View Full Version : I despair

09-04-2012, 04:33 PM
On the bus going home from work, turning from Gorgie Road down Westfield Roa. I can see that outside the McDonalds is a very heavily pregnant young girl, McDonalds bag in one hand, fag in the other.

She looked over and, I couldn't even help it, I sighed and shook my head.

Am I just a judgemental prick?

09-04-2012, 04:52 PM
Not at all, you were right to show your disapproval. Keeping at least one hand free is vital should the girl trip and fall. She should have kept the fag in her mouth or put the bigmac in a shopping trolley for a minute or two. Its a matter of good balance.

09-04-2012, 07:02 PM
Welcome to Scotland!

Calvin
09-04-2012, 07:04 PM
Not judgemental at all. I have no time for smoking and even less time for McDonalds.

09-04-2012, 07:29 PM
Was she Chinese? everybody else around about here seems to be!

09-04-2012, 08:07 PM
Not judgemental at all. I have no time for smoking and even less time for McDonalds.
Me too mate, especially the Pans clan of McDonalds :greengrin

Calvin
10-04-2012, 12:02 AM
Me too mate, especially the Pans clan of McDonalds :greengrin

:shhhsh!:

The Pans clan of McDonalds is the finest around and you know it fine well! :greengrin

10-04-2012, 05:41 PM
Was she Chinese? everybody else around about here seems to be!

A Father Ted episode is springing to mind. Have you by any chance noticed any missing property lately, such as a silver whistle?

10-04-2012, 05:51 PM
A Father Ted episode is springing to mind. Have you by any chance noticed any missing property lately, such as a silver whistle?

The Chinese are a great bunch of lads. Mao Tse Tung, Kato, Mr MiyagI, Ming the Merciless.

10-04-2012, 06:23 PM
On the bus going home from work, turning from Gorgie Road down Westfield Roa. I can see that outside the McDonalds is a very heavily pregnant young girl, McDonalds bag in one hand, fag in the other.

Not at all. Any heavily pregnant female should be nowhere near Gorgie Road. What chance would the infant have if born there?

10-04-2012, 07:17 PM

Never watched Father Ted, so, I'm not sure of the significance of the reference.

10-04-2012, 07:38 PM
Never watched Father Ted, so, I'm not sure of the significance of the reference.

There was an episode when Ted kept putting his foot in it with Craggy Island's Chinese community.

As for the whistle, that was another episode altogether, but one that a lot of fans of the show always talk about.

10-04-2012, 07:39 PM
The Chinese are a great bunch of lads. Mao Tse Tung, Kato, Mr MiyagI, Ming the Merciless.

I dooooon't believe it!:greengrin

10-04-2012, 07:47 PM
There was an episode when Ted kept putting his foot in it with Craggy Island's Chinese community.

As for the whistle, that was another episode altogether, but one that a lot of fans of the show always talk about.

the one where he was waving at the window and a smudge on the glass made it look like he was Hitler and giving the salute :hilarious

10-04-2012, 07:49 PM
I dooooon't believe it!:greengrin

THOSE WIMMIN WERE IN THE NIP!!!! :hijack:

10-04-2012, 08:25 PM
THOSE WIMMIN WERE IN THE NIP!!!! :hijack:

Grumpy Gibby writes:

Dinnae *** the James Hunt wi me ya wee toley, fine ye ken the ****ing Nips no in Goargie, it's in Albert Street. Ah should ken ah stey in the care hame oapisit! (No the BUPA yin eithe ya cheeky wee bawbag, ah foat in three world wars etc. etc. etc. )

Thurs mair chance o meetin a chinky in Albert Street thin there is o findin three firkin virgins roon yon Gorgie Road. Over run wi the wee chunts so it is.

Blackley must go!

10-04-2012, 09:31 PM
the one where he was waving at the window and a smudge on the glass made it look like he was Hitler and giving the salute :hilarious

:faf: That was absolute genius!!

10-04-2012, 10:10 PM
Grumpy Gibby writes:

Dinnae *** the James Hunt wi me ya wee toley, fine ye ken the ****ing Nips no in Goargie, it's in Albert Street. Ah should ken ah stey in the care hame oapisit! (No the BUPA yin eithe ya cheeky wee bawbag, ah foat in three world wars etc. etc. etc. )

Thurs mair chance o meetin a chinky in Albert Street thin there is o findin three firkin virgins roon yon Gorgie Road. Over run wi the wee chunts so it is.

Blackley must go!

Thats quite a coincidence! I used to stay on Albert Street! :-)

10-04-2012, 10:46 PM

Dr Fu Manchu?

Kung Fu Panda?

Chung Ling Soo? My father saw him at the King's Theatre some time during the Great War. He was 6 or 7 at the time (Dad was - not Chung Ling Soo).

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chung_Ling_Soo

11-04-2012, 12:49 AM
:faf: That was absolute genius!!

http://www.channel4.com/programmes/father-ted/video/series-3/episode-1/bunker-mentality

http://www.channel4.com/programmes/father-ted/video/series-3/episode-1/bad-impression

Mixu62
12-04-2012, 12:49 AM

The Chinese Communist Party, the biggest Communist party in the world, and in my opinion, the best!!

12-04-2012, 10:17 AM
Thats quite a coincidence! I used to stay on Albert Street! :-)

12-04-2012, 02:48 PM

The thing to do is not to tutt at people like that but make sure that your own diet and health are in good nick.

Feeling fit physically helps you feel fit mentally.

Cut out the fish suppers, drink low alcohol beer and walk up a long hill at least three times a week.

12-04-2012, 04:29 PM

:faf::faf: just about pished myself. :thumbsup:

14-04-2012, 06:00 AM
Getting back to the OP's point (kind of), this girl makes me think of those people who sit at hospital entrances smoking a fag, with a drip attached to their arm. In fact I've even seen them with an oxygen tank beside them.

14-04-2012, 08:21 AM
Getting back to the OP's point (kind of), this girl makes me think of those people who sit at hospital entrances smoking a fag, with a drip attached to their arm. In fact I've even seen them with an oxygen tank beside them.

Does seem a bit ridiculous. Why don't they have a smoking room inside the building (or do they)?

14-04-2012, 09:27 AM
The Chinese Communist Party, the biggest Communist party in the world, and in my opinion, the best!!

Aye - just think how many deaths they've been responsible for over the years - the Long March, the Great Leap Forward, the Cultural Revolution, Tian An Men Square ....

Real buncha warm-hearted guys.

14-04-2012, 10:14 AM
Does seem a bit ridiculous. Why don't they have a smoking room inside the building (or do they)?
Wouldn't that be sending out a mixed message? The NHS is against smoking so why should it be seen to encourage smoking with indoor provision. I'd go further and ask why they allow it at all on their premises.

14-04-2012, 10:20 AM
Aye - just think how many deaths they've been responsible for over the years - the Long March, the Great Leap Forward, the Cultural Revolution, Tian An Men Square ....

Oh dear

14-04-2012, 10:22 AM

It's the law, besides I think they've always tried to discourage people who are ill and needing hospital treatment from smoking.

14-04-2012, 10:24 AM

Doddie, I know Ted worked for the opposition, but I thought you would have been a fan of the show. :wink:

14-04-2012, 12:12 PM
Oh dear

Doddie, I know Ted worked for the opposition, but I thought you would have been a fan of the show. :wink:

DUH!

Sorry, guys - been a bit pre-occupied this morning.

It was, indeed my favourite 'fly-on-the-wall' documentary series of all time.

Did you know that Father Jack's now the Bishop of Motherwell? :wink:

14-04-2012, 01:26 PM
Did you know that Father Jack's now the Bishop of Motherwell? :wink:

Bishop of Motherwell Joseph Devine? Controversial views on the old gay question I see :aok:

http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Joseph_Devine#section_3

That would be an ecumenical matter.

14-04-2012, 03:02 PM
Wouldn't that be sending out a mixed message? The NHS is against smoking so why should it be seen to encourage smoking with indoor provision. I'd go further and ask why they allow it at all on their premises.

I'd go further than that and ask why they employ nurses who smoke.

14-04-2012, 06:41 PM
Bishop of Motherwell Joseph Devine? Controversial views on the old gay question I see :aok:

http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Joseph_Devine#section_3

That would be an ecumenical matter.

It would indeed.

Down with this sort of thing.

14-04-2012, 09:22 PM
I'd go further than that and ask why they employ nurses who smoke.

:faf: Cos no other ****** will do the job without having a gun pointed at them first.

Actually, I am more worried about why they employ nurses who can't spill.

14-04-2012, 09:22 PM
It would indeed.

Down with this sort of thing.

Careful now. :tsk tsk:

Mixu62
16-04-2012, 09:47 AM

just want to make it clear that I am not and never have been a fan or member of the Chinese communist party (in case the really scary NZ security services are looking in :hide:), but was merely quoting an episode of Father Ted.