View Full Version : Media The build up

Matty_Jack04
14-05-2012, 12:17 PM
I was thinking about the build up to the game in the papers blogs and the rest today and how the greyskull crisis may well over shadow the event, thought that maybe if anyone in here was too see something we could post a link up for all to see And comment on?

Good for the overseas lads aswel

Franck Le God
14-05-2012, 01:20 PM
Reading this gave me goosebumps - sums up exactly how I'm feeling this week.

http://local.stv.tv/edinburgh/magazine/99584-scottish-cup-final-2012-countdown-begins-to-citys-biggest-ever-derby/ (http://local.stv.tv/edinburgh/magazine/99584-scottish-cup-final-2012-countdown-begins-to-citys-biggest-ever-derby/)

Matty_Jack04
14-05-2012, 03:57 PM
Good stuff! certainly the case in my work the majority of us can't string a sentence together if it's about something
Other than Hampden next week

14-05-2012, 04:12 PM
The EEN Hibs cup final special is good, although the price is a bit steep at Ģ1.20 its well worth a read.

14-05-2012, 04:26 PM
The EEN Hibs cup final special is good, although the price is a bit steep at Ģ1.20 its well worth a read.

Yeah picked it up this morning. Expected it to be a bit thicker but some good pieces in there.

I think come Thursday the papers will be packed with cup final stuff.

TamHibs
14-05-2012, 04:29 PM
Yeah picked it up this morning. Expected it to be a bit thicker but some good pieces in there.

I think come Thursday the papers will be packed with cup final stuff.

Haha I actually had to try about 4 shops in Fauldhouse to get a copy only to find out it was only 24 pages haha

---
I am here: http://tapatalk.com/map.php?zewj0e

Hibee1
15-05-2012, 06:06 PM
http://www.forthone.com
Ramping up the cup final banter ths week, with various Hibs/Hearts adverts, shows and guests. They're also giving away cup final tickets for the Hibs end tomorrow morning (Boogie in the Morning: 6-10am).

Great to have a station that can focus purely on the Scottish Cup, without going on about the Rangers saga. (aside from in the short news bulletin)

Look forward to a special 'Top Ten at Ten' on fri morning based on Hibs/Hearts songs chosen by Stottie's guests - The Proclaimers & John Robertson.
There's also a phone-in on fri at 6pm with Mickey Weir & Fat Jim.
On the big day itself, they'll be broadcasting live at Hampden from 9am getting all the team news & buid-up (instead of the usual network shows).

Anyon know of any other specials being broadcast? Want to make the most of the build up over the next few days.

Wellbankhibby
15-05-2012, 06:42 PM
Ramping up the cup final banter ths week, with various Hibs/Hearts adverts, shows and guests. They're also giving away cup final tickets for the Hibs end tomorrow morning (Boogie in the Morning: 6-10am).

Great to have a station that can focus purely on the Scottish Cup, without going on about the Rangers saga. (aside from in the short news bulletin)

Look forward to a special 'Top Ten at Ten' on fri morning based on Hibs/Hearts songs chosen by Stottie's guests - The Proclaimers & John Robertson.
On the big day itself, they'll be broadcasting live at Hampden from 9am getting all the team news & buid-up (instead of the usual network shows).

Anyon know of any other specials being broadcast? Want to make the most of the build up over the next few days.

Thanks for your info My Brother and I are past season ticket holders who travel through to ER We have tried EVERYWHERE FOR TICKETS NO JOY. :not worth

15-05-2012, 06:50 PM
Would help if they when the final was this morning they were saying it was on sunday! lol

15-05-2012, 10:09 PM

Hope the Hibees who phone in in the morning know a wee bit more about their club than the Yams did today. First couple of callers didn't know how many times the Yams have won the Cup (bet they would've known how long it is since we won it though). :bitchy:

Matty_Jack04
16-05-2012, 04:15 AM
http://lovelyleftfoot.com/2012/05/15/the-derby-to-end-all-derbies/

Iv a unhealthy amount of hearts friends im getting absolute pelters on facebook this isnt s bad read tho quite amusing for being written by a jambo

16-05-2012, 06:59 AM

Rod is that you????

16-05-2012, 09:39 AM
Heard Boogie giving a shout this morning to the boys coming over from Prague. Flying Friday at 3.00pm, one worked for DHL in Prague if that helps identify you. Didn't realise you were bringing a Jambo though!!!!!!!!

Stanton
16-05-2012, 03:50 PM
EDINBURGH (http://www.orlandosentinel.com/topic/PLGEO00000194.topic), Scotland (Reuters) - The Scottish Cup gets under way in January and my birthday is in February and so every year I make the same wish when I blow out the candles on my cake.
I never told my dad what that wish was, but he's a supporter of Scottish Premier League football club Hibernian too and he's not daft. file:///C:/DOCUME~1/cbgiuk/LOCALS~1/Temp/msohtmlclip1/01/clip_image001.gif
One year, not long into my teens, I puffed loudly and he couldn't stop himself. "You can keep wishing, son," he said, "Hibs (Hibernian) are not going to win the cup."
It was a fairly safe prediction given that Hibernian hadn't lifted the Scottish Cup since 1902.
This week, though, I am in Edinburgh, having flown 6,000 miles from my home (http://articles.orlandosentinel.com/2012-05-16/sports/sns-rt-uk-soccer-scotland-hibernianbre84f0rh-20120516_1_hibernian-manchester-city-edinburgh) in Brazil in the hope of seeing my dad's prediction proved wrong. For just the ninth time in more than a century, Hibs are in the final against Heart of Midlothian F.C.
They face their local rivals at Hampden Park in a match described by Hearts coach Gary Locke as the biggest Edinburgh derby of all time. It is the first time the two clubs from the capital have met in the Scottish Cup final since 1896.
I know most people think I am mad and I have to admit, as Saturday's big match gets closer I do sometimes question the sanity of my decision. Because as losing streaks go, ours is a belter. Forget Manchester City and their 44-year quest to win the English league title. Forget even the Chicago Cubs (http://www.orlandosentinel.com/topic/ORSPT000165.topic) and their 103-year pursuit of baseball's World Series. The last time Hibs won the cup, the Boer War was still raging and the Titanic hadn't even been thought of.
The maddest thing is that I broke the bank (http://articles.orlandosentinel.com/2012-05-16/sports/sns-rt-uk-soccer-scotland-hibernianbre84f0rh-20120516_1_hibernian-manchester-city-edinburgh) to come home and we're not even favourites. We made it to the final despite having our worst team in 30 years. We've only won 14 of 47 games this season, narrowly avoiding relegation. And we've not beaten our cup final opponents for three years.
But I can't help it. I can't bear the thought of Hibs finally winning the Scottish Cup and me not being there to see it.
If I supported Celtic or Rangers, or Chelsea or Manchester United (http://www.orlandosentinel.com/topic/ORSPT000718.topic), or any one of the other 'big' teams who buy success with huge salaries, then this wouldn't be such a gamble. The chances of us winning would be pretty high.
But this is Hibs, a club whose rich and storied history is matched only by its inability to honour that with silverware.
Sure, we've made our mark since being formed by Irish immigrants way back in 1875. When football was a sport and not a business and people turned out to support their local clubs, Hibs were one of the most exciting teams not just in Scotland but the entire world.
In the 1950s we boasted the Famous Five, one of the greatest forward lines the game has ever seen. Since then we've beaten Barcelona and Real Madrid, spanked Sporting Lisbon, and destroyed Man. United and Arsenal. We can proudly say we were once champions of the world - albeit in 1887 before the rest of the world had discovered the game.
file:///C:/DOCUME~1/cbgiuk/LOCALS~1/Temp/msohtmlclip1/01/clip_image001.gifBut then Hibs were always ahead of the curve. We were the first British team to play in Europe (http://www.orlandosentinel.com/topic/PLGEOREG0000014.topic), taking part in the inaugural European Cup - later to be the Champions League - in 1955. We were the first team in Scotland to wear a sponsor on our shirt, the first to get under soil heating, the first to have an electronic scoreboard.
We just never won very much.
Since the heady days of the Famous Five - a team so good Sir Alex Ferguson said it was forever "etched in his mind" - we've never come close to winning the league.
We've been to the Scottish Cup final three times in my life but we lost each time. And while we've lifted the relatively unimportant League Cup on three occasions, I contrived to miss each one; the first took place when I was only five, the second and third came after I had moved abroad.
I was in Mexico in 1991 when my mother called to give me the bitter-sweet news of our victory. "They finally go and win something and you're not here," she said over a crackly phone line, her sobs lurching between sadness and joy. "After you followed them through thick and thin."
Thin and thin was more like it.
My mum isn't around anymore but my dad will be there with me at Hampden this Saturday when we take on Heart of Midlothian in the most hotly anticipated final in decades.
He doesn't remember telling his young son we'd never win the cup. But I do know he'd love to be proved wrong.
We're all wishing...

HibsMax
16-05-2012, 03:53 PM
LINK (http://articles.orlandosentinel.com/2012-05-16/sports/sns-rt-uk-soccer-scotland-hibernianbre84f0rh-20120516_1_hibernian-manchester-city-edinburgh) <-- this is actually a link, not a curt request for one. :wink:

16-05-2012, 03:57 PM
Stay the hell away from hampden, you're a jink :greengrin

In all seriousness, that's a great article and it just shows you that around the world, our "romantic" relationship with this trophy is causing a stir.

16-05-2012, 04:35 PM
This week, though, I am in Edinburgh, having flown 6,000 miles from my home in Brazil

Green Goblin? :dunno:

Stanton
16-05-2012, 05:29 PM
LINK (http://articles.orlandosentinel.com/2012-05-16/sports/sns-rt-uk-soccer-scotland-hibernianbre84f0rh-20120516_1_hibernian-manchester-city-edinburgh)

http://articles.orlandosentinel.com/2012-05-16/sports/sns-rt-uk-soccer-scotland-hibernianbre84f0rh-20120516_1_hibernian-manchester-city-edinburgh

HibsMax
16-05-2012, 05:33 PM
http://articles.orlandosentinel.com/2012-05-16/sports/sns-rt-uk-soccer-scotland-hibernianbre84f0rh-20120516_1_hibernian-manchester-city-edinburgh

Sorry, I know, I posted a link already....but granted it doesn't look like a link, it looks like a curt request for one. :)

16-05-2012, 05:39 PM
Green Goblin? :dunno:

Was thinking the same.

16-05-2012, 05:46 PM
When Saturday Comes (http://www.wsc.co.uk/content/view/8580/38/)

15 May ~ This Saturday Hibs take on Hearts in the Scottish Cup final. If you can’t remember the last all-Edinburgh final, don’t worry – it was in 1896. Hibs last won the Cup in 1902. Anticipation is high in the capital for the "salt and sauce" final (so called because Edinburgh doesn’t do vinegar on its chips). The game will be a refreshing change for a country usually so intensely dominated by two other clubs. Edinburgh football has almost always been the poor cousin of the Glaswegian version, and the game comes well down the list of things for which the capital is famous (tourism, politics, experimental theatre, banking, insurance, cemetery-loitering dogs, frigid pandas…).

But Hearts against Hibs is a big, passionate derby and most of Scotland is savouring the prospect of a half-maroon, half-green Hampden. The Edinburgh Evening News staff are so excited that they’ve penned and performed Go East, complete with panda suits and unsubtle digs at Glasgow, and posted the embarrassing result on YouTube.

The final will also be a watershed match for two clubs in transition. The best thing that can be said about Hearts’ recent spending is that it hasn’t been as reckless as Rangers’. Belated attempts to balance the books have forced the exits of key players at the ends of their contracts. David Obua, Adrian Mrowiec and club talisman Ian Black will not play in maroon again after the final. Star player Rudi Skacel admits he may be leaving too. To reinforce the Jam Tarts’ newly limited expectations, they’ve finished fifth in the league, when their wage bill dictates that anything less than third is a failure.

A few miles to the east, the first 95 per cent of Hibs’ season was tortuous. They only guaranteed SPL survival in the penultimate game of the season, walloping Dunfermline 4-0 in front of 15,000 delirious fans. With a wage bill half that of Hearts, Hibs always sell their best young players, such as Stephen Fletcher, Scott Brown, Stephen Whittaker, Derek Riordan and Garry O’Connor (O’Connor is now back, and scoring vital goals; if Hibs win the Cup, he’s promised to run down Princes Street naked). The club’s financial responsibility is laudable but almost led to relegation. For most of this season they’ve defended atrociously and struggled for results, and they replaced manager Colin Calderwood with Pat Fenlon in November, in a gamble to avoid the drop.

Fenlon’s key singings, particularly Jorge Claros, Tom Soares and James McPake, all on loan, have turned things round just in time, perhaps enough to convince fans that, in the Cup final, they can overcome the rivals who’ve beaten them all three times they’ve met in the league this season. The result of the final will indicate if the balance of power in Edinburgh football is shifting or not. The Scottish Cup is exciting again.

-- Mark Poole

16-05-2012, 06:14 PM
See on the news tonight Hibs legends beat the Jambos legends in a penalty shoot out.
One up for the Hibbies.

yeezus.
16-05-2012, 06:19 PM
The Daily Record did a travel guide for Edinburgh fans apparently.

I didnae think anyone in Edinburgh read that paper

16-05-2012, 07:06 PM
The Daily Record did a travel guide for Edinburgh fans apparently.

I didnae think anyone in Edinburgh read that paper

I wouldn't piss on a Daily Record if my knob was on fire. (Is this right?--Ed.​)

forthhibby
16-05-2012, 07:22 PM
sorry if this has been posted elsewhere but definately sums up saturday for me

http://www.forth2.com/Grant-and-Bob-The-Big-Game-2012/

16-05-2012, 07:41 PM
I wouldn't piss on a Daily Record if my knob was on fire. (Is this right?--Ed.​)

Nope, I think it's "If the Daily Record was on fire, I wouldn't give it the steam off my fish"

Can someone confirm?

17-05-2012, 08:56 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bd9o5EFqo7g&amp;feature=youtu.be

17-05-2012, 08:56 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qDRCQxMXTQk&amp;feature=relmfu

17-05-2012, 08:57 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oVq966XhwaE&amp;feature=relmfu

17-05-2012, 08:58 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BLHqgP3OSsA&amp;feature=relmfu

18-05-2012, 07:01 AM
Very poor. You would have thought a Hibs-Hertz SC Final would have resulted in at least a mention. Nothing on today's BBC Breakfast news sports report. It mentioned the big games (Champions League Final and Championship Play-offs) though. :rolleyes: Remind me, it is the British Broadcasting Corporation.

Last night's SSN did have Fletcher & Berra, but putting the EPL spin on it.

Hopefully, there will be more on today.

18-05-2012, 07:21 AM
Mentioned at 7:15 before the rest

18-05-2012, 07:32 AM
SkySports just mentioned the big match and I was genuinely shocked to see they meant the Champions League final and not our match. I even had a wee rant about it.:greengrin

18-05-2012, 07:35 AM
James McPake was speaking and Zaliuskas earlier :aok: said about how he was astonished it had been 110 years with some of the players and teams the club had in the past. :agree:

18-05-2012, 08:19 AM
Was disappointed in gary richardsons football weekly extra pod. (i usually cant fault it). Barry Glendenning got time to blether a bit about 'salt n sauce' and say hearts were favourites and that was it.

18-05-2012, 08:25 AM
Had an English workmate who asked me what my guesses were for "the big matches" at the weekend.

The silly berk was talking about the Championship playoff final/Champions League Final. Gave him short shrift.

18-05-2012, 08:40 AM
Very poor. You would have thought a Hibs-Hertz SC Final would have resulted in at least a mention. Nothing on today's BBC Breakfast news sports report. It mentioned the big games (Champions League Final and Championship Play-offs) though. :rolleyes: Remind me, it is the British Broadcasting Corporation.

Last night's SSN did have Fletcher & Berra, but putting the EPL spin on it.

Hopefully, there will be more on today.

TBF, Sky News are running a report every half hour

18-05-2012, 08:41 AM
Had an English workmate who asked me what my guesses were for "the big matches" at the weekend.

The silly berk was talking about the Championship playoff final/Champions League Final. Gave him short shrift.

My mate was listening to talk sport during the week and apparently the presenter was talking about what a great day of sport Saturday was with 3 huge finals. The play-off, the champions league....... And the Heineken cup!!
Pat Nevin was inthe studio with him. He soon put him right.

18-05-2012, 08:56 AM
iv been keeping it local for the build up. SSN and Talk sport are far to obsessed with English football that they might go out of their way to include Scotland now and then. Iv been reading the EEN, Scotsman and Forth 1 for the last couple of weeks and for me the build up has been great.

Hibee1
18-05-2012, 10:12 AM
iv been keeping it local for the build up. SSN and Talk sport are far to obsessed with English football that they might go out of their way to include Scotland now and then. Iv been reading the EEN, Scotsman and Forth 1 for the last couple of weeks and for me the build up has been great.

Yep, that's how I've been building up to the big day (+ occassionally BBC Sport). I'm glad that Forth One in particular are really getting involved - especially going against the standad networked Sat morning shows to present a day dedicated to the SC (Live at Hampden from 9am).
Think the Scotsman/EEN have done well to highlight this momentus occassion, and show that football outside the OF does exist!

18-05-2012, 10:16 AM
The Fat Mess and John Collins were on Talksport earlier, I think TFM had just got out his pit!

green glory
18-05-2012, 10:35 AM
The Fat Mess and John Collins were on Talksport earlier, I think TFM had just got out his pit!

Probably been up all night gorging in his lard-trough.

18-05-2012, 10:52 AM
Got a feeling O'Connor is going to be the man for us tomorrow, scored one and made one in the semi and a repeat tomorrow could be enough. :agree:

http://www.youtube.com/user/HibernianTV?feature=mhee

18-05-2012, 01:00 PM
I've had talksport on all morning. Hasn't even had a mention :grr:. Fair do's about the CL final but they've been doing loads on the play-offs. Apparently Luton are playing, they've had a whole segmunt dedicated to them.
OH, and we've no to forget. There's cricket on this weekend :brickwall. Aye, cheers for that.

wearehibernian
18-05-2012, 02:08 PM
Hello all Hibees! I am posting this as wee favour for the Castle FM (formerly Leith FM) team on the Friday night football phone-in with Cameron Hobs:
If you are struggling to deal with your nerves tonight and fancy some pre-cup final banter, and chat, then tune in to Castle FM tonight from 7-9pm. Itīs naturally a cup final special and also the only Edinburgh phone and text in as well. It should be very entertaining!
You can listen on line here - http://tunein.com/tuner/?StationId=65962& or tune in to 98.8FM.

I also have to say that this show is exclusively for the fans and not journo dominated, so they are looking for your feedback and involvement.

18-05-2012, 02:46 PM
They've just had Paddy Power on. "A great weekend of sport and plenty to look forward to. The boxing, rugby and 2 great football games". The football games are the CL and the championship playoff. What makes it even worse is that Paddy even had time to say he'll be in Scotland this weekend for a christening :rolleyes:.

What a joke of a radio station.

wearehibernian
18-05-2012, 05:26 PM
hello all hibees! I am posting this as wee favour for the castle fm (formerly leith fm) team on the friday night football phone-in with cameron hobs:
If you are struggling to deal with your nerves tonight and fancy some pre-cup final banter, and chat, then tune in to castle fm tonight from 7-9pm. Itīs naturally a cup final special and also the only edinburgh phone and text in as well. It should be very entertaining!
You can listen on line here - http://tunein.com/tuner/?stationid=65962& or tune in to 98.8fm.

I also have to say that this show is exclusively for the fans and not journo dominated, so they are looking for your feedback and involvement.

bump - starts at 7pm tonight