View Full Version : Ref for final (Craig Thomson) merged
20-05-2012, 04:31 PM
Correct.
Some of the hysteria on here is quite frankly embarrassing.
The silence is deafening.
Go on defend that performance then....
22-05-2012, 10:41 PM
He won't be blatant, he's not that stupid, but any contentious call will not go our way. Penalty call for us. forget it. For them it will be a stick on. First booking will go to a Hibs player and Black's first lunge will be ignored.
This man will ruin our Cup Final experience. To my mind THE worst referee in Scotland irrespective of which team he supports. Gutted.
Apart from your first sentence Spike you have been proved to be totally correct along with many others on this site. I really hope the club have made some comments to the SFA which will mean this cheat is not allowed to get away with this again quite so easily. Yes Fenlon got his tactics in the early part of the game wrong but Thomshun had a big hand in the final result.
22-05-2012, 11:30 PM
Well, of all the ultra-positive brigade that posted on this thread pre-match to ridicule others for their apparent bouts of misplaced paranoia and weak-mindedness, at least you've had the grace to come back on and comment post-match.
I was called hysterical and a little girl by doddie and scouse hibee, as I said he would ruin the final and that hibs should complain :rolleyes:
23-05-2012, 05:03 AM
Apart from your first sentence Spike you have been proved to be totally correct along with many others on this site. I really hope the club have made some comments to the SFA which will mean this cheat is not allowed to get away with this again quite so easily. Yes Fenlon got his tactics in the early part of the game wrong but Thomshun had a big hand in the final result.
I am not into blaming the ref as a rule but when you read comments like Spikes in the cold light of day, it certainly prvides food for thought.
23-05-2012, 06:54 AM
Well, of all the ultra-positive brigade that posted on this thread pre-match to ridicule others for their apparent bouts of misplaced paranoia and weak-mindedness, at least you've had the grace to come back on and comment post-match.
I've never been called "ultra-positive" before. How very dare you!
bathhibby
23-05-2012, 07:31 AM
I hope he has a howler in the Euros and is kicked into touch by Fifa
23-05-2012, 08:30 AM
I hope he has a howler in the Euros and is kicked into touch by Fifa
I think it's safe to assume he will make a complete James hunt of himself once again.
http://www.goal.com/en-gb/news/2915/europa-league/2012/03/08/2955306/schalke-boss-stevens-fumes-over-ridiculous-penalty-decision
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/football/competitions/champions-league/8156075/Jose-Mourinho-rejects-gamesmanship-accusations-after-Real-Madrids-Sergio-Ramos-and-Xabi-Alonso-see-red.html
That's just two of many, though these are just incompetence rather than the outright calculated cheating we have to put up with from him.
23-05-2012, 10:00 AM
I was called hysterical and a little girl by doddie and scouse hibee, as I said he would ruin the final and that hibs should complain :rolleyes:
Yes I ridiculed you in your assessment of how he would ruin the final and will now take it on the chin as being completely wrong. You and many others were so right, it's ridiculous that it went so as you predicted. I'll listen to your words of wisdom in future. :embarrass
I didn't call you a little girl did I?
23-05-2012, 10:02 AM
I was on holiday last week and only got home in time to switch on TV to see McPake score the goal.
I am not using Thomson as an excuse for us losing but would relate this conversation I had , on Wednesday prior to the match , with an ex SPL player ( West of Scotland born ) who is now an " SFA Liason Officer"
" ....... couldn't believe the appointment of Thomson to this tie . Everyone knows he is a Hearts man through and through . Was either a shareholder/ST holder - not sure.
It has been the " talk of the wash hoose " ever since it was announced and none of us can believe the SFA could be so niave .
Your lot (Hibs) have no chance as there will be a Hibs player sent off and a contentious penalty awarded to Hearts - you can put a fiver on that !!!"
This was last Wednesday remember
I repeat that we were dire and don't think we would have won anyway - but ?
" I rest my case "
23-05-2012, 10:05 AM
Yes I ridiculed you in your assessment of how he would ruin the final and will now take it on the chin as being completely wrong. You and many others were so right, it's ridiculous that it went so as you predicted. I'll listen to your words of wisdom in future. :embarrass
The annoying part is that, those who have witnessed his performances when officiating a Hibs game this season, knew it was a stick on! As soon as I heard he was to ref the final I was certain we would get a player sent off. he ******g hates Hibs.
Next seasons first derby - you know who will be in charge and you know what he will do!
none of us can believe the SFA could be so niave .
It wasn't naivity - they knew what the deal was.
23-05-2012, 11:25 AM
Naivity :
simple and straightforward in one's way of thinking, speaking etc.
Given that - you are " right on the money "
:wink::greengrin
23-05-2012, 05:27 PM
Will Hibs raise officially with the SFA or do anything about this? Can you imagine the press frenzy there would be if it was one of the old firm that had been cheated in this way.
23-05-2012, 06:22 PM
If you didn't doddie did.
It's fine though, result was too deppressing to take any pride in being right mate.
23-05-2012, 06:36 PM
Aye, right enough. The SPL have got it in for us!!!!
23-05-2012, 06:52 PM
Interestingly , was having a pint at lunchtime and was introduced to a guy who is an " Assistant Referee" ( Linesman to us older folk) in SPL/Div One.
He refused point blank to talk about Thomson and his tie up with the ****bo's but did say that virtually every official has an openly " soft spot" for one team and a real dislike of others ( He's a Falkirk supportyer) . Ref's evidently keep notes on players , again he wouldn't elaborate.
All goes to make the suggestion by some posters that for cup finals we should appoint foreign officials - would the Mafia allow it to work ?
Interestingly , was having a pint at lunchtime and was introduced to a guy who is an " Assistant Referee" ( Linesman to us older folk) in SPL/Div One.
He refused point blank to talk about Thomson and his tie up with the ****bo's but did say that virtually every official has an openly " soft spot" for one team and a real dislike of others ( He's a Falkirk supportyer) . Ref's evidently keep notes on players , again he wouldn't elaborate.
All goes to make the suggestion by some posters that for cup finals we should appoint foreign officials - would the Mafia allow it to work ?
As far as I'm concerned, all derby fixtures, cup semi-finals and cup finals should be given to foreign referees.
It's a sad state of affairs that this should be necessary but that's where the game in Scotland has got to, IMHO.
The SPL don't run the Scottish Cup. The SFA do though and a you can count on a Sea-Lion's fingers the favours given us.
23-05-2012, 10:28 PM
If you didn't doddie did.
It's fine though, result was too deppressing to take any pride in being right mate.
:aok: I'll agree with you straight away on that one!
23-05-2012, 10:36 PM
As far as I'm concerned, all derby fixtures, cup semi-finals and cup finals should be given to foreign referees.
It's a sad state of affairs that this should be necessary but that's where the game in Scotland has got to, IMHO.
Don't even need to be foreign, I'm sure that there are plenty of referees in the North of England who would be able to referee the game without too much prejudice.
23-05-2012, 10:45 PM
Get the Maltesers back! Preferably ones with a soft spot for Hibernians...
Don't even need to be foreign, I'm sure that there are plenty of referees in the North of England who would be able to referee the game without too much prejudice.
Sorry - when I said 'foreign' I was meaning from outwith Scotland.
So, I agree completely. Any qualified referee who has no affiliations with the footballing mafia in Scotland.
23-05-2012, 10:56 PM
Sorry - when I said 'foreign' I was meaning from outwith Scotland.
So, I agree completely. Any qualified referee who has no affiliations with the footballing mafia in Scotland.
Agree with you BEEJ. Even if a ref is known to support a team (Calum Murray is a jambo) they don't tend to be as blatantly biased as Thomson is. He dislikes us with a passion. He should never have got anywhere near the final. It appears to be an open secret amonst SFA officialdom that Thomson doesn't like Hibs. I wish our club would do something about this.
23-05-2012, 11:14 PM
Agree with you BEEJ. Even if a ref is known to support a team (Calum Murray is a jambo) they don't tend to be as blatantly biased as Thomson is. He dislikes us with a passion. He should never have got anywhere near the final. It appears to be an open secret amonst SFA officialdom that Thomson doesn't like Hibs. I wish our club would do something about this.
I made that point before. No problem with refs supporting any club - you would expect them to have followed some team in their youth and even as they got older.
The problem is when they blatantly show a bias on the park.
Thomson could/should have booked Black twice and sent him off. Pa was booked twice and sent off. The free kick should have been given outside the box.
These were the correct decisions. God how I hate cheats especially the ones who are supposed to be impartial i.e. refs/judges/polis/administators? :wink:/etc.
marleyhib
23-05-2012, 11:57 PM
I don't buy this Thomson being biased and I wouldn't use it as an excuse for Saturday, we were woeful. But, he did have a bad game and get some crucial decisions wrong which did affect the game hugely.
I can't bring myself to watch any of the game again but undoubtedly:
a) he bottled it with Black, he should have been sent off - maybe cos it was so early in the game he didn't want to do anything as he knew it was a red
b) Kujabi had been booked (maybe unfairly), it wasn't a penalty (I thought he'd booked him for diving at the time) but it was a sending off if he'd already been booked
I still don't think we'd have won but we'll never know.
I hate Hearts, always will - we'll be back but I can't be bothered with sour grapes. They won, we didnae, that's fitba.
24-05-2012, 06:56 AM
I don't buy this Thomson being biased and I wouldn't use it as an excuse for Saturday, we were woeful. But, he did have a bad game and get some crucial decisions wrong which did affect the game hugely.
a) he bottled it with Black, he should have been sent off - maybe cos it was so early in the game he didn't want to do anything as he knew it was a red
b) Kujabi had been booked (maybe unfairly), it wasn't a penalty (I thought he'd booked him for diving at the time) but it was a sending off if he'd already been booked
I hate Hearts, always will - we'll be back but I can't be bothered with sour grapes. They won, we didnae, that's fitba.
Normally you just have to get on with it but in Thomson's case this isn't just sour grapes. The wine has not just gone off its positvely poisonous! Thomson has over a long period been consistently poor when officiating at our games. 47 bookings and 2 yellows given to us over 5 seasons. I'm not sure if we have recorded a victory with him in charge - certainly there won't be many. Think back to the last time we played Hearts in the cup. Fletcher sent off wrongly by Thomson imho..
24-05-2012, 08:54 AM
He blew on 90mins when there was clearly at least 3 additional minutes to play as shown by the fourth official. This is basically theft and the match should be disregarded from the history books forever.
I don't buy this Thomson being biased
That's fair enough mate we all have an opinion but for me it's as plain as the nose n my face. The guy is a cheat.
and I wouldn't use it as an excuse for Saturday, we were woeful. But, he did have a bad game and get some crucial decisions wrong which did affect the game hugely.
I'm not using it as an excuse as we were awful. But we weren't that awful that I had to pay and watched us getting screwed over by the officials as well.
He showed a lot of bottle in allowing him to stay on the park. The fact that he never even booked him shows his bias. There's nothing in the rules that states a red card offence shouldn't be punished appropriately because of the time the offence took place. One example is Thomson sending Steven Fletcher off the last time we played them at Easter Road, very early in the game for a tackle that didn't make contact.
We probably wouldn't have won, we'll never know as every pivotal decision went against us.
If you're force fed sour grapes I feel entitled to spit them out.
24-05-2012, 10:57 AM
That's fair enough mate we all have an opinion but for me it's as plain as the nose n my face. The guy is a cheat.
I'm not using it as an excuse as we were awful. But we weren't that awful that I had to pay and watched us getting screwed over by the officials as well.
He showed a lot of bottle in allowing him to stay on the park. The fact that he never even booked him shows his bias. There's nothing in the rules that states a red card offence shouldn't be punished appropriately because of the time the offence took place. One example is Thomson sending Steven Fletcher off the last time we played them at Easter Road, very early in the game for a tackle that didn't make contact.
We probably wouldn't have won, we'll never know as every pivotal decision went against us.
If you're force fed sour grapes I feel entitled to spit them out.
Black should have walked for the elbow, no doubt about it. I've seen it a few times now and it's a red card offence every day of the week. The comparison I'd give anyone arguing that is Jobbie Neilson's sending off against Celtc in the quarter final for a lesser foul of a similar nature.
Thomson got that call wrong big time, and when you consider what he booked Kujabi for then you know it's not just incompetence, it's cheating.
Had Hearts lost their best player (and he was their best player on Saturday) and had to change their team around, there's nobody can tell me we'd not have gotten a lift from that and upped our game.
Then despite that and going two goals behind, from nowhere really, we get a goal back and get in at half time having changed Claros for Sproule and come out for the second half still in the game. Who knows how that would have went had Thomson and Susan not cheated for the penalty. The fact is that Thomson took away any chance we had of getting back into that game.
He's a cheating ****, and no matter how much I acknowledge how badly we played (and we did not turn up at all) I will never get away from the fact that the referee screwed us over in that game. He's a ******* ****-hole.
24-05-2012, 11:09 AM
Black should have walked for the elbow, no doubt about it. I've seen it a few times now and it's a red card offence every day of the week. The comparison I'd give anyone arguing that is Jobbie Neilson's sending off against Celtc in the quarter final for a lesser foul of a similar nature.
Thomson got that call wrong big time, and when you consider what he booked Kujabi for then you know it's not just incompetence, it's cheating.
Had Hearts lost their best player (and he was their best player on Saturday) and had to change their team around, there's nobody can tell me we'd not have gotten a lift from that and upped our game.
Then despite that and going two goals behind, from nowhere really, we get a goal back and get in at half time having changed Claros for Sproule and come out for the second half still in the game. Who knows how that would have went had Thomson and Susan not cheated for the penalty. The fact is that Thomson took away any chance we had of getting back into that game.
He's a cheating ****, and no matter how much I acknowledge how badly we played (and we did not turn up at all) I will never get away from the fact that the referee screwed us over in that game. He's a ******* ****-hole.
100% correct.
Be interesting to see how quickly he gets another Hibs game at ER.
100% correct.
Agree too.
Be interesting to see how quickly he gets another Hibs game at ER.
I personally cannot wait.
24-05-2012, 11:16 AM
I would like to think that Petrie is using his position at the SFA to have a discrete word with refereeing authorities.
His position in the SFA counted for **** all when Thomson was appointed so I doubt he has much clout there at the moment.
He blew on 90mins when there was clearly at least 3 additional minutes to play as shown by the fourth official. This is basically theft and the match should be disregarded from the history books forever.
That was the only favour the cheating .... did us - ever:fuming:
24-05-2012, 12:51 PM
Normaly I would agree with you but too many on this board predicted what would happen and it did. I dont have Spike's post to hand but I recall it was, in particular, uncanily accurate in its description of events and how they would unfold.
Whether it was ineptitude, incompetence or something more sinister, there can be no doubt that Thomson's performance had an influence on the outcome of the game, to the disadvantage of one side. As predicted.
25-05-2012, 09:58 PM
Thought this video would be apt for here, seems like he is just a crap referee in general, how is he Scotland's best? Blatant bias against certain teams and makes horror decisions every game.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2tvewlR39Mc
Harpandcastle
25-05-2012, 10:25 PM
I'm disappointed Hibs have not spoke out against him. Whether its bias (which I think it is, I'm convinced the mans a cheat) or lack of ability Craig Thomsons performances during our matches are a disgrace. The decision not to card Black was as big as the penalty award. I'm not for one minute saying we would have won that game but a few key decisions ensured we would not.
Our players, management team & Directors have all had some very public criticism and rightly so, Our manager is due to appear before the SFA for a gesture he made yet Craig Thomson and Suso Santana carry on with nobody to answer to. The fact this clown now heads to a major championship makes it all the more galling.
25-05-2012, 10:29 PM
I'm disappointed Hibs have not spoke out against him. Whether its bias (which I think it is, I'm convinced the mans a cheat) or lack of ability Craig Thomsons performances during our matches are a disgrace. The decision not to card Black was as big as the penalty award. I'm not for one minute saying we would have won that game but a few key decisions ensured we would not.
Our players, management team & Directors have all had some very public criticism and rightly so, Our manager is due to appear before the SFA for a gesture he made yet Craig Thomson and Suso Santana carry on with nobody to answer to. The fact this clown now heads to a major championship makes it all the more galling.they'll just sit back and take it, gutless on the park and just as bad off it.
Harpandcastle
25-05-2012, 10:57 PM
they'll just sit back and take it, gutless on the park and just as bad off it.
Agreed, and that's what is disappointing. Other clubs would be going tonto over this, our custodians need to fight our corner better. Maybe the support need to take the lead on this. I would like to see the supporters assoc, .net, the bounce, and individual season ticket holders call on the club to make a complaint or at least register complete unsatisfaction in the standard of refereeing this joker provides.
26-05-2012, 12:10 AM
Thought this video would be apt for here, seems like he is just a crap referee in general, how is he Scotland's best? Blatant bias against certain teams and makes horror decisions every game.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2tvewlR39Mc
It's not as if he's unsighted in any of these incidents. If anything he's well up with play in most.
Showing all the qualities of an official from Hell.
Biased, incompetent and a showman.
CT,PFO
26-05-2012, 12:14 AM
Our players, management team & Directors have all had some very public criticism and rightly so, Our manager is due to appear before the SFA for a gesture he made yet Craig Thomson and Suso Santana carry on with nobody to answer to. The fact this clown now heads to a major championship makes it all the more galling.
:agree: Both statements 100% correct.
No wonder the game is dying in Scotland with performers like this on view.
VickMackie
26-05-2012, 12:19 AM
Personally, I've not used the Thomson ref as an excuse. However, anyone that says we would definitely have been beaten is full of *****. Almost every comment or conversation I've had says we would have been beaten anyway so the penalty didn't matter.
It DID ****ing matter.
We scored a goal just before half time, the time everyone says is the best time to score, if you're getting beat going into HT.
Did anyone watch the CL final after? I know I did. Bayern with about 35 shots and 70% possession. Did they win? No.
That's why I don't buy this BS we were already beat.
I didn't expect us to win but FFS.
Personally, I've not used the Thomson ref as an excuse. However, anyone that says we would definitely have been beaten is full of *****. Almost every comment or conversation I've had says we would have been beaten anyway so the penalty didn't matter.
It DID ****ing matter.
We scored a goal just before half time, the time everyone says is the best time to score, if you're getting beat going into HT.
Did anyone watch the CL final after? I know I did. Bayern with about 35 shots and 70% possession. Did they win? No.
I didn't expect us to win but FFS.
Totally agree.
26-05-2012, 11:22 AM
And might I just make my sincere apologies to all those netters whose pre-match concerns about Thomson I rubbished?
You were right.
I was wrong.
I'm sorry.
26-05-2012, 11:35 AM
I've emailed Hibs but it would be much better if others did so as well. As a club we've got to start fighting our corner. To me there is no doubt Thomson has an agenda against us. The fact he can continue this into a national cup final is a disgrace.
26-05-2012, 12:01 PM
It DID ****ing matter.
I didn't expect us to win but FFS.I agree, I wouldnae use him as an excuse for our losing, I personally think we would still have been beaten based on our awful performance, but we will never know what the outcome would have been had it remained a fair contest because it never. At 2-1 we were still in it but that cheating ******* made several decisions that made sure we had no chance of winning it. While our performance didnae deserve a win that disnae mean that cheating ******* should get of the hook. Petrie was on about sporting integrity the other week, well he should be making a start on questioning the integrity of that referee. In every game he has referees involving Hibs he cheats, but will Hibs do anything about it, nah they'll just sit back and let it happen.
26-05-2012, 01:03 PM
It will be interesting to see how long it will be before the SFA give him a game at ER.
If it's a long time then they will either be admitting (at best) he had a bad SCF or (at worst), they're running scared.
If it's soon then (at best) they're totally naive or (at worst) they have an agenda with us too. (Sorry if that part sounds too Celtc-y)
No matter when he comes to ER, some sort of fan protest should be made to show CT (and the medja) what we think of him and his dodgy decisions.
S.sct
26-05-2012, 02:17 PM
I agree in part, we were poor but these were key decisions. Black goes at 0-0 and the game changes. Kujabi stays on and no penalty the game changes. Just provide a level playing field and if we still loose then we take it on the chin.
neilmartinrocks
26-05-2012, 03:29 PM
It will be interesting to see how long it will be before the SFA give him a game at ER.
If it's a long time then they will either be admitting (at best) he had a bad SCF or (at worst), they're running scared.
If it's soon then (at best) they're totally naive or (at worst) they have an agenda with us too. (Sorry if that part sounds too Celtc-y)
No matter when he comes to ER, some sort of fan protest should be made to show CT (and the medja) what we think of him and his dodgy decisions.
somehow i dont think we'll be forgeting that cheating **** in a hurry.
26-05-2012, 03:57 PM
I agree in part, we were poor but these were key decisions. Black goes at 0-0 and the game changes. Kujabi stays on and no penalty the game changes. Just provide a level playing field and if we still loose then we take it on the chin.
It was not a Pen but Kujabbi had to go it was certain 2nd booking.
And might I just make my sincere apologies to all those netters whose pre-match concerns about Thomson I rubbished?
I've emailed Hibs but it would be much better if others did so as well. As a club we've got to start fighting our corner. To me there is no doubt Thomson has an agenda against us. The fact he can continue this into a national cup final is a disgrace.
CA, what's the best email address to use to reach the club?
Despite the obvious benefits of venting our spleen at him, I'd far rather Thomson never set foot inside ER again as one of the match officials. Nor should he officiate at any of our away fixtures.
We have to value far more highly having an evens chance of securing three SPL points at every single league match. No point starting a league season with an odds on chance that you've already lost 18 - 27 points largely due to a lack of impartiality in the country's 'top referee'.
26-05-2012, 04:19 PM
It was not a Pen but Kujabbi had to go it was certain 2nd booking.
Yes, but the first was as soft a booking as you will see. Coming only 5 minutes after the incident with Black didn't make it look any better.
26-05-2012, 04:24 PM
Yes, but the first was as soft a booking as you will see. Coming only 5 minutes after the incident with Black didn't make it look any better.
:agree: Yip one week on and with a clearer head, the only conclusion i can come up with is that referee is a complete cheat. I have no problems with the booking hibs players got, as long as he was even with those bookings.
That was clearly not the case, and with a clear view, a better view than the linesman. He gives a penalty for a foul at least 6 foot out the box.
He's a cheat, the evidence is there for all to see.
26-05-2012, 04:29 PM
:agree: Yip one week on and with a clearer head, the only conclusion i can come up with is that referee is a complete cheat. I have no problems with the booking hibs players got, as long as he was even with those bookings.
That was clearly not the case, and with a clear view, a better view than the linesman. He gives a penalty for a foul at least 6 foot out the box.
100%....and not just the in the final either.
I hate him.
EuanH78
26-05-2012, 04:33 PM
CA, what's the best email address to use to reach the club?
Despite the obvious benefits of venting our spleen at him, I'd far rather Thomson never set foot inside ER again as one of the match officials. Nor should he officiate at any of our away fixtures.
We have to value far more highly having an evens chance of securing three SPL points at every single league match. No point starting a league season with an odds on chance that you've already lost 18 - 27 points largely due to a lack of impartiality in the country's 'top referee'.
[email protected] usually gets a response.
26-05-2012, 05:03 PM
It appears Thomson has previous with Ian Black. I remember watching the Tynecaste game on TV and being amazed at the time he wasn't sent off.
http://www.rangersmedia.co.uk/homepage/index.php/component/content/article/41-finances/669-craig-thomson-time-to-re-read-the-rulebook.html
26-05-2012, 05:26 PM
Can i also join in the 'i was wrong to call anyone a bedwetter about Thomson' thread? :greengrin
To be fair though, i think we ALL had our concerns about him being appointed. It was just that some of us felt that in the spirit of mass optimism we should.have saved the moaning till AFTER the game. This place was uber happy clapper the week before the final; i for one loved it :greengrin
LeithBoozy
26-05-2012, 06:17 PM
Football folk who normally know their stuff, all tell us that no team will be on top for 90 Min's. Every team will have a spell on top, that being the case I don't understand why all the mystic Megs say we would not have won anyway?. Certainly at no stage were we on the front foot in the first half, so who can say without the Intervention of f===face we could not have went on to win it?.
Harpandcastle
26-05-2012, 06:44 PM
I watched the 1st half highlights on the iplayer today. Skacel chops down Stevenson midway through the half and again while the tackle is the equal of Kujabi's escapes with no punishment. I have no wish to watch the 2nd, it was a dead rubber & damage limitation after the penalty award and sending off. The longer it goes the more I want pressure put on our club to make something of this, it was far to big an occasion to just take it on the chin.
Cheers! I'll be emailing them asking them to confirm that they have taken action on this.
alan gordon
26-05-2012, 07:59 PM
I happened to speak to a Grade 1 linesman today for a few minutes.
A really nice guy who just happens to be a jambo in a family of Hibbees.
He was on his way to an end of season luncheon with other officials, I asked if Craig Thompson was going to be in attendance.
His reply was - no. I said that's a pity, you could have given him this- (I then gestured a two-fingered poke in the eyes).
This guy looked right at me, shaking his head, and said ''How he ever gave that penalty is a mystery, never ever a penalty, it is being seriously looked at''.
Never known this guy to ever pass comment on a referee decision.
Hopefully, it will be.
26-05-2012, 08:25 PM
That's the one Beej. Hope others email too. This **** costs us points season after season.
hibbiedon
26-05-2012, 08:36 PM
Should we be organised to welcome him to ER, non stop barage of cheat cheat cheat type of thing,
burghhibs
26-05-2012, 08:54 PM
Should we be organised to welcome him to ER, non stop barage of cheat cheat cheat type of thing,
Think that has to be done if he ever sets foot in Easter Road again :agree:
aunty joyce
27-05-2012, 01:20 PM
I happened to speak to a Grade 1 linesman today for a few minutes.
A really nice guy who just happens to be a jambo in a family of Hibbees.
He was on his way to an end of season luncheon with other officials, I asked if Craig Thompson was going to be in attendance.
His reply was - no. I said that's a pity, you could have given him this- (I then gestured a two-fingered poke in the eyes).
This guy looked right at me, shaking his head, and said ''How he ever gave that penalty is a mystery, never ever a penalty, it is being seriously looked at''.
Never known this guy to ever pass comment on a referee decision.
Hopefully, it will be.
Unfortunately I doubt it will be seriously looked at as I wrote to the SFA on the Monday after the final complaining about Craig Thomson's performance and asked who he is answerable - raising the following incidents;
1. Why did the referee NOT penalise Ian Black for the horrendous elbow on Leigh Griffiths?
2. Why around the 15th minute when Suso Santana fouled Kujabi was there no action taken (other than awarding a free kick) yet when the ball went back down the park a minute or so later and Kujabi fouled Suso Santana he was yellow carded?
3. Why did the referee chose not to penalise Rudi Skacel for his tackle on Lewis Stevenson around the 20 minute mark - yes, Rudi may have got the ball but he took the man with it?
4. In the words of Craig Levien our Scotland Manager during the post match analysis, the third goal killed any chance of Hibs getting back into the game . . . this goal was the result of a Penalty Kick for an incident which happened OUTSIDE the box?
The response I got from the Head of Referee Development was;
'I do not intend to answer every point you have raised as decision making is opinion and your opinion may often differ from mine and the match officials at any game.
The referees who operate in the SPL are subject to observations from the observer and a report is not finalised until the major incidents are reviewed using TV evidence. We believe that if something happened in the game which is highlighted by TV and not seen by the referee that in the interest of coaching we should analyse the incident and decide how the referee team could have done better or what they did well'
He then went on to say that Craig Thomson who is one of only 12 referees selected from Europe to referee at the European Championships.
So in effect he did not answer ANY of the points raised - surprise surprise!!!
27-05-2012, 01:33 PM
So why don't you keep the pressure on and ask 1) when will they release the findings of the review of the performance 2) after those findings, when will Thomson be 'coached' as to identify where he went wrong and 3) if opinions differ, surely he's (head of referees) capable of giving you his own - or is transparency not a keyword in their world ?
Well done for writing in though. I think many should bombard Richard Gordon though - he likes highlighting diving incidents after all......where Hibs are concerned.
27-05-2012, 01:35 PM
And when I say bombard, I mean ask RG if they intend to pressure the SFA to look at the Black & Suso incidents, giving them the same scrutiny as they did Leigh and Garry.
Minder
27-05-2012, 02:07 PM
Not just at Eater Road, lets get other fans at other clubs involved! Every ground every game, "cheat cheat cheat".
27-05-2012, 02:59 PM
That Craig Thomson has some serious issues with Hibs is beyond question, but where this comes from is a bit of a mystery. OK, all Refs have stinkers and all supporters sense a bit of bias against their Club but Thomson's performances at Reffing Hibs games is at a different level altogether.
The only link I can see between Hibs and Thomson that could generate such hostility is his employment as a Solicitor with McLay Murray and Spens.
Thomson worked in that law firm from around 2002 until he went full time refereeing in 2009. His position in the firm was as a Construction Lawyer and , although I can't be sure , would come under the supervision of Amanda Jones who has been a partner in charge of Employment Law at the firm since 2001.
Amanda Jones was appointed to the Hibs Board in 2008 ? and whether there was any hostility between the pair which could have lead to Thomson unexplainable behavior when refereeing Hibs matches is purely guesswork on my part.
What I would like to know is there any disclosure requirements a referee has to provide to the SFA with respect to taking charge of a match when his " Boss " is a director of one of the teams involved.
27-05-2012, 03:43 PM
If section 43 or anyone else fancied making banners against him or any other protests for his next visit or otherwise I'd be happy to chuck a few quid towards it. Anyone else?
27-05-2012, 04:24 PM
Seriously, whats the point?
I'm sure "cheat cheat cheat" is going to make him feel real sorry for what he did. :rolleyes:
It's more likely that we'd just get him s******ing behind his whistle.
27-05-2012, 04:36 PM
Seriously, whats the point?
I'm sure "cheat cheat cheat" is going to make him feel real sorry for what he did. :rolleyes:
It's more likely that we'd just get him s******ing behind his whistle.
No doubt, but seeing as that's what he's already doing, then we have nothing to lose by giving him a hard time.
Littlest Hobo
27-05-2012, 04:39 PM
Ref was shocking but the game is done, all this constant moaning just makes us look bitter.
I'd rather we move on and get even.
That must be our primary objective.
Until we get even, we must not fall into the old trap of signing players on a sentimental basis.
We must not allow ourselves to fall into the old "he'll come good" trap. If a player doesn't perform then he should be dropped and his arse sat firmly on the bench.
We must allow the manager to manage and most of all we must be patient.
The manager and the club need our support more than ever. So get yourselves along to ER as often a you can.
Mon the Hibs
27-05-2012, 04:39 PM
Bombard the SFA with e mails, I did before the final questioning Thomsons appointment, and afterwards justifying my concerns, no reply yet but if I do not get one by the end of the month the letters will be sent to the Scotsman for publication.
27-05-2012, 05:36 PM
[QUOTE=Littlest Hobo;3247446]Ref was shocking but the game is done, all this constant moaning just makes us look bitter.
That must be our primary objective.
Until we get even, we must not fall into the old trap of signing players on a sentimental basis.
We must not allow ourselves to fall into the old "he'll come good" trap. If a player doesn't perform then he should be dropped and his arse sat firmly on the bench.
We must allow the manager to manage and most of all we must be patient.
The manager and the club need our support more than ever. So get yourselves along to ER as often a you can.
Mon the Hibs
It's not just the final though. If unchallenged Thomson's cheating will continue to cost us points and prizes. You only have to look at this thread to see this.
hopefulhibby
27-05-2012, 05:36 PM
Always has been a hun, but we were still rubbish on the day so i dont think it made that much difference on the day
27-05-2012, 05:49 PM
Always has been a hun, but we were still rubbish on the day so i dont think it made that much difference on the day
Not sure about that. I think Thomson is a jambo and certainly anti Hibs. Read my previous post above from the rangers media website which focusses on the contrasting treatment at two games betwern the big and little huns. Thomson let Ian Black off for his assault on Jelavic and sent off Kevin Thomson for a legitimate tackle on Black.
Ref was shocking but the game is done, all this constant moaning just makes us look bitter.
One way to get even is let the bitterness fuel the revenge.
I don't care if we look bitter. We should look bitter after that, and I personally am bitter after it.
I don't care how that looks. Who is it you want to avoid looking bitter to?
Nuitdelune
27-05-2012, 07:36 PM
I don't care if we look bitter. We should look bitter after that, and I personally am bitter after it.
I don't know--makes us look 'Neil Lennon like', perhaps
27-05-2012, 07:38 PM
Fair points. But there's always more than one way to appreciate the same facts. Way I look at it is that a humping of that sort would in normal circumstances go down in the annals as a genuine, definitive triumph for the victors. It won't, however, except in the minds of severely deluded people, because of Craig Thomson. Once the dust settles it will be referred to as The Craig Thomson Final, robbing the yams, in the medium-long term, of most of the attendant bragging rights. Record books will show the score as 5-1, but in pubs and wherever else fitba is discussed, his name will always crop up as the essence of the match. Hearts' win is tainted, forever.
27-05-2012, 08:36 PM
It's a stick-on that Thompson will be the referee for the first derby of next season, or if not the first, then at least one of them.
27-05-2012, 09:16 PM
It's a stick-on that Thompson will be the referee for the first derby of next season, or if not the first, then at least one of them.
Ferryhibby
27-05-2012, 09:48 PM
I know its been a week or so now but still cant help thinking about how ***** incompetent this guy is, also read his bumboy kenny clark in the sun on monday reviewing his performance...couple of things came out of that for me... Clark has never missed an opportunity to have a go at our team also saying we were so bad at the final etc and calling the black tackle just a wholehearted challenge:confused: and the two bookings that were correct...also sure he defended his 'penalty' decision...my view ok we wernt great but after we scored the goal we had them on a bit of a back foot up till half time....all changed with the ridiculous penalty and the fact he had the card in his hand for kujabi quick as a flash...3 - 1 down with 10 men game over thanks thomson....so if blacks challenge was wholehearted then what was McPakes challenge on a killie player when he clearly got the ball, a better tackle id never seen this season...apparently that was a foul according to thomson, just one of a load of crap decisions made by him that day and every game previous......any way probably just a rumour but heard someone lamped him in livingston on sunday after the final...god i do hope so
27-05-2012, 09:53 PM
Kenny Clark is a massive bellend. This was the same guy that was saying that Leigh should've been sent off at Swiney a few months ago, which was a lot lighter than Black's on Sunday. No idea why that clown is considered worthy of a weekly piece in the newspaper.
27-05-2012, 09:54 PM
I have said it before, but, This fool first got on my wick as ref for the semis against Dunfermline. Benji was beaten black and blue by bamba but got no fouls. Then, Hammill falls in box with no tackle from Hogg and the balloon cant give a pen quick enough. Have hated him ever since, and watched his decisions particularly in games against yams, he is a cheat and no mistake. He should be investigated and emptied. But he wont
27-05-2012, 10:00 PM
I know its been a week or so now but still cant help thinking about how ***** incompetent this guy is
I think ' ****ing incompetant' is fairly generous and is probably the best case scenario for the SFA. It's possible that CT is genuinely corrupt.
He made some school boy errors in that game and should never be kept away from future Hibs games. If he ever 'referees' at ER again, I will be joining in the abuse he deserves from the minute he steps on the pitch.
27-05-2012, 11:01 PM
Fair points. But there's always more than one way to appreciate the same facts. Way I look at it is that a humping of that sort would in normal circumstances go down in the annals as a genuine, definitive triumph for the victors. It won't, however, except in the minds of severely deluded people, because of Craig Thomson. Once the dust settles it will be referred to as The Craig Thomson Final, robbing the yams, in the medium-long term, of most of the attendant bragging rights. Record books will show the score as 5-1, but in pubs and wherever else fitba is discussed, his name will always crop up as the essence of the match. Hearts' win is tainted, forever.
I'm of the opinion that CT's shocking performance did Hearts an injustice as if they had won the game fair and square (which they probably would have anyway) then their bragging rights would have some substance.
You know, it still baffles me that the Jams took the foot of the pedal in the second half.
Why?
Were they as professionals embarassed by CT's decisions?
Were they under instructions from their manager (who appears to be a man of some integrity)?
Or were they just taking the easy road with the least effort (as the game was already won)?
Maybe all three - who knows?
27-05-2012, 11:12 PM
I'm of the opinion that CT's shocking performance did Hearts an injustice as if they had won the game fair and square (which they probably would have anyway) then their bragging rights would have some substance.
You know, it still baffles me that the Jams took the foot of the pedal in the second half.
Why?
Were they as professionals embarassed by CT's decisions?
Were they under instructions from their manager (who appears to be a man of some integrity)?
Or were they just taking the easy road with the least effort (as the game was already won)?
Maybe all three - who knows?
It still puzzles me too. Really strange. There was enough time to utterly humiliate us with the scoreline (even more than we already were).
It's not your first reason though, because they took and celebrated the penalty enthusiastically enough. As for the second, well, I agree he is a man of integrity, but telling them to "take it easy" would never therefore go through his head, as you could argue that would be an insult to both sets of players, for different reasons. As for the third, again, it's possible, but it was a derby and they were well up for it, so I doubt it was that either.
But I may be wrong. And I don't have any better suggestions than yours.
1875godsgift
27-05-2012, 11:26 PM
It still puzzles me too. Really strange. There was enough time to utterly humiliate us with the scoreline (even more than we already were).
It's not your first reason though, because they took and celebrated the penalty enthusiastically enough. As for the second, well, I agree he is a man of integrity, but telling them to "take it easy" would never therefore go through his head, as you could argue that would be an insult to both sets of players, for different reasons. As for the third, again, it's possible, but it was a derby and they were well up for it, so I doubt it was that either.
But I may be wrong. And I don't have any better suggestions than yours.
The hertz captain Craig Thompson, and his 11 team-mates, had a few quid on a 5-1 result? :dunno:
27-05-2012, 11:40 PM
The hertz captain Craig Thompson, and his 11 team-mates, had a few quid on a 5-1 result? :dunno:
... and half the Hibs team tae, as far as I could make out. :brickwall
Agree. 8 days on and some momentous things have happened in my life in the last week, and the temptation is to think "move on", "don't be a bad loser", but we simply should not permit that. The Cheat Thomson spoiled the greatest Edinburgh Derby ever and the Jambos know that, deep down. The build-up, and the atmosphere before KO were spine-tingling. We were poor in the first half (partly/mainly because he gave Black and co a licence to kill) but we got back into it and it was all up for grabs second half. Then he killed it stone-dead with one of the most cynically corrupt decisions you will ever see. Thought he was doing his team a favour, but ultimately he has let them, and sporting integrity down. Just a pathetic, vile, loathsome, hideous, spineless excuse for a human being.
28-05-2012, 08:40 AM
Agree. 8 days on and some momentous things have happened in my life in the last week, and the temptation is to think "move on", "don't be a bad loser", but we simply should not permit that. The Cheat Thomson spoiled the greatest Edinburgh Derby ever and the Jambos know that, deep down. The build-up, and the atmosphere before KO were spine-tingling. We were poor in the first half (partly/mainly because he gave Black and co a licence to kill) but we got back into it and it was all up for grabs second half. Then he killed it stone-dead with one of the most cynically corrupt decisions you will ever see. Thought he was doing his team a favour, but ultimately he has let them, and sporting integrity down. Just a pathetic, vile, loathsome, hideous, spineless excuse for a human being.
well said that man!!
Ferryhibby
28-05-2012, 09:20 PM
:top marks:applause: couldnt put it any better