View Full Version : Why we will win the final

12-05-2012, 04:52 PM
A thread for posting as many statements that can be described as a FACT that we're going to horse the jumbos a week today.

Let's start with:

The last time we won the Scottish Cup we had an Irish manager in charge and a red haired striker.

12-05-2012, 04:56 PM
Our crap derby record means we're due a win.

12-05-2012, 04:56 PM
Our crap scottish cup record means we're due a win

12-05-2012, 04:58 PM
They will come into this final well over-confident having been unbeaten in their last 10 derbies. But we will suprise them big time.

12-05-2012, 04:59 PM
Because Hearts really aren't that good.

We may have not beaten them in 3 years, but we've managed to beat all the other teams in the top 6 within that time.

It all comes down to the mentality on the day.

We either turn up as winners or turn up as losers.

Whether we win or not will be completely down to ourselves.

wearethehibs
12-05-2012, 05:22 PM
We are *****

12-05-2012, 05:24 PM
Because it is written in the stars.

12-05-2012, 05:36 PM
Fate

And we want it more, the fans, the players, everyone!

Liam_Hibs
12-05-2012, 05:39 PM
Because I fell flat on my face in Nicolson street today. Because of this, I know we'll win.

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2

Minder
12-05-2012, 05:47 PM
My nephew says we will. He is five and his father is a Hearts fanatic. Nephew whispers on phone last night..."ssshh dont tell dad but Hibs will win next week, i ve been watching them on my x box and they score lots of goals". Similar thing happened with his sister last league cup final.

:hibees

jonny
12-05-2012, 05:51 PM
because the "Scottish Cup curse" has officially been broken with the appointment of an Irish manager

12-05-2012, 05:52 PM
Because we just will :greengrin

12-05-2012, 05:54 PM
The law of averages :flag:

12-05-2012, 05:55 PM
I'm thinking of putting a bet on Hearts - that will definitely jinx them

Hanny
12-05-2012, 05:55 PM
My nephew says we will. He is five and his father is a Hearts fanatic. Nephew whispers on phone last night..."ssshh dont tell dad but Hibs will win next week, i ve been watching them on my x box and they score lots of goals". Similar thing happened with his sister last league cup final.

:hibees

That'll do for me. I remember when I was 6 telling my gran that Hibs would beat Dunfermline 2-0 in the Skol cup final. She told me not to get my hopes up etc....

We'll win.

12-05-2012, 05:56 PM
because the "Scottish Cup curse" has officially been broken with the appointment of an Irish manager

Who was our last Irish manager actually, must have been well before my time, as I can't recall any of the managerial appointments having been Irish.

As for why we'll win - got my ticket in the South Stand at Hampden, good things have happened when I've been there in the past.

Hanny
12-05-2012, 06:00 PM
Who was our last Irish manager actually, must have been well before my time, as I can't recall any of the managerial appointments having been Irish.

As for why we'll win - got my ticket in the South Stand at Hampden, good things have happened when I've been there in the past.

We last had an Irish manager when we last won the cup.

12-05-2012, 06:07 PM

The prophecy shall be fulfilled.

:pfgwa

12-05-2012, 07:02 PM

Spooky!

Anyhow found this

Dan McMichael was his name, and he was technically our first ever manager and our longest serving.

He managed the club on two separate occasions.

1900 to 1903 before being replaced by Phil Kelso on 11th April 1903. Kelso resigned to manage Arsenal sometime in 1904 and was replaced by McMichael who managed until his death in February 1919 as a result of the Spanish influenza pandemic

During his time he also held the positions of Treasurer, Secretary and Physiotherapist.

Overall Record:

Played: 598
Won: 218
Drew: 134
Lost: 246

Honours Won: The Holy Grail (1902) & League (1903)

Winning Percentage: 36.5%

12-05-2012, 07:05 PM
Because its about ****ing time. :greengrin

12-05-2012, 07:13 PM
Because this is the year that it really :******: for the cheats and badly run clubs......and as representatives of sporting integrity and the good guys we will :partyhibband bring the joy and romance back, saving the game we love.

12-05-2012, 07:16 PM
The fans are going to be out in full force and give the team support like they have never had before. :aok:

We aren't going to go with the same attitude we had at that semi final against them when the atmosphere was dead and we were defeated before a ball was even kicked. :rolleyes:

12-05-2012, 07:24 PM
Because we want it more.

Every neutral in the world wants HIBS to WIN. FACT.

banchoryhibs
12-05-2012, 07:26 PM
Because we have a manager who knows how to win cups regularly :flag::flag:

12-05-2012, 07:26 PM
We'll win the cup! Hearts will lose major players for next season and ultimately get relegated! Vlad will lose interest and cut his loses! Hearts will go down the gutter! And.... :hyper: :hyper: :hyper:

12-05-2012, 07:30 PM
Because we are not hearts!!

12-05-2012, 07:33 PM
Because for once, we believe

12-05-2012, 07:38 PM
Because half our team aren't our own
Because we have been $#1te all season
Because every Jambo I know is absolutely kacking it
Because paddy is dan mcmichael reincarnated
Because Jim Jeffries is a fat relegated barsteward

And because WE ARE HIBERNIAN FC

Come on Hibs this is our year

drumatic44
12-05-2012, 07:39 PM
Not trying to put a damper on all this positivety (honest !!), but I'm surprised that no one has picked up on the fact that the dreaded Craig Thompson is due to ref. the final.
Yep the very same 'ref.' that barely gives us a decision, we haven't won a game when he's been in charge, allows Hearts players to remove their shirts leave the pitch and give it plenty of G.I.R.U.Y'S without bookings and yet books our's for the most minor offence.
be afraid, be very afraid !!!
Allez les Verts !!

12-05-2012, 07:50 PM
Not trying to put a damper on all this positivety (honest !!), but I'm surprised that no one has picked up on the fact that the dreaded Craig Thompson is due to ref. the final.
Yep the very same 'ref.' that barely gives us a decision, we haven't won a game when he's been in charge, allows Hearts players to remove their shirts leave the pitch and give it plenty of G.I.R.U.Y'S without bookings and yet books our's for the most minor offence.
Allez les Verts !!

:hilarious Who cares :thumbsup:

We don't need any homer refs helping us.

Its our year :flag:

GIRUY yams :hibees

12-05-2012, 07:55 PM
Allez les Verts !!

This is a reason we will win - he surely can't be as bad again as he has been in every other game :wink:

13-05-2012, 08:24 PM
I know an ex Jambo youth player and he's been convinced this is our year before we even kicked a ball in the cup, and he's always one to stick the boot in where he can.

HibbySpurs
13-05-2012, 08:27 PM
Becaue when watching the football on SKY this afternoon I thought to myself 85 minutes in "if City turn this around Hibs will win the Scottish Cup"

I s**t you not :greengrin

Macaroon
13-05-2012, 08:29 PM
The last time Manchester City won the Premier League in England (1968) was the same year that Hearts lost 3-1 in the final of the Scottish Cup

13-05-2012, 08:39 PM
All the pressure is on them. They're financially ****ed, a lot of their first team will be leaving. If they don't win on Saturday they might not ever have a chance like it, whereas we have a good infrastructure, a history of bringing through good young players and with Rangers in trouble, we'll remain in the top four or so Scottish teams.

13-05-2012, 08:41 PM
Becaue when watching the football on SKY this afternoon I thought to myself 85 minutes in "if City turn this around Hibs will win the Scottish Cup"

I s**t you not :greengrin

That's enough for me, I'm partying already :party::party:

Mike_C
13-05-2012, 09:03 PM
Was looking to book Florida back in January. Dates were early May but that date stood out for me! Why? 11 years since a final appearance and 110 years since winning the ****er! Should not have made a difference.....

Now goin the day after the final!!!

This is our year!!!

13-05-2012, 09:19 PM
.....because we can't take the Cup along Princes Street on our victory celebration and it is forecast to rain on Sunday when we do parade the Cup

13-05-2012, 09:31 PM
The last time Hibs won the Scottish Cup Edinburgh was only 20 years away from electric trams running in the city.

Uncanny or what?

13-05-2012, 09:48 PM
Spooky!

Anyhow found this

Dan McMichael was his name, and he was technically our first ever manager and our longest serving.

He managed the club on two separate occasions.

1900 to 1903 before being replaced by Phil Kelso on 11th April 1903. Kelso resigned to manage Arsenal sometime in 1904 and was replaced by McMichael who managed until his death in February 1919 as a result of the Spanish influenza pandemic

During his time he also held the positions of Treasurer, Secretary and Physiotherapist.

Overall Record:

Played: 598
Won: 218
Drew: 134
Lost: 246

Honours Won: The Holy Grail (1902) & League (1903)

Winning Percentage: 36.5%

If you add 598 + 218 + 134 + 246, multiply the answer by 36.5 and then divide it by 1902 you get 22.9 =23

And if you include the Well game Fenlon has been in charge for 23 league games :O:O

If that isn't an omen!! :greengrin

13-05-2012, 10:11 PM
If you add 598 + 218 + 134 + 246, multiply the answer by 36.5 and then divide it by 1902 you get 22.9 =23

And if you include the Well game Fenlon has been in charge for 23 league games :O:O

If that isn't an omen!! :greengrin

because if you add 1+9+02 = 12

13-05-2012, 10:28 PM
Because we win it every 110 years, its regular as clockwork.

djs69
13-05-2012, 10:35 PM
fighter, winner, green blooded james mcpake.

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2

Ultrabee1-0
14-05-2012, 12:00 AM
because im sitting in the exact seat as i was in the 2007 league cup final:greengrin

Sodje_18
14-05-2012, 12:26 AM
We have a better away record than the ****s, we have 6 wins, they have 4!

Over the years all of our best teams couldn't go all the way, so it's time for our worst team to do it :greengrin

Hibs07p
14-05-2012, 06:29 AM
We have won the cup when the year ends in a 2, they haven't.

GGTTH.

14-05-2012, 06:32 AM
Two reasons we will win the final

1) Jamie
2) MacDonald

If you're on twitter, type "Jamie MacDonald" into the search bit.
His own kind are really turning on him, he's a bag of nerves.
Great stuff...

14-05-2012, 07:04 AM
I'll be wearing my special Scottish Cup-winning y-fronts for the first time. I paid £100 for them so the jakey tramp that sold me them had better be telling the truth.

WHUHibs
14-05-2012, 08:35 AM
Why ---- because of a letter written by a member of the ministry in 1956 predicting hibs cup win will be only in 2012 , the Scotsman will publish the story next week if we win :-)

14-05-2012, 09:02 AM
Why ---- because of a letter written by a member of the ministry in 1956 predicting hibs cup win will be only in 2012 , the Scotsman will publish the story next week if we win :-)

Why wouldn't they publish it now? If true, it's a decent cup final build-up story. Next week, it'll get lost in the melee of us winning the cup.

WHUHibs
14-05-2012, 10:41 AM
Why wouldn't they publish it now? If true, it's a decent cup final build-up story. Next week, it'll get lost in the melee of us winning the cup.

Your right beefster,,,they may publish it this week. It was handed in by the owner of the castle inn at direlton, a well known hibby, it was given to his dad..saw the letter and agree...

14-05-2012, 11:06 AM
Pat Fenlon has a 100% Scottish Cup record

Hibs07p
14-05-2012, 11:14 AM
The Jim Jeffries connection. We have gubbed the teams he has played for or managed. 0-7 as a player, 6-2 as a manager, 5-1 as a cup final manager, 4-0 as a relegated manager. Now we're going for the full set, the team he supports. I fancy 3-0 @ 40/1.

14-05-2012, 01:17 PM
Unlike the Hearts supporters song it is not 110 in a row as Cup wasn't played in war years. There has only been a mere 98 meaning we will break the hoodoo in under a hundred attempts.

14-05-2012, 02:44 PM
I work for a large organisation in the South West of England and had a meeting this morning. One of the guys I had met a couple if times and knew he was from the East Coast, but never said anything to him.

After the meeting he came up to me (I was wearing my Hibs tie and lanyard) and said "so are we going to win on Saturday". Another Hibby in my work!

Proceeded to spraff with him for 5 minutes about Hibs. Never knew.

It's a sign.

14-05-2012, 02:46 PM
I work for a large organisation in the South West of England and had a meeting this morning. One of the guys I had met a couple if times and knew he was from the East Coast, but never said anything to him.

After the meeting he came up to me (I was wearing my Hibs tie and lanyard) and said "so are we going to win on Saturday". Another Hibby in my work!

Proceeded to spraff with him for 5 minutes about Hibs. Never knew.

It's a sign.

Funny you should say that, I had a similar experience the other year. Except the other guy was Gary Caldwell!

green glory
14-05-2012, 02:55 PM
Had a terrible dose of the runs this morning. Had to run to the bog before I kecked my breeks. Lo and behold, there in the pan when I'd finished quacking, it said (in green). "Hibees to stuff the Yams, 19/5/12".

Even the punctuation was perfect. It's a sign, I just know it is!

14-05-2012, 03:10 PM
Because, when the players came back onto the park after the Dunfy game, you could just tell they were so up for it and so pumped with Garry bouncing about shouting "Lets F***ing do this!!!"

I really can't see Garry, Sparky, McPake et al letting this one slip.

14-05-2012, 04:38 PM
It feels like 2007.

That year we just knew we would win the League Cup. It feels the same this time, I just can't see the players coming away from Hampden without the Scottish Cup.

Also we have a manager who's a winner who trying to make the step up. Hearts have a manger with no track record of real success, a loser if you will, taking a step down.

14-05-2012, 04:49 PM
Had a terrible dose of the runs this morning. Had to run to the bog before I kecked my breeks. Lo and behold, there in the pan when I'd finished quacking, it said (in green). "Hibees to stuff the Yams, 19/5/12".

Even the punctuation was perfect. It's a sign, I just know it is!

The same thing happened to me, except it read "Hibees stuff Yams the to", so I just moved it into the right order wi my wee finger. Then I was a happy chappie.

It's our year, it just is.

14-05-2012, 07:34 PM
because its baltic outside and must mean hell is freezing over

1959 Hibby
14-05-2012, 08:25 PM
Let's be honest - last time we played them at Hampden we all knew we were beaten before the game started - (Remember the huge section of empty seats in our end?) The team knew we knew and played accordingly. This time it's different - we're up for it - and we'll make sure the team knows it...and the Jambos know it too. No negativitity guys - remember Man City: we could teach them a thing or too about 43 years of hurt (and the rest). Move over Famous Five, Turnbull's tornadoes, Mowbray's lost boys...make room for one more team of legends!!

14-05-2012, 08:27 PM
There was a bit of talk from som eparties before the semi-finals about not wanting to face the yams in the final ... all that kind of nonsense talk seems to have evaporated. Virtually everything I read and every hibby I talk to is so up for this now!

14-05-2012, 08:52 PM
Cos we have half a team that barely have 100 Hibs appearances between them - on a different thread, there was a link to the 1972 Cup Final team and they had nearly 1300 appearances between them - this cup is gonna be won by players with no affiliation to our club - and I could`nt give a flying one lol