View Full Version : NHC Barca v Chelsea 2nd leg

Greendub
24-04-2012, 05:29 PM
What's your thoughts?

I think barca will win it, if they can pick themselves up from the clasico defeat.

If they don't.....well.....they'll be looking for a new manager next season me thinks

thekaratekid
24-04-2012, 05:40 PM
I think it is all about who scores first.

24-04-2012, 05:42 PM
It's absolutely crucial that Chelsea score in the first half if they want to have any chance of beating Barcelona at the Nou Camp. The media have put far too much pressure on Chelsea I think by using the recent El Classico as a "guide" to beat Barca. That was Real Madrid, who are, at the moment, the best team in Spain. I concede that both of the teams have managed to reach the semi finals but Barca will be too strong for them I reckon.

4-1 home win.

pentlando
24-04-2012, 05:46 PM
I'm pretty sure if Chelsea can score tonight they will go through, especially if that goal is in the 1st half. Barca have been struggling to create as many chances as usual recently, and if Chelsea defend as they can I can't see them conceding more than 2 goals tonight.

24-04-2012, 05:48 PM
Got a bad feeling Chelsea will manage a draw somehow :boo hoo:

24-04-2012, 05:54 PM
6-0 Barcelona

:stirrer:

Ryan69
24-04-2012, 05:57 PM
Ive went Barcelona 5-0 and Barcelona 5-1

My girlfriend I like to call mystic honey says Messi 4 goals. lol

24-04-2012, 05:57 PM

Whoever scores first, the other team will have to score or they risk going out.

24-04-2012, 05:59 PM

Yup its all about who scores what tonight.

24-04-2012, 06:02 PM
3-0 Barca Messi first goal :wink:

24-04-2012, 06:02 PM

Yup its all about who scores what tonight.

Surprisingly, I think the score line will be the most important factor tonight.

24-04-2012, 06:04 PM
3-1 barca :)

24-04-2012, 06:11 PM
2-1 Barca, Chelsea go through in away goals then Bayern tear them apart in the final and I win my bet.

24-04-2012, 06:12 PM
4-0 barca, cant see chelsea scoring, in fact i cant see them getting out their own half much.

24-04-2012, 06:12 PM

Not at all. Even if Barca go 2 up Chelsea only need to sneak one at the end to go through.

24-04-2012, 06:13 PM
2-1 barca which puts chelsea through

24-04-2012, 06:15 PM
Not at all. Even if Barca go 2 up Chelsea only need to sneak one at the end to go through.

Think Chelsea will score in which case Barceclona need 3 which I dont think they'll get- Chelsea to go through.

24-04-2012, 06:21 PM
Chelsea have no chance. Usual EPL Hype. 4 or 5 fir Barca without reply.

24-04-2012, 06:22 PM
Brilliant stat from that tit Alan Green; in the first leg Drogba spent SIX AND A HALF MINUTES on various occasions lying on his back apparently injured.

McPake tweeted he was a 'disgrace'.

HibeeMG
24-04-2012, 06:38 PM
I can see Graeme Souness setting about both Jamie Redknapp and Glenn Hoddle before the night's out! Redknapp likes the sound of his own voice so much he doesn't mind interrupting people mid-sentence.

24-04-2012, 06:44 PM
Brilliant stat from that tit Alan Green; in the first leg Drogba spent SIX AND A HALF MINUTES on various occasions lying on his back apparently injured.

McPake tweeted he was a 'disgrace'.

I got an email earlier today from betvictor, and believe it or not, they are running a book on how many times Drogba is treated by the physio. :faf:

He's a cheat, and for that reason alone i hope Barca pump them.

Greendub
24-04-2012, 06:49 PM
already running through their defence

24-04-2012, 06:55 PM
Why watch Barcelona when you can watch Heskey vs N'Gog?!

24-04-2012, 07:00 PM
2-1 Barca, Chelsea go through in away goals then Bayern tear them apart in the final and I win my bet.

Would do me, I've got Bayern at 7/1. What odds did you get?

24-04-2012, 07:03 PM
Would do me, I've got Bayern at 7/1. What odds did you get?

Got 5s last week.

Good value imo, 7s is excellent.

24-04-2012, 07:11 PM
Got 5s last week.

Good value imo, 7s is excellent.

I would hope so, I put the bet on in September. :wink:

Greendub
24-04-2012, 07:23 PM
John Terry is a rat!

1-0 Barca and Terry red carded for an off the ball incident.

Nice :greengrin

john terry

http://i1.ytimg.com/vi/DksSPZTZES0/default.jpg

24-04-2012, 07:24 PM
Nae luck Terry ya ****ing tube!

24-04-2012, 07:25 PM
Joy.

24-04-2012, 07:25 PM
No need to do it, what a tube!

24-04-2012, 07:26 PM
Stupid, stupid boy.

24-04-2012, 07:27 PM
John Terry :faf::faf::faf:. Watch the English media go mad about it :rolleyes:. Talking about English media, did anyone see the draw for the Olympic games? The amount of times someone or other referred to the GB team as England :cb. No wonder we're not interested.

24-04-2012, 07:29 PM
All over methinks lovely goal will they go for it now.

"Remember it's still one each on aggregate"

The commentators curse strikes again :faf:

2-0. Great goal

Don't stop now, Barca.

24-04-2012, 07:31 PM
No chance for Chelsea now. Just a matter of how many Barca want to score....

Chelsea Score :rolleyes:

Lovely finish from Ramires!

24-04-2012, 07:32 PM
dont like chelsea but great finish

That didn't last long.

No chance for Chelsea now. Just a matter of how many Barca want to score....

Spoke too soon maybe?

Really classy finish.

24-04-2012, 07:34 PM
Barcelona will destroy them in the second half.

24-04-2012, 07:37 PM
No need to do it, what a tube!

Prize erse, doing what he and the select band of "senior" players get away with at Chelsea frequently because they believe they are untouchable on and off the pitch, truth is he has let them down big style wahtever the outcome - difference is he got caught here and still hadn't the humility to just accept it - will the fans see how he has let them down/ not a chance.

24-04-2012, 07:41 PM
Prize erse, doing what he and the select band of "senior" players get away with at Chelsea frequently because they believe they are untouchable on and off the pitch, truth is he has let them down big style wahtever the outcome - difference is he got caught here and still hadn't the humility to just accept it - will the fans see how he has let them down/ not a chance.

I cannot believe he has done that. Let his entire side down. I hate the twat, glad he's been caught

24-04-2012, 07:48 PM
What did he do?

24-04-2012, 07:51 PM
Oh FFS.

Messi misses a penalty

24-04-2012, 07:53 PM
Terry pleading his innocence.

What an absolute walloper!

24-04-2012, 07:54 PM
What did he do?

Thrust his knee into the back of Sanchez.

Tried to be smart and 'let him know he was there', got caught and left the referee with little choice.

24-04-2012, 07:54 PM
John Terry :faf::faf::faf:. Watch the English media go mad about it :rolleyes:. .

If the Guardian is anything to go by I think the English media are more likely to crucify Terry, not the ref 'what a vicious, preposterous pathetic red card that was from JT. What an oaf'.

http://m.guardian.co.uk/ms/p/gnm/op/sQjlCvAteCaGCN7UW24NA7A/view.m?id=15&gid=football/2012/apr/24/barcelona-chelsea-champions-league-live-mbm&cat=football

24-04-2012, 07:55 PM
Saying on the American commentary that Terry was saying at half time that it wasn't deliberate. :blah:

Classless clown.

Still fancy Chelsea to go through.

I know, someone should tell him the game's being filmed.

I cannot believe he has done that. Let his entire side down. I hate the twat, glad he's been caught

Just heard his official excuse, deary me, best left to folk outside his world to draw their own conclusions.

24-04-2012, 07:56 PM
Now Lampard's at it. Kicking Fabregas when he's on the ground.

**** off Chelsea, you horrible pricks.

24-04-2012, 07:58 PM
Now Lampard's at it. Kicking Fabregas when he's on the ground.

**** off Chelsea, you horrible pricks.

****ing hate Chelsea so much, dirty, dirty barstewards.

I usually quite like most English teams doing well in Europe but have never wanted Chelsea to win.

24-04-2012, 07:58 PM
If chelsea can get to the final from this position I think we will have to give them credit.

24-04-2012, 08:01 PM
If chelsea can get to the final from this position I think we will have to give them credit.

Normally I would say yes, but the way they've conducted themselves over these 2 legs make it hard to give them any credit.

Time wasting, cheating thugs IMO.

24-04-2012, 08:05 PM
Normally I would say yes, but the way they've conducted themselves over these 2 legs make it hard to give them any credit.

Time wasting, cheating thugs IMO.

Man u would be playing the same way in this situation.

24-04-2012, 08:08 PM
Would terry miss the final?

3 goals in less than 3 minutes in the proper game at Villa Park!

Man u would be playing the same way in this situation.

Yawn.

No appeals with UEFA either unless its for mistaken identity.

24-04-2012, 08:09 PM

Yep.:greengrin

Along with Ivanovic and Ramires (so far)

24-04-2012, 08:09 PM

.Haha are you sure you didnt do it deliberately? Hold your hands up you muppet, deal with it' tweets Capt. mcP.

24-04-2012, 08:10 PM
3 goals in less than 3 minutes in the proper game at Villa Park!

GJPs job must be in the balance if they lose this.

24-04-2012, 08:12 PM
.Haha are you sure you didnt do it deliberately? Hold your hands up you muppet, deal with it' tweets Capt. mcP.

:top marks The man goes up in my estimation every day.

Surprise surprise Drogba's on the ground.

Yep.:greengrin

Along with Ivanovic and Ramires (so far)

If it stays like this there will be a few smiling faces in Madrid and Munich tonight. Barca out and Chelski with three of their most important players suspended for the final?

GJB surely? :greengrin

24-04-2012, 08:13 PM
Yawn.

I agree, you live in a dream world.

24-04-2012, 08:14 PM
Come on chelsea.

Hate all this barcelona love in.

24-04-2012, 08:15 PM
Terrible tackle from Lampard.

C'mon Barca!!!!

ManBearPig
24-04-2012, 08:15 PM
Come on Barca!!! Get the finger out, show some urgency! Cant have Chelsea win european cup as that means the forth place in prem for champions league will dissapear. Need that for the mighty toon!!!

24-04-2012, 08:20 PM
Barca lacking in ideas .. But they will get a few chances in the last 10 mins.

24-04-2012, 08:23 PM
Chelsea look very comfortable, Barcelona have been woeful in terms of creating anything, playing against 10 men and the keepers hardly had to make a save.

Greendub
24-04-2012, 08:23 PM
they score most of their goals in the last 5 of the first half and last 10 of the 2nd half

24-04-2012, 08:24 PM
What a shift Drogba has put in by the way

24-04-2012, 08:25 PM
I can see a smile cracking on Jose Mourinho's face :greengrin

24-04-2012, 08:27 PM

It's his influence all over this Chelsea performance.

24-04-2012, 08:28 PM
Fair play to Chelsea, even though they've carried some luck they've defended really well.

24-04-2012, 08:29 PM

Nope, that's Jupp Heynckes that you can see smiling.

24-04-2012, 08:30 PM
Setting aside the fact that he is a real walloper, Cole has been different class.

24-04-2012, 08:31 PM
Villa fans singing something along the lines of "f*** off McLeish cos we're going down" just now. Now a "Sack McLeish" version of Kumbaya.

24-04-2012, 08:32 PM
Setting aside the fact that he is a real walloper, Cole has been different class.

He's a dick but he's a quality left back.

24-04-2012, 08:32 PM
Nope, that's Jupp Heynckes that you can see smiling.

Had to google him :greengrin

Think Real will have too much for Munich tomorrow TBH.

24-04-2012, 08:33 PM
Villa fans singing something along the lines of "f*** off McLeish cos we're going down" just now. Now a "Sack McLeish" version of Kumbaya.

I would love Villa to go down. Done nothing interesting in,years, mid table obscurants.

24-04-2012, 08:34 PM
Ruddy hell.

HibeeSince85
Wow! Didn't expect this!

Torres wraps it up for Chelsea.

Gazza Neville *****s in his pants :greengrin

Greendub
can't believe it

24-04-2012, 08:35 PM
What a farce

Incredible.

I said to my Mum he'd score!!!

Unbelievable.

It just had to be Torres.

Pleased for the lad Torres....he's had a horrible season - not now though!:greengrin

24-04-2012, 08:36 PM
Hope bayern win it, i like their style

24-04-2012, 08:37 PM
Bayern's to lose now. :agree:

24-04-2012, 08:39 PM
Chelsea look very comfortable, Barcelona have been woeful in terms of creating anything, playing against 10 men and the keepers hardly had to make a save.

Little width (just leaving 2 from Alves / Tello / Cuenca on each wing, no overlap) and one-paced. Over-reliant on Messi beating a man / scoring a goal out of very little.

No doubt total football has its' rightfulll place, but when you have a side having to consistently defend without their two centre backs then surely you fire it right on top of them out of the sky a scrap it out. Trying to play through them and round them with it on the floor was helping Chelski.

All Barcas fault!

They needed to score, but persisted with little dinks into the box, where 10 Chelsea players would be waiting to scoop it up.

Why didn't they shoot more?! :grr:

24-04-2012, 08:40 PM
Meireles, Terry, Ivanovic and Ramires out for the final, mind.

Bayern or Madrid will win it. :aok:

24-04-2012, 08:41 PM
All Barcas fault!

They needed to score, but persisted with little dinks into the box, where 10 Chelsea players would be waiting to scoop it up.

Barca have no plan B. They only know one way of playing. Watching the 2nd half and they barely got players into the box. Chelsea deserved it more.

Newhaven
24-04-2012, 08:41 PM
Meireles, Terry, Ivanovic and Ramires out for the final, mind.

Bayern or Madrid will win it. :aok:

ManBearPig
24-04-2012, 08:42 PM
Want Bayern to do it now!!

All Barcas fault!

Not see the stats but how many shots on target did they manage against 10 men?
I'm guessing 4 at most, with at least 80% of possesion- pathetic.

This is chelsea's year. Their name is on the cup!

24-04-2012, 08:43 PM
Great effort from Chelsea.

Just shows sometimes its just meant to be, let's hope its our year too....

24-04-2012, 08:43 PM
Wow! Barca so lacking in ideas.

Well played Chelski - fully merited! Some stout defending. Cech was class!

24-04-2012, 08:44 PM
They will get beat in the final :aok:

Terry must feel like a right cock now. Going to miss out on a chance to captain his side in another Champions League final because of his own stupidity.

Then again its in the family genes to blame someone else.

HibeeSince85
Jose will beat them in the final, I'd love to see that :greengrin

24-04-2012, 08:45 PM
This is chelsea's year. Their name is on the cup!

At least there won't be a repeat of this:

24-04-2012, 08:49 PM

Pretty much sums it up for me.

Matty_Jack04

Not see the stats but how many shots on target did they manage against 10 men?
I'm guessing 4 at most, with at least 80% of possesion- pathetic.

There whole thing is too work the ball into scoring positions shooting from 25-30yards 97% of the time you give possession to the opponent, very frustrating when it doesn't come off but brilliant when it does.

Chelsea done well keeping a line on 18yards giving no room for balls slipped into spaces behind the defence even when they managed to clear it the stayed deep and barca had no idea how to break them Down

Greendub
Ivanovic's face was priceless

So it's a £10 treble on Birmingham, bayern and hibs on the 19th may.

24-04-2012, 08:51 PM

I think we can all agree on the last part.

Fingers crossed.

Greendub
24-04-2012, 08:52 PM
https://fbcdn-sphotos-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-snc7/401590_10151567145770384_613880383_24060129_958400 381_n.jpg

Lost_Mackem
24-04-2012, 08:53 PM
Really pleased for Chelsea, English football has taken a bit of a hammering from certain sections of the media for a couple of years. So for Chelsea who are currently outside the top four in the league table to beat probably Europe's best side is really something.

Also seen some people criticising the style of play, this never fails to amuse me, Chelsea had to play 2/3 of the game with ten men against the best passing side in the world. But of course they should have attacked more, maybe they would have if they could have actually got hold of the ball. :rolleyes:

24-04-2012, 08:54 PM
I know I'm in the absolute minorty here, but I prefer a battling defensive display over a slick attacking display, superb stuff from Chelsea, they are a team I love to hate but fair play to them, they deserved that after going down to 10 men and Cahil going off injured early doors. If Di Matteo doesn't get the gig then the worlds gone funny.

I think we can all agree on the last part.

Fingers crossed.
Yes, however how can you not think it was a great effort from Chelsea?

Newhaven
Im watching a dodgy stream of the game from Aisa and John Burridge is in the studio :top marks

24-04-2012, 08:57 PM
Yes, however how can you not think it was a great effort from Chelsea?

It was a fantastic defensive display no doubt.

Unfortunately some won't see that and will criticise it for being anti football or some other nonsense without giving any alternative options of how they should have played with 10 men.

Hence my saying we can ALL agree with the last part.

24-04-2012, 09:01 PM
There whole thing is too work the ball into scoring positions shooting from 25-30yards 97% of the time you give possession to the opponent, very frustrating when it doesn't come off but brilliant when it does.

Chelsea done well keeping a line on 18yards giving no room for balls slipped into spaces behind the defence even when they managed to clear it the stayed deep and barca had no idea how to break them Down

They didn't need to ping balls from 25-30 yards. But they could have been more adventurous, instead of following the same pattern of play over and over and over again.

They done the same thing every time. Quite drab to watch really.

24-04-2012, 09:02 PM
Sticking the ball in the onion bag...thats the aim of the game.....

If the win playing backs to the wall with ten men in the cup final...obviously that won't be enough :rolleyes:

BurghHibby
24-04-2012, 09:03 PM
Really pleased for Chelsea, English football has taken a bit of a hammering from certain sections of the media for a couple of years. So for Chelsea who are currently outside the top four in the league table to beat probably Europe's best side is really something.

Also seen some people criticising the style of play, this never fails to amuse me, Chelsea had to play 2/3 of the game with ten men against the best passing side in the world. But of course they should have attacked more, maybe they would have if they could have actually got hold of the ball. :rolleyes:

What's the excuse for the first leg when they were at home?
I would have hated to have paid good money to go and watch that, I like to see two teams playing football, not one being totaly negative.

24-04-2012, 09:06 PM
What's the excuse for the first leg when they were at home?
I would have hated to have paid good money to go and watch that, I like to see two teams playing football, not one being totaly negative.

Yeah, but if you were a Chelsea fan then surely you'd want them in the final at any cost.

Will you be complaining if Hibs lift the Holy Grail after being 'totally negative'?

24-04-2012, 09:06 PM
Stay on your feet and stay calm and you can win any game-especially Cup Finals.

24-04-2012, 09:07 PM
Really gutsy back to the wall display that would have had me screaming with joy if it had been Hibs, but as a neutral
it's pash to watch that sort of football - I would much rather the attacking flair team won.

Greendub
24-04-2012, 09:08 PM
I was disapointed with barca's play at stages, with tello and alexis up front near the end, both lightening quick players, a well placed over the top pass could have created an amazing scoring opportunity.

but barca stuck to their style

24-04-2012, 09:10 PM
Will you be complaining if Hibs lift the Holy Grail after being 'totally negative'?

I know some "fans" that don't even want us to lift the cup, because they don't think the players deserve it. :rolleyes:

How people draw up such conclusions is beyond me.

I know I'm in the absolute minorty here, but I prefer a battling defensive display over a slick attacking display, superb stuff from Chelsea, they are a team I love to hate but fair play to them, they deserved that after going down to 10 men and Cahil going off injured early doors. If Di Matteo doesn't get the gig then the worlds gone funny.

I think the point is that it wasn't a slick attacking display by Barca.

BurghHibby
Yeah, but if you were a Chelsea fan then surely you'd want them in the final at any cost.

QUOTE=Malthibby;3195812]Really gutsy back to the wall display that would have had me screaming with joy if it had been Hibs, but as a neutral
it's pash to watch that sort of football - I would much rather the attacking flair team won.[/QUOTE]

24-04-2012, 09:13 PM
The point is that Chelsea weren't playing to entertain you, they were trying to get to the European Cup final.

24-04-2012, 09:13 PM
I think the point is that it wasn't a slick attacking display by Barca.

Barca really didn't look THAT good. Far from looking like one of the best teams in the world tonight.

A top team should be diverse and able to change their game plan when the original isn't working out. Barcelona seem to lack this.

HibeeMG
24-04-2012, 09:15 PM
So it's a £10 treble on Birmingham, bayern and hibs on the 19th may.

Amir Khan is boxing that night too. :take that

marleyhib
24-04-2012, 09:21 PM
Thought it was great to watch, it's great that cup football throws up games like this. Yes Barca should have won and Chelsea rode their luck but that's what makes football such a great game.

Pundits were saying Barca were unbeatable and didn't give Chelsea a sniff. Yet Barca are suspect at the back and footballs not just about possession and attack.

I think it might be that being a Scotland supporting Hibby I'm used to being the underdog.

24-04-2012, 09:22 PM
Watched the game in a bar here in Barcelona. Locals not too happy except for the odd Espanyol supporter.

coco22
24-04-2012, 09:25 PM
Watched the game in a bar here in Barcelona. Locals not too happy except for the odd Espanyol supporter.

why were you not at the game? tickets were cheap i heard!!! skinflint :wink:

24-04-2012, 09:31 PM
Your hearts got to go out to AVB though :violin:.

24-04-2012, 09:32 PM
Disappointed in Barca. Delighted for Torres though, hopefully it mean we see the world class striker that is hiding in there somewhere now.:thumbsup:

24-04-2012, 09:34 PM

Barca really didn't look THAT good. Far from looking like one of the best teams in the world tonight.

A top team should be diverse and able to change their game plan when the original isn't working out. Barcelona seem to lack this.

Barca's form has dipped dramatically in the last few weeks. Chelsea deserved to win but if you heard JT's explanation of events re the red card it would serve to highlight what a lying bar steward he is :greengrin

24-04-2012, 09:38 PM
I can't recall ever seeing a better defensive performance than Chelsea's after John terry was sent off. If you'd given me odds of 1000/1 on Chelsea at that point, I wouldn't have taken the bet. Superb concentration and positional play. Barca didn't create many gilt edged chances.

I'm not a Chelsea fans by any means, but hats off to them. In the second half I was rooting for them as massive underdogs. Messi on his knees when Torres scored was strangely satisfying.

24-04-2012, 09:53 PM

Anti football.

The same anti football as the huns in 2008. Chelsea got lucky, it happens.

24-04-2012, 09:58 PM
Reaction from Madrid

http://i.imgur.com/2Un7F.gif

24-04-2012, 10:01 PM
Reaction from Madrid

24-04-2012, 10:01 PM
That's fantastic, meeko :rotflmao:

24-04-2012, 10:05 PM
Reaction from Madrid

I'd love to put that on my Facebook.

Is that possible?

24-04-2012, 10:10 PM
Amir Khan is boxing that night too. :take that

He'll not be the only one!

24-04-2012, 10:22 PM

This (what you quote, not your own post) is one of these comedy fallacies that folk dream up, presumably having been brought up with the Tornadoes, gone into a deep sleep from 1979-1991, woken up again briefly, and then gone back to sleep until Mowbray came in. If my team had just got through to the Champions League, away at Barcelona, with a sterling defensive display against all the odds, I'd be utterly ecstatic.

If my team win the Scottish Cup, 1-0, having spent 89 minutes camped in their own 18 yard box, folk sitting near me will be extremely lucky if I don't just start tearing the heid aff it there and then. Obviously, a 4-0 skelping is preferable, but - in these types of games more than any other - a win is a win however you come by it.

TonyStokeprano
25-04-2012, 07:30 AM
would john terry have recieved a straight red card if the ball had been played into sanchez feet at that point ? i reckon it would be a yellow. what a stupid guy, if your wanting to give someone a kick wait till theyve got the ball. Although i did find chelsea a lot more likeable with terry off the pitch.

25-04-2012, 07:58 AM
The point is that Chelsea weren't playing to entertain you, they were trying to get to the European Cup final.

Exactly. ManU and Arsenal have both tried to play football v Barca in recent years and they both got pumped. I don't think there fans take much comfort from the hidings they got?

Chelsea stopped them playing and also scored more goals (over the 2 legs) seems like a decent effort!

25-04-2012, 08:15 AM
Chelsea will have to play some kind of progressive game against Real. They can't possibly hope to survive like that again.

25-04-2012, 08:21 AM
This (what you quote, not your own post) is one of these comedy fallacies that folk dream up, presumably having been brought up with the Tornadoes, gone into a deep sleep from 1979-1991, woken up again briefly, and then gone back to sleep until Mowbray came in. If my team had just got through to the Champions League, away at Barcelona, with a sterling defensive display against all the odds, I'd be utterly ecstatic.

If my team win the Scottish Cup, 1-0, having spent 89 minutes camped in their own 18 yard box, folk sitting near me will be extremely lucky if I don't just start tearing the heid aff it there and then. Obviously, a 4-0 skelping is preferable, but - in these types of games more than any other - a win is a win however you come by it.

Brilliant couldnt agree more however hope I am not sitting near you at the final if that would be your personal celebration. :greengrin

Bottom line is Barca blew it with their comic defending, missed chances and Valdes Zibi impression last night.

Teo10
25-04-2012, 09:07 AM
Chelsea will have to play some kind of progressive game against Real. They can't possibly hope to survive like that again.

IF Real can get past Bayern....

TrinityHibs
25-04-2012, 09:59 AM
I'm sure Platini will be unhappy about the anti football approach adopted by Chelski but heartened by both teams compliance with his Financial Fair Play model.

25-04-2012, 10:06 AM

They're on an incredibly lucky streak, and it's only 90 minutes (as opposed to the 4x90 they've got away with recently against Wigan, Arsenal and 2xBarca), so they could well get away with it against Real/Bayern. And I don't think they'll change their game just because it's a showpiece final. However if they win the CL playing like that, I foresee calls for rule changes of the sort that exist in one-day cricket - perhaps "no more than 9 players at any time in own quarter of pitch" or somesuch. Which would be tiresome, but not half as tiresome as watching Chelski's hoof-the-baw-up-to-Drogba-and-hope-he-gets-a-freekick-for-falling-over routine.

25-04-2012, 10:14 AM
You cant blame Chelsea at all for the way they played over the two legs, if they went toe to toe, they'd have been pumped. Barcelona play the best football in the world, and trying to beat them doing the same would be suicide. FFS even Real Madrid dont try it.

25-04-2012, 10:38 AM
You cant blame Chelsea at all for the way they played over the two legs, if they went toe to toe, they'd have been pumped. Barcelona play the best football in the world, and trying to beat them doing the same would be suicide. FFS even Real Madrid dont try it.

You can't blame them, no, as they played within the rules (well, apart from Drogba, Terry and the others who'll miss the final). But if it becomes common that teams who played like Chelsea triumph over teams who play like Barca, the rules should be changed. Happens in all sports that rules get changed, for the good of the game. Was indeed a heroic effort by Chelsea, but you wouldn't want youngsters copying the idea!

25-04-2012, 11:01 AM
You can't blame them, no, as they played within the rules (well, apart from Drogba, Terry and the others who'll miss the final). But if it becomes common that teams who played like Chelsea triumph over teams who play like Barca, the rules should be changed. Happens in all sports that rules get changed, for the good of the game. Was indeed a heroic effort by Chelsea, but you wouldn't want youngsters copying the idea!

I agree you wouldn't want youngsters to copy them, as for Chelsea not playing by the rules, Barca and Real are no strangers to bending the law too. Chelsea won, Barca lost. It gives hope to all the underdogs who play each and every week against so called bigger clubs.

As for changing the rules, what do you suggest? :confused:

25-04-2012, 11:02 AM
They're on an incredibly lucky streak, and it's only 90 minutes (as opposed to the 4x90 they've got away with recently against Wigan, Arsenal and 2xBarca), so they could well get away with it against Real/Bayern. And I don't think they'll change their game just because it's a showpiece final. However if they win the CL playing like that, I foresee calls for rule changes of the sort that exist in one-day cricket - perhaps "no more than 9 players at any time in own quarter of pitch" or somesuch. Which would be tiresome, but not half as tiresome as watching Chelski's hoof-the-baw-up-to-Drogba-and-hope-he-gets-a-freekick-for-falling-over routine.

I don't think Chelsea will 'get away' with anything.

Chelsea played two legs against the best team in the world without losing - they won one game, and they drew 2-2 in Barcelona with ONLY ten men on the park against a team that plays possession football per excellence yet some people are seriously suggesting this is only down to incredible luck?

People may not like the style of the tactics involved, but defending is part of the game, the tactics were effective and the team's overall performance against Barca surely has to be respected - putting it down to luck is ignoring the tremendous physical, tactical, mental and motivational aspects of Chelsea's game last night.

I don't particularly care for Chelsea as a team, some of their players or the guy who owns them - but none of that blinds me to the fact that It took more than just luck to master Barcelona over two legs.

25-04-2012, 11:06 AM
Personally, I think Barca should consider having a proper CF up top, that way they could attack teams by pass and move, or out wide and putting in a cross. Drop one of the wider men, let Messi play all across the front line.
I was shaking my head at times last night, chipping the ball FROM a wide area near the bye line back to 30 yards out !... And same with corners. I love the way they play and I am fully behind the passing style they have, but surely they should consider a Benzema type of player up top as well? At least part of their squad?

It's respect to Barca that the only way teams can compete or beat them, is to cramp 10 players mainly centrally, on the edge of their box. However, now Barca should be looking to add more height/power/strength up top, to have a different option IMO.
Last night was like watching a training session of attackers v defenders and I was gutted Chelsea got through, not just coz of the way they played but coz I can't stand them collectively or individually.

25-04-2012, 11:08 AM
Personally, I think Barca should consider having a proper CF up top, that way they could attack teams by pass and move, or out wide and putting in a cross. Drop one of the wider men, let Messi play all across the front line.
I was shaking my head at times last night, chipping the ball FROM a wide area near the bye line back to 30 yards out !... And same with corners. I love the way they play and I am fully behind the passing style they have, but surely they should consider a Benzema type of player up top as well? At least part of their squad?

It's respect to Barca that the only way teams can compete or beat them, is to cramp 10 players mainly centrally, on the edge of their box. However, now Barca should be looking to add more height/power/strength up top, to have a different option IMO.
Last night was like watching a training session of attackers v defenders and I was gutted Chelsea got through, not just coz of the way they played but coz I can't stand them collectively or individually.

There has been talk of Van Persie going there next season.

25-04-2012, 11:10 AM
Although Chelsea did defend very well last night, they carried a good bit of luck over the two legs.

IIRC Barca hit the woodwork three times and missed a penalty, and if any of them had gone in it would have been a totally different story.

25-04-2012, 11:11 AM
There has been talk of Van Persie going there next season.

He'd certainly fit the bill.....good on the ground, whilst he's pretty strong and is not bad with his napper either.

25-04-2012, 11:30 AM
Personally, I think Barca should consider having a proper CF up top

They had the best big guy in the world, Ibrahimovic, and they refused to play to his strengths and he was out of there quicker than Drogba falls over, BArca will never, ever, ever change, but teams will adapt and succeed, all this talk of changing the rules nonsense, never heard so much tripe, you can't change the rules to favour one style of play, adapt or die, adapt...or...die.

25-04-2012, 11:34 AM
They had the best big guy in the world, Ibrahimovic, and they refused to play to his strengths and he was out of there quicker than Drogba falls over, BArca will never, ever, ever change, but teams will adapt and succeed, all this talk of changing the rules nonsense, never heard so much tripe, you can't change the rules to favour one style of play, adapt or die, adapt...or...die.

There's Van Persie, Rooney, Benzema etc....all these type of strikers can play on the deck but offer some sort of aerial threat too.
Madrid are gonna win the La Liga (and likely the CL as well), so Barca need to react and slightly mix up their game, clearly now Chelsea, Madrid and maybe others are able to stop them.

25-04-2012, 11:35 AM
Whoever Chelsea play in the final they will be without Terry , Ivanovic , Ramires and Meireles plus whatever injuries they have come 19th May. They might have won the battle but they may have lost the war.

25-04-2012, 11:42 AM
Whoever Chelsea play in the final they will be without Terry , Ivanovic , Ramires and Meireles plus whatever injuries they have come 19th May. They might have won the battle but they may have lost war.

I'm coming round to wanting Chelsea to actually win it now, just so Terry will have missed out. Now if Ashley Cole and Drogba could pick up injuries so they also missed it too, that would just about make it perfect for me.

25-04-2012, 11:46 AM

Firstly, make Drogba start every match already on a yellow card. So that he'll know that if he starts his nonsense at any time during the game, he'll be booked and off. Great player, total knob.

It took more than just luck to master Barcelona over two legs.

Course it did, but one of the things it took was luck.

this talk of changing the rules nonsense, never heard so much tripe, you can't change the rules to favour one style of play

You only need glance at old footage of George Best in action (aye, before he played for us likes) to understand that the rules of football have been changed to favour players like him and to disadvantage players like Norbert Stiles, Chopper Harris, Norman Hunter, etc. What's the difference between changing the rules to favour a player's playing style and changing the rules to favour a collective playing style? :dunno:

Teo10
25-04-2012, 11:48 AM
There's Van Persie, Rooney, Benzema etc....all these type of strikers can play on the deck but offer some sort of aerial threat too.
Madrid are gonna win the La Liga (and likely the CL as well), so Barca need to react and slightly mix up their game, clearly now Chelsea, Madrid and maybe others are able to stop them.

That isn't a given though, Real ship goals but have the ability to score more which is why they have done so well! Bayern showed last week kind of what Chelsea did, defend well but they arent the best at the back and managed to get aa 2-1 victory.. would have been more if Gomes didn't have a honking game!

I think Real will struggle tonight, Bayern wont be there to be pushed over....

25-04-2012, 11:52 AM
You only need glance at old footage of George Best in action (aye, before he played for us likes) to understand that the rules of football have been changed to favour players like him and to disadvantage players like Norbert Stiles, Chopper Harris, Norman Hunter, etc. What's the difference between changing the rules to favour a player's playing style and changing the rules to favour a collective playing style? :dunno:

But that's surely a different kettle of fish entirely, that's player safety, which I'm 100% behind changing the rules to protect a fellow humans well-being, but the type of thing mentioned is a fundamental change to encourage a particular type of play, that, respectively, I'm 100% against.

25-04-2012, 11:54 AM

I hear what you are saying however in many ways their obsession with playing their way makes them so good. Over the two legs if they had defended even reasonably they would have got through. Puyol and Mascherano arent great and Zibi Valdes must wear non-stick gloves. The goals they lost both at Chelsea and last night were awful in that for all 3 Chelsea had one guy attacking who no-one was picking up. Torres goal was laughable not one Barca player within 25m of him.

Barca werent as good last night for sure with Messi as bad as I have seen him however 2-0 up at home against 10 and you dont win you have blown it basically.

25-04-2012, 11:58 AM
But that's surely a different kettle of fish entirely, that's player safety, which I'm 100% behind changing the rules to protect a fellow humans well-being, but the type of thing mentioned is a fundamental change to encourage a particular type of play, that, respectively, I'm 100% against.

I'm thinking of the well-being of the wider game. It's only interesting to watch that backs-to-the-wall stuff once in a while, no matter how well it's done (and it could hardly have been done any better than Chelsea did it last night).

All other sports change their rules, not just to protect against physical injury. And doesn't the offside rule in fitba get changed from time to time, to improve the game? Are you 100% against that? :dunno:

Teo10
25-04-2012, 12:07 PM
I hear what you are saying however in many ways their obsession with playing their way makes them so good. Over the two legs if they had defended even reasonably they would have got through. Puyol and Mascherano arent great and Zibi Valdes must wear non-stick gloves. The goals they lost both at Chelsea and last night were awful in that for all 3 Chelsea had one guy attacking who no-one was picking up. Torres goal was laughable not one Barca player within 25m of him.Barca werent as good last night for sure with Messi as bad as I have seen him however 2-0 up at home against 10 and you dont win you have blown it basically.

There was 1 minute left in the game, they had to go all out to try get a goal and just from one hoof up the part it fell to Torres, and give him his dues for being composed

Greendub
25-04-2012, 12:12 PM
Barca's way of playing has worked for the last 3 years, so they lost a few games, they're gonna go out against whoever this weekend and hump them.

Chelsea were lucky, not good, lucky.

Tbh I thought Chelsea played **** over the two legs, but taking your chances against 3 on 2 and 1 on 1 is easier than 10 vs 9(people inside the box)

25-04-2012, 02:48 PM

And by the way there were people calling for rule changes (http://sports.yahoo.com/blogs/soccer-dirty-tackle/future-news-barcelona-petition-fifa-declare-possession-more-225601843.html) even before the semi final second leg.

25-04-2012, 03:02 PM
And by the way there were people calling for rule changes (http://sports.yahoo.com/blogs/soccer-dirty-tackle/future-news-barcelona-petition-fifa-declare-possession-more-225601843.html) even before the semi final second leg.

I disagree with anymore rule changes, for me any change is just to let the richer teams win more. The games run far too much in their favour now, christ they win most of the time now. Let the smaller clubs play whatever way they want within the rules.

25-04-2012, 04:03 PM
Barca should get Peter Crouch!

I'm not kidding!

25-04-2012, 06:42 PM
Absolutly hate chelsea, an english version of the huns. A very fake, arrogant club with a complete ******** for a captain.

However, credit where credits due, beating barca is no easy task so fair play to them. Nothing went barcas way at all, missed penalty, hit the woodwork countless times, goal disallowed etc. so chelsea defiantly had a lot of luck on their side.

Terry, Meirelles, Ramieres and Ivanovic all suspended for the final so they are going to have to pray they don't pick up any injuries or they could be struggling.

25-04-2012, 06:50 PM
Absolutly hate chelsea, an english version of the huns. A very fake, arrogant club with a complete ******** for a captain.

However, credit where credits due, beating barca is no easy task so fair play to them. Nothing went barcas way at all, missed penalty, hit the woodwork countless times, goal disallowed etc. so chelsea defiantly had a lot of luck on their side.

Terry, Meirelles, Ramieres and Ivanovic all suspended for the final so they are going to have to pray they don't pick up any injuries or they could be struggling.

:agree: Although there are some folk who want to change the rules, to make it easier for Barcelona to win? :confused::confused::confused: They missed countless chances, even missed a penalty, what do some folk want, the opposition to play with 10 men? :faf:

26-04-2012, 07:01 PM

Really, all the London clubs have the Union Jack as a second flag. I don't know what you mean about Chelsea being a "fake" club. I used to watch them in the 60s/70s when I lived in the south and they were great with plenty of old timers and families supporting them.

I assume you mean "fake" because they have been bankrolled by a billionaire. So what?