View Full Version : Paul Hanlon's Goal

07-05-2012, 08:48 PM
Can we please please please win the cup in the 93rd minute with a 'goal' like this? :greengrin

It would be utter utter bliss to win the cup over the ****my *******s with such a contentious decision, and would mean them greeting for decades about it

chorley_fm
07-05-2012, 08:48 PM
agreed

07-05-2012, 08:50 PM
Totally bizarre decision from the ref!

07-05-2012, 08:50 PM
Can we please please please win the cup in the 93rd minute with a 'goal' like this? :greengrin

It would be utter utter bliss to win the cup over the ****my *******s with such a contentious decision, and would mean them greeting for decades about it

Would be brilliant. I almost died laughing after Lampard's 'goal' vs. Germany - to beat the Yams with a non-goal like Hanlon's tonight would probably kill me. A truly heroic death though, no regrets.

Piqué
07-05-2012, 08:53 PM
True, it would be hilarious but I would rather win it fair and square so they have absolutely no excuses to use for years to come :agree:

Riordans Boots
07-05-2012, 08:53 PM
Never ever a goal I hate to admit, but hey! I'm not complaining :greengrin

Oh and cheer up Jumbo :na na:

07-05-2012, 08:58 PM
It's about time a decision like that went our way!

HibeeMG
07-05-2012, 08:59 PM
I'd rather win the thing with a complete embarrassment of that mob. No excuses, no argument, just a humiliation.

07-05-2012, 09:01 PM
I'd rather win the thing with a complete embarrassment of that mob. No excuses, no argument, just a humiliation.

A crossbar non-goal would be just the trick for number 7 though.

HibeeMG
07-05-2012, 09:04 PM
A crossbar non-goal would be just the trick for number 7 though.

Absolutely no problem with that! :greengrin

Just don't want the game to be decided by that type of goal. I want them to know that we won it fair and square and that we were the better team.

07-05-2012, 09:05 PM

I'd be delighted with a first 15 minutes like that on the 19th!

HibeeMG
07-05-2012, 09:08 PM
I'd be delighted with a first 15 minutes like that on the 19th!

Yup, me too. :aok:

I'd still be *****ing myself for the next 75 minutes though.

07-05-2012, 09:10 PM
Absolutely no problem with that! :greengrin

Just don't want the game to be decided by that type of goal. I want them to know that we won it fair and square and that we were the better team.

I wouldn't give a monkey's toss if the ball wasn't even in the same postcode as the goal line, if the referee gives it then I'll take it. History doesn't record if a cup-winning goal was controversial or not, if our name goes on the trophy then that's that.

07-05-2012, 09:10 PM
World class! He started the attack and he finished it. Keep it up Paul!!

07-05-2012, 09:13 PM
Just proves how bad the officials are in the SPL .

07-05-2012, 09:27 PM
It was not the ref who gave it was the incompetent oaf of a East stand linesman with the dodgey pink trainers on.

07-05-2012, 09:30 PM
It was not the ref who gave it was the incompetent oaf of a East stand linesman with the dodgey pink trainers on.

TV replay indicates that it was the ref that gave it, the linesman didn't flag.

07-05-2012, 09:34 PM
Best shout of the night was the guy right behind me who shouted "you've given us nothing" to the linesman when he flagged for Ivan's offside in the last couple of minutes.

Aye, nothing. Apart from a goal :greengrin

I'm sure he'll have plenty of time to think about his howler when he's watching Jeff Stelling next Saturday afternoon, rather than running the line somewhere.

07-05-2012, 09:35 PM
Just proves how bad the officials are in the SPL .

Like it just never happens elsewhere does it?

07-05-2012, 09:37 PM
TV replay indicates that it was the ref that gave it, the linesman didn't flag.

Rubbish, asst ref gave it and running to the half way line as play raged on is proof.

Shame as I though the ref was really good tonight.

Togs91
07-05-2012, 09:42 PM
Yup, me too.

I'd still be *****ing myself for the next 75 minutes though.

Was the same today!! Sometimes goals are just TOO early, but ohwell not today, right up ye jumbo

:pfgwa

07-05-2012, 09:44 PM
True, it would be hilarious but I would rather win it fair and square so they have absolutely no excuses to use for years to come :agree:

07-05-2012, 09:45 PM

This I would find acceptable.

andrew70
07-05-2012, 09:50 PM
Cost me £150 had a 10er on at 14s for 3-0. Couldn't believe it when the 'goal' was given. Having said that Hanlon deserved it.

07-05-2012, 09:56 PM
Just saw it. Wow.

07-05-2012, 10:06 PM
Such a poor decision by the officials, although not that it mattered.

Actually a bit gutted for Hanlon it didnt go in, would have been a superb goal!

07-05-2012, 10:09 PM

This was the closest the ball went to the line!

07-05-2012, 10:11 PM
Joke decision.

07-05-2012, 10:19 PM
What made the decision even worse was Hanlon's reaction as the ball bounced back into play from the crossbar. Head in hands because he knew he hadn't scored, but the linesman managed to miss that obvious clue as well.

Minder
07-05-2012, 10:27 PM
Just to beat them with any goal would do me.............................but now that you have mentioned it - christ they would end up sending an open letter to the SFA.

Rivers Cuomo
07-05-2012, 10:30 PM
Had £2 on 4-0 at 40/1 so wasnt complaining haha

07-05-2012, 10:35 PM
One of those decisions you can't explain, same as the one Chelsea were given against Spurs the other week. It's more understandable when a good goal is judged to have not crossed the line, as it can't be given unless the officials are certain it was in. So how the hell could anyone be certain Hanlon's was in?

07-05-2012, 10:46 PM
Just as well the game was over because if it had been 0-0 then there would have been a riot for days. Great to finally put the relegation thing to bed but a truly shocking decision from the officials. Clearly not over the line from the other end of the ground in the west upper where I was. If that had been given against us and cost us 3 points and ended up relegated we'd no doubt be demanding the game be replayed etc. Really poor decision.

07-05-2012, 10:47 PM
Miles over the line guys, what are you talking about :cb

07-05-2012, 10:49 PM
Had 3-0 Hibs! Spewer

07-05-2012, 10:50 PM

Agreed. You were talking about the six yard line though eh? :greengrin

DMR1875
07-05-2012, 11:03 PM
I was shouting for a corner! Then looked at the Hibs team celebrate. The ball was no were near! Goal line cameras.:agree:

Well done to Paul great shot.:flag:

07-05-2012, 11:12 PM
Agreed. You were talking about the six yard line though eh? :greengrin:greengrin

Kenny1875
07-05-2012, 11:20 PM
https://p.twimg.com/AsUiwzNCEAADwwg.jpg

Nowhere near in but it was a good move leading up to the 'goal'.

07-05-2012, 11:25 PM
Headline : Hibs get a decision shock!

hibbytam
08-05-2012, 12:25 AM
Not sure if anyone's posted this, an exert from the official website.
"
With 10 minute remaining Hibernian put the icing on the cake when defender Hanlon scored perhaps the goal of the season.
Gathering possession deep inside his own half, the defender weaved a path through the Pars midfield before finding Isaiah Osbourne on the right and when the ball was floated into the penalty area he smashed a right-foot volley off the underside of the crossbar.
The ball didn't appear to cross the line however the assistant referee gave the goal and Easter Road was rocking as SPL safety was secured.
"

Someone on the wind up with that first line.... almost goal of the season certainly.

08-05-2012, 12:55 AM
It was a move worthy of a goal but from my seat it never was. Made nae difference tae the outcome of the game, could have been doin' with a few breaks like that through the season but never got a single one. Still glad I never took that 3-0 bet from hills @ 16/1, that would have been a sickener :greengrin

08-05-2012, 01:16 AM

Exactly what I was thinking.

Delete this nonsense of a thread.

What a goal, Paul! :not worth

...WentToMowAnSPL
08-05-2012, 01:28 AM
Best shout of the night was the guy right behind me who shouted "you've given us nothing" to the linesman when he flagged for Ivan's offside in the last couple of minutes.

Aye, nothing. Apart from a goal :greengrin

I'm sure he'll have plenty of time to think about his howler when he's watching Jeff Stelling next Saturday afternoon, rather than running the line somewhere.
Fantastic !! :-)

08-05-2012, 02:36 AM
Wasn't sure at the time but after seeing replays there was no way it crossed the line. Great build up play though.

08-05-2012, 05:56 AM
I actually thought that it was over the line - when the ball hit the bar anyway, certainly not when it bounced back out.

The problem is, the whole ball wasn't over the line, but it was a great move regardless.

We had some really great pieces of play last night.

08-05-2012, 06:00 AM
Cost me £150 had a 10er on at 14s for 3-0. Couldn't believe it when the 'goal' was given. Having said that Hanlon deserved it.

It cost me as I also had a bet on 3-0, I wonder if Ladbrokes will pay out on 3-0 :greengrin

08-05-2012, 06:40 AM
One of those decisions you can't explain, same as the one Chelsea were given against Spurs the other week. It's more understandable when a good goal is judged to have not crossed the line, as it can't be given unless the officials are certain it was in. So how the hell could anyone be certain Hanlon's was in?

It really wasnt close, the linesman had a great view of it and theres no excuse for getting it wrong.

Also, the players reactions is usually a good sign and it was so obvious it hadnt gone in, particularly by the way Hanlon reacted.

Macaroon
08-05-2012, 09:15 PM
No way. Can't give the yams one single thing to use as an excuse. We need to win this cup on our own merit and beat them convincingly. Don't give them a single thing to grab onto and we can hold this over them for the rest of our lives.

COME ON HIBS :flag::flag:

08-05-2012, 09:26 PM
If you watch the ESPN highlights the linesman shrugs as if he didn't have a clue why the referee gave the goal either. They were looking at each other waiting for the other one to give something.

08-05-2012, 09:29 PM
If you watch the ESPN highlights the linesman shrugs as if he didn't have a clue why the referee gave the goal either. They were looking at each other waiting for the other one to give something.

So his mate Craig Thomson can now give a similar goal against us in the final! :greengrin

08-05-2012, 09:44 PM
It was brilliant technique from Hanlon to not put that into row Z.

A well merited goal, and anything that makes FJK hate Hibs even more is fine by me.