View Full Version : Griffiths (Definitely Not) finished at hibs now!

Pages : [1] 2 3

aly
20-03-2012, 11:48 PM
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-2117958/Leigh-Griffiths-finished-Hibernian-head-butting-manager-Pat-Fenlon.html?

dmc1875
20-03-2012, 11:49 PM
This cannot be true.... Wtf...

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-2117958/Leigh-Griffiths-finished-Hibernian-head-butting-manager-Pat-Fenlon.html

20-03-2012, 11:51 PM
This cannot be true.... Wtf...

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-2117958/Leigh-Griffiths-finished-Hibernian-head-butting-manager-Pat-Fenlon.html

Uh oh. Going down if true.

What a fud!

Strange how article chooses to finish with digs af Fenlon and not Griffiths.:confused:

20-03-2012, 11:53 PM
Aw FFS :rolleyes:

20-03-2012, 11:59 PM
If true his career's over!

21-03-2012, 12:00 AM
******* idiot if true.

Fenlon's well within his rights to tell Griffiths to bolt now. WTF is wrong with him?!:rolleyes:

21-03-2012, 12:01 AM
We now need another striker FFS!.

neilmartinrocks
21-03-2012, 12:08 AM
ive just got my mates laddie a Hibs kit with "GRIFFITHS" on it!!

Mikey_1875
21-03-2012, 12:09 AM
What the hell is going on here! How does a 'hibby' end up nutting his coach and decking his assistant. Hope re bit about it being more than just Griffiths that is unhappy isn't true or we are truly back to square one if not worse. Serious problems at ER with player culture.

thekaratekid
21-03-2012, 12:10 AM
Sadly it doesn't surprise me.

He could have been a great player for Hibs.

21-03-2012, 12:11 AM
Heard this an hour ago, thought it was a yam on the wind-up. If true, he's pressed the self-destruct switch once too often. Cannae see his parent club being too thrilled either. Silly laddie.

Awwwwwww noooooooooo

JennaFletcher
That is ******' bananas if true. Idiot.

21-03-2012, 12:15 AM
Had the chance to leather some Yams on Sunday and he saves it up for training. What a ******* idiot.

21-03-2012, 12:15 AM
Hibernian FC :not worth

21-03-2012, 12:17 AM
About time Brown got a smack. Hearts bassa.:wink:

dmc1875
21-03-2012, 12:19 AM
Can we re-sign Riordan till the end of the season?? Or are we not allowed to do something like that outwith a transfer window?

In all seriousness we need another striker!

Sorry but were is the creativity and goals coming from Doyle (not a goalscorer), O'Donovan and O'Connor at the moment?

21-03-2012, 12:20 AM
It’s understood a number of squad members have been unhappy with Fenlon’s training methods and match preparation.

Just what you need in a relegation battle. Hopefully this is just paper talk, but sadly its easy to believe.

Matty_Jack04
21-03-2012, 12:21 AM
Didn't want to train with collins, didn't like calderwoods training Dinnae like fenlons training quite happy wi yogis half days tho boys eh...

Sick of this s**** I really am there like a bunch of spoilt wee laddies and we wonder y the yams pump us for fun, just as well the majority are on loan if the ones staying Dinnae like it they can **** off n all, they'll no be missed that's for sure

It's time the club took control again here if it means us going doon then thats fine, £1000 a week just dae as ur f'n told and get the job done!

21-03-2012, 12:23 AM
Didn't want to train with collins, didn't like calderwoods training Dinnae like fenlons training quite happy wi yogis half days tho boys eh...

Sick of this s**** I really am there like a bunch of spoilt wee laddies and we wonder y the yams pump us for fun, just as well the majority are on loan if the ones staying Dinnae like it they can **** off n all, they'll no be missed that's for sure

It's time the club took control again here if it means us going doon then thats fine, £1000 a week just dae as ur f'n told and get the job done!

21-03-2012, 12:24 AM
My brother got sent that link on Facebook a wee while ago and I thought it was a spoof thing that was doing the rounds.

But just looked at it for myself and the headline is actually genuine.

If the story itself turns out to be true, or is even remotely true, then it actually beggars belief to be honest. I honestly don't know where to even begin with Leigh Griffiths.

I want to like him but he makes it so hard with some of his ridiculous behaviour.

If it's now getting to the stage where he's headbutting his manager and punching his assistant manager then he has to be shown the door, even if it will harm our chances of staying up.

You absolutely cannot allow that kind of behaviour to go unpunished.

Really hope it's not true and it's just the media making a mountain out of a molehill but if it is then what an idiot he's been. :bitchy:

Matty_Jack04
21-03-2012, 12:24 AM
Can we re-sign Riordan till the end of the season?? Or are we not allowed to do something like that outwith a transfer window?

In all seriousness we need another striker!

Sorry but were is the creativity and goals coming from Doyle (not a goalscorer), O'Donovan and O'Connor at the moment?

I fancy Doyle to come good with a run of games been unlucky to not had more of a shout IMO

dmc1875
21-03-2012, 12:25 AM
Hearts may have all the money problems in the world but we are truly becoming a footballing laughing stock.

A player nutting the manager, then punching the assistant? FFS what have we come to?

Why was Fenlon singling him out over everyone else anyway I wonder?

Everyone at the club needs a slap. A joke of a football club at the moment.

21-03-2012, 12:26 AM
Patrick McPartlin

"There's an awful lot of "it is understood" in that Griffiths article. Most of which appears to have been based on a post on a fans forum.

Not saying it's totally made up, but I'd be interested to see how Hibs are going to deal with both the story and Griffiths."

21-03-2012, 12:26 AM
Had the chance to leather some Yams on Sunday and he saves it up for training. What a ******* idiot.

:greengrin but also :agree:

If the report is true it indicates he's not got the professionalism required, which is a shame because he has some talent.

Nevertheless, he's not an out and out goalscorer (or certainly isn't for us) and it's not like we'll miss his goals if he's gone, wish I could say different.

neilmartinrocks
21-03-2012, 12:28 AM

:clapper::clapper:

dmc1875
21-03-2012, 12:28 AM
I fancy Doyle to come good with a run of games been unlucky to not had more of a shout IMO

He seems intelligent but not sure about his finishing ability.

Here's hoping though, we are going to need him now! :bitchy:

21-03-2012, 12:39 AM
Why is it every player has a ****ing problem with training at Hibs. FFS!

21-03-2012, 12:39 AM
Hibernian FC :not worth

i don't know whether to laugh or cry, but this made me laugh...although it follows that i laughed because we're a joke...which makes me cry again...

21-03-2012, 12:41 AM
Hearts may have all the money problems in the world but we are truly becoming a footballing laughing stock.

A player nutting the manager, then punching the assistant? FFS what have we come to?

Why was Fenlon singling him out over everyone else anyway I wonder?

Everyone at the club needs a slap. A joke of a football club at the moment.

We don't usually call Hearts "Hearts" on here. There's a number of ways of describing them for Hibs fans and it usually doesn't involve calling them "Hearts" and calling us a "laughing stock" :wink:

21-03-2012, 12:42 AM
i don't know whether to laugh or cry, but this made me laugh...although it follows that i laughed because we're a joke...which makes me cry again...

Your post is the first thing i have seen that has made me smile slightly since i saw the article, so thank you. :wink:

21-03-2012, 12:42 AM

That made me smile.
He's a pub team player.

21-03-2012, 12:47 AM
There was a post on the bounce earlier today, the article is saying pretty much the same as the post did - that LG had had a bustup with Fenlon and had put BB on his erchie etc.

But like others have said, the article is full of phrases such as "it is understood" and "it seems" and "is said to have". Sounds like a lot of speculation - either that, or they're basing the article off an unnamed source and are covering their backs.

The sad part is that it's believable. :rolleyes:

21-03-2012, 12:48 AM
I just got a text about this. Does it anyone know if it's been confirmed? I don't want to go into full panic mode unless it's absolutely necessary.

We're in a relegation scrap fight, yet Griffiths decides he wants to fight the management ffs. Can this week get any worse! No, can this season get any worse! Utter shambles. And this is before I panic!! :panic:

21-03-2012, 12:51 AM
I just got a text about this. Does it anyone know if it's been confirmed? I don't want to go into full panic mode unless it's absolutely necessary.

We're in a relegation scrap fight, yet Griffiths decides he wants to fight the management ffs. Can this week get any worse! No, can this season get any worse! Utter shambles. And this is before I panic!! :panic:

If you haven't reached the panic stage, i'd hate to see at what level panic is for you. :eek: :wink:

21-03-2012, 12:52 AM
be interesting to find out both sides of the story, he maybe really does have some mental health issues

1950's hibbie
This is absolutely ridiculous, it seems since the Collins walkout and Petrie meeting there are no fear of consequences at Hibs. The training ground earlier this season, lacklustre performances, lack of team pride all point to a serious serious problem, possibly somewhere above playing staff and coaches. What is tragic it seems to be the one of us people who cause the most problem. Another sad day, and from the report I see it as saying the team are split about Fenlon and his style, just what we need when heading for a Semi and fighting relegation.

Can the loan players just say I have had enough and leave or are they tied by contract, if given their teams permission can the loan just be abandoned. That could be real trouble.

dmc1875
We don't usually call Hearts "Hearts" on here. There's a number of ways of describing them for Hibs fans and it usually doesn't involve calling them "Hearts" and calling us a "laughing stock" :wink:

I'll go with pub team then :wink:

21-03-2012, 12:54 AM
The amateur culture at Hibs just now is a disgrace. We still only train in the morning and the players still think it's ok to get hammered up George street during the week.
As soon as the better ones like fletcher leave they talk about how they had to adjust to harder training regimes and more demands on them to watch their lifestyle.

21-03-2012, 12:56 AM
This is absolutely ridiculous, it seems since the Collins walkout and Petrie meeting there are no fear of consequences at Hibs. The training ground earlier this season, lacklustre performances, lack of team pride all point to a serious serious problem, possibly somewhere above playing staff and coaches. What is tragic it seems to be the one of us people who cause the most problem. Another sad day, and from the report I see it as saying the team are split about Fenlon and his style, just what we need when heading for a Semi and fighting relegation.

Can the loan players just say I have had enough and leave or are they tied by contract, if given their teams permission can the loan just be abandoned. That could be real trouble.

It's possible the loan players will have a recall clause that could be activated in case of injury crises etc. but I don't think you can just 'abandon' a loan. Other than that I expect you'd have to negotiate cancelling a deal, e.g. Phil Airey.

21-03-2012, 01:14 AM
Absolute disgrace if true and he should be booted out immediately, regardless of whether he is our best striker atm or not, no player should be allowed to get away with this. Absolute idiot and an embarrassment to himself and Hibernian FC, he needs to learn a bit of respect especially towards a club he supposedly loves and have given him a good chance to better his career instead of acting like a silly, bratty little school boy.

Are the players determined to make this week anymore humiliating for us?!

21-03-2012, 01:17 AM
lol

stuart62
21-03-2012, 01:18 AM
My mate picked sparky and francomb up from the casino at fountain park about 11ish, he asked how he was enjoying being at hibs and if he was going to do the business and win this bloody cup. He replied that he was really enjoying being here and that they are all desperate to win the cup.
They had been out with a few other players and had a meal and a few beers.

It sounds to me like this story is a pile o s••••

21-03-2012, 01:26 AM
Let's hold our fire until we know for certain what actually happened?

21-03-2012, 01:39 AM
Already posted above

21-03-2012, 01:51 AM
My mate picked sparky and francomb up from the casino at fountain park about 11ish,

Francomb Tweeted at 10 he was off to bed. Its quite a talent hes got to be in two places at once. Could be useful in the coming games.

21-03-2012, 02:23 AM
Francomb Tweeted at 10 he was off to bed. Its quite a talent hes got to be in two places at once. Could be useful in the coming games.
Close enough, 10:30pm.

https://twitter.com/#!/Francomb_28/status/182232675225047040

21-03-2012, 02:46 AM

I'm not sure the source would lie about seeing them so maybe he got the time a bit wrong....or bed is some new fangled slang word for casino :-)

HibsNZ
21-03-2012, 02:57 AM
About time Brown got a smack. Hearts bassa.:wink:

HibsNZ
21-03-2012, 03:05 AM
Gezzo it's gone from depressing being a Hibs supporter ta bewildering!

Mango Man
21-03-2012, 03:16 AM
I don't believe this for a second, seems like a wind up.

21-03-2012, 04:58 AM
If true and then only if, he should be sent packing and face criminal charges. But like I say, only if.

21-03-2012, 05:01 AM
This is Jambo bait boys, I ain't buying it till I hear it from the definitive Hibs source: The Tache

21-03-2012, 05:16 AM
I was one of the guys saying Leigh should have been emptied after his last suspension, however, lets not get too worked up until this is confirmed..... It could be someone on the windup :agree:

HibsNZ
21-03-2012, 05:27 AM
No other paper has picked up on this, and nothing on official website. Anybody got the phone number for the daily mail :dunno:

Skanko79
21-03-2012, 05:41 AM
Not surprised by this in the slightest. Was blethering to my mate who is the older brother of one of our youth team players, fights appear to be commonplace on the training ground, also players storming of the training pitch refusing to take part in several of Fenlons drills.

Tell you what though, these lads we have on loan must be having a right laugh up here watching this every day. Bet they cant wait to get back down the road.

Pains me to say it but if our joke of a team showed even a fraction of the passion and fight that hearts showed on sunday we wouldnt be second bottom of the league.

21-03-2012, 05:49 AM
If true griffiths is a wee fanny who only claims to be a supporter, any true fan would do their best tothe end of the season at least to secure SPL football and a chance at a cup.

21-03-2012, 05:50 AM
No other paper has picked up on this, and nothing on official website. Anybody got the phone number for the daily mail :dunno:

Aye it is pretty weak imho. I thought we had lots of people on Hibs net 'in the know'. But nobody has a clue about this either way. So much for our intel network.

If this were true the Police would be involved and every paper in the UK would be all over it.

But it's not true, this seems like Jambo giving his imagination a treat and some lazy hack has decided to run with it.

21-03-2012, 05:53 AM
Not surprised by this in the slightest. Was blethering to my mate who is the older brother of one of our youth team players, fights appear to be commonplace on the training ground, also players storming of the training pitch refusing to take part in several of Fenlons drills.

Tell you what though, these lads we have on loan must be having a right laugh up here watching this every day. Bet they cant wait to get back down the road.

Pains me to say it but if our joke of a team showed even a fraction of the passion and fight that hearts showed on sunday we wouldnt be second bottom of the league.

Make your self useful. If you think its true get on the phone to your mate and find out some more info. Chop, chop. We are all waiting.

21-03-2012, 05:57 AM
Remember where Euan Murray's allegiances are.
But, would it surprise me, not in the slightest.

21-03-2012, 05:57 AM
Make your self useful. If you think its true get on the phone to your mate and find out some more info. Chop, chop. We are all waiting.

......and do it now, wake everyone up in the process. We need to know. NOW :greengrin

21-03-2012, 05:58 AM

If this report is true then Griffiths is finished at Hibs - the LAST thing we needed at this stage of the season. More worrying is the bit about Fenlon's control of the squad. If payers ARE refusing to train or follow reasonable instructions then it really is time for Hibs to NAME AND SHAME these buggers, then get them out of the club.

How do you expect Hibs Fans to actually support and relate to the team when things like this (and Sunday's performance) are going on ??? It sounds like the same stuff as Collins had, with Petrie taking the players side. Like Hughes' lazy sods and Calderwood's soft touches. WTF is going on at the club ???

21-03-2012, 06:03 AM
"It’s understood a number of squad members have been unhappy with Fenlon’s training methods and match preparation."

Griffiths confirming that he's a complete ned by attacking the management isn't the biggest worry in that article - the bit quoted above is.

Hibs need to comment on this today. Incidentally, Griffiths obviously needs professional help. He appears to be completely unable to control his temper.

21-03-2012, 06:06 AM
Really worrying that there is even something to base a story like this on.

LG can GTF is it is true, absolute disgrace to the club.

21-03-2012, 06:10 AM
What an idiot.

coco22
21-03-2012, 06:11 AM
worrying that the pars get a boost and we lose arguably our best and most creative player (despite the fact he is complete nob) and have divisions in the squad, all in a couple of days.

21-03-2012, 06:12 AM

And so it begins again. been saying for years the problem at Hibs is the players attitude. Too many decent coaches have come and gone on the back of premadonas. The clearout was only half completed in January. Summer time will see a complete change. Griffiths could have been a legend for us. Idiot!

21-03-2012, 06:15 AM
I remember the good old days when a defeat by the Yams used to spark trouble on the terraces with all hell breaking out as Hibs fans vented their frustration. Now the fans are being embarrassed by the players on-fleld and off-field behaviour... WTF has happened to football and what's going on at ER ? We deserve answers from the Board as something is badly wrong at our club.

21-03-2012, 06:17 AM
Why is it always Hibs? The players change, the coaches change but the attitude remains the same. Bye bye SPL, bye bye Scottish Cup, bye bye season ticket. Time for RP and the board to make serious decisions on the club is run or they can go to.

21-03-2012, 06:22 AM
This story reeks of pish!!

I'll wait for something official before I start slitting my wrists I think. Funny how this comes out the same day as FJK signs for Dunfermline:rolleyes:

Tha Cabbage Kid
21-03-2012, 06:23 AM
i think if it comes down to a player not liking the managers training regime and being shouted at then thats no reason to headbutt someone. tbh i cant imagine any reason why he would do this unless fenlon did a crime against him. like breaking into his house or something. to be totally honest leigh does look and act like an evil we bassa! and it may well be his character.

didnt think i would say this but....even darker days ahead for the cabbage

21-03-2012, 06:26 AM
If griffiths was really aiming for brown and fenlon he probably would have missed so I've got my doubts.

Seriously though, not bothered in the slightest if he doesn't play again, no goals from open play since Dunfermline and an obvious attitude problem so would be no great loss, o'donovan, garry and Doyle have better scoring records but get cut nowhere near the same slack as he's got.

Dinnae get the hype with him at all, imo he's proved he can't hack it at this level yet, on or off the pitch.

Tha Cabbage Kid
21-03-2012, 06:26 AM
when the manager said to leigh "you have to put up a fight" i dont think thats what fenlon had in mind :wink:

21-03-2012, 06:28 AM
The papers fairly got it right with the Kris Commons story though eh ? He allegedly planted one on Lennon.

We are in a relegation battle, days after a derby defeat - emotions will be raw, high, heated. There will be fall outs, players blaming each other - such is the nervousness we find ourselves in. Sproule and Boozy once had to be kept apart after going at each other under JC - bust ups are commonplace at every club.

If he has struck the management team, he has gone too far (not even condoning player fights, but that goes with the territory of team sport). But let's see what comment the club makes.

If true, we'll find ourselves in a mini Tevez/Mancini scenario......different ends of the spectrum. Arguably the best player at club locking horns with a disciplined manager.....both could help either club win a league or cup/ survive......boils down to what Hibs value more......SPL survival or laying down the law. Petrie's track record would suggest the former.

Let's see what unfolds today though.

Tha Cabbage Kid
21-03-2012, 06:29 AM
maybe the boss and assistant are not the only people who have been attacked by griffiths. have you seen the colour of O'connors face? looks like he's been slapped silly

Hibbylad86
21-03-2012, 06:29 AM
Story stinks IMO!

If true LG can GTF, could be a great player but if true his nedish behaviour could cost him a decent career in football!

It's the John Collins saga all over again! We cleared a whole host of primadonas over past 18 months, who is still causing the bother at HTC? Don't like the training or drills and your getting 1000-2500 a week....well cheerio there's the door! Even if we go down its time the club supported a manager and draw line under this immediately!

21-03-2012, 06:33 AM
If true, we'll find ourselves in a mini Tevez/Mancini scenario

If it's true, he'll be away back to his club. Head-butting the manager and giving the assistant a dull one is on a different planet to just refusing to warm up.

21-03-2012, 06:35 AM
Youve got to laugh. Good old Hibs :greengrin

21-03-2012, 06:38 AM
If this actually happened yesterday, I can't understand how the Mail has a scoop on the story. Not even a word about the Mail report on the radio this morning, far less the incident. If it is true I see it as the beginning of the end for Hibs.

21-03-2012, 06:43 AM
It's not unknown at other clubs, Leigh Griffiths had bust ups wi his own fans so no surprise, Fenlon cleared a good few out immediately I like his attitude, not that of players that don't try though such as first half Hibs team at the weekend

21-03-2012, 06:43 AM
Aye it is pretty weak imho. I thought we had lots of people on Hibs net 'in the know'. But nobody has a clue about this either way. So much for our intel network.

If this were true the Police would be involved and every paper in the UK would be all over it.

But it's not true, this seems like Jambo giving his imagination a treat and some lazy hack has decided to run with it.

Hope I'm not speaking out of turn here but there's a suggestion on the pm board something happened although no great details on it, is also on the hibeesbounce.

Don't believe for a second this was just made up, might have been exaggerated but I think something happened.

Hopefully this OS fenlon absolutely hammering them for the dismal first half showing on Sunday, know Adam mitter said on Twitter it was the hardest training session he'd ever had

mcfly
21-03-2012, 06:52 AM
Manager should sit these players down and tell them he is in charge. If they don't like the training methods then show them the door. I'd quite happily run all day for £2500 per week . If only this attitude was shown on the pitch. All this does is give dunfermline a big boost. We are not safe yet

ozzie
21-03-2012, 06:52 AM
dosent it seem a bit strange that there is only 1 online paper with this story. could be wrong but i think this is a wind up which has managed 3 pages so far.

21-03-2012, 06:54 AM
Not heard anything about this anywhere else, so will wait for confirmation.

The most worrying thing would be if the players as a whole are against the manager AGAIN.

All I can say is that in the summer there should be a pile of half decent players looking for clubs, given the problems elsewhere cash wise at some clubs. Ship the lot of them and try again Pat if they wont listen ...... Its that simple !!!

21-03-2012, 06:54 AM
The story is from the Daily Mail. If the Daily Mail told me my arse was on fire I'd not even look, if a paper that has the ability to tell the truth runs this I'll start to worry.

21-03-2012, 06:56 AM
dosent it seem a bit strange that there is only 1 online paper with this story. could be wrong but i think this is a wind up which has managed 3 pages so far.

What's strange about a paper getting an exclusive? It'll be mentioned in other papers tomorrow and other media throughout the day I'm sure

Hibbylad86
21-03-2012, 06:56 AM

Something must have kicked off at training yesterday. Paper wouldn't come out with a wild story like this. May be exaggerated but something will have happened. I'm clinging to hope its just mince

21-03-2012, 06:57 AM
Apparantly Griffiths has denied this. There was an argument due to the derby defeat but nae fighting....

21-03-2012, 07:07 AM
Apparantly Griffiths has denied this. There was an argument due to the derby defeat but nae fighting....

Aye that sounds nearer the mark and I bet someone slipped over and landed on their arse with all the excitement and cleaner has seen this and blown it out of all proportion and posted it somewhere, seriously though I dont think for a moment Fenlon is going to be pushed around by anyone.

21-03-2012, 07:07 AM
Typical .net hysteria when a player can't even banjo the manager and assistant without being crucified by all and sundry on here demanding he be emptied.

Perish the thought had any of you lot been beside me during the Falklands I tell thee.

dirtydirk
21-03-2012, 07:09 AM
These players that moan about training methods need to have a word. They work about 2 hours a day and get paid bloody good money. Imagine the majority of us on here and that go to the games going in to work and saying "sorry boss am not doing anything today as I don't like your methods". This is the second time it has happened. Hibs need to get this culture out of the club wherever it is coming from

21-03-2012, 07:10 AM
Told there were shoves to PF and Broon (this is 3rd hand gen however)

dirtydirk
21-03-2012, 07:13 AM
The story is from the Daily Mail. If the Daily Mail told me my arse was on fire I'd not even look, if a paper that has the ability to tell the truth runs this I'll start to worry.

It does make you wonder. If you had an exclusive lead for a story, would the first paper you phone be the daily mail?? Could maybe mean that the sun or daily record have thought its a pile of crap- which is really saying something

21-03-2012, 07:15 AM
Does anybody here know anybody who works at Hibs. Cos it seems to me there is a bit of an information vacuum. I'd expect to have the real story by now. throught the hibs net much before it hits the press.

Or.........just maybe nobody on here has any connections with the club, that is more scary thought than any alleged brawl!!!!

21-03-2012, 07:16 AM
Wouldnt believe it until its confirmed. Actually saw Leigh yesterday walking through Musselburgh, certainly didnt look like he had just blown his time at the club he loves.

21-03-2012, 07:16 AM
Told there were shoves to PF and Broon (this is 3rd hand gen however)

Source?

Rick Rude
21-03-2012, 07:17 AM
This story sounds like its straight from the real leigh griffiths blog, all that's missing is jocky arriving on his jetpack.

21-03-2012, 07:18 AM
Typical .net hysteria when a player can't even banjo the manager and assistant without being crucified by all and sundry on here demanding he be emptied.

Perish the thought had any of you lot been beside me during the Falklands I tell thee.

Pray tell us, DC, what exactly you were doing in the Falklands war at 8 years old :wink:

Or did you just mean when you went there last year for your holidays

Wyatt.S.Earp
21-03-2012, 07:18 AM
you have to ask yourselves....................W.T.F.....is going on down at Easter Road....if the players have no respect for Fenlon or Brown....they aint got any respect for the "shirt"...ooooooh we are in the "soapy bubble".....big time....hope that a******e....Petrie makes a sensible statement asap............!!....." IT.".gonna jump off the Dean Bridge.....can't take anymore...

21-03-2012, 07:19 AM
Something must have kicked off at training yesterday. Paper wouldn't come out with a wild story like this. May be exaggerated but something will have happened. I'm clinging to hope its just mince

It's the Daily Mail. They make a living at coming out with wild, highly inaccurate stories.

21-03-2012, 07:19 AM
Don't believe for a second this was just made up, might have been exaggerated but I think something happened.

That sounds about right. I guess we'll find out more in the next day or so and if he plays at the weekend you can be pretty sure it's been exaggerated.

21-03-2012, 07:22 AM
"It’s understood a number of squad members have been unhappy with Fenlon’s training methods and match preparation."

Griffiths confirming that he's a complete ned by attacking the management isn't the biggest worry in that article - the bit quoted above is.

Hibs need to comment on this today. Incidentally, Griffiths obviously needs professional help. He appears to be completely unable to control his temper.

Agree 100% if any semblance of truth in it! :confused:

21-03-2012, 07:22 AM
Source?

Pal of a pal of the player.

scott7_0(Prague)
21-03-2012, 07:23 AM
Cant be true, Griffiths hitting one target is astonishing but two, that's just daft!

21-03-2012, 07:23 AM
Forget the Griffiths thing, I've no doubt something happened but it will have been exaggerated to breaking point.

What concerns me is that yet again we are starting to hear rumblings of players being unhappy with training. This arcticle isn't the first to allude to it and there have been rumours for a while now.

Who do these ***** think they are? How many managers is it now who's training hasn't met the high standards expected by our mediocre squad? 3? 4? 5? Who is ot higher up who is indulging this moaning?

After Sunday and the way I feel after reading that well quite frankly Hibs can GTF.

21-03-2012, 07:24 AM
The papers fairly got it right with the Kris Commons story though eh ? He allegedly planted one on Lennon.

Let's see what unfolds today though.

I heard that it was Alan Thomson who is an even more unpleasant individual than Lennon! :rolleyes: :wink:

21-03-2012, 07:24 AM
That sounds about right. I guess we'll find out more in the next day or so and if he plays at the weekend you can be pretty sure it's been exaggerated.

Have to agree with this and bingo. If info I got earlier is correct it was shoves and not head butts/punches. Hopefully it is a loada pish.

21-03-2012, 07:27 AM
Pal of a pal of the player.

Is this the best we can do???????

I mean I cant do any better, but someone on here must be on speaking terms with someone working at hibs?

21-03-2012, 07:28 AM
Ach, it'll be like our performances, a lot of Tosh.

We're gonna win the cup, with Leigh hitting a shot that goes in off GOC's erse, you just know it... followed by a GIRUY to the fans he's just ended a 110 years of hell for.

the Hibs way is never the easy way

21-03-2012, 07:34 AM
It is on You Tube now!!!

I think I just make Griffiths out, he is wearing number 15 on his back (which is a bit strange).

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0cYAOskFoBY

21-03-2012, 07:38 AM
There are currently 1,235 people viewing this thread. That's more than we get for a lot of match updates.

Maybe we should start having regular training ground bust ups and charge people to watch. There's obviously a real demand there.

In fact, we could make it one of the incentives for buying a ST for next season,

"Free training ground bust up ticket for you and a partner with every ST bought. Take part in the 'punch a Paddy' and 'lamp a lumbering Yam' competitions. Watch the players as they sneak off to the bookies while Fat GO'C steals all the Pies. Revolting Players? You aint seen nothin yet!"

IFONLY
21-03-2012, 07:42 AM
If this actually happened yesterday, I can't understand how the Mail has a scoop on the story. Not even a word about the Mail report on the radio this morning, far less the incident. If it is true I see it as the beginning of the end for Hibs.

Stop being a drama queen, beginning of the end??? dont think so.

21-03-2012, 07:43 AM
Hibs aside, if its true wtf is he thinking about punching a 60 plus year old man in the puss? Shows more about him than anything if true.

21-03-2012, 07:43 AM
[/B]Stop being a drama queen, beginning of the end??? dont think so.

Aye Jim, I am glad I wasnae with you in the Falklands (well that and the fact I was 4 years old back then).:greengrin

21-03-2012, 07:44 AM
I remember budgie smacking alex miller square in the kisser......he ended up being a cup winner with us........maybe its another omen..............or maybe not

21-03-2012, 07:46 AM
There are currently 1,235 people viewing this thread. That's more than we get for a lot of match updates.

Maybe we should start having regular training ground bust ups and charge people to watch. There's obviously a real demand there.

In fact, we could make it one of the incentives for buying a ST for next season,

"Free training ground bust up ticket for you and a partner with every ST bought. Take part in the 'punch a Paddy' and 'lamp a lumbering Yam' competitions. Watch the players as they sneak off to the bookies while Fat GO'C steals all the Pies. Revolting Players? You aint seem nothin yet!"

Now it is up to 1,341. I just thought of a new hibs chant:

Give us a wave if your a lazy hack

21-03-2012, 07:48 AM

"Free training ground bust up ticket for you and a partner with every ST bought. Take part in the 'punch a Paddy' and 'lamp a lumbering Yam' competitions. Watch the players as they sneak off to the bookies while Fat GO'C steals all the Pies. Revolting Players? You aint seem nothin yet!"

1125 of them are gloating guests watching what they believe to be the biggest football car crash of recent times.

21-03-2012, 07:48 AM
It is on You Tube now!!!

I think I just make Griffiths out, he is wearing number 15 on his back (which is a bit strange).

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0cYAOskFoBY

I must say Nutsy looks pretty quick on feet going by this, but what the hell was he wearing?

21-03-2012, 07:51 AM
I'm not too sure its time to tatter the laddie just yet. Probably better to wait until there is something definitive before we start erecting gallows in the centre circle!

sundo1875
21-03-2012, 07:52 AM
I know that it was only a verbal disagreement

21-03-2012, 07:52 AM
Hibs need to release a statement now, as in not this afternoon, this morning.

If its not true then tell us there's a fabricated story been published and all players are back in today concentrating on Saturday

If it is true then it has to be said that either griffiths is gone but it's back to business for the rest

We're in a relegation battle
Hibs are looking for our money for season tickets.
That's has to be dealt with swiftly

21-03-2012, 07:54 AM
1125 of them are gloating guests watching what they believe to be the biggest football car crash of recent times.

I doubt it. To do that you would need the entire cast of Jungle book and Enron size financial meltdown.

Just who do you think Griffiths is some kind of footballing Rambo! next we are going to hear he torched the entire complex on his way out and stole the entire 2013 supply of Hibs calendars and sold them on the black market.

21-03-2012, 07:59 AM

If its not true then tell us there's a fabricated story been published and all players are back in today concentrating on Saturday

If it is true then it has to be said that either griffiths is gone but it's back to business for the rest

No they dont I have not been this excited since the close of the transfer window!

Say nothing and they guaranteed every paper in the UK will be at the match. People love this kind of stuff. I bet the tache is behind this crazy marketing idea.

:cbSo crazy it might just work!!!!:cb

The Tubs
21-03-2012, 08:00 AM
It's a story leaked to the press by Nutsy in order to galvanise the squad in a "siege mentality" "us and them" fashion and thus guarantee 3 points on Saturday.

PeeKay
21-03-2012, 08:00 AM
Why is it that so many Hibs supporters are so ready to believe when an @rse-wipe of a paper dishes the dirt on our club? Innocent until proven guilty seems to be an alien concept for many.

TheMentalHibees
21-03-2012, 08:02 AM
Need to see what comes out of Hibs after this. Maybe there was a dispute at training but it's been blown out of proportion, with Griffiths reputation he's an easy target for something like this. It wouldn't be the first time the media had embellished something to make it more interesting, would it?

It's a story leaked to the press by Nutsy in order to galvanise the squad in a "siege mentality" "us and them" fashion and thus guarantee 3 points on Saturday.

Exactly, now where is next unsubstantiated claim that my pal of pal was actually there in the pub when he overheard a players younger brother tell us the whole thing.

Set the record straight one way or another. The next couple of weeks are absolutely crucial and the last thing we need is rumours like this hanging around.

No details needed. Just a simple 'its nonsense' or 'there was an incident, we are dealing with it/Leighs gone, everyone else is focussed.'

oregonhibby
21-03-2012, 08:06 AM
If it is true it is the first thing he has got his head near in weeks! Just a new training drill!

21-03-2012, 08:07 AM

Set the record straight one way or another. The next couple of weeks are absolutely crucial and the last thing we need is rumours like this hanging around.

No details needed. Just a simple 'its nonsense' or 'there was an incident, we are dealing with it/Leighs gone, everyone else is focussed.'

What are you like? About to explode with the curiosity lol :faf:

It doesn't make any difference if they issue a statement now (before training) or this afternoon. In fact, if it's not true, they needn't really say anything at all.

Rumours aren't going to hang around if Griffiths is in the team on Saturday.

hibbiedon
Why is it that so many Hibs supporters are so ready to believe when an @rse-wipe of a paper dishes the dirt on our club? Innocent until proven guilty seems to be an alien concept for many.

:top marks Whats worse is there are some that want it to be true, just like they want certain players to make mistakes so they can pick on them

TheEastTerrace
I've no doubt club will be preparing a statement but I tweeted them anyways to say there was a lot of rumour online and getting clarification in a statement ASAP would be useful

East Coast Hibe
21-03-2012, 08:10 AM
Need to see what comes out of Hibs after this. Maybe there was a dispute at training but it's been blown out of proportion, with Griffiths reputation he's an easy target for something like this. It wouldn't be the first time the media had embellished something to make it more interesting, would it?

There was a verbal disagreement - it happens on almost a daily basis between players and players/management.

No punches, no headbut and no Fenlon on his arse.

I can't believe the hysteria on here over a non event.

21-03-2012, 08:13 AM

There was a verbal disagreement - it happens on almost a daily basis between players and players/management.

Source?

21-03-2012, 08:16 AM
Let's wait and see what sort of statement the club can come up with before we start going mental. No smoke without fire, but it won't be the first time something like this has been blown out of all proportion.

East Coast Hibe
21-03-2012, 08:18 AM
Source?

Leigh himself at 7am this morning

21-03-2012, 08:19 AM
What are you like? About to explode with the curiosity lol :faf:

It doesn't make any difference if they issue a statement now (before training) or this afternoon. In fact, if it's not true, they needn't really say anything at all.

Rumours aren't going to hang around if Griffiths is in the team on Saturday.

I'd say Hibs putting this to bed one way or another is important.

Dunfermilne have an easier game than us on Saturday and a new manager. We really need everyone pulling in the same direction. Rumours like this only cause bickering and fans to be on edge.

It's easy to say rumours don't stick but they do. Remember the ones about Hughes bullying younger players and breaking the groundsmans ARM? Those were never proven but they were used by a lot of people to beat Hughes.

The Scott and Welsh incident saw a statement released very quickly so why not do the same here. If it is all bollocks surely Hibs would want to clarify that rather than allow the story to rumble on and grow arms and legs between now and Saturday. This is the last thing we need right now so putting it to bed ASAP seems the right thing to do imo.

21-03-2012, 08:21 AM
Mark benstead on twitter this morning-

My understanding there was an argument between #hibs Leigh Griffiths & manager pat fenlon. However there was no headbut & no punches thrown

#Hibs players angry at suggestions otherwise.

21-03-2012, 08:23 AM
And then a reply from SSN's Luke shanley -

@markbenstead also my understanding Mark. Griffiths chucked his strip in Fenlon's face and then pushed Brown who slipped and fell.

21-03-2012, 08:24 AM

Dunfermilne have an easier game than us on Saturday and a new manager. We really need everyone pulling in the same direction. Rumours like this only cause bickering and fans to be on edge.

It's easy to say rumours don't stick but they do. Remember the ones about Hughes bullying younger players and breaking the groundsmans ARM? Those were never proven but they were used by a lot of people to beat Hughes.

The Scott and Welsh incident saw a statement released very quickly so why not do the same here. If it is all bollocks surely Hibs would want to clarify that rather than allow the story to rumble on and grow arms and legs between now and Saturday. This is the last thing we need right now so putting it to bed ASAP seems the right thing to do imo.

The rumour's arms and legs already seem to be withering away.

I actually hope Hibs say nothing officially if it's not true. They shouldn't have to react to a made up story in the Mail.

If it is true, we'll hear soon enough.

21-03-2012, 08:24 AM

How are folk on here supposed to know that it's a non-event?

21-03-2012, 08:25 AM

Well that's good enough for me. Move along now my good people there is nothing here to see.

I hear the Rangers administration thread is worth a look and if you get really bored just start a thread with the word 'Deeks' in the heading and you will have hours of fun.:aok:

21-03-2012, 08:27 AM

@markbenstead also my understanding Mark. Griffiths chucked his strip in Fenlon's face and then pushed Brown who slipped and fell.

Now was it a hibs strip or a bib, subtle difference I know, but an important one never the less.

East Coast Hibe
21-03-2012, 08:30 AM

Why not wait and find out ??

21-03-2012, 08:30 AM

No difference whatsoever between sticking the head on someone and throwing a lightweight bit of cloth at them. It's practically attempted murder.

21-03-2012, 08:31 AM
Fitba people like myself know that this type of thing happens all the time and is often blown out of all proportion.
In view of the attention this rumour has brought though, I'd still expect Hibs to comment on this to dampen some of the hibs.net hysteria.

I even got a text from one (top) journo stating he'd heard they were arguing about Argentina's rights to the Malvinas.
How this rubbish starts I have no idea.

green glory
21-03-2012, 08:32 AM

I'd doubt anything reported in the Daily Xenophobe until it's reported elsewhere. Not seeing it in any reputable papers.

21-03-2012, 08:33 AM
Now was it a hibs strip or a bib, subtle difference I know, but an important one never the less.

Very important. :agree:

A bib would do nothing to keep you warm and cosy, even in the slightest breeze, while a strip will afford an element of comfort.

Not to mention the variance in UV protection.

21-03-2012, 08:35 AM
Fitba people like myself know that this type of thing happens all the time and is often blown out of all proportion.
In view of the attention this rumour has brought though, I'd still expect Hibs to comment on this to dampen some of the hibs.net hysteria.

I even got a text from one (top) journo stating he'd heard they were arguing about Argentina's rights to the Malvinas.

You just gave me an idea for a new thread. I am sure it would be way more popular than this one.

21-03-2012, 08:38 AM
No difference whatsoever between sticking the head on someone and throwing a lightweight bit of cloth at them. It's practically attempted murder.

Aye anything could of happened, he could of taken his eye out, or the cloth could have just burst into flames and burn him alive, or Nutsy could have been allergic to the that material and collapsed, and despite GOC giving him mouth to mouth for 30 minutes .........oooch the dangers are endless..:rolleyes:

21-03-2012, 08:40 AM

The "**** a sheep once...." story/theory is usually enough to marginalise someone who another doesn't like but can't understand at the same time how others do, admires but hates at the same time as a result of the qualities he admires etc. It is successful in achieving this in the same way as the "red top" newspapers are with untrue stories, i.e. a lot of people have a liking for hearing something bad or unexpectedly shocking about someone who was previously considered to be worthy of general respect etc etc! :agree:

Happens every day in life sadly and can subsequently affect the lives or careers of those wrongly "hung out to dry" as we may be seeing here! :wink: :dunno:

21-03-2012, 08:42 AM
Aye anything could of happened, he could of taken his eye out, or the cloth could have just burst into flames and burn him alive, or Nutsy could have been allergic to the that material and collapsed, and despite GOC giving him mouth to mouth for 30 minutes .........oooch the dangers are endless..:rolleyes:

You may mock but you've obviously never seen someone hospitalised by a training bib. It's no laughing matter. Folk need to be made aware of the dangers of irresponsible bib use.

I'm hear that it was a compression sock that took Billy Brown down too.

21-03-2012, 08:43 AM
Pish papers talk pish. Putting that aside this one is simple:

If its true (which I personally doubt) he gets emptied...
If its pish, five pages of bandwidth (so far) have been largely wasted...

IF the truth is somewhere in the middle, Id back Fenlon to start kicking their *****. Bottom line; behave like a ****ing child at work when being paid well, take a warning. Don't take the warning, **** off and disrupt matters elsewhere. We don't need pish right now. We need points and goals.

Nobody is bigger than the club. And neither is their ego.

ENDOF

son of haggart
21-03-2012, 08:44 AM

I think this is actually true

My understanding is it all started with Griffitchs throwing the bib in Fnlon's face and shouting "Gotcha!"

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:The_Sun_(Gotcha).png

21-03-2012, 08:45 AM

No difference as far as I'm concerned. If he'd caught PF in the eye that could cause a nasty irritation.

21-03-2012, 08:46 AM
No difference as far as I'm concerned. If he'd caught PF in the eye that could cause a nasty irritation.

My money would have been on wee Nutsy to skelp him good style anyway :greengrin

21-03-2012, 08:49 AM
Pish papers talk pish. Putting that aside this one is simple:

If its true (which I personally doubt) he gets emptied...
If its pish, five pages of bandwidth (so far) have been largely wasted...

IF the truth is somewhere in the middle, Id back Fenlon to start kicking their *****. Bottom line; behave like a ****ing child at work when being paid well, take a warning. Don't take the warning, **** off and disrupt matters elsewhere. We don't need pish right now. We need points and goals.

Nobody is bigger than the club. And neither is their ego.

ENDOF

It not wasted bandwidth, a few of us here are working our nuts off to provide top level entertainment to over 1,500 viewers and I personally hold out hopes of getting this thread in the vault!:grr:

21-03-2012, 08:56 AM

Were you driving him home in your taxi from George St at the time?

Not that I'm trying to start any more nasty rumours :wink:

PONGO
21-03-2012, 09:00 AM
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-2117958/Leigh-Griffiths-finished-Hibernian-head-butting-manager-Pat-Fenlon.html?

Get him to **** . Wee dirty tramp ****bag.

21-03-2012, 09:02 AM
You may mock but you've obviously never seen someone hospitalised by a training bib. It's no laughing matter. Folk need to be made aware of the dangers of irresponsible bib use.

Up the Bibs!

21-03-2012, 09:02 AM
Get him to **** . Wee dirty tramp ****bag.

sniff

21-03-2012, 09:05 AM
I want to know what colour the bib was.

I think we should be told.

21-03-2012, 09:06 AM

Although much less serious, it is still worrying that Griffiths is acting like a petulant child. Pretty sure none of us would get away with chucking anything in our boss's face or pushing the assistant during a big hissy fit. The boy has a screw loose.

21-03-2012, 09:07 AM

My money would have been on wee Nutsy to skelp him good style anyway :greengrin

21-03-2012, 09:07 AM
Some punter on the DM responses has stated LG & Fenlons voice mail messages are both denying anything of note happened

mmmmhibby
21-03-2012, 09:12 AM
Hibs aside, if its true wtf is he thinking about punching a 60 plus year old man in the puss? Shows more about him than anything if true.

100% agree, mr griffiths should show his face in BB's local in musselburgh as billy is a gentleman and has time to talk to anybody whatever club they support!!!! get the troll out of our club, he is a NED!!!

Its simple:

If he has done it: He is told to leave and made example of by the club (website etc). Club has to back manager to retain all authority. If this has happened and is swept under the carpet it could have more serious repercussions than us getting relegated this season, it dictates our ethos at the club. One which we badly need to address.

If he hasnt done it: The club need to release a statement asap to realign everybody involved with Hibs. This has to come from the top and has to reaffirm the managers authority.

Either way, players will not run this football club. Its gone on too long. I'd happily see Leigh booted if he has done it, i hope not as he will help us a bit in the run in but not at the detriment of Hibs.

My mates just txt me to say he's spoke to him this morning and its not true. There was an argument yeah but that's all.

Thank god but stop arguing and pull together and get us out of this situation.

Maybe will galvanise everyone this load of pesh article well let's hope so. Clutching at straws maybe tho.

21-03-2012, 09:14 AM
100% agree, mr griffiths should show his face in BB's local in musselburgh as billy is a gentleman and has time to talk to anybody whatever club they support!!!! get the troll out of our club, he is a NED!!!

21-03-2012, 09:15 AM
Wow nearly 1300 guests watching this thread and a lot of posters with low post counts.

:lolyam:

21-03-2012, 09:19 AM
The mail should be made to apologise,absolutely shocking reporting.

zemmagic07
21-03-2012, 09:19 AM
Journalists on Twitter claiming the reports are untrue and the players are angry about the DM article. A strip was thrown in PF's face by LG and BB was pushed and slipped and fell. Take of that what you will. Reporters in question; Luke Shanley and Mark Benstead.

Famous5forever
21-03-2012, 09:22 AM
Until this story is verified i am puting it down to paper talk Paddy has not lost the dressing room this story is propeganda designed to cause trouble for our club.
Lets all pull together and put points on the board :pfgwa

21-03-2012, 09:23 AM

I remember not one but two having a go at Balotelli. I am sure theres youtube footage. Dinnae mess with the bibs man!!!

21-03-2012, 09:34 AM
Wouldn't bother me at all if they were kicking **** out of each other every day.

At least they care. Better than baking cakes or whatever it was they all did under previous management.

A training session is pish without a good scrap IMO.

21-03-2012, 09:39 AM
I bloody hope they were arguing at training after not turning up against Hearts.

One thing Fenlon said when he came in was that he couldn't believe how quiet and happy the squad was and that it was at odds with their awful position and performances.

Teo10
21-03-2012, 09:40 AM
Should the title not be changed to "Griffiths is finished with Bibs now!" ?

21-03-2012, 09:42 AM
This fantasy LG story actually shows what a smart lad he really is.

Always pick on people smaller than yourself, you'll notice there's no report of him aiming anything at Liam O'Brien.

So to headbutt Fenlon (which he didn't do) and punch Brown (which didn't happen) is fine because they're small lads. LO'B would've sat on LG for looking at him. LG was canny and gave LO'B a wide berth.

LG kens wha's in cherge here.

Teckle.

killie-hibby
21-03-2012, 09:44 AM
Wow nearly 1300 guests watching this thread and a lot of posters with low post counts.

:lolyam:

I feel ashamed of my low post count. So I will use this window of opportunity to increase my post count by about 0.4%

21-03-2012, 09:46 AM
Very important. :agree:

A bib would do nothing to keep you warm and cosy, even in the slightest breeze, while a strip will afford an element of comfort.

Not to mention the variance in UV protection.

I want to know what colour the bib was.

I think we should be told.

21-03-2012, 09:47 AM
This story is pure fabrication. I would be surprised if hibs release a statement given there are no facts as such to deny, the whole thing is speculation.

21-03-2012, 09:50 AM
I feel ashamed of my low post count. So I will use this window of opportunity to increase my post count by about 0.4%

Aye I thought mines was small , but now you mention it yours is tiny!!

Anyway get stuck in to this thread and get it to something more respectable. I think anything over 500 is respectable, anything over 10,000 and its a worry though.

21-03-2012, 09:51 AM

:top marks:not worth

LG is allergic to the soap powder used to wash them at EM. Meanwhile, you should have seem BB seeth when Tam delivered them from the laundry and Paddy started singing 'Hail Hail, The Bibs are here'

My source tells me that a source of a source who has a source knows a source of a source and his source tells him that another source has never heard anything

Source?

21-03-2012, 09:52 AM
The DU centre halves will be quaking in their boots now -one glance from the mighty Leigh and they'll be heading back to the dressing room.Tomorrows headline "O'Connor has fight with Stack over the last 6 pies".

21-03-2012, 09:53 AM
What annoys me is how rubbish like this even gets into the public domain.

If an arguement or worse has happened then the club shall deal with it internally as they have always done.

Whoever has leaked this nonsense surely has to have been within the club and indirectly they are responsible for this getting to the press.

21-03-2012, 09:54 AM

That doesn't count unless you got "a text".

21-03-2012, 09:56 AM
The Scotsman and Telegraph both running the story now, but both cite the DM as their source.

21-03-2012, 09:58 AM
see

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/football/teams/hibernian/9157568/Leigh-Griffithss-loan-spell-at-Hibernian-over-after-striker-headbutts-manager-Pat-Fenlon-and-punches-assistant.html

http://www.scotsman.com/edinburgh-evening-news/edinburgh/hibs-striker-leigh-griffiths-head-butted-pat-fenlon-1-2185739

21-03-2012, 09:58 AM

If an arguement or worse has happened then the club shall deal with it internally as they have always done.

Whoever has leaked this nonsense surely has to have been within the club and indirectly they are responsible for this getting to the press.

It's in the press because as I'm sure you know someone got paid for the story.

21-03-2012, 10:02 AM

I agree more leaks than a sieve at Hibs. A joke this sort of thing has got out into the public domain, true or not. The loser who passed on the story should be sacked pronto.

fit o' the walk
21-03-2012, 10:05 AM
Just heard it's on the EEN website, Griffiths future is in the balance after assaulting Fenlon and Brown,Hibs are not making any comment at present.

21-03-2012, 10:13 AM
Surely the board must make a statement ASAP to either refute the articles or confirm exactly what went on.

21-03-2012, 10:15 AM
Only at Hibs ------------ why is it always us?

If this story proves to be true, (and it's looking increasingly likely) then it could be the final nail in the coffin.

:furious:

21-03-2012, 10:16 AM
Only at Hibs ------------ why is it always us?

If this story proves to be true, (and it's looking increasingly likely) then it could be the final nail in the coffin.

:furious:

Why do you say that? One paper has reported it, and the rest have reported that it's been reported.

Smidge
21-03-2012, 10:19 AM
Suggestions on twitter that there will be a statement today from the club.

21-03-2012, 10:21 AM
Surely the board must make a statement ASAP to either refute the articles or confirm exactly what went on.

Hopefully it never happened but I would assume Hibs would act professionally, get the facts and take action rather than a knee jerk reaction. At the end of the day it is people's livelihoods involved and with employment laws etc.....................

21-03-2012, 10:24 AM
Here's what happened...
After training the players were taken into a room at the training complex. Fenlon was going crazy. " you're a bunch of useless bleeps..Can't pass a ball two yards..Fn disgrace etc etc Really going mental. Griffiths got up,threw his bib at Fenlon.Fenlon lunged at Griffiths and grabbed him. O'Brien and Brown broke it up! Griffiths stormed out. Brown went after him down a corridor. No one saw what happened next but Brown was seen getting up from the floor. He said he slipped.Griffiths did empty his locker and left!

Did you get that by text though?

green glory
21-03-2012, 10:25 AM
Here's what happened...
After training the players were taken into a room at the training complex. Fenlon was going crazy. " you're a bunch of useless bleeps..Can't pass a ball two yards..Fn disgrace etc etc Really going mental. Griffiths got up,threw his bib at Fenlon.Fenlon lunged at Griffiths and grabbed him. O'Brien and Brown broke it up! Griffiths stormed out. Brown went after him down a corridor. No one saw what happened next but Brown was seen getting up from the floor. He said he slipped.Griffiths did empty his locker and left!

Source?

Teo10
21-03-2012, 10:27 AM
Here's what happened...

What colour was the Bib and are you aware if it had been washed using fabric softener or not previous to it being thrown?!

Mikeystewart
21-03-2012, 10:31 AM
:top marks:not worth

LG is allergic to the soap powder used to wash them at EM. Meanwhile, you should have seem BB seeth when Tam delivered them from the laundry and Paddy started singing 'Hail Hail, The Bibs are here'

:top marks :rotflmao:

21-03-2012, 10:31 AM
Here's what happened...

Let me be first to say "Source?"

21-03-2012, 10:34 AM
Here's what happened...

I heard pretty much the same story but that it was Griffiths' bib that took Fenlon down, for a second time, after he lunged at Griffiths. The bib then went after Brown and took him down too. It then proceeded to do high fives with Griffiths and the two of them drove off to get a Yum-Yum from Greggs in Tranent.

Mikeystewart
21-03-2012, 10:36 AM
Reserve/under 19 player who was in the room..I think he's over 19 now.
100% reliable.. I've given a couple of bits of info given by him before..Always spot on!

If true shouldn't of said that....

Twa Cairpets
21-03-2012, 10:37 AM
I heard pretty much the same story but that it was Griffiths' bib that took Fenlon down, for a second time, after he lunged at Griffiths. The bib then went after Brown and took him down too. It then proceeded to do high fives with Griffiths and the two of them drove off to get a Yum-Yum from Greggs in Tranent.

A yum-yum :faf: That's funny.

21-03-2012, 10:38 AM
Reserve/under 19 player who was in the room..I think he's over 19 now.
100% reliable.. I've given a couple of bits of info given by him before..Always spot on!Jeezo ..must have been a long pagger !! :)

aly
21-03-2012, 10:50 AM
One of my mates just sent me this picture claiming this is Billy today. Hope its not true!!!!!!:pray:

http://i40.tinypic.com/9sxssk.jpg

21-03-2012, 10:50 AM
Jeezo ..must have been a long pagger !! :)

:faf: Brilliant.

21-03-2012, 10:51 AM
One of my mates just sent me this picture claiming this is Billy today. Hope its not true!!!!!!:pray:

:faf::faf:

21-03-2012, 10:51 AM

4 posts in 4 years? You'll have to do better than that son. Now, **** off.

21-03-2012, 10:52 AM

http://i40.tinypic.com/9sxssk.jpgJeez thats some make up ..looks like a drag queen ..cmoan Billy ..you should know better !!!

scott7_0(Prague)
21-03-2012, 10:54 AM

Good effort here is the orignal picture.

[http://www.scotsman.com/the-scotsman/scotland/pat-fenlon-brings-in-new-first-team-coach-but-billy-brown-stays-as-hibs-no-2-1-1988615[/B]

http://www.scotsman.com/webimage/1.1988614.1322677223!image/2596348381.jpg_gen/derivatives/landscape_595/2596348381.jpg

21-03-2012, 10:59 AM

Just plain malicious from a Yam I suspect! :rolleyes:

EDIT: Just noticed he's been binned! :greengrin

21-03-2012, 11:03 AM
Dunno how some folk think this story is made up, maybe it has been exaggerated by the press but something has to have happened for it to be reported.

BarneyK
21-03-2012, 11:05 AM
Dunno how some folk think this story is made up, maybe it has been exaggerated by the press but something has to have happened for it to be reported.

No one is suggesting it's been made up.

21-03-2012, 11:05 AM
If. If. If. If. If. If.

Wish I had a quid for every "if" on this thread. In fact I wish Hibs had a quid for every "if" on this thread, we'd have loadsamoney. Add a tenner for every "If it's true" and we'd have enough to buy the League title a la Rangers. Add a thousand quid for each piece of abuse LG is getting with an "if/if it's true" proviso and we'd have enough to challenge for the CL. No wonder managers hate message boards.

Most journalists are ****buckets.

PeeKay
21-03-2012, 11:06 AM
Your faith in the press is touching.

Thomson
21-03-2012, 11:07 AM
From Graham Stack's Facebook.

Graham Stack (https://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100001392520274)
Sometimes when you get a group of players together with a team of staff that demand high standards and both fail to reach goals and targets they set, frustration and disappointment are natural, A winners mentality hates being second best and without this mindset being a successful team wouldn't be possible. We have a team of players determined to stay up and are clearly disappointed with getting beat sometimes tempers flair amongst players which as we all know happens in football most weeks, the reports are NOT true and find it typical that when things aren't going well people try to encourage negativity towards Hibs, Well as a team and club need to stick together and stay positive.

21-03-2012, 11:09 AM

Sometimes when you get a group of players together with a team of staff that demand high standards and both fail to reach goals and targets they set, frustration and disappointment are natural, A winners mentality hates being second best and without this mindset being a successful team wouldn't be possible. We have a team of players determined to stay up and are clearly disappointed with getting beat sometimes tempers flair amongst players which as we all know happens in football most weeks, the reports are NOT true and find it typical that when things aren't going well people try to encourage negativity towards Hibs, Well as a team and club need to stick together and stay positive.

Seems to support what most have been saying on here.

Something happened ie an argument but its been exaggerated.

21-03-2012, 11:11 AM

One of my mates emailed me and is claiming George W Bush attended yesterday's training as a guest of Sean O'Hanlon and got caught up in the riot. Hope it's not true.

http://www.freakingnews.com/pictures/8500/Black-eye--8943.jpg

Lee Marvin
21-03-2012, 11:14 AM
Seems to support what most have been saying on here.

Something happened ie an argument but its been exaggerated.

I just spoke to a Hibs first 11 player and he said it is pure fabrication. He did say a disagreement happened but not unlike anything tgat happens all the time. This story is a total joke and sham!!!

21-03-2012, 11:20 AM
If this story is total pish (which is looking more likely than this morning) then i apologise to Leigh for what i posted this morning.

Hibs have to take action on this also, Newspapers cant just make stuff up then report it as fact, surely some thing can be said/done to prevent this from hapenning.

21-03-2012, 11:21 AM

Absolutely spot on from Stacky :aok:

TheEastTerrace
21-03-2012, 11:24 AM
Why is taking until after 12pm for Hibs to respond to this?

If nothing happened, there is no investigation required and a simple statement issued:

"The club wishes to refute the reports in today's media regarding Hibernian forward Leigh Griffiths and manager Pat Fenlon. The content of the reports do not have substance and there is no evidence to support the claims made. The management, coaches and players are focussed on preparations for a number of vital forthcoming matches and consider the matter closed. The club will be making no futher comment."

That took me no time at all.

21-03-2012, 11:25 AM
If this story is total pish (which is looking more likely than this morning) then i apologise to Leigh for what i posted this morning.

Hibs have to take action on this also, Newspapers cant just make stuff up then report it as fact, surely some thing can be said/done to prevent this from hapenning.

I got a wee bit carried away this morning.

What I do stand by though is that IF any of the suggestions about players being unhappy with training are true then the club should be telling the players that Fenlon is the boss and they are to do as they are told.

We absolutely don't need another Collins situation going into a semi final and a continuing relegation fight.

21-03-2012, 11:34 AM
In all seriousness, the longer that Hibs leave this without a comment, the wider it's being reported. If it's pish, Hibs need to nip it in the bud asap.

Edit: The club have now refuted it.

http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20120321/club-statement_2262950_2686860

21-03-2012, 11:35 AM

Have I Got News For You :)

A wee look at the Leveson enquiry or a word in the shell-like of Hugh Grant then you might be surprised what the come up with.

I think as a support and particularly onliners need to turn down the extreme responses to the slightest thing. Especially at times like this.

While we don't want to go doWn the yam route I do think we need to back our club And players in The face of rumours and criticism.

fleethibee
21-03-2012, 11:37 AM
Official statement now made and the daily mail have made it up

hibee
21-03-2012, 11:37 AM
On official site now

21-03-2012, 11:38 AM
So yesterday the players are texting there mates saying 'LG Banjo'd BB in training today'. Which is exactly what I heard last night at about 7pm, before it was in any papers or on any forums. Cant imagine there would have been many folk around East Mains yesterday other than the players, so its been the players that have leaked this out by texting there pals, why would they be saying LG hit BB if it was just raised voices.

Today, the players are Tweet'ing and Facebooking stating that the media are making a mountain out of a molehill and it was nothing more than raised voices.

Sounds to me like the club have now had a word in the players ears and they've been told that it will all be dealt with in house. And, if any of them are asked about it, to play it down and make out it's been blown out of proportion.

21-03-2012, 11:40 AM
Have I Got News For You :)

A wee look at the Leveson enquiry or a word in the shell-like of Hugh Grant then you might be surprised what the come up with.

I think as a support and particularly onliners need to turn down the extreme responses to the slightest thing. Especially at times like this.

While we don't want to go doWn the yam route I do think we need to back our club And players in The face of rumours and criticism.

Sad times if pure fabrication can be printed in the press like that.

regarding the bit in bold, i think you are spot on and i think a as a support now need to take a second to look into things before there are 3 or 4 pages of reactions that turn out to be misinformed.

21-03-2012, 11:43 AM
On official site now

We now await retraction by the Daily Mail and the various hibs.net Posters slagging off Griffitths, Fenlon, Brown, Hibs, The Tea Lady, Greggs the Bakers, the quality of Hibs Washing Powder and whoever else came into the firing line.

Anyway, I think everybody should sing the song posted earlier at the next match, "Hail, hail, the Bibs are here"

Classic :thumbsup:

21-03-2012, 11:45 AM
I wonder if the same folk calling for Leigh Griffiths to "GTF" will now come on and eat humble pie....Nah, thought not. :rolleyes:

PapillonVert
21-03-2012, 11:48 AM
see

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/football/teams/hibernian/9157568/Leigh-Griffithss-loan-spell-at-Hibernian-over-after-striker-headbutts-manager-Pat-Fenlon-and-punches-assistant.html

http://www.scotsman.com/edinburgh-evening-news/edinburgh/hibs-striker-leigh-griffiths-head-butted-pat-fenlon-1-2185739

From The Scotsman article having reported a "head butt" and a "punch" that knocked BB to the ground:

"However, it is understood that while proceedings were extremely heated any contact between the parties was minimal and caused no injuries".

So what constitutes a "minimal contact" head butt or "minimal contact" punch that still manages to knock someone to the ground?

Just wondered.

21-03-2012, 11:48 AM
The Edinburgh Evening news haven't exactly covered themselves in glory either. All they did was repeat the allegations/rumours that were published elsewhere then said that they were unable to contact Hibs directly for comment.

They still seemed fit to print the story however.

scott7_0(Prague)
21-03-2012, 11:51 AM
in the daily mail report they state he "He then raced to the changing room where he emptied his locker and sped off"

From what i know LG doesnt even drive .....

I could be wrong, but if true this shows the DM up. :greengrin

anyone.

21-03-2012, 11:52 AM
We now await retraction by the Daily Mail and the various hibs.net Posters slagging off Griffitths, Fenlon, Brown, Hibs, The Tea Lady, Greggs the Bakers, the quality of Hibs Washing Powder and whoever else came into the firing line.

Anyway, I think everybody should sing the song posted earlier at the next match, "Hail, hail, the Bibs are here"

You'll be waiting a long, long time. Their usual approach when rumbled is to just delete the stories, that's it.

However, as others have suggested, this story clearly came from somewhere / someone at the club in some form, and that's an issue for some concern.

Mikeystewart
21-03-2012, 11:53 AM

why is Tam McCourt omitted from this post :greengrin

21-03-2012, 11:55 AM
From The Scotsman article having reported a "head butt" and a "punch":

"However, it is understood that while proceedings were extremely heated any contact between the parties was minimal and caused no injuries".

So what constitutes a "minimal contact" head butt or punch?

Just wondered.Head to head and I push mines into yours would probably be minimal contact and no injury, full force forehead smashing into face is another matter. We've seen these things happen and whilst both are assault there's a world of difference.

IFONLY
21-03-2012, 11:56 AM
Club Statement 21 Mar 2012

http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/javaImages/11/22/0,,10290~9773585,00.jpg

Hibernian has moved to address erroneous press reports regarding an alleged incident involving Leigh Griffiths at the Hibernian Training Centre yesterday.
Contrary to a report in today's Daily Mail, Leigh Griffiths did not head butt Manager Pat Fenlon nor punch Assistant Manager Billy Brown. The striker will be in the squad for Saturday's crucial SPL fixture versus Dundee United.
Pat Fenlon said, "Yesterday was typical training ground stuff, and I'm surprised at the rubbish in the press today. As is usual for high tempo training sessions, involving committed players and coaching staff, robust views and opinions are shared, and yesterday's session was no different.
"Leigh is a quality striker, and a lively personality, and will remain a key part of my team for the rest of the season. There's nothing at all in the story. We just want to focus on winning games and getting up the table."
Hibernian will not tolerate, nor be distracted by, unverified and irresponsible 'reporting' in the media

21-03-2012, 11:56 AM
So yesterday the players are texting there mates saying 'LG Banjo'd BB in training today'. Which is exactly what I heard last night at about 7pm, before it was in any papers or on any forums. Cant imagine there would have been many folk around East Mains yesterday other than the players, so its been the players that have leaked this out by texting there pals, why would they be saying LG hit BB if it was just raised voices.

Today, the players are Tweet'ing and Facebooking stating that the media are making a mountain out of a molehill and it was nothing more than raised voices.

Sounds to me like the club have now had a word in the players ears and they've been told that it will all be dealt with in house. And, if any of them are asked about it, to play it down and make out it's been blown out of proportion.

Whatever you heard and whoever you heard it from, don't you think that the fact that the Club has completely (i.e. no doubt as to the message in their official site statement! :wink:) refuted any suggestion of "head butting" or "punching" or the like with their official statement!? :dunno:

Furthermore, I think that the message is clearly that anything that may have happened at training yesterday was "run of the mill" stuff that happens regularly at any football club training sessions from time to time! Most certainly nothing to worry about here by the sounds of things! :agree: :wink:

green glory
21-03-2012, 12:00 PM
What a waste of time, now let's get back to hating the Yams and laughing at the Huns.

21-03-2012, 12:01 PM
What price Griffiths to score the winner on Saturday?:flag:

21-03-2012, 12:02 PM
Best thing that can happen would be Leigh Scoring on Saturday Running to Fenlon and Pretending to stick the head on him. :aok:

21-03-2012, 12:04 PM
I think what this story shows is that 1) there are people within the club who are only too happy to tell tales which show up the club in a bad light and 2) that outwith the club some supporters of other clubs and some elements of the media are delighted that we are struggling and would like nothing better than Hibs going down this season. Probably no coincidence also that this has come up the day after FJK has just got the Pars job.

Stacky's comments are spot on that it is imperative that the club, players and especially support stay strong and together during the run in to the season.

21-03-2012, 12:05 PM
What price Griffiths to score the winner on Saturday?:flag:

And I would hope for an appropriate celebration, with Sparkotelli running to the dugout and mockingly butting Pat and swinging at Billy ;-)

21-03-2012, 12:05 PM
A lot of people - particularly in the first couple of pages of this thread - have been made to look pretty daft over this.

21-03-2012, 12:07 PM
in the daily mail report they state he "He then raced to the changing room where he emptied his locker and sped off"

From what i know LG doesnt even drive .....

I could be wrong, but if true this shows the DM up. :greengrin

anyone.

Maybe he just ran home. :greengrin

21-03-2012, 12:08 PM
Well done hibs, you addressed what needed to be addressed.

On another note, how about a few hundred complaints to the daily mail, even if its just to hear what there response is. There certainly won't be an apology for making what appears to be a fabricated story