View Full Version : Question Would you support some form of action should the worst happen??

06-05-2012, 05:23 PM
Simple one really would you back some form of action and if so what?

EDIT: Sorry it made sense when i put it together but just to be sure I of course mean when/if the Rangers situation pans out the way we all now fear.

06-05-2012, 05:28 PM
You mean if Colin Nish returns? :wink::greengrin

06-05-2012, 05:30 PM
I probably would but not sure what now that the wife and I are separated.

Seriously......No

06-05-2012, 05:31 PM
Simple one really would you back some form of action and if so what?If they get back in nae action will get them kicked out again. Complete waste of time efter it happens.

06-05-2012, 05:34 PM
What's the worst that can happen?

06-05-2012, 05:35 PM
What's the worst that can happen?

See my post #2 :wink:

06-05-2012, 05:36 PM
Whats this thread even about? :confused:

If you're talking about Rangers walking straight back into the SPL, then yes, I would back action against it. Unfortunately, Scottish football fans have no back bone, so nowt will be done about it.

06-05-2012, 05:38 PM
I said on another thread i'd still go and watch Hibs, but only the derby games, maybe the odd cup game.

Others wont bother at all, the same applies for fans of every non old firm club. I personally believe its the death of football in Scotland, i can hear the rattle from Blackpool. :rolleyes:

06-05-2012, 05:39 PM
Whats this thread even about? :confused:

If you're talking about Rangers walking straight back into the SPL, then yes, I would back action against it. Unfortunately, Scottish football fans have no back bone, so nowt will be done about it.

Id say the fans have more backbone than those running the game, we could be about to find that out too.

06-05-2012, 05:42 PM
Id say the fans have more backbone than those running the game, we could be about to find that out too.

Thats how I see it panning out too, I think UEFA might just be about our last hope.

06-05-2012, 05:48 PM

The fans run the game IMO.

If it happens, its because we've allowed it to happen.

SloopJB
06-05-2012, 05:51 PM
No

06-05-2012, 06:03 PM
The fans run the game IMO.

If it happens, its because we've allowed it to happen.

No they dont, if they did we wouldn't be having this discussion.

06-05-2012, 06:05 PM
yes, I would propose a boycott of every club that votes rangers to return and a boycott of sky, espn, and the scottish football team as it's the only way of getting to the SFA.

When no one is going to games, and no one is subscribing to sky then they will get the message.

Nevi1875
06-05-2012, 06:25 PM
yes, I would propose a boycott of every club that votes rangers to return and a boycott of sky, espn, and the scottish football team as it's the only way of getting to the SFA.

When no one is going to games, and no one is subscribing to sky then they will get the message.

This exactly.

06-05-2012, 06:33 PM
Unfortunately a lot of people feel that the best punishment that they can personally dish out to Rangers is to boycott Hibs.

06-05-2012, 06:35 PM

That'll no doubt be them all, then, even our own ... :rolleyes: ... I doubt they'll even have enough backbone to change the voting to be a 9-3 majority.

06-05-2012, 06:42 PM

Agree with this but for away games only, I wouldn't boycott ER.

Absolute disgrace that scottish football is even discussing allowing them back in: 1) they cheated 2) they are utter ****.

06-05-2012, 06:44 PM
Unfortunately a lot of people feel that the best punishment that they can personally dish out to Rangers is to boycott Hibs.:rolleyes:

It has f all tae dae with punishing Hibs and everything tae dae with boycotting a corrupt farce that Hibs just happen tae be part of. Tell me what you think the point of this league is if cheats are allowed tae get away scot free while others do things the right way and suffer for it? If you want tae throw hundreds of pounds of your money away every year on such a corrupt farce you go for yer life.

Tell me would you go in tae a casino and gamble your money if you actually knew beforehand that the decks were fixed and stacked against you?

06-05-2012, 06:46 PM
I'll be annoyed if they get back in but as long as sanctions are put in place I'll get on with it. IF they get in with nothing happening to them then, I don't think Ill be back.

06-05-2012, 06:47 PM
I'll be annoyed if they get back in but as long as sanctions are put in place I'll get on with it. IF they get in with nothing happening to them then, I don't think Ill be back.The only suitable sanction for cheats is tae be expelled, that's it.

06-05-2012, 06:52 PM
just had a look at the aberdeen, hearts, DUTD and celtic forums and each one has a thread about rangers with just as many fans as on here saying they will either walk or boycott if newco gets back in.

I really hope the chairmen realise what is going to happen!!

06-05-2012, 06:55 PM

It has f all tae dae with punishing Hibs and everything tae dae with boycotting a corrupt farce that Hibs just happen tae be part of. Tell me what you think the point of this league is if cheats are allowed tae get away scot free while others do things the right way and suffer for it? If you want tae throw hundreds of pounds of your money away every year on such a corrupt farce you go for yer life.

Tell me would you go in tae a casino and gamble your money if you actually knew beforehand that the decks were fixed and stacked against you?
But if Petrie votes for sporting integrity why should the club be punished just because they were outvoted?

Boycotting Hibs only makes sense if Petrie is stupid enough to vote for the Huns.

06-05-2012, 06:57 PM
The only suitable sanction for cheats is tae be expelled, that's it.

I'm talking about the newco though. Ban them from Europe, give them points deductions, cut their revenue and put a transfer embargo in place then yeh I think I'll get on with it. If nothing happens, then forget about it. Games over.

06-05-2012, 06:59 PM
Rangers need to start from the bottom and then nobody can have anything to complain about. The SPL and SFA keep their integrity intact, Rangers due the honorable thing and would earn some respect by taking their punishment. Fans of others clubs have nothing to complain about and everyone is happy expect maybe a few SPL chairmen and some Rangers fans. They will be back in 3 years and will still be challenging for the title and be in Europe again due to the fanbase and size of the club. This needs to be the answer.

06-05-2012, 07:03 PM
But if Petrie votes for sporting integrity why should the club be punished just because they were outvoted?

Boycotting Hibs only makes sense if Petrie is stupid enough to vote for the Huns.

I agree and I am 50/50 about this. I don't want to punish Hibs, the club I love, but I feel that by paying my money I am contributing to the SPL and then sitting down and watching games especially against newco FC then I am contributing and just part of a sham and throwing my money away. It will be a rigged league there is no debating that, it really will and just think I cannot participate in the sham if it happens.

Dalkeith
06-05-2012, 07:04 PM
Rangers need to start from the bottom and then nobody can have anything to complain about. The SPL and SFA keep their integrity intact, Rangers due the honorable thing and would earn some respect by taking their punishment. Fans of others clubs have nothing to complain about and everyone is happy expect maybe a few SPL chairmen and some Rangers fans. They will be back in 3 years and will still be challenging for the title and be in Europe again due to the fanbase and size of the club. This needs to be the answer.

06-05-2012, 07:04 PM

That should be the answer, but unfortunately scottish football is run by short sighted ********s who can't look further forward than next saturday. Thats why the game is in such a mess and why I don't expect it to get any better any time soon.

06-05-2012, 07:05 PM
I'm talking about the newco though. Ban them from Europe, give them points deductions, cut their revenue and put a transfer embargo in place then yeh I think I'll get on with it. If nothing happens, then forget about it. Games over.The oldco should be expelled and newco refused entry.

06-05-2012, 07:07 PM
Im happy to blackmail Petrie by pretending to boycott the club if he votes to retain Der Hun. But in reality, although id support those who did decide to boycott, i'd probably keep going.

06-05-2012, 07:09 PM

Boycotting Hibs only makes sense if Petrie is stupid enough to vote for the Huns.I'm boycotting the SPL and Scottish fitba. I'll have nae part in it! Any of it! (and unfortunately that will include giving money tae Hibs) A pointless waste of space when there are one set of rules for some and another set for others ensuring that certain clubs prevail while the rest are continually shafted (most willingly) from behind. Why don't you answer the question I asked? What is the point in a such a blatantly rigged competition or taking part in it? My answer tae that is none, therefore I'll not be wasting money on it, others can dae as they wish.

06-05-2012, 07:33 PM
Do you know what annoy's me even more than Rangers, it's the Scottish media and the likes of the BBC who continue to spout all this **** about how much we need Rangers and that it would be the end of Scottish football if we don't let them back in. Why do we need Rangers :confused:. I'd really like to see someone come out (Hibs or not) and challenge this crap.

06-05-2012, 07:41 PM
Unfortunately a lot of people feel that the best punishment that they can personally dish out to Rangers is to boycott Hibs.

I don't think that is a fair comment.

Scottish football is in the doldrums at the moment and people are sick and tired of it in general. You only have to switch the TV on when St Mirren are playing Hibs on a Sunday at 12:15 and have a gander at the "crowd" to know how sick our national sport has become. I don't think anyone who has said it on this forum is aiming to hit out at Rangers by boycotting Hibs, more like it's got to the point its pushed them over the edge, and they feel they can no longer justify spending what is quite a lot of money on a regular basis to watch a crap product being played in a league that is rigged.

However, there are issues with people turning their back on the SPL i.e what the hell do i do now? Could i support a team from south of the border? And probably in the bigger picture would it even make a difference as by that time it will be too late, its not as if the SPL is going to turn round 10 games into next season and say oops we got it wrong and send rfc to SFL3.

06-05-2012, 07:48 PM
It's a horrible situation. My current apathy levels mean I haven't been to an SPL game for over 2 years, if the newco thing goes the way it's headed right now then we're all left wondering what's the point of it all and I'll no doubt claim that I'm done with the whole thing. In saying that, football fans are the ficklest of all and after the anger has settled and we go back to the status quo I know I'd end up back one day, and the more passionate fans even quicker. The authorities know this only to well and are relying on everything going back to normal and us just being an even more peeved bunch of lemmings turning up in droves after the dust has settled on the whole matter and Rangers are back in their rightful place in the top two.

So yes, if it comes down to it action must be taken but deep down we all know it's going to end with everything back to normal.

06-05-2012, 08:01 PM
FWIW I e-mailed the club, acknowledged that i have renewed & will be at ER next season but will not go to Rangers games, or take
advantage of the freebie tickets which went with the renewal.

06-05-2012, 08:04 PM

This to me is the crux of the matter. We've long known that the Old Firm operate as a law unto themselves, but the idea of Rangers having no punishment and admission straight back into SPL, shorn of debt but with their history intact (including the part bought with swindled cash), in terms of custom and practice, enshrines this bias as an a legal/operational precedent. It amounts to a naked admission that Rangers (and by extension Celtic) are untouchable and will never be subject to any form of natural justice or restraint. The authorities are stating that the game is officially rigged they cannot control the rogue behavior of this club in any way. They would have no moral credibility, especially when Ally McCoist himself has admitted that it would be just for a new Rangers to start in Div 3.

As much as I love Hibs, it makes following them, or any club in Scotland, pretty much a pointless undertaking.

The idea of a new Rangers, humbled, and with a more positive role in Scottish sport and Scottish society, will never be served by such tame capitulation. All this cowardice will do will be to wreck the national domestic game, and bolster and already overwhelming arrogance, thus speeding Rangers and Celtic's haste to depart the corpse of Scottish football for pastures new.

This dilemma the footballing authorities face is not an accidental one; they've dug this hole for themselves over the years by pandering to the OF on everything from sectarianism to TV money.

A corrupt farce is exactly what it would be. You sense that most of the non-OF fans are just waiting to turn their backs on it. The authorities apparent desire to completely restore a tawdry, dull duopoly based on tax fraud will give the bulk of the the excuse.

06-05-2012, 08:05 PM
I couldn't afford to pay my ST for next season in one go so have signed up for the payment plan. This means if the huns stay in the SPL I'll have an ST.

If Hibs are found to have voted them in, I'd like to sees mass boycott of the first friendly at ER and take things from there.

I'm sure however that Rodders will do the right thing :hmmm:

06-05-2012, 08:10 PM
I couldn't afford to pay my ST for next season in one go so have signed up for the payment plan. This means if the huns stay in the SPL I'll have an ST.

If Hibs are found to have voted them in, I'd like to sees mass boycott of the first friendly at ER and take things from there.

I'm sure however that Rodders will do the right thing :hmmm:

This is the point i made earlier though, what use is this going to do as by then it will be too late and Der Hun will already been granted entry.

06-05-2012, 08:19 PM
No they dont, if they did we wouldn't be having this discussion.

Correct !
What the " SPL eleven" should remember is that they are in THE ENTERTAINMENT BUSINESS we could be heading towards part time football in the not too distant future
Be it music , film , theatre , if what's on offer is poor quality the punters don't turn up
Hibs supporters have demonstarted exactly this . When the product they were looking/hoping for was'nt available they voted with their feet and attendances plummeted.
I along with a few of my buddies will not put money into the SPL if RFC are put straight back in .
Will watch rugby , amateur football at Leith Links or Inverleith and be entertained .
Question - Anyone know or can guess why the attendance at DUtd V Smeltic was only 1500 today ?

06-05-2012, 08:19 PM
This is the point i made earlier though, what use is this going to do as by then it will be too late and Der Hun will already been granted entry.

And it does nothing but HURT Hibs :brickwall.

06-05-2012, 08:29 PM
FWIW I e-mailed the club, acknowledged that i have renewed & will be at ER next season but will not go to Rangers games, or take
advantage of the freebie tickets which went with the renewal.

Shock horror ST holder misses a couple of games and refuses free tickets........................................... ..batten down the hatches Rod........ tough times ahead.

06-05-2012, 08:35 PM
In today's Scotland on Sunday Dunfermline Chairman John Yorkston says he will encourage the other chairmen to relegate Rangers (Newco) to the SFL . Now he says this is to do with sporting integrity but I wonder if it might have something to do with his team possibly staying in the league if Rangers are chucked out. Or am I just old and cynical.

killie-hibby
06-05-2012, 08:48 PM
Shock horror ST holder misses a couple of games and refuses free tickets........................................... ..batten down the hatches Rod........ tough times ahead.

Malthibby has indicated his method of protest. Why do you feel the need for a sarcastic response?

06-05-2012, 08:49 PM
Malthibby has indicated his method of protest. Why do you feel the need for a sarcastic response?

Lighten up man!

06-05-2012, 08:50 PM

My thoughts on the matter have already been made to the Hibs board. If they choose the road of the coward then I will make my protest, futile though it may be.

I and any protestors won't have hurt Hibs, the Chairman and the board will have done that already by dragging our great name through the mud. I wouldn't blame anyone who doesn't go back to ER if the board are bullied by the huns.

Do you both suggest bending over and assuming the position? What happens if the Huns with a squad of under 19's finish bottom of the SPL? Will you continue to back the board if they restructure the league to save them?

06-05-2012, 09:41 PM
I love Hibs. But if I go along to watch them play in a league where at the start of every season it is decided in advance that only Celtic or Rangers can win the league then why am I following my team?

If Rangers are allowed to stay in the SPL as a Newco then our league is as genuinely competitive as the rigged fiasco that is televised wrestling.

Some thoughts:

1. If the SPL/SFA fail to enforce their own rules you would imagine they leave themselves open to legal action from any club in a previously similar situation that has been forced to take appropriate punishment.

2. If the SPL/SFA fail to enforce their own rules they will never be able to enforce their rules against another club in a similar situation in the future without facing legal challenge.

3. There is only one way to have any chance of preventing this and that is if the fans of every other club start to unite and organise. Even then its a long shot.

I don't think it matters whether we individually choose to protest or not. If this is allowed to stand, if the sporting integrity of the league competition is whored in this way, it will be like a slow motion bullet through the heart of the game. Crowds WILL drop, however slowly. We will all know that, in truth, it is not even just an unfair competition between the resources of the big two and everyone else - it will have formally become a competition between the big two with everyone else there strictly as the window dressing to legitimise a two team league.

We become the farmed rabbits in Watership Down grateful for what the farmer feeds us and never speaking of the intermitent disappearance of one of us. We become the junkies hooked on the Ugly Sisters' benevolence. We become zombie clubs existing only for the sake of our histories but with no real future, all so that Rangers can retain their past AND have a future.

There is no up side to this if Rangers go unpunished. Bascially you can forget looking at it as football, instead it is a group of small, medium and large businesses operating an agreed monopoly with complete disregard to their customers - the fans. As for what such an outcome would say about how the clubs and the authorities view the fans, think of the film Alien where the victims are farmed in a half life to feed the monsters and you won't go far wrong.

Utterly disgusting.

06-05-2012, 09:48 PM

And that would be nothing other than Hibs deserve if the board take actions than 90% (or whatever) of its fans/customers don't support.

TheEastTerrace
06-05-2012, 10:05 PM
Somebody previously mentioned that fans would eventually come back to the game after the dust has settled and Rangers back in SPL.

Personally, I could not simply sit by and watch that club compete in the SPL as if nothing had happened - this will be the straw that will break the camels back for supporters and I don't envy the authorities one bit - either they can show some backbone or become the laughing stock of world football. Over to you gents

06-05-2012, 10:11 PM
I'm boycotting the SPL and Scottish fitba. I'll have nae part in it! Any of it! (and unfortunately that will include giving money tae Hibs) A pointless waste of space when there are one set of rules for some and another set for others ensuring that certain clubs prevail while the rest are continually shafted (most willingly) from behind. Why don't you answer the question I asked? What is the point in a such a blatantly rigged competition or taking part in it? My answer tae that is none, therefore I'll not be wasting money on it, others can dae as they wish.

The competition is effectively rigged at the moment anyway as the Ugly Sisters are the only teams to have won the league since 1985. So what is the point to Hibs continuing to play in the SPL when we have no chance of winning it? Or the point of fans spending good money following Hibs in the SPL? Like nine other teams we are there to make up the numbers and compete for third.

Do I like it? No, which is why I would love to see both Ugly Sisters disappear to the English Conference/Atlantic League/two-team Rockall Championship playing each other 36 times a year. And I'm in favour of the ten football clubs resigning en masse from the SPL, then applying to join the Scottish League.

As I said before, I agree with you if Hibs vote to make the rigging official but not if they vote against. Why not support Hibs and only boycott games against the Ugly Sisters and their sycophants?

06-05-2012, 10:16 PM
The competition is effectively rigged at the moment anyway as the Ugly Sisters are the only teams to have won the league since 1985. So what is the point to Hibs continuing to play in the SPL when we have no chance of winning it? Or the point of fans spending good money following Hibs in the SPL? Like nine other teams we are there to make up the numbers and compete for third.

Do I like it? No, which is why I would love to see both Ugly Sisters disappear to the English Conference/Atlantic League/two-team Rockall Championship playing each other 36 times a year. And I'm in favour of the ten football clubs resigning en masse from the SPL, then applying to join the Scottish League.

As I said before, I agree with you if Hibs vote to make the rigging official but not if they vote against. Why not support Hibs and only boycott games against the Ugly Sisters and their sycophants?I'm no going round in circles on this, if Scottish fitba (never mind Hibs) sanction this I'll not be puting another penny in tae any part of it (and that includes via Hibs) I'll not watch it, I'll have absolutely nothing tae dae with it in any way shape or form, end of story ok!

Stevo1875
06-05-2012, 10:36 PM
id hope every fan refused to attend any game involving them.

06-05-2012, 10:41 PM
Do those of you who say you will walk away from football if Rangers stay in the SPL promise to back football/Hibs if they don't? Even if that means coming back having been away for some time?

06-05-2012, 10:43 PM
I'm no going round in circles on this, if Scottish fitba (never mind Hibs) sanction this I'll not be puting another penny in tae any part of it (and that includes via Hibs) I'll not watch it, I'll have absolutely nothing tae dae with it in any way shape or form, end of story ok!

I'm with you. The whole notion of being a 'Hibs supporter' becomes meaningless if the team are playing in a rigged league.

06-05-2012, 10:44 PM
Do those of you who say you will walk away from football if Rangers stay in the SPL promise to back football/Hibs if they don't? Even if that means coming back having been away for some time?If there's nae huns newco in the SPL next season I'll be back and probably as a ST holder again. If there is, I'm done, it's that simple for me.

seanshow
06-05-2012, 10:50 PM
If it does happen...It would take UEFA to step in, as Donkey and the majority of the club chairman cannot be trusted.
Fans of the other 11 clubs can bombard UEFA with correspondence and ask them to back the decision to punt the bears into Div3 where they belong. That way it saves face for the SPL/SFA and the clubs.
and the gers can take there grievances up with UEFA....and be get told to GTF!

Alternative protests

- Get a couple of lorry loads of manure and dump it on the entrance to SPL HQ. With a big F-Off Sign saying ..... "I smell bull*****"

- Or as the fans will no longer be supporting their respective clubs, all the fans round up all the merchandise of the 11 teams and post it park gardens.

06-05-2012, 11:05 PM
Simple one really would you back some form of action and if so what?

EDIT: Sorry it made sense when i put it together but just to be sure I of course mean when/if the Rangers situation pans out the way we all now fear.

We would have to do something if the SPL leadership showed themselves to be a bunch of spineless vermin by stomping all over values of sporting integrity and letting a Rangers newco swan in as if everything was just fine and dandy.

I would suggest all supporters boycotting all Rangers matches - home and away - and ST holders launching a class action against their respective clubs to obtain a full refund on their STs on the grounds that the SPL is no longer a credible competition. Whatever happens, the fans of all clubs who want sporting integrity to be maintained in Scottish football need a united voice to rally behind. We are currently unrepresented in this discussion yet we are really the most important players as Scottish Football's end customers - we pay the wages at the end of the day and the SPL bigwigs should ignore us at their peril.

06-05-2012, 11:06 PM
I and any protestors won't have hurt Hibs, the Chairman and the board will have done that already by dragging our great name through the mud. I wouldn't blame anyone who doesn't go back to ER if the board are bullied by the huns.

Do you both suggest bending over and assuming the position? What happens if the Huns with a squad of under 19's finish bottom of the SPL? Will you continue to back the board if they restructure the league to save them?

What IF the board vote NO to the newco but are in the minority and Rangers get back in. What happens then? Read the thread, I'm not bending over and assuming the position for no cant.

06-05-2012, 11:20 PM
We would have to do something if the SPL leadership showed themselves to be a bunch of spineless vermin by stomping all over values of sporting integrity and letting a Rangers newco swan in as if everything was just fine and dandy.

I would suggest all supporters boycotting all Rangers matches - home and away - and ST holders launching a class action against their respective clubs to obtain a full refund on their STs on the grounds that the SPL is no longer a credible competition. Whatever happens, the fans of all clubs who want sporting integrity to be maintained in Scottish football need a united voice to rally behind. We are currently unrepresented in this discussion yet we are really the most important players as Scottish Football's end customers - we pay the wages at the end of the day and the SPL bigwigs should ignore us at their peril.

06-05-2012, 11:32 PM
Im happy to blackmail Petrie by pretending to boycott the club if he votes to retain Der Hun. But in reality, although id support those who did decide to boycott, i'd probably keep going.

Oh well it is out now :doh::doh::doh:

Petrie no longer worried.

06-05-2012, 11:45 PM

If a newco Rangers are allowed to compete in the SPL, then it goes beyond a boycott, and it stops being about punishment.

For myself, personally, I would just completely lose all interest in following Scottish football if sporting integrity is allowed to be thrown out the window. I would no more be boycotting Hibs than I am currently boycotting the ice hockey team who play at Murrayfield.

And the clubs can't blame people who take this stance, if they take the 'business reality' view over sporting integrity then they're saying that football is just a business and that we are all customers, no different to any other industry. And if I stop buying coffee from Starbucks or pizza from Dominos, nobody would accuse me of showing a lack of loyalty, because to attach that level of sentimentality to a provider of a consumer service is nonsensical.

06-05-2012, 11:50 PM
I thought this thread was about DeGraf returning.

07-05-2012, 12:01 AM
I could never boycott Hibs, I'd be unhappy if a newco came in but at the end of the day Hibs are the team I love and support so I'll still go. Obviously it is the decision that we all don't want but to walk away from the club at a difficult time for finances in Scotland you could end up hurting the club. If you really care about Hibs then you wouldn't boycott them.

I'm pretty sure we can create an e-petition or something and present it to the SPL? We can get every clubs fans that are members of the SPL to sign it and present it to Neil Doncaster and the SPL board, that way we know that we have tried our best to get rid of the cheaters. Would anyone support this idea?

ginger_eejit
07-05-2012, 01:25 AM
Perhaps we could coordinate with the Hearts fans to have a display that read "No Rangers Newco in the SPL" across both the Hibs & Hearts support at the final!

plhibs
07-05-2012, 04:00 AM
I could never boycott Hibs, I'd be unhappy if a newco came in but at the end of the day Hibs are the team I love and support so I'll still go. Obviously it is the decision that we all don't want but to walk away from the club at a difficult time for finances in Scotland you could end up hurting the club. If you really care about Hibs then you wouldn't boycott them.

I'm pretty sure we can create an e-petition or something and present it to the SPL? We can get every clubs fans that are members of the SPL to sign it and present it to Neil Doncaster and the SPL board, that way we know that we have tried our best to get rid of the cheaters. Would anyone support this idea?

Didn't some people do this. They were not allowed to tell us what went on at the meeting but Doncaster said they were misinformed (or something like that)

07-05-2012, 06:07 AM
I'd like to know how we'd vote personally. If its a yes for NewCo then I sincerely hope we win the SC and I'll ignore the SPL. If its a no and others vote yes for NewCo - then the baw is burst, and this is our game's dying breathe. If it is no - and Derh Hun are demoted then the right thing has been done and on we go..

07-05-2012, 06:14 AM

Because until the decision is made, how do we know what the decision is and therefore protest against it?

Is there not some kind of petition or Facebook page out there, at least to give these corporate clowns an idea of the numbers involved?

Makaveli
07-05-2012, 09:41 AM
If a newco Rangers are allowed to compete in the SPL, then it goes beyond a boycott, and it stops being about punishment.

For myself, personally, I would just completely lose all interest in following Scottish football if sporting integrity is allowed to be thrown out the window. I would no more be boycotting Hibs than I am currently boycotting the ice hockey team who play at Murrayfield.

And the clubs can't blame people who take this stance, if they take the 'business reality' view over sporting integrity then they're saying that football is just a business and that we are all customers, no different to any other industry. And if I stop buying coffee from Starbucks or pizza from Dominos, nobody would accuse me of showing a lack of loyalty, because to attach that level of sentimentality to a provider of a consumer service is nonsensical.

Exactly. Football is either "just a business" or it isn't.

They can't act solely on commercial considerations then expect us to act solely on loyalty.

07-05-2012, 10:12 AM

Well that depends on our wonderful chairman's stance on the situation of these cheating corrupted .

No way will I pay paying in excess off £1500 a sesaon to support Hibs home and away to play in a league were cheats prosper.

I'd support any form of action. Celtic are talking off boycotting away matches if they are allowed back in.

07-05-2012, 10:29 AM
I would be unwilling to take any action which would damage Hibs ... For better or worse the board are only there for a short time, so I wouldnt want to endanger the institution for the actions of the current incumbents.

But I will boycott any match involving a newco rankgers at ER and stop my once every 5 years visit to ibrox though. I will also E Mail Hibs and ask for ( demand ) a refund of that portion of next seasons ST relating to rankgers matches.

07-05-2012, 10:40 AM
On this subject.

It is possible that both us and the Yams may vote against the newco being readmitted to the SPL.

If we do, perhaps it would be time for both clubs to submit a joint application to join the Engerlish 2nd division under the premise that they dont want to play in a league where cheats are allowed to prosper with the prospect of little or no punishment.

With the potential support that both clubs have and the fact that Edinburgh is an away venue that many English fans and chairmen :greengrin wouldnt mind visiting there may just be a chance that we would be accepted.

I dont want this to have to happen .... but perhaps its a way out if the worst happens.

07-05-2012, 10:45 AM
I don't want to punish Hibs, but I can't see the point of Scottish football anymore should they not be fully punished, and that's starting again at the bottom.

07-05-2012, 10:55 AM
Exactly. Football is either "just a business" or it isn't.

They can't act solely on commercial considerations then expect us to act solely on loyalty.

Great post : says it all for me !!
I have written to Mr Petrie three times in the past few years reminding him that HFC are part of the "Entertainment Business " .
While he , or someone , acknoledged my letter they never took up the question I posed over ' customer satisfaction '
I sent a similar letter to Doncaster two weeks ago and as yet have not had a reply or an acknowledgement .
If this vote goes through it amounts to a "cheats charter" , end of !!
I have made up my mind if it does "come to pass" that my money re SPL football matches stays in my pocket .

Hibees07
07-05-2012, 10:56 AM
The reason clubs are scared to throw the towel at Rangers is due to financial reasons, therefore the only thing that will make them take note is hiting them in the pocket. Clearly we do not want to damage our own club however we do have the opportunity to damage other clubs. I would suggest that all supporters refuse to attend away games involving any club that votes to keep Rangers in the league. This will remove any benefit they get from having 2 or 3 games against Rangers. And most importantly it would cause little impact on our own clubs.

wearehibernian
07-05-2012, 11:21 AM
A positive stance against the proposed newco should be taken in my opinión. By this I mean that its one thing to be reactive but another to be pro-active. The latter unfortunately requires much more effort.

So perhaps an umbrella fans group should potentially come up with their model of change? This could be backed up by a detailed proposition of what the fans idea for change should be. A request should be made to the SPL clubs for their detailed accounts ie how much TV revenue they receive in comparison to gate receipts etc. Then a real business plan should be put together which argues the case for league re-structuring and projected gate receipts in the advent that the TV companies pull out. For example - did Hyland not recently state that TV income was not as significant as it was being portrayed? I´m sure he also said that Hibs were more interested in increasing attendances.

I don’t believe Doncaster and his cronies when he tries to make out that the fans just don´t understand the financial logistics etc. He, and his kind, act like nobody outside of their world understands business. In many ways this whole rotten scenario is a mirror image of what has come to light with banks and the general politics in this country over the last few years. Being told that Scotland is too weak to survive on its own springs to mind.
So with a bit of thought, planning and the involvement of some high profile backers they could be played at their own game.

The sycophantic media bias towards ´Scottish football dies without Rangers staying in the SPL´ could also be challenged in a calculated and concerted manner.

Just a thought...

John_the_angus_hibby
07-05-2012, 11:47 AM
Do those of you who say you will walk away from football if Rangers stay in the SPL promise to back football/Hibs if they don't? Even if that means coming back having been away for some time?

Good point and one that has to be answered. I'll answer for myself. Up to 2 years ago I was a season ticket holder, bought 2 one for my son and I. Work and family caused me to miss quite a few games on the final two years of the season tkts. Last two years just went to a few games, this year less. It's been ***** tho. But next season I was going to start attending more regularly again with a view of starting the season after with season tkts again. Work and family schedules changing and a fair bit of disposable income available.

But I will not be returning if I feel Rangers have not been properly sanctioned. What that is I am not 100% sure, but I will know by the squeals. I want a sporting league not an Old Firm theme park.

If I feel they have been I will return - and therefore spend more - as planned.

Sent from another universe!

07-05-2012, 12:03 PM
I posted this in the Rangers admin thread and would love it if someone could get me an answer :aok:.

Why has no one within a "high position" within Scottish football or media come out and really questioned why we need Rangers. I just don't get the argument for keeping them. Look at it from a Hibs point of view, we've had one game against them this season (at ER) so what's that £98k in ticket sales on their side. How much does it cost to police the game? Deduct the extra amount compared to a normal game from the £98k. Even IF you add in hospitality and the likes I seriously doubt they bring us in more than £100k a game. Flip that round and lets say we lose 1k season ticket holders because their back in (probably more). That's a loss of of about £405,000 a season before you even start thinking about what they spend in the stadium. That's at least a difference of £300k. Add in we would have a better chance of winning trophies and making Europe and the extra revenue that brings in, I don't get it. ESPN have already said they will continue to screen the games, which leaves SKY. Have they ever come out and said there would be NO contract? They might not offer the full amount, but then Rangers get a massive chunk of it as it stands.
Rod has to vote them out. Keeping them in the SPL could kill us more than kicking them out.

07-05-2012, 12:09 PM
I posted this in the Rangers admin thread and would love it if someone could get me an answer :aok:.

Why has no one within a "high position" within Scottish football or media come out and really questioned why we need Rangers.

Because they're all OF stooges and in their pocket?

07-05-2012, 12:19 PM

I'd leave Mrs Beefster if she cheated on me. It would be too late to stop her doing it but it would stop her taking me for a mug again.

Incidentally, Mrs Beefster would never cheat on me. I'm awesome in every way.

I've already renewed for next season. I'll probably continue to renew whilst there is some pretence that the SPL is a competition.

Didn't some people do this. They were not allowed to tell us what went on at the meeting but Doncaster said they were misinformed (or something like that)

Yep, the whole thing seems to have turned into a bit of a farce. Folk meet the authorities on our behalf but are not allowed to tell us the outcome. The authorities then publicly patronise those who were at the meeting, claiming that they're all buddies with the same opinions now and still we're not allowed to know what happened.

07-05-2012, 12:34 PM
I don't want to punish Hibs, but I can't see the point of Scottish football anymore should they not be fully punished, and that's starting again at the bottom.

Nail whalloped right on the heid!

btw, when are the Chairmen meeting for the vote??? And what majority is required?

SetonClapper
07-05-2012, 12:53 PM
Disappointingly, I don't think there's any likelihood of the SPL chairmen disallowing a Rangers newco into the SPL. One of the biggest defenders of "sporting integrity" has been the Klimarnock chairman, yet for the second season in a row, they willingly gave up their stadium to the OF hordes. If ever we needed proof about what will happen when teams are faced with supposed financial demise, there it is. The games up.

07-05-2012, 01:05 PM
I think the fans of all the other clubs should organise a march on Hampden to protest.

Preferably when the SFA/SPL offices are actually open.

How about on May 19th?

07-05-2012, 01:07 PM
i only voted 'yes' to bring the yes vote up to a nice round 92.00%

:fibber:

07-05-2012, 01:24 PM
In today's Scotland on Sunday Dunfermline Chairman John Yorkston says he will encourage the other chairmen to relegate Rangers (Newco) to the SFL . Now he says this is to do with sporting integrity but I wonder if it might have something to do with his team possibly staying in the league if Rangers are chucked out. Or am I just old and cynical.

Old - no (I'm only just behind you! :greengrin )

Cynical - yes, because, as I understand it, if Rangers go into the SFL one team still gets relegated from the SPL and two teams come upfrom the SFL Div 1.

May be wrong, though.

07-05-2012, 01:29 PM
If nothing happens I will not be back. Ever. To Easter Road or otherwise. Why bother? I'll go and watch Berwick Rangers instead.

The only way a Newco team should be able to get back into the league is by starting from the very bottom. Division 3 and upwards with a 25 point deduction at the start of each season and a tranfser embargo for the first 2 seasons. No Europe when they come back up either, for 3 years.

Nail them.

Because a) they're cheats and b) I really really really f****** HATE Rangers :greengrin

07-05-2012, 01:29 PM
The reason clubs are scared to throw the towel at Rangers is due to financial reasons, therefore the only thing that will make them take note is hiting them in the pocket. Clearly we do not want to damage our own club however we do have the opportunity to damage other clubs. I would suggest that all supporters refuse to attend away games involving any club that votes to keep Rangers in the league. This will remove any benefit they get from having 2 or 3 games against Rangers. And most importantly it would cause little impact on our own clubs.

After witnessing it myself and reading numerous threads on the matter I beg to differ that having no away support would have little impact on Hibs!

07-05-2012, 02:01 PM
If they vote them straight back in that's it for me. I'll not be giving 1 more penny to the SPL

07-05-2012, 02:02 PM

Short, sharp and to the point.

07-05-2012, 02:19 PM

Short, sharp and to the point.

07-05-2012, 03:01 PM
Perhaps we could coordinate with the Hearts fans to have a display that read "No Rangers Newco in the SPL" across both the Hibs & Hearts support at the final!

That's a great idea. The message would reach a worldwide audience.