View Full Version : Question Do hibs fans drink.....

04-05-2012, 06:50 PM
Buckfast, just wondering if I'm one of the only few most hibbees I've met hate the stuff, recommend 1 bottle before cup final

04-05-2012, 06:52 PM
Buckfast, just wondering if I'm one of the only few most hibbees I've met hate the stuff, recommend 1 bottle before cup final

Perhaps. But not walking down Aitkenhead Road at 230pm as one will be huckled for drinking the "Glesgie Bru" :greengrin

04-05-2012, 06:54 PM

Some Hibees drink bottles of it before posting on here, at least that's the only logical explanation I can think of.

04-05-2012, 06:56 PM
Do you still get The Elorado wine or is that gone now?

04-05-2012, 06:58 PM
Some Hibees are in nervous mood ahead of their team losing tomorrow. It ok to be nervous ;-)

Godsahibby
04-05-2012, 06:59 PM
Away games and Buckfast go hand in hand.

Yes I know, I'm a ****bag!

04-05-2012, 06:59 PM
Do you still get The Elorado wine or is that gone now?

This stuff

Brand name of a god damn awful fortified wine Drunk mostly in West and central Scotland also known as Electric soup (http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=Electric%20soup),(Bottle of who are you lookin at?} Liquid Divorce,Screech (http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=Screech) etc

04-05-2012, 07:01 PM
This stuff

Brand name of a god damn awful fortified wine Drunk mostly in West and central Scotland also known as Electric soup (http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=Electric%20soup),(Bottle of who are you lookin at?} Liquid Divorce,Screech (http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=Screech) etc

That's the gear.... And the Lanny too. Great drinks from the past. Buckies no a patch on those two :)

04-05-2012, 10:07 PM
Perhaps. But not walking down Aitkenhead Road at 230pm as one will be huckled for drinking the "Glesgie Bru" :greengrin

You put it in a coke bottle and no one is any wiser :wink:. I've been know to have the odd bottle or 2 but cut it out for the footie now I can't smoke.

04-05-2012, 10:19 PM
It's safe to say I've had 2 sips of Buckie in my life, and neither time has converted me. Awful stuff

TamHibs
04-05-2012, 10:27 PM
It tastes worse than p*ss..... Assuming p*ss tastes god awful.....

---
I am here: http://tapatalk.com/map.php?mhpiko

04-05-2012, 10:50 PM
Buckfast = tastes kinda like " Port "

but with the caffeine content - it is commonly known as - " Wreck the Hoose juice "

buckfast and rangers fans do MIX .. and all too often..

ontario hibby
04-05-2012, 10:51 PM
:aok::aok:
It tastes worse than p*ss..... Assuming p*ss tastes god awful.....

---
I am here: http://tapatalk.com/map.php?mhpiko

04-05-2012, 11:01 PM
I believe Colin Calderwood was very fond of it before he gave his rousing team talks

04-05-2012, 11:11 PM
What about hooch? Can you still get that??

yeezus.
04-05-2012, 11:15 PM
Aye, am drinkin at the moment - Crabbies!

ehf
04-05-2012, 11:35 PM
Aye, am drinkin at the moment - Crabbies!

I visited Buckfasleigh Abbey in Devon, where the foul concoction is made (by monks), and legions of SAGA bus-trippers were enthusing over the dodgy product. I didn't have the heart to tell them that this quaint brew fuelled grotesque levels of violence and disorder in the West of Scotland. Didn't know whether to laugh or cry at the thought of those poor monks diligently distilling the stuff, but finally reckoned that a fair portion of their output would spice up the lives of sundry pensioners!

05-05-2012, 12:29 AM
Some Hibees drink bottles of it before posting on here, at least that's the only logical explanation I can think of.

Definately.

Apparently it makes you really confrontational and you could start a fight in a phone box.

05-05-2012, 01:10 AM
Aye, used to drink it all the time - the guys I hung about with during my youth were hardly model citizens though.

I used to get a 'bottle ae Buck' every Friday night along with 10 Richmond Super Kings. Although I've long since gave up smoking and being a total fanny :greengrin:

Buckfast is pretty rank and contains a **** load of suger and caffeine which "compliments" the 15 percent alcohol content; in other words, it's rocket fuel for fighting and dickish behaviour in general.

So stay away kids, the tracky wearing bawbag who is offering you your first 'super swalley' of the the tonic is most likely a future face of crimewatch.

05-05-2012, 01:21 AM
Never touched the stuff, never intend to.

05-05-2012, 01:58 AM
Just out of interest, is it made by catholic monks or proddies?

Andy Bee
05-05-2012, 03:26 AM

The fact that it is made by monks is now a myth, maybe years ago but it's now mass produced and the monks are long gone with regards to the process.

Personally I think it's absolutely fantastic and to be honest I haven't wrecked the hoose once and neither have I found the urge to wear trackies and to be fair I don't care who the **** looks at me. :greengrin

vercol36
05-05-2012, 09:23 AM

Proddie monks? That's a new one!

05-05-2012, 11:07 AM
I don't mind it. And if you ever fancy getting obliterated, starting on a bottle of B is a fine way to get the ball rolling.

05-05-2012, 11:27 AM
Nice wee cheap night with your friends, could be buckie sometimes not. just depends

05-05-2012, 11:30 AM
I'm more of a Grey Goose man myself.

05-05-2012, 11:59 AM
I seem to remember acquiring a taste for Nemiroff Ukrainian Vodka in the overnight train buffet car between Kiev & Dnipro, haven't looked back since!

05-05-2012, 06:07 PM
Proddie monks? That's a new one!

Not really that new. There are several Anglican monastic groups who have their origins in the 19th century. Or did I misunderstand you?

06-05-2012, 01:24 AM
I'm more of a Grey Goose man myself.

This :agree:

If you wish until you can't feel feelings anymore, there are approximately 1 million tastier and less jakey ways to do it.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Obx8P4fZMyo

06-05-2012, 10:47 AM
Buckfast is ****ing rank.

Now Thunderbird on the other hand........

06-05-2012, 01:16 PM
Mad Dog 20/20 had its advantages a few years ago!

06-05-2012, 04:45 PM
Nice wee cheap night with your friends, could be buckie sometimes not. just depends

Don't know about where you live but round my way it's over £7 a bottle. Not exactly a cheap start to the night when you consider the amount of booze you can get for that from places like ASDA and Tesco.

Buckfast is ****ing rank.

Now Thunderbird on the other hand........

Blue or Red label though :drool:.

06-05-2012, 06:58 PM
Don't know about where you live but round my way it's over £7 a bottle. Not exactly a cheap start to the night when you consider the amount of booze you can get for that from places like ASDA and Tesco.

Blue or Red label though :drool:.
£6 here, Asda is a 45 min walk the corner shop is just around the corner :greengrin

06-05-2012, 06:58 PM
Mad Dog 20/20 had its advantages a few years ago!
Back to my high school days :thumbsup:

HibernianBohs
08-05-2012, 04:22 PM
This is way ****ing worse than buckfast, comes in litre cans is ten percent and is vile, the can is ridiculously unattractive looking :hijack:.
http://www.united-nations-of-beer.com/images/faxe-extra-strong-beer-21467409.jpg I do not know how cheap it is as I did not pay for it and never will :)