View Full Version : attendance?

ozzie
14-04-2012, 02:18 PM
anybody know the official attendance today?

14-04-2012, 02:19 PM

14-04-2012, 02:21 PM
BBC said 18000 Aberdeen were there. Did they really outnumber us nearly 2/1?

JIm
14-04-2012, 02:28 PM

No

14-04-2012, 02:29 PM
If anything, it looked like there were more Hibs fans there because there were hardly any Aberdeen fans in the south stand.

14-04-2012, 02:29 PM

Utter b*ll*x. Dunno where they got that figure from but it was obvious to everyone watching on TV that wasn't the case. It wasn't Richard Gordon, the Mutton Mollester by any chance?

14-04-2012, 02:40 PM
Correct. Maybe 18000 did travel down but only the men went to the game and the wives spent an afternoon grazing in Glasgow?

14-04-2012, 02:44 PM
Does anyone really care? I am most surprised.

14-04-2012, 03:38 PM
Hibs had more fans with the South side full of Hibs fans. :aok:

We also out sang them the whole game - very quiet Dons support!!

14-04-2012, 03:46 PM
BBC commentator = aberdeen had 17k fans

PF = "We had 14,000-15,000 supporters enjoying themselves. It's fabulous to see. They haven't had loads of days over the last couple of seasons to celebrate."

official Att: 28,278

so c'mon, what's the truth we need to know :I'm waiti

malcolm
14-04-2012, 03:48 PM
Dons fans just showed their stereotype of meanness is deserved :greengrin they bought huge numbers of tickets in the cheap seats behind the goals with the poor view while we had more in the south and less behind the goals. I'd have said it was about equal or potentially slightly more of them than us.

14-04-2012, 03:50 PM
I said at the game that I thought the sheep had marginally more than us.

No way was it 2/1 in their favour.

Even if it was, **** them, we outsang them for 90 minutes even when they scored. We're in the final , they're not!

14-04-2012, 03:56 PM
We had easily more fans than them, double what they had in the BT stand and our sections from behind the goal to halfway were fuller...

Decent turn oot by both sets of fans either way :aok:

Bob Box Fish
14-04-2012, 03:59 PM
Slightly more sheep but close on 14k hibees

14-04-2012, 04:19 PM
Anyone see the dark haired milf with the big shades on next to the d1 section? Mmmm :greengrin. Fans were great today.

14-04-2012, 04:24 PM
There was not much in it. Aberdeen had two more sections full in the West than Hibs had in the East Stand. However Aberdeen had very few in the South Stand whereas Hibs had several thousand.

I would go for around 14,000 each for Hibs and Aberdeen with a few neutrals making up the numbers.

No sign of Angus the Bull as yet. Maybe he has been put out to stud? Or was he Angus the Bullock?

14-04-2012, 04:28 PM
Absolutely no danger Aberdeen had more fans than us. No chance.

14-04-2012, 04:42 PM
Absolutely no danger Aberdeen had more fans than us. No chance.

There was only a handful of Aberdeen fans in the South Stand but they had more in the West than we did the East. Looked about 50/50 in size and to be fair both sets off fans were about equal in support for their team.

Great win!

Can this be our year?

14-04-2012, 04:45 PM
I think aberdeen probably had slighly more than we did, but spliting hairs to be honest.

Not to bothered about how many each, the overall number was pretty disappointing though.

14-04-2012, 05:08 PM
I think aberdeen probably had slighly more than we did, but spliting hairs to be honest.

Not to bothered about how many each, the overall number was pretty disappointing though.

Really? Nearly 20,000 more than when we beat the same team by the same score in 1979. That game was played on a Wed night but was not live on TV. I think both teams should be congratulated for their support.

14-04-2012, 05:16 PM
I thought it was fairly even, around 14k each.....

Only now will we see the stampede for Final tickets, should be a fairly even split depending on either finalists.....

14-04-2012, 05:16 PM
Who cares.

Hibs 2 Aberdeen 1.

That's all that matters today. :agree: :flag:

14-04-2012, 05:22 PM
Who cares.

Hibs 2 Aberdeen 1.

That's all that matters today. :agree: :flag:

Amen:wink:

14-04-2012, 06:13 PM
I was told by people watching it on the telly that aberdeen had a bigger support and sounded louder. It's hard to tell if they were louder but it was definitely 50/50 today. Great effort by both sets of fans. Will the merricks take 14000 like we both did today? I doubt it.

14-04-2012, 06:21 PM
It was close. From the naked eye perhaps 55-45% in Aberdeen's favour.

14-04-2012, 06:22 PM
TV pictures will come from the South Stand, Hibs fans outnumbers Dons fans in the South by a couple of thousand I'd say, but they had more fans behind the goals than we did. I'd say they outnumbered us by maybe the 278, and going by their effort at singing I'd say most of their extra 278 were doing all their singing! :greengrin

14-04-2012, 06:23 PM
I was told by people watching it on the telly that aberdeen had a bigger support and sounded louder. It's hard to tell if they were louder but it was definitely 50/50 today. Great effort by both sets of fans. Will the merricks take 14000 like we both did today? I doubt it.

Depends where Richard Gordon and the BBC put the microphones to pick up the sound from the crowd.

At the game I seriously can't remember more than 2 songs from them and I was sober!

Like others said - who cares - we won and it was a great day :greengrin

14-04-2012, 06:33 PM
There was not much in it. Aberdeen had two more sections full in the West than Hibs had in the East Stand. However Aberdeen had very few in the South Stand whereas Hibs had several thousand.

I would go for around 14,000 each for Hibs and Aberdeen with a few neutrals making up the numbers.

No sign of Angus the Bull as yet. Maybe he has been put out to stud? Or was he Angus the Bullock?

:top marksWe scored 1 more goal then them though :flag:

14-04-2012, 06:39 PM
We had more than them. It only looked like they had more because the sheepies were so fat they took up more room.

14-04-2012, 06:49 PM

Really? At the game itself I thought the Dons support was poor - in terms of vocals rather than number mind. It looked pretty even from where I was sat.

King Paddy
14-04-2012, 06:52 PM
anybody know the official attendance today?

BBC said 28,000 so i imagine we took through 13,000.

14-04-2012, 06:54 PM
The Hibs fans easily outsung the sheep fans today. I can't believe anyone would say otherwise?

Still, their usual straw-clutching is pretty hilarious. :agree:

14-04-2012, 08:33 PM
BBC said 28,000 so i imagine we took through 13,000.

2nd largest SF attendance at Hampden for a match not involving either of the OF.

14-04-2012, 08:43 PM
2nd largest SF attendance at Hampden for a match not involving either of the OF.

am i missing something ? i doubt that very much :greengrin i only need to go back to a certain ermmm 'cough' SF against the pinkoids, and that's just in recent times :confused: or is that since hampden had a capacity reduction ?

ehf
14-04-2012, 08:47 PM

They only had one more section than us in the West really, just a smattering in the adjacent section. We had loads more in the South. Probably marginally more than 50/50 Hibs but a decent turn-out
from both given the circs.

Ozzy MTM for me; well played, big man!

14-04-2012, 08:50 PM
From where I was sitting, it looked pretty even numbers between Dons in the West & Hibs fans in the East. Hibs had a good few more in the South than the Dons though so I'd say slightly more Hibs fans at the game today.

Vocal support for Hibs was much stronger:flag:

14-04-2012, 08:53 PM
am i missing something ? i doubt that very much :greengrin i only need to go back to a certain ermmm 'cough' SF against the pinkoids, and that's just in recent times :confused: or is that since hampden had a capacity reduction ?

Thats why I said 2nd 'cough'

Since refurbishment I would imagine.

Semi's were not always played there, particularly with no OF involvement

14-04-2012, 08:56 PM
Defo more hibbies than dons I reckon 15k v 13k

14-04-2012, 09:06 PM
Thats why I said 2nd 'cough'

Since refurbishment I would imagine.

Semi's were not always played there, particularly with no OF involvement

google's thrown up nowt just now :( but i did come across this interesting fact that i wasn't aware of

The semi final tie between Rangers and Hibernian in 1948 attracted a crowd of 143,570 which, at that time, created a world record for a club match out with a national cup final and remains the European record for this category.

StevesFamau5
14-04-2012, 09:16 PM
apart from the cheering at the goal and two other songs i heard very little bleeting.... granted i was at the back but the lack of movement from their end was obvious through most of the game. im going to hazard a guess and say they may have been itching in the seats due to some sort of infection caused by.. well you know that thing they do with the sheep... :greengrin :greengrin

and another thing... :flag:

14-04-2012, 09:24 PM
I thought they had slightly more there than we did - 15k Dons fans, 13k Hibees?

14-04-2012, 09:53 PM
Why do Hibs not just say how many tickets they sold, whats the big secret?
To me the crowd looked to be split 50/50 and given the poor form of both clubs, I thought the attendance was good.

14-04-2012, 09:56 PM
There were definitely more Hibees in the stadium just after full time. :thumbsup:

c31
14-04-2012, 09:58 PM
google's thrown up nowt just now :( but i did come across this interesting fact that i wasn't aware of

The semi final tie between Rangers and Hibernian in 1948 attracted a crowd of 143,570 which, at that time, created a world record for a club match out with a national cup final and remains the European record for this category.

My dad & uncle were at this game and said it a scary place to be, you couldn't move your arms never mind going for a pish, so different from today.

Makaveli
14-04-2012, 10:00 PM
I really thought there were more of us. Probably only a bawhair in it, mind.

14/13.5 + suits?

14-04-2012, 10:06 PM
My dad & uncle were at this game and said it a scary place to be, you couldn't move your arms never mind going for a pish, so different from today.

i imagine it would be :agree: i was at the 1972 Hibs v sellick SC final(on my dads shoulders) with 106,000 and it was rather scary then, another 37k on top of that must have been incredible...and petrifying :ill:

14-04-2012, 10:18 PM

Semi-finals at Hampden not involving the Old Firm are a relatively recent invention. eg Hibs v Aberdeen would almost always have been at Dens or Tynecastle in the past. It's only really since Hampden was "rebuilt" (re-opened in 1999) that pretty much all semi-finals have been there.

Since then, the only non-OF SC semi finals have been:

Aberdeen 2v1 Hibs (2000): 22,193
Hibs 3v0 Livingston (2001): 24,658
None in 2002 because it was an Old Firm final
ICT 0v1 Dundee (2003): 14,429
ICT 1v1 Dunfermline (2004): 13,255 (replayed at Pittodrie)
Hibs 1v2 Dundee Utd (2005): 27,271
Gretna 3v0 Dundee (2006): 14,179
Hibs 0v4 Hearts (2006): 43,180
Hibs 0v0 Dunfermline (2007): 25,336
Hibs 0v1 Dunfermline (2007 replay): 8,536
QOS 4v3 Aberdeen (2008): 24,008
Falkirk 2v0 Dunfermline (2009): 17,124
Dundee Utd 2v0 Raith (2010): 17,671
Motherwell 3v0 St. Johnstone (2011): 11,920

Interestingly, there have been a few semi-finals involving Old Firm teams that have had lower attendance than today.

14-04-2012, 10:31 PM
Semi-finals at Hampden not involving the Old Firm are a relatively recent invention. eg Hibs v Aberdeen would almost always have been at Dens or Tynecastle in the past. It's only really since Hampden was "rebuilt" (re-opened in 1999) that pretty much all semi-finals have been there.

Interestingly, there have been a few semi-finals involving Old Firm teams that have had lower attendance than today.

interesting, so it IS just since the capacity reduction, appears to be a lack of hertz games in that list :greengrin my memory is a blank, has SF games always been on saturdays as well ? either way, i'm sure in decades of old there would have been pretty decent SF attendances involving hibs/hertz/aberdeen/dundee utd, can you find a full list :greengrin would have been a far bigger crowd today as well if both teams had been having a better season in the league, a big well done to both sets of fans :agree:

14-04-2012, 10:32 PM

...and also, the biggest attendances at Hampden semis outside the OF all involved one team from Edinburgh.

14-04-2012, 10:43 PM

Bollox. There was always non OF semis at Hampden. Hibs v Aberdeen was certainly at Hampden relatively recently. 1979 in fact. Hearts v Dundee Utd in 1986? I recall Airdrie pumping Hearts around the 90s too. Only three that spring to mind. Sure there are more non OF semis at Hampden? St mirren? Motherwell? Killie? All cup winners in recent times that played semis somewhere and not always against the OF.

14-04-2012, 10:46 PM
Noticable the top 5 attendances involve Hibs.

14-04-2012, 10:50 PM
another interesting bitty

World Record Attendance for a National Cup FinalThe 1937 Scottish Cup final(sellick v aberdeen) at Hampden Park attracted an official crowd of 147,365 with reports of around 20,000 locked outside. With the completion of the north stand in 1937 Hampden had an official capacity of 183,724. This implies that there must have been more spectators inside the ground than the official statistics record, and the ‘real’ attendance may have been closer to the 180,000 mark.

:shocked:

scottish football really had some huge crowds in the auld days :aok:

14-04-2012, 11:11 PM
Bollox. There was always non OF semis at Hampden. Hibs v Aberdeen was certainly at Hampden relatively recently. 1979 in fact. Hearts v Dundee Utd in 1986? I recall Airdrie pumping Hearts around the 90s too. Only three that spring to mind. Sure there are more non OF semis at Hampden? St mirren? Motherwell? Killie? All cup winners in recent times that played semis somewhere and not always against the OF.

Okay, going further back:

1999: Old Firm final
1998: Ibrox used for Falkirk v Hearts (crowd 31,587)
1997: Easter Road used for Killie v Dundee Utd
1996: Hearts v Aberdeen (27,785)
1995: Airdrie v Hearts (22,538)
1994: Aberdeen v Dundee Utd (21,397)
1993: Tynecastle used for Aberdeen v Hibs
1992: Airdrie v Hearts (27,310; replay 11K)
1991: Dunfermline used for St. Johnstone v Dundee Utd
1990: Tynecastle used for Aberdeen v Dundee Utd
1989: Old Firm final
1988: Dens Park used for Aberdeen v Dundee Utd (three games)
1987: Hearts v St. Mirren (32,390)
1987: Tyencastle used for Dundee v Dundee Utd
1986: Dens used for Aberdeen v Hibs
1986: Hearts v Dundee Utd (30,872)
1985: Tynecastle used for Aberdeen v Dundee Utd
1984: Tynecastle used for Aberdeen v Dundee
1983: Old Firm teams in each semi
1982: Celtic Park and Dens Park used for Aberdeen v St. Mirren
1981: Old Firm teams in each semi
1980: Old Firm final
1979: Hibs v Aberdeen (9,387)
1978: Aberdeen v Partick (12,282)
1977: Old Firm final
1976: Dumbarton v Hearts (16,087 and 11,273 in replay)

Incomplete data beyond that. Looks like the statistic could be bollocks due to a couple of Hearts games in the mid 1980s, but that's about it. But looking back over the last 30-40 years it was a good attendance considering the mitigating factors (struggling teams, TV coverage, kick off time).

14-04-2012, 11:50 PM
Thought the supports were fairly even in number, slightly more of us. We had more to sing about though :greengrin

15-04-2012, 12:00 AM
Couldn't really split them. A'deen covered a smaller territory, but more tightly condensed, we covered a larger area but weren't using the first two or three rows. It was 14 k each, I'd venture, which is not a bad showing for both clubs.

We've been utterly dire and they have a trek.

15-04-2012, 12:19 AM
Okay, going further back:

1999: Old Firm final
1998: Ibrox used for Falkirk v Hearts (crowd 31,587)
1997: Easter Road used for Killie v Dundee Utd
1996: Hearts v Aberdeen (27,785)
1995: Airdrie v Hearts (22,538)
1994: Aberdeen v Dundee Utd (21,397)
1993: Tynecastle used for Aberdeen v Hibs
1992: Airdrie v Hearts (27,310; replay 11K)
1991: Dunfermline used for St. Johnstone v Dundee Utd
1990: Tynecastle used for Aberdeen v Dundee Utd
1989: Old Firm final
1988: Dens Park used for Aberdeen v Dundee Utd (three games)
1987: Hearts v St. Mirren (32,390)
1987: Tyencastle used for Dundee v Dundee Utd
1986: Dens used for Aberdeen v Hibs
1986: Hearts v Dundee Utd (30,872)
1985: Tynecastle used for Aberdeen v Dundee Utd
1984: Tynecastle used for Aberdeen v Dundee
1983: Old Firm teams in each semi
1982: Celtic Park and Dens Park used for Aberdeen v St. Mirren
1981: Old Firm teams in each semi
1980: Old Firm final
1979: Hibs v Aberdeen (9,387)
1978: Aberdeen v Partick (12,282)
1977: Old Firm final
1976: Dumbarton v Hearts (16,087 and 11,273 in replay)

Incomplete data beyond that. Looks like the statistic could be bollocks due to a couple of Hearts games in the mid 1980s, but that's about it. But looking back over the last 30-40 years it was a good attendance considering the mitigating factors (struggling teams, TV coverage, kick off time).

Well researched, but my point was that there had been a few non OF semis at Hampden and this was hardly a recent relevation. Shame that as far back as '76 a few of them have involved those *****. I agree that the attendance was good today given the circumstances. Not least the amount of empty dignitary seats at halfway around and above the dug-outs. I would reckon blazers will have these full tomorrow........

15-04-2012, 10:35 AM
Well researched, but my point was that there had been a few non OF semis at Hampden and this was hardly a recent relevation. Shame that as far back as '76 a few of them have involved those *****. I agree that the attendance was good today given the circumstances. Not least the amount of empty dignitary seats at halfway around and above the dug-outs. I would reckon blazers will have these full tomorrow........

That's your Hampden debenture holders, who only show up if the Sticky Buns are playing, or re-sell their tickets if its a final.

15-04-2012, 10:37 AM

No way.

15-04-2012, 10:49 AM
I thought we had more fans there yesterday and we in the North sang and stood pretty much the whole game.

15-04-2012, 11:02 AM
I thought we had more fans there yesterday and we in the North sang and stood pretty much the whole game.

Where you the panda that almost knocked me over? :greengrin