View Full Version : So who's travelling back for the final, and from where?

StokePogesHibs
16-04-2012, 12:38 AM
Flight just booked from Arkansas to Edinburgh.....now for the ticket!
:party::pfgwa

16-04-2012, 12:44 AM

Great effort! :thumbsup:

Hongkong Phooey
16-04-2012, 03:39 AM
I'll kick this off:

Hongkong Phooey, Hong Kong, 5,916 miles.

http://www.mapcrow.info/Distance_between_Edinburgh_UK_and_Hong_Kong_HK.htm l

WellingtonHibby
16-04-2012, 04:07 AM
Flights and work permitting, Melbourne, 16984km.

norwayhibs
16-04-2012, 04:51 AM
Round trip of 1000 miles. Flights booked:thumbsup:

SaudiHibby
16-04-2012, 05:17 AM
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia via Watford to pick up two grandkids.

scott7_0(Prague)
16-04-2012, 05:48 AM
Prague - 834miles

drumatic44
16-04-2012, 05:51 AM
I'll be back from west/central France if I can get the flights to work and the bro' can get me a ticket.
allez les verts !!!!

Graham Law
16-04-2012, 06:15 AM
Newcastle, NSW, Australia 34000 kilometres return journey and I would walk it if I had to GGTTH :flag:

norhfc
16-04-2012, 06:16 AM
Flight booked after quarters,only a 1hr 10m trip over the north sea for me.
Problem as usual is getting my hands on a ticket.About to call on long
forgotten favours back home :agree:

Manxhibs
16-04-2012, 06:18 AM
I'll be coming up from the Isle of Man. My dad is contemplating flying in from Vancouver for the game.

16-04-2012, 06:20 AM
I'll be driving from Halifax, does this count? :-)

16-04-2012, 06:25 AM
Oxford-London Euston-Glasgow Central. About a 900 mile round trip, but that's nothing compared to some.

16-04-2012, 06:28 AM
Me, my Dad and my Brother flying from Bristol. Thank god for those memberships we took out back in December.

scott7_0(Prague)
16-04-2012, 06:30 AM
I'll be driving from Halifax, does this count? :-)
Only counts if it is Halifax, Nova Scotia :-)

16-04-2012, 06:36 AM
Wow some long, expensive journeys. Well done to all! :thumbsup:

18Craig75
16-04-2012, 07:00 AM
Flights booked from Western Australia...26,248 mile round trip from Broome, Via Perth! Wouldnt miss it for the world!

francobaresi
16-04-2012, 07:16 AM
My cousin has booked his weekend coming from Johannesburg, South Africa....

fit o' the walk
16-04-2012, 07:21 AM
Leaving the sunshine on the Costa Blanca to come to the "SUNSHINE ON LEITH" :flag::flag::flag:

16-04-2012, 07:23 AM
How much roughly are flights from Australia, Canada etc?

Great effort!

16-04-2012, 07:24 AM
Fantastic guys, keep it coming. I'm sure with all the effort and costs you are putting in you'll get tickets, and even more importantly a win

N.Wales Hibby
16-04-2012, 07:26 AM
From Cyprus. Meet up with my laddie in Chester and take the train to Glasgow..:flag:

16-04-2012, 07:44 AM
I'll be driving from Halifax, does this count? :-)No. :wink:

Auckland Hibs
16-04-2012, 07:46 AM
36,000 return trip from Auckland, not confirmed yet though - still awaiting confirmation if I can get the time off work.......

16-04-2012, 07:48 AM
No. :wink:

I'll be staying in Edinburgh so if your going by bus book me on it, if train I'll be there :-)

16-04-2012, 07:49 AM
I'll be staying in Edinburgh so if your going by bus book me on it, if train I'll be there :-)Think it will be train again mate :agree:

16-04-2012, 07:50 AM
Think it will be train again mate :agree:

Nice one if your down next Sunday we will discuss it.

SaudiHibby
16-04-2012, 08:16 AM
Paddy Fenlon is about to find out what this club is really all about, we may be far away but, boy, are we passionate about our club.

HibeeEmma
16-04-2012, 08:23 AM

Reading

RamblingJack
16-04-2012, 08:33 AM
Leaving the sunshine on the Costa Blanca to come to the "SUNSHINE ON LEITH" :flag::flag::flag:

Where abouts on the Costa Blanca???

16-04-2012, 08:51 AM
Just burst into tears reading this thread. This is what being a Hibby is all about. I hope you all get tickets for the match, you all deserve it with all the money and travelling you will be doing.

:hibees:pfgwa:flag:

Just_Jimmy
16-04-2012, 08:57 AM
Hats off to every one of you.

16-04-2012, 08:58 AM
another +1 from Prague.......

wish the final was this weekend.... nae bloody sleep from now !

16-04-2012, 09:17 AM
Younger brother booked flights yesterday from Kentucky, USA for the final.

scott7_0(Prague)
16-04-2012, 09:25 AM
another +1 from Prague.......

wish the final was this weekend.... nae bloody sleep from now !

Just drink yourself to sleep for 33nights... thats what i am gonna do.

Don Giovanni
16-04-2012, 09:48 AM
Venice, Italy. It's gonna be a hellova tight turn-around to make kickoff!

OxoHibby
16-04-2012, 09:51 AM
Oxford-London Euston-Glasgow Central. About a 900 mile round trip, but that's nothing compared to some.

Will be something similar or Oxford - London - Edinburgh (For pre match atmosphere) - Glasgow - Edinburgh (To join in the celebrations)

manx hibee
16-04-2012, 09:55 AM
I'll be coming up from the Isle of Man. My dad is contemplating flying in from Vancouver for the game.

I'll be coming up from the Isle of Man.plus 5 more on the friday flight GGTTH :pfgwa:giruy::partyhibb

Renfrew_Hibby
16-04-2012, 10:04 AM
Fair play to all the guys comming from the four corners. I can see them having to show this one on big screens at ER and Tynie due to all the home commers.
I almost feel ashamed at only comming from Renfrew. Just a quick 10 minute drive through Glasgows south side and then a short walk to Hampden from Queens Park. Though for atmostphere getting the train From Paisley into Central station and onward to Kings Park/Mount Florida might be my prefered option.

fit o' the walk
16-04-2012, 10:10 AM
Where abouts on the Costa Blanca???Near Altea.:flag:

16-04-2012, 10:18 AM
Will be something similar or Oxford - London - Edinburgh (For pre match atmosphere) - Glasgow - Edinburgh (To join in the celebrations)

Will be travelling from Edinburgh on the way back down - probably as late as possible on the Sunday as I've eff all holiday days left.

I'm aware this is massively tempting fate, but if - and only if - we win, I assume the parade on the Sunday will be around 3pm ish?

16-04-2012, 10:18 AM
Any of you London/Midland types travelling on the 06:05 from Euston on the Saturday morning? Sure a few of us Lancs Hibs will be getting that service (already booked two of us to get on at Wigan).

16-04-2012, 10:25 AM
I'm coming up from Southern England to the game, Problem I have is I join a new ship on Sunday. As we will win, not sure if I'm going to make my date to join the ship so this will mean after 20 years clean record i'll be officially AWOL. Which means possibly a reduction in rank and a 28 day (minimum) Holiday in Colchester Military Prison. All I ask is the players put in 100% effort and the 28 days will sail by. GGTTH

16-04-2012, 10:42 AM
Any of you London/Midland types travelling on the 06:05 from Euston on the Saturday morning? Sure a few of us Lancs Hibs will be getting that service (already booked two of us to get on at Wigan).

Was more thinking of the 07.30 Euston train, but if a) the KO time changes - which is f******* well shouldn't but might - and b) there's more of a Hibs presence on the 06.05 one, I might get the old red eye 06.05 service.

SouthEnglandHib
16-04-2012, 10:44 AM
Be leaving Stevenage about 8, into London, leaving london 11pm on the coach and arrive at 8am in Glasgow.

Anyone else on coaches from London Victoria station?

16-04-2012, 10:45 AM
Will be travelling from Edinburgh on the way back down - probably as late as possible on the Sunday as I've eff all holiday days left.

I'm aware this is massively tempting fate, but if - and only if - we win, I assume the parade on the Sunday will be around 3pm ish?

Would certainly be on the Sunday would imagine earlier than 3pm though maybe more like 1pm. Of course you could always go to that whoever wins. :greengrin

16-04-2012, 11:06 AM
Would certainly be on the Sunday would imagine earlier than 3pm though maybe more like 1pm. Of course you could always go to that whoever wins. :greengrin

Errrrr, think I'll pass on your kind offer!!!. So the 6pm choo choo back down the road would not mean me rushing away and missing any part of the main parade - good, my travel arrangements will be sorted out instanter.

16-04-2012, 11:46 AM
Was more thinking of the 07.30 Euston train, but if a) the KO time changes - which is f******* well shouldn't but might - and b) there's more of a Hibs presence on the 06.05 one, I might get the old red eye 06.05 service.
Kick off time won't change. Was maybe 30+ Hibs fans on Saturday on that train on Saturday although obviously that may change with people going for the weekend etc for the final.

SouthEnglandHib
16-04-2012, 11:49 AM
I'm guessing no one getting the coach then, may be I'm just cheap!

Stanton
16-04-2012, 12:38 PM
Fair play to all the guys comming from the four corners. I can see them having to show this one on big screens at ER and Tynie due to all the home commers.
I almost feel ashamed at only comming from Renfrew. Just a quick 10 minute drive through Glasgows south side and then a short walk to Hampden from Queens Park. Though for atmostphere getting the train From Paisley into Central station and onward to Kings Park/Mount Florida might be my prefered option.

Flying in from Boston USA to London to Edinburgh :flag:

Just thought what will the trains through to Glasgow be like on morning of Final ....will the police make any efforts to seperate fans travelling through as it does have a recipe for trouble otherwise??

Also when reaching Glasgow ...the norm is train to Mount Florida ( but that being the traditional Huns end ...it will be awash with ****bos ) .....train to Kings Park for our end ...though I think it is a bit of a longer walk to stadium than Mount Florida :cb

16-04-2012, 12:41 PM
Me plus two from deepest Surrey, not sure whether to drive or get the plane yet, but have booked the Friday and the entire week afterwards off work.

16-04-2012, 12:43 PM
If I can get a ticket or two then no stopping me. One ticket for moi and the other ticket for my glory hunting brother who only attends finals. :agree:

Travelling from Edinburgh. Maybe get myself one of those panda suits for the occasion.

persevere1875
16-04-2012, 12:49 PM

Lancs Hibby, do you know if that train come through Birmingham New St, I was going to fly up bvut this would be a hell of a shout if we could get a load of Hibbys together for train up ? assuming someone in my family pulls one out the bag and gets me a ticket, again ...

16-04-2012, 12:52 PM
Lancs Hibby, do you know if that train come through Birmingham New St, I was going to fly up bvut this would be a hell of a shout if we could get a load of Hibbys together for train up ? assuming someone in my family pulls one out the bag and gets me a ticket, again ...
Unfortunately not - don't know if any of these are accessible for you though?

06:05 London Euston [EUS] Glasgow Central [GLC] 11:03 4h 58m

Calling points Arrives Departs
Watford Junction [WFJ] 06:20
Milton Keynes Central [MKC] 06:39 06:41
Rugby [RUG] 07:02 07:03
Stafford [STA] 07:33 07:34
Crewe [CRE] 07:53 07:55
Warrington Bank Quay [WBQ] 08:11 08:12
Wigan North Western [WGN] 08:22 08:23
Preston (Lancs) [PRE] 08:36 08:37
Lancaster [LAN] 08:52 08:52
Oxenholme Lake District [OXN] 09:05 09:06
Penrith (North Lakes) [PNR] 09:31 09:32
Carlisle [CAR] 09:47 09:48

persevere1875
16-04-2012, 12:59 PM
Unfortunately not - don't know if any of these are accessible for you though?

06:05 London Euston [EUS] Glasgow Central [GLC] 11:03 4h 58m

Calling points Arrives Departs
Watford Junction [WFJ] 06:20
Milton Keynes Central [MKC] 06:39 06:41
Rugby [RUG] 07:02 07:03
Stafford [STA] 07:33 07:34
Crewe [CRE] 07:53 07:55
Warrington Bank Quay [WBQ] 08:11 08:12
Wigan North Western [WGN] 08:22 08:23
Preston (Lancs) [PRE] 08:36 08:37
Lancaster [LAN] 08:52 08:52
Oxenholme Lake District [OXN] 09:05 09:06
Penrith (North Lakes) [PNR] 09:31 09:32
Carlisle [CAR] 09:47 09:48

If I get a Cheltenham to New st train, there's bound to be a conncetion from brum to one of these before Lancaster at least, would have thought Stafford or Preston would have been the most likely, will be looking into it just keeping the fingers crossed for the ticket now.

Hongkong Phooey
16-04-2012, 01:53 PM
A humbling list so far folks. Please ignore the generalisations (e.g. everywhere in england is 400 miles from hampden) and marvel at the love that Hibbies have for this club. :agree:

So far, 170k and counting....keep em coming!

Place

Count

Round trip

Arkansas

Hong kong

Australia

Norway

Saudi Arabia

Czech Republic

France

Isle of Man

Engerlund (average)

South Africa

Cyprus

New Zealand

Spain

USA (kentucky)

Italy

USA (Boston)

stu in nottingham
16-04-2012, 01:58 PM
Fantastic stuff from people on here..

Just a mere 560m round trip for me from Nottingham.

HibeesLA
16-04-2012, 02:00 PM
Los Angeles to Newark to Edinburgh. About 11,000 miles (round trip) I think and flight looks to be around $1,400 at the moment. Will fly in Friday morning and leave Monday lunchtime.

Any plans for a get together?

bubblesmorrison
16-04-2012, 02:02 PM
new york home for two and a half day and back thats if work let me off :greengrin only been here for 4 weeks lol

London Hibs FC
16-04-2012, 02:19 PM
Just burst into tears reading this thread. This is what being a Hibby is all about. I hope you all get tickets for the match, you all deserve it with all the money and travelling you will be doing.

:hibees:pfgwa:flag:

Glad I'm not the only one, my emotions are definitely getting the better of me as I start bubbling at the drop of a green and white hat right now. Tears after the first goal, greetin' my eyes out at the second which carried on right through the final whistle then away again yesterday when Dad texted me to tell me it was an all Edinburgh, German Passport Control actually took me to one side to find out what I was all about .............. Unbelievably a Frankfurt supporter who had been looking out for results due to Pa Kujabi!

Can't wait to be arm in arm with my Dad as, the Legend that he certainly will become, James McPake finally lifts the trophy aloft.

Macaroon
16-04-2012, 02:21 PM
Loanhead - 49.9 Miles :cb:greengrin

16-04-2012, 02:23 PM
My dad is a very skeptical man who says we are not going to win because we fail to ever turn up against hearts and they always seem to raise their game. He says defeat will be unbearable, especially with those smug ****ers on a final day.

Were looking a train tickets now :greengrin. 2 from Essex will be there. :greengrin

Its a chance which can't be missed...

London Hibs FC
16-04-2012, 02:25 PM
From Cyprus. Meet up with my laddie in Chester and take the train to Glasgow..:flag:

The Greatest Game in History was the game on my Dad's Birthday :greengrin

Wee Nutsy's going to give you your best birthday gift ever Pop!

windsorhibby
16-04-2012, 02:28 PM
That´s me and the old man booked. Leaving from windsor, Ontario 3317 miles. Did it for the 2007 final and we will be back again for this one :thumbsup:

RamblingJack
16-04-2012, 02:59 PM
Near Altea.:flag:

Ive just moved from Callosa to Finestrat:thumbsup:

16-04-2012, 03:22 PM
Going from Edinburgh back to fife to get the fife bus through to hampden, 70 miles,...

Hongkong Phooey
16-04-2012, 03:24 PM
This has the possibility of a serious combined distance - dare i say it close to a million miles perhaps. long way to go clearly but only a day in really.

Keep em coming.

:not worth

wick hibby
16-04-2012, 03:56 PM
600 miles

16-04-2012, 03:56 PM
a meagre 660 round trip but I have done it 16 times this season, does that count? 10,560? :wink:

Dr_Regal
16-04-2012, 04:11 PM
Lincoln,NH---->2 hours drive----->Boston MA
Boston, MA----> 6.5 hour flight---->Heathrow
Heathrow--->1 hour flight-----> Aberdeen

Aberdeen----> 3 hour boogie Bus----> Hampden
Then back

This is it boys! Destiny

16-04-2012, 05:03 PM
Southampton to Edinburgh 900 MILE round trip to Edinburgh. Still recovering from the semi on sat got back at 9pm last night. Hail hail

16-04-2012, 05:05 PM
Dublin flight booked :-)

Fergos
16-04-2012, 08:08 PM
Me an am mate that have been going to ER since early 80s doin the same as Saturday....London - Reekie - Hampden - Reekie - for a party.......!

Hibernian Forever.

laois hibby
16-04-2012, 09:37 PM
myself and the young lad flights booked from co laois ireland

Manxhibs
16-04-2012, 10:32 PM
I'll be coming up from the Isle of Man.plus 5 more on the friday flight GGTTH :pfgwa:giruy::partyhibb

Looked at that flight but meeting a couple of mates in Lancaster, so
I'll have to get the boat and train. Canny wait!

Brummie_Hibs
16-04-2012, 11:15 PM
Two of us getting the Friday18:05 Easyjet flight from Gatwick to Edinburgh.

McHibby
17-04-2012, 12:01 AM
I'll be flying up from London. I drove up through the night on Friday (after finishing work at 10pm) to Edinburgh to pick up my sis then through to Glasgow for the match. It was worth it but I folded by 8pm - tiredness plus booze plus emotion. So I'd like to be more with it for the (please, please, please, please, PLEASE) cup winning party :party:

aussie_hibee
17-04-2012, 12:25 AM
Flights getting booked this week. Just under 35,000kms round trip in 7 days at a cost of $2,100.

Any chance of a .net meet up on the Thursday or Friday night. Would be great for us foreigners to meet the locals.

Ottawa Hibs
17-04-2012, 01:10 AM
This has the possibility of a serious combined distance - dare i say it close to a million miles perhaps. long way to go clearly but only a day in really.

Keep em coming.

:not worth
Add another 7,000 mile round trip from Ottawa, Canada. Hoping for better than the 79 final ( all three!). Hail, hail :flag:

StokePogesHibs
17-04-2012, 03:23 AM
4255 Miles to add to the tally...if I come back it's 8510!!

17-04-2012, 05:23 AM
And to think folk were greetin that they are having to travel to the weege from Edinburgh. Top marks laddies and lassies

17-04-2012, 05:25 AM
>>>>>>Within staggering distance of Hampden !

jockodile
17-04-2012, 06:55 AM
it's heckva tempting....
john in sydney

steviemanly
17-04-2012, 07:00 AM
:pfgwa:giruy:

ON R&R FROM AFGHANISTAN ON 26TH APRIL FLY BACK TO THE SANDPIT STRAIGHT AFTER THE FINAL (MAYBE)

TrickyNicky
17-04-2012, 07:06 AM
If I can get 2 tickets, then, from Sydney with mah laddie!

$5500 return.

steviemanly
17-04-2012, 07:10 AM
:pfgwa:giruy:

ON R&R FROM AFGHANISTAN ON 26TH APRIL FLY BACK TO THE SANDPIT STRAIGHT AFTER THE FINAL (MAYBE)

9,800 mile round trip I NEED A TICKET BADLY

Bohemian_Hibee
17-04-2012, 07:48 AM
Flights booked from Dublin to Glasgow, returning from Edinburgh on the Sunday.

Considering also booking a Saturday night Glasgow flight, don't think I could go back to Embra that night if they win.

I've seen Fenlon lift the FAI Cup as a player and a manager with Bohs, so here's to the hat-trick :agree:

Bohemian_Hibee
17-04-2012, 07:55 AM
Flights booked from Dublin to Glasgow, returning from Edinburgh on the Sunday.

Considering also booking a Saturday night Glasgow flight, don't think I could go back to Embra that night if they win.

I've seen Fenlon lift the FAI Cup as a player and a manager with Bohs, so here's to the hat-trick :agree:

Meant to add, wife will be 38 weeks pregnant on day of final so doing well to get a 24 hour pass! :top marks:thumbsup:

yeezus.
17-04-2012, 09:37 AM
Travelling from Stranraer or Aberdeen ... getting nervous already

Ross4356
17-04-2012, 09:59 AM
It would be a great idea nearer the time if some of us locals could sponsor a foreigner (not the right word I know) but what I mean is all these guys coming back from here there and everywhere, we would get out our beds and get down to Easter Rd for the public sale to buy these guys a couple of tickets, meet up before the final and give them the tickets.

My m8 is a season ticket holder and if they get 2 per person I would get his spare 1 and I would defo be up for it, after all we are all family

aussie_hibee
17-04-2012, 10:04 AM
Very generous thought Ross. I'm sure any travelling hibby would show their appreciation by chucking a tenner at Dnipro kids???

17-04-2012, 10:11 AM
Texas Tony has booked up from Dallas. Seeing as he managed to lose his jacket, troosers, socks, shoes and wallet while out on the lash the night before the League Cup final, there's every chance he'll be joining O'Connor down Princes Street.

hibby64
17-04-2012, 10:12 AM
:agree:had booked a week in spain months ago due back 19th,re booked my return for 18th leaving wife and 6 year old to come back on the there own

TrickyNicky
17-04-2012, 10:31 AM
It would be a great idea nearer the time if some of us locals could sponsor a foreigner (not the right word I know) but what I mean is all these guys coming back from here there and everywhere, we would get out our beds and get down to Easter Rd for the public sale to buy these guys a couple of tickets, meet up before the final and give them the tickets.

My m8 is a season ticket holder and if they get 2 per person I would get his spare 1 and I would defo be up for it, after all we are all family

That's a lovely idea mate, one which shows the most wonderful side of a fan of the team I love.

Good on you for being so passionate about the Hibs family!

BTW, such humanity is normally reserved for disaster victims - how desperate are we to win this bloody cup ??:greengrin

17-04-2012, 10:37 AM
I am travelling 1381 miles to watch it in a pub in Sydney!! 2762 mile round trip! :greengrin

TrickyNicky
17-04-2012, 10:46 AM
I am travelling 1381 miles to watch it in a pub in Sydney!! 2762 mile round trip! :greengrin

That's commitment Steve-O and it kicks off at 12:30 am, gaun hame tae watch it would be the soft option !!!:greengrin

17-04-2012, 01:18 PM
It looks like there's plenty travelling further than me but, Munich to Edinburgh on the Friday and back to Munich on the Sunday.

The funny thing is, most people are travelling into Munich that weekend for the CL Final. The fares going in the opposite direction to me but on the same days were three times the price of mine with Easyjet.

-----

2,220 Miles return trip (according to Google Maps) if it was by road. Dunno direct distance.

MoscowHibs
17-04-2012, 01:52 PM
I have tae travel fae Essentuki, Russia tae Moscow, 2hrs 10 mins on a death trap, 1564km, then Moscow tae LHR 4 hours odd, 2499km then shuttle it up fae LHR to Glesga, 553km, which equates tae 2868 miles. Im no returning cos the company are no giving me hols so they will be getting a months notice the morn and I fly back the 18th. Bang goes my cheap cigs n booze. The cabbage mean mair tae me than working abroad.

17-04-2012, 02:00 PM
Incredible commitment, not to mention the expense, by all on this thread. Really hope it's rewarded with an unforgettable win.

Torontohibee
17-04-2012, 02:02 PM
Toronto, Canada

jockodile
17-04-2012, 02:04 PM
I'm now definetely in.

sydney to glasgow return - circa 21,000 miles!

flightwise looks a wee bit cheaper to go via usa than asia, but 34hrs instead of 24.....hmmm. will decide 2mrw

SaudiHibby
17-04-2012, 02:11 PM
Google Maps is hilarious. It's telling me to drive through Saudi upto Iraq, through Syria, Turkey, Bulgaria, Serbia, Croatia etc etc. I would be in some state after doing that journey. If anyone is calculating total miles it's 6,895. A mere walk in the park in comparison to those coming from Oz. Hats off.:pfgwa

CA Hibby
17-04-2012, 03:35 PM
Im leaving my heart in San Francisco (13,000 miles return trip) and jumping on a plane Wednesday night,

This will be the fourth journey to a final 2 losses and one win, heres hoping its tied when i get back on that plane Monday morning...

hibbybrian
17-04-2012, 03:52 PM
Finally confirmed my ticket :thumbsup: so I'll be on my way from Qatar :flag: about 7,000 miles round trip

HibeeEmma
17-04-2012, 04:30 PM
That's a lovely idea mate, one which shows the most wonderful side of a fan of the team I love.Good on you for being so passionate about the Hibs family!BTW, such humanity is normally reserved for disaster victims - how desperate are we to win this bloody cup ??:greengrinPretty fricking desperate - and that's to put it mildly

17-04-2012, 04:47 PM
Pretty fricking desperate - and that's to put it mildly

Just had a thought, not seen your name added to the Overseas Hibbys thread!!!!

connerg
17-04-2012, 05:57 PM
Flights from Perth, Western Australia were bought today. $2600AUS

My cousin lives in Perth, West Australia and he is coming over too.

fit o' the walk
17-04-2012, 06:26 PM
Great to see so many of us Hibbies travelling from all corners of the Earth to come back back home and see,yes SEE us lift the Cup. The amount of miles being travelled and the cost is amazing,the sad thing is many may not get a ticket for the final,while thousands of ar-e lickers who have never seen Hibs in their lives will be treated to free tickets and hospitality. Good luck to all in their quest for a ticket.:flag::flag::flag:

HibeeEmma
17-04-2012, 06:53 PM
Just had a thought, not seen your name added to the Overseas Hibbys thread!!!!

Not there yet, but will be come September. I'll be your state neighbour

magpie1892
17-04-2012, 07:56 PM
Amsterdam.

Does that count?

hibbybrian
17-04-2012, 07:57 PM
Amsterdam.

Does that count?

I expect I'll be travelling via Amsterdam :greengrin

Wing Half
17-04-2012, 08:03 PM

. . . . . . er London.

magpie1892
17-04-2012, 08:06 PM
I expect I'll be travelling via Amsterdam :greengrin

You coming back with KLM?

hibbybrian
17-04-2012, 08:11 PM
You coming back with KLM?

Most likely - only 1 stop over :greengrin

BA stop over in Bahrain then Heathrow, Qatar Airways expensive and stop over in Heathrow and Emirates stop over Dubai then Heathrow so KLM seems the best option :aok:

magpie1892
17-04-2012, 08:16 PM
Most likely - only 1 stop over :greengrin

BA stop over in Bahrain then Heathrow, Qatar Airways expensive and stop over in Heathrow and Emirates stop over Dubai then Heathrow so KLM seems the best option :aok:

Lufthansa is one stop as well (Frankfurt)

...but obviously Schiphol is a lot less hassle than Heathrow.

hibbybrian
17-04-2012, 08:21 PM
Lufthansa is one stop as well (Frankfurt)

...but obviously Schiphol is a lot less hassle than Heathrow.

thought they stopped over in Dammam (Saudi) but 30% more expensive anyway :rolleyes:

Lix
17-04-2012, 08:35 PM
... and another from London:thumbsup:

haagsehibby
17-04-2012, 08:36 PM
Not too far - Amsterdam. But I am in the fortunate position of having tickets. A mate of mine has debentures at Hampden and has ordered the tickets for me.

SauzeeJ'adore4
17-04-2012, 10:32 PM
Melbourne to Edinburgh 60hrs return trip on a plane to see the Hibees but Id have walked if I had to. Had a season ticket all the years I was at home so fingers and everything else crossed I get one.

17-04-2012, 10:54 PM
No wonder attendances at ER are so poor - it's all the 1000s of Hibbys living overseas!

London.

18-04-2012, 12:53 AM
Brazil: 12000 mile round trip. Will have to fly back on the Thursday night - skip work on the Friday, but my boss, a die-hard Arsenal fan who understands the situation, has a plan to cover for me - then back out on Sunday night, arrive back in Brazil at 5am on Monday morning, jump in a taxi and back at work by 8am. M-en-t-a-l!

Am 99.9% going to get the flight...just being a wee bit cautious and waiting for the ticket arrangements first, to see what my chances are of getting one.

Very impressive thread.

ontario hibby
18-04-2012, 12:55 AM
Booked flight 5 mins after final whistle from London Ontario was home for the Motherwell game the week before canny wait :pfgwa

magnificent_seven
18-04-2012, 05:36 AM
Sydney...

10,500 miles and cannot wait :greengrin

aussie_hibee
18-04-2012, 06:03 AM
I now know of 8 people including myself that are flying back from perth.

Sick Boy
18-04-2012, 07:57 AM

:thumbsup: Booked and paid for.:pfgwa:hibees:flag::scarf: Cannae wait. See you at the airport!

18-04-2012, 10:13 AM
Decision made:

Travelling up on the 7.30am train (couldn't face the 5.15am alarm for the 6.05 am departure) from Euston to Central - get in at noon, a few scoops with mates in Glasogow. Watch us win the cup. Job's a good 'un

Sunday: awake with monstrous hangover following winning celebrations, go to see victory parade, few more beers, 6pm train back down the road, more beers on train. Back to Oxford about 1am. Work on Monday morning with a massive grin on my face, but a hangover that could down an elephant.

Total travel costs, including getting to London from Oxford: £90. Worth every penny.
Total distance travelled: About 900 miles. Worth every inch.

18-04-2012, 12:50 PM
The Evening News are looking for stories on things like people travelling back from afar per todays article:

http://www.scotsman.com/edinburgh-evening-news/scottish-cup-could-fill-ibrox-parkhead-and-hampden-1-2240651

david.mccann@edinburghnews.com

Hongkong Phooey
18-04-2012, 12:58 PM
The Evening News are looking for stories on things like people travelling back from afar per todays article:

http://www.scotsman.com/edinburgh-evening-news/scottish-cup-could-fill-ibrox-parkhead-and-hampden-1-2240651

david.mccann@edinburghnews.com

He contacted me by PM on here! Was gonna ask if anyone knew if the guy was genuine or not.

scott7_0(Prague)
18-04-2012, 01:05 PM

Would it not be cheaper getting the bus or train, it is only 45mins after all from Edinburgh.

HibeeEmma
18-04-2012, 03:14 PM
"Meanwhile chip shop owners in Glasgow are stocking up on brown sauce to meet the demand by Edinburgh fans for what has been dubbed “the salt and sauce final”.

18-04-2012, 09:26 PM
Not too far - Amsterdam. But I am in the fortunate position of having tickets. A mate of mine has debentures at Hampden and has ordered the tickets for me.

Don't mention that on the tickets thread or you'll get stoned to death travelling or not!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Stenny
18-04-2012, 09:51 PM
Flights book now.. was back for the semi, so hoping that'l get me a final ticket.

Cany wait for it :pfgwa

Falkirk Hibby
18-04-2012, 10:53 PM
Just a little jaunt up the A428/A1 from Cambridge for me. Come up late friday evening, hopefully coming back very late sunday/Monday morning....700mile round trip. Worked well for the semi! :flag:

Sanger
19-04-2012, 05:10 AM
Season ticket holder working in Mumbai back for final. Hope son get ticket application for final right!

Virginia Hibs
19-04-2012, 02:30 PM
Geneva Hibs and Kirriemuir Harp Hibs SC confirming that the call up has been answered and flights booked! Relatively short distance compared to some but we will be there!

As a footnote Easyjet are not slow to take advantage! £400 for what is normally a £69 flight! Bandits! And the laddie has to pay full price as well. Dunno how hes going to be able fit in sweeping all those lums between now and May! :greengrin

yeezus.
19-04-2012, 04:08 PM
Going from Aberdeen to Perth to Hampden now I think. Just hoping I can get a ticket ... as is everyone else!

19-04-2012, 04:20 PM
In contrast I am about 1 mile from Hampden.

19-04-2012, 04:42 PM
I'm coming up from Southern England to the game, Problem I have is I join a new ship on Sunday. As we will win, not sure if I'm going to make my date to join the ship so this will mean after 20 years clean record i'll be officially AWOL. Which means possibly a reduction in rank and a 28 day (minimum) Holiday in Colchester Military Prison. All I ask is the players put in 100% effort and the 28 days will sail by. GGTTH
what rank are you at the mo? will it mean drop in salary? thats dedication :agree:

19-04-2012, 05:56 PM
wouldnae miss this for the world

yeezus.
19-04-2012, 08:10 PM
I'm not paying certain bills in the hope that I can have enough for a bus doon and the ticket ... that's all I'm worried about at the moment.

hibby84
20-04-2012, 03:29 AM
Cairns - Sydney,
Sydney - Hong Kong,
Hong Kong - London,
London - Edinburgh,

34hours one way and 18,500 mile round trip. Lots of money, but wouldnt miss it for the world.

Only left the UK in February for a year travelling and have no ticket.

But ill be there when Hibs go to lift the Scottish Cup!!!!!:pfgwa

20-04-2012, 05:26 AM
Not so far obviously but it would appear elder son is returning from Coleraine for the final. Noticed Mummy had kindly bought him a ticket on line with my credit card :-). Can't deny him really can I?

JON6207
20-04-2012, 07:25 AM
Just booked my flights,

Melbourne-Sydney-Los Angeles-London-Edinburgh
Edinburgh-London-San Francisco-Los Angeles-Sydney-Melbourne

Total of 26989miles and 68 hours travel time,

Now if any one wants to assist me getting a ticket It would be much appreciated

20-04-2012, 07:49 AM
Just booked my flights,

Melbourne-Sydney-Los Angeles-London-Edinburgh
Edinburgh-London-San Francisco-Los Angeles-Sydney-Melbourne

Total of 26989miles and 68 hours travel time,

Now if any one wants to assist me getting a ticket It would be much appreciated

Whole family coming over? How long for Mr Gentles?

Shetland_Hibby
20-04-2012, 08:03 AM
Flights booked, just need a ticket now!

HibeeMuzz7
20-04-2012, 08:20 AM
Good effort lads! I'm making my way back from Alpha, Queensland (middle of Australia's outback). Catching a flight to Brisbane, have to wait there for two nights, then catch a flight to China, 17 hour wait in Beijing, then onto Amsterdam and finally arriving in Edinburgh at 10pm on the Friday. Praying I can get my hands on a ticket but if not I'm just glad I'll be able to watch the game with fellow Hibees! :flag:

RMG_82
20-04-2012, 08:28 AM
Coming from Western Australia, via Singapore and a cheeky one night stay in Amsterdam (it would be rude not too :) ) Then flight to Edinburgh, staying at my Mums in Livingston and drinking from the Friday night in Easter Road till 3pm at Hampden. C'mon the hibees!!!!

Same as all the other ex pat hibees, concerned we might not get a ticket so considering hospitality priced tickets to be sure. Be horrible to come all that way and not get a ticket for the game. Catch 22!

JON6207
20-04-2012, 08:56 AM
Whole family coming over? How long for Mr Gentles?

No just me, not long just the weekend so better be worth it.:thumbsup:

20-04-2012, 09:06 AM
No just me, not long just the weekend so better be worth it.:thumbsup:

If you need somewhere to stay you're welcome at mines.

Granton Stanton
20-04-2012, 10:28 AM
coming back from 2112. I know the result obviously, wouldnt miss this for anything:wink:.

btw we dont wait another 110 years for the next.

I'll be the one in the shiny silver suit. and an antenna.

nycHIBEE
20-04-2012, 01:48 PM
3 of us here leaving from new york:flag::flag::flag:

Hongkong Phooey
23-04-2012, 06:53 AM
Folks, an update based on the thread. Seriously impressive! :not worth:not worth:not worth

Totals in thousands of miles. Apols for abbreviations - only way to stay within the size limit.

Count

Total (m)

AF

AU

BR

CA

CY

CZ

EN

FR

DE

NL

HK

IN

IM

IE

IT

NZ

NO

Misc

QA

RU

ZA

AE

SC

SP

US

Big90inOz
23-04-2012, 09:01 AM
Stick another one on for Oz, can't wait :greengrin

scott7_0(Prague)
23-04-2012, 09:13 AM
Folks, an update based on the thread. Seriously impressive! :not worth:not worth:not worth

Totals in thousands of miles. Apols for abbreviations - only way to stay within the size limit.

3 in CZ... who might the third one be?

Hongkong Phooey
23-04-2012, 09:35 AM
3 in CZ... who might the third one be?

Looks like some dodgy (ac)counting to me! Will amend next update. :greengrin

scott7_0(Prague)
23-04-2012, 09:47 AM
Looks like some dodgy (ac)counting to me! Will amend next update. :greengrin

Thought you were counting the Jambo that is also booked on Craig and my flight from Prague.... :greengrin

Hongkong Phooey
23-04-2012, 09:55 AM
Thought you were counting the Jambo that is also booked on Craig and my flight from Prague.... :greengrin

That has to be a minus one at the very least. Here's hoping it's a far longer journey for him going back than you boys!

sarfoftheborder
23-04-2012, 10:49 AM
My brother is flying over from Thailand, 12000 miles return. i've got it easy, I'm travelling up from Dorset, 1000 mile return.

MrHibs1982
23-04-2012, 01:18 PM
Currently considering a 6616 miles / 10698km trip from China although it would be one way as I cannot get holidays so would mean having to quit my job...so only travelling if ticket can be procured beforehand!! :flag:

23-04-2012, 01:27 PM
Currently considering a 6616 miles / 10698km trip from China although it would be one way as I cannot get holidays so would mean having to quit my job...so only travelling if ticket can be procured beforehand!! :flag:

:shocked: You could retire happy if Hibs did win it :greengrin

HibeeEmma
23-04-2012, 01:31 PM

Surely that's worth a donation of a 2nd ticket if anyone has one going spare or those who arent taking up their second one.

Hibs 7
23-04-2012, 03:11 PM
Got a ticket :greengrin

Flights booked from Perth, get in Friday, fly out Monday, it's gonna be one hell of a weekend

:party:

WHUHibs
23-04-2012, 04:29 PM
Flying back rom Jordan which is a pain as its costing a fortune! However I feel sorrier for my son who will be in France on a school sports trip which cannot be cancelled!!!:-(

23-04-2012, 05:01 PM
what rank are you at the mo? will it mean drop in salary? thats dedication :agree:CPO (Chief Petty Officer) but not for much longer if I don't join the ship on time and yes a big drop in Salary. However I have pleaded that I will do Summer Duties, Christmas Duties (Stuff the kids they'll have Santa) if I can have Sunday and Monday off. Wife gave me an ultimatium it's me or that F****ing Football team of yours, (now official seperated). She went balistic when I said to her you can ALWAYS GET ANOTHER WIFE,BUT NEVER EVER EVER ANOTHER FOOTBALL TEAM. GGTTH

23-04-2012, 05:05 PM
Some of the distances posters are going to get to the final is simply inspirational. I wish the players could see it. :top marks

If we can get a ticket (dependant on general sale) then we will be driving the 800mile round trip back to the homeland from essex. Too late and expensive to book train or air after the GS date.

WHUHibs
23-04-2012, 05:08 PM

What part in china and what are you doing there?

23-04-2012, 05:18 PM
I should have been flying back from Malawi for this game but given the logistics of doing so (and the reliance I'd have to place on less than reliable airlines) I've shelved the whole trip and now depart the Friday after the Cup Final instead.

Heard today of a Hibby making the trip from Alaska. :thumbsup:

norwayhibs
23-04-2012, 06:47 PM
I know there are 5 other hibbys travelling over from Norway :thumbsup:

KazHibby
23-04-2012, 06:58 PM
Thursday night Kuwait to Edinburgh
via Doha and Manchester
Sunday night back:flag:!

fit o' the walk
23-04-2012, 07:57 PM
Ya beauty,just been told i've got a ticket. Not a long flight from Spain. :flag:

hibbybrian
23-04-2012, 10:12 PM
Ya beauty,just been told i've got a ticket. Not a long flight from Spain. :flag:

Congratulations :thumbsup:

Hopefully we can arrange a get together for the International Supporters Group - keep an eye on the Overseas Board for plans :wink:

24-04-2012, 05:40 AM
I should have been flying back from Malawi for this game but given the logistics of doing so (and the reliance I'd have to place on less than reliable airlines) I've shelved the whole trip and now depart the Friday after the Cup Final instead.

Entirely possible. In the old days of Erin Web we had a guy (Ian rings a bell) who was on every week for the text updates.

gorgie greens
24-04-2012, 07:26 AM
Still no ticket but I'm comming up from the valleys,800 miles round trip,up on fri,home on sun,
will take my chances at Hamden and try and get a ticket,unless some hibs netter feels pity on me and puts me out of my misery and gives me one before that:pfgwa

24-04-2012, 09:46 AM
Brazil: 12000 mile round trip. Will have to fly back on the Thursday night - skip work on the Friday, but my boss, a die-hard Arsenal fan who understands the situation, has a plan to cover for me - then back out on Sunday night, arrive back in Brazil at 5am on Monday morning, jump in a taxi and back at work by 8am. M-en-t-a-l!

Am 99.9% going to get the flight...just being a wee bit cautious and waiting for the ticket arrangements first, to see what my chances are of getting one.

Very impressive thread.

That Sir, is amazing.

I salute you!

pogo
24-04-2012, 01:04 PM
Coming over from Co. Kerry, Eire for the match. Wasn't sure if I'd be able to get over due to work, and flight times, but after watching Irvine Welsh on TV3 breakfast television over here promoting Skagboys, where he spent almost as much time discussing the Final, I'm sold!

24-04-2012, 02:13 PM
Entirely possible. In the old days of Erin Web we had a guy (Ian rings a bell) who was on every week for the text updates.

It is indeed Ian!

24-04-2012, 09:51 PM

That reminds me of one of my early commentary games for what was then Radio Hibs. It was v Morton at Cappielow in the winter months and I mentioned how cold it was. Ian in Alaska said on the old Hibs list "You're cold!!!!"

BTW - on the eve of the 2001 final a whole load of fans from overseas converged on the Persevere for a pint and to talk Hibs. Would be good if something like that could happen again :thumbsup:

Edit: Does my 100 mile round trip to Hampden count? :greengrin

MrHibs1982
25-04-2012, 04:00 AM
Surely that's worth a donation of a 2nd ticket if anyone has one going spare or those who arent taking up their second one.

I think thats about the best idea I have ever heard Emma!! :thumbsup:
What part in china and what are you doing there?

I am in Nanchang, Jiangxi teaching (scots) English!!!:greengrin

andyf5
25-04-2012, 06:14 AM
Congratulations :thumbsup:

Hopefully we can arrange a get together for the International Supporters Group - keep an eye on the Overseas Board for plans :wink:

Where is the "Overseas Board"? I'm interested in finding hibees in France.

hibbybrian
25-04-2012, 07:12 AM
Where is the "Overseas Board"? I'm interested in finding hibees in France.

Unless you're registered on this thread, you won't have access

http://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?232644-International-Hibernian-Supporters-Group-Anyone-interested&p=3189533&highlight=International#post3189533

There are 2 posters from France listed :wink:

hhibs
25-04-2012, 07:07 PM
Two more flying in from Fuerteventura:thumbsup:

Hongkong Phooey
27-04-2012, 04:27 AM
Count
Avg Dist (return)
Total

Afghanistan

Alaska

Australia

Brazil

Canada

Cyprus

Czech

England

France

Germany

Holland

Hong Kong

India

Isle of Man

Ireland

Italy

Jordan

Kuwait

New Zealand

Norway

Misc

Qatar

Russia

South africa

UAE

Scotland

Spain

Thailand

USA

Wales

homielang
27-04-2012, 01:57 PM
If I can get a ticket I'm going to fly in from Toronto.

Jim_in_Canada
27-04-2012, 04:20 PM

My two sons and I have tickets and we'll be there !

3,345 miles x2 x 3 =20,070

Jim

ma6mkd
27-04-2012, 06:11 PM
Another one to add to the list travelling up by train from London.

28-04-2012, 12:22 AM
This thread should be printed off and sent to Pat Fenlon. Absolutely superb effort from some. God I hope it is worth while! :flag::flag:

Torontohibee
28-04-2012, 02:49 AM
If I can get a ticket I'm going to fly in from Toronto.

Where in Toronto? I have recently moved to Whitby

Torontohibee
28-04-2012, 02:56 AM
Booked flight 5 mins after final whistle from London Ontario was home for the Motherwell game the week before canny wait :pfgwa

The amount of us in Ontario is in believable

hibeeleicester
28-04-2012, 03:44 AM
Just a little jaunt up the A428/A1 from Cambridge for me. Come up late friday evening, hopefully coming back very late sunday/Monday morning....700mile round trip. Worked well for the semi! :flag:

Can i catch a hitch hike from Peterborough :wink:

I'll be there!!

Nailrod
28-04-2012, 05:54 AM
coming back from 2112. I know the result obviously, wouldnt miss this for anything:wink:.

btw we dont wait another 110 years for the next.

I'll be the one in the shiny silver suit. and an antenna.

I'll be coming with a couple of mates from Beta Ursa Minoris (110 light years). We only just got the news that Hibs are in the final. C'mon Hibbies! Right intae them soapdodgers!

hongkonghibee
28-04-2012, 09:49 AM
Booked my flight today on Emirates Airways. Hongkong to Glasgow via Dubai!

Colinton Hibby
01-05-2012, 10:47 AM
hi, i'm doing a piece for the national papers on supporters travelling
home for the cup final. i've already got pics and quotes from a couple
of folk on here but really need another couple for it to work out. So if
you know of anyone, or are coming back home for final, send me a pm
and we can hopefully do something. the more exotic, the better. cheers.

01-05-2012, 10:51 AM

What about travelling from NZ to Australia (costing a total of 500 odd quid) just to see the game on a TV? :greengrin

HibsMax
01-05-2012, 01:36 PM
There are a lot of people coming home, I'm one, so hopefully you shouldn't find it too hard finding fans to talk to.

HibsMax
01-05-2012, 01:36 PM
Could be an opportunity to get Hibs World in the limelight. :)

Torontohibee
01-05-2012, 01:43 PM

There is an international section for all those travelling back and sounds like we're all meeting for a pint at the Persevere on the 18th, you should get enough pictures and stories there!

_hucks_
01-05-2012, 01:46 PM
Coming from Liverpool, 221 Miles each way

HibsMax
05-05-2012, 02:51 PM
Apparently this story is going to be in the Sunday Mail (this week or next) so can UK-based Hibees keep an eye out and see if it's worth grabbing a copy? I'll ask my parents to check it out too. I have no clue what Sunday papers they read these days. I don't even know if they read or just drink wine.

HibsMax
06-05-2012, 02:41 PM
Did anyone check for this?

Togs91
06-05-2012, 03:15 PM
Working in plymouth fr three weeks starting today, getting the bus up friday night to arrive sat morning, leaving on sat night to catch the bus to take me back for sunday morning, 500 od miles both ways, but sack walking ;)

HibsMax
09-05-2012, 03:19 AM
Was this in the Sunday Mail? Just wondering what the piece is / was like. I drove around for ages trying to find a suitable place for a photo. Lol.

14-05-2012, 09:15 PM
Just sorted everything out today for my trip back from Thailand.Obviously a wee bit excited by it all as its after 4am and Im still awake.Not that being excited and awake after 4am is an uncommon occurence over here:greengrin