View Full Version : NHC Happy for Motherwell

Tha Cabbage Kid
03-05-2012, 09:59 AM
I know its by default but i am really happy for Motherwell getting a champions league place.

One of my favourite games we play against is motherwell always a great game.

think they are a good team just now and hope for their sake they do well in europe.

am i alone on this?

03-05-2012, 10:06 AM
No i agree, would much rather it was them getting the second Champions League space than the huns or the mini huns!

They have had a good season and hope they do the country proud in Europe :aok:

Rivers Cuomo
03-05-2012, 10:06 AM
Nah your not alone, im delighted for them and their fans aswell.

Teo10
03-05-2012, 11:09 AM
Fair play to them!

Heard their Samba Beat from my girlfriends flat when they were at Tynecastle... it just didnt stop!

03-05-2012, 11:13 AM
Would've preferred United to have made it.

03-05-2012, 11:13 AM
I know its by default but i am really happy for Motherwell getting a champions league place.

One of my favourite games we play against is motherwell always a great game.

think they are a good team just now and hope for their sake they do well in europe.

am i alone on this?

Nope, seeing their fans celebrate the other night was good to see and they deserve it. Good luck to them :aok:

03-05-2012, 11:15 AM
My grandfather's brother played for both Motherwell and Scotland during the late 50's/60's and to this day, my papa is a big Motherwell fan, so I'm delighted for them!

03-05-2012, 11:15 AM
I'm really pleased for them. One of my best mates is a 'Well fan and I'm chuffed to bits for their supporters, because it's so easy for folk in Motherwell to jump on the glory bus and head to Glasgow on a Saturday.

03-05-2012, 11:19 AM
They deserve it and should be congratulated. They have tried to play the game the right way.

What I would say is that what has happened to Motherwell this year is an example of why it is crucial we get the result we need on Monday night.

Rangers will struggle next year, Hearts look set to/have already confirmed they are going lose players, Motherwell will be hard pressed to replicate this season, Aberdeen have as big a rebuilding job as us....... With the right additions, a bit self belief and a solid start a European place isn't out of the question.next year.

03-05-2012, 11:26 AM
they and sellick will both enter the CL at the 3rd qualifying round, Motherwell will be up against some pretty good team though

http://splstats.wordpress.com/2012/04/15/how-to-qualify-for-europe-an-update/

03-05-2012, 11:34 AM
Nice to see some good can come from exiting administration, errmmm, cough , splutter, choke, ahem well you know what I mean.:cb

03-05-2012, 11:35 AM
How many rounds do they need to get through to enter the group stage?

03-05-2012, 11:38 AM
Very tough list of potential opposition. Either way they will get two games as they drop into the Europa League play off round if they exit the Champions league 3rd qualifying round.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2012%E2%80%9313_UEFA_Champions_League

03-05-2012, 11:41 AM

3rd Qualifying round - Non Champions route
then
Play off round - Non Champions route - when the likes of 4th place in England/ Germany/ Spain come into play.

Tha Cabbage Kid
03-05-2012, 11:42 AM

two maybe

Tha Cabbage Kid
03-05-2012, 11:45 AM
it will be tough for them but if they can manage to win anything. or make a draw they could end up with alot of money. and for a club like motherwell it would be massive!

Tha Cabbage Kid
03-05-2012, 11:46 AM
how much do they get for winning a game? about £500,000?

03-05-2012, 12:03 PM
Aye,fair play to them coming back from taking their administrative medicine. Manys a guid day oot locking horns wi them (Amadou Konte anyone?)

Bit galling to hear Stuart McCall toeing the tiresome 'Scottish football needs Rangers' mantra. Ironic given that his team has proved the contrary.

03-05-2012, 12:11 PM
Well done Motherwell and good luck, isnt it great, no buns in Europe.

03-05-2012, 12:13 PM
Makes no odds what the name of the competition they will exit early on is really.

patlowe
03-05-2012, 12:37 PM
I heard the women that runs Motherwell on the radio the other night and she suggested they would receive £140,000 just for qualifying for the 3rd round, not to mention ticket sales, TV rights, potential progress etc. Considering they're guaranteed a Europa League spot regardless I'd say this is absolutely massive for them. They made a very healthy profit last year and that is likely to be repeated spectacularly this year. Regardless of what happened in the past (administration etc), I'd say they are now the model club in the SPL.

Any idea what is happening with their community takeover that was mooted a while back? Would be interesting to see how that pans out.