View Full Version : Fife Hyland to leave

Gus Fring
03-04-2012, 10:41 AM
http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20120403/club-update_2262950_2718587

03-04-2012, 10:46 AM
Talking off reducing costs further. Hopefully this means off the field rather than on it. Directors pay hopefully will be cut.

03-04-2012, 10:48 AM
Brian Houstons influence I would guess.

Not a bad thing really as I always thought we were a bit top heavy management wise.

03-04-2012, 10:49 AM
Talking off reducing costs further. Hopefully this means off the field rather than on it. Directors pay hopefully will be cut.

Why?

03-04-2012, 10:49 AM
As Stotty would sing.. "that's Fife"

03-04-2012, 10:51 AM
So Scott Lindsay no longer based down East Mains. So does this concede that his appointment last summer in his new role was a mistake?

Does it suggest Fife was pushed?

03-04-2012, 10:58 AM
Who's in charge of the football dept now? Still SL as not clear if he is now CEO only or dual role.

03-04-2012, 11:02 AM
Who's in charge of the football dept now? Still SL as not clear if he is now CEO only or dual role.

It looks like they will just combine the roles.

I'm sure Hibs will shortly be congratulated on identifying a cost saving at executive level as quite a few have been asking for it. :greengrin

03-04-2012, 11:04 AM
Maybe the poor guy was p*ss*d off dealing with all the E-Mails from fans.

Coping with that must have been a full-time job :wink:

03-04-2012, 11:06 AM

03-04-2012, 11:08 AM
So Scott Lindsay no longer based down East Mains. So does this concede that his appointment last summer in his new role was a mistake?

Does it suggest Fife was pushed?

The report states that Fife informed Rod last season of his intention to leave at the end of this season so I'll take that at face value.

TheEastTerrace
03-04-2012, 11:09 AM
Shame - I thought Fife brought a bit of creativity to a board heavily weighted towards accountancy/finance. Oh well.....

03-04-2012, 11:09 AM

Well going by the reply he gave Forza on the Bounce maybe his replies have been sent with less care since knowing he was going...

03-04-2012, 11:10 AM
Well going by the reply he gave Forza on the Bounce maybe his replies have been sent with less care since knowing he was going...

Do tell

03-04-2012, 11:11 AM

I'll happily take over the role for the wages he got! :agree:

Besides, I'd just send the same email back to everyone. :wink:

03-04-2012, 11:12 AM
The report states that Fife informed Rod last season of his intention to leave at the end of this season so I'll take that at face value.

Last season? He only took up his new role last summer. Of course we have to just take it at face value. However, in my suspicious mind it doesn't all quite add up. Why then not replace Fife and keep Scott Lindsay in his current role? And therefore retain a structure only set up last summer?

03-04-2012, 11:14 AM
Do tell

I will ask for his permission for it to be put on here.

03-04-2012, 11:14 AM
Last season? He only took up his new role last summer. Of course we have to just take it at face value. However, in my suspicious mind it doesn't all quite add up. Why then not replace Fife and keep Scott Lindsay in his current role? And therefore retain a structure only set up last summer?

They weren't new roles though, it was just formalising something that had been the way the roles were split previously anyway. SL might have moved his seat to EM but that may just have been where he found himself based most of the time anyway.

If none of them can head a ball out of our box then I care little anyway!

Edit: Says last year, not last season.

03-04-2012, 11:21 AM
I will ask for his permission for it to be put on here.

Smurf, just read it and to be fair it is blunt but I don't think you could argue about the sentiment.
In essence to those that have not read it the reply was along the lines of " if your a Hibs fan then support the team through buying a ST now rather than wait, waiting will only hand the advantage to our rivals."

Not quoted word for word but get the jist

03-04-2012, 11:35 AM
To be brutally honest, I'd rather Son of Rodders was exiting stage left rather than Hyland.

03-04-2012, 11:40 AM
Why?

Salaries paid to 4 directors were disproportionate to the size of club Hibs are. It was reported John Rankin signed for Dundee Utd for £75k a year yet up to year ago we were paying directors in excess of £800k a year. I do appreciate that it was reduced this year but directors should not be on more than the players

03-04-2012, 11:56 AM
Salaries paid to 4 directors were disproportionate to the size of club Hibs are. It was reported John Rankin signed for Dundee Utd for £75k a year yet up to year ago we were paying directors in excess of £800k a year. I do appreciate that it was reduced this year but directors should not be on more than the players

We were paying £800k per year for Directors?

Anyway, why should executive Directors not be on more than 'the players' ? What players do you mean by that?

Running a business and being an employee in the business are generally quite different things requiring different skills. I think I'd pay the Chief Exec of a football club more than John Rankin every time.

03-04-2012, 11:56 AM
Directors at Hibs on 800K a year? All of them?

What the ****? They don't honestly feel that's their true worth, do they?

Caversham Green
03-04-2012, 11:59 AM
We were paying £800k per year for Directors?

Anyway, why should executive Directors not be on more than 'the players' ? What players do you mean by that?

Running a business and being an employee in the business are generally quite different things requiring different skills. I think I'd pay the Chief Exec of a football club more than John Rankin every time.

No, we really weren't. Total directors' salaries have never been anywhere near £800k.

03-04-2012, 12:06 PM
No, we really weren't. Total directors' salaries have never been anywhere near £800k.

Didn't think so. Is it not also correct that despite the actual pay for Directors at Hibs looking high in total compared to others that there are generally other roles at other clubs which are not included in those figures but encompass the same work such as commercial managers or similar?

03-04-2012, 12:07 PM
I would think a director at hibs would be doing well to pick up 80k per year.

Caversham Green
03-04-2012, 12:11 PM
Didn't think so. Is it not also correct that despite the actual pay for Directors at Hibs looking high in total compared to others that there are generally other roles at other clubs which are not included in those figures but encompass the same work such as commercial managers or similar?

That's right - most clubs don't have working directors, but still have to pay people to do the same work (David Southern and previously Campbell Ogilive at Hearts for example). Those people's salaries don't have to be reported in the accounts so meaningful comparison is not possible.

03-04-2012, 12:12 PM

Not so.

03-04-2012, 12:13 PM
Directors at Hibs on 800K a year? All of them?

What the ****? They don't honestly feel that's their true worth, do they?

They don't. That's why they don't do it.

03-04-2012, 12:24 PM

It would make sense for them not to replace Fife at boardroom level as the salary thing is just a stick to beat the board with. I wouldn't be too surprised if Russell's workload goes through the roof (although I think it is already) and maybe Mimi will get the chance to become full time if it suits her.

With SL moving back to ER to look after the day to day running of the club I would assume that RP will be taking on the football side of things again.

03-04-2012, 12:29 PM
To be brutally honest, I'd rather Son of Rodders was exiting stage left rather than Hyland.

Agreed. Long long overdue reduction to Exec salaries thankfully happening alas :thumbsup:

03-04-2012, 12:33 PM
Agreed. Long long overdue reduction to Exec salaries thankfully happening ala :thumbsup:

They've been gradually reducing for the past few years have they not? :confused:

03-04-2012, 12:41 PM
They've been gradually reducing for the past few years have they not? :confused:

Too slowly given our piss poor performances on/off the park. Our Boardroom costs:Income has been OTT for years. IMHO.

03-04-2012, 12:44 PM
Too slowly given our piss poor performances on/off the park. Our Boardroom costs:Income has been OTT for years. IMHO.

:tub4:

03-04-2012, 12:44 PM

Isn't this exaplined above though, that we have these costs at board level but at other clubs these jobs are still done and paid for but just not disclosed as Directrs salaries.

Would Rod really be handing out cash to staff that didn't need to be? :greengrin

03-04-2012, 12:53 PM
Isn't this exaplined above though, that we have these costs at board level but at other clubs these jobs are still done and paid for but just not disclosed as Directrs salaries.

Would Rod really be handing out cash to staff that didn't need to be? :greengrin

It's an old, old argument, on here Andy. It goes around in circles.

03-04-2012, 12:56 PM
It would make sense for them not to replace Fife at boardroom level as the salary thing is just a stick to beat the board with. I wouldn't be too surprised if Russell's workload goes through the roof (although I think it is already) and maybe Mimi will get the chance to become full time if it suits her.

With SL moving back to ER to look after the day to day running of the club I would assume that RP will be taking on the football side of things again.

:eek::worms:

hongkonghibee
03-04-2012, 12:57 PM
Im happy to hear this. Could be good news for us overseas supporters, and all hibs supporters on holiday abroad who want to watch HibsTV live. Fife Hyland was instrumental in the cuts on hibernian TV of live home matches for supporters living overseas. This maybe explains why they wouldnt consider any of our ideas to make this service more profitable to the Club until the end of this season when Fife is gone.

03-04-2012, 01:14 PM
Can't have been a very enjoyable job for poor old Fife. Opening his inbox every day to find it crammed full of rambling essays from enraged soon to be ex-season ticket holders.

Was always impressed that he tried to respond in as personal a way as possible.

03-04-2012, 01:23 PM
I never really understood the current role of Scott Lindsay. What was it?

Tom Hart RIP
03-04-2012, 01:40 PM
Brian Houstons influence I would guess.

Not a bad thing really as I always thought we were a bit top heavy management wise.

Great news. At last a director who actually paid money to watch Hibs.
Welcome to Easter Road Brian. Also good news about Lindsay going back to Easter Road. I hope PF was behind that. Real managers like the great Eddie Turnbull would not have put up with a director on first name terms with players at his training sessions.
Good riddance to Hyland. His arrogant attitude to real Hibs supporters won't be missed.

03-04-2012, 01:41 PM

You've criticised the board long enough - is knowledge of what they do not the crucial first step in that? :wink:

03-04-2012, 01:44 PM
Not before time as his interpersonal skill's leave a lot to be desired. :agree:

hongkonghibee
03-04-2012, 01:49 PM

03-04-2012, 01:51 PM
Can't have been a very enjoyable job for poor old Fife. Opening his inbox every day to find it crammed full of rambling essays from enraged soon to be ex-season ticket holders.

Was always impressed that he tried to respond in as personal a way as possible.

Hopefully Scott will get the chance to get on with some work, rather than being bombarded with e-mails from people praying he slips up so they can post it up on here.

Joe Baker II
03-04-2012, 02:01 PM
Wonder if Colin McNeil could be tempted back to Hibs.

Accept Hyland did not have too much power but cannot see Hyland being missed too much though he was improvement on his predecessor Spence.

03-04-2012, 02:04 PM

Does he know how to use an apostrophe though? :wink:

03-04-2012, 02:20 PM

Director of Football (Operations) :)

03-04-2012, 02:25 PM
Does he know how to use an apostrophe though? :wink:

I don't deal with the paying public and send condescending e-mail's, neither am I a prat who pick's up on other poster's grammar :na na:

keithkeith
03-04-2012, 03:09 PM
Great news. At last a director who actually paid money to watch Hibs.
Welcome to Easter Road Brian. Also good news about Lindsay going back to Easter Road. I hope PF was behind that. Real managers like the great Eddie Turnbull would not have put up with a director on first name terms with players at his training sessions.
Good riddance to Hyland. His arrogant attitude to real Hibs supporters won't be missed.

Agree with the sentiment on Brian. Good to see a lifelong Hibs fans on the Board.

Not sure on the other point? I would have thought that a Director should be close to the players, know them, make them feel part of the Club and not create a "suits vs them" divide?

As long as he doesn't go out drinking in casinos until 3am with them, then start telling Board room secrets or getting involved in training sessions, I'd want my Director to be on first name terms!

03-04-2012, 03:20 PM
I don't deal with the paying public and send condescending e-mail's, neither am I a prat who pick's up on other poster's grammar :na na:

I thought people's skills were evidently fair game?

03-04-2012, 03:35 PM
Don't want too many board members with names like Fife. Crawford - that's another one. Or Muir. The worst was a guy called Brown McMaster of the SFL. How do you get a name like Brown?

Sorry to be flippant. It's the weather.

03-04-2012, 03:50 PM
You've criticised the board long enough - is knowledge of what they do not the crucial first step in that? :wink:

I've actually praised Fife and Scott individually before. And indeed Rodders himself!

My point is that they collectively are in the positions of leadership at our club. Perhaps I'm old school but I believe that it is the leadership of any company or organisation has ultimate responsibility for its performance.

I never understood the actual duties and responsibilities of Scott.

Can you enlighten instead of trying to make a pointless point?

down the slope
03-04-2012, 03:52 PM
:tub4:

Aye and we will keep on telling you as well until the useless ones that have got us in this mess are gone, ye can try all you want Mikey to stifle debate but it aint happening . Your support for the board that have got us in this mess is cringeworthy .

03-04-2012, 03:54 PM
Aye and we will keep on telling you as well until the useless ones that have got us in this mess are gone, ye can try all you want Mikey to stifle debate but it aint happening . Your support for the board that have got us in this mess is cringeworthy .

03-04-2012, 03:55 PM
Hopefully Scott will get the chance to get on with some work, rather than being bombarded with e-mails from people praying he slips up so they can post it up on here.

Patronizing or insulting any fellow supporter is worthy of it being shared and discussed I would have thought?

I personally wouldn't want highly remunerated board members replying to my emails though. They must have more important things to be getting on with.

Like ensuring the far greater resources at their disposal than most is better utilized than the pathetic way of late it has...

03-04-2012, 03:57 PM
Patronizing or insulting any fellow supporter is worthy of it being shared and discussed I would have thought?

I personally wouldn't want highly remunerated board members replying to my emails though. They must have more important things to be getting on with.

Like ensuring the far greater resources at their disposal than most is better utilized than the pathetic way of late it has...

I agree. But folk don't half whine when they don't get an answer.

03-04-2012, 04:01 PM
I agree. But folk don't half whine when they don't get an answer.

You could argue it is a positive that they do... But would anyone seriously expect a personal reply from David Cameron or Alex Salmond?

They are too busy and so should our executive board members.

I applaud them doing so but it really is a piece of nonsense and must stop.

03-04-2012, 05:41 PM
Almost as cringeworthy as posters continually banging on about how its all the boards fault and they should to a man GTF.

03-04-2012, 05:53 PM
I would think a director at hibs would be doing well to pick up 80k per year.

"Minimum wage" I think the term is. :violin:

Weir7
03-04-2012, 06:36 PM
Almost as cringeworthy as posters continually banging on about how its all the boards fault and they should to a man GTF.

Your right, its not the boards fault, sorry rod's fault that we loose millions in operating loses. Have a crap team. Massive turnover of players and managers. And have an empty sdaium. And I thot they set the strategy.

03-04-2012, 06:40 PM

What has it got to do with you if supporters feel the need to post there patronizing replies on here ? Is he pulling your string's?

03-04-2012, 06:42 PM
What has it got to do with you if supporters feel the need to post there patronizing replies on here ? Is he pulling your string's?

Haven't you asked that before?

03-04-2012, 06:44 PM
Your right, its not the boards fault, sorry rod's fault that we loose millions in operating loses. Have a crap team. Massive turnover of players and managers. And have an empty sdaium. And I thot they set the strategy.you must ken by now, it's the fans fault :agree:

03-04-2012, 06:47 PM
Haven't you asked that before?

Well why keep giving smart answers when anybody dares criticise Fife and the board?

03-04-2012, 06:49 PM
Well why keep giving smart answers when anybody dares criticise Fife and the board?

Oh go on then, gimme an example :greengrin

03-04-2012, 06:54 PM
Oh go on then, gimme an example :greengrin

I don't think you are stupid enough to have forgotten what you have posted already :rolleyes:

03-04-2012, 06:55 PM
I don't think you are stupid enough to have forgotten what you have posted already :rolleyes:

Sadly I am :greengrin

Post up a link to me backing Fife or the board. Happy searching :wink:

03-04-2012, 07:00 PM
Sadly I am :greengrin

Post up a link to me backing Fife or the board. Happy searching :wink:

Originally Posted by Mikey

03-04-2012, 07:00 PM

It is so simple, even a numpty could understand. Scott's role is to correlate football matters with the manager as part of the executive team to ensure an optimum level of performance and communicate dictates and establish the mandates with the present incumbant interlocutor to ensure sporting performance is always at the forefront of the efforts of the board to ensure that football matters are correlated with the manager as part of an executive team.

How obvious do you want it?

picks.

Don't want too many board members with names like Fife. Crawford - that's another one. Or Muir. The worst was a guy called Brown McMaster of the SFL. How do you get a name like Brown?

Sorry to be flippant. It's the weather.

Excellent point. Completely agree. :agree:

I've actually praised Fife and Scott individually before. And indeed Rodders himself!

My point is that they collectively are in the positions of leadership at our club. Perhaps I'm old school but I believe that it is the leadership of any company or organisation has ultimate responsibility for its performance.

I never understood the actual duties and responsibilities of Scott.

Can you enlighten instead of trying to make a pointless point?

Can a point be pointless?

03-04-2012, 07:05 PM
you must ken by now, it's the fans fault :agree:

:agree: But big laddies made them do it, then they ran away.

03-04-2012, 07:08 PM

Originally Posted by Mikey

In what way is that "giving smart answers when anybody dares criticise Fife and the board"?

It's a fact. We should leave them to get on with their work rather than pestering them with e-mails telling them the bleeding obvious.

03-04-2012, 07:12 PM
It is so simple, even a numpty could understand. Scott's role is to correlate football matters with the manager as part of the executive team to ensure an optimum level of performance and communicate dictates and establish the mandates with the present incumbant interlocutor to ensure sporting performance is always at the forefront of the efforts of the board to ensure that football matters are correlated with the manager as part of an executive team.

Jeez, nae wonder the poor wee soul failed so badly, I don't even understand any of this and I doubt even our board extends to a translator, not once they have paid for the Nubian hand maidens, punkahwallers, sedan chair carriers and grape peelers. I am sure you can get ointment for incumbant interlocutors but its probably too late now.

To be honest, with all of this important management style garbage to do and reprogramming the autoreply on the email its hardly a surpirse that this guy or any of the rest have no time left to run a football club.

03-04-2012, 07:13 PM
In what way is that "giving smart answers when anybody dares criticise Fife and the board"?

It's a fact. We should leave them to get on with their work rather than pestering them with e-mails telling them the bleeding obvious.

So if you have a problem with false advertising, or a complaint with regards lies being told in an advertising ploy, you would just forget about it ? Well I don't and it is my right to question it, and relay my findings to who ever else it may help.

03-04-2012, 07:13 PM

Fans are frustrated Mikey, writing to tell them the "bleeding obvious", helps us get it off our chests, and lets us voice our concerns. I am more than happy to give praise when it's merited, but is has not been good for two Seasons. To be deemed pestering is condescending, the Customer concerns must always be aired....

And if it is so bleeding obvious, why can't the Board see it?

03-04-2012, 07:16 PM
Fans are frustrated Mikey, writing to tell them the "bleeding obvious", helps us get it off our chests, and lets us voice our concerns. I am more than happy to give praise when it's merited, but is has not been good for two Seasons. To be deemed pestering is condescending, the Customer concerns must always be aired....

What makes you think they can't see it?

03-04-2012, 07:17 PM
So if you have a problem with false advertising, or a complaint with regards lies being told in an advertising ploy, you would just forget about it ? Well I don't and it is my right to question it, and relay my findings to who ever else it may help.

And how does that fit in with the board pulling my strings?

03-04-2012, 07:18 PM

Absolutely. And hopefully smurf's suggestion further up this thread will come to pass, leaving the main players to get on with it.

03-04-2012, 07:22 PM
And how does that fit in with the board pulling my strings?

The amount of time as stated previous that you defend them at all costs. And here endeth my participation in repeatedly answering your question.

Weir7
03-04-2012, 07:22 PM

Perhaps you can tell fans what they can and can't say to the club. Or better still all comms goes through you.

03-04-2012, 07:24 PM
What makes you think they can't see it?

Mistake after mistake.......

03-04-2012, 07:28 PM
Come on - you cant please anyone nowadays !!! ffs.....

We have been banging on about wanting - Major Changes from the boardroom to the bottom... for ages..

We get a change and we are still not happy .... :na na:

03-04-2012, 07:28 PM
The amount of time as stated previous that you defend them at all costs. And here endeth my participation in repeatedly answering your question.

You're mistaking defending the board with supporting the club.

Perhaps you can tell fans what they can and can't say to the club. Or better still all comms goes through you.

I don't think so :greengrin

03-04-2012, 07:32 PM
You're mistaking defending the board with supporting the club.

So you can't support the club without supporting the board then?

03-04-2012, 07:33 PM
Mistake after mistake.......

That doesn't mean they can't see it, it would suggest they can't fix it.

03-04-2012, 07:36 PM
So you can't support the club without supporting the board then?

Sure you can. Plenty people do it.

03-04-2012, 07:37 PM
That doesn't mean they can't see it, it would suggest they can't fix it.

Fairy nuff.....

03-04-2012, 07:44 PM
Absolutely. And hopefully smurf's suggestion further up this thread will come to pass, leaving the main players to get on with it.

I once wrote to the MD of Ford UK. I'm fairly sure that he didn't even hear about it, never mind it stopping him doing other stuff, despite the fact that everything was resolved to my satisfaction. It's how most correspondence to senior execs works. It was always slightly strange that the Chief Exec at Hibs was doing it himself.

03-04-2012, 07:46 PM
I once wrote to the MD of Ford UK. I'm fairly sure that he didn't even hear about it, never mind it stopping him doing other stuff, despite the fact that everything was resolved to my satisfaction. It's how most correspondence to senior execs works. It was always slightly strange that the Chief Exec at Hibs was doing it himself.

I think they wanted to add a personal touch but it clearly isn't working because it's often just chucked back in their faces. Someone should e-mail them and tell them :greengrin

legends of 73
03-04-2012, 08:08 PM

So who do you suggest we complain to then? We have been getting poor service for the last 3/4 years and as consumers we have a right to complain. You wouldn't accept this level of service in your local supermarket or resturant because if you did you wouldn't go back hence the reason crowds at Easter rd have been poor. I'm sorry but I feel Fife thought he was better than the football fan who paid his wages at the end of the day and he'll not be missed IMHO

03-04-2012, 08:10 PM

So who do you suggest we complain to then? We have been getting poor service for the last 3/4 years and as consumers we have a right to complain. You would accept this level of service in your local supermarket or resturant because if you did you wouldn't go back hence the reason crowds at Easter rd have been poor. I'm sorry but I feel Fife thought he was better than the football fan who paid his wages at the end of the day and he'll not be missed IMHO

Whoever they put up to answer the questions. It shouldn't be a board member fielding them all the time though as they have better things to do with their time. If it needs to be escalated then sure, get involved. But they shouldn't be the first point of contact.

03-04-2012, 08:14 PM
Whoever they put up to answer the questions. It shouldn't be a board member fielding them all the time though as they have better things to do with their time. If it needs to be escalated then sure, get involved. But they shouldn't be the first point of contact.

I will nominate myself for fielding all the emails, would be a fun way to fill your day:wink:

03-04-2012, 08:19 PM
I will nominate myself for fielding all the emails, would be a fun way to fill your day:wink:

It would be like spending all day in the stocks :greengrin

legends of 73
03-04-2012, 08:20 PM

So why did he put himself up for it? Could he not delegate it to someone? Or did he feel the need to reply to every email

So why is there no customer services manager to deal with emails etc and go through the process of the complaints until resolved no board member should get involved unless they really need to

03-04-2012, 08:20 PM
So why did he put himself up for it? Could he not delegate it to someone? Or did he feel the need to reply to every email

So why is there no customer services manager to deal with emails etc and go through the process of the process of the complaints until resolved no board member should get involved unless they really need to

I've no idea.

legends of 73
03-04-2012, 08:29 PM
I've no idea.

Poor answer I was expecting more. Maybe one day we'll find. I might ask him on Sunday when I take my seat in hospitality

03-04-2012, 08:31 PM
Poor answer I was expecting more. Maybe one day we'll find. I might ask him on Sunday when I take my seat in hospitality

How's it a poor answer? How am I supposed to know the answer to that?

03-04-2012, 08:40 PM

So why is there no customer services manager to deal with emails etc and go through the process of the complaints until resolved no board member should get involved unless they really need to

Perhaps the customer services manager is one of the posts we do without because we have a board member delegated to do it. :dunno:

down the slope
03-04-2012, 09:04 PM

And what would be "better things to do with their time" ?, like making sure the fans are happy or is it a case of the customer is always wrong ?. Nothing is more important than the fans Mikey and that is where your whole argument in favour of this bunch of failures falls apart. He and the rest of the bunch would have been sacked long ago in any other business if it was not for the support of Rod by STF , please just take a look at the league table to see what a disgrace that a once proud club has become !.

03-04-2012, 09:06 PM
And what would be "better things to do with their time" ?, like making sure the fans are happy or is it a case of the customer is always wrong ?. Nothing is more important than the fans Mikey and that is where your whole argument in favour of this bunch of failures falls apart. He and the rest of the bunch would have been sacked long ago in any other business if it was not for the support of Rod by STF , please just take a look at the league table to see what a disgrace that a once proud club has become !.

Where have I argued in favour of "this bunch of failures"?

c31
03-04-2012, 09:28 PM
It's about time the rest of his cronies went with him, dragged our club so far down we are happy with 11th place.

03-04-2012, 10:00 PM

I've no idea.

Really? We all thought YOU were the Customer Services Advisor.

legends of 73
03-04-2012, 10:43 PM
How's it a poor answer? How am I supposed to know the answer to that?

Because you are the defender of the board not once have I ever seen you criticise the board whenever there is a debate about the board.

This board deserve all the criticism that comes its way imho

03-04-2012, 11:20 PM
It's about time the rest of his cronies went with him, dragged our club so far down we are happy with 11th place.

Rod hates farm animals.

He's ensuring we'll never see a Hyland coup at ER.

04-04-2012, 03:09 AM
Because you are the defender of the board not once have I ever seen you criticise the board whenever there is a debate about the board.

This board deserve all the criticism that comes its way imho

Not once have you seen me praise the board either.

You see what you want :wink:

I've asked others to find an example but they haven't come back with one. Can you?

legends of 73
04-04-2012, 08:43 AM
Not once have you seen me praise the board either.

You see what you want :wink:

I've asked others to find an example but they haven't come back with one. Can you?

I have not got the time or the desire to troll through hundreds of threads looking for you praising this bunch failures. So are you going to tell us what you think of these present custodians of our club or are you keeping that to yourself just incase " Scott or Fife" are reading this. I think this board are very narrow minded and have no ambition unlike us the fans. A bit of real investment not a token gesture would get bums on seats instead of hundreds of fans not turning up. Yes they have done good things but it's time for change as they have run their course IMHO.

I eagerly await your response

04-04-2012, 09:09 AM

I have not got the time or the desire to troll through hundreds of threads looking for you praising this bunch failures. So are you going to tell us what you think of these present custodians of our club or are you keeping that to yourself just incase " Scott or Fife" are reading this. I think this board are very narrow minded and have no ambition unlike us the fans. A bit of real investment not a token gesture would get bums on seats instead of hundreds of fans not turning up. Yes they have done good things but it's time for change as they have run their course IMHO.

Surely if you were that sure he had been unequivocal in his support of the board at every opportunity you would know exactly where to find this evidence. If you and you're pal HI8SRY put your heads together it would half the workload, perhaps then you may have the time or the desire to actually back your claims up :greengrin

I think you are perhaps confusing being quick to pour scorn on hysterical pish with being a lackey for board.

04-04-2012, 09:55 AM
I have not got the time or the desire to troll through hundreds of threads looking for you praising this bunch failures.

You're happy enough to troll this thread making accusations you can't back up with proof though.

legends of 73
04-04-2012, 10:00 AM
You're happy enough to troll this thread making accusations you can't back up with proof though.

How do you work that out I'm replying to a recent threads not trolling old threads

04-04-2012, 10:21 AM
Whichever directors role was to oversee football performance at the club the last few years should be the one that is replaced. Who does PF report to on football matters?

04-04-2012, 10:25 AM
Whichever directors role was to oversee football performance at the club the last few years should be the one that is replaced. Who does PF report to on football matters?

The exec/director about to be put in charge of the entire club [again].

04-04-2012, 10:28 AM
Surely if you were that sure he had been unequivocal in his support of the board at every opportunity you would know exactly where to find this evidence. If you and you're pal HI8SRY put your heads together it would half the workload, perhaps then you may have the time or the desire to actually back your claims up :greengrin

I think you are perhaps confusing being quick to pour scorn on hysterical pish with being a lackey for board.

I don't have to put my head together with anybody,as nobody pulls my string's. And I don't have to go greeting to other people to get back up, to try and defend the indefensible.

04-04-2012, 10:58 AM
Come on - you cant please anyone nowadays !!! ffs.....

We have been banging on about wanting - Major Changes from the boardroom to the bottom... for ages..

We get a change and we are still not happy .... :na na:

I'm happy

from ....

http://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?231545-*****Answers-From-The-Board-Part-1*****&p=3159671#post3159671

Q. Now that the infrastructure is in place, does the Board have a Strategy in place for the next 5 years and do they agree that available funding should be prioritised towards building a successful team?

A. The strategy of the Club remains consistent – to put a winning, entertaining team on the park; .........

Even though that isn't even a strategy, it's an aim, whatever FH has tried to do to bring this about he's failed, as have all the other board members.

Bub-bye, Fife. Mind the door doesn't bang yer bahookie on the way out.

NEXT!!!

04-04-2012, 11:01 AM
I don't recall a Mikey praise of the board, but the good felly is always around to defend and counter any attack on them.

And has done so, to such a successful way, that there is now an impression on here, that if you question, or be critical, of our clubs leadership, you are somehow an inferior supporter.

I've detected - rightly or wrongly - that the board are now very sensitive to criticism and perhaps some are more privy than others to that?

I suspect Mikey is sympathetic to the boards sensitivity and therefore naturally goes into rebuttal mode.

I've never doubted that all the board are well intentioned people with the best interests of our club at heart. However, I'm of the opinion that ultimate responsibility for any company or organisation rests with those with those at the top.

With our miserable underachievement I am completely at a loss as to why the performance of the board should not be scrutinized.

legends of 73
04-04-2012, 11:10 AM

I also don't need anyone one to pull my string big enough and ugly enough to fight my own war on here unlike some

04-04-2012, 11:16 AM
With our miserable underachievement I am completely at a loss as to why the performance of the board should not be scrutinized.

Maybe this is what we are witnessing.

04-04-2012, 11:20 AM
I also don't need anyone one to pull my string big enough and ugly enough to fight my own war on here unlike some

you're fighting a war on here :confused:

with all this talk of string pulling it's almost like it's been orchestrated, how bizarre.

04-04-2012, 11:23 AM
I've never doubted that all the board are well intentioned people with the best interests of our club at heart. However, I'm of the opinion that ultimate responsibility for any company or organisation rests with those with those at the top.

Scrutinize no further than the pitch the last few seasons, blue felly. They've failed. The only one I'd keep is the Tache given his impending position of power at the SFA which will give us a bit much needed leverage there.

Couldn't care less what happens to the rest of them.

04-04-2012, 11:24 AM
I don't recall a Mikey praise of the board, but the good felly is always around to defend and counter any attack on them.

And has done so, to such a successful way, that there is now an impression on here, that if you question, or be critical, of our clubs leadership, you are somehow an inferior supporter.

I've detected - rightly or wrongly - that the board are now very sensitive to criticism and perhaps some are more privy than others to that?

I suspect Mikey is sympathetic to the boards sensitivity and therefore naturally goes into rebuttal mode.

I have no idea if that is true or not but if Directors of a high profile football club can't handle the criticism that inevetably comes with the job, (some fair, some not so fair) then they shouldn't be there.
Nobody would argue with you that ultimate responsibility rests with those at the top and of course their performance should be scrutinised. My thoughts on the matter are we all should be standing together until the season is over then a swift post mortem on this shambles of a season should be held. Nobody's position should be sacred, any individual found to have failed should do the decent thing and move on. Will I be made to feel like an inferior fan for saying that? Nope, some will disagree, some will agree, some will simply tell me to stop talking cr@p. Maybe your own sensitivity is coming in to play here? :greengrin
I'll leave the Mikey specific comments to him. He is certainly big enough and ugly enough to fight his own corner. Lucky for him he isn't short and good looking.:agree: I do fear things are becoming a little personal here though.

04-04-2012, 11:28 AM
Scrutinize no further than the pitch the last few seasons, blue felly. They've failed. The only one I'd keep is the Tache given his impending position of power at the SFA which will give us a bit much needed leverage there.

Couldn't care less what happens to the rest of them.

I personally have no idea what any of them do, in fact not really interested either. I'd imagine they all have the clubs interest at heart, and strive for the best all day long.

Yet we as a team are poor, for far too long, in fact so poor the support are leaving in droves. So as a board they along with the managers and players have failed.

There's only so many times the manager can carry the can.

04-04-2012, 11:39 AM
I personally have no idea what any of them do, in fact not really interested either. I'd imagine they all have the clubs interest at heart, and strive for the best all day long.

Yet we as a team are poor, for far too long, in fact so poor the support are leaving in droves. So as a board they along with the managers and players have failed.

There's only so many times the manager can carry the can.

Exactly the same mind-set and position as me. I've hardly went out of my way to critizise them in the past either particularly on publc forums such as these.

The straw that broke the camels back for me was the Q&A posted on here a couple of weeks ago (link above on one of my posts). Complete lazy corporate-trash answers, they don't even make sense given that's their chosen style.

Keep the Tache as he'll be syphoned off to the SFA soon enough anyway and his job here is done. As for the rest of them - thanks for trying, hope you have success elsewhere but leave my football club asap please. They are part of the problem, not the solution.

Don Giovanni
04-04-2012, 11:51 AM
I'm happy

from ....

http://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?231545-*****Answers-From-The-Board-Part-1*****&p=3159671#post3159671

Q. Now that the infrastructure is in place, does the Board have a Strategy in place for the next 5 years and do they agree that available funding should be prioritised towards building a successful team?

A. The strategy of the Club remains consistent – to put a winning, entertaining team on the park; .........

Even though that isn't even a strategy, it's an aim, whatever FH has tried to do to bring this about he's failed, as have all the other board members.

Bub-bye, Fife. Mind the door doesn't bang yer bahookie on the way out.

NEXT!!!

I understand where you're coming from Kato but was it not Scott Lyndsey who had responsibility for "footballing operations". No doubt our figures for this financial year are going to be pretty terrible but I'm not convinced Hyland should been seen to shoulder most of the blame for that. IMO the "football operations" are the primary failure at the club - everything else (attendances, revenue, etc.) flows from the "success" of our primary function.

Furthermore, the club statement makes out that that Fife Hyland indicated his departure to the board some time ago (backed up by the appointment of Brian Houston some time ago - apparently). I think this departure is more of a coincidence than an example of the board accepting responsibility for poor performance and demonstrating accountability TBH.

In any case the positive, as I see it, is the removal of an executive director and his replacement with a non-exec Hibby. Assuming that this will cut costs of non-playing staff the announcement is to be welcomed - I just wonder if we've let the right man go...(?)

legends of 73
04-04-2012, 11:59 AM
you're fighting a war on here :confused:

with all this talk of string pulling it's almost like it's been orchestrated, how bizarre.

Think your reading too much into it I take it you think I'm being worked from guys who are binned from here your sadly mistaken I'm afraid

I don't like the present board and feel there not doing enough to help the manager and they are treating the fans like a bit of dog crap on their shoe if you think their doing ok then that's up to you everyone has an opinion even on here

04-04-2012, 12:59 PM
I understand where you're coming from Kato but was it not Scott Lyndsey who had responsibility for "footballing operations". No doubt our figures for this financial year are going to be pretty terrible but I'm not convinced Hyland should been seen to shoulder most of the blame for that. IMO the "football operations" are the primary failure at the club - everything else (attendances, revenue, etc.) flows from the "success" of our primary function.

As I said above, would liek to see them all go, Tache excepted and not because I see his performance re-footballing matters as acceptable - purely because his representation within the SFA.

I think this departure is more of a coincidence than an example of the board accepting responsibility for poor performance and demonstrating accountability TBH.

Which is a nice coincidence but, if so, disappointing.

In any case the positive, as I see it, is the removal of an executive director and his replacement with a non-exec Hibby. Assuming that this will cut costs of non-playing staff the announcement is to be welcomed - I just wonder if we've let the right man go...(?)

Can't see anything on the park to say we've let the right man go, just they should all do the decent thing at the end of this season.

04-04-2012, 01:04 PM
Heard that Hyland has sadly joined the non-stop of flow of talent down the M8 and is off to Rangers. Done deal, apparently.

Whoops...wait...funny not to see those sort of posts anymore.

04-04-2012, 01:10 PM

Furthermore, the club statement makes out that that Fife Hyland indicated his departure to the board some time ago (backed up by the appointment of Brian Houston some time ago - apparently). I think this departure is more of a coincidence than an example of the board accepting responsibility for poor performance and demonstrating accountability TBH.

We let CC go and that was the right man to go as far as I'm concerned.

We don't want board interference yet we blame them for the manager's poor choices? It can't be had all ways.

CC signed players from Liverpool, Aston Villa, Charlton and Nottingham Forest amongst others and when you can put together that we weren't making a profit then the manager has been backed with all we had. The deals were done and that was the job of those such as SL.

Don Giovanni
04-04-2012, 01:15 PM
As I said above, would liek to see them all go, Tache excepted and not because I see his performance re-footballing matters as acceptable - purely because his representation within the SFA.

Which is a nice coincidence but, if so, disappointing.

Can't see anything on the park to say we've let the right man go, just they should all do the decent thing at the end of this season.

Yep, I'm too slow at typing on my phone :greengrin

I can't really argue with your subsequent posts.

I hope the board realise the level of discontent with their / the clubs performance.

04-04-2012, 01:19 PM

You can't find the proof but you know it's true.

OK then.

04-04-2012, 01:22 PM
We don't want board interference yet we blame them for the manager's poor choices? It can't be had all ways.

I don't blame them for the manager's poor choices, I blame them for their poor choice of manager.

CC signed players from Liverpool, Aston Villa, Charlton and Nottingham Forest amongst others and when you can put together that we weren't making a profit then the manager has been backed with all we had. The deals were done and that was the job of those such as SL.

All decent signings on paper, yet something between signing for Hibs and the next three or four months seems to turn any (on paper, decent) players into don't-give-a-damn wage thiefs, time and again. No one can quite put their finger on quite what this is but it seems that it must lie with personnel above the position of manager. Even if it means throwing the baby out along with the bath water that is this board, they must be chucked, Tam McCourt can blow as well.

legends of 73
04-04-2012, 01:38 PM
You can't find the proof but you know it's true.

OK then.

You still can't answer the question why not? Are you too scared that Scott,Fife etc won't speak to you.
Grow a pair and answer the question

Can't find the truth as you put it cos as I said I haven't the time or the the desire to look.
You don't want to upset them but this is a fans fourm and too my knowledge its not run by the club and they have to accept some of the stick that's posted as they are not doing there jobs correctly IMO

Don Giovanni
04-04-2012, 01:40 PM
We let CC go and that was the right man to go as far as I'm concerned.

So at what point do the board members become responsible for the leadership and running of the club then Andy74? We've went a long, long way backwards in the last 4 / 5 years despite the relative advantages we enjoy over our competitors. That is directly related to the boards appointments over the period, no?

Do we just say "unlucky chaps, but carry on regardless..."?
It's not good enough. Maybe you think otherwise?

You've brought up CC. The guy was a friggin' disaster from day 1 and we should have got rid sooner. In fact, I can't believe the guy was appointed following an interview process given his demeanour the entire time he was here... I could go on about that particular disaster but I'm going off point.

I have not passed any comment in this thread regarding the backing of managers, in fact I've said in past that the board appear to back their choice as far as they can (and in CCs case further than they should have).

Ultimately, the board have failed to deliver what they have set out to achieve. They have not met their stated aims, particularly in the last two seasons, despite our relatively strong position 5 years ago.

As a board they have failed.

04-04-2012, 01:43 PM
You still can't answer the question why not? Are you too scared that Scott,Fife etc won't speak to you.
Grow a pair and answer the question

No problem.

I think their managerial appointments have been poor. I also think that they've done all they can to back those managers.

Anything else?

04-04-2012, 01:47 PM
I think their managerial appointments have been poor. I also think that they've done all they can to back those managers.

I agree. But I also think that whatever they have done to back their poor managers hasn't been enough or that something else they do (dunno what, don't care) undermines this back-up. The way they double talk the fans doesn't do them any favours either.

Bottom line.

Failures, bub-bye.

legends of 73
04-04-2012, 01:55 PM
No problem.

Anything else?

So do you think they've done all they can to attract new investment into the club?

04-04-2012, 01:55 PM

Are you channelling Sir Humphrey Appleby, by any chance, Speedway?

04-04-2012, 01:58 PM
So do you think they've done all they can to attract new investment into the club?

I don't know what they've done. STF said they were willing to accept new investment at the last AGM........

Speaking about future investment Sir Tom admitted he would consider anyone that would benefit the club.

http://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?220889-Notes-From-The-2011-AGM

legends of 73
04-04-2012, 02:48 PM
I don't know what they've done. STF said they were willing to accept new investment at the last AGM........

http://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?220889-Notes-From-The-2011-AGM

So why have they not sounded out those individuals then. Tells me there not doing there job right trying to attract new investment

04-04-2012, 02:52 PM
So why have they not sounded out those individuals then. Tells me there not doing there job right trying to attract new investment

I don't know.

legends of 73
04-04-2012, 03:07 PM
I don't know.

Because their not doing there jobs right

04-04-2012, 03:31 PM

Investment? As in people putting their money into the club and expecting a return?

Nah, the first place to start is to get more fans along, it's the only sustainable way to to bring money into the club.

I don't beleive they have hired the wrong managers who brought in the wrong players on purpose but for me this is where they can be criticised. In all other respects they seem to be delivering as well as they can, we still seem to sign more players than just about anyone, it's just a pity we keep needing to do it.

In terms of other types of investment we continue to do okay in sponsorship deals in diffcilut times and I know they have been talking to people about sponsorship of stands, the stadium, the training ground or whatever people would be willing to put their name to for cash.

04-04-2012, 03:34 PM
Because their not doing there jobs right

What if no one wishes to invest in an SPL club?

What can they do then?

04-04-2012, 03:38 PM
So at what point do the board members become responsible for the leadership and running of the club then Andy74? We've went a long, long way backwards in the last 4 / 5 years despite the relative advantages we enjoy over our competitors. That is directly related to the boards appointments over the period, no?

Do we just say "unlucky chaps, but carry on regardless..."?
It's not good enough. Maybe you think otherwise?

You've brought up CC. The guy was a friggin' disaster from day 1 and we should have got rid sooner. In fact, I can't believe the guy was appointed following an interview process given his demeanour the entire time he was here... I could go on about that particular disaster but I'm going off point.

I have not passed any comment in this thread regarding the backing of managers, in fact I've said in past that the board appear to back their choice as far as they can (and in CCs case further than they should have).

Ultimately, the board have failed to deliver what they have set out to achieve. They have not met their stated aims, particularly in the last two seasons, despite our relatively strong position 5 years ago.

As a board they have failed.

I agree on the managers, or at least on CC. They did fail very badly with that one but ultimately at a football club the manager is responsible for what happens on the pitch, providing he is backed by the board.

If this manager goes the same way then its probably time for those who appointed the last few managers to go.

At this stage I think that's premature. Hughes got us 4th place, despite a slump after that and we made a mistake of making a slump a crisis under CC. That 4th place met the stated aims.

You just can't change everything all the time and bring success. We don't actually know how these guys perform in their roles just by judging how many points the football team has.

ancienthibby
04-04-2012, 03:38 PM
Exactly the same mind-set and position as me. I've hardly went out of my way to critizise them in the past either particularly on publc forums such as these.

The straw that broke the camels back for me was the Q&A posted on here a couple of weeks ago (link above on one of my posts). Complete lazy corporate-trash answers, they don't even make sense given that's their chosen style.

Keep the Tache as he'll be syphoned off to the SFA soon enough anyway and his job here is done. As for the rest of them - thanks for trying, hope you have success elsewhere but leave my football club asap please. They are part of the problem, not the solution.

The Peter Principle applies here - promoted beyond their ability to perform.:aok:

04-04-2012, 03:48 PM
Nah, the first place to start is to get more fans along, it's the only sustainable way to to bring money into the club.

They're failing miserably on that front too. It's not just the lack of anything approaching entertainment on the pitch either, as was demonstrated by the complete horlicks made of next season's ST offering.

04-04-2012, 05:11 PM

The biggest club in the country is going bust and you think there are investors waiting to put money into Hibs?Get a grip.

04-04-2012, 05:24 PM
Do you know these individuals have not been sounded out?

legends of 73
04-04-2012, 06:56 PM
The biggest club in the country is going bust and you think there are investors waiting to put money into Hibs?Get a grip.

Rangers going bust because of mismanagement please keep up

04-04-2012, 07:29 PM
Might have:cb

Don't understand this reply, don't mean that in a cheeky way btw but are you saying people have or haven't been approached?

04-04-2012, 09:30 PM
Rangers going bust because of mismanagement please keep up

Rangers are the most successful club in the world, domestically at least so this begs the question what would you consider a success?

Its also worth remembering that they sold for £1 less than a year ago.

04-04-2012, 09:46 PM
If you want to know how Hibs is run you dinnae have to waffle pish on a messageboard. You can just pop in to BTG and ask Scott or Fife your questions to their faces. I've seen them under the stands as well. Maybe that's too simple for the critics?

Fife was really approachable, clever and direct. Not in any way pompous.
Only issue I have was that from Petrie down they felt that they knew better than us and they way they addressed us was a bit condescending.

These marketing campaigns - Family, Unity, Together We Are Stronger were not real. They were concepts dreamed up in Fife's heid, You only need an 'engagement' strategy if there are two sides and they've grown too far apart

We have tens of thousands of supporters. There's a rich seam of business and admistrative talent in the stands that could complement a reduced salaried staff. So called smaller clubs have teams of volunteers that help to run their club - why not at Hibs?

I hope the Brian Houston appointment is the shape of things to come. Hibs run by Hibbies?

I like it!

04-04-2012, 09:52 PM
Loads of wind and piss here.

The boys offski. Cheers for the time, but he's nowt to do with the cabbage now, so lets move forward.

Mikey stop being so pro Hibs, theres a good admin :aok:

04-04-2012, 10:16 PM
At this stage I think that's premature. Hughes got us 4th place, despite a slump after that and we made a mistake of making a slump a crisis under CC. That 4th place met the stated aims.

You just can't change everything all the time and bring success. We don't actually know how these guys perform in their roles just by judging how many points the football team has.
:greengrin Well you just keep bringing this up - even now, some 18 months after Yogi left.

So I'll keep up with the rebuttal. On top of tanking performances from February 2010 through until his departure in October 2010, Yogi spent a significant part of his summer budget on Ed de Graaf and Michael Hart.

With these two player acquisitions we were going nowhere fast.

05-04-2012, 08:48 AM
:greengrin Well you just keep bringing this up - even now, some 18 months after Yogi left.

So I'll keep up with the rebuttal. On top of tanking performances from February 2010 through until his departure in October 2010, Yogi spent a significant part of his summer budget on Ed de Graaf and Michael Hart.

With these two player acquisitions we were going nowhere fast.

I was taking about the 4th place in terms of our aims and that we have met them within the 5 yr period being discussed. When I said we made the mistake of turning a slump into a crisis tha was by appointing CC.

If Hughes had to go we should have got better. De Graaf and Hart are hardly to blame for these last couple of years!

05-04-2012, 10:07 AM
I was taking about the 4th place in terms of our aims and that we have met them within the 5 yr period being discussed. When I said we made the mistake of turning a slump into a crisis tha was by appointing CC.

If Hughes had to go we should have got better. De Graaf and Hart are hardly to blame for these last couple of years!

Rod believed he did just that in landing CC who certainly had a track record at the time of appointment. He got that wrong, he has said sorry and I can't argue with that.

mixuok
05-04-2012, 10:08 AM

Coping with that must have been a full-time job :wink: :greengrin

i think his replies came pre prepared out a drawer in his desk, same answer to every question :greengrin

05-04-2012, 11:19 AM
Rod believed he did just that in landing CC who certainly had a track record at the time of appointment. He got that wrong, he has said sorry and I can't argue with that.

Agreed. Appointing any manager is a gamble so I don't think you can be too harsh with criticism on how it turns out. Rod has at least agreed he got it wrong and probably also got it wrong in not rectifying that sooner.

My general point is that those above at a football club therefore can't really be judged by what happens on the pitch. The manager is responsible and so long as money is not being kept from him, which the accounts show it is not, then the manager should shoulder the blame.

We actually seem quite happy being able to blame everyone at once though!

05-04-2012, 11:28 AM
Agreed. Appointing any manager is a gamble so I don't think you can be too harsh with criticism on how it turns out. Rod has at least agreed he got it wrong and probably also got it wrong in not rectifying that sooner.

My general point is that those above at a football club therefore can't really be judged by what happens on the pitch. The manager is responsible and so long as money is not being kept from him, which the accounts show it is not, then the manager should shoulder the blame.

We actually seem quite happy being able to blame everyone at once though!

I agree.

That's why I turn my attention far more to the supporters. The dodgy managers have gone having been backed by the board. The new manager has been backed by the board to the extent they are able but the supporters remain keen to stab any positive efforts made by the club be it board, management or playing staff as simply a temporary reprieve from the inherent disgrace that they all intrinsically are.

Whilst managers are responsible for delivering results and performances, supporters largely fund that delivery. If they don't fund it, that's their choice but how do they then think that a team will show up on the park all of a sudden, otherwise?

05-04-2012, 11:58 AM

You harp on about Yogi because you believe he should have been given a longer run as Manager. And you're making the same point here again. This is not about what are now irrelevant comparisons with CC (another dud).

Yogi had to go when he did because on top of the on-going slump in first-team form he demonstrated during that summer window that he was unable to bring in the calibre of player to get us out of it.

05-04-2012, 12:37 PM
You harp on about Yogi because you believe he should have been given a longer run as Manager. And you're making the same point here again. This is not about what are now irrelevant comparisons with CC (another dud).

Yogi had to go when he did because on top of the on-going slump in first-team form he demonstrated during that summer window that he was unable to bring in the calibre of player to get us out of it.

No, I think you are harping on about him, I was making a different point altogether, which I've explained.

05-04-2012, 10:06 PM
No, I think you are harping on about him, I was making a different point altogether, which I've explained.
Really?

Here's what you said earlier:

Given your track record on here for grieving the loss of Yogi and stating that he should have been given more time, this reads very much along similar lines.

"That 4th place met the stated aims."

Therefore, once again you are questioning why Yogi was removed at the time he was. Nice attempt to reverse out of it though. :greengrin

Septimus
06-04-2012, 06:12 AM
Im happy to hear this. Could be good news for us overseas supporters, and all hibs supporters on holiday abroad who want to watch HibsTV live. Fife Hyland was instrumental in the cuts on hibernian TV of live home matches for supporters living overseas. This maybe explains why they wouldnt consider any of our ideas to make this service more profitable to the Club until the end of this season when Fife is gone.

06-04-2012, 02:52 PM

Yogi was tactically bereft. When Stokes left his only game plan, "get the ba' to Stokesy" went with him. Never wanted him, didn't like what he brought to the club and was glad he left.