View Full Version : 2012 Masters

02-04-2012, 02:03 PM
Can't believe its time for the first major of the Season. Coverage of all days on Sky (including 3D) with BBC covering Saturday and Sunday nights.

Unfortunately I can't see beyond Tiger but would love a European win. Saw an advert on TV about some bookie giving refunds on other players if Tiger wins. Anyone know who that is?

02-04-2012, 02:29 PM
Can't believe its time for the first major of the Season. Coverage of all days on Sky (including 3D) with BBC covering Saturday and Sunday nights.

Unfortunately I can't see beyond Tiger but would love a European win. Saw an advert on TV about some bookie giving refunds on other players if Tiger wins. Anyone know who that is?

Tiger looks like he has found his form again just at the right time.

It's Paddy Power who are offering that bet.

02-04-2012, 03:37 PM
Its between the following three players. Woods, McIlroy, Rose.
Rose E/W would be the best value.(Particularly at Paddy Powers)

02-04-2012, 04:16 PM
I don't think woods will do much if I'm honest (all this woods is back chat, 1 swallow does not a girlfriend make and all that) I'm going for Donald and a few random high odds each way bets. Golf betting is always a shot in the dark i think as anyone from evens up to 200-1 could have a decent chance :thumbsup:

02-04-2012, 05:21 PM
One of the knock on effects of Tiger's apparent return to form is the fact that there are some great prices available on the rest of the field:-

My picks are:-

Charl Schwartzel (45/1). Fantastic odds for the defending champion and for a guy who this season has already had 10 top ten finishes in his 14 starts.

Hunter Mahan (33/1) Another "in form " player who won last week's Houston Open and is now ranked number 4 in the world.

Jason Day (40/1) Last year's runner up. He's not been in the best of form this season but he's too good a player not to come good sometime.

Nick Watney (60/1) Winner of a recent World Championship event at Doral and with a very respectable Masters record to date. He must be a great each way bet.

Bring it on!!

03-04-2012, 10:19 AM
As well as the Woods money back thing, Paddy Power pay 1/4 odds for first 6 places.

03-04-2012, 08:54 PM
Bubba Watson.

Matty_Jack04
04-04-2012, 06:41 PM
Adam Scott for me

04-04-2012, 06:53 PM
Adam Scott for me

Had him last year and was getting excited, then it all went wrong.

To make matters worse I also had McIlroy.

04-04-2012, 07:26 PM
'Mon tae **** Sky! First live broadcast of the competition (Par 3 tournament) and it drops out due to a "fault", resulting in the replay of old film.

This NEVER happened on the BBC in all the time I watched it on there - first year and Sky eff up from the get-go.

Pish poor.

04-04-2012, 07:41 PM
'Mon tae **** Sky! First live broadcast of the competition (Par 3 tournament) and it drops out due to a "fault", resulting in the replay of old film.

This NEVER happened on the BBC in all the time I watched it on there - first year and Sky eff up from the get-go.

Pish poor.

Sky had it last year as well.

Agree tonight was/is a shambles though.

04-04-2012, 07:43 PM
Sky had it last year as well.

Agree tonight was/is a shambles though.

Ah, so they did! I forget, because I didn't actually get to see any of The Masters last year, as I was at a conference!

Seems it's the result of bad weather, which I guess we can't blame Sky for. What a disappointment though.

Godsahibby
04-04-2012, 08:34 PM
I'm looking forward to watching the golf in 3D for the first time. I love this time of year with easter weekend and the Master being on, Jesus certainly picked a good weekend to make his comeback.

Back to the Masters, good to see Woods getting his form back with Donald Mcilroy and many others in the field all finding their game at the same time it is going to be a very open tournament.

Betting wise I'm fancing Baddley or Padraig e/w

edit, apologies I meant Keigan Bradley e/w

04-04-2012, 09:44 PM
My masters bets are

Schwartzel @40/1
Watney@50/1
Rose@25/1
Snedeker @66/1
Garcia@66/1

All for a couple of pound each way. Hoping they all make the cut and give me a hopefull weekend :thumbsup:

05-04-2012, 10:16 AM
I'll have

Rose @ 25/1
Baddeley ew @ 150/1
Quiros ew @ 150/1

06-04-2012, 04:39 AM
Had him last year and was getting excited, then it all went wrong.

To make matters worse I also had McIlroy.

So did I. 100/1 IIRC. I was getting all excited till that buck toothed South African went mental on the last four or five holes. Also had Luke Donald so I did ok but I thought Scott was gonna win me good.
Its Rose and Stricker each way for me this year. Level and one under . Not out of it on day one which is good.

06-04-2012, 07:01 PM
So did I. 100/1 IIRC. I was getting all excited till that buck toothed South African went mental on the last four or five holes. Also had Luke Donald so I did ok but I thought Scott was gonna win me good.
Its Rose and Stricker each way for me this year. Level and one under . Not out of it on day one which is good.
Pair of Hackers doing their best today to leave me without a weekend interest this year.:grr:

06-04-2012, 09:17 PM
Does Colin Montgomerie have a stutter when speaking? Seems okay on commentary but in the studio chat earlier he could hardly get a word out. Never noticed that with him before.

06-04-2012, 09:43 PM
Does Colin Montgomerie have a stutter when speaking? Seems okay on commentary but in the studio chat earlier he could hardly get a word out. Never noticed that with him before.

my old boy made the same point yesterday mate

06-04-2012, 10:38 PM
Quite sad seeing Woods playing like this.

That shot at 16 is the worst shot I've ever seen him play.

07-04-2012, 06:34 AM
Quite sad seeing Woods playing like this.

That shot at 16 is the worst shot I've ever seen him play.

It was a shocker, even his 2nd shot and chip shot on 15 were awful efforts.

07-04-2012, 07:16 AM
It was a shocker, even his 2nd shot and chip shot on 15 were awful efforts.

Agreed

That 16th though - a simple wedge or 9 iron with no wind and he never looked happy over the ball

Tiger of old could have played that with his eyes shut

07-04-2012, 07:36 AM
My masters bets are

Schwartzel @40/1
Watney@50/1
Rose@25/1
Snedeker @66/1
Garcia@66/1

All for a couple of pound each way. Hoping they all make the cut and give me a hopefull weekend :thumbsup:

Well they have all made the cut :thumbsup:

07-04-2012, 09:45 AM
I'm capable of doing this regularly :greengrin

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4WWbRBoFh8k

07-04-2012, 09:56 AM
I always said I'd quite like to play golf like Tiger one day.

I didn't think it would come so soon :greengrin

07-04-2012, 10:45 AM
Well they have all made the cut :thumbsup:

My two donkeys also made it but only one has any chance but he needs a more than decent weekend. Ilike the look of Rory and I think its his this year.

07-04-2012, 10:58 AM
My two donkeys also made it but only one has any chance but he needs a more than decent weekend. Ilike the look of Rory and I think its his this year.

I fancied Westwood or McIlroy before we got underway, but I'm nae a gambler, so there's nothing riding on it :greengrin

07-04-2012, 06:46 PM
I fancied Westwood or McIlroy before we got underway, but I'm nae a gambler, so there's nothing riding on it :greengrin
One donkey round today in level so well out of it. The other going along nicely at 3 under for the day and tournament.
Could do with another two or three Birdies today to be in contention for a win. He is thru 11 safely so get past 12 unscathed and gimmie a couple of eagles on the way in please. :greengrin

07-04-2012, 07:55 PM
Freddy Couples has hit the "Tiger" button, with his second 6 of the day.

However, Tiger take note - the club didn't leave his hand or connect with his foot :agree:

07-04-2012, 08:04 PM
My man gets it to 4 under after 14. The BBC goes Live and he goes bogey - double bogey and back to 1 under. **** off BBC!!!!:grr:

07-04-2012, 08:26 PM
I added Oosty and Lefty to the betting slip today .. Just as well as Rory's out of it IMHO!

07-04-2012, 08:37 PM
My man gets it to 4 under after 14. The BBC goes Live and he goes bogey - double bogey and back to 1 under. **** off BBC!!!!:grr:
..............and a bogey to finish. Brilliant, Who does he think he is? Tiger? :greengrin

07-04-2012, 10:33 PM
Latest odds:

13/8 Mickelson
10/3 Hanson
11/2 Oosthuizen
14/1 Watson, Westwoood
22/1 Harrington

08-04-2012, 09:36 AM
The Green jacket is still well and truly up for grabs. Peter Hansen is not a great "front runner" and both Mickleson & Kuchar holed more than their fair share of putts last night to bring them into contention. I've a feeling that Oosthuizen will not be far away and I've still not given up on one Hunter Mahan as he is one of my bets.

I see that Lee Westwood is paired with Paul Lawrie so that will add to the interest in what should be a great final night's viewing.

08-04-2012, 09:38 AM
Latest odds:

13/8 Mickelson
10/3 Hanson
11/2 Oosthuizen
14/1 Watson, Westwoood
22/1 Harrington

Got harrington at 100/1 before the tournament, also got sang moon bae (or whatever he's called) at 175/1 and he's still got an outside chance of winning me an each way bet.

Love gambling on golf, unbelievable value.

08-04-2012, 10:13 AM
2 of my 3, Yang and Van Pelt, are out of the running although if Yang has a blinder today, he could scrape the top 6. Nah.

I backed Ooosthuizen each way at 90/1 so I'll have an interest for most, if not all of the evening. I was surprised and disappointed that he laid up instead of taking on the par 5's last night. Maybe he was just making sure he stayed in contention and we'll see more ambition tonight.

So it's the pub for me to watch Hibs at 12.30, then home for a sleep before heading out to the golf club for the last round (in more ways than one :wink: ).

Can't wait.

08-04-2012, 04:22 PM
im hoping for hanson have him at £1 e/w 150-1 which would be sweet also got big lefty at whatever his starting odds were at £1 on the nose

Mikey_1875
08-04-2012, 06:59 PM
Louis oosthuizen, off to a flyer, incredible shot for albatross!

08-04-2012, 07:04 PM

08-04-2012, 07:09 PM
Latest odds:

6/4 Mickelson, Oosthuizen
7/1 Hanson
10/1 Watson
16/1 Kuchar
20/1 Harrington
40/1 Westwood

08-04-2012, 07:18 PM

I bet Radge is going absolutely..............well.........radge in the Turnhouse club house. :thumbsup::thumbsup:

08-04-2012, 07:48 PM
Getting a wee bit excited as Bubba moves clear in 2nd on 7 under.

Still a lot of golf to play though and Bubba is more capable than almost anyone of imploding.

Might not plan how I'm going to spend my winnings just yet.

08-04-2012, 07:58 PM
It's boiling up nicely.Louis is looking like favourite right now as things seem to be going for him.

08-04-2012, 08:14 PM
Backed Harrington at 28's today after massive fails from my original bets, he's sneaking up nicely :)

08-04-2012, 08:43 PM
5/4 Oosthuizen
3/1 Bubba
10/3 Mickelson
8/1 Hanson
16/1 Harrington
20/1 Kuchar

08-04-2012, 09:19 PM
As it stands Rose is tied 9th. I need three ahead of him to collapse by trying to chase it and hope no one sneaks past him to be in the money. Not asking much. :greengrin

08-04-2012, 09:24 PM
Hanson is still there and he's holed absolutely nowt.

08-04-2012, 09:33 PM
Lays up at 12!!!!! :greengrin

08-04-2012, 09:35 PM

Not going to either IMHO

08-04-2012, 09:37 PM

Kiss of death to be mentioned on hibs net!

08-04-2012, 09:44 PM

WTF happened? Went through to get a voddy and came back to see him infront of the water, assumed that he'd went in it.

08-04-2012, 09:46 PM
[QUOTE=I'm_cabbaged;3172946]WTF happened? Went through to get a voddy and came back to see him infront of the water, assumed that he'd went in it.[/QUOT

A classic shank but we'll not even mention it!

08-04-2012, 09:48 PM
WTF happened? Went through to get a voddy and came back to see him infront of the water, assumed that he'd went in it.
J Arthur Rank.
Lucy Locket
Davey Crocket
Sherman Tank.:greengrin

08-04-2012, 09:49 PM
Kiss of death to be mentioned on hibs net!
Lays up again at 13. :greengrin:greengrin

08-04-2012, 09:53 PM
Lays up again at 13. :greengrin:greengrin

As I said earlier - he's just not a good front runner!

08-04-2012, 09:54 PM
Peach of a pitch by Bubba at 14.

08-04-2012, 09:55 PM
Cheers lads, superb. I enjoy seeing pros making the same **** shots as I do :)

08-04-2012, 09:57 PM
Kuchar nearly makes albatross

08-04-2012, 09:58 PM
8 under for Bubba.

That's how to bounce back from a bogey. Birdie, birdie.

Keep it going and I'm a few quid better off!

08-04-2012, 10:04 PM
This is going to be some finish, hard to pick a winner.

08-04-2012, 10:05 PM
Kuchar joins Louis on 9 under.

Things heating up nicely.

08-04-2012, 10:07 PM
I hope you are all on holiday tomorrow. I smell play off. :greengrin

08-04-2012, 10:13 PM
Louis 10 under, Bubba and Kuchar on 9.

3 birdies in a row for Watson.

I am also starting to get the distinct aromas of a play off

08-04-2012, 10:17 PM
Louis coping well with the pressure so far. I still think he's the winner.

08-04-2012, 10:17 PM
What a shot from Watson...

08-04-2012, 10:19 PM
Decent reply from Oosthuizen, but he'll give Watson a read on the putt from there.

08-04-2012, 10:22 PM
Decent effort by Oosthuizen.

08-04-2012, 10:23 PM
Indeed he did.

Great 2 from Bubba - 4th birdie in a row!

08-04-2012, 10:23 PM
Brilliant viewing!

08-04-2012, 10:24 PM
4 birdies in a row from Bubba to tie at the top.

C'Mon big man, I've got an extra wee holiday booked with the money you could win me!

08-04-2012, 10:25 PM
And he fires a drive into the woods!

08-04-2012, 10:26 PM
And he fires a drive into the woods!

Golfing suicide, but Louis does the same.

And here comes Phil...

08-04-2012, 10:26 PM
And Louis goes the opposite way

Westwood might still be in this.

08-04-2012, 10:31 PM
Lovin this. :thumbsup: Never fails. :agree:

Louis got lucky coming out the trees then plops it in the bunker, Bubba on the green.

Bubba is going like a train right now!

08-04-2012, 10:33 PM
Bubba is going like a train right now!

I'm not even saying how much he can win me for fear of jinxing it!

08-04-2012, 10:35 PM
I had a chance to attend the Masters 5 years ago and turned it down. What a bloody eejit!

08-04-2012, 10:37 PM
I hope you are all on holiday tomorrow. I smell play off. :greengrin

Naw! :grr: And 3 hours sleep last night before up at 6 for the golf. I'm knackered!

08-04-2012, 10:37 PM
This is brilliant entertainment.

Level pegging going down 18 with Phil lurking in the background.

08-04-2012, 10:39 PM
That tee shot at the last must be terrifying.

08-04-2012, 10:40 PM
Bubba safe off the tee on 18, Louis likewise.

08-04-2012, 10:40 PM
This is brilliant entertainment.

Level pegging going down 18 with Phil lurking in the background.
Two very good tee shots.:agree:

08-04-2012, 10:44 PM
Is play off tomorrow?

If it happens :greengrin

08-04-2012, 10:46 PM
Think it follows immediately?

US Open which is full further round - this is just a few holes.

2 quite average shots into the green, but Bubba on the right level.

Putting for dough springs to mind now

Is play off tomorrow?

Nope, straight after.

Both on the green at 18, Bubba in the better position.

Great ovation for both too.

Is play off tomorrow?

Technically yes.:agree: After the final two come in it will be tomorrow.:greengrin

Is play off tomorrow?

Aye - in about 10 minutes maybe!

08-04-2012, 10:47 PM
Can't see Louis holing that so bubba with the chance to get 5 birdies in 6 holes to win it

08-04-2012, 10:48 PM
Almost a good putt by Louis.

4 foot or so past though.

08-04-2012, 10:49 PM
Bubba with a putt to win.:thumbsup::greengrin

08-04-2012, 10:50 PM
Watson misses as well - taps in for par.

Bubba with a putt to win.:thumbsup::greengrin

Yep unless Mickelson pulls off a miracle.

Misses then taps in. Up to Louis now.

Wee bit of a knee trembler for Louis now

08-04-2012, 10:51 PM
Louis nails it

Playoff it is!

Play off

Yasssss

Simply fantastic!

Mikey_1875
08-04-2012, 10:52 PM
Great round of golf by these two, anyones to win now!

08-04-2012, 10:53 PM
Did I hear right? Sudden death play off?

08-04-2012, 10:54 PM
Sudden death and my money is still on Louis.

08-04-2012, 10:55 PM
Did I hear right? Sudden death play off?
Aye. The masters has been that since it was introduced in 1979.

08-04-2012, 10:56 PM
Aye. The masters has been that since it was introduced in 1979.

Thinking back that does ring a few bells.

No sure my nerves will take it, God knows how the players will feel

08-04-2012, 10:57 PM
Thinking back that does ring a few bells.

No sure my nerves will take it, God knows how the players will feel
Faldo won his two in play offs IIRC. Certainly one.

08-04-2012, 10:58 PM
Wee safety bet on Bubba such I cannae lose out :greengrin

08-04-2012, 11:00 PM
Wee safety bet on Bubba such I cannae lose out :greengrin

Blouse!!!! :greengrin

08-04-2012, 11:03 PM
Faldo won his two in play offs IIRC. Certainly one.

The first 2 :wink:

08-04-2012, 11:05 PM
Here we go here we go here we go!

08-04-2012, 11:06 PM
Blouse!!!! :greengrin

Louis wins and ma clubs get re-gripped, and new shoes bought :greengrin

08-04-2012, 11:07 PM
2 beauties off the tee.

08-04-2012, 11:07 PM
Advantage Nobody. :greengrin

08-04-2012, 11:08 PM
The first 2 :wink:
What's a first between friends? :greengrin

08-04-2012, 11:12 PM
Advantage Bubba. Just.

Mikey_1875
08-04-2012, 11:13 PM
Down to the wire! Good chances for both! Bubba looks like a man on a mission though, steel in his eyes

08-04-2012, 11:13 PM
Two great shots considering the pressure.

08-04-2012, 11:14 PM
I have to say, when Louis won The Open, I thought he was going to be one of those players who would fade into obscurity with one major win.

I stand corrected regardless to who eventually wins. Fancy both to miss here.

08-04-2012, 11:14 PM
If Louis drains his Bubba will crumble. :greengrin (copyright FJK)

08-04-2012, 11:15 PM
About a mm from droping!

08-04-2012, 11:15 PM
Louis so close.

Bubba has a putt to win.

Mikey_1875
08-04-2012, 11:16 PM
Scratch that he looks a wreck now!

08-04-2012, 11:16 PM
Louis so close.

Bubba has a putt to win.

Eyes closed for you!

08-04-2012, 11:17 PM
Bubba so so close too.

08-04-2012, 11:17 PM
Another hole to go

08-04-2012, 11:18 PM
Fek me I'm going to run out of bevvie at this rate :)

Bubba will Blubba win or lose. :greengrin Off to the tenth. :thumbsup:

Another hole to go

At least!

10th will sort them oot

08-04-2012, 11:19 PM
Oh dear Bubba...

Bubba wild off the tee

Bubba hooks it

08-04-2012, 11:20 PM
Louis likewise.

Crazy stuff.

Oh dear Louis...:greengrin

Louis follows him jeezo

Mikey_1875
Unbelievable !

Compelling stuff!

You better start sipping instead of gulping. It looks like nobody wants to win this. :greengrin

08-04-2012, 11:21 PM
3 wood for safety. :)

08-04-2012, 11:22 PM
New underpants yet Pretty Boy? Gonna tell us how much is riding on the Big Floppy Haired one?

08-04-2012, 11:23 PM
New underpants yet Pretty Boy? Gonna tell us how much is riding on the Big Floppy Haired one?

Got £15 e/w at 40/1 so a lot.

08-04-2012, 11:23 PM
If anyone can bend it onto the green from there Bubba can. :agree:

08-04-2012, 11:24 PM
Louis just short

08-04-2012, 11:24 PM
Got £15 e/w at 40/1 so a lot. Fingers crossed for you Buddy. :agree:

08-04-2012, 11:25 PM
4/6 Louis
11/10 Bubba

Bubbas seen Louis miss the green surely a shot out and hope for a pitch and putt. :cb

Fingers crossed for you Buddy. :agree:

In fairness its not too bad, I'm guaranteed at least £150, the win would be a bonus.

08-04-2012, 11:26 PM
What.A.Shot...

There's been a bit jiggery poker in the woods methinks.

What a shot from Bubba!

Mikey_1875
Deserves to win it after that shot! Real quality.

What a shot

Advantage bubba

What a ****ing shot under the circumstances.

What a shot.

Go on Bubba you big beautiful barsteward

My God, what a ****in shot!

08-04-2012, 11:27 PM
There's been a bit jiggery poker in the woods methinks.

He's long, but I doubt even he's that long. It either clattered off something hard and carried on, or it's been "moved" along.

08-04-2012, 11:27 PM
Louis to hole this anyone?

08-04-2012, 11:28 PM
Looking like bubbas now

08-04-2012, 11:28 PM
2/5 Watson before Oosty poor chip.

08-04-2012, 11:31 PM
How did that stay out!!

Well played Watson! :agree:

Great putt by Louis, thought that was in.

2 putts for the masters and £780 for me!

Lag coming up? :)

08-04-2012, 11:32 PM
Thank you Mr Watson.

08-04-2012, 11:32 PM
Well done pb!

08-04-2012, 11:33 PM
A great night's viewing. Well done to Bubba.!

08-04-2012, 11:34 PM
Great scenes.

Been a good month for the big man, Masters Champion and becomes an adoptive father.

08-04-2012, 11:34 PM
Good Stuff. Well played Blubba. :agree:

08-04-2012, 11:35 PM
Thank you Mr Watson.
:thumbsup: Chuffed to bits for you. :agree:

08-04-2012, 11:35 PM
Blubbering wreck right enough :greengrin

08-04-2012, 11:36 PM
Cheers guys.

Makes up for last year when i had Adam Scott and McIlroy!

09-04-2012, 08:42 AM

I finished a whopping £6 up after ma various bets :cb

09-04-2012, 08:57 AM
That was a great nights golf and a worthy winner - superb entertainment. :thumbsup:

09-04-2012, 09:13 AM
Disappointed Louis didn't hold on, but I had him each way so I'm still in profit.

13-04-2012, 09:01 AM

I also had a wee bet on Bubba from the start and won £160 :thumbsup: