Charlie Brooker on Twitter:

'Why is Kylie dressed as the cop from the Village People?'

04-06-2012, 09:05 PM
Why is stevie wonder singing happy birthday

04-06-2012, 09:08 PM
Why is stevie wonder singing happy birthday

For the Queen's official birthday, maybe?

04-06-2012, 09:11 PM
You'd think with all her cash, servants, houses, horses etc etc the Queen could crack a smile every now and then.

Every time she's out and about she just looks ****ing miserable.

04-06-2012, 09:29 PM
You'd think with all her cash, servants, houses, horses etc etc the Queen could crack a smile every now and then.

Living off the sweat from the working mans brow must be harder than it looks :agree:

04-06-2012, 09:30 PM

She might be worried about Philip, apparently he was rushed to hospital earlier with a bladder infection. I bet she would rather be elsewhere.

04-06-2012, 09:30 PM
I really hope McCartney cranks out the Frog Chorus

04-06-2012, 09:31 PM
She might be worried about Philip, apparently he was rushed to hospital earlier with a bladder infection. I bet she would rather be elsewhere.

It's hardly a one off though.

Can't remember seeing her smile since about 1995.

04-06-2012, 09:31 PM

Phil had the right idea.

"Nurses or Robbie freakin Williams? You tell me....."

04-06-2012, 09:36 PM

She looks like a corgi's just shat in her handbag.

On a related note, what is the meaning of a 'right royal'? ive heard it loads recently. A right royal day

04-06-2012, 09:37 PM
It's hardly a one off though.

Can't remember seeing her smile since about 1995.

Ah ken ! :greengrin

Phil had the right idea.

"Nurses or Robbie freakin Williams? You tell me....."

Ah ken ! :greengrin

04-06-2012, 09:39 PM

On a related note, what is the meaning of a 'right royal'? ive heard it loads recently. A right royal day

No idea, but its a right royal pain in the erse.

04-06-2012, 09:40 PM
The display in front of Buckingham Palace during the Madness performance was pretty impressive.

04-06-2012, 09:47 PM
Cheryl Cole going for the old John Terry there.

04-06-2012, 09:49 PM
The fireworks were barry !

04-06-2012, 10:07 PM
Let's all celebrate inherited power and the fact we're all considered "subjects".

Yay!

04-06-2012, 10:11 PM
Let's all celebrate inherited power and the fact we're all considered "subjects".

Yay!

Whilst busloads of unemployed people were bussed to London to steward the events. Sleeping under a bridge, forced to work through the rain without adequate clothing, being made to change in public and having no access to toilet facilities for 24 hours.

Britain in the 21st century. Still the greatest country in the world.

04-06-2012, 10:16 PM
Whilst busloads of unemployed people were bussed to London to steward the events. Sleeping under a bridge, forced to work through the rain without adequate clothing, being made to change in public and having no access to toilet facilities for 24 hours.

So what do you think the ranks of the mass unemployed are fit to do? ..........Captains of industry?, shakers and movers? Lords of the realm?

04-06-2012, 10:23 PM
No idea, but its a right royal pain in the erse.
:not worth:not worth:not worth:not worth:not worth:not worth:not worth:not worth

I've kept well away from the thing, or at least tried to until it took over all social networking. If the Huns have a fundraising concert, I get the impression that it would pretty much sound like tonight.

04-06-2012, 10:29 PM
So what do you think the ranks of the mass unemployed are fit to do? ..........Captains of industry?, shakers and movers? Lords of the realm?

What makes you fit to be a lord of the realm or even a member of the royal family?

04-06-2012, 10:36 PM
What makes you fit to be a lord of the realm or even a member of the royal family?

Inbreeding

04-06-2012, 11:14 PM

Aye, I heard about poor Phil. My uncle had a bladder infection once and went a wee bit doolally at the time. This is a common side effect in older people with this complaint, or so I'm told. In the Duke's case I just wondered if anybody would have noticed any difference?

04-06-2012, 11:17 PM

Political position maybe? :wink: :stirrer:

05-06-2012, 01:19 PM
I was down in Carlisle yesterday where they had live bands playing in the town centre for most of the day.

I'm not really a big Royal Family fan, but, it made a pleasant change to see folk wandering about with a smile on their face, generally enjoying themselves.

05-06-2012, 01:28 PM
I was down in Carlisle yesterday where they had live bands playing in the town centre for most of the day.

I'm not really a big Royal Family fan, but, it made a pleasant change to see folk wandering about with a smile on their face, generally enjoying themselves.

For me thats what its all been about, the city centres and town centres have been a bit more colourful and there has been a few parties out our way. Whether you like the Royals or not its something that people enjoyed. Better that than nothing going on at all IMO

05-06-2012, 03:37 PM
At a cost to the economy of about £2.3billion in lost business on each of the 2 extra bank holidays and a further bill of about £3.5M to the London economy for road closures etc that's a hell of an expense to see folk have a smile on their face.

At least we didn't have to foot the full bill this time I suppose.

05-06-2012, 04:29 PM
At a cost to the economy of about £2.3billion in lost business on each of the 2 extra bank holidays and a further bill of about £3.5M to the London economy for road closures etc that's a hell of an expense to see folk have a smile on their face.

Wasn't it one extra holiday? ie today. Yesterday was the usual English May Bank Holiday, shifted back a week. It wasn't a holiday in Edinburgh.

05-06-2012, 04:31 PM

Was it two extra bank holidays or just one? Either way I ain't going to complain about workers getting extra days off.:greengrin I am guessing the road closure costs etc would have been offset partly by the extra business being done by vendors, restaraunts, taxis etc.

I am a republican, the whole concept of being born in to a position of power is indefensible in my book. But that puts me firmly in the minority in this country. It is good to see people party. We're a miserable enough nation at the best of times. Letting Cliff Richard sing on national television again though was maybe taking things a bit to far.

05-06-2012, 05:22 PM

£2.3 billion. BILLION. On each day????

Surely not. That seems an absurd sum. You mean on any given Monday/Tuesday in June the UK economy is usually turning over £2.3 billion????

Should have this national deficit malarkey all wrapped up by the start of the Euros at that rate...........

05-06-2012, 05:53 PM
£2.3 billion. BILLION. On each day????

Surely not. That seems an absurd sum. You mean on any given Monday/Tuesday in June the UK economy is usually turning over £2.3 billion????

Should have this national deficit malarkey all wrapped up by the start of the Euros at that rate...........

That's the cost according to 'The Centre for Economics and Business Research'. An average years bank holidays cost us £19BN according to them. The Department for Culture, Media and Sport values the loss at a minuscule £1.2BN though so its all good.

05-06-2012, 06:12 PM

The British empire didn't just happen you know. Its what made Britain Great. Time to get these lazy wasters to do something constructive for a change dontcha know.:rolleyes:

05-06-2012, 08:13 PM
That is some eye watering figures posted as to the cost to the economy .

I know there have been a few street partys in Edinburgh , im guessing only in affluent areas ?

Come 25 miles west and its a different world, lots of houses decked out in the red , white and blue and plenty of boozers the same, its like one last knee's up for the orcs before the lights go out.

It really is amazing how different things are 25 miles west, some real eye-openers.

Andy Bee
05-06-2012, 11:29 PM
Aint that an everyday occurance in Staneyburn? :greengrin

06-06-2012, 06:29 PM
What an establishment sell-out McCartney is. John Lennon must be turning in his grave.

I avoided as much of the whole charade as possible.

06-06-2012, 07:05 PM
What a fabulous four day weekend I had in England, the celebrations were wonderful GSTQ

07-06-2012, 05:52 AM
What an establishment sell-out McCartney is. John Lennon must be turning in his grave.

I avoided as much of the whole charade as possible.

:agree:I was thinking the same thing. Then again, Iggy Pop now does ads for car insurance so selling out your anti-establishment principles is clearly just the way to go :dunno:

07-06-2012, 06:24 PM
:agree:I was thinking the same thing. Then again, Iggy Pop now does ads for car insurance so selling out your anti-establishment principles is clearly just the way to go :dunno:

Aye, Jonny Rotten selling butter :greengrin

Talk is cheap. It was the money that mattered to them all along.

HKhibby
08-06-2012, 05:33 PM

But you'll still take the 2 Public Holidays and be paid for it?...who is we footing the bill?...poor hard done by Scotland again? oh those nasty English with their Queen and all that clap trap, the Royal family bring more revenue for the whole of the U.K. in one year put together without the majority realising it, like it or not....than business could generate in 5 years in Scotland or the North of England for that matter, talk about British when you want to be!...oh i forgot your not British

08-06-2012, 05:35 PM
But you'll still take the 2 Public Holidays and be paid for it?...who is we footing the bill?...poor hard done by Scotland again? oh those nasty English with their Queen and all that clap trap, the Royal family bring more revenue for the whole of the U.K. in one year put together without the majority realising it, like it or not....than business could generate in 5 years in Scotland or the North of England for that matter, talk about British when you want to be!...oh i forgot your not British

You are Kelvin Mackenzie, aren't you?

08-06-2012, 06:21 PM

I love your posts. I forget that people like you exist :aok:

08-06-2012, 07:37 PM
Was Elton John out of his box or has he just developed a lisp? He couldn't pronounce his words in "I'm Still Standing" and then he forgot to sing "Candle in the Wind".

08-06-2012, 10:35 PM

Right let's see your figures then! Let's do the maths, though how anyone can actually quantify the amount of revenue the Royal family actually generates will be interesting to see. What can be quantified is the cost to the taxpayer of maintaining the Royal family! I eagerly await your figures. And don't forget I'm English!

10-06-2012, 08:06 PM
Right let's see your figures then! Let's do the maths, though how anyone can actually quantify the amount of revenue the Royal family actually generates will be interesting to see. What can be quantified is the cost to the taxpayer of maintaining the Royal family! I eagerly await your figures.

Agreed. I've said this to folk before - the only way we'd know the difference in tourism with/without them is by getting rid off them.

I reckon we'd get an increase in tourism if we could say see that big building over there that's where the Royal Family lived until we ..... (insert your preferred way of getting rid).

10-06-2012, 08:13 PM

Your attempts to portray every other post on here as being anti- English is stark raving bonkers.

10-06-2012, 08:53 PM
Your attempts to portray every other post on here as being anti- English is stark raving bonkers.

Highly amusing though! You can just picture the steam coming out the guys ears as he types.

11-06-2012, 09:32 AM

Aye, Jonny Rotten selling butter :greengrin
Talk is cheap. It was the money that mattered to them all along.

What a load of old rubbish. The money is always all that ever mattered to Lydon. Where did he ever say he'd never do a butter ad?

In the second or first ever Sex Pistols interview their stated aim was to earn as much money as possible by doing as little as they could. People who look down on that are usually the type who've never been hungry or had to worry about were the next penny was coming from.

Most of the "principles" and "rules" of punk were made up after the fact by snotty little would be socialist, posh-boy, journalists who've never had to work in a proper job in their lives.

Lydon did those ads to get money together so he could finance a PIL tour. How is that "selling-out". What is selling out anyway?

James and John can do anything they want, they've been the most contrary people in music business for years - which is part of their entertainment.

11-06-2012, 09:34 AM

Hey, mate. You've got a little bit of something at the corner of your mouth, there - froth or something, get a tissue, over a bit. That's it.

11-06-2012, 06:34 PM

Dunno where all this is coming from!!
I'm Scottish and she's MY queen as well

We've all moved on over recent years and I'm sure I read the SNP are even in favour of the royal family for exactly the the "income" you mention.

Sorry but your post just doesn't feel like modern Scotland...

12-06-2012, 11:23 AM

Oh my God how did it take me so long to see this post?

First off no I didn't take the 2 public holidays, the sector I work in required me.to work, I think I'll get them back at a later date at a time suitable to both myself and business needs.

Secondly your attempts to portray me as some anti English nationalist are laughable. At this moment in time I'll be voting no in the referendum, my girlfriend is English, I holiday in England at least twice a year and I'm half heatedly supporting the English team at Euro 2012. So all in all not guilty on that count.

Thirdly I think you need to research your history. The Queen doesn't exclusively reign over the 'big, bad English'.

Personally I think you should be on the stage. You're absolutely hillarious.

12-06-2012, 11:31 AM
Oh my God how did it take me so long to see this post?

First off no I didn't take the 2 public holidays, the sector I work in required me.to work, I think I'll get them back at a later date at a time suitable to both myself and business needs.

Secondly your attempts to portray me as some anti English nationalist are laughable. At this moment in time I'll be voting no in the referendum, my girlfriend is English, I holiday in England at least twice a year and I'm half heatedly supporting the English team at Euro 2012. So all in all not guilty on that count.

Thirdly I think you need to research your history. The Queen doesn't exclusively reign over the 'big, bad English'.

Personally I think you should be on the stage. You're absolutely hillarious.

Have to say HKhibby does come across as a 2 dimensional character that someone had made up to spout Col Blimp style slogans. I say something Anti-Cameron so he immediately thinks I supported Blair, when nothing could be further from the truth - Blair/Cameron being all the same to me.

What's sad is that these days that kind of polarisation of arguments occurs all too readily these days - your either an Athiest or a Religious Zealot, your either a Nutty Socialist or a Right Wing Racist - a whole load of people seem to have been brought up to think that there are only two sides to an argument and camps have to be set up vehemently arguing against the other.

Anyway. HKhibby, what moustache wax do you use?

17-06-2012, 03:22 AM
Cheryl Cole goiing for the old John Terry there.

I think Terry could have sang better than Cheryl. She was horrendous.