View Full Version : Yams Sandy Clark accuses St Mirren of chucking it on Albert Kidd day

09-05-2012, 07:11 PM
Furious Love St Legends blast Clark claims

SAINTS legend Frank McGarvey last night blasted former Hearts striker Sandy Clark over accusations in a new book which claims the Buddies deliberately handed the 1986 league title to Celtic.

Clark has opened 26-year-old wounds by accusing St Mirren players of taking it easy against the Hoops in their final league match of that nail-biting campaign. Back on May 3, 1986, the Jambos only needed a draw against Dundee at Dens Park to clinch their first league title in more than 25 years. However, Albert Kidd’s double saw Hearts collapse to a 2-0 defeat and Celtic then claimed the crown, thanks to a thumping 5-0 win over Saints at Love Street.

Now Clark has published an autobiography in which he claims a member of the St Mirren squad agreed that some of his team-mates were “not exactly good professionals” when they ran out against the Hoops. The former Jambo added: “They were happy to see Celtic win the league.”

However, that has sparked a furious reaction from McGarvey, who played for Saints in that title-decider. And he revealed that, just days after the match, a disgruntled Hearts fan sent him a package containing EXCREMENT as the row rumbled on. McGarvey told Express Sports: “Sandy Clark ought to be ashamed of himself. “I was desperate to do well in that game. “We were on a big bonus to win, so there was a lot at stake for us too. We went out that day and played the best we could. “The Tuesday after the game, I was sent a letter from a Hearts fan with something unpleasant inside the envelope.” He added: “Hearts had it in their own hands that day. They bottled it – plain and simple.”

http://www.paisleydailyexpress.co.uk/renfrewshire-sport/renfrewshire-football/renfrewshire-football-st-mirren/2012/05/09/furious-love-st-legends-blast-clark-claims-87085-30926433/

McGarvey wants clarity on Clark comments

Frank McGarvey has called on Sandy Clark to name the St Mirren source who claimed that some Buddies players had "not exactly been good professionals" when they lost 5-0 at home to Celtic to allow the Hoops to pip Hearts to the Premier Division title in 1986.

Going into their final game of the season against Dundee at Dens Park, the Tynecastle side were two points clear of Celtic with a four-goal advantage and it looked like the championship was heading to Gorgie.

However, in an unforgettable day of high drama, Hearts crashed to a 2-0 defeat as Celtic romped to victory in Paisley against a Saints side who had ex-Celtic striker McGarvey leading the line.

Former Gorgie hit-man Clark, in an extract from his book currently being serialised in a national newspaper, said: "I have spoken to one of St Mirren's players from that day. I know he gave it his all but he confirmed to me there were some of his team-mates who had not exactly been good professionals that day.

"They were happy to see Celtic win the league. I'm not saying anyone went out to throw the game but when the news filtered through Dundee were winning I think there was less and less resistance in certain areas of the pitch."

McGarvey is well aware that Clark's comments will point people in his direction and indeed he has spent the last 26 years intermittently fending off criticism from still-angry Jambos fans.

He told Press Association Sport: "If Sandy can't name his source then his comments have no credibility. They have no credibility anyway. It is a load of nonsense. It is just making excuses. I have had stick for years from Hearts fans and I always say the same thing - why blame St Mirren?

"If Hearts had won or even drawn against a mid-table Dundee side then it didn't matter what happened in our game, Hearts would have won the league. Maybe Sandy should look at his own performance that day.

"Celtic were a much better team than St Mirren and there was no surprise that they beat us and has been shown over the years, when the Old Firm have had to score goals to win league titles they have scored goals.

"But, I say again, it was all in Hearts' hands that day. The question that should be asked is, did their players bottle it? I think football fans know the answer."

http://uk.eurosport.yahoo.com/07052012/63/mcgarvey-wants-clarity-clark-comments.html

Still hurting.

7 Hills
09-05-2012, 07:13 PM
Saints didn't chuck it! Sandy and his mates CHOKED!!!

09-05-2012, 07:14 PM
http://www.paisleydailyexpress.co.uk/renfrewshire-sport/renfrewshire-football/renfrewshire-football-st-mirren/2012/05/09/furious-love-st-legends-blast-clark-claims-87085-30926433/

http://uk.eurosport.yahoo.com/07052012/63/mcgarvey-wants-clarity-clark-comments.html

I wouldn't expect anything else from that muppet

http://www.flickr.com/photos/19817653@N04/7097733855/in/photostream/lightbox/

09-05-2012, 07:14 PM
Aye, read that story in The Daily Record, chuckled my way through the article!

Nae mention of Aberdeen players trying TOO hard the following week though!

wee 162
09-05-2012, 07:15 PM
when the news filtered through Dundee were winning I think there was less and less resistance in certain areas of the pitch.

So St Mirren players stopped playing with 7 minutes to go when already 5-0 down and that's what cost Hearts the league? That's an interesting perspective.

09-05-2012, 07:15 PM
Brilliant. In Albert we trust. Sandy should get a grip, maybe if his mangy lot had the bottle they would have won.

09-05-2012, 07:17 PM
I googled Sandy Clark and got this. http://www.clowns-international.com/

******** wouldnt work

09-05-2012, 07:18 PM
What a complete arse. If the yams had done their part, the result in the St Mirren game would be completely irrelevant. Long live Sir Albert :not worth

09-05-2012, 07:19 PM
Who the f--k is going to buy his book?! I bet he makes his wife buy one. And he'll probably buy one.

09-05-2012, 07:23 PM
Glad it still hurts that manky mob to this very day.

As HutchyHibby says above, What was the excuse the following week against Aberdeen ?

Bottled it,not once,but twice in a fortnight. :na na:

09-05-2012, 07:26 PM
:faf::bye:

09-05-2012, 07:27 PM
Aye, read that story in The Daily Record, chuckled my way through the article!

Nae mention of Aberdeen players trying TOO hard the following week though!

Much the same as the two articles above, but with added moans about the game at Dens being reffed by Bill Jambo Crombie. Strangely enough this favouritism issue wasn't such a big problem in the rest of Crombie's Grade One stint.

It’s a long-held belief of many Jambos that the SFA’s decision to appoint well- known Hearts fan and referee Bill Crombie as match official at Dens Park was another huge factor which sealed their fate – as he feared being labelled biased by giving his club decisions. Crombie was to wave away a strong penalty claim in the game after Clark was tripped by Colin Hendry and the striker insists there was a conflict of interest which added insult to injury.

He said: “I also believe the football authorities made an absolute mess of things by appointing Bill to our game. “Everyone knew Bill was a Hearts fan. It put enormous pressure on him and it was all so unnecessary. “I can’t speak for Bill but it certainly looked like he was uncomfortable refereeing that Dens Park clash. “The last thing he would have wanted was to be accused of favouritism towards Hearts. In that penalty call he went too far the other way “I got a feeling it wasn’t going to be our day. It all stemmed from the infamous penalty that never was after Colin Hendry brought me down. It came from a throw-in down our left. “I turned Colin on the goalline and he stuck his thigh out and knocked me over. It was a stonewall penalty. “If Bill had done his job right that day and given the correct decision then I believe Hearts would have won the league.

“I have met Bill on several occasions since but I have never been able to ask him why he never gave us that penalty. It still hurts so much. “I don’t really need to ask him because I know it should have been a penalty. “It was such a momentous decision and one that I, Bill and every Hearts fan will have to live with for the rest of our lives.”

http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/football/spl/hearts/2012/05/07/hearts-legend-sandy-clark-st-mirren-pal-told-me-some-of-his-side-eased-off-on-celtic-when-they-beat-us-to-1986-title-86908-23851209

09-05-2012, 07:31 PM
Who the f--k is going to buy his book?!

About 5 times* as many mugs as would have without the St Mirren allegation....job done Sandy.
Every time another ex St Mirren is asked by a different newspaper we then get another airing as Fitzpatrick was first a few days back I think.

The fact that his book is being serialised sums up the old boys network in Scottish football and the Scottish media........and that he used to be a hundog prior to the spell of lesser baked hun in Airdrie and Gorgie.

* - couple of hundred in total then

09-05-2012, 07:32 PM
quite simply, Hearts didn't have any bottle.
Simples Mr Clark.
Sore loser. all these years on......and bitter as ever!
Perhaps a better class of player could rise above his own and his club's misgivings, but not him.
eegit!

09-05-2012, 07:36 PM
So did Hertz deliberately chuck their match as well?

:giruy:

IIRC, Hearts only needed to draw. Shame. :fibber:

09-05-2012, 07:37 PM
Sandy's upset again about that glorious day?

09-05-2012, 07:38 PM
the chapter re his time at Hearts can't be too long....hoof the baw to Clark.

09-05-2012, 07:40 PM
quite simply, Hearts didn't have any bottle.
Simples Mr Clark.
Sore loser. all these years on......and bitter as ever!
Perhaps a better class of player could rise above his own and his club's misgivings, but not him.
eegit!

Craig Levein bottled it.

He withdrew from the team about 15 minutes before the kick off.

A couple of first team regulars in that side reckoned there was f*** all wrong with him and there is still an atmosphere between them to this day.

09-05-2012, 07:41 PM
What a walloper:jamboclow:brokenyam:

09-05-2012, 07:45 PM
We think hearts are physical now ?...'kin Clark was a thug...dirty ******* of a player....get over yourself ya welt clark, ffs that was 26 years ago !. That was a great fortnight.

09-05-2012, 07:48 PM
I'm absolutely delighted that 26 years on it still hurts him so much.

Bottlers.

09-05-2012, 07:48 PM
It'll be our fault when they fail to win the cup this season IMO.

09-05-2012, 07:52 PM
Christ 26 years ago, it only seems like yesterday for me. :faf:

Honestly one of the funniest days of my life, the conga down the terracing and the phone calls to all the hearts clubs and pubs from shades pub, asking if Albert Kidd was in the bar. As i said a very funny day. :greengrin

09-05-2012, 07:56 PM
I remember in the 1985/86 season Clark missing an absolute sitter at the coo shed end at Easter Road . The game finished 0-0 I take great comfort from the fact that the extra point as it was in those days cost Hertz the league. Wonder if that is in his booky-wook.:wink:

09-05-2012, 08:00 PM
Rather than accuse, I will state that Sandy Clark is a brutal classless ork and thus a template Yam.

09-05-2012, 08:02 PM
Who the f--k is going to buy his book?! I bet he makes his wife buy one. And he'll probably buy one.

I might if there are a few chapters dedicated to the 85-86 season.

Some smart a*** gave me a Hearts video for my surprise 30th birthday. To my delight its got the Albert Kidd goals, the spangles crying on the pitch at full time, interviews with the distraught players,etc.

I still have it, its in my comedy section along with Fawlty Towers, Reggie Perrin and Blazing Saddles.

09-05-2012, 08:04 PM

Still hurting.

All so unneccesary if only Sandy had scored a couple :bye:

Hibbie_Cameron
09-05-2012, 08:05 PM
What's sandy's excuse for getting pumped in the Scottish cup final the week after their bottle crashed the first time?

09-05-2012, 08:09 PM

GIRFUY Clark ya h****s ******* :jamboclow:

connerg
09-05-2012, 08:10 PM
I remember in the 1985/86 season Clark missing an absolute sitter at the coo shed end at Easter Road . The game finished 0-0 I take great comfort from the fact that the extra point as it was in those days cost Hertz the league. Wonder if that is in his booky-wook.:wink:

St Mirren beat Hearts 6-2 at Love Street earlier in that season, not good for their goal difference. Wonder if that's in his book?

09-05-2012, 08:13 PM
http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b168/jamie1971/AKidd.jpg

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b168/jamie1971/greetingjambos02.gif

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b168/jamie1971/greetingjambo02.gif

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b168/jamie1971/hearts13tf2.jpg

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b168/jamie1971/albert1.jpg

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b168/jamie1971/jambos2gs5.jpg

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b168/jamie1971/jambos3qm5.jpg

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b168/jamie1971/kiddprogram.gif

09-05-2012, 08:22 PM
This should tell them everything. Any idea what they don't understand about it?

the Jambos only needed a draw against Dundee at Dens Park to clinch their first league title in more than 25 years. However, Albert Kidd’s double saw Hearts collapse to a 2-0 defeat

09-05-2012, 08:57 PM
http://i.cr3ation.co.uk/dl/s1/gif/a095b62ba601cdf2e9b5ff3d0e9c8069_sadjambo.gif

gringojoe
09-05-2012, 09:14 PM

Aye he had rounded the keeper then missed an open goal:thumbsup:

09-05-2012, 09:50 PM
Aye he had rounded the keeper then missed an open goal:thumbsup:

Only because he was more comfortable using his elbows than his feet.

09-05-2012, 09:57 PM
Still hurting :faf:

VPHIBEE
09-05-2012, 09:58 PM
I wouldn't expect anything else from that muppet

http://www.flickr.com/photos/19817653@N04/7097733855/in/photostream/lightbox/

My mate works beside Sandy Clark, and he has quoted him as saying "I have just got a bad feeling about this one" when talking about the final. I hope his bad feeling has turned into absolutely spewing come 17:00 19/05/12.:greengrin

09-05-2012, 10:15 PM
If that's what they're like after losing the league title against Dundee, just think what they'll be like in 10 days' time when they're personally responsible for bringing to an end our 110 year wait for the Scottish Cup! :greengrin

Cannot wait! :aok:

ano hibby
12-05-2012, 09:58 AM
Special mention to Aidan Smith who in today's Scotsman under the disguise of a Sandy Clark interview for bringing back into the collective consciousness the EPIC JAMBO FAILURE IN THE REALLY BIG OCCASION THAT WAS 1986.
Well done Aidan. Was worth taking a hit over the unbeaten run to highlight 1986.
Similarities to now not lost on this Hibby. Insert various get it right up ye smileys.

12-05-2012, 10:02 AM
"Hearts “doing a Devon Loch”. Steady, guys, it was all of 26 years ago." :greengrin

12-05-2012, 10:03 AM
1986 will be a tiny blip compared to losing next week. They're worried and they have every right to be.

1986, 0-7 and 6-2 all rolled up into one won't even begin to cover it.

Gala Foxes
12-05-2012, 10:12 AM
Sandy - Thank you very much for being such a key part of that memorable day at Dens Park in 1986

Reading your article today brought back so many happy memories

12-05-2012, 10:34 AM
Sandy - Thank you very much for being such a key part of that memorable day at Dens Park in 1986

Reading your article today brought back so many happy memories

In a word - Fud

He is doing a book signing in the ocean terminal the week after the cup final.

Think I'll go see him when we win. Just to say hi

12-05-2012, 11:36 AM
Christ 26 years ago, it only seems like yesterday for me. :faf:

Honestly one of the funniest days of my life, the conga down the terracing and the phone calls to all the hearts clubs and pubs from shades pub, asking if Albert Kidd was in the bar. As i said a very funny day. :greengrin
Remember it sooooo welllll, i was in that conga ! United scored dont think anybody even noticed haw haw haw