View Full Version : Politicians congratulate them (merged)

23-05-2012, 01:10 PM
Really, if you want to show a bit of class praising both sides in an non-OF cup final you surely don’t rip the pish out of one in the same long winded sentence.

Motion - http://www.scottish.parliament.uk/parliamentarybusiness/BusinessBulletin/51082.aspx

*S4M-02980 Colin Keir: Hearts Win Scottish Cup Final - That the Parliament congratulates Heart of Midlothian FC on winning the first all-Edinburgh Scottish Cup final since 1896; considers that the club has achieved an emphatic victory at 5-1 over Hibernian FC and notes that this is the eighth Scottish Cup triumph for the Tynecastle side; considers that the match was played in excellent spirit and that it was a great advertisement for Scottish football, and wishes the players, staff and fans of both clubs the best of success for the season ahead.

Supported by: Dennis Robertson, Jamie Hepburn, Bill Kidd, Mike MacKenzie, John Finnie, Richard Lyle, George Adam, Kenneth Gibson, Gil Paterson, David McLetchie, Bill Walker, Jim Eadie

kj79
23-05-2012, 01:15 PM
Is 'emphatic victory at 5-1' really ripping the pish??

I've been taking a lot worse since final whistle.

23-05-2012, 01:22 PM
Really, if you want to show a bit of class praising both sides in an non-OF cup final you surely don’t rip the pish out of one in the same long winded sentence.

Motion - http://www.scottish.parliament.uk/parliamentarybusiness/BusinessBulletin/51082.aspx

*S4M-02980 Colin Keir: Hearts Win Scottish Cup Final - That the Parliament congratulates Heart of Midlothian FC on winning the first all-Edinburgh Scottish Cup final since 1896; considers that the club has achieved an emphatic victory at 5-1 over Hibernian FC and notes that this is the eighth Scottish Cup triumph for the Tynecastle side; considers that the match was played in excellent spirit and that it was a great advertisement for Scottish football, and wishes the players, staff and fans of both clubs the best of success for the season ahead.

Supported by: Dennis Robertson, Jamie Hepburn, Bill Kidd, Mike MacKenzie, John Finnie, Richard Lyle, George Adam, Kenneth Gibson, Gil Paterson, David McLetchie, Bill Walker, Jim Eadie

Bill Walker...........is he not the one accused of abuse/rape etc. If so, kinda fits the profile eh?

23-05-2012, 01:24 PM
My only concern really is with the constitutional future of the country undecided they find the time to talk about this instead. "Emphatic victory" is probably more polite than "steamrollered", and we couldn't complain if he said that either.

23-05-2012, 01:32 PM
More expected in the chambers of CEC than the Scottish Parliament. I'm surprised that he didn't mention that if they win it twice more they'll have caught up with Queens Park.

Gerard
23-05-2012, 01:35 PM
More expected in the chambers of CEC than the Scottish Parliament. I'm surprised that he didn't mention that if they win it twice more they'll have caught up with Queens Park.

Let these fine members of the SP enjoy their 15 minutes of fame. Hibs will be back to Glasgow as there is unfinished business to take care of:wink:
G

23-05-2012, 01:43 PM
Great advert for Scottish football? Were folk abroad watching this going
"What a great elbow to the face...marvellous, the ref missed it"
"Wow I wish I could dive like that"
"Their players run to the oppostion fans instead of their own when they score, what great people they are"
"Get this, a bloke with no eyebrows"

23-05-2012, 01:51 PM
My only concern really is with the constitutional future of the country undecided they find the time to talk about this instead. "Emphatic victory" is probably more polite than "steamrollered", and we couldn't complain if he said that either.

And a lot gentler than the much more accurate f****d. However, like others who have posted, I really wonder why our wee pretendy parliament (to quote Billy Connelly) is spending time on this rather than producing new regulations on dog fouling - or whatever it is they get up to.

23-05-2012, 04:56 PM
"Their players run to the oppostion fans instead of their own when they score, what great people they are"

Don't you know? That's the famous 'HMFC Celebration'

When they score against us they will always choose to celebrate in front of us because at the opposite end of the pitch, where their own fans are, some fat inbred fud has inevitably leaped onto the pitch. Waving his white vest ,with the curry stains on it, above his head.

23-05-2012, 04:57 PM

The most astounding thing about this is - who the **** is Colin Keir?

It is certainly classless and clear pi5h-ripping. I will be storing this one away for after the next election when Mr Keir returns to the complete anonymity which he so richly deserves. I look forward to then posting/emailing him a note very closely modelled on the pi5h-ripper above.

I also note that Jim Eadie - my own MSP here in South Edinburgh - has signed it. I would have thought that revealing your Yam bent would be a dangerous thing to do in a part of the city with so many concentrations of Hibees.

ginger_rice
23-05-2012, 05:01 PM

Should probably have added "opposed by Keith Brown " :flag:

23-05-2012, 05:04 PM
Should probably have added "opposed by Keith Brown " :flag:

I do like Keith. A lot of people don't though.

When you read it again it really is typically classless and Yammish. It's got all the maroon Roverness you would expect.

ginger_rice
23-05-2012, 05:07 PM
I do like Keith. A lot of people don't though.

He told me once in front of Alex Salmond that he (KB) has the best office in HolyRood as he can see Easter Road from his window.

23-05-2012, 09:05 PM
The most astounding thing about this is - who the **** is Colin Keir?

MSP for Edinburgh West.

www.google.co.uk (http://www.google.co.uk)

23-05-2012, 09:17 PM
MSP for Edinburgh West.

www.google.co.uk (http://www.google.co.uk)

It says he is a fat auld Jambo !!!!

BarneyK
25-05-2012, 03:22 PM
Story in the Evening News online today -

At the civic reception in the City Chambers before Hearts’ victory parade on Sunday, Lord Provost Donald Wilson began his remarks saying “I’ve got a speech here – actually I’ve got two speeches here” – and then tossed away the Hibs one.

Classy bunch them yams :rolleyes:

puff the dragon
25-05-2012, 03:24 PM

At the civic reception in the City Chambers before Hearts’ victory parade on Sunday, Lord Provost Donald Wilson began his remarks saying “I’ve got a speech here – actually I’ve got two speeches here” – and then tossed away the Hibs one.

Every councillor is an idiot anyway. Too stupid to get a powerful job in the private sector they take the poor cash available to be a councillor as they think they have a bit of power.

I voted for the Penguin.

25-05-2012, 03:29 PM

Given that there is a new administration in charge of the council it would probably be sensible for us to establish the football sympathies of each councillor. I will be astonished if some kind of begging bowl isn't once again extended from the Pink Bus Shelter to the council during the next five years, most probably in relation to a stadium. Provost Wilson is I believe a Yam.

25-05-2012, 03:29 PM
Not surprisingly there was no shortage of volunteers to rake in the bucket.

BarneyK
25-05-2012, 03:38 PM
Not surprisingly there was no shortage of volunteers to rake in the bucket.

25-05-2012, 03:38 PM
And that is Edinburgh's lord provost, god help us. Seems like we got rid of one bunch of idiots to be replaced by another bunch.

25-05-2012, 08:19 PM

If over the years the Council had treated each club equally and that had been done as a joke i wouldn't be surprised and could understand it. Given the blatant bias the Council have shown against us while taking it happily up the jeer from hawrts I'm still not surprised. It's like Protestant Action never went away.

25-05-2012, 08:37 PM
Career politicians, not a great mind between them. I'm happy to settle for the likes of James Connolly on our side; real socialist and philosopher.

25-05-2012, 08:42 PM

I think you're being a wee bit precious really. I'm sue he would have done exactly the same thing had it been us at the reception.......and we'd all be peeing ourselves at the hilarity of it.

25-05-2012, 09:37 PM
As an often times neutral fan I for one dont consider watching one side tear the other one a new erchie a good advert for football, especially when its compounded by a ref with maroon glasses on giving penalties for fouls two yards outside of the box.

Nae probs with the cooncil congratulating the Yams for winning the bloody thing ... but I cant help thinking that if it had been us the congratulations would have been delivered through gritted teeth.

25-05-2012, 09:44 PM
I think you're being a wee bit precious really. I'm sue he would have done exactly the same thing had it been us at the reception.......and we'd all be peeing ourselves at the hilarity of it.

I can assure you that is not the case.

25-05-2012, 10:11 PM
I think you're being a wee bit precious really. I'm sue he would have done exactly the same thing had it been us at the reception.......and we'd all be peeing ourselves at the hilarity of it.I disagree

25-05-2012, 10:13 PM
As an often times neutral fan I for one dont consider watching one side tear the other one a new erchie a good advert for football, especially when its compounded by a ref with maroon glasses on giving penalties for fouls two yards outside of the box.

Nae probs with the cooncil congratulating the Yams for winning the bloody thing ... but I cant help thinking that if it had been us the congratulations would have been delivered through gritted teeth. more in line my my thoughts, than the previous keek in the previous post

25-05-2012, 10:46 PM

Disagree. This wasn't some pished up best man having a few laughs in an impromptu speech to a few mates. It was an official reception hosted by the figurehead of Scotland's capital city, and such an occasion should merit a minimum standard of behaviour and decorum. I'd have been embarrassed if it had happened the other way around.

25-05-2012, 11:43 PM
Disagree. This wasn't some pished up best man having a few laughs in an impromptu speech to a few mates. It was an official reception hosted by the figurehead of Scotland's capital city, and such an occasion should merit a minimum standard of behaviour and decorum. I'd have been embarrassed if it had happened the other way around.

Correct - it's a Civic Reception.

As people it shows how much civility they actually have.

Not surprised.

26-05-2012, 11:49 AM
Career politicians, not a great mind between them. I'm happy to settle for the likes of James Connolly on our side; real socialist and philosopher.

Yeah and they had him killed! It always saddens me to see bigots and idiots try to attach themselves to James Connely, he was one of Scotland's greates political leaders, thinkers and non-inclined to the religious aspect we see of Irish Nationalism. Especially when many fighters for his cause were themselves Protestant.