View Full Version : 3 year old Grandson, Should he go or not???

21-04-2012, 07:14 AM
I'm in a bit of a quandry.

My 3 year old Grandson is entitled to go to the Final, has been to Easter road twice this year, and has a season for next year.

Should I take him to the Final?

21-04-2012, 07:17 AM

Hal Jordan
21-04-2012, 07:21 AM
Well, with modern medicine and advances in technology his chances of living for another 107 years are fairly good so maybe he should pass the honour on to one of us old codgers...:wink:

Titch
21-04-2012, 07:25 AM
Yes he should go GGTTH

21-04-2012, 07:39 AM

My 3 year old Grandson is entitled to go to the Final, has been to Easter road twice this year, and has a season for next year.

Depends on what he has been like at the two games ,did he enjoy or was he bored , if its the latter dont take him as the final is a long day for a 3 year old .

21-04-2012, 07:43 AM
Personally I wouldnt. Theres a good chance he'll get bored, want to wander around for the 90 mins and you'll be escorting him to and from the toilets. From personal experience 5 is a good age to start 'em.

On the other hand, psychologists now believe infant memory can start a lot earlier than previously thought, so he might remember the greatest game in our history :greengrin

21-04-2012, 07:44 AM
give his ticket to someone that will remember the day...its not a day for wee kids....im bumping my 6 and 11 year olds even though they were at the semi's.

N.Wales Hibby
21-04-2012, 07:47 AM

I would never dream of taking a 3 year old to a match like this. He is a baby. Enjoy your day without having to worry if he is ok.

Reaper
21-04-2012, 07:51 AM
I think giving the ticket to a 3 year old who will not remember the game years from now is nonsense, give it to a real Hibs supporter :greengrin (Joking mate)

Personally I wouldn't, just going on what my 3 year old niece is like (can't concentrate for more than 15 mins) and a concern of mine is those B******s may turn the atmosphere very poisonous as it has been in the last few Derby's, maybe not great for a 3 year old. However, he's your Grandson and will you want him to be there when Hibs do the unthinkable and lift the Scottish cup, cos for you as for the rest of us it will be a very Poignant and emotional moment and he'll always be able to say he was there when Hibs lifted the SC.

I say ask the laddie himself, explain the scramble for tickets, adults who miss out etc etc, he may not understand OR he may surprise you with a very considered and sensible answer!

jonny
21-04-2012, 07:53 AM
I have a 4 year old, who to be fair is not as wild as a lot of other kids his age. I wouldnt even consider taking him to a game of this magnitude. Undoubtedly he will become bored and restless. You'll end up spending the entire 2nd half telling him off or trying to keep him amused and it will spoil your own experience of the day.

21-04-2012, 08:09 AM
My 5 year old nephew wants to go too but I've said i won't take him, no matter what everyone says about showing the weegies how its done etc, i can see a really poisonous atmosphere and carnage at this game for some reason

21-04-2012, 08:13 AM
I think too young. Might take the pleasure off your day as you'll need to keep him amused

hibee
21-04-2012, 08:14 AM
I'm 100% taking my two young kids although they're slightly older than 3. It's a once in a lifetime opportunity and they would never forgive me later in life if they had missed us winning it!

While I'm slightly concerned about the atmosphere/trouble possibilities I'm not willing to let these people ruin what I hope will be a fantastic family day out!

21-04-2012, 08:16 AM
I'm not taking my 6 year old, he enjoys ER until someone scores then he hates the noise!

Plus I asked him if he wanted to come to tomorrow's game but he said no so if he can't come then he sure as hell ain't coming to the final!

21-04-2012, 08:21 AM
Depends on what he has been like at the two games ,did he enjoy or was he bored , if its the latter dont take him as the final is a long day for a 3 year old .

He was fine for those two games. He lasted 80 minutes for the first game and all of the second one.

He also loves a party:greengrin

21-04-2012, 08:25 AM

Imagine having 3 generations of the family at what is arguably the biggest game for us in over 100 years...and we win!

Go for it Ronnie

21-04-2012, 08:31 AM
My dad was at the Partick Thistle v Celtic League Cup final in 1971

I was one year old so he didnt take me but I would have liked to have been there so I could have said 'I was there'

If Hibs win he'll thank you in later years especially

21-04-2012, 08:31 AM

Like you, I've a 3 year old Grandson. In my case, I haven't considered taking him to the Final.
I think you know in your heart the right decision to make for you and your Grandson.
Enjoy the final! :flag:

21-04-2012, 08:34 AM
I think three is too young. Especially for a game like this.

21-04-2012, 08:38 AM
Depends.

He might hold it againt you when you want him to wheel you to Hampden in 30 years time :greengrin

We've got a nipper in our group and he aint going. He won't sit through it.

21-04-2012, 08:57 AM
My other half and his dad disagree about whether or not he attended the 7 - 0 game. His dad doesn't remember taking him, but he (my husband) thinks he was there. He was 7 at the time.

I think you should take a gamble, and take someone else to the final / go yourself, and enjoy the day out without worrying about having to entertain him. BUT tell him he was there. Sorted.

Stevo1875
21-04-2012, 09:00 AM
probably best just giving his ticket to me!! ;)

21-04-2012, 09:05 AM
give his ticket to someone that will remember the day...its not a day for wee kids....im bumping my 6 and 11 year olds even though they were at the semi's.

I can understand not taking the 6 year old but it must be agony for the 11 year old. You can't take one with out the other I suppose. The 6 year old will forgive, but the 11 year old might have a harder job letting this one go. I don't envy folk with young kids.

21-04-2012, 09:09 AM
I would say no.

The supporters will be drunk and abusive. If the atmosphere is like Tynie it will be hate filled and no place for a small child.

21-04-2012, 09:20 AM

Well I certainly wouldn't take him (or would I) but as he's your Grandson I could see why you are in a quandry about having him with you at such a massive game in the history of Hibernian. Especially as he gets older and the pleasure of you recalling the joys and memories of the day when he was at the game with you. My head would tell me no way but if in a similar situation my heart may just over rule!

21-04-2012, 09:22 AM
I would say no.

The supporters will be drunk and abusive. If the atmosphere is like Tynie it will be hate filled and no place for a small child.

The Tynie atmosphere is down to the crowd proportions, with a 50/50 split there will be much more of a party atmosphere surely.

21-04-2012, 09:31 AM
He won't remember a thing about it. Better to take someone who will.

21-04-2012, 09:51 AM
I wouldn't take small children to this game, much as it might seem a good idea. Kilmaornock in '07 was different - this is a derby and like it or not, there's always the prospect of trouble at a derby. And it's not like the stadium or the surrounding streets will be familiar. A bairn who's at school, used to being out and about is different.

First game I took my son to, he was ten the day after. He'd have been earlier, probably, but we were living in the Western Isles as he grew up and the opportunity never arose.

But I wouldn't take a toddler to Hampden - if you're being responsible (and I know you would be) your attention will be on the wee one the whole time and you won't be able to really enjoy the game.

I'm taking my son to the game and we're having second thoughts.

He reckons he won't be able to enjoy the match for making sure I don't wander off and get in trouble with the polis.

21-04-2012, 10:12 AM
Your call mate and nobody should judge you whatever decision you make.

For my part I have a kids ST for my niece for next year. She is 8 but because she is new to the fitba she just wouldnt appreciate the magnitude of what she would be watching. Because of that I intend to give her ticket to one of the growing number of mates I have looking for tickets.

My personal opinion is that anybody who has watched the Hibs over the last few decades will have suffered their full share of pain ( and a few good bits too ) and for me takes priority in this one.

Having said that, anybody without a ticket should hang about outside Hampden on the day. I have a horrible feeling that when I get to the turnstyle I will be such a bag of nerves I wont be able to go in and will give my ticket away. :confused:

21-04-2012, 10:16 AM
The Tynie atmosphere is down to the crowd proportions, with a 50/50 split there will be much more of a party atmosphere surely.

You think so ?

I think more drunking bams from both sets of fans.

21-04-2012, 10:21 AM

Give the ticket to someone who will remember the occasion and appreciate your gesture. Your 3 year old has plenty time to see Hibs lift the Scottish Cup were as I haven't. Just let me know how much and where to pick up said ticket.

21-04-2012, 10:34 AM
There will be die hards out there that would kill for that ticket. I doubt a 3 year old will appreciate it.

21-04-2012, 10:37 AM

Remember as an 11 year old having to do some persuading indeed to get to the 1991 Skol Cup Final - would encourage your 11 year old to do likewise ;-)

21-04-2012, 10:57 AM
Theres a 'family section' in the East Stand, im not sure how practically different it is from the rest of the East stand but its an option if you want a less aggressive atmosphere for the wee one.

21-04-2012, 10:59 AM
Remember as an 11 year old having to do some persuading indeed to get to the 1991 Skol Cup Final - would encourage your 11 year old to do likewise ;-)

I wanted to go with my dad to the Barcelona game in 1961. I was 11, but they decided that I was too young, and it was a school night, and it would be night-time and therefore dark, yadda, yadda, yadda ...

Things like that can cause harm to a young boy.

21-04-2012, 11:06 AM

That's a brave decision mate particularly for your eleven year old. I couldn't imagine telling my son when he was 11 and a ST holder that I wasn't taking him to the SC final! Totally agree however that it's up to each parent to decide what is right for their own kids, if you're calling it that way then it's the right decision.

HibeeDaz6270
21-04-2012, 11:21 AM
Yes you should take him if you can

MichelleHibs
21-04-2012, 02:18 PM
Ive got a thread on pm board about this. Id love to take my 3 kids who are 4, 2 and 1 with me. Yes i feel they are too young but will we ever win the cup again in their lifetime? Ticket situation and fact their dad is a jambo kind of taken it out my hands. Just have to make do with taking them to easter road after for the party!

HibeeSince85
21-04-2012, 02:25 PM
3 is pretty young for a final, they're still a toddler, I can understand 11y/o and up as they know what it's about.

Each to their own though.

21-04-2012, 03:00 PM
give his ticket to someone that will remember the day...its not a day for wee kids....im bumping my 6 and 11 year old s even though they were at the semi's.

Surely not!
11 year olds know when they are Hibbies......He could hate you forever for this.
I think it's a case for Social Services.

itchy07
21-04-2012, 03:00 PM
i'd say don't take the wee fella. Just make sure he's inside ER for the party.

Loopz
21-04-2012, 03:24 PM
My sons have had season tickets since they were 4. They are 6 & 11 now and both will be at the final. My eldest son was at the 2007 final when he was 5 and loved it. Only you will know how he will cope with the day, but if you think he can then what an occasion it would be for you both to spend together when we win.

wearethehibs
21-04-2012, 05:53 PM
3 is far to young for a game like this. I think in general kids under 8 shouldnt go to football. They wont remember it and youll be to conserned about them to enjoy your day

21-04-2012, 06:18 PM
Ive got a thread on pm board about this. Id love to take my 3 kids who are 4, 2 and 1 with me. Yes i feel they are too young but will we ever win the cup again in their lifetime? Ticket situation and fact their dad is a jambo kind of taken it out my hands. Just have to make do with taking them to easter road after for the party!

Cannae believe you are even considering it to be honest.

21-04-2012, 06:26 PM
Naah. Too young. I took my laddie to the Geebsie Derby when he was 6 and he canny remember a thing!

Sunny1875
21-04-2012, 06:55 PM
Naah. Too young. I took my laddie to the Geebsie Derby when he was 6 and he canny remember a thing!

I'm 46 was at that game and canny remember a thing but TBF I did probably have a few Shandies that night

21-04-2012, 06:56 PM
I'm 46 was at that game and canny remember a thing but TBF I did probably have a few Shandies that night

21-04-2012, 07:27 PM
Surely not!
11 year olds know when they are Hibbies......He could hate you forever for this.
I think it's a case for Social Services.

i understand your disbelief buts my 11 year old is a 'she' and i usually have to drag her to games so she can keep her 6 year old brother company...as i said, i took them both to the semi but they're not demanding to go to the final...if anything they're relieved to be missing out as there was a drunk, chavvie women behind us at the semi who scared them with her vile, abusive tongue for the entire match...

KingFranck
21-04-2012, 07:38 PM
I took my boy to his first Hibs game back in 2007 at Hampden he was 4 and of course we won the CIS cup. He was there last week he's now 9 and hasn't witnessed a defeat at Hampden so he's our lucky omen!

My advice is take the wee man he might never see us win the Cup again.

Oh and yes the lucky omen is getting a final ticket.

MichelleHibs
21-04-2012, 08:00 PM
Cannae believe you are even considering it to be honest.

Why not? Seen kids a lot younger at games. If it wasnt for my hubby being a jambo id have had them at easter road long before now. Had them at mcdiarmid park for a game recently (hometown team and 5 of us got gggn for £20.) Expected to have to leave before end but lasted to the end AND they were better behaved than older kids around us.

Dont think there should be a right or wrong age, it is down to the individual child and parents know best.

21-04-2012, 08:48 PM
Why not? Seen kids a lot younger at games. If it wasnt for my hubby being a jambo id have had them at easter road long before now. Had them at mcdiarmid park for a game recently (hometown team and 5 of us got gggn for £20.) Expected to have to leave before end but lasted to the end AND they were better behaved than older kids around us.

Dont think there should be a right or wrong age, it is down to the individual child and parents know best.

It was you that said in your original post that you feel they are too young.

MichelleHibs
21-04-2012, 09:12 PM
Yip and you said why was i even considering it? Also covered that in my original post?

j'adore hibs
21-04-2012, 10:17 PM
I'm taking both mine 8 and 4, season ticket holder and hibs kid
East family stand will be full of kids as was semi

21-04-2012, 11:11 PM
Yip and you said why was i even considering it? Also covered that in my original post?

I never asked you why you were considering it, as you say, you had already mentioned your reason, I said I couldnae believe you were considering it.

Gala Foxes
21-04-2012, 11:17 PM
I can understand the "moment in history" bit but bairns just moan & fidget
3 is far too young

21-04-2012, 11:20 PM
I can understand the "moment in history" bit but bairns just moan & fidget
3 is far too young

Probably end up sleeping most of the game as well.

22-04-2012, 09:24 AM
So I guess I better not take my 11 month son with me then?? :greengrin

I was 11 when I attended the 91 final. I have never forgotten that wonderful day and night.

22-04-2012, 10:33 AM
I was at 1991 skol cup final when I was 5 canny remember nowt, nuhin , not a thing. I think you should give ticket to older child or adult.

16-05-2012, 08:06 PM
Thanks for all the responses guys and gals. HE'S GOING:aok:

It's taken a long while to determine whether the wee man should go or not. 33 of us on the bus so he'll be well looked after. Uncles, Aunties and Friends.

The decision has only been made this week as the build up to the final reaches it's peak, and he's wanted his Hibs strip on every day after nursery. Home strip then the away one, and playing footie oot the back garden. His bedroom window is decked out in a flag for all passers by to see:aok:

If he's ready for it then so am I.

Titch
16-05-2012, 08:14 PM
There will be die hards out there that would kill for that ticket. I doubt a 3 year old will appreciate it.

Die hards will have a season ticket so no need to kill for a final ticket:na na:

HibsMax
16-05-2012, 08:50 PM
I haven't read a single thread on this post but the answer is obviously yes. Will he remember it? Probably not but in 2112 he might be the only living person to have seen Hibs lift the Scottish Cup. Get him there! He's our hope and the next generation.

Get him a onesie that says, "I WAS THERE, YA BASS!" (a little old for a onesie, maybe).