View Full Version : Best fat footballer

andrew_dundee
28-03-2012, 11:35 PM
I caught up with my brother for a few pints tonight (who also posts on these forums) and we were discussing Gary O'Conner. We came to the conclusion that he's **** because he's unfit (an understatement) which leads me onto the question of who the best fat/ unfit footballer is or was? for my money Gazza was still pretty good when he was overweight, but surely there must be others. Who is the best unfit/ overweight footballer and are they better or worse than Gary O'Conner?

28-03-2012, 11:48 PM
Joe Harper, Ally McLeod, SuperAlly...............Tiny Wharton got a few for Der Hun......... there's a few roly poly guys made a difference.

28-03-2012, 11:51 PM
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Andy_Ritchie_(Scottish_footballer)
Quality

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ferenc_Pusk%C3%A1s
... and say nae mair.

29-03-2012, 12:09 AM
I watch some highlights years ago of maradona playing in Bolivia. It was some kind of protest match against FIFA IIRC. This was when he was HUGE and he was still amazing, years after he retired.

Mixu62
29-03-2012, 12:24 AM
Matt Le Tissier was incredible in his day.

El Gubbz
29-03-2012, 12:39 AM
Don't know why he gets called it but fat Frank

HibeeMG
29-03-2012, 12:50 AM
Mick Quinn was a hell of a striker for someone who couldn't run or jump!

29-03-2012, 01:03 AM
Barry Lavety, Original Ronaldo, Cantona was never the slimiest, Gazza as mentioned in the OP, Southall, Razor Ruddock, But most of these guys are a bygone era

zosohibee
29-03-2012, 01:20 AM
Ronaldo Luiz Nazario de Lima
that is all

29-03-2012, 05:28 AM
It's no contest, Barry Lavety was the best fat footballer ever.

Septimus
29-03-2012, 06:21 AM
Fat Pat Quinn

Craigyno1
29-03-2012, 06:26 AM
Jan Molby!

29-03-2012, 06:29 AM
Still one of my favorite bits of banter was when a rather large John Clark was playing for Gala Fairydean and someone shouted "Dinnae give him the ba, he'll eat it!!" :greengrin

29-03-2012, 06:42 AM
what about that Northampton boy? Thought I had my tele on widescreen when he came on. Akenfiwa or such?

29-03-2012, 07:20 AM
Jan (Rambo) Molby
or Sammy Lee ("He's fat, he's round, he's worth a million pound....Sammy Lee" :greengrin

29-03-2012, 07:41 AM
Neville Southall was some keeper for a fatty.

John Robertson and Ally McCoist werent exactly trim but they knew where the goals were.

Not really fat but Wayne Rooney isn't a bad player for a guy who hardly looks like an athlete.

The winner has to be Eduardo 'the tank, Nelly' Hurtado.

29-03-2012, 07:50 AM
Its O'Connor!! Not O'Conner.

29-03-2012, 08:43 AM
Dean Windass, chunky predator.

Who was the guy who played for Denmark and smoked about 40 a day?

29-03-2012, 09:54 AM
Quality

Best tubby I saw by far. Hugely skillful with amazing vision but couldn't run for toffee.

29-03-2012, 09:56 AM
Anyone remember Andy Ritchie? Played for Morton, he was of the rotund shape, but could play a bit. If my memory is right, i think he may have been voted player of the year too? :confused:

29-03-2012, 10:07 AM
Anyone remember Andy Ritchie? Played for Morton, he was of the rotund shape, but could play a bit. If my memory is right, i think he may have been voted player of the year too? :confused:

This guy:

Ritchie was famous for what, by the standard of most professional footballers, was a rotund build and apparently blase demeanour. Scottish football journalist Chick Young (http://www.hibs.net/wiki/Chick_Young) saw Ritchie as "the epitome of the Scottish footballer - a fat, lazy *******, but with great ball skill

29-03-2012, 10:52 AM

That's snooky's wiki link above, mate. Great player.

Remember him playing a midweek game when wee Isaak and Sven played (their debut's?). We beat them that night but Ritchie was amazing.

29-03-2012, 11:02 AM
That's snooky's wiki link above, mate. Great player.

Remember him playing a midweek game when wee Isaak and Sven played (their debut's?). We beat them that night but Ritchie was amazing.

He always seemed to play well against us, i was always wary when he got the ball, and as that report said his free kicks were terrific. They dont make them like him anymore. :top marks

29-03-2012, 11:05 AM
that is all

Definitely.

29-03-2012, 11:09 AM
Can't believe nobody has mentioned John Hartson yet!

OxoHibby
29-03-2012, 11:14 AM
Can't believe nobody has mentioned John Hartson yet!

Can,t believe nobody has mentioned Christian Nade yet

29-03-2012, 11:17 AM
that is all

Best fatty by a mile. :agree:

29-03-2012, 11:29 AM
There is no possible argument about this.

FERENC PUSKAS - END OF.

29-03-2012, 11:32 AM
For Hibs my favourite fatso was Ally McLeod, although I've always suspected that our main stand had to be rebuilt after Franck and Mixu's jig during the 6-2 game shoogled the old structure a bit too much.

I also had a soft spot for Beastie, who didn't look scared of a fish supper or two.

29-03-2012, 11:44 AM
There is no possible argument about this.

FERENC PUSKAS - END OF.

He wasn't fat, he was Pigeon chested, and maybe a bit pigeon stomached as well. He wasn't fat in the Andy Ritchie/Ally MacLeod type of fat anyway.

McSwanky
29-03-2012, 11:48 AM
Mark Yardley.

Well, he was definitely fat.

29-03-2012, 11:56 AM
Mark Yardley.

Well, he was definitely fat.

Was just about to post that. He was a serious lardo and crap to boot. Think he is also a yam.

29-03-2012, 12:20 PM

Stig tofting ? Dunno if he smoked but was in a bike gang and in general a radge, I thought he was awesome (also more of a wee stocky unit than fat)

29-03-2012, 12:49 PM
Kevin Mouse.

29-03-2012, 12:50 PM
Christiano Nade.

29-03-2012, 01:13 PM
Teves

29-03-2012, 01:41 PM
Stig tofting ? Dunno if he smoked but was in a bike gang and in general a radge, I thought he was awesome (also more of a wee stocky unit than fat)
Definitely not fat, he was like a body builder. Despite being a bit of a nutcase (read his back story and you'd understand why), I bumped in to him a few times in Tesco etc when he was at Bolton and he was a genuinely nice guy and a cracking player as well.

As mentioned earlier in the thread, Akinfenwa at Northampton is a beast but he was a serious handful when he played against Bolton last season.

cad
29-03-2012, 01:50 PM
Andy Ritchie , Morton & Celtic heehaw 89 Min's free kick goal and that was it, didnae run, tackle ,or even head the ball, he maybe passed it a few times but Im no sure a bizarre career.
If ever a player epitomised how the OF take any threat to there stash being take by players from other teams , just buy them and be damned
Andy Ritchie fits the bill .

29-03-2012, 02:16 PM
The fattest player I ever saw was Aberdeen born Alex Dawson who played for Man United and Preston in the 1950s and 1960s.

He scored 45 goals in 80 League appearances for United and 114 in 197 for Preston (at a lower level). He scored a hat trick in a Cup Semi-Final for United and a gal in the FA up Final for Preston aganst West Ham in 1964.

Dan Sarf
29-03-2012, 02:26 PM
Bobby Johnstone when he came home to Hibs.

He was out of breath by the time he made it to the centre circle for the kick off and seldom moved out of it thereafter. But he had the vision of a master. Could drop the ball onto Joe Baker's toe when Joe was travelling at about 60 miles an hour towards the opposition's goals.

The best fat footballer. Ever.

29-03-2012, 02:54 PM
Willie Hamilton put the beef on towards the later part of his career. Great player.

scuttle
29-03-2012, 03:10 PM
Chic Charnley

coco22
29-03-2012, 03:12 PM
wasn't a wonderful player and was a bit of nob as well but a guy called jamie pollock played against us in a friendly (for middlesbrough or charlton?) several years ago. he was fat and angry and took dogs abuse from the east that day.

LEaston87
29-03-2012, 03:25 PM
Charlie Miller when he was at Dundee United

29-03-2012, 04:42 PM
Stevie Cowan, great Hibee, was no beanpole. We could do with his goals and service right now.

29-03-2012, 04:45 PM

Windass would be my shout :agree:

29-03-2012, 05:53 PM
dan sarf

I'm with you.

From a Hibs point of view Bobby Johnstone - end of.

Willie Hamilton never reached his portly proportions and was a great, great player but fat when compared to BJ. No.

29-03-2012, 06:03 PM
Tomas Brolin was no stranger to a good scran!

29-03-2012, 06:53 PM
Nobody thinking Paul Wright? Him and Keith would've been brilliant together.

seven nowt
29-03-2012, 06:57 PM
Thought fat Ronaldo would be the most obvious one!

29-03-2012, 06:59 PM
Andy Ritchie of Morton

Dan Sarf
29-03-2012, 07:35 PM
dan sarf

I'm with you.

From a Hibs point of view Bobby Johnstone - end of.

Willie Hamilton never reached his portly proportions and was a great, great player but fat when compared to BJ. No.

Thanks Famous Fiver. They don't make 'em as fat (or as good) as they used to!

Skanko79
29-03-2012, 07:42 PM

God knows how it was spelt but was it not stig inge bjornebie (sp) he was a mentalist, think most of that danish team were, if its the right guy his folks died in a car crash or something and he was raised by the danish hells angels.

another who smoked lots and loved a bevvy and was well overweight towards the end of his career was croatia's robert prosinecki. amazing player in his day though.

stevie fulton, pug ugly to boot.

was chic charnley no carrying a wee bit beef when at hibs??

1875_hibs
29-03-2012, 08:06 PM
Riquelme

29-03-2012, 10:04 PM
hibs have a rich history of fat goalie's

tommy younger...jim mcarthur....alan rough.....budgie....

29-03-2012, 10:15 PM
Only one winner for me "Tubby" Morton, the legendary Melchester Rovers number 1, puts our string of modern day keepers to shame, often single handedly winning matches whilst devouring a cheesecake and wearing a flat tweed cap and knitted woolen polo neck jumper.

Could probably get a game for us now.:wink:

29-03-2012, 10:24 PM
hibs have a rich history of fat goalie's

tommy younger...jim mcarthur....alan rough.....budgie....

One of my first hibs games as a youngster ..

all the east singing - " He`s Fat - He`s round - he bounces on the ground - it`s Alan Rough " ........ :agree:

even back in 1986/87 - us hibs fans were never really into puttin players down or being that critical .... :aok:

29-03-2012, 10:31 PM
Quality

... and say nae mair.

:greengrin Saw the thread title and the first name that came to mind was Andy Ritchie :greengrin

http://www.google.co.uk/imgres?q=andy+ritchie+morton&hl=en&biw=1272&bih=833&gbv=2&tbm=isch&tbnid=N67Q11oOSTz1SM:&imgrefurl=http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/football/spl/celtic/2010/01/07/new-signings-could-be-making-of-tony-mowbray-s-spell-at-celtic-says-former-star-andy-ritchie-86908-21948305/&docid=-0m1u-ZmU-L6dM&imgurl=http://images.mirror.co.uk/upl/dailyrecord3/jan2010/9/6/andy-ritchie-image-2-149758636.jpg&w=460&h=289&ei=9eJ0T6DUD8qp0QX46cixDQ&zoom=1&iact=hc&vpx=582&vpy=162&dur=1659&hovh=178&hovw=283&tx=164&ty=100&sig=107232263895233833641&page=1&tbnh=144&tbnw=201&start=0&ndsp=25&ved=1t:429,r:3,s:0

29-03-2012, 10:43 PM
:greengrin Saw the thread title and the first name that came to mind was Andy Ritchie :greengrin

http://www.google.co.uk/imgres?q=andy+ritchie+morton&hl=en&biw=1272&bih=833&gbv=2&tbm=isch&tbnid=N67Q11oOSTz1SM:&imgrefurl=http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/football/spl/celtic/2010/01/07/new-signings-could-be-making-of-tony-mowbray-s-spell-at-celtic-says-former-star-andy-ritchie-86908-21948305/&docid=-0m1u-ZmU-L6dM&imgurl=http://images.mirror.co.uk/upl/dailyrecord3/jan2010/9/6/andy-ritchie-image-2-149758636.jpg&w=460&h=289&ei=9eJ0T6DUD8qp0QX46cixDQ&zoom=1&iact=hc&vpx=582&vpy=162&dur=1659&hovh=178&hovw=283&tx=164&ty=100&sig=107232263895233833641&page=1&tbnh=144&tbnw=201&start=0&ndsp=25&ved=1t:429,r:3,s:0

Did we not also sign Barry lavetty - who was rather fat after his drugs scandal.... ?? (if i got the name right - all the away fans would sing was - " fat junky bassa ")

29-03-2012, 10:58 PM
Only one winner for me "Tubby" Morton, the legendary Melchester Rovers number 1, puts our string of modern day keepers to shame, often single handedly winning matches whilst devouring a cheesecake and wearing a flat tweed cap and knitted woolen polo neck jumper.

How would he compare with Wally Foot, the one legged custodian of the nets for Neasden FC?

wearehibernian
29-03-2012, 11:37 PM
George McLuskey was not really slim... Not sure if he was ´fat´ but didnt matter, great player while he lasted. aside from that most Hearts strikers over the years fall into this category.

30-03-2012, 01:18 AM
Not saying he was any big shakes but surprised no one has mentioned Blobby Williamson. Ally Mcleod my fav fat hibs player by a mile

patlowe
30-03-2012, 06:47 AM
Mixu!

30-03-2012, 07:10 AM

Could probably get a game for us now.:wink:

Now running a pub on the South coast.

Wasn't a bad keeper for a converted centre half. Far more reliable than flash youngster Charlie 'the cat'. Considering giving up football for a POP career, youngsters in they days eh?

30-03-2012, 07:18 AM
God knows how it was spelt but was it not stig inge bjornebie (sp) he was a mentalist, think most of that danish team were, if its the right guy his folks died in a car crash or something and he was raised by the danish hells angels.

another who smoked lots and loved a bevvy and was well overweight towards the end of his career was croatia's robert prosinecki. amazing player in his day though.

Toftings dad killed his mum then himself Tofting found the bodies aged just 13 dunno if he was raised by them but certainly has been linked to Hells angels

30-03-2012, 07:24 AM

....and, more than likely, a chib.

30-03-2012, 07:55 AM
Neville Southall, Goram.....all the best goalies are fat! Stands to reason. They fill up more of the goal area. It's not rocket science!

30-03-2012, 08:09 AM
Barry Lavety, Original Ronaldo, Cantona was never the slimiest, Gazza as mentioned in the OP, Southall, Razor Ruddock, But most of these guys are a bygone era

i disagree, i think he is a dirty french arrogant slimeball! :wink:

Lee Trundle was a good fat player.

Hillsidehibby
30-03-2012, 08:36 AM
Mark McGhee was a bit porky.

I was at a Celtic v Hibs cup tie at Parkhead and was in the stand beside Celtic fans.

McGhee made a run for the ball but didn't get to it.

A Celtic fan shouted "You would only get to that if there was jam on it"

30-03-2012, 08:52 AM
wasn't a wonderful player and was a bit of nob as well but a guy called jamie pollock played against us in a friendly (for middlesbrough or charlton?) several years ago. he was fat and angry and took dogs abuse from the east that day.
Never the most gifted player, but he always worked his nads off when he played for Bolton. Remember the headline "Liverpool get a Pollocking" after a draw against them. He also scored one of the best own goals of all time that played a huge part in Man City being relegated to Division Two, which earns him some bonus points.

See my post on page two.

30-03-2012, 08:39 PM
A not so slim Jim Baxter during his second spell at Rangers before hanging up his boots at 28. What a waste.

30-03-2012, 09:30 PM
The fattest player I ever saw was Aberdeen born Alex Dawson who played for Man United and Preston in the 1950s and 1960s.

He scored 45 goals in 80 League appearances for United and 114 in 197 for Preston (at a lower level). He scored a hat trick in a Cup Semi-Final for United and a gal in the FA up Final for Preston aganst West Ham in 1964.

Do you recall the Dons keeper John "Tubby" Ogston? Wonder how he got that nickname :greengrin

18/03/07
30-03-2012, 10:10 PM
Deek on his return

30-03-2012, 10:19 PM
Deek on his return

That when he scored a 20 yard curler against Hamilton on his 1st game back?.

31-03-2012, 06:28 AM
That when he scored a 20 yard curler against Hamilton on his 1st game back?.

2nd game back.

His first game back was at home to Dundee Utd I think. That's when he came off the bench and played the through ball that led to our goal.

31-03-2012, 07:37 AM
Do you recall the Dons keeper John "Tubby" Ogston? Wonder how he got that nickname :greengrin

I do remember him, though I didn't think when I saw him that he was particularly fat. Was he any tubbier than, say, Willie Wilson? :dunno:

31-03-2012, 10:33 AM
Deek on his return

Naw.

31-03-2012, 02:58 PM
How would he compare with Wally Foot, the one legged custodian of the nets for Neasden FC?

Probably too much of a difference in styles to do either of these physically challenged immortals justice by comparing them, lets just say both definitely Hibs class. Now Billy the Fish is another matter entirely, though we'd probably need to fatten him up a bit.

31-03-2012, 07:07 PM
The Dobmeister proved again today that he is the world's best fatty.

Two goals in a 3-0 win for Blackpool against league leaders Southampton.

inglisavhibs
31-03-2012, 08:09 PM
I caught up with my brother for a few pints tonight (who also posts on these forums) and we were discussing Gary O'Conner. We came to the conclusion that he's **** because he's unfit (an understatement) which leads me onto the question of who the best fat/ unfit footballer is or was? for my money Gazza was still pretty good when he was overweight, but surely there must be others. Who is the best unfit/ overweight footballer and are they better or worse than Gary O'Conner?
John Robertson the Notts Forest winger was brilliant, great crosser of a ball and made so many goals.

01-04-2012, 08:56 AM
Jan Molby :not worth

01-04-2012, 09:00 AM
Jan Molby :not worth

Remember a game against Man Utd in the very early 90s that was televised. Molby was right over in front of the United fans and the whole support was singing 'get your tits out for the lads', came over clear as day on the tv. Commentators were trying to ignore it.

SmithyHibee
01-04-2012, 10:07 AM
Lee Trundle hands down! :na na: