View Full Version : NHC Long-serving foreigners

31-05-2012, 09:13 AM
Was in our local paper last night that Jussi Jaaskelainen has turned down a new contract at Bolton and is looking likely to join West Ham as he wants first team football. I remember seeing his debut for the reserves in November 1997(!) so after nearly 15 years service it got me thinking about any foreign players that have stayed with a club so long. Don't exactly have to go far to find the next candidate as Ricardo Gardner (also just released by Bolton) first signed for Bolton after playing for Jamaica in France 98. Anyone think of any others?

31-05-2012, 09:17 AM
Zanetti at Inter for a good 15+ yrs

31-05-2012, 11:27 AM
Was in our local paper last night that Jussi Jaaskelainen has turned down a new contract at Bolton and is looking likely to join West Ham as he wants first team football. I remember seeing his debut for the reserves in November 1997(!) so after nearly 15 years service it got me thinking about any foreign players that have stayed with a club so long. Don't exactly have to go far to find the next candidate as Ricardo Gardner (also just released by Bolton) first signed for Bolton after playing for Jamaica in France 98. Anyone think of any others?

Not as long but Petr Cech is eight years at Chelsea and I think has just signed another four year contract.

Also, Drogba has eight years at Chelsea too!

31-05-2012, 11:52 AM
Darren FLetcher has been at Man U for 10 years does that count, Shay Given 12 years newcastle, managers wise you have ferguson 26 years, Wenger 16 years and Dario Gradi 24 years,

31-05-2012, 11:53 AM
Paolo Maldini http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Paolo_Maldini#Club_career :not worth

31-05-2012, 11:57 AM
Paolo Maldini http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Paolo_Maldini#Club_career :not worth

I think the point was players who have spent a long time at a team in a different country to that of their birth/nationality, which doesnt apply to maldini.

31-05-2012, 11:57 AM
Darren FLetcher has been at Man U for 10 years does that count, Shay Given 12 years newcastle, managers wise you have ferguson 26 years, Wenger 16 years and Dario Gradi 24 years,

If Fletcher counts, then surely Giggs must also.

31-05-2012, 11:58 AM
I think the point was players who have spent a long time at a team in a different country to that of their birth/nationality, which doesnt apply to maldini.

:doh:

31-05-2012, 11:59 AM
I know he isn't foreign but Tam McCourt has been at Hibs for around 125 years in one guise or other.

Sergio sledge
31-05-2012, 12:03 PM
Ole Gunnar Solskjær was at United for quite a while wasn't he, must have been at least 10 years.

Green Man
31-05-2012, 12:04 PM
Morten Gamst Pedersen has been at Blackburn for 8 years - seems he's one of the few who are sticking around for next season.

Simpson
31-05-2012, 12:09 PM
Del Piero?

31-05-2012, 12:20 PM
Esteban Cambiasso has been with Inter for 8 years now, Schmeichel (sp?) with Man U.

Some folk really dinnae get what foreigner means eh? :greengrin

31-05-2012, 12:25 PM
Brad Friedel was at Blackburn for 8 years.

Mark Schwarzer was at Middlesborough (then a Premier League club) for 11 years.

Suppose all these long serving keepers shows the value of a good one. Clubs don't want to let them go.

darwenhibby
31-05-2012, 12:53 PM

He has only just completed building a massive mansion uo the Horwich Road area, second only to that wealthy sheik moraios boydio who lives in the same area.

I would be suprised at him moving so soon. To what i know he has stayed in the area because his kids are involved in local football accademy's
and universities before heading back to Finland :dunno:

31-05-2012, 01:03 PM
Papac must have been a Castle Greyskull for a few years, Henrick at Darkheid.

31-05-2012, 01:38 PM
He has only just completed building a massive mansion uo the Horwich Road area, second only to that wealthy sheik moraios boydio who lives in the same area.

I would be suprised at him moving so soon. To what i know he has stayed in the area because his kids are involved in local football accademy's
His family being happy in the area was by all accounts the reason why he turned down a move to Sunderland the other year. Not many Premier League options round here any more though! :boo hoo:

Spudster
31-05-2012, 01:41 PM
Del Piero?

:doh:

Simpson
31-05-2012, 01:44 PM
Oh -insert facepalm smilie-

Haha

neilmartinrocks
31-05-2012, 02:12 PM
Joe Baker:greengrin Alex Cropley:greengrin

31-05-2012, 02:14 PM
Messi

neilmartinrocks
31-05-2012, 02:21 PM
luca padolski

31-05-2012, 04:38 PM

I was introduced to that fella a while back, bit of a numpty all he did was talk about this diet he was on, red and green days apparently. Looked uncannily like Frank Cannon or Bobby Ball.

Frogga
31-05-2012, 05:41 PM
Some SPL ones...

Freddie Dindeleux
Andrius Skerla

etc.

31-05-2012, 05:46 PM
RVP 8 Years.

31-05-2012, 07:47 PM
thierry henry. owen hargreaves in germany. jason de vos. russell latapy.

Hibee Ryan
31-05-2012, 08:28 PM
Adam Federci has been at Reading for 7 years and he's an Aussie or there's Kemal Izzet who's been at Colchester for what seems like his whole life sure he's Turkish as well?:confused:

beensaidbefore
31-05-2012, 08:53 PM
Esteban Cambiasso has been with Inter for 8 years now, Schmeichel (sp?) with Man U.

Some folk really dinnae get what foreigner means eh? :greengrin

Iceman1875
31-05-2012, 09:56 PM
Pederson at Blackburn, cech at Chelsea, bergkamp when at arsenal... Although not a foreigner, Matt le tissier at Southampton, wasn't he there for like 18 years?

01-06-2012, 06:49 AM
Pederson at Blackburn, cech at Chelsea, bergkamp when at arsenal... Although not a foreigner, Matt le tissier at Southampton, wasn't he there for like 18 years?

I'm sure le tiss is from isle of whyte/man so I'll give you that omen! Some great shouts of dindeleux and de vos, had completely forgotten they existed!

01-06-2012, 07:04 AM
I'm sure le tiss is from isle of whyte/man so I'll give you that omen! Some great shouts of dindeleux and de vos, had completely forgotten they existed!

Le Tissier from Channel Island. Jersey I think.

01-06-2012, 08:11 AM

Guernsey. I played against his wee brother.:agree:

01-06-2012, 11:17 PM

Graham Le Saux was from Jersey.

01-06-2012, 11:50 PM
luca padolski

Did he not play for Bayern though :confused:.

Roberto Carlos was at Madrid for over 10 years and Hugo Sanchez also done 7 years for Real.

HibeeN
02-06-2012, 12:01 AM
Did he not play for Bayern though :confused:.

Roberto Carlos was at Madrid for over 10 years and Hugo Sanchez also done 7 years for Real.

Yep, he went to Bayern for a couple of years. Not sure I'd even count him as a foreigner, seeing as he's lived in Germany since he was 2 years old.

02-06-2012, 12:13 AM
Ivan Cordoba must have been at Inter for a while. Well over 10 years at least.

02-06-2012, 12:42 AM
Jarko Wiss - a lifetime at Hibs. (well, it seemed like it anyways!)

02-06-2012, 11:18 AM
Who was the longest serving foreigner to play for Hibs?

03-06-2012, 06:48 AM
Who was the longest serving foreigner to play for Hibs?

Is Canadia a separate country yet, or still officially part of England? If that counts as foreign, Mountie "Paul" Fenwick might be one of the longer at 4 years.

HibeeSince85
03-06-2012, 08:47 AM
Is Canadia a separate country yet, or still officially part of England? If that counts as foreign, Mountie "Paul" Fenwick might be one of the longer at 4 years.

Colgan?

Irish and with us 3/4 year.

vanNISHtelroy
03-06-2012, 10:53 AM
Some SPL ones...
Freddie Dindeleux

Would have loved to see Freddie stay for longer than the six years he was here, one of my favourite killie players in my time watching them....if Pasca (another of my favourite players) sees out his new three year deal he'll pass that with 7years.

Think Pasca is going back to Italy after that though cos he wants his son to start school there.

03-06-2012, 04:29 PM

Add everything together and Mixu done more than 4 years.

VickMackie
03-06-2012, 05:22 PM
Ivan Cordoba must have been at Inter for a while. Well over 10 years at least.

How long was Recoba there?

What about the forward that was at Inter as well? South American, begins with C I think.

03-06-2012, 05:30 PM
Add everything together and Mixu done more than 4 years.

1998-2001 and 2002-2003, non?

duffers
03-06-2012, 05:42 PM
Looks like he's off now but how long has dirk kuyt been at Liverpool?

HibeeSince85
03-06-2012, 05:45 PM
Looks like he's off now but how long has dirk kuyt been at Liverpool?

5 year I think.

Evra at Utd will probably make his testimonial year.

03-06-2012, 05:49 PM
5 year I think.

Evra at Utd will probably make his testimonial year.

6 years.

Evra hasn't been there 10 years, he signed with vidic IIRC

HibeeSince85
03-06-2012, 05:50 PM
6 years.

Evra hasn't been there 10 years, he signed with vidic IIRC

I know that, I meant he'll be there to see his testimonial:wink:

03-06-2012, 05:51 PM
I know that, I meant he'll be there to see his testimonial:wink:

Oh, sorry! Get you now!

HibeeSince85
03-06-2012, 05:54 PM
Oh, sorry! Get you now!

Nae bother, if he signed with Vidic then he's another one, depending on how he comes back from injury.

Tim Cahill & Mikel Arteta are another 2 for the list, not at one club solely but played over here for years. Cahill especially!

03-06-2012, 07:38 PM
How long was Recoba there?

What about the forward that was at Inter as well? South American, begins with C I think.

Recoba would have been over 10 as well but he's had a few loan deals so not quite sure. I remember seeing his debut for Inter. He came off the bench and scored 2 stormers. Looked as if he was going to go on and become one of the greatest. Shame it didn't work out that way.
Can't think who the forward is that starts with C that would be there a while.
If we're having loan deals then Zemmama could be in the running for our longest.

1998-2001 and 2002-2003, non?

Throw in his time as manager.

03-06-2012, 07:50 PM
Throw in his time as manager.

Well in that case I'll bid Fewgie at Manchester U - 26 years.