View Full Version : BBC : Tell us your favourite radio football commentary moment - nominate Ivan Sproule

NGH
16-04-2012, 12:27 PM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/17705832

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t1mhYVE9Cvk

It deserves to be there.

16-04-2012, 12:33 PM
dont know if it counts but this gets my vote:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M_RJRLiqiJ4&feature=related

pentlando
16-04-2012, 12:44 PM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/17705832

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t1mhYVE9Cvk

It deserves to be there.

That's the suckerpunch, and that's the knockout for the champions! :top marks

16-04-2012, 12:52 PM
Dobbie:

(HANDBALL!) Well Theres a shout for a handball, and scooooooores

16-04-2012, 04:25 PM
England v. Romania in the World Cup in 1998. They'd gone behind to a goal by Moldovan just after half-time. Time's running out when Michael Owen scores the equaliser 7 minutes from time.

Cometh the hour, cometh the man. Enter Kevin Keegan.

Quote: "Well, there's only one team going to win it now..." - meaning Engerlund.

Final score? 2-1 to Romania. Thank you Mr Petrescu. :devil:

Or David Coleman announcing that Sralframsy "is taking Charlton off to keep him fresh for the semi-final" about 20 minutes from the end of the quarter-final against West Germany in Leon in 1970. On that occasion, thank you herr Beckenbauer, Herr Seeler, and Herr Muller.

Or even Barry Davies spluttering in rigteous indignation after Maradona's first goal in the quarters in Mexico in 1986.

16-04-2012, 04:39 PM
I nominate all the radio comments from Hearts fans that we'll no doubt hear over the next 5 weeks.

17-04-2012, 06:52 PM
The best was Jimmy Glass goal for Carlisle to keep them in the league. The local radio guy went totally radge.

17-04-2012, 07:14 PM
There was one when McFadden scored in France for Scotland; amazing commentry :hilarious :thumbsup:

17-04-2012, 07:19 PM
There was one when McFadden scored in France for Scotland; amazing commentry :hilarious :thumbsup:

That was radio clyde Fraz :na na:

17-04-2012, 07:26 PM
I remember standing on the east during a Hibs v Dundee Utd game listening to a game from Dens Park between Dundee and Hearts a wee guy called Kidd scored both goals in a 2 0 home win, the significance of which escapes me, although it led to great merriment round about me!

17-04-2012, 07:31 PM
That was radio clyde Fraz :na na:

It was a radio station, it'll do. :greengrin

hibbybrian
17-04-2012, 07:35 PM
Drybrough cup final - Hibs were leading 3-0 then Celtc pulled it back to 3-3

cue Archie McPherson - ïf Celtic go on to win this it will be one of the greatest comebacks öf all time

cue goals by Jimmy and Arthur :thumbsup:

17-04-2012, 07:38 PM
Without a doubt it was Sandy Clark revealing his pornstar name - was greetin with laughter.

17-04-2012, 07:47 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hoOgNbYFNM4

Greendub
17-04-2012, 07:54 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hoOgNbYFNM4

Cheers, I had forgotten about him and that lol

17-04-2012, 08:04 PM
I remember standing on the east during a Hibs v Dundee Utd game listening to a game from Dens Park between Dundee and Hearts a wee guy called Kidd scored both goals in a 2 0 home win, the significance of which escapes me, although it led to great merriment round about me!

Why what happened? Wasn't that the year they won the league and cup double? They were in tears of joy as I remember corectly? :greengrin

17-04-2012, 08:16 PM
Why what happened? Wasn't that the year they won the league and cup double? They were in tears of joy as I remember corectly? :greengrin

Was this the one where a huge team that played at a £51m megasuperhotelstadium won the Champions League, or the other one that ended the OF stranglehold on Scottish football forever :confused: othewise I haven't a clue. The simple looking one with the hat certainly seemed to be enjoying himself though.

17-04-2012, 08:19 PM

I believe it was a warm up game for the following weeks Cup Final, it certainly had the desired effect, the other Mr Kidd enjoyed that day as much as his namesake did 07 days previously!

bob12345
17-04-2012, 08:52 PM
That's the suckerpunch, and that's the knockout for the champions! :top marks

I almost forgot how good a player Scott Brown used to be. When does he ever play like that nowadays, driving at defences and creating goals?

down the slope
17-04-2012, 09:38 PM
When wee fat joe scored the winner in the last minute at ibrox and David Francey nearly spewed when he announced harper has scored, he could not hide the horror in his voice.