View Full Version : Euro 2012 (merged)

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

16-05-2012, 10:41 AM
Euro Fantasy league feel free to join, just a bit of fun to keep us Scots interested. League code is 45152-10743 :thumbsup:

http://en.euro2012fantasy.uefa.com/

TamHibs
16-05-2012, 11:44 PM
Anyone interested in playing in this years fantasy euro tournament - http://en.euro2012fantasy.uefa.com/

League is 54832-13043

20-05-2012, 04:04 PM
Euro Fantasy league feel free to join, just a bit of fun to keep us Scots interested. League code is 45152-10743 :thumbsup:

http://en.euro2012fantasy.uefa.com/

23 entered so far

Macaroon
25-05-2012, 11:19 AM
Sorry if this has been started elsewhere or if someone else has done similar. I couldn't find any threads. If there is already one started then please close this thread.

Thought it would be good if Hibs.net had a little competition for the Euros coming up so I went ahead and set up a Fantasy League for us on the UEFA website.

Sign up here - http://en.euro2012fantasy.uefa.com/ (http://t.co/2xCdBwr0) and make your team. Then, when you are asked if you want to join a league. Click the option that says "Private League" and enter this code for the Hibs.net league:

126779-29756

Post your team names here so we build up a wee list of who's taking part. Should be good fun :aok:

Reaper
25-05-2012, 11:26 AM

Darth Hibbie
25-05-2012, 11:42 AM
The Darth Warriors are in :greengrin

pentlando
25-05-2012, 12:49 PM
Jelavic is a steal at 5m!!

26-05-2012, 07:03 AM
When does this start and how can i find out a list of all the games that are due to be played, just so i can organise a wee competition at work

millarco
26-05-2012, 07:26 AM
When does this start and how can i find out a list of all the games that are due to be played, just so i can organise a wee competition at work

Starts on Friday 8th. http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/european-championship/fixtures

26-05-2012, 09:37 AM
Cheers, hadnt seen any other thread. Need my eyes tested

31-05-2012, 11:50 AM
Who will win Euro 2012?

31-05-2012, 11:57 AM
.............and no, there is not the Anyone but England option!!!!!

I do think England will surprise a lot of people. But not sure if it is because they will go far or will be so bad.

Not convinced about Spain, France or Italy. So, I think it could be either Germany or Netherlands, but I will go for the latter.

Any of the lesser teams with a chance?

Let the action commence!

31-05-2012, 11:59 AM
I chose France, as I feel they have been fairly strong going into it...However ! I have a wee sneaky suspicion that the Czech's might take it...

reidy
31-05-2012, 12:14 PM
I think it's going to be a Italy Germany final

keithkeith
31-05-2012, 12:18 PM
Italy have made Balotelli their No.9 and first choice striker.

That, for me, has nailed them as having No chance.

Might have a bet of red cards this tournament?

Piqué
31-05-2012, 12:23 PM
Got to be Germany for me. Excellent young team. Spain are missing Villa and I'm not convinced any of their other forwards can step up. The Dutch will be there abouts too but I think their defence will let them down.

pentlando
31-05-2012, 12:34 PM
Russia have a really solid team, and with the Euro's being nearby to Russia should be able to count on a sizeable support. They have the potential to go further than their great run in 2008 and are in one of the weaker groups. Dark horses for me.

31-05-2012, 12:42 PM
I've gone for Croatia as dark horses. Lot of ability in that team and, if they make it out of a tough group, I think they could go all the way.

31-05-2012, 12:48 PM
Germany or Spain.

darwenhibby
31-05-2012, 12:59 PM
Germany

I do think England will reach semis.

They are not as hyped up down here as they normally are and it could work in there favour.

neilmartinrocks
31-05-2012, 02:16 PM
I think it's going to be a Italy Germany final

this as long as ballotelli screws the nut and stays on the pitch for the games he gets.

31-05-2012, 02:28 PM
Germany will lift the trophy I think.

Matty_Jack04
31-05-2012, 02:33 PM
Also think Germany although I do keep thinking about betting France

I also don't think England will get out the group no Rooney Barry and now possibly lampard OOOT

31-05-2012, 02:51 PM
Surprised that so many people are saying that Germany will win it. I do think that they will go far, but surprised that so few are going for Spain, the holders of both the Euro and World Cup.

31-05-2012, 04:59 PM
Spain for me though not really looked at it in great detail yet.

31-05-2012, 05:00 PM
France all the way!! Ribery, nasri, Ben arfa, benzema!!!

lobster
31-05-2012, 05:30 PM
Ballotelli to stay on the pitch and Italy to win :thumbsup:

31-05-2012, 05:33 PM
The winner will come from Germany or Spain, Ill take the Spaniards to prevail.

VickMackie
31-05-2012, 06:15 PM
Lampard is out. Henderson in. Hahaha

Could be a blessing in disguise, same as Germany when Ballack was out.

Pity for Lampard, I like him as a player but that will prob be his last opportunity at international level.

31-05-2012, 06:32 PM
France for me, so many options up front, they beat germany recently too and are unbeaten in awhile:sauzee:

Ultrabee1-0
31-05-2012, 06:32 PM
i hope England get all over and Ireland do this wee island proud!!
but i think Germany&Croatia final and the too sneek it:greengrin

31-05-2012, 08:29 PM
Francias.

31-05-2012, 08:37 PM
i think Germany&Croatia final and the too sneek it:greengrin

Classy stuff. :rolleyes:

Hibee Ryan
31-05-2012, 08:38 PM
I've got a £2 bet on Russia because they are probably the strongest team in group A and if they can gain momentum and win all their group games then they'll be confident to take on the bigger teams like Germany, Spain and France, so can see them springing an upset and going all the way:cb

31-05-2012, 09:16 PM
Spain to beat Portugal in the final :cb

Ryan69
31-05-2012, 09:20 PM
Who will win Euro 2012?

You usually find euros/world cup are good bets in sense of top scorer/winner.

France dont have an out and out scorer...but going for France single this year.

Last euros watched final having 2 bets on of Podolski/Germany and Villa/Spain.....Going for france single!

HibeeBigFly
31-05-2012, 09:50 PM
I think Spain will coast it. I also expect to see Greece and Ukraine being the surprise packages due to being in easy groups.

31-05-2012, 10:09 PM
http://sport.stv.tv/euro-2012/104183-stv-sports-daily-at-the-euros-our-look-ahead-to-the-tournament/

Shamelessly posting this to get a bit of a wider audience and hopefully folks interested in watching these small daily bites and joining the discussions on Twitter.

I went to school with and remain good friends with Grant and this is his first foray into television based journalism :thumbsup:

31-05-2012, 10:27 PM
i hope England get all over and Ireland do this wee island proud!!
but i think Germany&Croatia final and the too sneek it:greengrin

oops :rolleyes:

McKenzie
31-05-2012, 10:53 PM

Last euros watched final having 2 bets on of Podolski/Germany and Villa/Spain.....Going for france single!

Benzema? Only plays for Real Madrid

31-05-2012, 10:57 PM

van persie and holland

01-06-2012, 12:30 AM
Sorry to go off topic for a second, but how poor is STV's advert for the world cup? Showing all the goals against England, just comes across as petty and immature, displays a total lack of professionalism IMO.

Anyway apoligies for my little rant and I hope your mate does well in his TV journalism, I'll make sure to watch these daily :aok:

Matty_Jack04
01-06-2012, 05:12 AM
Mario Gomez for top scorer

01-06-2012, 06:10 AM
Difficult one really, I've chosen Germany, but I've a sneaking suspicion that they might spoil it all and do a Bayern on me - they were rubbish last night against Israel -

01-06-2012, 06:15 AM
Putting a bet on Germany. Also on Gomez to be top scorer.

01-06-2012, 06:32 AM
I wonder if England could do a Chelsea and bore their way through against the odds. Maybe not as they don't have anything like a Drogba up front.

I think Xavi and Iniesta's form has shaded a bit although it still might be good enough. I'm having a few bob on France.

01-06-2012, 06:48 AM
I wonder if England could do a Chelsea and bore their way through against the odds. Maybe not as they don't have anything like a Drogba up front.

They might get all the way through, but who would put money on them winning the penalty shoot-out??:rolleyes:

Ryan69
01-06-2012, 06:53 AM

Benzema is not exactly a goal machine....more of a creator.

01-06-2012, 07:59 AM
Why isn't there a not effing interested option

McKenzie
01-06-2012, 08:33 AM

31 goals in 50 matches, think Hibs need more creators like him instead of goal machines

StevesFamau5
01-06-2012, 08:35 AM
Why isn't there a not effing interested option

There is.. Its called don't view the thread if ypur not intrested. School bpy error haha :D

On the topic in hand.. France to win. Gomes top scorer

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2

01-06-2012, 08:43 AM

I think Xavi and Iniesta's form has shaded a bit although it still might be good enough. I'm having a few bob on France.

Englands best (only?) chance is to play on the counterattack. The good news for them is thats whats Hodgsons teams are best at. They'll get torn apart by the good teams if they play wide open. Sweden will win that group, and ive backed Ibrahimovic as tourneys top scorer at 50/1, which seemed a bit generous. wee side interest for Giovinco at 50/1 as well.

01-06-2012, 08:48 AM
Surprised to see so few people going for Spain who are still the best team in the world , nevermind Europe , for me.

01-06-2012, 08:49 AM

Not having a go or anything, but, can you elaborate? Cannae suss out how anyone could think that.

lylasmasterplan
01-06-2012, 11:24 AM
Right lads summer football is nearly upon us so I've setup a Euro 2012 fantasy league, good banter and great prizes get involved! Details below.

Admin feel free to move

League ID 127674
Password 3127507

02-06-2012, 07:49 PM
So what has today told us:

England win at home against Belguim one-nil
Netherlands six up agianst Northern Ireland
Denmark beat Australia two-nil at home
Poland thump the moght Andorra
Croatia draw one-one away to Norway
Portugal losing one-nil at home against Turkey at half time

02-06-2012, 08:01 PM
So what has today told us:

England win at home against Belguim one-nil
Netherlands six up agianst Northern Ireland
Denmark beat Australia two-nil at home
Poland thump the moght Andorra
Croatia draw one-one away to Norway
Portugal losing one-nil at home against Turkey at half time

So basically it's told us f***-all, except that Portugal may get monumentally ****ged in group B.

02-06-2012, 08:20 PM
So basically it's told us f***-all, except that Portugal may get monumentally ****ged in group B.

Yes.....except reinforces that Holland look good.

Turkey were two up, but Portugal gets one back through Nani then
Ronaldo misses a penalty.

03-06-2012, 11:45 AM
23 entered so far

Done - it's annoying it doesn't let you see the players others have picked :greengrin

I'm pretty pleased with my team (having made a few changes in the past couple of days). Comfortably content ahead of Friday getting underway.

Macaroon
03-06-2012, 11:50 AM
Fiver on Germany to win and a predictor game going on between my dad, my brother and I. Should be a good tournament!

Big Ed
03-06-2012, 12:14 PM

I was listening to French football journalist Philippe Auclair and he seemed very pessimistic about France's chances, citing a poor defence and the fact that they appear to be a collection of talented individuals rather than a team.
I saw their game against Iceland last weekend and they did look shaky at the back.
They do have some cracking players though.

Ryan69
03-06-2012, 12:24 PM
Not having a go or anything, but, can you elaborate? Cannae suss out how anyone could think that.

Well hes no Villa,Podolski,Gomez,Van Persie or Ronaldo.

Id be very very doubtful of him scoring more than any of these players.

Ryan69
03-06-2012, 12:26 PM
I was listening to French football journalist Philippe Auclair and he seemed very pessimistic about France's chances, citing a poor defence and the fact that they appear to be a collection of talented individuals rather than a team.
I saw their game against Iceland last weekend and they did look shaky at the back.
They do have some cracking players though.

Probably mind games.

03-06-2012, 12:30 PM

Any money David Villa doesn't score at Euro 2012. :wink:

Big Ed
03-06-2012, 12:31 PM
Probably mind games.

He's a journalist, not the Manager.

Ryan69
03-06-2012, 01:35 PM
Any money David Villa doesn't score at Euro 2012. :wink:

probably score as many as Benzema then lol :agree:

VickMackie
03-06-2012, 04:24 PM
Cahill out for England. Ferdinand still left at home for Matthew Kelly.

Obviously for non football reasons!

03-06-2012, 04:40 PM

That's not what you said in your post I quoted, the stats dinnae back up the creator thing at all.

35 goals and 18 assists would do for me. As long as he scores a couple in his first game I couldnae give a flying one what he does after that!

VickMackie
03-06-2012, 05:03 PM
Surprised to see so few people going for Spain who are still the best team in the world , nevermind Europe , for me.

Are Puyol and Villa not out?

I appreciate they dominate the midfield but they're two big players.

Spain bore me now, tippy tappy in the middle of the pitch stifles the game and makes it a non event.

Whilst they're technically and tactically immense I find them boring. Hope Germany or one of the smaller nations win it.

03-06-2012, 07:06 PM
Matthew Kelly.

Roy Hodgson must be game for a laugh!

VickMackie
03-06-2012, 09:07 PM
Roy Hodgson must be game for a laugh!

Haha what was that guy on again?

03-06-2012, 09:59 PM
I'm going for russia at 20/1 fancy an outsider this year

03-06-2012, 10:02 PM

Spain bore me now, tippy tappy in the middle of the pitch stifles the game and makes it a non event.

Whilst they're technically and tactically immense I find them boring. Hope Germany or one of the smaller nations win it.

I could never find the type of football Spain or Barca play, imo its a joy to watch?

I find the kind of football i watch most weeks in the SPL boring, in fact i'm convinced its a different game altogether. :confused:

03-06-2012, 10:46 PM
Haha what was that guy on again?

Seriously? The answer is in my post you quoted.

VickMackie
04-06-2012, 06:13 AM
I could never find the type of football Spain or Barca play, imo its a joy to watch?

I find the kind of football i watch most weeks in the SPL boring, in fact i'm convinced its a different game altogether. :confused:

As I say, it is excellent but I find some of the matches become a non event because every game seems to turn into a training exercise with them trying to break down 10 men unless they have an off day.

Of course that's a lot to do with the opposition but they're not left with much choice.

04-06-2012, 11:49 AM

Yeah they two are out. Villa will no doubt be a big loss not so much with Puyol who is past his best these days IMO.

Even with they two out their squad still looks the strongest in the competition to me. Casillas , Pique , Ramos , Xavi , Iniesta , Busquets , Silva , Fabregas and Pedro would all walk into any countries side. Llorente could be the player to watch out for in this tournament.

I think for Spain its probably more to do with how much motivation they still have after already winning the Euros and World Cup , they have more than enough talent to win again IMO.

04-06-2012, 12:14 PM
Yeah they two are out. Villa will no doubt be a big loss not so much with Puyol who is past his best these days IMO.

Even with they two out their squad still looks the strongest in the competition to me. Casillas , Pique , Ramos , Xavi , Iniesta , Busquets , Silva , Fabregas and Pedro would all walk into any countries side. Llorente could be the player to watch out for in this tournament.

I think for Spain its probably more to do with how much motivation they still have after already winning the Euros and World Cup , they have more than enough talent to win again IMO.

Agree that they have the strongest squad on paper, and if they play to their potential then they will win. I just have a feeling that they won't.

I am staking my reputation on a Germany-Netherlands final, with the Germans winning.

04-06-2012, 04:31 PM
I'm going for russia at 20/1 fancy an outsider this year

22/1 paddypower mate

06-06-2012, 07:02 AM
Couple of goals for Benzema last night as France strolled to a 4-0 win v Estonia, still had the odd dodgy moment at the back tho.

06-06-2012, 08:45 AM
RVP Top goalscorer.

06-06-2012, 08:56 AM
Is there any chance of someone putting up the odds to win? as cant access from work.

Happen to think Portugal are a decent each way bet and could see them knocking out either Holland or Germany in group stage.

06-06-2012, 09:00 AM
Is there any chance of someone putting up the odds to win? as cant access from work.

Happen to think Portugal are a decent each way bet and could see them knocking out either Holland or Germany in group stage.

Fae Ladbrokes Jim........

Spain
11/4
Germany
3/1
Holland
13/2
France
10/1
England
12/1
Italy
14/1
Portugal
20/1
Russia
20/1
Ukraine
40/1
Poland
40/1
Croatia
50/1
Greece
50/1
Sweden
66/1
Czech Republic
66/1
Denmark
100/1
Republic of Ireland

06-06-2012, 09:19 AM
Sorry if this has been started elsewhere or if someone else has done similar. I couldn't find any threads. If there is already one started then please close this thread.

Thought it would be good if Hibs.net had a little competition for the Euros coming up so I went ahead and set up a Fantasy League for us on the UEFA website.

Sign up here - http://en.euro2012fantasy.uefa.com/ (http://t.co/2xCdBwr0) and make your team. Then, when you are asked if you want to join a league. Click the option that says "Private League" and enter this code for the Hibs.net league:

126779-29756

Post your team names here so we build up a wee list of who's taking part. Should be good fun :aok:

The Purple Cobras have entered! Team name inspired from Dodgeball that I watched a few nights ago.

06-06-2012, 09:46 AM
Fae Ladbrokes Jim........

Spain
11/4
Germany
3/1
Holland
13/2
France
10/1
England
12/1
Italy
14/1
Portugal
20/1
Russia
20/1
Ukraine
40/1
Poland
40/1
Croatia
50/1
Greece
50/1
Sweden
66/1
Czech Republic
66/1
Denmark
100/1
Republic of Ireland

Cheers Andy. :thumbsup:

06-06-2012, 09:53 AM
I have backed Spain to win the last two tournaments, :greengrin and still fancy them to go all the way again.

Although i'm not as sure this time as i was before, thats why i will have a little bet on Holland as well.

Hibby_Paul
06-06-2012, 05:18 PM
The Purple Cobras have entered! Team name inspired from Dodgeball that I watched a few nights ago.

Joined too .....not very imaginative 'cabbage and ribs' is my team name :agree:

06-06-2012, 07:46 PM

Anything can happen of course, but I think there's more chance of Portugal coming bottom of that group than qualifying from it.

07-06-2012, 08:19 AM
I know there's a "Let's batter the bookie" thread already, but as this is a stand-alone tournament involving national teams, I thought it might be worthwhile having a separate thread to see if we can collectively come out of this tournament smiling.

I think I'll go for:

Germany to win outright
Portugal to win outright
C Ronaldo top scorer
Benzema top scorer and France to win.

Payday is just before the quarters start, so may dabble again then, but those 4 will do me for starters.

McKenzie
07-06-2012, 08:33 AM
What odds on Benzema/France?

cwilliamson85
07-06-2012, 08:48 AM
What odds on Benzema/France?

On William Hill this is currently 33/1.

wearethehibs
07-06-2012, 09:04 AM
Ive backed a treble. Lewindoski (no idea how to spell it), Benzema and Jelvic to be top scorers for there team. Just over 50/1.

07-06-2012, 09:05 AM
10 on van persie at 10/1
5 e/w russia at 22/1
paddy power odds

Makaveli
07-06-2012, 09:06 AM
Germany/Holland/Portugal group tricast @ 9/2.

07-06-2012, 09:09 AM
Germany to win
Russia to win
Germany to win/Gomez top scorer

Piqué
07-06-2012, 09:12 AM
Germany/Benzema 100/1

Makaveli
07-06-2012, 09:12 AM
Germany to win
Russia to win
Germany to win/Gomez top scorer

On that note, Russia to win Group A looks ridiculously well-priced IMO.

07-06-2012, 09:21 AM
On William Hill this is currently 33/1.

You'll get 40/1 at some high street places. I picked up a sheet at Laddies and BetFred (is that right?? The red and blue place) to compare, and 1 of them was certainly giving it @ 40/1.

Portugal to win outright is 20/1 - now obviously they are far from favourites, and a little bit of a 1 man team, but if they can escape the group of death and if C. Ronaldo is firing on all cylinders, then those are very generous odds IMO.

scott7_0(Prague)
07-06-2012, 09:26 AM
You'll get 40/1 at some high street places. I picked up a sheet at Laddies and BetFred (is that right?? The red and blue place) to compare, and 1 of them was certainly giving it @ 40/1.

Portugal to win outright is 20/1 - now obviously they are far from favourites, and a little bit of a 1 man team, but if they can escape the group of death and if C. Ronaldo is firing on all cylinders, then those are very generous odds IMO.

I will go for the multinational team, that wears the German kit.

pentlando
07-06-2012, 09:34 AM
Russia to win outright

L. Podolski top scorer, bit of a gamble with him being no certainty to start but his international scoring record is almost 1 in 2, and scored 18 league goals in 29 games in a team relegated from Bundesliga. If he plays, he will score a few.

Group Straight Forecast L15

Group A - Greece/Russia 10's

Group B - Portugal/Germany 9's

Group C - Croatia/Spain 12's

Group D - Sweden/England 14's

07-06-2012, 09:44 AM
paddy power doing money back special on accumulator group winners. if you get 1 wrong cash back i went for
Group A russia
Group B spain
Group C holland
Group D france
5er 130 back.

07-06-2012, 09:58 AM
Group A - Poland
Group B - Spain
Group C - Holland
Group D - France
Pays 36/1

France/Benzema pays 28/1

07-06-2012, 10:40 AM
RVP 10/1 Top goalscorer £20 on.

07-06-2012, 10:49 AM
Germany/Holland/Portugal group tricast @ 9/2.

Maybe I've misunderstood, but as all those 3 teams are in the same group, what bet have you actually got on??

wearethehibs
07-06-2012, 10:51 AM
Maybe I've misunderstood, but as all those 3 teams are in the same group, what bet have you actually got on??

Think its the position they finish in the group

07-06-2012, 10:53 AM

Left me scratching my head too.

07-06-2012, 10:55 AM
Ladbrokes are doing a great offer. You put £20 on the top scorer and every time they score you get £5 worth of free bets...

07-06-2012, 10:56 AM
Pedro 4/1 (BetVictor ) Top Barcelona goalscorer - Likely to play up top. Looked sharp at end of season . Iniesta is 9/4 fav in this market too short.

Ireland 4/1 Lowest scoring team Various - Will be set out to keep it tight in a "Group of Death" .

John Terry 28/1 Ladbrokes Top Chelsea goalscorer - England will put a lot of emphasis on set pieces . Torres is the 4/7 fav in this market (not for me) 1 goal could win it for JT Captain . Leader . Bell End .

Funniest bet - Final Referee - Craig Thomson 10/1 William Hill . Surely he will get found out .

http://oddschecker.com/football/internationals/euro-2012/betting-markets

07-06-2012, 11:14 AM
England are not calling up a replacement as they expect him to return to Poland after the funeral.

Haven't seen this posted anywhere else but if it has then feel free to delete or merge.

Tragic news.

07-06-2012, 11:15 AM
Terrible news.

JE89
07-06-2012, 11:19 AM
Just saw this on SSN. Real shame

07-06-2012, 11:29 AM
Did his brother or half brother not get killed fairly recently as well?

Either way terrible news for him in what should be a great week.

07-06-2012, 11:30 AM
RVP 10/1 Top goalscorer £20 on.

I have just ripped up my RVP for topscorer betting slip :wink: :greengrin

07-06-2012, 11:36 AM
Did his brother or half brother not get killed fairly recently as well?

Either way terrible news for him in what should be a great week.

It was his half brother and by all accounts the thug who did it only got three years.

07-06-2012, 11:39 AM

Germany to finish 1st, Holland 2nd and Portugal 3rd.

I've got a few singles on.

Can't remember them all but I've got Denmark to beat Portugal, Holland to beat Portugal, Russia to beat Czech Republic.

07-06-2012, 11:45 AM
Portugal and Italy to be eliminated in the group stages at 16/1.

duffers
07-06-2012, 11:50 AM
Ive backed a treble. Lewindoski (no idea how to spell it), Benzema and Jelvic to be top scorers for there team. Just over 50/1.

Where did you get that about? Sounds pretty good

Agree with the Portugal was thinking of putting them on each way so even if they lose the final you get a return.

Germany to finish 1st, Holland 2nd and Portugal 3rd.

I've got a few singles on.

Can't remember them all but I've got Denmark to beat Portugal, Holland to beat Portugal, Russia to beat Czech Republic.

don't understand that bet :confused: you think germany will win the group therefore they would have to beat portugal as well, so how can portugal finish 3rd if every country beats them :confused:

or am i missing sommit :(

07-06-2012, 12:02 PM
Ladbrokes are doing a great offer. You put £20 on the top scorer and every time they score you get £5 worth of free bets...

Where are you seeing that

07-06-2012, 12:11 PM
Even if you're not really much of an En-gur-land enthusiast, your heart feels for him.

Terrible news.

Makaveli
07-06-2012, 12:24 PM

Left me scratching my head too.

The clue was in the word tricast — "A bet which involves correctly predicting the 1st, 2nd and 3rd place in an event." :wink:

07-06-2012, 12:28 PM
Portugal and Italy to be eliminated in the group stages at 16/1.

Where is that about?

07-06-2012, 12:34 PM
I've got £5 on Russia to win(20/1 when I got it:grr:) as my outside bet, tough for them after the group stage though they play 1st or 2nd in the group of death.

£5 on England to lose every game

£10 on France/Benzema

Looking forward to this Euro there are several teams that can win this if they put on there best games

wearethehibs
07-06-2012, 12:40 PM
Where did you get that about? Sounds pretty good

Opened an account on bet victor as they were giving best odds.

VickMackie
07-06-2012, 01:20 PM
don't understand that bet :confused: you think germany will win the group therefore they would have to beat portugal as well, so how can portugal finish 3rd if every country beats them :confused:

or am i missing sommit :(

The first bet is a forecast. The other two are single so he may get a return on the single.

The bets are independent of each other.

07-06-2012, 01:25 PM
Why merge the threads???

wearethehibs
07-06-2012, 01:47 PM
Surely having 1 thread for the bets is better than merging them.

07-06-2012, 02:44 PM
England are not calling up a replacement as they expect him to return to Poland after the funeral.

Haven't seen this posted anywhere else but if it has then feel free to delete or merge.

Tragic news.

Really puzzled why this has been merged as I thought it deserved a thread of its own and not just lumped in with everything else.

07-06-2012, 02:45 PM
Admin merging completely distinct threads - FAIL :agree::agree:

07-06-2012, 02:48 PM
Admin merging completely distinct threads - FAIL :agree::agree:

It's merging gone mad. :agree:

07-06-2012, 03:06 PM
Even Wallace Mercer didnae try to merge things that quickly!

07-06-2012, 03:18 PM
Even Wallace Mercer didnae try to merge thinks that quickly!

Admin need a Kwik fit up the backside.

Just in case I get banned - it's been a hoot.

VickMackie
07-06-2012, 04:41 PM
66/1 on paddy power for Spain and Pedro.

Had 1.75 in my account I never knew about so that's on now.

VickMackie
07-06-2012, 04:41 PM
Opened an account on bet victor as they were giving best odds.

What's that bet categorised under?

wearethehibs
07-06-2012, 06:20 PM
What's that bet categorised under?

Had to do it individually. It was under Football specials, then Euro 2012, then you have to go into each teams specials, then find top team goalscorer. Then add it to your bet slip.

Hope that helped lol

VickMackie
07-06-2012, 07:12 PM
And you can do it as a treble? Will give that a try.

wearethehibs
07-06-2012, 07:26 PM
And you can do it as a treble? Will give that a try.

Yeah i managed it no bother. Done another bet with 6 top team scorers and it worked out at 11,000/1 haha. I thought it was reasonable when i was putting it on to

08-06-2012, 08:03 AM
If Spain and Holland both win their groups they can't meet again until the final, so, I think its a bet on Holland to win the tournament with whoever is refunding bets if Spain hold on to their title and another bet on Spain outright.

VickMackie
08-06-2012, 08:51 AM
Yeah i managed it no bother. Done another bet with 6 top team scorers and it worked out at 11,000/1 haha. I thought it was reasonable when i was putting it on to

I put on about five combos last night.

I put the Portugal forward down for them and not Ronaldo on one line.

Does benzema take the penalties for France?

08-06-2012, 11:33 AM
Right lads summer football is nearly upon us so I've setup a Euro 2012 fantasy league, good banter and great prizes get involved! Details below.

Admin feel free to move

League ID 127674
Password 3127507

08-06-2012, 02:05 PM

Wont let me join, dont know if it is the work computer or not.

08-06-2012, 03:11 PM
Poland: Szczesny, Piszczek, Wasilewski, Perquis, Boenisch, Murawski, Polanski, Blaszczykowski, Obraniak, Rybus, Lewandowski. Subs: Sandomierski, Wojtkowiak, Kaminski, Dudka, Matuszczyk, Wawrzyniak, Sobiech, Mierzejewski, Wolski, Grosicki, Brozek, Tyton.

Greece: Chalkias, Torosidis, Papastathopoulos, Avraam Papadopoulos, Holebas, Maniatis, Katsouranis, Karagounis, Ninis, Gekas, Samaras. Subs: Tzorvas, Tzavelas, Malezas, Kyriakos Papadopoulos, Makos, Liberopoulos, Mitroglou, Salpingidis, Fotakis, Fortounis, Fetfatzidis, Sifakis.

08-06-2012, 03:22 PM
Is there any hibs.net Euro stuff going on? Predictor etc.

Kenny1875
08-06-2012, 03:25 PM
The two teams with the hardest names to pronounce go head to head to start us off. Going to be tough for the commentators to cope with all those syllables!

08-06-2012, 03:27 PM
Lee Dixon busy talking about England's chances in the BBC studio when he turns to Linekar and says we all want England to do well as we are all England fans. It then occurred to him that the four people in the studio were him, Gary Linekar, Alan Hansen and Clarence Seedorf.

: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Krv_GHmGxU8&feature=youtube_gdata_player

08-06-2012, 03:28 PM
Third video clip in the introduction is Gascoigne scoring against Scotland.

Approximately 10 of the opening 15 minutes have focussed on England rather than the opening fixture.

Aye - let's all get behind England :rolleyes:

08-06-2012, 03:45 PM
They're playing Pacman.

If the football is anywhere as bad as the opening ceremony then I'll be turning the tv off. Hope we don't have to listen to opera singers making a pigs ear of the national anthems.

08-06-2012, 03:54 PM
Was that just the best opening ceremony ever? :wink:

Joe's ice cream
08-06-2012, 04:03 PM
[QUOTE=The Story So Far...;3257533]Third video clip in the introduction is Gascoigne scoring against Scotland.

Approximately 10 of the opening 15 minutes have focussed on England rather than the opening fixtu
Aye - let's all get behind England :rolleyes:[/QUOT
Is this some kind of record to see how quickly you can get wound up by the coverage?
As the only UK representatives at the tournament they are entitled to direct their coverage towards England.
Maybe Its just me but seems that at times folk are just waiting to get hacked off.

one day maybe...
08-06-2012, 04:07 PM
Absolute pants that Scotland are not involved. Levein out :wink:

08-06-2012, 04:14 PM
Was that just the best opening ceremony ever? :wink:

What was it all about. I was expecting Ted Rogers to appear.

08-06-2012, 04:16 PM
Is this some kind of record to see how quickly you can get wound up by the coverage?
As the only UK representatives at the tournament they are entitled to direct their coverage towards England.
Maybe Its just me but seems that at times folk are just waiting to get hacked off.

I've absolutely no problems with them discussing England. I agree, they're at the competition and they're going to discuss them - that in and of itself isn't my issue.

My problem was that they launched straight into England: what they were doing in training, how they spent their day today, what their genuine chances are, likely formations - perhaps all valid discussion if you're supporting England, but the opening coverage should have focused on Poland and Greece and the tournament as a whole rather than pinpointing their initial focus on the English.

08-06-2012, 04:17 PM
Poland 1-0 Greece: Lewandowski

1-0 Poland

[QUOTE=The Story So Far...;3257533]Third video clip in the introduction is Gascoigne scoring against Scotland.

Approximately 10 of the opening 15 minutes have focussed on England rather than the opening fixtu

This. British television gets behind the only British participant. Shocker. Help. Polis.

1-0 Poland. Goalkeeping nightmare.

08-06-2012, 04:19 PM
This. British television gets behind the only British participant. Shocker. Help. Polis.

1-0 Poland. Goalkeeping nightmare.

My bad - I didn't realise the British participants were playing today :aok:

08-06-2012, 04:21 PM
My bad - I didn't realise the British participants were playing today :aok:

Because I'm sure the Italian, Spanish, German, French and Dutch coverage will have been all about the opening game.

HibeeBigFly
08-06-2012, 04:22 PM
That lewandowski looks good. Am I right in thinking 90% of the current Germany was born in Poland?

HibeeBigFly
08-06-2012, 04:23 PM
Germany strikeforce

Hibbie_Cameron
08-06-2012, 04:24 PM
That lewandowski looks good. Am I right in thinking 90% of the current Germany was born in Poland?

No but a few were. Klose and Podolski being the main ones. Podolski is treated like an idol in Poland

08-06-2012, 04:25 PM
Because I'm sure the Italian, Spanish, German, French and Dutch coverage will have been all about the opening game.

Perhaps not the full coverage, but I'm willing to bet they started off by at least mentioning something about the game which was about to get it all underway.

Anyway, Poland look like quite a tidy side!

08-06-2012, 04:26 PM

You're 100% correct plus the Poles will still be at work. :wink:

08-06-2012, 04:26 PM
The Greek keeper looks about as convincing as their economic future.

08-06-2012, 04:31 PM
The crowd atmosphere has renewed my faith after the Vuvuzela nonsense of South Africa. The stadium is rocking!

08-06-2012, 04:44 PM
Greece down to 10 men!

HibeeBigFly
08-06-2012, 04:45 PM
Complete joke of a ref. Is it Thomson?

08-06-2012, 04:45 PM
How long will it be before Craig Thomson gets a mention. :greengrin

08-06-2012, 04:46 PM
How long will it be before Craig Thomson gets a mention. :greengrin

Too late :greengrin

08-06-2012, 04:47 PM
The greeks are getting a bit stroppy about the ref.

08-06-2012, 04:48 PM
Shocking decision by the ref, and although it does not help them now, surely to god it should be rescinded?

08-06-2012, 04:49 PM
Too late :greengrin

Just.

speedy_gonzales
08-06-2012, 04:50 PM
The greeks are getting a bit stroppy about the ref.
Is it any wonder, Poland are clearly the home side here, not convinced the first yellow for Papastathopoulos was merited??

08-06-2012, 04:50 PM
I wasn't going to watch as it's always players coaches and fans paying too much attention to the big screen, it really does get on my wick but I relented and of course it's going on big time, why can't people just concentrate on the game?

ANYWAY

The first joke refereeing decision of the tournament has just happened, never a foul for either of the bookings and the red card was unbelievable.

Is he Craig Thompson in disguise?

08-06-2012, 04:54 PM
Is it any wonder, Poland are clearly the home side here, not convinced the first yellow for Papastathopoulos was merited??

First one was ludicrous, second one was just soft.

08-06-2012, 05:02 PM
I've absolutely no problems with them discussing England. I agree, they're at the competition and they're going to discuss them - that in and of itself isn't my issue.

My problem was that they launched straight into England: what they were doing in training, how they spent their day today, what their genuine chances are, likely formations - perhaps all valid discussion if you're supporting England, but the opening coverage should have focused on Poland and Greece and the tournament as a whole rather than pinpointing their initial focus on the English.

If Scotland were there the same would happen.

The majority of the audience aren't interested in Poland or Greece, they only want to see the match.

They're thirsty for news of their own team.

If Ireland progress further than England, the same will apply.

08-06-2012, 05:03 PM
As usual the build up to the Poland v Greece match largely spent discussing England and half time used to air an interview with Scott Parker. A month of this pish is going to be murder.

08-06-2012, 05:05 PM
As usual the build up to the Poland v Greece match largely spent discussing England and half time used to air an interview with Scott Parker. A month of this pish is going to be murder.

They'll be knocked out soon and then we can enjoy the spectacle as purists :aok:

08-06-2012, 05:07 PM
Lewandowski's a Colin Nish who doesnt fall over.

08-06-2012, 05:07 PM
If Scotland were there the same would happen.

The majority of the audience aren't interested in Poland or Greece, at the want to see the match.

They're thirsty for news of their own team.

If Ireland progress further than England, the same will apply.

Doubt that very much. They will still subject us to Gazza 96 and where it went wrong for England. John Terry, Rio Ferdinand will get a good few mentions and endless interviews with English pundits. Updates on the Irish will be slipped in at some point but if you blink you'll probably miss it.

Have they mentioned Scotland yet?

08-06-2012, 05:08 PM
Poland 1-1 Greece

Some Greek guy with the goal :greengrin

Ah, bless the BBC for showing the name - Salpingidis

08-06-2012, 05:09 PM
1-1

1-1. :thumbsup:

Lovely possession football from Greece leads to the equaliser. 1-1.

08-06-2012, 05:10 PM
Another goalkeeping blunder, those polish keepers eh. :rolleyes:

08-06-2012, 05:13 PM
C'mon the 10 men against the opposition and the cheating ref.

:hmmm: I remember saying that somewhere else recently but where?

08-06-2012, 05:16 PM

Have to agree with that. I guess if you were watching in Germany they would be :shockhorror: supporting Germany - ditto France etc.

They are English, they've qualified and are entitled to support their team and angle the coverage towards themselves. We, as mugs who can't get our *hi* together, just have to accept that.

I suppose if Scotland qualified (big if with the Speccy Jambo Twat as manager) we'd be happy with BBC Weegieland and STV being impartial and giving boring dullard squads like Greece the same coverage as us.

08-06-2012, 05:21 PM
Georgy Amanarse. Miss.

08-06-2012, 05:24 PM
Looks like we're going to get a whole lot of time wasting in the last half hour.

08-06-2012, 05:24 PM
Watching in Holland and they've managed to keep coverage on Poland vs Greece.

English coverage is bollox.

08-06-2012, 05:26 PM
Penalty Greece.

Goalie sent off.

Oh dear.

08-06-2012, 05:26 PM
Way to **** things up szescney! What a tool.

08-06-2012, 05:27 PM
Ffs :(

08-06-2012, 05:27 PM
Greece have been impressive second half. Not giving the ball away at all.

08-06-2012, 05:28 PM
I'm watching in England, and i'm more interested in whats happening with them than Poland or Greece.

In fact i like watching what they have to say about them, it only gives me more ammunition to slaughter them when they get beat.

Saved!

Save.

08-06-2012, 05:30 PM
10 men each. I fancy the Greeks to sneak it and another man to be sent off.

HibeeBigFly
08-06-2012, 05:31 PM
What a good opening game this is turning out to be.

Matty_Jack04
08-06-2012, 05:32 PM
Greece have made Hanson and co look
Like donkeys after there half time slaughtering Theyv been pretty solid 2nd half and looking more and more dangerous

08-06-2012, 05:33 PM
Greece'goal' given offside wrongly. Officials having a homer.

08-06-2012, 05:38 PM
Samaras :faf:

08-06-2012, 05:39 PM
This has been a far better game than I anticipated. Greece are usually painfully dull but they have had their moments tonight.

08-06-2012, 05:39 PM
Samaras. Another miss.

Cool_Hand_Luke
08-06-2012, 05:53 PM
Apologies if already posted

Euro 2012 Calendar (http://www.marca.com/en/sports/football/euro-schedule.html)

08-06-2012, 06:16 PM
mon the russia

08-06-2012, 06:26 PM
After that performance from the REF Craig Thomson should feel well at home refereeing (sic) over there.

08-06-2012, 06:41 PM
Game just about to start.

Promises to be a cracker.

08-06-2012, 06:46 PM
What's the name of that diving cheat that cost Scotland a place here again?

Blazek?

08-06-2012, 06:49 PM
What's the name of that diving cheat that cost Scotland a place here again?

Blazek?

Jan Rezek

08-06-2012, 06:55 PM
Jan Rezek

Braik Eznek :greengrin

08-06-2012, 06:57 PM
Braik Eznek :greengrin

Braik Oleg.

08-06-2012, 06:59 PM
1-0 Russia

08-06-2012, 06:59 PM
Russia 1-0 up. :thumbsup:

08-06-2012, 07:03 PM
Excellent. The Czechs cheated us out of a playoff place by a dive late in the Hampden game. I hope they lose every game in the finals.

08-06-2012, 07:03 PM
Should have been 2. A sitter missed.

08-06-2012, 07:05 PM
Russia were 7/5 for this game.

A team that scraped a draw against Scotland to qualify playing a team who thrashed Italy 3-0 last week and qualified easily.

Generous price in hindsight.

08-06-2012, 07:06 PM
Russia were 7/5 for this game.

A team that scraped a draw against Scotland to qualify playing a team who thrashed Italy 3-0 last week and qualified easily.

Generous price in hindsight.

Especially when doubled with a Greece-Poland draw ;-)

08-06-2012, 07:08 PM
2-0

08-06-2012, 07:08 PM
2-0 :thumbsup: We want 7.

08-06-2012, 07:09 PM
The Russian goalkeeper Malofeev. Any relation to that comic who managed the Yams?

Go on Russia!

2-0. The cheats are losing.

08-06-2012, 07:11 PM
Russia look great, brilliant pass from Arshavin for the 2nd goal

08-06-2012, 07:26 PM
The Red Menace look pretty decent. They'll storm this group.

08-06-2012, 07:29 PM
wonder how potter's 6-4-0 would have fared against this lot?

08-06-2012, 07:33 PM
Both teams look better than Poland and Greece. Russias defence looks awesome, as usual for a Hiddink side.

08-06-2012, 07:37 PM
It's good to have some football in the close season. It makes the withdrawal symptoms easier to cope with. Didn't see the first game, Russia look impressive. The stadium looks amazing.

08-06-2012, 07:39 PM
Both teams look better than Poland and Greece. Russias defence looks awesome, as usual for a Hiddink side.

Thought Advocat was Russian manager?

08-06-2012, 07:41 PM

Dick

08-06-2012, 07:42 PM

:doh: aye, wrong dutchman, sorry.

It's good to have some football in the close season. It makes the withdrawal symptoms easier to cope with. Didn't see the first game, Russia look impressive. The stadium looks amazing.

Yep, as usual the media like to peddle a
myth about the incompetent hosts. Stadium is great, first couple of games have been good so far... it's looking good.

Dick

Bit harsh, fannybaws.

08-06-2012, 07:43 PM
:doh: aye, wrong dutchman, sorry.

You should have just done what most folk do on here when they make a boo boo and blame it on predictive texting. :wink:

08-06-2012, 07:53 PM
You should have just done what most folk do on here when they make a boo boo and blame it on predictive texting. :wink:

:greengrin Naw, I like to wear my senility as a badge of honour...

08-06-2012, 07:54 PM
2-1

Think the goalkeeper pulled out of the challenge.

08-06-2012, 07:55 PM
Nice finish. Game on.

08-06-2012, 07:56 PM
Pervy cameraman spending as much time finding totty in the stands as on the match :greengrin

08-06-2012, 08:03 PM
Pervy cameraman spending as much time finding totty in the stands as on the match :greengrin

He'll not be stuck in Poland...

08-06-2012, 08:05 PM

No, he's loving it :greengrin

08-06-2012, 08:06 PM

Just wait until group D kicks off, the combination of local Eastern Europeans and the Swedish hotties will have the poor guy's head spinning.

08-06-2012, 08:08 PM
Messi-esque from Arshavin, terrible miss by the other striker. How did one of the worlds best players look so poor at arsenal? Only Arsene knows...

08-06-2012, 08:12 PM
Just wait until group D kicks off, the combination of local Eastern Europeans and the Swedish hotties will have the poor guy's head spinning.

Let's hope he's working the Sweden game :agree:

Russia should have had this game killed off.

This Kerzikhov boy is having a nightmare. Could have had 4.

Kherzhakov couldn't score in a brothel.

Probably had more efforts than England will have all tournament.

08-06-2012, 08:15 PM
Kherzhakov couldn't score in a brothel.

Probably had more efforts than England will have all tournament.

Amadou Kerkhikov subbed now :agree:

08-06-2012, 08:20 PM
3-1 Russia.

08-06-2012, 08:21 PM
Get in there. 3-1

08-06-2012, 08:22 PM
Took it well. Russia look good.

08-06-2012, 08:22 PM
Russia look ominously good. Great performance.

08-06-2012, 08:23 PM
Russia look very impressive.

4-1.