View Full Version : Semi Final Exodus

Emerald
13-04-2012, 07:03 AM
Just to get a bit of excitement going and looking forward to seeing us all on the road on Saturday morning. What time is everyone leaving tomorrow and where are you all travelling from?

Think we're leaving around 9.30 from Penicuik.

13-04-2012, 07:07 AM
Royal Hotel In Penicuik Is Opening At 8 o Clock For A Champagne Breakfast.

Double Decker Leaving At 10 o Clock.

You On That Bus Mate?

Emerald
13-04-2012, 07:09 AM
Royal Hotel In Penicuik Is Opening At 8 o Clock For A Champagne Breakfast.

Double Decker Leaving At 10 o Clock.

You On That Bus Mate?

Driving, but I'm sure Si will give you a good send off! :greengrin

13-04-2012, 07:30 AM
To any viewing robbing barstewards, my house may well be emptying early doors tomorrow but my aggressive, bad-assed, bad-tempered Golden Retriever will be around to greet you with kisses, em, I mean, bite your ass off. Be warned - being covered in hair and slobber before having a dog with the temperament of a teddy bear jump on you looking for a pig's ear is traumatic.

13-04-2012, 07:32 AM
To any viewing robbing barstewards, my house may well be emptying early doors tomorrow but my aggressive, bad-assed, bad-tempered Golden Retriever will be around to greet you with kisses, em, I mean, bite your ass off. Be warned - being covered in hair and slobber before having a dog with the temperament of a teddy bear jump on you looking for a pig's ear is traumatic.

13-04-2012, 07:36 AM
Waverley Station for 8.15am. Looking forward to it.

francobaresi
13-04-2012, 07:36 AM
10 from Corstorphine...:flag:

13-04-2012, 07:41 AM
My routine for Semis / Finals is always the same...

leaving at 8am from East Lothian - lone driver (can't be bothered with 20 odd suggestions of how / when / where.... will / have taken others so long as they realise its not a democracy :greengrin) hammer through to Central Glasgow for relaxing large breakfast and read of the papers...then head to near Hampden around 10.30/11.00 to soak up the atmosphere and a pint before getting in ground at least 30 minutes before KO (habit that served me well in 1991 :wink:)

Green Man
13-04-2012, 07:58 AM

I'll be about half an hour behind you. Away to check bus times into town the now.

FastEddieFelson
13-04-2012, 08:04 AM
getting the stella express from waverly

13-04-2012, 08:05 AM
got a 5L keg chilling in my mini-pub waiting for me tomorrow, sitting at home stressed out on my own (still need to tell the wife to bugger of out!)... it'll still be a mad house haha

13-04-2012, 08:18 AM
Ive actually no idea what time the bus leaves yet (find out this afternoon) , but I do know im likely to be half cut by 1030 :greengrin

13-04-2012, 08:28 AM
9.45am from the Hibs shop. Bus 3 of the .net exodus. As the newly appointed convenor of said vessel, a word to the wise for those on that bus that lateness vill not be tolerated, yah!!!!!!!! :greengrin

Looking forward to the M8. With a lot of folk taking the road leaving @ the same time, it could be a procession of Hibs buses/minivans/cars etc. Get yer colours oot so we can see you!!

13-04-2012, 08:32 AM
My car is leaving Peebles at 9:30. Two seats available!

mixuok
13-04-2012, 09:13 AM
9am hibs club :flag::flag::flag::flag:a flag for every goal we score GGTTH

hailhail22
13-04-2012, 09:26 AM
10 from Corstorphine...:flag:

That the bus leaving from the cennie, Same bus as me if it is :greengrin

13-04-2012, 09:31 AM
Half 9 from you know where :greengrin Silver Lounge by 11 :thumbsup:

13-04-2012, 09:36 AM
0703 train from Haymarket

WellingtonHibby
13-04-2012, 09:38 AM
got a 5L keg chilling in my mini-pub waiting for me tomorrow, sitting at home stressed out on my own (still need to tell the wife to bugger of out!)... it'll still be a mad house haha

GGTTHo

This. But it's five litres of homebrew Czech pilsner - uses saaz hops though!

13-04-2012, 09:40 AM
Expecting to see a decent amount of flags in buses and scarves out the windows on the M8 :agree:

13-04-2012, 10:20 AM

I was thinking a wee bottle of coke with a pinch of voddy for the journey.

13-04-2012, 10:22 AM
I was thinking a wee bottle of coke with a pinch of voddy for the journey.

Sounds like a plan. You bring the vodka - I'll bring the coke :greengrin

Are you coming into my brothers tomorrow morning or just heading direct to the station?

13-04-2012, 10:29 AM
10 to 8 train from Dunbar arriving at Waverley about 8.15. Then just the next train through to Glasgow! Are the trains through 'dry' trains btw?

13-04-2012, 10:30 AM
Sounds like a plan. You bring the vodka - I'll bring the coke :greengrin

Are you coming into my brothers tomorrow morning or just heading direct to the station?

Was planning on getting 7.30 bus straight in. Why is there 6am liquid breakfast planned!

13-04-2012, 10:37 AM
Couple of the boys round mine for a liquid refreshment at 7AM tomorrow, bus is due to leave the Railway in Haddington at quarter past nine. I cannot wait!

Derek Dougan
13-04-2012, 10:38 AM
Half 9 from you know where :greengrin Silver Lounge by 11 :thumbsup:

See you in there :wink: Take it the bar will be open at 11? :cb

suavegav
13-04-2012, 10:49 AM
9am from Dunfermline. Over kincardine bridge, M73+M74 to Hampden. Cmon the hibs.

Hibs07p
13-04-2012, 10:54 AM
07.00 train from Waverley, jaunt up to the Iron Horse for 08.00, breakfast & liquid refreshment, down to Central station for the 10.20 to Kings Park arriving at 10.33, leisurely stroll up to the Beechwood in time for opening, leaving at 11.45 for the last leg. F*****D if I know how I'm getting back.

13-04-2012, 10:57 AM
I'm on the 645pm flight from London City this evening, staying at folks house overnight, getting 9am train to Glasgow, meeting Welsh Valleys Cardiff City Hibs contingent near Hampden at 10.45ish

FastEddieFelson
13-04-2012, 11:01 AM
it's funny how for big games such as this and derbies etc, people want to get totally tanked up beforehand, but will turn up to a home game against inverness as sober as a bird. you'd think the bigger games would be worth experiencing with a clear head.

however, i'm as guilty as anyone. anyone know if they're running dry trains tomorrow? hope not...

13-04-2012, 11:06 AM
Aaaaagggghhhhh, wish I was going now. But lack of pennies and missus brownie points put the kibosh on this trip.

The wife is out tomorrow leaving me with the two boys (1 & 3). As daddy is dressing them, it will be Hibs shirts all round.

Then trip to the park to wear them out. Back midday for some lunch, ready for the 12:15 KO.

13-04-2012, 11:06 AM
Trains not dry as far as I know, will be at Waverley this afternoon so will check. Signs would be up by now if police had asked for a ban.

WHAM
13-04-2012, 11:08 AM
Get up 7.30ish then taxi down to the Iron Horse for opening.

I do miss the bus journey through though and seeing the masses of hibbys on the M8.

GGTTH:flag:

Green Man
13-04-2012, 11:09 AM
Because it's more of an occasion, train/bus journey, it's more of a day out as a whole and for lots of folk - me included - a few beers is part of that. I've looked for information about dry trains but couldn't find any earlier in the week - I'll have another look this afternoon.

13-04-2012, 11:13 AM
See you in there :wink: Take it the bar will be open at 11? :cb

That is what I am led to believe - however soft drinks for the designated driver :rolleyes:

See you in there - I'll be wearing a Hibs top :tee hee:

13-04-2012, 11:25 AM
Was planning on getting 7.30 bus straight in. Why is there 6am liquid breakfast planned!

Nah, no such luck!

Will see you at the station.

13-04-2012, 11:37 AM
7.34 train at Haymarket, just got my haircut and the rest of the day better fly in. :greengrin

InchHibby
13-04-2012, 11:43 AM
Just to get a bit of excitement going and looking forward to seeing us all on the road on Saturday morning. What time is everyone leaving tomorrow and where are you all travelling from?

Think we're leaving around 9.30 from Penicuik.
Leaving Standing Order at 9.20am with strictly no Alchohol allowed on the bus (In its original container)

13-04-2012, 11:54 AM
Meeting a mate at Dumfries station and leaving at 8:50 with my breakfast and road beers. Into Glasgow about 10:40 and then onwards to Mount Florida and pub near the ground for a quick pint or two; into my seat in the North 15 mins or so before KO.

hailhail22
13-04-2012, 12:10 PM
7.34 train at Haymarket, just got my haircut and the rest of the day better fly in. :greengrin

Lucky for some my hairdresser has decided to take the day off.

Emerald
13-04-2012, 12:15 PM

Schoolboy error.........you'll have nothing to pull out tomorrow, ooh err. :greengrin

13-04-2012, 12:18 PM
Is there anywhere to booze prior to 11 in glasvegas?

JIm
13-04-2012, 12:22 PM
Is there anywhere to booze prior to 11 in glasvegas?

Pub called Iron Horse.

Ill be on East Lothian Bus anyway leaving sunny Pencaitland about 9.25. Canny wait :flag:

13-04-2012, 12:24 PM
leaving with kids and mate at 10ish...will remain sober all day as i did at the killie final in 2007..remembering these days is surely better than the blurred memories i have for most of my other hampden visits

13-04-2012, 12:38 PM
Bar in Waverley, (open from 07.00) train through to Queen St c.08.00/08.30, straight to Iron Horse (open 08.00). No alcohol ban on trains.

Green Man
13-04-2012, 12:46 PM
Bar in Waverley, (open from 07.00) train through to Queen St c.08.00/08.30, straight to Iron Horse (open 08.00). No alcohol ban on trains.

:thumbsup: Better get a carry out on the way home the night :greengrin

Persevere80
13-04-2012, 12:51 PM

Is that official, would hate to buy a case then have to ditch it?

I will be an hour behind you but i am giong with my nephiew, does anyone know a pub that lets in teenagers?

13-04-2012, 12:53 PM
If the Iron Horse is mobbed then the boozer opposite also opens @ 0800

13-04-2012, 12:54 PM
Is that official, would hate to buy a case then have to ditch it?

I will be an hour behind you but i am giong with my nephiew, does anyone know a pub that lets in teenagers?

A case? You are only going to Glasgow :greengrin

13-04-2012, 02:11 PM
A case? You are only going to Glasgow :greengrin

Yep, better to get two cases, Glasgow is a good 30 minutes on the train, don't want to be running out of the old amber. :greengrin

13-04-2012, 02:13 PM
Bus leaves at 10am :)

But will be getting drunk before hand ;)

13-04-2012, 02:23 PM
Nah, no such luck!

Will see you at the station.

Nae worries. I've just got a wee bottle of coke and will split it with some Russian Standard 40% Voddy.

A 2 litre bottle won't fit in my jacket pocket. :greengrin

Calvin
13-04-2012, 02:39 PM
Apparently we're meeting at the Royal Musselburgh at 7:30. Gonna be my earliest Saturday rise for years. Will probably just do an all nighter and power through!

hibees59
13-04-2012, 03:44 PM
Bus leaves the bowling club at 8.45, then through to a bowling club in Glasgow for a few drink and some food.

Hibbie_Cameron
13-04-2012, 03:50 PM
Our group are all meeting around 8ish at the pub in the Waverley

London Hibee
13-04-2012, 04:29 PM
I've just left work and I'm on the Heathrow Express, to catch a flight to Glasgow tonight, with Glory, Glory to the Hibees playing loudly on my IPod

Lang Toun Hibs
13-04-2012, 05:48 PM
Leaving Lynchat just after 7am to join the 7:37 football special from Kingussie!

13-04-2012, 05:52 PM
7.44am from the pool. :flag:

davey 2 good
13-04-2012, 06:28 PM
Leave house 7 30 arrive Waverley 8 00 a pint in pub 8 30 train to weegie then some greasy spoon cafe for breakie then 10 30 train to mount Florida then stroll to the beechwood for another couple oh pints then stroll to my seat to watch the cabbage win then it's party time with 15 pints and vodka I'm looking forward to my hangover and the wife not talking to me on Sunday can't wait

13-04-2012, 06:31 PM
Leave house 7 30 arrive Waverley 8 00 a pint in pub 8 30 train to weegie then some greasy spoon cafe for breakie then 10 30 train to mount Florida then stroll to the beechwood for another couple oh pints then stroll to my seat to watch the cabbage win then it's party time with 15 pints and vodka I'm looking forward to my hangover and the wife not talking to me on Sunday can't wait

Just Sunday aye???

Looking at your planned alcohol intake, that timeframe might be a tad optimistic............:greengrin

Rossco1875
13-04-2012, 06:57 PM
7.30 train to glasgow beers are being chilled as we speak then to the counting house for some breakfast and more beers:thumbsup::flag:

13-04-2012, 07:16 PM
Half 8 train from Berwick to Edinburgh, meeting pals and heading through at 10. :flag:

13-04-2012, 07:30 PM
Leaving the house at 7.15am to get the bus in to Wigan and then on to the Lancashire Hibs party train :flag:

Hibsdeb
13-04-2012, 07:31 PM
the swan bar in earlston at eight for a few swift ones then bus leaving at nine ggtth

jon paul jones
13-04-2012, 11:16 PM
745 train from the musselburgh into Waverley for "liquid breakfast" , train before 10 through to Queen Street, Iron Horse if they let me in or train straight through and scamper round for final pint, In my seat for 1145 to support display and "check the accoustics" out :greengrin

Emerald
13-04-2012, 11:27 PM
745 train from the musselburgh into Waverley for "liquid breakfast" , train before 10 through to Queen Street, Iron Horse if they let me in or train straight through and scamper round for final pint, In my seat for 1145 to support display and "check the accoustics" out :greengrin

I'm no sound engineer (guitarist???) but the accousticts at Hampden??? They blast out the music as loud as they can, drown out all the 'atmosphere' unil the last possible minute (why do they do that?). Hats off to them though because they always manage to make you feel that you are listening to the music inside a huge beer barrell. The only plus was that after we won the league cup, they did us proud that day. :thumbsup:

14-04-2012, 08:08 AM
Edinburgh to Glasgow train almost empty....

Good for me as got a table all to myself

Looks like Hampden will be deserted if this train is anything to go by

14-04-2012, 08:24 AM
Glad I just checked my oil! Pit stop at garage and I'm on my way, 'mon the cabbage!

14-04-2012, 08:36 AM
Just pulling in at Glasgow Queen Street

Exciting - reminds me of the anticipation of long walks to Parkhead & Ibrox

Turns out there are quite a few Hibbies further back on the train

14-04-2012, 08:39 AM
On 0856 from Edinburgh to Central hood Hibs support on the train

14-04-2012, 08:39 AM
Leaving Kaimend at 1030 :flag::flag::pfgwa

14-04-2012, 08:42 AM
Leaving Broxburn in 5 mins. A could crush a grape likes!!! :)

14-04-2012, 08:45 AM
I love the early drive through like today - there were loads of empty coaches heading East on M8 for pick ups...don~ know why but that is always the point the big game excitement kicks in :)

14-04-2012, 08:49 AM
9.00am train to Queen Street, packed solid with hibs fans and a few dons fans, atmosphere building! Now for some drink!!

vercol36
14-04-2012, 09:01 AM
Working until 12 today. Worst...shift....ever. Ah well, four beers for the walk down to Persevere, hopefully a full house for stay-at-home fans!

14-04-2012, 09:12 AM
On the supporters bus through now. Now that everyone's on, Im able to relax.
HAIL HAIL!

14-04-2012, 09:15 AM
On the supporters bus through now. Now that everyone's on, Im able to relax.
HAIL HAIL!

Until they all start cracking out the booze and you realise your responsible ;)