than 3 goals and 10 assists so perhaps you see the point I was flippantly making?

09-06-2012, 11:40 AM
You might want Wotherspoon to be starting next season but unless he can shake off the lazyitis that has infected Hibs
midfielders the last 2 years then its pretty pointless.

Same with Booth, talented player, but Fenlon has come out and said he's not working hard enough to get in the team so we can all have grand plans about him playing in midfield but if he's not willing to work then again its pointless.

Thats up to him then, but I reckon Fenlon is the man to give players like that a kick up the arse. Hopefully he will already have made his point by dropping him for half a season.

Hanlon, Wotherspoon and Booth are not in the same category as Brown, Whittaker, Riordan et al. Nowhere near it.

Did the "Golden Generation" win a league and cup double? :confused:

09-06-2012, 11:43 AM
Thats up to him then, but I reckon Fenlon is the man to give players like that a kick up the arse. Hopefully he will already have made his point by dropping him for half a season.

Did the "Golden Generation" win a league and cup double? :confused:

No but they didn't feature in the worst seasons in years and years either. Surely if these guys are as good as you say we'd have had more enquiries than one from Sheff Utd for them? Face it, they are average players and have done very little to suggest otherwise.

Littlest Hobo
09-06-2012, 11:44 AM
Loads of excuses why DW hasn't done well for us.

Here is a thought, he's no good enough?

Oh I forgot he's a Hibee, brought through the ranks that won't be an option then.

Get shot of him, and give some other laddie who has what it takes a chance.

calumb
09-06-2012, 11:49 AM
No thanks,

but can you tell me how many he managed in either category last year or in his entire Hibs career to date?

My expectation is that it will be substantially less than 3 goals and 10 assists so perhaps you see the point I was flippantly making?

Lewis at least showed signs of improvement when Fenlon arrived. So maybe a pre season with Fenlon will see him push on
further with and deliver the type performances that we don't think is in him.
Same goes with Hanlon although all credit to Hanlons better performances seems to go to McPake.

09-06-2012, 12:05 PM

Oh I forgot he's a Hibee, brought through the ranks that won't be an option then.

Thought he was a Saintee? :dunno:

09-06-2012, 12:18 PM
I for one would be gutted if he leaves. I think him and Booth still have a lot to offer us and we need to remember there just young. We need to stick with them. We stuck with Kevin Thomson when he was on the treatment table for a season and that worked out for us. I would rather see us trying with our talented youngsters that signing some duds from down south

09-06-2012, 12:23 PM
I for one would be gutted if he leaves. I think him and Booth still have a lot to offer us and we need to remember there just young. We need to stick with them. We stuck with Kevin Thomson when he was on the treatment table for a season and that worked out for us. I would rather see us trying with our talented youngsters that signing some duds from down south

So would i, although there are other scenarios, where we get rid of our under achievers and sign better players who will perform. Those can be from down south or up north, i dont really care if i'm honest.

09-06-2012, 12:35 PM
I would not accept less than £2 Million for Wotherspoon. He has all the attributes of a top midfielder :-

1. He is a leader of men
2. Exceptional Pace
3. Incredible strength
4. Great crosser of the ball
5. Continually beats his man
6. Wonderful skill
7. Magnificent passer of the ball
8. Great reader of the game

Yours sincerely,
The Tooth Fairy.

09-06-2012, 03:10 PM
The fact that Wotherspoon and Hanlon are the only two players to come out of our wonderful youth academy in recent times says it all really.

09-06-2012, 03:19 PM
I want him to stay!

Part of the problem for us, in recent years, is we are not building teams - we are selling/dumping/clearing them out! We need to give these young and I'll say it again YOUNG guys a chance to work through their form dip. I hate looking or watching a team of players who's name/s I don't know and have no real attachment nor passion for Hibs. Remember, Wotherspoon walked away from Celtic youth set-up to sign for us because he felt it would be better for his career. Also, Celtic tried their damnedest to keep him there because they knew he had real talent.

09-06-2012, 03:37 PM
I'd be gutted if Wotherspoon leaves, he had a bad season but i like him. If we gave him a run at CM i think he'd to well, like he does for Scotland U21s.

09-06-2012, 05:15 PM
No but they didn't feature in the worst seasons in years and years either. Surely if these guys are as good as you say we'd have had more enquiries than one from Sheff Utd for them? Face it, they are average players and have done very little to suggest otherwise.

The fact that a team who narrowly missed out on promotion to a much higher quality league are after him speaks about him than a lack of enquiries all together. How come when Booth and Wotherspoon first came into the team everyone was raving about them, that they were fantastic and would be key players in the future? It's a sheer lack of confidence. Fact.

Not good enough for Hibs but good enough for Scotland? :confused:

And no, he's a St Johnstone fan actually :na na:

09-06-2012, 05:22 PM
Thought he was a Saintee? :dunno:

Yeah, I'm sure he is. This 'one of our own' pish does my head in. It means nothing except to the people who say it.

09-06-2012, 06:05 PM
Yeah, I'm sure he is. This 'one of our own' pish does my head in. It means nothing except to the people who say it.

It's only been sang about Deek, GOC and Griffiths iirc, who are all Hibees. When has it ever been sang about Wotherspoon?

09-06-2012, 06:50 PM
No, I know. But that wasn't my point. Just the whole 'one of our own' thing. A player will play for whoever pays him most.

09-06-2012, 06:56 PM
If any football club offers money for him, take it.

The games I have seen in him he has been poor. :agree: Fresh start needed.

Littlest Hobo
09-06-2012, 06:57 PM
The fact that a team who narrowly missed out on promotion to a much higher quality league are after him speaks about him than a lack of enquiries all together. How come when Booth and Wotherspoon first came into the team everyone was raving about them, that they were fantastic and would be key players in the future? It's a sheer lack of confidence. Fact.

Yawn!!

I'll be sorry to see him go.

We'll struggle without his influence in the team.

Never mind, at least I'll have all those great memories of him.

Pmsl ; )

09-06-2012, 06:59 PM
No, I know. But that wasn't my point. Just the whole 'one of our own' thing. A player will play for whoever pays him most.

I don't get it either. Every player who puts on our strip is equally deserving of our support. It is a meaningless chant. An example? I remember a chorus of 'Derek Riordan, he's one of our own' being followed with Nish getting booed. How many members of the Famous Five were not 'one of our own?'

09-06-2012, 07:05 PM
Yawn!!

Pmsl ; )

Surely Sheffield United would check with the experts like you on here totally trashing him before making any sort of move. :confused:

09-06-2012, 07:26 PM
Yawn!!

Pmsl ; )

Ahh, Hibs fans. Terrific attitude from the likes of you.

Young player that makes a good start and falters gets torn to shreds on a regular basis.

Very sad.

09-06-2012, 09:13 PM

Young player that makes a good start and falters gets torn to shreds on a regular basis.

Very sad.

No doubt he will hopefully still have a decent career in the game, but just how long were you expecting him to go on faltering? Last 2 seasons we've seen next to nothing from him, and now we are in a position that we have to very probably spend more to bring in a better calibre of player because the players that are here are not good enough. We just can't afford to take chances and let most of these players who have either underperformed or just simply aren't good enough stay at the club, it's a luxury that maybe teams better off than us have, but we will now be one of the favourites to be relegated in the forthcoming season unless there are drastic changes, and that includes getting what money we can for the likes of Wotherspoon. I would still wish him well though.

Littlest Hobo
09-06-2012, 09:22 PM

Very sad.

What's sad is the nostalgia surrounding young players at Easter Road.
If their not cutting it they must be moved on.
I wish the lad all the best, it's nothing personal.
We just need to be more ruthless regards the players that are in the squad.
We nearly got relegated this season ffs!

Wakey Wakey!!

Littlest Hobo
09-06-2012, 09:35 PM
Surely Sheffield United would check with the experts like you on here totally trashing him before making any sort of move. :confused:

You would think eh? lol

I've seen enough of him, he needs rested or he needs a new challenge because he's no taken the one set in front of him at ER that's for sure....next!

09-06-2012, 09:42 PM
ive not read the whole thread but i find the possibility that we are keeping sproule and shipping out spoony baffling

09-06-2012, 09:43 PM

Very sad.

Wotherspoon played well for a couple of months and has been falling away for the last two and a half seasons.

Half our problem is that we've accepted utter mediocrity from the team for the past two seasons. It's time to get ruthless and bin all of those who aren't up to where we aspire to be. Unfortunately for him, that includes Wotherspoon.

09-06-2012, 09:45 PM

Wakey Wakey!!

Spot on bud.:agree:

09-06-2012, 09:54 PM
Wotherspoon played well for a couple of months and has been falling away for the last two and a half seasons.

Half our problem is that we've accepted utter mediocrity from the team for the past two seasons. It's time to get ruthless and bin all of those who aren't up to where we aspire to be. Unfortunately for him, that includes Wotherspoon.

:agree: That's where I'm at. We all need to toughen up and stop with the soft touch crap. If a player's not cutting it then they shouldn't be at the club. No room for passengers now.

09-06-2012, 11:03 PM
No doubt he will hopefully still have a decent career in the game, but just how long were you expecting him to go on faltering? Last 2 seasons we've seen next to nothing from him, and now we are in a position that we have to very probably spend more to bring in a better calibre of player because the players that are here are not good enough. We just can't afford to take chances and let most of these players who have either underperformed or just simply aren't good enough stay at the club, it's a luxury that maybe teams better off than us have, but we will now be one of the favourites to be relegated in the forthcoming season unless there are drastic changes, and that includes getting what money we can for the likes of Wotherspoon. I would still wish him well though.

As someone has said, why are we keepin Sproule and letting Wotherspoon leave? Why has young talent not been nurtured in the same way it was 10 years ago? Plus he has barely been given a chance under Fenlon.

Wakey Wakey!!

We nearly got relagated in a team full of dross that had been brought in by Calderwood/a bunch of loan players that (as proven by Matt Doherty) don't actually give a toss about Hibs. If it had been a team of players brought up through Hibs then maybe it would be different.

What's even sadder is the sheer lack of young talent being developed and built at Hibs.

09-06-2012, 11:54 PM
:agree: That's where I'm at. We all need to toughen up and stop with the soft touch crap. If a player's not cutting it then they shouldn't be at the club. No room for passengers now.

I'm not so sure. I like the the idea of giving players who had a couple of promising months contracts for years on the basis that they might come good if we surrounded them by higher quality players which we'll never sign. Unless we're talking about McPake and Hanlon. But the last thing I want is for players to think that we're the bad guys. I'll forgive the odd foray to George Street, the night club bans, the assaults, the cocaine, as long as we don't offend other teams and their supporters by getting results against them.

09-06-2012, 11:56 PM
They can have him. If we can get Ryan Flynn in return :cb

09-06-2012, 11:59 PM
[QUOTE=Jones28;3258427]Ahh, Hibs fans. Terrific attitude from the likes of you.

Very sad.[/QUOTE

the kad is gash...happy to chip in for the fare down south....Hibs need to lern 10th and 11th is wrong....him stevenson and hanlin ga ha ha

10-06-2012, 12:53 AM

Very sad.[/QUOTE

the kad is gash...happy to chip in for the fare down south....Hibs need to lern 10th and 11th is wrong....him stevenson and hanlin ga ha ha

For your sake i hope you are pashed. :drunk:

10-06-2012, 01:12 AM

Very sad.[/QUOTE

spot one, I agree that Stevenson has deserved his POTY award, but he has had 5 yrs since that cup final and a very small number of games were he has played well (IMO) and now he has another year, we have to stop handing out these deals based on "next year he will come good" and start saying you have had your chance and you have not taken it so we are giving it to someone who deserves it, how many of the current squad can say that?

10-06-2012, 01:34 AM
[QUOTE=SouthamptonHibs;3258602]
[/U][/I][/B]

spot one, I agree that Stevenson has deserved his POTY award, but he has had 5 yrs since that cup final and a very small number of games were he has played well (IMO) and now he has another year, we have to stop handing out these deals based on "next year he will come good" and start saying you have had your chance and you have not taken it so we are giving it to someone who deserves it, how many of the current squad can say that?

I agree mate hail hail

10-06-2012, 01:35 AM
As someone has said, why are we keepin Sproule and letting Wotherspoon leave? Why has young talent not been nurtured in the same way it was 10 years ago? Plus he has barely been given a chance under Fenlon.

We nearly got relagated in a team full of dross that had been brought in by Calderwood/a bunch of loan players that (as proven by Matt Doherty) don't actually give a toss about Hibs. If it had been a team of players brought up through Hibs then maybe it would be different.

What's even sadder is the sheer lack of young talent being developed and built at Hibs.

I wouldn't keep Sproule either, and for the same reasons too. You're probably right about some of the loan players, and you're also right about young talent coming through, and why it hasn't been nurtured as it was before, totally agree with you there. Sorry if I came across as being a bit heartless, but we really are going to have to be ruthless as regards who we sign and who we let go, because we just can't afford to allow ourselves to fall into the same position as we did in the season just past.

10-06-2012, 01:36 AM
[QUOTE=SouthamptonHibs;3258602]

For your sake i hope you are pashed. :drunk:

If u think Stevenson is the way forard u must be pished the lad iz *****...no quality on the ball thats why we r in this mess wi players like him hail hail

10-06-2012, 06:15 AM

It's possible for average players to have couple of decent games which is probably what happened when they broke through. Now though, they've been crap for 2 YEARS at least. If they don't have the mentality to get over a drop in confidence in that amount of time, they're never going to make it.

gegs70
10-06-2012, 07:27 AM
To be fair weve played spoony everywhere......sometimes he needs a move to kickstart his career again. Its not really as if hibs have helped his development.....poor management....no experienced players to helo the young players in the team?

10-06-2012, 07:55 AM
If we let him go what exactly will we miss?

Doesn't tackle, create or score so he can have all the potential in the world but if he's not performing at all for hibs then if we get an offer we'd be crazy not to let him go

Littlest Hobo
10-06-2012, 09:51 AM

This is the attitude I'd thought most Hibs supporters would take after the biggest humiliation of our long history.
But nope, some are still quite happy with mediocrity

10-06-2012, 10:09 AM
This is the attitude I'd thought most Hibs supporters would take after the biggest humiliation of our long history.

Wotherspoon was in the team when we finished 4th out best finish
Since what 2006? If you put good players around some good youngsters like spoony we can be more than mediocre! Why is it that we are soooo quick to right players off? Vaz Te and Rankin are two good examples of players we slated, said were pi$h and 'not hibs class' and look at them now. Why do we always need that scapegoat at this club? Every year theirs one!

10-06-2012, 10:19 AM
If Wotherspoon had any quality about him we would've seen it by now. Mediocre like Stevenson who we now believe is quality due to how far we have fallen.

Last season should have been a wake up call that no one in that squad has the level of quality needed for a club like Hibernian, and I wouldn't shed a tear if Fenlon got rid of the lot and brought in an entire new team. Obviously that's unrealistic over one summer but no one who played a part in Hibs finishing 11th should be safe.

Kris1875
10-06-2012, 10:30 AM
Personally I think spoony's massive loss of form has been aided by the manager changes and the constant turnover of players which in turn means he has to play all over the pitch . I'm not saying that he isn't to blame for any of it but these things can't of helped his development .

I'm not saying he should stay or go , but if paddy wants him we must get behind the laddie and if it's the latter then let's wish him well . Either way the constant slating of our players gets beyond a joke at times , justified or not . Don't get me wrong I'd rather it was done on here than at ER . I'm not saying we shouldn't let the players know we're not happy and I know it's not exactly been easy to watch the last few years but lets hope we get a good few players in that will bring out the best in the ones who remain .

10-06-2012, 10:39 AM

I agree with Beefster as welll, I would guess that few would disagree with his point. However there is a difference between getting tougher etc etc and sneeringly dismissing the guys entire Hibs career as you have done. Your assessment is that he left you with no good memories of his time here. I remember when he first broke in to the team. One of the few pleasures we get following Hibs is seeing young guys come up through the ranks and making it to the first team. Wotherspoon looked to have what it takes it and turned in more than a few decent performances. That stuck in my memory. I would also argue that his introduction as a sub during the semi final against Aberdeen was the turning point of the game. Again, memorable. Yes, we need to get tougher, but if that means trashing absolutely everything about our players I guess I am the weakest link. I wouldn't single Wotherspoon out either. Apart from a one or two there can be no players from last season who genuinely think they made a case to still be at the club. Just because people may disagree with you on one point doesn't mean you can dismiss them by claiming they are happy with mediocrity. I don't know one Hibs fan who falls in to that category.

GuernseyHibby
10-06-2012, 10:49 AM
I've been trying to forget all about all things Hibs for past few weeks, hoping enthusiasm will come back - preferably from movements in transfer market. But, I have to say, I really hope this isn't the start of things.
We have to face facts - the only way we're going to get decent players in our squad these days is to create them ourselves - Spoony (but more so Hanlon and Stevenson) are the only ones we have that has shown - however briefly - they can cut it in the SPL.
If this is allowed to happen this is just lower level Brown, Fletcher, Thomson, Whittaker, Agathe, Riordan, O'Connor, Murray, Stokes - I'm sure I've missed plenty.
And, I'm afraid, we are lower level now - only chance of becoming top 6 again is to get consistent 2 a year good youth prospects.

If a strong prospect comes out of youth team in his position, challenge him and play him ahead of Spoony - only if he proves to be a better prospect should we actively look to ship him out.
Having said that, if the manager thinks what's being offered can be invested in youth thats better (or a guaranteed first teamer) then I'd support him, but I don't see it.

10-06-2012, 11:06 AM
Since what 2006? If you put good players around some good youngsters like spoony we can be more than mediocre! Why is it that we are soooo quick to right players off? Vaz Te and Rankin are two good examples of players we slated, said were pi$h and 'not hibs class' and look at them now. Why do we always need that scapegoat at this club? Every year theirs one!

We??????

10-06-2012, 11:36 AM

Not quite but I get your point.

Oh how I yearn for those happy days when all was peace, tranquility and contentment on this board. :greengrin

10-06-2012, 11:59 AM
Ultimately, he's a young guy, when he came into a team on form, with the fans on a high he did well. Expecting him to shine amongst a cast of no hopers not willing to put in a shift is probably asking too much.

Hes a decent player, if we out together a decent side this summer I'm sure he'd do well again.

Stuarty27
10-06-2012, 03:34 PM
Does Wotherspoon have the same agent as Ryan Flynn?

Littlest Hobo
10-06-2012, 08:08 PM
I agree with Beefster as welll, I would guess that few would disagree with his point. However there is a difference between getting tougher etc etc and sneeringly dismissing the guys entire Hibs career as you have done. Your assessment is that he left you with no good memories of his time here. I remember when he first broke in to the team. One of the few pleasures we get following Hibs is seeing young guys come up through the ranks and making it to the first team. Wotherspoon looked to have what it takes it and turned in more than a few decent performances. That stuck in my memory. I would also argue that his introduction as a sub during the semi final against Aberdeen was the turning point of the game. Again, memorable. Yes, we need to get tougher, but if that means trashing absolutely everything about our players I guess I am the weakest link. I wouldn't single Wotherspoon out either. Apart from a one or two there can be no players from last season who genuinely think they made a case to still be at the club. Just because people may disagree with you on one point doesn't mean you can dismiss them by claiming they are happy with mediocrity. I don't know one Hibs fan who falls in to that category.

Can you remind me of those golden DW moments you remember?

He had a few good games at right mid, he then got messed around by Yogi.

He's had plenty opportunity in the last two and a half years to prove he his potential and hadn't grasped that opportunity.

How long do you want to give him?

As for turning the game against Aberdeen, I don't think so.

Infact had he looked up and seen the cross field pass that was on, we could have won much more comfortably.

He never looked up, Aberdeen piled on the pressure and could have equalised in their jury time.

10-06-2012, 08:09 PM
Removed by Admin

I would delete that unless it is confirmed

10-06-2012, 08:17 PM

Scoring on his debut, and having an amazing first 6 months, everyone thought he would go on to be a star. I even thought he looked better than any of the 'golden generation' at one point. He used to go past players with ease, and was quite often on soccer AM with his skill.

Imo that shows to me he is a very good player, he just needs the confidence and players around him to do it.

10-06-2012, 08:21 PM

He had a few good games at right mid, he then got messed around by Yogi.

He's had plenty opportunity in the last two and a half years to prove he his potential and hadn't grasped that opportunity.

How long do you want to give him?

As for turning the game against Aberdeen, I don't think so.

Infact had he looked up and seen the cross field pass that was on, we could have won much more comfortably.

He never looked up, Aberdeen piled on the pressure and could have equalised in their jury time.

This post just proves the point that you are spectacularly missing. If you want to aggressively dismiss the guys entire Hibs career in order to make yourself feel better then go ahead. Some people only feel good about themselves whilst belittling others so fill your boots.
Where have I said he should be given more time? You are so intent on trashing everything about the guy that you seem to be seeing things that I haven't posted on this thread.

10-06-2012, 08:36 PM
Scoring on his debut, and having an amazing first 6 months, everyone thought he would go on to be a star. I even thought he looked better than any of the 'golden generation' at one point. He used to go past players with ease, and was quite often on soccer AM with his skill.

Imo that shows to me he is a very good player, he just needs the confidence and players around him to do it.

100% with you mate

10-06-2012, 08:52 PM

...WentToMowAnSPL
10-06-2012, 09:00 PM

What really annoys me is that Steven Whittaker, Scott Brown, Derrick Riordan (apart from a short spell as the best finisher on the bench) all played their best football either at HIBS or for Scotland U-21 or Full team (not under Levein obviously)... and definately not for their destined club sides ...

I remember Whitty playing keepy uppy down the line when playing for the Scotland Under 21's a la Jim Baxter

Does anyone else remember the second time we beat Rangers 3-0 when Deek passed to GOC the full width of the pitch for him to score or is my memory playing tricks on me :-)

10-06-2012, 09:02 PM

10-06-2012, 09:03 PM
What really annoys me is that Steven Whittaker, Scott Brown, Derrick Riordan (apart from a short spell as the best finisher on the bench) all played their best football either at HIBS or for Scotland U-21 or Full team (not under Levein obviously)... and definately not for their destined club sides ...

I remember Whitty playing keepy uppy down the line when playing for the Scotland Under 21's a la Jim Baxter

Does anyone else remember the second time we beat Rangers 3-0 when Deek passed to GOC the full width of the pitch for him to score or is my memory playing tricks on me :-)

Nah i think he took an amazing touch and played an amazing through ball to Killen. Was fantastic play never the less!

10-06-2012, 09:08 PM

Total gash, your idea to an amazing 6 months must be totally different to mine. He did well for a young guy coming in but sadly 2 years down the line he's not progressed.

He was on soceram once as far as I rem
ember for his we turn against them.

If you want to persevere with players like this then we are in exactly the state and league position that you will expect.

Rid ourselves of this mediocer attitude as a club and us fans and expect better, he is one step in the direction of getting rid of players that arnt good enough on his previous showings. I won't lose sleep over people that play for half or a quarter ot a season ala garry oc let alont justify a guy who's not good enough to even make the bench most weeks.

Move on sentiments aside. We need to go forward as a club.

10-06-2012, 09:34 PM
I like Wotherspoon, hope for his sake that he gets a move and proves numpties on here wrong.as being a numpty on here, I hope you are totally correct and he gets his big move sooner rather than later.

10-06-2012, 09:38 PM
Total gash, your idea to an amazing 6 months must be totally different to mine. He did well for a young guy coming in but sadly 2 years down the line he's not progressed.

He was on soceram once as far as I rem
ember for his we turn against them.

If you want to persevere with players like this then we are in exactly the state and league position that you will expect.

Rid ourselves of this mediocer attitude as a club and us fans and expect better, he is one step in the direction of getting rid of players that arnt good enough on his previous showings. I won't lose sleep over people that play for half or a quarter ot a season ala garry oc let alont justify a guy who's not good enough to even make the bench most weeks.

Move on sentiments aside. We need to go forward as a club.

His first 6 months were amazing, you must have a lapsed memory of that time.

Littlest Hobo
10-06-2012, 09:43 PM
This post just proves the point that you are spectacularly missing. If you want to aggressively dismiss the guys entire Hibs career in order to make yourself feel better then go ahead. Some people only feel good about themselves whilst belittling others so fill your boots.
Where have I said he should be given more time? You are so intent on trashing everything about the guy that you seem to be seeing things that I haven't posted on this thread.

I think what you missed is my reply to your comment regards the Aberdeen game, nothing in your post responds to that.

Another thing, I don't need to come on here to belittle players to make myself feel better.

I express my opinion of them, and whether I think their good enough to play the club I support.

You need to suck that opinion up and either agree or disagree with that opinion. What's it to be?

10-06-2012, 09:44 PM
His first 6 months were amazing, you must have a lapsed memory of that time.

Unbelievable, if that's your idea of an amazing performance from a player let alone a hibs player your much more content with where we currently are than I am.

He's never been amazing or near I'd say never will be. Latapy amazing sauzee amazing, wotherspoon, na wouldn't even be considered as a half decent player on his hibs career so far.

10-06-2012, 09:45 PM

As for Hanlon, it's a similar story. He's young and, yes, he makes some mistakes but overall, he's a good player. I think he'll end up in the English Premiership, personally. I see him in the Gary Caldwell mould. Mind you, Caldwell wasn't good enough for Hibs either, was he?I share your sentiments. Caldwell, imho when asked to play at LB in the SC semi against that mob, confirmed my suspicions by his performance that day, which I really mean is,m he is pish and well overated and I still cant understand why he gets a game for the national team. it's all about opinions though, I suppose. and, oh, haud oan,..... we definately dinnae need good young players that continually make mistakes in crucial positions, especially the type of player that seems to have been a potentially good player for several seasons now, yet can only rise to the occasion occasionaly, and only if he has a hardened pro next to him. time he went.

10-06-2012, 09:47 PM

Agree with this.

Not sure what's happened to D, but he's certainly went backwards these past 2 years. He's filled out, but in doing so he's lost a bit of his sharpness. I'm not sure if he's just naturally filled out or if he's been told to hit the weights, but personally, I'd rather see the slim, sharp confident Wotherspoon than the rather clumsy, slower player that we see playing for us today. The ablity is still there, I'd like to see him nail down one position and regain his sharpness.

Edit- Just thought I'd add this up for those who have memory loss.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Hd9JuDN1P_8

Even admiration from a 'Well fan in the comments below.

10-06-2012, 09:53 PM
Unbelievable, if that's your idea of an amazing performance from a player let alone a hibs player your much more content with where we currently are than I am.

He's never been amazing or near I'd say never will be. Latapy amazing sauzee amazing, wotherspoon, na wouldn't even be considered as a half decent player on his hibs career so far.

There was games where he would get the ball in defence, run the length of the pitch going past players as if they weren't there. Yeah he could've had a better finishing product, but the performances were amazing.

How is this saying i am content with 11th, when at the time of these performances we were at the top of the league???

10-06-2012, 09:55 PM

Latapy amazing, Sauzee amazing - yes and we saw them both towards the end of the their great careers. Wotherspoon is a bairn. Please don't make stupid comparisons.

10-06-2012, 09:58 PM

I think the fans also need to get right behind him (and the side). Confidence then breeds.thats the stuff that breeds confidence. play well, get beat 3 nil, gaun yersel , that's the business.!

10-06-2012, 09:59 PM
Latapy amazing, Sauzee amazing - yes and we saw them both towards the end of the their great careers. Wotherspoon is a bairn. Please don't make stupid comparisons.

Stupid comparisons, away you go, ok well how about kenny miller, kt, brooney witts, is that a bit more early in their careers for you?

Enlighten me.

10-06-2012, 10:00 PM
Dunno about that, who do you mean? I think it's rare for SPL sides, outwith the old firm, to have decent defenders.aw ma f/kin god

10-06-2012, 10:04 PM
There was games where he would get the ball in defence, run the length of the pitch going past players as if they weren't there. Yeah he could've had a better finishing product, but the performances were amazing.

How is this saying i am content with 11th, when at the time of these performances we were at the top of the league???

We have differences on what we define as amazing fraze,
Imo how people can make such a case for a player that can't even make the bench a lot of weeks is worrying, we need to move on and stop bwing sentimental and hoping ayers will come good.

10-06-2012, 10:06 PM
We have differences on what we define as amazing fraze,
Imo how people can make such a case for a player that can't even make the bench a lot of weeks is worrying, we need to move on and stop bwing sentimental and hoping ayers will come good.

If you read my posts earlier in the thread, my reason for wanting him to stay is because i think he would come good with a run in the team at CM, where he has played so well for Scotland U21s. Opinions are what makes a forum a forum though!

10-06-2012, 10:08 PM

Couldn't have put it better myself :aok:

Stupid comparisons, away you go, ok well how about kenny miller, kt, brooney witts, is that a bit more early in their careers for you?

Enlighten me.

Happy to enlighten you.
If you had made the comparison with Spoony and 'the golden generation' players, I probably wouldn't have replied. You actually compared him with two of our greatest talents.

I think latching on to the word amazing might be a wee bit unfair on Fraze. I think we get the sentiment of his post, we all use superlatives sometimes when we shouldn't.

10-06-2012, 10:12 PM

What's even sadder is the sheer lack of young talent being developed and built at Hibs.sorry, but cant agree with you other than the Sproule thing. he was signed for a year/naw.? that was as a quick fix, which has not worked out.Wotherspoon has had a lot of chances over the last 2 years to prove himself to 3 managers. he never took those chances and hardly endeared himself to the fans (none near me anyway).he runs about, and if he gets the ball, he looks like it's a hot tattie. that's all I see in him.

10-06-2012, 10:22 PM
I still think Sproule has something to offer. I'm probably alone in that, I realise. However, of the 2-3 players who actually played liked they cared in the final, he was one.

11-06-2012, 08:16 AM

Amazing may be pushing it a tad, but in those 6 months he showed bags of promise and was a player that excited the fans. He was being raved about on here and the Bounce, touted as Hibs' next big thing. PLayers don't suddenle lose talent they've got - especially young laddies - they just need quality and experience to play alongside. This is something that we have been severely lacking of late and as a result it has meant that Wotherspoon and Booth weren't able to express themselves on the pitch and show us all what we know they're capable of.

11-06-2012, 08:23 AM
If we get offered any sort of decent money for him, then I imagine we will sell (as would most SPL clubs). I still think theres potential there, he was excellent when he first broke through and he seems to do okay for the U21s, but he has been poor for us recently. He has suffered due to his versatility, being shunted all over the pitch hasnt done him any favours and the constant changing of managers cant have helped. Maybe a year playing in a settled position would help him get back on form, and with a better team around him he might start to improve, but hes been more of a fringe player under Fenlon so far, so I have my doubts that will happen.

11-06-2012, 08:39 AM
On the eighth page of a thread with plenty posts giving it the "go on, I dare ya, tell us something good he did" it's perhaps specifically worth linking to the Soccer AM clip where he lures Mikey Mikey into the PBS wall (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VBQvgKZL5QQ).

To those wondering whether he's tried to bulk up or just filled out naturally, I can exclusively reveal that he's been a frequent visitor to the gym at Newhaven Harbour.

11-06-2012, 08:43 AM
On the eighth page of a thread with plenty posts giving it the "go on, I dare ya, tell us something good he did" it's perhaps specifically worth linking to the Soccer AM clip where he lures Mikey Mikey into the PBS wall (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VBQvgKZL5QQ).

To those wondering whether he's tried to bulk up or just filled out naturally, I can exclusively reveal that he's been a frequent visitor to the gym at Newhaven Harbour.

Yep, he had had the odd moment across 3 years.

I think perhaps some of us want a wee bit more than the odd moment?

11-06-2012, 08:50 AM
I think perhaps some of us want a wee bit more than the odd moment?

Indeed but, as others have implied, the whole club has been such a shambles over the last couple of years that it's hard (for me at least) to conclude that players with definite talent like Spoony are the cause rather than effect. I'm not sure that a 'complete new team' has ever been tried anywhere and worked, and if only a few are to stay I'm gobsmacked that Ivan's being mentioned as one of them. The whole argument that he and Lewis should be the core of a new beginning simply because they 'care' is bafflingly woeful.

11-06-2012, 10:25 AM
I still think Sproule has something to offer. I'm probably alone in that, I realise. However, of the 2-3 players who actually played liked they cared in the final, he was one.

I have something to offer because I care but no-one would have me in the side even if the only alternative was taking your pick from those who'd forgotten their PE kit at the school for amputees.

11-06-2012, 11:23 AM
I have something to offer because I care but no-one would have me in the side even if the only alternative was taking your pick from those who'd forgotten their PE kit at the school for amputees.

From that it sounds as if you have something to offer only in the specific, eccentric, narrow, unusual sense of nothing to offer. Can you look as if you're tryng, though, or do you wear any of your internal organs on your sleeve? If so, you're in!

11-06-2012, 12:12 PM

Sounds like you are Ivan Sproule on a motorbike!

11-06-2012, 12:37 PM

He gave nothing all season and contributed to how poor we were.

Unless he is no more than a squad player possibly a tactical substitute we will continue to struggle.

Would be delighted to see him move on.

11-06-2012, 04:59 PM

Unless he is no more than a squad player possibly a tactical substitute we will continue to struggle.

I'm inclined to agree with that. We need better, simple as. As harsh as it may be on Wotherspoon, who undoubtedly showed potential, we need more than one or two moments a season from our players.

We've been bottom 6 for two seasons with Wotherspoon in the side, and while he's in no way solely responsible for that, he hasn't stepped up to the mark and made a difference in nearly enough games to warrant digging our heels in to keep a hold of him.

There's no room for sentiment at Hibs this summer, we have to be about doing what's right for the club.

Kris1875
11-06-2012, 05:24 PM
I don't think fenlon does sentiment to be fair but I think he will only sell spoony if it's the right deal for us or if there's money to get in someone better . Though I think that seeing as its a whole new team we require then players such as sproule or spoony will have to stay due to the fact we don't or won't be given the cash to replace everyone .

11-06-2012, 08:28 PM
Wotherspoon looked really good when he first came in to the team but unfortunately he never progressed in the way we all hoped that he would. The last few years have been far from the best circumstances for a young player to flourish though and perhaps he might have done a lot better if he was a few years older and came through the ranks under Mowbray.

I think we should keep him purely because we can't replace an entire squad and it makes financial sense to keep the players with some time left on their contract. He's a decent player that is good enough for a transitional squad, nothing more. He's young enough 'have potential' although the amount of potential is debatable. Way I see it is that anyone who couldn't get a regular game in last seasons team can't be all the special.

If he does leave then all the best to him. Can't remember him giving anything other than his best and, despite not being a great player, he's made a decent contribution over the last few seasons.

12-06-2012, 12:55 PM
I'm inclined to agree with that. We need better, simple as. As harsh as it may be on Wotherspoon, who undoubtedly showed potential, we need more than one or two moments a season from our players.

We've been bottom 6 for two seasons with Wotherspoon in the side, and while he's in no way solely responsible for that, he hasn't stepped up to the mark and made a difference in nearly enough games to warrant digging our heels in to keep a hold of him.

There's no room for sentiment at Hibs this summer, we have to be about doing what's right for the club.

Was he not talking about Ivan? :greengrin

12-06-2012, 01:08 PM
Wotherspoon looked really good when he first came in to the team but unfortunately he never progressed in the way we all hoped that he would. The last few years have been far from the best circumstances for a young player to flourish though and perhaps he might have done a lot better if he was a few years older and came through the ranks under Mowbray.

I think we should keep him purely because we can't replace an entire squad and it makes financial sense to keep the players with some time left on their contract. He's a decent player that is good enough for a transitional squad, nothing more. He's young enough 'have potential' although the amount of potential is debatable. Way I see it is that anyone who couldn't get a regular game in last seasons team can't be all the special.

If he does leave then all the best to him. Can't remember him giving anything other than his best and, despite not being a great player, he's made a decent contribution over the last few seasons.

I'd quite happily change an entire squad if they were able to go.

It's not as if it could make matters worse.

12-06-2012, 08:31 PM
I'd quite happily change an entire squad if they were able to go.

It's not as if it could make matters worse.

We would all hope not but our scouts haven't had a great track record in recent seasons. Combine that with a tight budget and the rebuilding process is going to take a while. Hopefully this time we'll keep a manager long enough to see it through.

However I agree the squad needs changed significantly and quickly.

12-06-2012, 08:37 PM

Pat hopefully sees it similar.

12-06-2012, 08:46 PM

Pat hopefully sees it similar.

agreed

13-06-2012, 07:45 AM

We would all hope not but our scouts haven't had a great track record in recent seasons. Combine that with a tight budget and the rebuilding process is going to take a while. Hopefully this time we'll keep a manager long enough to see it through.

However I agree the squad needs changed significantly and quickly.

We have scouts?!?!? :wink: :greengrin

JennaFletcher
13-06-2012, 09:15 PM
I remember when Wotherspoon hit the crossbar against Hearts at Tynecastle, that was the last game I saw him play where I thought 'ooh, might be something there!'

Since then, I've seen no evidence of him stepping up to the plate. I would not care at all if he left but wish him all the best with his future club(s) should he go.

You just need to ask yourself, if he went, would he be missed in the team?

14-06-2012, 07:09 AM
First time I saw D playing I thought he would never make it, he was voted man of the match. I decided there and then not to comment ever again on how good or not someone is as I obviously did not have a clue. I think he has improved since the first time I saw him but whether his level is Hibs or not will in my opinion be dependent upon who Pat signs. Our level might not be very high. :wink:

14-06-2012, 07:16 AM
Wotherspoon is an enigma to me, I think he has real footballing talent and he had the freshness and confidence of youth, but all that seems to have gone, and the promise in evidence at the start of his playing time at ER has not materialised either for some reason.

I think perhaps he needed someone to guide him and help him develop further - not sure we have anyone at the club capable of bringing on our young players.