View Full Version : Willie Miller - Aberdeen (Hibs content)

12-04-2012, 12:34 PM
I could be wrong but I believe Willie Miller said on SSN this morning that Aberdeen last won the Scottish Cup 22 years ago but (with a smile on his coupon) Hibs HAD NEVER WON it.

Anybody else hear this. If so then cheeky bassa.

12-04-2012, 12:40 PM
Was it not Willie last smiled 22 years ago ?

Great player in his day, Hibs could certainly do with his leadership (and refereeing) skills. Just don't lend him money.....could turn a fiver into a pound in the blink of an eye.

12-04-2012, 12:40 PM
I could be wrong but I believe Willie Miller said on SSN this morning that Aberdeen last won the Scottish Cup 22 years ago but (with a smile on his coupon) Hibs HAD NEVER WON it.

Anybody else hear this. If so then cheeky bassa.

Yam fud Colin Cameron also mentioned that there had never been a Hibs / Hearts final which is also plainly wrong.

12-04-2012, 03:03 PM
Yam fud Colin Cameron also mentioned that there had never been a Hibs / Hearts final which is also plainly wrong.

Which the Yam support seem quite keen on having a plaque errected at Logie Green Road to comemorate the only SC final to take place outside Glasgow. Wonder why?

12-04-2012, 03:08 PM

I'm sure he actually said it hadnt happened in 'our lifetime' which is accurate unless there a few 116 year olds kicking about Edinburgh.

Agree re 'yam fud' though.

12-04-2012, 05:54 PM
Yam Driver s******ing his head off on STV sports about "1902" was it?, what a bunch of fannies they are, is that all they care about?, obsessed since 1874.

12-04-2012, 05:57 PM
Yam Driver s******ing his head off on STV sports about "1902" was it?, what a bunch of fannies they are, is that all they care about?, obsessed since 1874.

Obsessed with what else for a year ;)

12-04-2012, 05:59 PM

Aye, at least our 1973 obsession is far more recent :greengrin

12-04-2012, 06:04 PM
I love Miller. He is an ignorant chancer, that has managed to retain the mantle of "Mr Aberdeen", despite some dodgy commercial activities and a suicidal spell as manager of the Sheep. This is just the sort of ill thought out remark he specialises in.

Feed McGraw
12-04-2012, 09:01 PM
One of The Proclaimers got it a bit wrong according to his quote in today`s Sun. Something along the lines of : " No one can have a worse record than us with two wins from nine appearances "( In SC finals).

Well it`s actually a bit worse than that, it`s two from eleven, fourteen if you count replays, which you should, as it`s another chance to win it. Even though it`s a poor record as far as winning the damn thing goes, I`m proud that we`ve actually managed to reach all these finals, so I`m surprised he got that wrong.

MartinfaePorty
12-04-2012, 09:06 PM
I always remember a journalist in a late 1980s football magazine responding to the claim that Dundee Utd had a 'Hampden hoodoo' to say that if you wanted a real hoodoo at Hampden look no further than Hibs!

This was due to the fact that all 3 of their major trophy wins up to that point had been won at the home of their main rivals. How awful that must have been!

yeezus.
12-04-2012, 09:41 PM

sick of hearing about it, hopefully we can shut them up this year. Can't wait for Saturday

:pfgwa

12-04-2012, 10:20 PM
Yam Driver s******ing his head off on STV sports about "1902" was it?

What was that the last time he managed to play 90 minutes of football?

12-04-2012, 10:26 PM

sick of hearing about it, hopefully we can shut them up this year. Can't wait for Saturday

:pfgwa

Have been humming a wee tune to myself for a few days in sunny NYC, hoping for the chance to publicise it more come May 19th

"We've won the last two,
We've won the last two
Big Cups and Wee Cups
We've won the last two"

Nothing like turning tables and putting a wee spot of pressure on the already-bankrupt neighbours.
Just need to won the damn thing now...

12-04-2012, 11:44 PM

They love it. Any opportunity to mention 1902 and they're all over it like a rash. As if their trophy room is bursting with silver. Nobody has been in there for years.

Septimus
13-04-2012, 07:38 AM
I always remember a journalist in a late 1980s football magazine responding to the claim that Dundee Utd had a 'Hampden hoodoo' to say that if you wanted a real hoodoo at Hampden look no further than Hibs!

And there was that sad day when we failed to beat Celtc in the Coronation Cup. We went into that final as real favourites (iIrc) and came out miserable as sin. Remembering that might stand us in good stead when we play Celtc in the final this year.