http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OW--trLnaQ8

Glory.Glory

BIG G

harpo
06-04-2012, 03:45 AM
superb!

06-04-2012, 08:14 AM
I think we should play that tune before each game, well the ones V Rangers and Hearts :pfgwa

yeezus.
06-04-2012, 08:32 AM
the Wolfe Tones?

Great video:agree:

hailhail22
06-04-2012, 09:18 AM
Class!!

06-04-2012, 09:19 AM
the Wolfe Tones?

Great video:agree:

superb, love to here it played at ER

love to download it, anyone help?

hailhail22
06-04-2012, 09:24 AM
superb, love to here it played at ER

love to download it, anyone help?

I've got a YouTube convertor on my laptop type it on on google download it then you can copy and paste anything from YouTube then save it in your documents, if you have an iPhone then it will automatically save on iTunes so you can get it straight on you phone

06-04-2012, 09:53 AM
Magic:not worth

06-04-2012, 09:56 AM
I've got a YouTube convertor on my laptop type it on on google download it then you can copy and paste anything from YouTube then save it in your documents, if you have an iPhone then it will automatically save on iTunes so you can get it straight on you phone

which one is it? i used to have one but it turned out to have loads of spyware in it

06-04-2012, 09:59 AM
That was superb! Thanks for posting :top marks I agree, would LOVE for this to be played at Easter Road! A wee email off to Hibs anyone? :agree:

HibernianBohs
06-04-2012, 10:08 AM
Lethal Stuff lads :pfgwa

hailhail22
06-04-2012, 10:19 AM
which one is it? i used to have one but it turned out to have loads of spyware in it

http://www.dvdvideosoft.com/products/dvd/Free-YouTube-to-MP3-Converter.htm pritty sure its that one i use.

06-04-2012, 10:24 AM
nice pictures but the music is a bit lame...i would be embarrassed if that was played at easter rd....leave the phoney irishness to celtic.

06-04-2012, 10:33 AM
nice pictures but the music is a bit lame...i would be embarrassed if that was played at easter rd....leave the phoney irishness to celtic.

harsh

leemel
06-04-2012, 10:41 AM
Class

06-04-2012, 10:50 AM

Wondered how many posts it would take before the hibbyhuns appeared.

Excellent work .... good to see theres others out there proud of the clubs history and origins.

06-04-2012, 10:55 AM

Excellent work .... good to see theres others out there proud of the clubs history and origins.

This:agree:

06-04-2012, 10:58 AM

06-04-2012, 11:00 AM
My dad took me to that church (St Patricks Church -shown in the video) every Sunday when I was lad, even though it was on the other side of the city. I wondered why we went there and not to a nearer church. I didn't realise St Patrick's had any links to the club, but I do remember something vaguely linking the two. Can anyone shed some light on this?

06-04-2012, 11:06 AM

I think the difference is that we are comfortable with our past AND our present AND our future as a club whereas many Celtc fans seem to only wallow in a narrow old fashioned Irishness. Nothing wrong with celebrating our roots. There would be no complaints if pictures of old Leith and old Hibs images were put on youtube with a Scottish soundtrack and their should be no complaints about this.

hailhail22
06-04-2012, 11:10 AM
My dad took me to that church (St Patricks Church -shown in the video) every Sunday when I was lad, even though it was on the other side of the city. I wondered why we went there and not to a nearer church. I didn't realise St Patrick's had any links to the club, but I do remember something vaguely linking the two. Can anyone shed some light on this?

The St. Patrick's Church in the Cowgate had founded a Catholic Young Men's Society (CYMS) in 1865.[6] The Irish community was not integrated into the wider Edinburgh community,[6] but Canon Edward Hannon was looking for a way to achieve this.[6] Michael Whelahan suggested to Canon Hannon that the CYMS should form its own football club. In a meeting on 6 August 1875, Hibernian F.C. was founded,

(copied & pasted from wiki)

06-04-2012, 11:10 AM

i've never been refered to as a hibbyhun before...interesting considering the amount of hours i've spent on my knees in forced prayer at virtually every catholic church in edinburgh, including 4.30 mass at st. pats on many occasions....my mum still voluntarily cleans st.pats once a week and attends every sunday...she'd laugh her 78 year old head off if she heard of me being described as a hun!...i just cant be arsed with phoney irishness as displayed by the wolftones and others of that ilk that make a healthy living out of playing the republican card.

06-04-2012, 11:21 AM
i've never been refered to as a hibbyhun before...interesting considering the amount of hours i've spent on my knees in forced prayer at virtually every catholic church in edinburgh, including 4.30 mass at st. pats on many occasions....my mum still voluntarily cleans st.pats once a week and attends every sunday...she'd laugh her 78 year old head off if she heard of me being described as a hun!...i just cant be arsed with phoney irishness as displayed by the wolftones and others of that ilk that make a healthy living out of playing the republican card.

Ah well you have passed the test your no a jumbo or a hun, however you probably should be helping you mum a bit more by going to clean the church with her. I am sure any uberfan would do this, particularly given the historical significance of St Pats (and also the fact your ma is 78 years of age).

Just saying:greengrin

06-04-2012, 11:23 AM

P.S. you can kiss my harp (I know you want to!):greengrin:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin

06-04-2012, 11:26 AM

Calling a practicing Catholic a 'Hun' is fail of the day. Congrats.

andudare2
06-04-2012, 11:33 AM
Several Branch members are regulars on here so here we go, Big thanks to Mikey

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OW--trLnaQ8

Glory.Glory

BIG G got this from a m8 on facebook a few weeks ago. superb stuff. encompasses hibs origins for me & also shows how much we have moved on as a club,while retaing our proud heritage. not a bad thing i.m.o.!:pfgwa:pfgwa:pfgwa

06-04-2012, 11:36 AM
Its sadly depressing and predictable that a perfectly reasonable thread about our history and heritage gets jumped all over. We should be able to talk about this without any fingerpointing about sectarianism, plastic paddyness etc.

andudare2
06-04-2012, 11:40 AM
nice pictures but the music is a bit lame...i would be embarrassed if that was played at easter rd....leave the phoney irishness to celtic.agrree with you to a point,especially after reading your later comment re.st pats etc. however at loss as to how you could be embarrassed by a song that is factually correct &has nowt to do with phoney irishness practiced by the great unwashed. be proud to be right!!!!!:pfgwa:pfgwa:pfgwa

be proud to be the first!!!!!!!!

06-04-2012, 11:47 AM
The St. Patrick's Church in the Cowgate had founded a Catholic Young Men's Society (CYMS) in 1865.[6] The Irish community was not integrated into the wider Edinburgh community,[6] but Canon Edward Hannon was looking for a way to achieve this.[6] Michael Whelahan suggested to Canon Hannon that the CYMS should form its own football club. In a meeting on 6 August 1875, Hibernian F.C. was founded,

(copied & pasted from wiki)

Thanks for the info that puts a few more pieces of the jigsaw together, my Granddad went to that church too form 1901 onwards so it probably explains why I ended up supporting hibs (there was no choice in my family). If you were born into my family you were a hibs fan. No choice in those days and I am pleased of it.

06-04-2012, 12:00 PM
Calling a practicing Catholic a 'Hun' is fail of the day. Congrats.

Thanks :greengrin. I think im still suffering from the side effects of CorrieGreen era paranoia.

06-04-2012, 12:04 PM
Thanks for the info that puts a few more pieces of the jigsaw together, my Granddad went to that church too form 1901 onwards so it probably explains why I ended up supporting hibs (there was no choice in my family). If you were born into my family you were a hibs fan. No choice in those days and I am pleased of it.

He may have know my dad's grandparents (both Irish) who lived on Rossie Place and attended St. Patricks. My great grannie darned Hibs' jerseys. :aok:

For what it's worth, I'm not keen on the Wolftones either.

06-04-2012, 01:02 PM

I kind of agree with this.

I have no problem with Hibs roots I'm a quarter Irish myself and happy about it.

But the St Patrick's video to my mind crosses the line a bit as far as what I think is the appropriate amount of Irishness we need to have in a piece celebrating Hibs roots or the club as it is now.

As far as I am aware James Connolly has no connection with Hibs, either as a person to do with the founding of the club or as a supporter of it. If St Pat's members wish to celebrate Mr Connollys not insignificant part in the creation of the Irish Republic they should go on the annual march. Minus Hibs colours please.

Though I am aware of the Wolfe Tones as a band I have never listened to any of their recordings.... But I would imagine that their songs and music are of the Irish Republican persuasion given the name the band has chosen. I personally prefer the musical stylings of the Proclaimers as music to celebrate my Hibbyness to.

I am also not that enamoured with the St Pat's branches choice of Irish Gaelic script on their banners to be honest. Would be perfectly happy to have the style of writing which is very pleasing on the eye. But how many Hibbies read or speak this language?

I am well aware of Irish history and why it was neccessary to have an Irish Republican movement. I am also aware of the British imposed social conditions in the north of the country which resulted in the 6 counties of Ulster refusing to be part of the new nation of Eire. The imposition of such conditions is now in fact illegal in international law ... Israelies building settlements on the west bank is an example of a breach of this law.

In fact if asked I would say that I am an Irish Republican.

But to use Hibernian football club in any way as a vehicle for Irish Republicanism ( intended or implied ) is counter productive and just bad for the image of the club and its support.

In my opinion.

06-04-2012, 01:59 PM
I kind of agree with this.

I have no problem with Hibs roots I'm a quarter Irish myself and happy about it.

But the St Patrick's video to my mind crosses the line a bit as far as what I think is the appropriate amount of Irishness we need to have in a piece celebrating Hibs roots or the club as it is now.

As far as I am aware James Connolly has no connection with Hibs, either as a person to do with the founding of the club or as a supporter of it. If St Pat's members wish to celebrate Mr Connollys not insignificant part in the creation of the Irish Republic they should go on the annual march. Minus Hibs colours please.

Though I am aware of the Wolfe Tones as a band I have never listened to any of their recordings.... But I would imagine that their songs and music are of the Irish Republican persuasion given the name the band has chosen. I personally prefer the musical stylings of the Proclaimers as music to celebrate my Hibbyness to.

I am also not that enamoured with the St Pat's branches choice of Irish Gaelic script on their banners to be honest. Would be perfectly happy to have the style of writing which is very pleasing on the eye. But how many Hibbies read or speak this language?

I am well aware of Irish history and why it was neccessary to have an Irish Republican movement. I am also aware of the British imposed social conditions in the north of the country which resulted in the 6 counties of Ulster refusing to be part of the new nation of Eire. The imposition of such conditions is now in fact illegal in international law ... Israelies building settlements on the west bank is an example of a breach of this law.

In fact if asked I would say that I am an Irish Republican.

But to use Hibernian football club in any way as a vehicle for Irish Republicanism ( intended or implied ) is counter productive and just bad for the image of the club and its support.

In my opinion.

I agree with the bit in bold and watched the video expecting to hate it. However, what it made me think of was how important our club's Irish origins were to the people who founded it and also to those who supported it probably until maybe the 1920s or even later. It also made me think of my own family origins and of how, as Irish Catholics, they faced discrimination. For the Irish immigrant community between 1875 and maybe as late as the the 1920s Hibs must have been so important. I think that's still worth celebrating today - albeit as only one aspect of what we are. I'd like to think that those origins encourage us to be particularly welcoming and inclusive to today's immigrants and all minority groups (unlike some other clubs maybe). I even kind of liked the first song and now realise all the more why I hate hearing Hibs Fans singing that Rudi Scatchel song.

The Tubs
06-04-2012, 02:22 PM
As far as I am aware James Connolly has no connection with Hibs, either as a person to do with the founding of the club or as a supporter of it.

I'm sure I read in one of the Hibs history series of books that Connolly used to carry the kit down to Easter Rd from the Cowgate as a bairn.

Speaking of the books, I've always thought that they could easily be turned into a hollywood blockbuster in the style of Gangs of New York - though probably with (a little) less swedging. Does anyone have Scorsese's number? Day-Lewis's? Even DiCaprio's?

06-04-2012, 02:28 PM
Give Brad Pitt a shout, he has an affinity with "7" as well!

yeezus.
06-04-2012, 03:53 PM
I think some of the Wolfe Tones songs are acceptable - but should be kept away from football grounds

06-04-2012, 04:43 PM
I agree with the bit in bold and watched the video expecting to hate it. However, what it made me think of was how important our club's Irish origins were to the people who founded it and also to those who supported it probably until maybe the 1920s or even later. It also made me think of my own family origins and of how, as Irish Catholics, they faced discrimination. For the Irish immigrant community between 1875 and maybe as late as the the 1920s Hibs must have been so important. I think that's still worth celebrating today - albeit as only one aspect of what we are. I'd like to think that those origins encourage us to be particularly welcoming and inclusive to today's immigrants and all minority groups (unlike some other clubs maybe). I even kind of liked the first song and now realise all the more why I hate hearing Hibs Fans singing that Rudi Scatchel song.

Me too :agree:

06-04-2012, 05:02 PM
As far as I am aware James Connolly has no connection with Hibs, either as a person to do with the founding of the club or as a supporter of it.

I'm sure I read in one of the Hibs history series of books that Connolly used to carry the kit down to Easter Rd from the Cowgate as a bairn.

Speaking of the books, I've always thought that they could easily be turned into a hollywood blockbuster in the style of Gangs of New York - though probably with (a little) less swedging. Does anyone have Scorsese's number? Day-Lewis's? Even DiCaprio's?

Yeh ? .... I'm sure that any non hibbies checking out the St Pat's video will be aware that the reason for his inclusion is that he used to carry the kit doon to ER.

Just to be clear ... I actually liked the video apart from the bits I have highlighted in my previous post. There is nothing wrong with paying homage to our roots or being proud of them. But I for one get really nervous at the thought that we could end up going too far with it and end up attracting the sort of Scottish folk who support Ireland in the World cup just coz their great granny came from Cork and at the same time putting off folk who dont want to be associated with plastic paddy syndrome.

As I have posted on other threads and someone elso on this one has already said. The best part of the history of the people who formed this club is their stuggle against poverty and discrimination and if Hibs and its supporters were to gain ( or have gained ) a reputation of being a wee bit left of centre and welcoming to those seen as outsiders, then thats a reputation I and I'm sure a lot of other Hibbies would be justifiably proud of.

06-04-2012, 05:03 PM
I agree with the bit in bold and watched the video expecting to hate it. However, what it made me think of was how important our club's Irish origins were to the people who founded it and also to those who supported it probably until maybe the 1920s or even later. It also made me think of my own family origins and of how, as Irish Catholics, they faced discrimination. For the Irish immigrant community between 1875 and maybe as late as the the 1920s Hibs must have been so important. I think that's still worth celebrating today - albeit as only one aspect of what we are. I'd like to think that those origins encourage us to be particularly welcoming and inclusive to today's immigrants and all minority groups (unlike some other clubs ). I even kind of liked the first song and now realise all the more why I hate hearing Hibs Fans singing that Rudi Scatchel song.

If an awareness of our origins helps counter what i see as an increasingly racist element in the Hibs support then thats one good reason imho for promoting a knowledge of those origins. For too long in my lifetime they were swept under the carpet by a succession of Chairmen.

FWIW I didnt think the video was Irish Republican either intended or implied. AFAIK the music wasnt of the " war song" variety and i saw no images of balaclava clad terrorists or current era Republicans. Connolly was a Hibbie and like it or not a number of Hibbies are extremely proud of that connection.... and just as often from a socialist as opposed to Republican viewpoint. I think there was one photo of him. There was also a photo of Benny Brazils coupon which I found more alarming :greengrin.

My sources in the Hibs Club tell me this new St Pats branch is thriving and very active in the Hibs community. In an era when we have been pish and supporters branches are struggling that should be commended. I also understand they do a fair bit for charity , most recently in conjunction with the Dnipro boys and girls.

06-04-2012, 05:12 PM

If an awareness of our origins helps counter what i see as an increasingly racist element in the Hibs support then thats one good reason imho for promoting a knowledge of those origins. For too long in my lifetime they were swept under the carpet by a succession of Chairmen.

FWIW I didnt think the video was Irish Republican either intended or implied. AFAIK the music wasnt of the " war song" variety and i saw no images of balaclava clad terrorists or current era Republicans. Connolly was a Hibbie and I think there was one photo of him. There was also a photo of Benny Brazils coupon which I found more alarming :greengrin.

My sources in the Hibs Club tell me this new St Pats branch is thriving and very active in the Hibs community. In an era when we have been pish and supporters branches are struggling that should be commended. I also understand they do a fair bit for charity , most recently in conjunction with the Dnipro boys and girls.

I dont think it was intended to be Republican, but I think you are kidding yourself if you cant see that there was certain elements of the video and certain stuff associated with St Pats branch ( the writing on their flags for example ) which whether intended to show Irish Republican leanings or not will be interpreted by those who would just love a stick to beat us with as such.

St Pats Branch
06-04-2012, 05:28 PM

There is no political drive from st pats branch.

You should have a look at our website, I bet you'll find a few interesting articles you weren't previously aware with regards to our clubs history.

Also you'd be welcome along to our branch meetings to find out what we're really about. You could even be persuaded to join. A variety of characters bringing their own thoughts to the table is exactly what we want (as long as they're hibbys).

We're a progressive branch open to ALL.
Glory glory to the hibees.

06-04-2012, 05:42 PM
Nice video and great to see a supporters branch cherish the roots of the club, as we all should.

But The Wolfetones? Meh......

hibbybrian
06-04-2012, 05:46 PM
Nice video and great to see a supporters branch cherish the roots of the club, as we all should.

But The Wolfetones? Meh......

The song was probably chosen as it specifically mentions the Hibs from Edinburgh :aok:

06-04-2012, 05:50 PM
The song was probably chosen as it specifically mentions the Hibs from Edinburgh :aok:

Yes, I watched the video and listened to the tunes. My view does not alter because you explain it in bold though :greengrin as anyone who has the faintest knowledge of the 'tones will know only too well what they stand for. A poor choice IMO.

06-04-2012, 05:54 PM
I dont think it was intended to be Republican, but I think you are kidding yourself if you cant see that there was certain elements of the video and certain stuff associated with St Pats branch ( the writing on their flags for example ) which whether intended to show Irish Republican leanings or not will be interpreted by those who would just love a stick to beat us with as such.

Only see their flag in the distance in the FF but it looks a cracker imho. i see its got the original crest and the branch name in bold lettering and Gaelic writing. i dont have a problem with that as long as theyre not campaigning for the club to change our current official crest.

I often think we worry to much about how we are interpreted.... trust me our name and colours are sufficient reasons on their own for ignorant others to view us as fenian bs. We were regarded as such when we had the crown and fitba crest and planet saturn official club crests. I think your naive if you think one branch using the clubs original logo and motto is going to make one bit of difference to those elements ... they already view us as pegselling taigs and always will. They no doubt would continue to do so even if we changed our name and colours

i see a flag and video that emphasises our Irish origins. You see one that tbh im not sure .... might offend some bigots who already have a bigoted view of us. Thats imo the kind of argument that would have made sure the harp was never reintroduced on the strips.

06-04-2012, 06:26 PM
Only see their flag in the distance in the FF but it looks a cracker imho. i see its got the original crest and the branch name in bold lettering and Gaelic writing. i dont have a problem with that as long as theyre not campaigning for the club to change our current official crest.

I often think we worry to much about how we are interpreted.... trust me our name and colours are sufficient reasons on their own for ignorant others to view us as fenian bs. We were regarded as such when we had the crown and fitba crest and planet saturn official club crests. I think your naive if you think one branch using the clubs original logo and motto is going to make one bit of difference to those elements ... they already view us as pegselling taigs and always will. They no doubt would continue to do so even if we changed our name and colours

i see a flag and video that emphasises our Irish origins. You see one that tbh im not sure .... might offend some bigots who already have a bigoted view of us. Thats imo the kind of argument that would have made sure the harp was never reintroduced on the strips.

I dont have a problem with Hibs Irish origins or Hibs or its fans alluding to them as I have said previously. I also dont have a problem with the logo on the St Patrick's branch flag or any flag like it.

But including James Connolly in anything to do with Hibs which is put into the public domain is not, celebrating or emphasising Hibs Irish origins, it is political and in my ( and a lot of other Hibbies ) opinion, not appropriate.

Writing in Gaelic on Hibs banners is putting too much emphasis on the Irish angle and to my mind detracts from the Scottish nature of the football club as it is now. FWIW I think the inclusion of the Harp in the club badge is a perfect way to pay homage to the clubs roots and was welcomed by many Hibs fans at the time, including me.

I am not worried about what the bigots think of us ( as you rightly say they dont need any encouragement anyway ) but I do worry about how the rest of Scottish football views Hibs and the people who support it. I for one want them to look on us as a Scottish football club. Not an Irish one.

Sorry this is in bold ... couldnt get my computer to revert to normal type I'm not trying to shout :greengrin

06-04-2012, 06:30 PM
I dont have a problem with Hibs Irish origins or Hibs or its fans alluding to them as I have said previously. I also dont have a problem with the logo on the St Patrick's branch flag or any flag like it.

But including James Connolly in anything to do with Hibs which is put into the public domain is not, celebrating or emphasising Hibs Irish origins, it is political and in my ( and a lot of other Hibbies ) opinion, not appropriate.

Writing in Gaelic on Hibs banners is putting too much emphasis on the Irish angle and to my mind detracts from the Scottish nature of the football club as it is now. FWIW I think the inclusion of the Harp in the club badge is a perfect way to pay homage to the clubs roots and was welcomed by many Hibs fans at the time, including me.

I am not worried about what the bigots think of us ( as you rightly say they dont need any encouragement anyway ) but I do worry about how the rest of Scottish football views Hibs and the people who support it. I for one want them to look on us as a Scottish football club. Not an Irish one.

Sorry this is in bold ... couldnt get my computer to revert to normal type I'm not trying to shout :greengrin

[/B]

Thats my view too, unless we get an addition to the video of a Tam McCourt picture or statue. :wink:

yeezus.
06-04-2012, 07:18 PM

[/B]

Too much emphasis on the Irishness? Hibernia = Ireland. Gaelic banners are fine as it was the official language of Scotland too.

I listen to the Wolfe Tones privately and I certainly wouldn't wish to sing songs like Celtic fans do, but our Irish roots aren't anything to be ashamed of.

H113EE5
06-04-2012, 07:42 PM

Totally agree... we're well past this pastiche of Ireland. Our team is now a proud Scottish / Edinburgh team and we don't need or want the baggage that goes with Irish ‘tradition’. Please, please leave this cr@p to the erses in the West of Scotland who seem to glory in their paranoia and fancies of the 1800s. I went to St Pats every Sunday back in the ‘60s, fully understand the problems faced by Catholics back then but I do not want to hear this pi$h on a Saturday at a football match.

yeezus.
06-04-2012, 07:44 PM
Totally agree... we're well past this pastiche of Ireland. Our team is now a proud Scottish / Edinburgh team and we don't need or want the baggage that goes with Irish ‘tradition’. Please, please leave this cr@p to the erses in the West of Scotland who seem to glory in their paranoia and fancies of the 1800s. I went to St Pats every Sunday back in the ‘60s, fully understand the problems faced by Catholics back then but I do not want to hear this pi$h on a Saturday at a football match.

we're not all like that in the west of Scotland!

H113EE5
06-04-2012, 07:50 PM
You're right... my apologies. For West of Scotland, read Celtic & Rangers supporters........

06-04-2012, 08:05 PM
Too much emphasis on the Irishness? Hibernia = Ireland. Gaelic banners are fine as it was the official language of Scotland too.

I listen to the Wolfe Tones privately and I certainly wouldn't wish to sing songs like Celtic fans do, but our Irish roots aren't anything to be ashamed of.

Gaelic has never been spoken in any pure form in the parts of Scotland south of the Forth and if it ever was it was for a very short time. The name Hibernian was chosen for the club because the people who founded it were first generation Irish. Most people who support, play for, or run Hibernian in the modern era are Scottish and proud of it. The name is a link to the origins of the club and as such is sacrosanct to me and everybody who loves this club.

Where in any post on matters related to this subject have I ever even hinted that I am ashamed of the roots of this club.

Hells bells ..... If that were the case I would have to be ashamed of my own roots, which I certainly am not.

yeezus.
06-04-2012, 10:41 PM
[/B]Gaelic has never been spoken in any pure form in the parts of Scotland south of the Forth and if it ever was it was for a very short time. The name Hibernian was chosen for the club because the people who founded it were first generation Irish. Most people who support, play for, or run Hibernian in the modern era are Scottish and proud of it. The name is a link to the origins of the club and as such is sacrosanct to me and everybody who loves this club.

Where in any post on matters related to this subject have I ever even hinted that I am ashamed of the roots of this club.

Hells bells ..... If that were the case I would have to be ashamed of my own roots, which I certainly am not.

Gaelic was spoken fluently in Galloway and south Ayrshire.
And sorry, I wasn't referring to you specifically not being proud of our Irish roots - I was making a general point.

06-04-2012, 10:55 PM
I think some of the Wolfe Tones songs are acceptable - but should be kept away from football grounds

I would agree if it was men behind the wire or something like that but that's actually quite a good song.

07-04-2012, 07:47 AM

I've never heard any songs of that nature sung by hibs fans, ever.(possibly with the exception of forever and ever...)

As long as thats not what's happening I see nothing wrong with a branch that celebrates our history, as long as they're still supporting Hibernian as a modern Scottish club

mentalhibee
07-04-2012, 07:48 AM
Quality video, the song, the pictures....magic.

07-04-2012, 08:05 AM

There is are 6 pages of info on the origins of the club on the official website mate, link here (http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/page/Timeline/0,,10290,00.html)

07-04-2012, 09:17 AM

You should have a look at our website, I bet you'll find a few interesting articles you weren't previously aware with regards to our clubs history.

Also you'd be welcome along to our branch meetings to find out what we're really about. You could even be persuaded to join. A variety of characters bringing their own thoughts to the table is exactly what we want (as long as they're hibbys).

Good stuff! Great to know there's an active St Pat's branch - good luck to you. The old place means a lot to me having had Irish roots in the Cowgate. My late Dad (who was a Scouser) always wondered why we didn't have a supporters branch named after the church.
Must try and make it along to one of your meetings in the near future.

07-04-2012, 10:18 AM

Hi St Pat's dudes

Look I seriously am not trying to start any arguments regarding St Pat's branch and you have the right to celebrate Hibs in any way you see fit. Its certainly not my business to tell folk what to do, but as a fellow Hibby I feel that I do have to express my opinion when I think that stuff is happening which might not be in the best interests of Hibs as a club or me as a Hibs supporter.

I had already checked out your website before this thread ever started and though I felt it was heading in the direction of promoting Hibs Irishness rather than celebrating it I didnt feel it was bad enough for me not to apply for membership, which I did about 3 weeks ago. Still havnt received my membership card by the way ... Ha ha.

A couple of your guys might remember me from the Killie cup tie at ER when I held a corner of the flag at half time coz it looked like they could do with a hand.

My way of looking at this subject has been the same since the 70s when there was a bit too much Tricolour waving going on and a few too many songs being sung which didnt have the words Hibernian, Hibs or Hibees in the lyrics, if you know what I mean.

Thankfully these days ore gone, but I get a sweat on when I see anything which I think ( even by accident ) paves the way for them to return.

We all know that in recent times the great unwashed in the west of the city have cranked things up a notch or two when it comes to the union jack waving, billy boys stuff. If we start to look like we are cranking it up in the opposite direction the possible consequences could be, at best, unfortunate. I am not saying that what we do should be done with half an eye on Gorgie, but what I dont want is for the idiots on both sides to be given any encouragement.

I want to see Hibbies and Yams running up and down Easter Road or Gorgie Road knocking lumps out of each other coz of good old fashioned football rivalry and not for any other reason, whether real or affected.

That is why the inclusion of James Connolly in your otherwise excellent video was to my mind a step too far, yes he may well have been a Hibby, but at the end of the day he is a hero of the Irish Republican movement and by association makes it look like the people responsible for producing the film are tying in being Hibs supporters with being supporters of Irish republicanism. The choice of the Wolfe Tones as backing music for the film adds fuel to the fire as far as I can see.

If Hibs are to be viewed in any social or even political sense then I want it to be as a club which stands for fairness, charity and social inclusion. Something the club appears to agree with if recent events are anything to go by.

Anything which makes it appear that Hibs or those who support it are actively promoting the cause of Irish Republicanism is counter productive to the image of the club and us as its supporters and to my mind is not appropriate.

I was accused of being naive by another poster on this thread, but if the producers of this film seriously think that it will not be perceived by others as having Irish Republican leanings then the question is ...... who is being naive?

Hibees forever

hibbiedon
07-04-2012, 01:40 PM

Wow, that is one of the nastiest cheap shots iv read on here, not all Hibs fans are irish or tims without the busfare Im Scots and a proud Hibs fan and have no connection with Ireland, Im not anti Irish but pro Scots

yeezus.
07-04-2012, 02:16 PM
I would agree if it was men behind the wire or something like that but that's actually quite a good song.

It's very political though (men behind the wire), I was brought up around IRA/UVF songs and one of the reasons I love Hibs is because we keep politics and football separate.

I've been to Wolfe Tones concerts - it's just a piss up for Celtic fans.

07-04-2012, 02:44 PM
It's very political though (men behind the wire), I was brought up around IRA/UVF songs and one of the reasons I love Hibs is because we keep politics and football separate.

I've been to Wolfe Tones concerts - it's just a piss up for Celtic fans.

That's what I meant, whilst Wolfe tones songs are generally of a political nature that song isn't really and has resonance with the history of the club.

07-04-2012, 02:47 PM
Well as a St Pat's old boy, I love it. Some of the debate around it is engaging but some of it is sadly tripe.

I am on the Branch mailing list and intend to affiliate in the very near future.

In fact 'I'm off tomorrow morn.......'

Keep up the good work men.

SY

07-04-2012, 02:51 PM
Wow, that is one of the nastiest cheap shots iv read on here, not all Hibs fans are irish or tims without the busfare Im Scots and a proud Hibs fan and have no connection with Ireland, Im not anti Irish but pro Scots

Whilst you may not have any connection to Ireland, the football team you support most certainly does.

There's too many seem to think that heritage should just be swept under the carpet because they can't differentiate between celebrating that heritage and the nonsense that emanates from Celtic park.

hibbiedon
07-04-2012, 03:03 PM
Whilst you may not have any connection to Ireland, the football team you support most certainly does.

There's too many seem to think that heritage should just be swept under the carpet because they can't differentiate between celebrating that heritage and the nonsense that emanates from Celtic park.

The football club I support is not from Ireland but was started by people who left Ireland to come to Scotland, so from day one we were a Scottish club, We are a football club, that is our heritage

07-04-2012, 03:40 PM

Thats the problem though .... Your point here cuts both ways. As you say there is a difference between celebrating Hibs heritage and getting too close to "the nonsense that eminates from Celtic park"

I think that the vast majority of Hibs supporters can differentiate between the two and that for some of us a video about Hibs which includes music by the Wolfe Tones and pictures of James Connolly crosses the line separating the two.

St Pats Branch
07-04-2012, 04:04 PM
Hi St Pat's dudes

Look I seriously am not trying to start any arguments regarding St Pat's branch and you have the right to celebrate Hibs in any way you see fit. Its certainly not my business to tell folk what to do, but as a fellow Hibby I feel that I do have to express my opinion when I think that stuff is happening which might not be in the best interests of Hibs as a club or me as a Hibs supporter.

I had already checked out your website before this thread ever started and though I felt it was heading in the direction of promoting Hibs Irishness rather than celebrating it I didnt feel it was bad enough for me not to apply for membership, which I did about 3 weeks ago. Still havnt received my membership card by the way ... Ha ha.

A couple of your guys might remember me from the Killie cup tie at ER when I held a corner of the flag at half time coz it looked like they could do with a hand.

My way of looking at this subject has been the same since the 70s when there was a bit too much Tricolour waving going on and a few too many songs being sung which didnt have the words Hibernian, Hibs or Hibees in the lyrics, if you know what I mean.

Thankfully these days ore gone, but I get a sweat on when I see anything which I think ( even by accident ) paves the way for them to return.

We all know that in recent times the great unwashed in the west of the city have cranked things up a notch or two when it comes to the union jack waving, billy boys stuff. If we start to look like we are cranking it up in the opposite direction the possible consequences could be, at best, unfortunate. I am not saying that what we do should be done with half an eye on Gorgie, but what I dont want is for the idiots on both sides to be given any encouragement.

I want to see Hibbies and Yams running up and down Easter Road or Gorgie Road knocking lumps out of each other coz of good old fashioned football rivalry and not for any other reason, whether real or affected.

That is why the inclusion of James Connolly in your otherwise excellent video was to my mind a step too far, yes he may well have been a Hibby, but at the end of the day he is a hero of the Irish Republican movement and by association makes it look like the people responsible for producing the film are tying in being Hibs supporters with being supporters of Irish republicanism. The choice of the Wolfe Tones as backing music for the film adds fuel to the fire as far as I can see.

If Hibs are to be viewed in any social or even political sense then I want it to be as a club which stands for fairness, charity and social inclusion. Something the club appears to agree with if recent events are anything to go by.

Anything which makes it appear that Hibs or those who support it are actively promoting the cause of Irish Republicanism is counter productive to the image of the club and us as its supporters and to my mind is not appropriate.

I was accused of being naive by another poster on this thread, but if the producers of this film seriously think that it will not be perceived by others as having Irish Republican leanings then the question is ...... who is being naive?

Hibees forever

Pm me your name and I'll check what's happening with your membership

I think the cards only get processed once a month by the club so would expect you'll see I soon

07-04-2012, 04:18 PM

What an utterly ****my post that is. Calling your fellow Hibs fans huns because they don't agree with your extreme opinion on what Hibs are.

Our stadium would be a lot emptier and our history no where near as colourful if we'd stuck purely to our Irish Catholic roots.

Sure, our Irish heritage is part of our colourful make-up, however it's not the be all and end all. Hibs have moved on from 1875, maybe it's time that you did too.

07-04-2012, 04:43 PM
Excellent video,, great pictures from past too
on a side note, is that davey moyes playing for dunfermline when mcintyre scores the penalty???
Bt

07-04-2012, 04:44 PM
Hi St Pat's dudes

Hibees forever

Me neither :greengrin I joined because I know a couple of the guys there and to be honest its Hibs that come first before anything else that might be in the vid, nothing in it offends or surprises me.
I think the Wolf Tones are ****** personally and prefer to apply Proclaimers music to our club, Lothian Sky for example but the song chosen isn't that bad for them. James Connolly means nothing to me in a Hibs context nor does Irish Republicanism but Ireland and the rest of the video does for historical reasons, its importnat to understand our roots and mark how far we have developed from them in a positive way down the years. Proud of them but not constrained by them is how I like to see it.

07-04-2012, 04:45 PM
What an utterly ****my post that is. Calling your fellow Hibs fans huns because they don't agree with your extreme opinion on what Hibs are.

Our stadium would be a lot emptier and our history no where near as colourful if we'd stuck purely to our Irish Catholic roots.
Sure, our Irish heritage is part of our colourful make-up, however it's not the be all and end all. Hibs have moved on from 1875, maybe it's time that you did too.

No need for this. I think Brizo has already owned up to his paranoia further back on the thread after Fat Freddy gave him his comeback on it. And I'm not sure you can qualify any of your statement one way or another either. Supposition at best. We won 1 of our 2 Scottish Cups with that very framework after all. Whose to say World domination was not just around the corner for us, rather than the demise we faced? I'm happy with how we've turned out and proud of our existence but we will never know what might have been.

07-04-2012, 04:54 PM
No need for this. I think Brizo has already owned up to his paranoia further back on the thread after Fat Freddy gave him his comeback on it. And I'm not sure you can qualify any of your statement one way or another either. Supposition at best. We won 1 of our 2 Scottish Cups with that very framework after all. Whose to say World domination was not just around the corner for us, rather than the demise we faced? I'm happy with how we've turned out and proud of our existence but we will never know what might have been.

Aye maybe he did. But for some strange reason I started reading the thread from the eh.....start.

07-04-2012, 05:32 PM

Extreme opinion ?. Wind your neck in. What extreme opinions? Show me anywhere where I have expressed extreme views on either this or any other thread. You are talking total pish. I am proud of our origins but am equally proud of our inclusive nature and the fact we are a club for people from all backgrounds ; and have stated so in a number of previous posts. There are a small number of supporters hostile to our origins and i misinterpreted an earlier posters comment ... for which I put my hand up.

Aye maybe he did. But for some strange reason I started reading the thread from the eh.....start.

"Aye maybe he did" ... i think you'll find i definitely did. Im man enough to admit i jumped the gun. Your obviously not. Maybe next time read a thread through before you come out with your pish.

07-04-2012, 05:54 PM
Extreme opinion ?. Wind your neck in. What extreme opinions? Show me anywhere where I have expressed extreme views on either this or any other thread. You are talking total pish. I am proud of our origins but am equally proud of our inclusive nature and the fact we are a club for people from all backgrounds ; and have stated so in a number of previous posts. There are a small number of supporters hostile to our origins and i misinterpreted an earlier posters comment ... for which I put my hand up.

"Aye maybe he did" ... i think you'll find i definitely did. Im man enough to admit i jumped the gun. Your obviously not. Maybe next time read a thread through before you come out with your pish.

All right, keep your hair on. So you don't consider calling fellow Hibbies who don't share your opinion to be huns extreme? You did retract your statement to a poster who disagrees with you because he fits your RC image of what a Hibs fan should be. Would you have done the same if he was of the Protestant persuasion?

Think you've also not thought through the idea of having to read a whole thread before making a comment on it. The notion that I should read all posts on a thread before is pure tosh, do I have to spend 4 hours reading the "Rangers go into Administration" thread before adding to it?

As for you telling me to wind my neck in, well I'll decide when to do that thank you very much.

07-04-2012, 06:46 PM
All right, keep your hair on. So you don't consider calling fellow Hibbies who don't share your opinion to be huns extreme? You did retract your statement to a poster who disagrees with you because he fits your RC image of what a Hibs fan should be. Would you have done the same if he was of the Protestant persuasion?

Think you've also not thought through the idea of having to read a whole thread before making a comment on it. The notion that I should read all posts on a thread before is pure tosh, do I have to spend 4 hours reading the "Rangers go into Administration" thread before adding to it?

As for you telling me to wind my neck in, well I'll decide when to do that thank you very much.

Paragraph 1 final two sentences ... more offensive nonsense. I take back what ive said to another poster and you attempt to twist it into me doing it for some sectarian reason. Priceless. Im not going to dignify those sentences with an answer other than to say you know the square root of heehaw about me and my background so please dont make up nonsense like that to fit your own purposes. Attempting to paint me the way you are says a lot more about you than it does about me.

Paragraph 2 Your still not man enough are you ... your problem not mine.

Paragraph 3 If i want to tell you to wind your neck in I will... there ive just done it again. Your starting to bore me now tbh .... better things to do on a saturday night. Previous posts I thought you were a trumpet ... now your coming over as the full brass section.

07-04-2012, 07:25 PM
Nice, personal insults. That tells me all I need to know about you. I'm gone.

07-04-2012, 08:02 PM

Did you miss the middle?

Nice, personal insults. That tells me all I need to know about you. I'm gone.

Maybe best.

07-04-2012, 08:47 PM
Loving this track - Never heard it from the Wolfe Tones before.

Anyone have the lyrics.

07-04-2012, 10:02 PM

I'm sure I read in one of the Hibs history series of books that Connolly used to carry the kit down to Easter Rd from the Cowgate as a bairn.Speaking of the books, I've always thought that they could easily be turned into a hollywood blockbuster in the style of Gangs of New York - though probably with (a little) less swedging. Does anyone have Scorsese's number? Day-Lewis's? Even DiCaprio's?

It's a nice story but I have always doubted the veracity if it. I have read a fair bit about Connolly over the years and one of the things that stood out was how little information there was available on his early life which makes the detail claimed in the Hibs history remarkable to say the least.

07-04-2012, 10:37 PM
It's a nice story but I have always doubted the veracity if it. I have read a fair bit about Connolly over the years and one of the things that stood out was how little information there was available on his early life which makes the detail claimed in the Hibs history remarkable to say the least.

You may doubt, but the detail in Lugton's trilogy is the remarkable thing. There is no lack of information about Connolly's early life if research is applied. I had an Auntie through marriage, who was a great-niece of the man. James Connolly's descendants are cousins of mine, post on these very boards and are Season Ticket holders at ER.

harpo
07-04-2012, 10:52 PM
Anybody who is ashamed Of James Connolly being linked to Hibernian must be ashamed of the excellent Making of Hibernian trilogy books where there are numerous references too the great man. The following is an extract from one of the books.

Spectating at the holy ground with his socialist comrades during the friendly with Preston North End was the most remarkable Hibs supporter ever: his name was James Connolly. James Connolly was born in a Little Ireland slum lodging house at 107 Cowgate, Edinburgh on 6 June 1868. There is a plaque at the spot to mark the memory of Edinburgh's famous son:

To the memory of James Connolly
Born 6th June 1868 at 107 Cowgate
Renowned International Trade Union
and working class Leader
Founder of the Irish Socialist Republican Party
Member of Provisional Goverment of
Irish Republic
Executed 12 May 1916 at Kilmainham Jail, Dublin.

Born of Irish immigrant parents, James Connolly, with his father and brothers, was at the founding of Hibernian Football Club at St. Mary Street Halls in 1875, and remained a devouted Hibernian throughout all the trials and tribulations of his life. As a 12 year old barefoot street urchin James Connolly would carry the Hiberian players' kit down Easter Road for them, which ensured him of a sixpence and free admission to the match, and carried out hundreds of odd jobs at the ground. Tommy Joyce, a Hibernian player of the times, remembered him vividly. Young Connolly and his street urchin pals, the younger sons of the Emerald Isle', used to sprawl along the Easter Road touch-line cheering on the Hibs, and Tommy Joyce would shout 'get oot the way Jim yooz yins u'll git trampled on.'
Due to unemployment, when James was only 14 he falsified his age and name and enlisted in Edinburgh's own regiment, the 2nd battalion Royal Scots. It was now that fate took a decisive hand in the life of James Connolly, when his battalion was shipped over to Cork and he set his eyes on his spiritul home, Ireland, for the first time. He served for seven years in Ireland and became engaged to an Irish Protestant girl, Lillie Reyonolds, and after his army service they married on 20 April 1890 at St Johns R.C. Church, Perth, before returning to Edinburgh to take up residence in Little Ireland at 22 West Port at the corner of the Grassmarket. It was now that James Connolly became involved in the crusade for the improvement of the working-class through Labour politics and it was he who made the pipe-dream of a Labour party pledge to sociaism start to take shape, Non- drinker, non-smoker James Connolly worked as a carter for a contractor of the Edinburgh Corporation and during his socialist crusade he did fund-raising for Hibernian when they were struggling for survival in the early 1890's. When Hibernian started plying again he followed tham as faithfully as ever as his meagre wages would allow:

Twas a cold, wet Saturday afternoon as he stood inside the barricade, he had not got his dinner,
his feet were wet and he shivered all over. Where was this and who was he?
This was a Hibernian football match at Easter Road and he was James Connolly the wage slave
enjoying his half-holiday.

Unemployment was rife, however, and this brought James Connolly, his wife and three daughters to starvation level before he reluctantly accepted the job of political organiser for the Dublin Socialist Club, and he was at Easter Road that day in late April 1896 to watch the friendly against Preston North End with his socialist comrades as part of a farewell bash they laid on for him. James Connolly was one month short of his 28th birthday when he left his Edinburgh home with his wife and family but he was to return many times to help the Labour struggle and never missed the opportunity to see his beloved Hibernian. In 1903 the Connollys emigrated to America and over the next seven years fought for the American working class, rising to great prominence in the massive trades union movement, the Industrail Workers of the World. During his years in America James Connolly always sought out information about Hibernian and in one of his few surviving letters to anold comrade in Edinburgh's Little Ireland he tells us:

'the only information I got lately on the Hibs was when a little Scotsman told me Hearts were in the final
of the Scottish Cup and they were knocking hell out the Hibs, whereat i felt very much depressed.

When james Connolly returned to Ireland he became a top official with the Irish Transport and General Workers Union and led the Great Irish Labour War in 1913. It turned out to be one of the greatest labour struggles in Western European history, with the London goverment bring ing the full weight of the armed forces of 'law and order' down upon the unarmed Irish working class. The strike of the Great Irish Labour was not about wages or conditions, it was about the basic human right of Irish workers to be members of the I.T.G.W.U., the union of their own democratic free choice in their own country. James Connolly won the struggle and it's beneficial effects have been enjoyed by men and women right round the world. To safeguard the lives of his workers during the strike, James Connolly was forced to form his Irish Citezens Army, a workers' self-protection militia, Europe's first Red Guard. Three years later, James Connolly was one of the leaders of the Easter Rebellion in Dublin in 1916, Europe's first expression of people-power in a social and national revolution. James Connolly was executed at the hands of an English firing-squad as an Irish patriot, Labour hero and founding father of the Irish republic, which is today a free democratic European country which is a member od the European Economic Community and a member of the United Nations. Without doubt James Connolly must be the most remarkable Hibs supporter ever.

My opinion is that James Connolly was a great man and a proud Hibernian, and it was great to see him in the St Pats link.

Glory Glory

07-04-2012, 11:22 PM
Top Class. :top marks

07-04-2012, 11:49 PM
It's a nice story but I have always doubted the veracity if it. I have read a fair bit about Connolly over the years and one of the things that stood out was how little information there was available on his early life which makes the detail claimed in the Hibs history remarkable to say the least.your an unbeliever, with nae faith:zzzzz next thing you'll say is we will never win the Scottish cup:wink:

07-04-2012, 11:56 PM
agrree with you to a point,especially after reading your later comment re.st pats etc. however at loss as to how you could be embarrassed by a song that is factually correct &has nowt to do with phoney irishness practiced by the great unwashed. be proud to be right!!!!!:pfgwa:pfgwa:pfgwa

be proud to be the first!!!!!!!!well said. the only problem I have with you is: too much information, when Iwas on the verge o' being an out and out Hibby, you tipped me over.so you are one of them to blame! and look at me know!! ya bassa!!!!:greengrin

andudare2
08-04-2012, 07:55 AM
well said. the only problem I have with you is: too much information, when Iwas on the verge o' being an out and out Hibby, you tipped me over.so you are one of them to blame! and look at me know!! ya bassa!!!!:greengrinthink you meant to say out&out hun ma man!:greengrin

08-04-2012, 08:09 AM
You may doubt, but the detail in Lugton's trilogy is the remarkable thing. There is no lack of information about Connolly's early life if research is applied. I had an Auntie through marriage, who was a great-niece of the man. James Connolly's descendants are cousins of mine, post on these very boards and are Season Ticket holders at ER.

I am not doubting there is a connection. The first thing that springs to my mind whenever Connolly is mentioned is Socialist , not Hibby. Don't go taking from my post that I would be ashamed of any connection though, far from it.

St Pats Branch
08-04-2012, 08:19 AM
http://www.hiberniansaintpatricks.co.uk/pdf/Auld%20Hibernians%20(Names).pdf the above is a link to a section on our site and has details of the clubs original player and staff list. Can anyone comment on number 8, is this the same man?

For those interested, the link below is a map which corresponds with above list. http://www.hiberniansaintpatricks.co.uk/pdf/Auld%20Hibernians%20(Map).pdf

08-04-2012, 08:32 AM
I am not doubting there is a connection. The first thing that springs to my mind whenever Connolly is mentioned is Socialist , not Hibby. Don't go taking from my post that I would be ashamed of any connection though, far from it.

He can be both though.

I never took anything in that from your post and apologies if it read that way.

08-04-2012, 08:36 AM
Anybody who is ashamed Of James Connolly being linked to Hibernian must be ashamed of the excellent Making of Hibernian trilogy books where there are numerous references too the great man. The following is an extract from one of the books.

Spectating at the holy ground with his socialist comrades during the friendly with Preston North End was the most remarkable Hibs supporter ever: his name was James Connolly. James Connolly was born in a Little Ireland slum lodging house at 107 Cowgate, Edinburgh on 6 June 1868. There is a plaque at the spot to mark the memory of Edinburgh's famous son:

To the memory of James Connolly
Born 6th June 1868 at 107 Cowgate
Renowned International Trade Union
and working class Leader
Founder of the Irish Socialist Republican Party
Member of Provisional Goverment of
Irish Republic
Executed 12 May 1916 at Kilmainham Jail, Dublin.

Born of Irish immigrant parents, James Connolly, with his father and brothers, was at the founding of Hibernian Football Club at St. Mary Street Halls in 1875, and remained a devouted Hibernian throughout all the trials and tribulations of his life. As a 12 year old barefoot street urchin James Connolly would carry the Hiberian players' kit down Easter Road for them, which ensured him of a sixpence and free admission to the match, and carried out hundreds of odd jobs at the ground. Tommy Joyce, a Hibernian player of the times, remembered him vividly. Young Connolly and his street urchin pals, the younger sons of the Emerald Isle', used to sprawl along the Easter Road touch-line cheering on the Hibs, and Tommy Joyce would shout 'get oot the way Jim yooz yins u'll git trampled on.'
Due to unemployment, when James was only 14 he falsified his age and name and enlisted in Edinburgh's own regiment, the 2nd battalion Royal Scots. It was now that fate took a decisive hand in the life of James Connolly, when his battalion was shipped over to Cork and he set his eyes on his spiritul home, Ireland, for the first time. He served for seven years in Ireland and became engaged to an Irish Protestant girl, Lillie Reyonolds, and after his army service they married on 20 April 1890 at St Johns R.C. Church, Perth, before returning to Edinburgh to take up residence in Little Ireland at 22 West Port at the corner of the Grassmarket. It was now that James Connolly became involved in the crusade for the improvement of the working-class through Labour politics and it was he who made the pipe-dream of a Labour party pledge to sociaism start to take shape, Non- drinker, non-smoker James Connolly worked as a carter for a contractor of the Edinburgh Corporation and during his socialist crusade he did fund-raising for Hibernian when they were struggling for survival in the early 1890's. When Hibernian started plying again he followed tham as faithfully as ever as his meagre wages would allow:

Twas a cold, wet Saturday afternoon as he stood inside the barricade, he had not got his dinner,
his feet were wet and he shivered all over. Where was this and who was he?
This was a Hibernian football match at Easter Road and he was James Connolly the wage slave
enjoying his half-holiday.

Unemployment was rife, however, and this brought James Connolly, his wife and three daughters to starvation level before he reluctantly accepted the job of political organiser for the Dublin Socialist Club, and he was at Easter Road that day in late April 1896 to watch the friendly against Preston North End with his socialist comrades as part of a farewell bash they laid on for him. James Connolly was one month short of his 28th birthday when he left his Edinburgh home with his wife and family but he was to return many times to help the Labour struggle and never missed the opportunity to see his beloved Hibernian. In 1903 the Connollys emigrated to America and over the next seven years fought for the American working class, rising to great prominence in the massive trades union movement, the Industrail Workers of the World. During his years in America James Connolly always sought out information about Hibernian and in one of his few surviving letters to anold comrade in Edinburgh's Little Ireland he tells us:

'the only information I got lately on the Hibs was when a little Scotsman told me Hearts were in the final
of the Scottish Cup and they were knocking hell out the Hibs, whereat i felt very much depressed.

When james Connolly returned to Ireland he became a top official with the Irish Transport and General Workers Union and led the Great Irish Labour War in 1913. It turned out to be one of the greatest labour struggles in Western European history, with the London goverment bring ing the full weight of the armed forces of 'law and order' down upon the unarmed Irish working class. The strike of the Great Irish Labour was not about wages or conditions, it was about the basic human right of Irish workers to be members of the I.T.G.W.U., the union of their own democratic free choice in their own country. James Connolly won the struggle and it's beneficial effects have been enjoyed by men and women right round the world. To safeguard the lives of his workers during the strike, James Connolly was forced to form his Irish Citezens Army, a workers' self-protection militia, Europe's first Red Guard. Three years later, James Connolly was one of the leaders of the Easter Rebellion in Dublin in 1916, Europe's first expression of people-power in a social and national revolution. James Connolly was executed at the hands of an English firing-squad as an Irish patriot, Labour hero and founding father of the Irish republic, which is today a free democratic European country which is a member od the European Economic Community and a member of the United Nations. Without doubt James Connolly must be the most remarkable Hibs supporter ever.

My opinion is that James Connolly was a great man and a proud Hibernian, and it was great to see him in the St Pats link.

Glory Glory

If James Connolly was indeed a fan of the club then great, it is an interesting historical fact. Every football club revels in its celebrity supporters past and present.

As a historical character Mr Connolly is one for the people of Edinburgh to be proud of, a socialist freedom fighter who was doing the business in the days when such things could ( and did in his case ) get you killed.

This is not a discussion about whether Hibs fans should be proud of James Connolly. The argument is whether it is appropriate to feature him in Hibs related films, because like it or not it puts us in the same ballpark as those in the west coast who are still living in the 19th century. You might not agree with that, but thats how others will see it.

As an aside to that ..... There has been a bit of personal stuff flying about on this thread, which is a real pity ..... we are all Hibbies here and whether or not you come down on one side or another in this debate, lets stick together eh !

08-04-2012, 08:36 AM
http://www.hiberniansaintpatricks.co.uk/pdf/Auld%20Hibernians%20(Names).pdf the above is a link to a section on our site and has details of the clubs original player and staff list. Can anyone comment on number 8, is this the same man?

For those interested, the link below is a map which corresponds with above list. http://www.hiberniansaintpatricks.co.uk/pdf/Auld%20Hibernians%20(Map).pdf

It sounds like it might be. I have passed this on to someone who might know better.

08-04-2012, 12:26 PM
I think we should play that tune before each game, well the ones V Rangers and Hearts :pfgwa
No thanks, we don't all enjoy that Paddy nonsense.

10-04-2012, 09:57 AM
Paragraph 1 final two sentences ... more offensive nonsense. I take back what ive said to another poster and you attempt to twist it into me doing it for some sectarian reason. Priceless. Im not going to dignify those sentences with an answer other than to say you know the square root of heehaw about me and my background so please dont make up nonsense like that to fit your own purposes. Attempting to paint me the way you are says a lot more about you than it does about me.

Paragraph 2 Your still not man enough are you ... your problem not mine.

Paragraph 3 If i want to tell you to wind your neck in I will... there ive just done it again. Your starting to bore me now tbh .... better things to do on a saturday night. Previous posts I thought you were a trumpet ... now your coming over as the full brass section.

Apology/Retraction.

If you read this Brizo I'd like to apologise for what I now see as a complete over reaction to your original post on this thread.

I took offence to the term "Hibby Hun" and in doing so assumed wrongly that you were something I now know you are not.

After the red mist has settled I've taken time to read some of your posts on other threads and my assumption that you are some kind of radical Republican is completely unfounded and you actually come across as a very reasonable poster. Taking that into account your statement regarding the orchestral brass section now seems quite fitting.

Sorry.

10-04-2012, 10:10 AM
Seems like you're a decent bloke too.

N.Wales Hibby
10-04-2012, 01:21 PM
Apology/Retraction.

If you read this Brizo I'd like to apologise for what I now see as a complete over reaction to your original post on this thread.

I took offence to the term "Hibby Hun" and in doing so assumed wrongly that you were something I now know you are not.

After the red mist has settled I've taken time to read some of your posts on other threads and my assumption that you are some kind of radical Republican is completely unfounded and you actually come across as a very reasonable poster. Taking that into account your statement regarding the orchestral brass section now seems quite fitting.

Sorry.

We have all said or done things in the heat of the moment that we later regret.Good on you to be man enough to apologise.

10-04-2012, 03:19 PM
Having read through 94 posts, I'm amazed that a thread that was started with a video celebrating 137 years of Hibs' history degenerated so quickly into name-calling and back-biting. Maybe I could quote Wolfe Tone (the real one, who happened to be a member of the Church of Ireland and therefore a Protestant, BTW) on the subject of bigotry and dissension?

"To subvert the tyranny of our execrable government, to break the connection with England, the never-failing source of all our political evils, and to assert the independence of my country, these were my objects. To unite the whole people of Ireland, to abolish the memory of past dissensions, and to substitute the common name of Irishman, in place of the denominations of Protestant, Catholic and Dissenter, these were my means...."

Substitute "Scotland" for "Ireland", and "Scotsman" for "Irishman", and I will heartily drink to all that at any time or place.

And I believe that were he alive today, James Connolly would be more than happy to join us.

AND for myself, I would consider myself honoured by their company.

I don't think it's wise to try to distance ourselves too far from our Irish roots. Like it or not, that's where the club comes from - the Irish immigrant community of the South Side of the High Street of Edinburgh. Hibernian, the harp, and the green-and-white shirts are who we are as a football club, and there isn't a lot we can do about that.

However, the fact that those are our roots shouldn't be allowed to obscure the fact that the club has come a long way in 137 years.

Thanks to the treachery of our "Oirish" brothers in Glasgow at the end of the 1880's, Hibs had to move away from an exclusively Irish Catholic constituency towards becoming the local football team for the east end of Edinburgh, Leith, and the industrial end of East Lothian. Which means people like myself and my family came into the support, along with a whole lot of people like us. (Most of my favourtie colleagues and mates in the C of S ministry are Hibees, BTW.)

One of the reasons for the establishment of Hibernian in the first place was to face up to, and face down, sectarian bigotry. You can't do that by embracing bigotry in any shape or form yourself. It really hurts and offends many of us when we hear songs or chants or comments from the stands at ER attacking players for their race, colour, ethnic origins, or sexuality - that goes absolutely contrary to the original intentions of the people who founded the club, or for that matter, the intentions and beliefs of men like Wolfe Tone and James Connolly.

How many of the players shown on that video were/are Catholics, and how many Protestant? Baker, Stanton, the Famous Five, Benny, whoever?

Does anyone know? I don't.

Does anyone care? I don't.

If you do care, I suggest that you've entirely missed the point about why Hibs were set up in the first place, and why the club's still around after two serious attempts on its life.

I don't like or embrace anything that brings the polarised hatred and bigotry of Irish politics into Scotland - we have enough hang-ups of our own without inheriting anyone else's. I don't like the arrogance of the Celtic supporters who just assume that they and they only represent some sort of stand against bigotry, when anyone with half an eye can see that they themselves are one side of an evil partnership that poisons Scottish society and has come near to destroying Scottish football - a game I happen to love.

Hibernian isn't "Celtic Lite", and we should be careful NEVER to fall for the temptation to imitate them.

My humble opinion is that anyone who wants to watch a football match in safety should be made welcome at ER - whatever their race, colour, creed or lifestyle. And if that means that those of us already coming to ER need to examine our own prejudices and curb our own tongues, then IMO that's a small price to pay.

PS: A wee point about the history of St Patrick's Church - the building originally belonged to the United Presbyterian Church, I believe, but was found to be surplus to requirements when the UP's joined up with the Church of Scotland. They agreed to sell it to the RC's for £4,000 (half paid by the diocese and half by public subscription) and it became the RC parish church in the Cowgate. And therefore the obvious place for the meetings that went towards the establishment of Hibernian Football Club so many years ago.

It's a bonny church, though perhaps a wee bit ornate for my austere Presbyterian taste :wink:, and I was always given to understand that this is where two football trophies won by Hibs in the 19th century are preserved. Maybe someone could confirm or correct this?

The parish cat's awesome, though. http://www.stpatricksparish.co.uk/fred.htm

N.Wales Hibby
10-04-2012, 03:39 PM
Having read through 94 posts, I'm amazed that a thread that was started with a video celebrating 137 years of Hibs' history degenerated so quickly into name-calling and back-biting. Maybe I could quote Wolfe Tone (the real one, who happened to be a member of the Church of Ireland and therefore a Protestant, BTW) on the subject of bigotry and dissension?

"To subvert the tyranny of our execrable government, to break the connection with England, the never-failing source of all our political evils, and to assert the independence of my country, these were my objects. To unite the whole people of Ireland, to abolish the memory of past dissensions, and to substitute the common name of Irishman, in place of the denominations of Protestant, Catholic and Dissenter, these were my means...."

Substitute "Scotland" for "Ireland", and "Scotsman" for "Irishman", and I will heartily drink to all that at any time or place.

And I believe that were he alive today, James Connolly would be more than happy to join us.

I don't think it's wise to try to distance ourselves too far from our Irish roots. Like it or not, that's where the club comes from - the Irish immigrant community of the South Side of the High Street of Edinburgh. Hibernian, the harp, and the green-and-white shirts are who we are as a football club, and there isn't a lot we can do about that.

However, the fact that those are our roots shouldn't be allowed to obscure the fact that the club has come a long way in 137 years.

Thanks to the treachery of our "Oirish" brothers in Glasgow at the end of the 1880's, Hibs had to move away from an exclusively Irish Catholic constituency towards becoming the local football team for the east end of Edinburgh, Leith, and the industrial end of East Lothian. Which means people like myself and my family came into the support, along with a whole lot of people like us. (Most of my favourtie colleagues and mates in the C of S ministry are Hibees, BTW.)

One of the reasons for the establishment of Hibernian in the first place was to face up to, and face down, sectarian bigotry. You can't do that by embracing bigotry in any shape or form yourself. It really hurts and offends many of us when we hear songs or chants or comments from the stands at ER attacking players for their race, colour, ethnic origins, or sexuality - that goes absolutely contrary to the original intentions of the people who founded the club, or for that matter, the intentions and beliefs of men like Wolfe Tone and James Connolly.

How many of the players shown on that video were/are Catholics, and how many Protestant? Baker, Stanton, the Famous Five, Benny, whoever?

If you do care, I suggest that you've entirely missed the point about why Hibs were set up in the first place, and why the club's still around after two serious attempts on its life.

I don't like or embrace anything that brings the polarised hatred and bigotry of Irish politics into Scotland - we have enough hang-ups of our own without inheriting anyone else's. I don't like the arrogance of the Celtic supporters who just assume that they and they only represent some sort of stand against bigotry, when anyone with half an eye can see that they themselves are one side of an evil partnership that poisons Scottish society and has come near to destroying Scottish football - a game I happen to love.

Hibernian isn't "Celtic Lite", and we should be careful NEVER to fall for the temptation to imitate them.

My humble opinion is that anyone who wants to watch a football match in safety should be made welcome at ER - whatever their race, colour, creed or lifestyle. And if that means that those of us already coming to ER need to examine our own prejudices and curb our own tongues, then IMO that's a small price to pay.

PS: A wee point about the history of St Patrick's Church - the building originally belonged to the United Presbyterian Church, I believe, but was found to be surplus to requirements when the UP's joined up with the Church of Scotland. They agreed to sell it to the RC's for £4,000 (half paid by the diocese and half by public subscription) and it became the RC parish church in the Cowgate. And therefore the obvious place for the meetings that went towards the establishment of Hibernian Football Club so many years ago.

It's a bonny church, though perhaps a wee bit ornate for my austere Presbyterian taste :wink:, and I was always given to understand that this is where two football trophies won by Hibs in the 19th century are preserved. Maybe someone could confirm or correct this?

Sums it up for me Doddie....Excellent..:top marks

10-04-2012, 03:50 PM
Yes, I watched the video and listened to the tunes. My view does not alter because you explain it in bold though :greengrin as anyone who has the faintest knowledge of the 'tones will know only too well what they stand for. A poor choice IMO.

Would it make a difference then if someone else recorded the song?

10-04-2012, 03:59 PM
Just phoned the church, and a very nice man tells me that the trophies are now in the trophy room at ER, having been preserved by the congregation for over 100 years.

10-04-2012, 04:01 PM
Without doubt James Connolly must be the most remarkable Hibs supporter ever.

Glory Glory

some posters on here will be going totally Apoplectic at this post harpo :greengrin it's fair to say there's a few who would rather not talk about the roots of our club, sticking fingers in ears and yellin La La La it didny happen :agree:

p.s. good post Doddie

10-04-2012, 04:35 PM
Having read through 94 posts, I'm amazed that a thread that was started with a video celebrating 137 years of Hibs' history degenerated so quickly into name-calling and back-biting....

... It's a bonny church, though perhaps a wee bit ornate for my austere Presbyterian taste :wink:, and I was always given to understand that this is where two football trophies won by Hibs in the 19th century are preserved. Maybe someone could confirm or correct this?

10-04-2012, 04:51 PM
Would it make a difference then if someone else recorded the song?

A difference to my opinion - yes it would.

A difference to the other arguments in this thread - No :greengrin

10-04-2012, 04:53 PM
Apology/Retraction.

Sorry.

Thanks for that Hiberlin. No worries. On reflection i shouldnt have used that particular phrase and was equally guilty of the "red mist" in my posts to you.

hibbybrian
10-04-2012, 05:10 PM
Just phoned the church, and a very nice man tells me that the trophies are now in the trophy room at ER, having been preserved by the congregation for over 100 years.

Presentation Pics

BTW your previous post rates :top marks Doddie

10-04-2012, 05:13 PM
some posters on here will be going totally Apoplectic at this post harpo :greengrin it's fair to say there's a few who would rather not talk about the roots of our club, sticking fingers in ears and yellin La La La it didny happen :agree:

p.s. good post Doddie

Thank you, cabbage. I'm reminded that Arthur Conan Doyle also watched his football at the Holy Ground when he was a medical student at Edinburgh University. Are we allowed to remember him?

History is history - we can't change it, though we can try to distort the record.

Hibs are a football club, not a political organisation. But they're a football club with the history of facing up to bigotry and prejudice, and irritated and frustrated as I am by our present failure on the pitch hell will freeze over before I transfer my allegiance to either member of the OF or to Hearts. There has to be a way of remembering and honouring the history of this club without embracing either Irish political terrorism or the bitterness of West of Scotland sectarian hatred.

I have a confession. My grandfather was a policeman during the Great War. In Dublin. In the Royal Irish Constabulary. Not for long, but for a time. He wasn't fit for the Army, so he was conscripted to the R.I.C. for the duration. While he was away, my dad (7 years old) was the 'man' of the house. One of his jobs was to walk the family dog after school. The family dog was a dachshund - a wee ginger sausage dog - and my dad would get called all sorts of bad names by grown-ups old enough to know better, just because he was walking a 'German' dog. Among other things, he was called a 'Hun-lover'. Bigotry in action, don't you think?

The family home was in a tenement stair in Duke Street, just round the corner from the foot of Easter Road, and Grandad went to watch the Hibs. Because Easter Road was the nearest football ground to his home. As did my dad. As have I. As has my son.

So my grandad was a Dublin polisman and my dad was a Hun-loving collaborator with a dog that was obviously a German spy. And we have four generations of Hibees in the family, including a cousin who played in the same team as the Famous Five. And all the family were staunch members either of the Church of Scotland or the Congregational Church - Protestants to a man (or even the wee ginger sausage dug). Sort all that out.

Cannae change your history! :wink:

10-04-2012, 05:20 PM
Presentation Pics

BTW your previous post rates :top marks Doddie

Ta, Brian.

See that second one - of His Imperial Paddyness flanked by the clergy? I had a horrible blasphemous Proddy thought when I enlarged it - I don't think I should even say it out loud.

Mark 15.27. Now I'm going to have to go off and repent myself.

I'm a bad, BAD man. :slipper:

hibbybrian
10-04-2012, 05:48 PM
Ta, Brian.

See that second one - of His Imperial Paddyness flanked by the clergy? I had a horrible blasphemous Proddy thought when I enlarged it - I don't think I should even say it out loud.

Mark 15.27. Now I'm going to have to go off and repent myself.

I'm a bad, BAD man. :slipper:

Others might have thought of the Holy Trinity :wink:

however don't be so hard on yourself Doddie - at least one of the two went to Paradise (no not the football park :greengrin) Luke 23:40

10-04-2012, 06:15 PM
Others might have thought of the Holy Trinity :wink:

however don't be so hard on yourself Doddie - at least one of the two went to Paradise (no not the football park :greengrin) Luke 23:40

Well, I thought afterwards - they were actually RETURNING the silverware, so I guess that it would all work out OK for all three?

BTW - see the St Pat's puddy-tat? Might be nice if a few netters made a wee donation towards keeping a roof over his furry head - for old times' sake, and all that? I think I will.

hibbybrian
10-04-2012, 06:28 PM
Well, I thought afterwards - they were actually RETURNING the silverware, so I guess that it would all work out OK for all three?

BTW - see the St Pat's puddy-tat? Might be nice if a few netters made a wee donation towards keeping a roof over his furry head - for old times' sake, and all that? I think I will.

Thanks for the link to St Pat's Cat - I'll get on to St Patricks Hibernian Supporters Club about a donation :thumbsup:

10-04-2012, 07:36 PM
The family home was in a tenement stair in Duke Street, just round the corner from the foot of Easter Road, and Grandad went to watch the Hibs. Because Easter Road was the nearest football ground to his home. As did my dad. As have I. As has my son.

So my grandad was a Dublin polisman and my dad was a Hun-loving collaborator with a dog that was obviously a German spy. And we have four generations of Hibees in the family, including a cousin who played in the same team as the Famous Five. And all the family were staunch members either of the Church of Scotland or the Congregational Church - Protestants to a man (or even the wee ginger sausage dug). Sort all that out.

Cannae change your history! :wink:

my Dads family home was the tenement just a few yards up from the tesco (i think it's tesco anyway)car park opening, opposite the persevere, large family and all associated with south Leith parish church(kirkgate), it's quite a 'weel kent' surname in that area of Leith and obviously the church, did you know the rev jack kellet ? :greengrin indeed, my family name got a wee mention for having worshipped in south Leith for over 100 years at the recent 400th anniversary celebrations of the church :)

10-04-2012, 08:46 PM
Thanks for the link to St Pat's Cat - I'll get on to St Patricks Hibernian Supporters Club about a donation :thumbsup:

I was actually thinking that all those guys who seem so concerned about our history and heritage might like to put their hands in their pockets as well, Brian. :devil:

Show practical support for the place it all began .... :wink:

JIm
10-04-2012, 10:17 PM

Paddy Fenlon's Fenian Army :wink:

10-04-2012, 10:40 PM

Paddy Fenlon's Fenian Army :wink:

His Imperial Awesomeness The One And Only Paddy Stanton?

I could do with some of HIS 'nonsense' over the next few years.

10-04-2012, 10:42 PM

The trophies are superb. Had my pic taken beside them before they left St Pat's for ER (the cups look great in the photo - can't say the same for myself however :rolleyes:).
IIRC the trophies are only on loan to Hibs and will be returned to St Pat's at a later date.
Top marks to you Doddie for some excellent posts on this thread - well done.:aok:

10-04-2012, 10:53 PM
The trophies are superb. Had my pic taken beside them before they left St Pat's for ER (the cups look great in the photo - can't say the same for myself however :rolleyes:).
IIRC the trophies are only on loan to Hibs and will be returned to St Pat's at a later date.
Top marks to you Doddie for some excellent posts on this thread - well done.:aok:

I thank you, kind sir. One does one's best.

Can you recollect what cups they are?

(Seems so strange to be talking about cups in the context of Hibernian FC.)

10-04-2012, 11:04 PM
I thank you, kind sir. One does one's best.

Can you recollect what cups they are?

(Seems so strange to be talking about cups in the context of Hibernian FC.)

The cups were presented by the Edinburgh Football Assoc. to mark the club being the outright winners of the first ever Edinburgh Cup and the Second Eleven Cup in three consecutive years from 1879 - 1881.

11-04-2012, 09:44 AM
The cups were presented by the Edinburgh Football Assoc. to mark the club being the outright winners of the first ever Edinburgh Cup and the Second Eleven Cup in three consecutive years from 1879 - 1881.

Thanks - I knew they go back a long way, but I didn't know the details. Really part of the history of the old city as well as Hibs' heritage. :aok:

12-04-2012, 07:35 PM

St Pat's cat is brilliant .... cat lover me :agree:

The church is an incredibly important place in the history of the football club.

Is there nothing that we as supporters could do to help them? Perhaps a collection outside the ground or ( lets give the tache a heart attack ) even get Hibs to play a benefit match with the proceeds going towards restoration of the building.