View Full Version : Pre-Match Pubs in Glasgow (merged)

11-05-2012, 12:49 PM
Does anyone know what pubs we will be heading to in Glasgow?

I am keen not to socialise with any ****s untill I see them in Hampden.

We are able to be in the centre or nearer the ground.

Has anyone booked out any pubs or hotels just for Hibs fans?

Any advise would be welcome.

11-05-2012, 03:34 PM
Drouthy's on Queen Street, due to its proximity to the station it may well be rammed though.

11-05-2012, 03:40 PM
The Pot Still is a great wee whisky bar about 5 minutes from Central.

Will more than likely be mobbed though.

HibsMax
11-05-2012, 03:53 PM
I know from reading the travel forum that there are buses going through early and booked into clubs. Is entry into those clubs dependent on being on one of those buses? My mate is driving us through (what a saint!) and would rather figure out pre-match drinks sooner rather than later.

11-05-2012, 04:06 PM
http://www.glasgowguide.co.uk/pubs.html

Head into any of these bound to be full of Hibbies apart from the pink establishments, hearts had them booked as soon as they beat celtic.

DAVE1875
11-05-2012, 04:20 PM
If the buses are going to be parked at the same place they were for the Semi then I imagine The International will be heaving again.

11-05-2012, 04:23 PM
Alfredo's just round the corner from QS Station opens at 0800. As does The Iron Horse which is just opposite. Buy a breakfast roll then the session can begin!

hibsforeurope
11-05-2012, 04:26 PM
Does anyone know of any pubs close to hampden still taking bookings for buses? Looking for space for around 30.

11-05-2012, 05:21 PM
Does anyone who knows Glasgow well know of a couple of bars near to our end of the ground? Also driving through (well getting drove through) so looking for a pub near to the ground for a pre match bevvy!

11-05-2012, 05:24 PM
I know from reading the travel forum that there are buses going through early and booked into clubs. Is entry into those clubs dependent on being on one of those buses? My mate is driving us through (what a saint!) and would rather figure out pre-match drinks sooner rather than later.

Im assured hibbies will be able to get into Shettleston juniors club, and ONLY hibbies. Much fun to be had - outside marquee, Hibs DJ's, plenty bars, food....a day morning/afternoon of pure Hibeefun :)

11-05-2012, 06:21 PM
Im assured hibbies will be able to get into Shettleston juniors club, and ONLY hibbies. Much fun to be had - outside marquee, Hibs DJ's, plenty bars, food....a day morning/afternoon of pure Hibeefun :)

This sounds good. Do you have to book? Is it near the ground?

S.sct
11-05-2012, 06:39 PM
Getting the train to Kings Park next week, anyone know of any decent boozers in the area......even better where Hibby's are headed?

Green Man
11-05-2012, 06:42 PM
Beechwood and Montford are on the way from the station to the ground. We were in the Montford before the semi, it's a pretty decent boozer and a fair size.

11-05-2012, 06:43 PM

I dont think so. Shettleston is out to the east of Glasgow and would be about a hours walk.

S.sct
11-05-2012, 06:48 PM
Beechwood and Montford are on the way from the station to the ground. We were in the Montford before the semi, it's a pretty decent boozer and a fair size.

Sounds good.....noted...

pandahfc
11-05-2012, 07:06 PM
Beechwood is closer of the two to Kings Park, regular boozer for me at Scotland games. Was big queue's for the semi for opening, but suppose this was due to 12.15 kick off time .My brother phoned the pub last week to book six of us in and the duty manager seemed quite surprised as there would be plenty room but no food. I would still get there sooner rather than later though. The Montford is further round coming from Kings Park but another decent boozer nonetheless. GGTTH

11-05-2012, 07:51 PM
Getting the train to Kings Park next week.............

Should I take you off the bus list then? :wink:

11-05-2012, 08:09 PM
Was doing a similar bit of research and came accross this useful info....

http://www.netleyabbeytartanarmy.net/glasgowpubs.htm#near

There doesn't seem to be a lot around the East end of the ground but as mentioned the Beechwood might be good - specially if the weather's good as there seems to be plenty of outdoor seating

11-05-2012, 08:33 PM
Alfredo's just round the corner from QS Station opens at 0800. As does The Iron Horse which is just opposite. Buy a breakfast roll then the session can begin!

May well end up there again, hope a few more of us this time- Horse full of sheep for the Semi.

11-05-2012, 09:17 PM

As far as i know, you don't have to book. Only Hibbies getting in (something like 500 officially booked in!) - from what ive read in the past, Hibs fans have been allowed to walk in here, even if not on an official supporters bus.
Its 10 mins on the bus to the Aitkenhead Road (East Stand entrance).
Gonna' be rockin' in here !:pfgwa :flag:

11-05-2012, 11:01 PM
May well end up there again, hope a few more of us this time- Horse full of sheep for the Semi.

Alfredo's was pretty empty that day, so, nae hassle getting served.

11-05-2012, 11:06 PM
Alfredo's was pretty empty that day, so, nae hassle getting served.

Yes, we looked in and it was empty bar a couple of jakeys, Iron Horse was busy, doors shut eventually, but about 80% Aberdeen.

11-05-2012, 11:08 PM
I was probably one of them then! :-)

wee 162
11-05-2012, 11:13 PM
You absolutely sure of your info on this? Reason I ask is because that's where rammed 10 Bounce buses are heading, and I thought they only had capacity for around 600... I dare say they would be happy to take it to capacity, but I wouldn't be convinced that busloads of folk will get in if not booked tbh...

I could well be wrong re numbers if you have different info from me?

11-05-2012, 11:25 PM

To be fair jakey is probably an apt description for any of us who are looking to be in a pub at 8.00 in the morning.:wink:

legends of 73
11-05-2012, 11:38 PM
The pandora on Victoria rd have room if you want a group booked in its best to phone Derek or DD (he's frence). The last I spoke to them they had room for another 100-150 I've got 300 booked in for a wee singsong with DJ billy. The pandora is a regular haunt for the tartan army and billy always puts on a good gig. It's only around a 20min walk to the ground

12-05-2012, 08:05 AM
Getting the train to Kings Park next week, anyone know of any decent boozers in the area......even better where Hibby's are headed?

Should I take you off the bus list then? :wink:

I've taken you off for now.

vercol36
12-05-2012, 08:39 AM

8am you say? Spot on, I say! There will be at least four Hibees there then! If the green shirts and flags don't give it away, the order of 'four pints with blue bols' will probably do it...

hibsforeurope
12-05-2012, 08:46 AM
You absolutely sure of your info on this? Reason I ask is because that's where rammed 10 Bounce buses are heading, and I thought they only had capacity for around 600... I dare say they would be happy to take it to capacity, but I wouldn't be convinced that busloads of folk will get in if not booked tbh...

Our bus booked in there last night, didn't seem to be a problem but if 10 other buses there it may be best to book.

12-05-2012, 08:47 AM

I am going there and your info sounds more accurate.

12-05-2012, 11:55 AM
Cathkin Inn, Mill Road, Rutherglen.

12-05-2012, 02:27 PM
City center for me and then jump on the train up. It's only a 10 minute journey :agree:.

12-05-2012, 02:43 PM

No when wee were there at 8 in the morning, :greengrin by a roll keep your receipt and you can drink all morning. :thumbsup:

12-05-2012, 02:44 PM

Jakey. :thumbsup:

Canonmills
13-05-2012, 10:06 PM
Anyone know if the pub in Cambuslang that the Hibs.net buses have stopped in the past is still open? Was it called the County Inn?? Decent size place with outdoor space should the cup final sunshine show up!

13-05-2012, 11:14 PM
Jakey. :thumbsup:

Needs must! ;-) It'll be the same venue this week with a slightly later start!

davhibee
15-05-2012, 10:33 PM
Don't see a thread on this anywhere - what pubs are folk heading to in Glasgow on Saturday?

Going through early on the Saturday so would be good to find a pub in the city centre that other Hibbys are at, although the likes of Horseshoe, Camperdown and Counting House are likely to be too busy.

Out at Hampden, the end we're at is the worst for pubs, the Jambos have got the end that has The Shed, Granary, Church on the Hill etc. As far as I know there are only a few smaller pubs/bowling clubs at our end? Will these the full up warly with supporters bus bookings?

Share your pre-match boozing plans here!

Stanton
15-05-2012, 10:42 PM
Don't see a thread on this anywhere - what pubs are folk heading to in Glasgow on Saturday?

Going through early on the Saturday so would be good to find a pub in the city centre that other Hibbys are at, although the likes of Horseshoe, Camperdown and Counting House are likely to be too busy.

Out at Hampden, the end we're at is the worst for pubs, the Jambos have got the end that has The Shed, Granary, Church on the Hill etc. As far as I know there are only a few smaller pubs/bowling clubs at our end? Will these the full up warly with supporters bus bookings?

Share your pre-match boozing plans here!

Theres a large " O'Neill's " in the Merchant city which will be Hibby friendly ...and if walking to Hampden you are starting from the Right end to arrive at Hibs end ...approx 30 mins walk though ( but a boozer or two will be passed during the walk so a refreshment enroute ) :flag:

16-05-2012, 06:31 AM
MacSorley's on Jamaica Street. Class boozer and 2 secs from Central. Will be there from 12-2ish.

mjhiggy
16-05-2012, 11:06 AM
We are heading through on early train to the 'weeg'

Any ideas for Pubs etc, where we can have a small shandy in peace?

16-05-2012, 11:31 AM
We are heading through on early train to the 'weeg'

Any ideas for Pubs etc, where we can have a small shandy in peace?

How early is "early"?

mjhiggy
16-05-2012, 12:38 PM
Early 'ish' 9 am train

john18722
17-05-2012, 05:43 PM
Not sure if this is posted elsewhere. Me, my mate and Dad are planning on leaving Edinburgh at 11.30 by car and looking to get parked in Polmadie area. We are looking to go to a decent pub pre match somewhere within walking distance to the ground. Can anyone give me any recommendations. Suffice to say I want to be with fellow Hibbees and not with the ****bos!

john18722
17-05-2012, 05:57 PM
The Beechwood and Montfort House seem like they might be worth a shout. Most of the pubs (according to Google maps) seem to be on the west side of Hampden though, which I assume will all be occupied by the ****.

17-05-2012, 05:59 PM
The international is in the area your looking to park. It's our side of the stadium so would guess it's gonna be full of Hibbys.

john18722
17-05-2012, 06:21 PM
Is it just me or does it seem that we have been given the raw deal with the east side of the stadium as almost all of the pubs near Hampden are on the other side. Even all the pubs at Pollockshaws Road are all on the west side. I take at they are likely to be full of Jambos? Places like the Corona and The Granary

17-05-2012, 06:24 PM
We usually get the East side of Hampden - unless of course it is V selik

Ireallywasthere
17-05-2012, 06:32 PM
The Beechwood and Montfort House seem like they might be worth a shout. Most of the pubs (according to Google maps) seem to be on the west side of Hampden though, which I assume will all be occupied by the ****.

The Montford was recommended to me and thats most likely where I will be heading, apparently there are a few decent places around there

17-05-2012, 06:50 PM

The Montford seems to be where everyone is heading but it's a bit of a walk from where your looking to park. It's a better pub than the International but I think there should be other Hi-Bees there.

17-05-2012, 07:23 PM
The Montford was recommended to me and thats most likely where I will be heading, apparently there are a few decent places around there

interesting question - WHY do Hibs always get east and hearts always west (taking the OF out this equation)?

17-05-2012, 07:26 PM
interesting question - WHY do Hibs always get east and hearts always west (taking the OF out this equation)?

The team whom qualifies first are the home team but Hibs have opted for the away dressing room I assume as that is in East side of stadium, Hibs and Hearts must have agreed but Hibs should really be in the other end and will have had that choice.

17-05-2012, 08:37 PM
Me and my buddies are heading to the Croft Bar & Diner - about a mile SE away from the ground so shouldn't be quite as mobbed.

Of course I've probably buggered that right up now by mentioning it on here :devil:

Stanton
17-05-2012, 08:52 PM
Either stay in City Centre / Merchant City area before travelling over to Hampden as the Kings Park area is very residential and does not have pubs.:rolleyes:

Mount Florida ( Hearts Ends ) is different and has lots of bars.:rolleyes:

If you really want to get within walking distance of the stadium to have a drink ....my recommendation would be to get off the train at " Queens Park " as this drops you at Victoria Road which has lots of Pubs / Bars. It is slightly more towards the Hearts end but far enough away to not be a Jambo fest.
There are lots of bars and you can walk to Hampden ( Hibs End ) in about 15 mins from Victoria Road ...although you have to walk a slight curved route to avoid the Hearts end.:flag:

Montfords Bar is the only real bar of significance at the Hibs End and I guess will be uncomfortably HEAVING

SGHIBEE
17-05-2012, 09:32 PM
Our bus is booked in to 100 Acre in Rutherglen. Anyone been?

17-05-2012, 09:34 PM
Our bus is booked in to 100 Acre in Rutherglen. Anyone been?

Aye once it is ok as a load of ye, I would say 30min walk to stadium.

17-05-2012, 09:42 PM
I've mentioned it on another thread but how come know one ever mentions the International bar on Aitkenhead road? It's on our side of the stadium and only a 10 minute walk. Has it been shut down or something :confused:.

cwilliamson85
17-05-2012, 09:54 PM
I've mentioned it on another thread but how come know one ever mentions the International bar on Aitkenhead road? It's on our side of the stadium and only a 10 minute walk. Has it been shut down or something :confused:.

I was in here for the semi final. Cheap and service was speedy. Was VERY busy though.

My plan is Merchant city / town then jumping in a taxi (£8/£10 between 5 of you).

18-05-2012, 05:45 AM
Penny Farthing on corner of Cathcart Road and Allison Street won't be as busy as it is away from the main drag

18-05-2012, 05:59 AM
Anyone else Iron Horse or Alfredo's bound tomorrow a.m.? planning on being in Alfredo's for 0900

18-05-2012, 06:07 AM
Aye once it is ok as a load of ye, I would say 30min walk to stadium.

It's under a mile but I suppose the old two forward and one back walk after several beers you might be right with 30 mins!

18-05-2012, 10:19 PM
Anyone else Iron Horse or Alfredo's bound tomorrow a.m.? planning on being in Alfredo's for 0900

Distinct possibility, probably an hour or so later than u though.