View Full Version : Greggs Chris maguire

23-05-2012, 07:13 AM
Been transfer listed by derby. Could possibly pick him up at 100k? Thoughts.

23-05-2012, 07:42 AM
Been transfer listed by derby. Could possibly pick him up at 100k? Thoughts.

yes please!

23-05-2012, 07:45 AM
Dunno, he's got ability aye, but £100k on him would no doubt mean £100k less to spend on other players. I'd rather we made getting experienced pros a priority, ahead of a luxury such as Chris Maguire.

23-05-2012, 07:46 AM
He would be a decent signing, although did he not turn us down in January?

23-05-2012, 07:47 AM
He would be a decent signing, although did he not turn us down in January?

think he had the option of coming up on loan but decided to go to Pompey

23-05-2012, 08:03 AM
Dunno, he's got ability aye, but £100k on him would no doubt mean £100k less to spend on other players. I'd rather we made getting experienced pros a priority, ahead of a luxury such as Chris Maguire.

I'd love to know how someone who can beat a man and cross a ball - something practically no-one in our squad can do - is a "luxury". I'd snap him up, though I agree that other positions are a priority, namely the CENTRE OF MIDFIELD!!!! :greengrin

23-05-2012, 08:07 AM
I'd love to know how someone who can beat a man and cross a ball - something practically no-one in our squad can do - is a "luxury". I'd snap him up, though I agree that other positions are a priority, namely the CENTRE OF MIDFIELD!!!! :greengrin

What I remember of the Aberdeen Chris Maguire was someone who was capable of plenty but often delivered nowt!

23-05-2012, 08:08 AM

Never mind centre mid ... Whole of mid ..... Naw come to think of it ... Whole new team !!!

23-05-2012, 08:44 AM
Only if he's got some pace.

BurghHibby
23-05-2012, 10:46 AM
What I remember of the Aberdeen Chris Maguire was someone who was capable of plenty but often delivered nowt!

A younger Darren Mackie methinks.

23-05-2012, 10:50 AM
I have a mate who's a Portsmouth ST holder and he has been banging on about McGuire on Facebook since he signed. Seems to thinks he's brilliant.

23-05-2012, 10:59 AM
A younger Darren Mackie methinks.

A better Darren Mackie. Think he did ok in his loan at Portsmouth so he will likely be picked up by a middle to lower Championship team.

23-05-2012, 11:01 AM
Exactly what we need . Don't get hung up on pace . This guy can play football.

23-05-2012, 11:09 AM
For 100K??? Dont think so!.

GreenPJ
23-05-2012, 11:14 AM
Exactly what we need . Don't get hung up on pace . This guy can play football.

He is another prima donna. We are trying to rid the club of that culture.

23-05-2012, 11:19 AM
I have a mate who's a Derby ST holder and he has been banging on about McGuire on Facebook since he signed. Seems to thinks he's brilliant.

Why? he hasn't even been playing for them :confused:.

I'd rather spend the £100k someplace else i.e. for McPake.

23-05-2012, 11:22 AM

Sorry, meant Portsmouth.

patlowe
23-05-2012, 11:46 AM
Heard the Pompey fan on the Football Ramble raving about him a few weeks back. Would love Hibs to go for him but I'd imagine he'll want to keep trying down south.

23-05-2012, 05:54 PM
I can confirm that the boy looked class when he played for Pompey last season. I seen him 4/5 times and he was bizzy off the ball, good on it and could score a goal or two. Would be a goid signing for Hibs. Problem is we need a decent midfield signed first as we could have messi and Ronaldo up from wi last seasons midfield and you'd be lucky if the get 10 goals each all season

23-05-2012, 06:07 PM
Would he need time to gel? :wink:

His goal scoring record looks pretty poor.

Leishy1995
24-05-2012, 12:21 AM
He is better at shooting from centre than O'Connor.

yeezus.
24-05-2012, 01:55 PM
No thanks, his attitude is terrible. I remember him making gestures at Aberdeen fans when they were unhappy with his performance (St. Johnstone at Pittodrie last season.)

24-05-2012, 02:03 PM
No thanks, his attitude is terrible. I remember him making gestures at Aberdeen fans when they were unhappy with his performance (St. Johnstone at Pittodrie last season.)

Yeah coz no one at hibs did that....... Oh wait......

24-05-2012, 02:17 PM

He has. He was on loan there for the remainder of the season. I saw him score a couple of belters for them:agree:

24-05-2012, 04:39 PM

Depends on the context.

24-05-2012, 04:42 PM
Id rather have Jerry Maguire..Scored a goal from the half way line once upon a time but done the sqaure root of ****all since.

24-05-2012, 04:47 PM
Id rather have Jerry Maguire..Scored a goal from the half way line once upon a time but done the sqaure root of ****all since.
Andy he scored a belter for Pompey at St Marys at the start off April. Just b4 ht. I was in the Pompey end the place went wild.

hibeefan95
24-05-2012, 07:00 PM

woodythehibee
24-05-2012, 07:14 PM
Hibs tried to get him on loan in January but Maguire knocked us back. Unrealistic target IMO

24-05-2012, 08:00 PM
Hibs tried to get him on loan in January but Maguire knocked us back. Unrealistic target IMO

Unrealistic target?

He shouldn't be anywhere near a target for us. He's absolutely rubbish!

24 club goals since 2005....

I'm shocked that there is even a thread on him.

And as others have pointed out, rotten attitude as well.

Stay well clear hibs! We have to put rotten apples behind us and start looking for players that will actually benefit the club!!

hiblander
24-05-2012, 08:07 PM
***** 25k at a fetch.

24-05-2012, 08:44 PM
He has. He was on loan there for the remainder of the season. I saw him score a couple of belters for them:agree:

Somebody's no read the whole thread :wink:.

Sumner
24-05-2012, 10:06 PM
Like Petrie is going to sign a cheque for £100k.. Aye right !!

Free-agent times at ER, nominal fees if need be, six-figures, no chance!

24-05-2012, 10:12 PM
No thanks. Griffiths scoring record is far better.

24-05-2012, 11:59 PM

Riordan signed for 400k well into petrie's reign, not too long ago?

25-05-2012, 09:37 AM

Did we not sign Martin Scott for 80k, mental as that now seems.

Leishy1995
25-05-2012, 10:04 AM
Depends on the context.

Maguire equalises for Scotland vs Iceland
O'Connor hits it wide vs hearts.

yeezus.
25-05-2012, 01:25 PM
Yeah coz no one at hibs did that....... Oh wait......

Well that's my point - we don't need another yin who thinks he is in charge

25-05-2012, 04:40 PM
***** 25k at a fetch.

Thank **** this Bellend has been removed.

He was one Hearts barsteward.