View Full Version : Do Scots really hate the English?
Lost_Mackem
21-04-2012, 07:07 PM
Just asking because I recently viewed these posts on the web:
When I was younger I wasn't nationalist or racist at all. Once I found out more and more about the history between Scotland and England that all changed. England has shat on Scotland from a great height for a very long time (or at least tried to), simply because you ignorant *******s don't realise that you do in fact need Scotland. When the Romans came, we kept them at bay whereas you couldn't. At Bannockburn, outnumbered three to one, we still beat you. At the battle of Stirling Bridge we beat you etc... Also, something it pains you 'people' to admit - the Jacobites could have taken London, too! The television; the device you lager lout ********s watch Wayne Rooney try and tie his laces on all day long - we invented that. Penicillin, Golf, mobile phones, chartered the Antartic and the North West passage, founded the American Navy, invented logarithms, started commercially producing oil, invented steam trains, colour photography, pneumatic tyres, even tarmac and gas lighting; the list goes on. The olympics; curling and cycling - gold. We built the largest miliatary fort in Europe (Fort George). Despite being the smaller country (5 Million to 50 Million) we have accomplished far more than you care to admit (or are educated enough to know). We have most of the nuclear weapons in Britain, which you can criticise, but wouldn't if it was your country in control of them. If anything, we don't need you. If you didn't need us, why are we still forced to share space with you? I also notice your country doesn't seem to be too popular around the rest of the world. In fact, a lot of you don't seem to like it that much with the amount of you **** that move up here and pollute us. This comes from a nationalist with a lot of hatred, yes, but that is your fault, not ours. If you would only just become independant (you seem to think you have the power to do that) then we could be happy without you. The St. George's day 'legend' is a farce and so is your flag. Your nation is a disgrace.
There is nothing perverse about it. You people, and your attitude, just asks for hatred. The auld alliance is an example of cause and effect.
It would never have happened if you and your ancestors werent bigoted and hateful ********s. Imposing culture on other peoples and destroying their way of life is not appreciated by most countries, including france wales ireland and scotland. Auld alliance did have limited success; it forced the plantagenets and tudors to spread their forces like butter rather than splodge it all on france. The auld alliance took quite a load off france since england had to station forces at home which should have been used to crush more french.
The original post has a few things wrong with it, mainly the point about the English being taken over by the Romans... even though the English technically hadn't arrived on the British Isles at that point.
What is your view?
21-04-2012, 09:07 PM
You find a lunatic fringe of racists and bigots everywhere. Scotland sadly is no different.
21-04-2012, 09:17 PM
Search the web long enough and you will find all sorts of garbage like that posted on any subject. But you know that anyway don't you? Good try though.
21-04-2012, 10:07 PM
Just what are you trying to achieve by posting that crap?
21-04-2012, 10:58 PM
Some Scottish people will hate the English and some English people will hate the Scots. However, most people from both sides will just view the relationship that we both share with one another as a friendly rivalry.
Don't think it's anything more than that in the eyes of most ordinary people.
GhostofBolivar
22-04-2012, 06:32 AM
I love this idiot's view of the Jacobite rebellions.
Yes, the Jacobites might have been able to capture London. They certainly couldn't have held it, though. Also, as is very widely known, it was hardly a Scotland v England conflict. Far more Scots were sensible enough to tell the wee alcoholic French fud to GTF in 1745 than fought for him. But what really amuses me is that he then takes credit for the building of Fort George as a Scottish achievement when it was built by the London government in the aftermath of the '45 Jacobite rebellion as part of an increased military presence in the north to prevent another rising.
I'd bet this guy also has the classic Scottish attitude to the British Empire. 'Oh, aye. We were the first country they English bawbags colonised. We stand with you, oppressed English-speaking peoples of the world. But dinnae forget it wis us Scots that built the Empire. Yous couldnae have done it without us, likesay.'
Prime cut, grade A, tube.
22-04-2012, 07:21 AM
I also love the comments about France not appreciating being colonised and having culture imposed upon them. Obviously never heard of the First Crusade. And the Romans almost certainly could have taken us if they wanted to. It wasnt worth the logistical/financial effort to keep fighting us hairy savages.
Scottish xenophobes GTF.
HKhibby
22-04-2012, 07:25 AM
The original post has a few things wrong with it, mainly the point about the English being taken over by the Romans... even though the English technically hadn't arrived on the British Isles at that point.
What is your view?
2 words that describe you!...nut case!, have a day off, you ignorant petty little bigoted Scotsman!, im scottish and have not lived there thankfully for a long time! and you are the typical type that make me sure that not only i but my wife and any of her family will never live there! i forgot the world owes Scotland and the Scottish a living! grow up little ignorant boy!! talk about chip on shoulder!
22-04-2012, 07:39 AM
2 words that describe you!...nut case!, have a day off, you ignorant petty little bigoted Scotsman!, im scottish and have not lived there thankfully for a long time! and you are the typical type that make me sure that not only i but my wife and any of her family will never live there! i forgot the world owes Scotland and the Scottish a living! grow up little ignorant boy!! talk about chip on shoulder!
I think he is English.
22-04-2012, 07:43 AM
When I was younger I wasn't nationalist or racist at all. Once I found out more and more about the history between Scotland and England that all changed. England has shat on Scotland from a great height for a very long time (or at least tried to), simply because you ignorant *******s don't realise that you do in fact need Scotland. When the Romans came, we kept them at bay whereas you couldn't. At Bannockburn, outnumbered three to one, we still beat you. At the battle of Stirling Bridge we beat you etc... Also, something it pains you 'people' to admit - the Jacobites could have taken London, too! The television; the device you lager lout ********s watch Wayne Rooney try and tie his laces on all day long - we invented that. Penicillin, Golf, mobile phones, chartered the Antartic and the North West passage, founded the American Navy, invented logarithms, started commercially producing oil, invented steam trains, colour photography, pneumatic tyres, even tarmac and gas lighting; the list goes on. The olympics; curling and cycling - gold. We built the largest miliatary fort in Europe (Fort George). Despite being the smaller country (5 Million to 50 Million) we have accomplished far more than you care to admit (or are educated enough to know). We have most of the nuclear weapons in Britain, which you can criticise, but wouldn't if it was your country in control of them. If anything, we don't need you. If you didn't need us, why are we still forced to share space with you? I also notice your country doesn't seem to be too popular around the rest of the world. In fact, a lot of you don't seem to like it that much with the amount of you **** that move up here and pollute us. This comes from a nationalist with a lot of hatred, yes, but that is your fault, not ours. If you would only just become independant (you seem to think you have the power to do that) then we could be happy without you. The St. George's day 'legend' is a farce and so is your flag. Your nation is a disgrace.
Do you think that'd fit on a dish towel? :hmmm:
22-04-2012, 08:23 AM
Unbelievable! When it comes to Scotland you really can't help yourself, Its more likely you that has the chip on their shoulder!
Have another read of the OP, I believe you might want to reconsider your post.
22-04-2012, 10:15 AM
:faf: And I wondered what the OP was hoping to achieve!!! I believe but may be wrong that the OP is in fact English and you have proven 100% who has a chip on his shoulder on this thread!
22-04-2012, 10:23 AM
:faf: And I wondered what the OP was hoping to achieve!!! I believe but may be wrong that the OP is in fact English and you have proven 100% who has a chip on his shoulder on this thread!
Re-frame the question.
Do ex-pat Scots living in Hong Kong really hate the Scots?
22-04-2012, 10:36 AM
Some Scottish people will hate the English and some English people will hate the Scots. However, most people from both sides will just view the relationship that we both share with one another as a friendly rivalry.
Don't think it's anything more than that in the eyes of most ordinary people.
I agree with most of this but IMO there is more anti-English views in Scotland than the other way around.
I've live in London for some time now and watch most of the Scotland matches in Scottish pubs. The locals aren't that fussed but when England are playing the scots are a lot more vocal in supporting the opposition. Some of the anti-English posts on the GB Olympic team are cringeworthy and I've never heard any of my English mates say anything similar about Scotland.
That's just football though and I think it goes a bit deeper than than that. The English National Party isn't taken seriously (as far as I know it's a 'proper' political party and not to be confused with EDL etc) and there is no widespread desire to break up the UK.
I've nothing against Scottish nationlists and am not suggesting all SNP voters are anti-English, just that a separate national identity is more of an issue in Scotland. For the majority of scots this is for the right reasons but there are a minority with a massive chip on their shoulder who just need to grow up.
22-04-2012, 10:42 AM
Fail.
22-04-2012, 10:43 AM
I agree with most of this but IMO there is more anti-English views in Scotland than the other way around.
I've live in London for some time now and watch most of the Scotland matches in Scottish pubs. The locals aren't that fussed but when England are playing the scots are a lot more vocal in supporting the opposition. Some of the anti-English posts on the GB Olympic team are cringeworthy and I've never heard any of my English mates say anything similar about Scotland.
That's just football though and I think it goes a bit deeper than than that. The English National Party isn't taken seriously (as far as I know it's a 'proper' political party and not to be confused with EDL etc) and there is no widespread desire to break up the UK.
I've nothing against Scottish nationlists and am not suggesting all SNP voters are anti-English, just that a separate national identity is more of an issue in Scotland. For the majority of scots this is for the right reasons but there are a minority with a massive chip on their shoulder who just need to grow up.
:agree: That pretty much somes up my experiences as well.
22-04-2012, 10:45 AM
Do the Scots really hate the English?
22-04-2012, 10:48 AM
2 words that describe you!...nut case!, have a day off, you ignorant petty little bigoted scotsman!, im scottish and have not lived there thankfully for a long time! And you are the typical type that make me sure that not only i but my wife and any of her family will never live there! I forgot the world owes scotland and the scottish a living! Grow up little ignorant boy!! Talk about chip on shoulder!epic fail
22-04-2012, 12:27 PM
Do the Scots really hate the English?
Exactly.
22-04-2012, 12:55 PM
Legendary, iconic fail.
22-04-2012, 01:21 PM
Somewhere in Hong Kong, a circus is missing a clown.
2 words that describe you!...nut case!, have a day off, you ignorant petty little bigoted Scotsman!, im scottish and have not lived there thankfully for a long time! and you are the typical type that make me sure that not only i but my wife and any of her family will never live there! i forgot the world owes Scotland and the Scottish a living! grow up little ignorant boy!! talk about chip on shoulder!Just the two words ...?....deary deary me ...:tee hee:
HKhibby
22-04-2012, 04:54 PM
I think he is English.
no im not actually...but certainly British and proud to be British as well!...see what i mean with chip on there shoulder?...typical scottish reply!...i think he's english!!!
HKhibby
22-04-2012, 04:59 PM
well said
HKhibby
22-04-2012, 05:05 PM
Re-frame the question.
1. im not an expat im actually a Hong Konger!
2. most of the Scots i know in HK and i know one or two dont hate Scots they just hate their ridiculas anti anti cant see beyond the end of their nose attitude and the world owes them a living attitude too, same as me
HKhibby
22-04-2012, 05:08 PM
Just the two words ...?....deary deary me ...:tee hee:
yes just 2!...could think of alot more but havnt got the time to even bother with them right now
ginger_rice
22-04-2012, 05:17 PM
yes just 2!...could think of alot more but havnt got the time to even bother with them right now
You know I've been on this message board for years and never ever put anyone on my ignore list.....congratulations you are the first!
HKhibby
22-04-2012, 05:21 PM
Fail.
i never usually fail!...usually proven right!
HKhibby
22-04-2012, 05:23 PM
You know I've been on this message board for years and never ever put anyone on my ignore list.....congratulations you are the first!
thank hell for that then!...oh sorry! likewise
22-04-2012, 05:25 PM
http://img.tapatalk.com/56988e8e-3f4f-2e2e.jpg
HKhibby
22-04-2012, 05:26 PM
Legendary, iconic fail.
???...is that some sort of computer geek chat or something
HKhibby
22-04-2012, 05:28 PM
Exactly.
seems like the majority of the ones on here do
HKhibby
22-04-2012, 05:30 PM
epic fail
new film name?
22-04-2012, 05:31 PM
no im not actually...but certainly British and proud to be British as well!...see what i mean with chip on there shoulder?...typical scottish reply!...i think he's english!!!
When are you going to realise that the OP was copied and pasted from somewhere and is not the opinion of anyone on this thread?
You're directing your anger at the wrong people here and are quick to label a whole race of people based on one person's ignorance.
Some of the most shocking comments I've ever read on here have came from you on this thread.
no im not actually...but certainly British and proud to be British as well!...see what i mean with chip on there shoulder?...typical scottish reply!...i think he's english!!!You will find marinello was referring to the op being English ..not you ..on that note though, perhaps now would be a good time for you to climb down from that high horse, you are really not doing yourself any favours with some of your silly replies ..
22-04-2012, 05:33 PM
1. im not an expat im actually a Hong Konger!
2. most of the Scots i know in HK and i know one or two dont hate Scots they just hate their ridiculas anti anti cant see beyond the end of their nose attitude and the world owes them a living attitude too, same as me
From your earlier post...."im scottish "
Do make up your mind.
As for the bit in bold, a tad racist, no?
HKhibby
22-04-2012, 05:36 PM
Re-frame the question.
Doubt that judging by the amount of typical replies there are!
HKhibby
22-04-2012, 05:38 PM
Somewhere in Hong Kong, a circus is missing a clown.
Why? are you on your way there?
22-04-2012, 07:36 PM
:faf: He was referring to the OP as English not you! You really have made a fool of yourself on this thread more than once. Even to the point of claiming to be Scottish in one post and then denying it and claiming to be a Hong Konger! One can only imagine you are directing your fury at fellow Hibees in order to vent your anger at missing out on a cup final ticket. I'm sure you're a nice guy really!!!
22-04-2012, 07:53 PM
I'm guessing that our dear HK is perhaps a dual national (I could quite easily "contradict" myself in 2 posts, as I describe myself as both Scottish and American owing to dual national status), but still, his anti-Scottish views (see any thread slamming the Tory party for reference) really are becoming tiresome.
22-04-2012, 10:32 PM
Not you. The OP. Feel free to apologise next time you post.
22-04-2012, 11:07 PM
Oh dear! you just need one more for the hat trick!
22-04-2012, 11:13 PM
Oh dear! you just need one more for the hat trick!
I wish I'd read the rest of the thread before making that last post, you've really made a James Hunt of yourself on this thread HK.
Classic Vault anyone?
22-04-2012, 11:15 PM
Just this one? Trumpet of the highest order who is joining a couple of others on the ignore list.
23-04-2012, 08:43 AM
Maybe an apology is in order?
Not just for completely and utterly getting the wrong end of the stick but also for your general manner on this thread and xenophobic comments about Scots.
No? Thought not.
Twa Cairpets
23-04-2012, 09:03 AM
Various other pices of utter nonsense posted by HKhibby
Having read your posts, could I suggest some points that may help in future?
1) Develop an appreciation for punctuation other than the exclamation mark
2) Actually read posts both for content and context before attacking your keyboard to send off your next pitifully mis-informed and ranting nonsense.
3) Think about avoiding blatantly contradictory statements in your posts. It will avoid you looking like an idiot, a liar, a trumpet or all three.
Happy to help.
HibeeEmma
23-04-2012, 11:11 AM
What is your view?
Hating doesnt get you anywhere apart from being bitter and jealous. A bit of competitive rivarly is good but the English laugh at the Scots and their abrupt attitute towards them.
23-04-2012, 12:07 PM
I think HKhibby is one of my favourite posters on .net, most of his posts (on pretty much all topics) seem to be similar to the drunken rage of an old man in a pub who overhears three or four words in a conversation at another table then starts screaming at them. Brilliant.
23-04-2012, 12:43 PM
Analogically speaking, the last post is perfection.
23-04-2012, 04:58 PM
Wow !
This thread is up there , HK Hibby take a deep breath, look back at every post and most of all the opening post, or is this a massive fail by every other poster and you have us hooked ? , whatever it is , its comedy gold.
Think we have established that this thread isnt really going anywhere other than in the direction of HKhibby.
Time to close it to save him any further embarrasment