View Full Version : NHC Referees - Charlie Richmond

10-04-2012, 11:13 PM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/17672386

Never been a great fan of Charlie Richmond but it is worrying that referees are bitching about each other after games. Seems it is not only the fans who don't have regard for the quality of referees. They don't have respect for each other!

Gala Foxes
11-04-2012, 05:23 AM
I heard the interview on Radio Scotland, thought he came over as a bitter individual.

Moaning about how he was overlooked & was not considered a team player, when asked a question initially said he would need to watch what he said then rolled over straight away and answered it. Nothing was any more controversial than saying that some refs were "networking" their way to getting top games.

Could badge the interview as "bitter guy overlooked for top jobs has a pop at his employers"

11-04-2012, 05:56 AM
He did however go to Tynie to support Auchinleck, so he deserves some credit.

Heard the interview, and as Gala says, all that came across was a bitter individual who was overlooked probably more down to his attitude towards others as opposed to ability. Chick and Jim however were creaming themselves as if they had uncovered a football 'watergate'.

In the end it seems certain people that worked with him were quite quick to tittle tattle back to their superiors if CR had a wee moan.......that's no different to any other walk of life.

11-04-2012, 06:25 AM
Good riddance to old rubbish.

PeeKay
11-04-2012, 07:24 AM
Those ace investigative journalists Chick and Jim failed to state the most obvious - maybe Richmond didn't get a gig because he was such a *****e referee.

11-04-2012, 07:52 AM
There is maybe more to this than bitterness, the SFA is a clique as is the referree's committee, all looking after themselves rather than the game. Time Scottish football had a complete clear out of these useless groups.

11-04-2012, 07:56 AM
Bitter or not he probably has a point.

The SFA always has been, and always will be full of cliques and self preservers.

11-04-2012, 08:05 AM
Bitter or not he probably has a point.

The SFA always has been, and always will be full of cliques and self preservers.

Agreed. Yet more critisism and negative comment brushed off and denied.

SFA should get a new motto: "Nothing to see here...move along now"

11-04-2012, 08:25 AM
I always think that the best referees are those that go unnoticed most of the time.

Charlie Richmond always seemed to think that he had to put on his own personal show for the fans and made himself the centre of attention constantly. He will not be missed.

11-04-2012, 08:31 AM
Loving the irony of these posts.

Bitter people criticising someone for being bitter.

"We hate most in others that which we see in ourselves." :wink:

11-04-2012, 08:34 AM
Agreed. Yet more critisism and negative comment brushed off and denied.

SFA should get a new motto: "Nothing to see here...move along now"

Couldnt agree more, thats the problem with the game in Scotland, THE SFA BLAZERS.
You may or may not like CR, he may be a moaner in some eyes, but, are you telling me he is lying then? The point is, the games a bogey in Scotland, the SFA basically holding back decent referees due to preferential treatment for a55kissers, and people wonder why our level of refereeing is going down, now you have a ref who has came out and told us why, we shouldnt be condemning him for that we should be asking questions of the SFA, no?

11-04-2012, 08:35 AM
Richmond eh, Quite easily the worst ever performace ive seen from a referee was back in December 2005 at Easter RD, That man tried his damnest and was hellbent we would take nothing from that game, Cue Riordan scoring with seconds ( And i mean seconds) remaining sending Easter road wild.

11-04-2012, 08:38 AM
Richmond eh, Quite easily the worst ever performace ive seen from a referee was back in December 2005 at Easter RD, That man tried his damnest and was hellbent we would take nothing from that game, Cue Riordan scoring with seconds ( And i mean seconds) remaining sending Easter road wild.

**cough** Alan Freeland (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/scot_prem/5381190.stm) **cough**

11-04-2012, 08:58 AM

Yep quite simply a bent performance. He spent ages talking to players then didnt book them and refused to allow Hibs to play free kicks quickly so he could slow the game down. Was astounding he got another game at all after that.

11-04-2012, 09:02 AM
One of the worst refs ever but I think he has a point, how can any of them be picked based on their performances? If that was the criteria there'd be nae refs every week, they're all rank. Must be picked based on something else! :hmmm:

11-04-2012, 09:08 AM
One of the worst refs ever but I think he has a point, how can any of them be picked based on their performances? If that was the criteria there'd be nae refs every week, they're all rank. Must be picked based on something else! :hmmm:

Funny handshakes and how old their granny is?

11-04-2012, 09:18 AM
**cough** Alan Freeland (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/scot_prem/5381190.stm) **cough**

Another absolute shocker:agree:

Yep quite simply a bent performance. He spent ages talking to players then didnt book them and refused to allow Hibs to play free kicks quickly so he could slow the game down. Was astounding he got another game at all after that.

At one stage play was raging on whilst he was booking a hibs player, Totally lost the plot that day! IIRC Mowbray got hit with a 6 game touchline ban for asking Coco a basic question.

ehf
11-04-2012, 09:57 AM

Just had a look at the match report and worth noting (a) the quality (Zibi aside) of the Hibs line-up and (b) the attendance:

Hibernian: Malkowski, Whittaker, Martis, Jones (Konde 12), Murphy, Shiels (Zemmama 44), Scott Brown, Stewart, Thomson, Sproule (Benjelloun 67), Fletcher. Subs Not Used: McNeil, Glass, McCluskey, Shields.

Att: 14,828

Worrying how far we have fallen in little over 5 years...

11-04-2012, 10:17 AM

They are picked on the criteria of their face fitting with their SFA bosses, which basically means cow-towing to the OF and making sure that anyone else who looks like getting a decent team together has the rug pulled from under them.

Vlad may be mad but the Monkey Mafia exists.

11-04-2012, 01:42 PM
Richmond was a ***** referee who always had to be centre of attention. I recall one game where we won at easter road. (Maybe motherwell or dundee or something) a few years ago and he needed a police escort to get him out the stadium.

Total arse of a ref. Not missed and his opinions on other refs carries no weight.

Endof

11-04-2012, 01:50 PM
They are picked on the criteria of their face fitting with their SFA bosses, which basically means cow-towing to the OF and making sure that anyone else who looks like getting a decent team together has the rug pulled from under them.

I'd say one part of that statement could be true to an extent but the latter is total pish.

Also an insight into accountability of referees from John Flemming, the mantra that they are never punished or accountable seems to be an urban myth, or is he lying as well?! :)

11-04-2012, 03:08 PM
but the latter is total pish.

Could be. :greengrin

Read the last chapter of The Quiet Man, Pat Stantons' autobiog. See what he thought the difference was between the Hibs team of the early 70's and the Aberdeen team of the early 80's. I'm not going to argue with God.

alnewhaven
11-04-2012, 04:42 PM
Richmond was a ***** referee who always had to be centre of attention. I recall one game where we won at easter road. (Maybe motherwell or dundee or something) a few years ago and he needed a police escort to get him out the stadium.

Total arse of a ref. Not missed and his opinions on other refs carries no weight.

Endof

Yeah, was motherwell, and I think he'd pissed both teams off by the end. Certainly got a police escort

11-04-2012, 04:49 PM

:agree: we have a winner. Doubt ill ever be as angry towards an official in my entire life as I was that day.

11-04-2012, 05:36 PM

:hijack:

Look what Yogi said from the article:

"John Hughes said on television he felt Alan Freeland had a good game and I would point out that Alan was not the one fouling players or clashing with supporters.

What an idiot the guy was though I think this was him attempting to be funny.

11-04-2012, 06:29 PM
Charlie Richmond = Incompetent twisted showman.
:bye: :clown:

11-04-2012, 06:38 PM
Richmond was an attention seeking, arrogant, ******** of a referee.

Great news that he's giving it up.