View Full Version : Griffiths (Definitely Not) finished at hibs now!

Pages : 1 [2] 3

21-03-2012, 12:08 PM
A lot of people - particularly in the first couple of pages of this thread - have been made to look pretty daft over this.

The only people who look daft are the Daily Mail

Sometimes we can be inclined to believe what we're told, it's not easy to never believe anything you see or hear in the news, this one rung true due to Griffiths personality and displays to the fans before

Good news though :greengrin

21-03-2012, 12:08 PM
James McPake‏@JamesMcPake
Have 2 laugh at the story that came out about our training yesterday! Not 1 part of it was true or near the truth!!

:not worth

Teo10
21-03-2012, 12:09 PM
Dont know about anyone else but im digging out my green bib for the next game:thumbsup:

21-03-2012, 12:12 PM
A lot of people - particularly in the first couple of pages of this thread - have been made to look pretty daft over this.

Always the same. People read a press article with no substance and take it as gospel.

Pathetic.

21-03-2012, 12:13 PM
I bloody hope they were arguing at training after not turning up against Hearts.
One thing Fenlon said when he came in was that he couldn't believe how quiet and happy the squad was and that it was at odds with their awful position and performances.

Should the title not be changed to "Griffiths is finished with Bibs now!" ?

Reserve/under 19 player who was in the room..I think he's over 19 now.
100% reliable.. I've given a couple of bits of info given by him before..Always spot on!

Jeezo ..must have been a long pagger !! :)
:hilarious :top marks

Hibernian has moved to address erroneous press reports regarding an alleged incident involving Leigh Griffiths at the Hibernian Training Centre yesterday.
Contrary to a report in today's Daily Mail, Leigh Griffiths did not head butt Manager Pat Fenlon nor punch Assistant Manager Billy Brown. The striker will be in the squad for Saturday's crucial SPL fixture versus Dundee United.
Pat Fenlon said, "Yesterday was typical training ground stuff, and I'm surprised at the rubbish in the press today. As is usual for high tempo training sessions, involving committed players and coaching staff, robust views and opinions are shared, and yesterday's session was no different.
"Leigh is a quality striker, and a lively personality, and will remain a key part of my team for the rest of the season. There's nothing at all in the story. We just want to focus on winning games and getting up the table."

Hibernian will not tolerate, nor be distracted by, unverified and irresponsible 'reporting' in the media

I liked that final line in the official statement.

Stacky's comments are spot on that it is imperative that the club, players and especially support stay strong and together during the run in to the season.

21-03-2012, 12:13 PM
From The Scotsman article having reported a "head butt" and a "punch" that knocked BB to the ground:

"However, it is understood that while proceedings were extremely heated any contact between the parties was minimal and caused no injuries".

The key is in the part "it is understood" - which is journalese for "we don't know but we are picking up on someone else's speculation."

Speculation upon speculation is what fuels muck like this.

[QUOTE]So what constitutes a "minimal contact" head butt or "minimal contact" punch that still manages to knock someone to the ground?

Just wondered.

....and invitation to more speculation should be a no go area.

21-03-2012, 12:15 PM
And I would hope for an appropriate celebration, with Sparkotelli running to the dugout and mockingly butting Pat and swinging at Billy ;-)
Leading to a retrospectively applied three match ban handed down from Mr Lunny this time next week .....

jamieross
21-03-2012, 12:17 PM
It would be quite funny if Pat does what Kris Commons did when there was allegations of him and lennon fighting.

http://images.mirror.co.uk/upl/dailyrecord3/nov2011/2/0/kris-commons-859760643.jpg

21-03-2012, 12:17 PM

Some just canny wait for the truth before hammering away at their keyboard

21-03-2012, 12:18 PM
Good statement that. Makes it pretty clear nothing happened.

21-03-2012, 12:19 PM
Leading to a retrospectively applied three match ban handed down from Mr Lunny this time next week .....

Very true beej.....with Richard Gordon and Rob McLean revelling in it too :-)

21-03-2012, 12:22 PM
The only people who look daft are the Daily Mail

Nah, the thread was started by a merrick with a couple of posts to his name. It linked to a Daily Mail article that could have been penned by Roald Dahl. Yet so eager are we to kick **** out of everything Hibernian FC does, we collectively lap it up and stick as many boots in as we can.

This one was dreamt up in the social groups on kickback - there's no doubt about that in my mind. A nice wee tip off to the Daily Mail that something serious has gone down at East Mains, sit back and watch it unfold. "Which one of us is going to post it up on Hobos.net chaps? Check out this photo I mocked up of Billy Broon with a shiner - send that on too."

You could go through this thread and pick them off one by one.

It's just a shame the club felt it necessary to react to the clamour that "they must release a statement".

Job done for the merricks in question, and a good bit of entertainment.

McHibby
21-03-2012, 12:25 PM
I'll tell you what, if I was accused in the paper of nutting my manager and punching a 60-odd year old man to the ground, I'd be engaging the services of a capable lawyer. As some folk have said, if this was true that could have been him finished in football, but this paper chose to report it anyway without being 100% certain of their facts.

Hopefully Rod will be on the case, the last line of the club statement sounds like the powers that be are not happy with the DM.

21-03-2012, 12:27 PM
This one was dreamt up in the social groups on kickback - there's no doubt about that in my mind.

There was evidently an argument at East Mains yesterday. The story came from within Hibs, not from Kickback.

21-03-2012, 12:34 PM
From The Scotsman article having reported a "head butt" and a "punch" that knocked BB to the ground:

"However, it is understood that while proceedings were extremely heated any contact between the parties was minimal and caused no injuries".

The key is in the part "it is understood" - which is journalese for "we don't know but we are picking up on someone else's speculation."

Speculation upon speculation is a recipe for disaster but also a complete and utter waste of time ! :wink::greengrin

I've edited that for you! :greengrin

pentlando
21-03-2012, 12:36 PM
The next rendition of "lets all do the sparky" could be fairly interesting!

http://forums.macresource.com/smileys/punch.gif:giruy::rockin:

21-03-2012, 12:36 PM
There was evidently an argument at East Mains yesterday. The story came from within Hibs, not from Kickback.

The original source no doubt emanated from East Mains. It definitely took on Jambo arms and legs before it reached the Daily Mail's printing presses though.

This was brought to our attention by an ugly merrick - check out the OP! We've then got the usual sub-300 post crew sticking the boot in, followed up by a mock-up of Billy Brown looking beaten in.

Add to that thousands of "guests" viewing the thread.

Aye, they're having a good old chortle at this, believe me.

21-03-2012, 12:39 PM
Sounds from Club statement that something was said at training. Wish the players would show their "committment" on the park on matchdays.

21-03-2012, 12:41 PM
Sounds from Club statement that something was said at training. Wish the players would show their "committment" on the park on matchdays.

:agree: Damage limitation by the looks of that statement.

Something happened that should have by the sounds of it - but hey ho, if the apologies have been made and we're moving on then that'll do.

Time to focus on UTD :flag:

21-03-2012, 12:42 PM
I'd recommend reading the blogs Tabloid Watch and Angry Mob, the amount of bull**** this paper gets away with is unreal.

Can we add Hibs fans to a Daily Mail boycott?

21-03-2012, 12:43 PM
I did think it was a bit suspect that the Daily Mail printed a story where the villain wasn't an illegal immigrant right enough!

21-03-2012, 12:43 PM
Dont know whats worse, the fact this story got blown sooooo far out of proprotion and into a national newspaper, or that people actually believed something in the daily mail.. :dunno:

21-03-2012, 12:45 PM
:giruy:

21-03-2012, 12:46 PM

I would get rid of him, anyway. People will remember the headline not the Hibs version. Five years down the line people will post on here saying the rot set in, when Rod Petrie told Griffiths it was fine to punch John Collins, if he told him to cut out cakes and pastries.

PapillonVert
21-03-2012, 12:53 PM
[QUOTE=PapillonVert;3155477]From The Scotsman article having reported a "head butt" and a "punch" that knocked BB to the ground:

Speculation upon speculation is what fuels muck like this.

My point rather was with the juxtaposition of the violent-sounding words "head butt" and "punch that knocked BB to the ground" and then in the very next sentence the use of the phrase "minimal contact".

Can't think of any context where a head butt and a punch that knocks someone to the ground would only register as "minimal contact".

The word contradiction springs to mind. Or maybe it's just journalese for "covering all bases in the hope that there's an infinitesimal grain of truth in there somewhere"?

21-03-2012, 12:56 PM
[QUOTE=Kato;3155517]

My point rather was with the juxtaposition of the violent-sounding words "head butt" and "punch that knocked BB to the ground" and then in the very next sentence the use of the phrase "minimal contact".

Can't think of any context where a head butt and a punch that knocks someone to the ground would only register as "minimal contact".

The word contradiction springs to mind. Or maybe it's just journalese for "covering all bases in the hope that there's an infinitesimal grain of truth in there somewhere"?

You win today's prize for the best and probably least used word on .net:wink:

21-03-2012, 01:05 PM
Panic over. A great relief the reports of violence have been dismissed as false. It's about time something went our way.

I see the OP is no more, and can only assume he has returned to the Yambo Hunchback forum to report he fell in the line of the duty. RIP:giruy:

21-03-2012, 01:19 PM
Sounds like:-

1. Something has happened in training involving LG and the members of the management team. By the sounds of it perhaps a bit of shouting/swearing in each others faces, finger pointing and maybe pushing.

2. Chinese whispers have led the paper to write that head butts were made and punches were thrown.

3. Online forums have led to much speculation and publicity

4. Hibs have rightly moved to address the matter and dismiss the speculation.

We'll never know what has really happened we'll just have to take the club's word for it and assume they have not just gone on a major party line damage limitation excercise. I think most telling will be the extent to which LG is involved on Saturday though given his performance in the derby he may have been dropped anyway irrespective of this incident or non-incident. If he is not in squad at all then that will cast a different shadow over the event altogether.

Surely if LG had done as he is alleged to have done then the club would have confirmed that the matter was being investigated or that he was being disciplined. Unless they are just sweeping the whole thing under the carpet due to our position in the league and an acknowledgement that we need every player available to us.

On LG, whether this is true or not or just heavily exagerated, I do wonder if he is just yet another Hibs player whose "baggage" over powers his talent and makes him more hassle than he is worth. We seem to have had a lot of these over the years. I suppose if these players didn't have this baggage they would not be at Hibs.

Another worry is that in recent years we seem to have more than our fair share of "heated" training ground incidents and behind the scenes discontent even though we have had such a huge turn over of players and managers.

21-03-2012, 01:27 PM
So we are officially informed that the Daily Mail report was false or inaccurate. In my books it was downright aggressive if not libelous. Will the club be taking steps to barr Daily Mail journos from future ER and EM press gatherings?

21-03-2012, 01:32 PM
Quite disappointed that hibs fans on here telling LG to GTF etc because of what they read in the daily rags that has absolutely no foundation to it.

Have a word with yourselves.

21-03-2012, 01:35 PM
Leigh is going nowhere but was told to take today off. Fenlon wasn't at morning training either.

21-03-2012, 01:39 PM
Leigh is going nowhere but was told to take today off. Fenlon wasn't at morning training either.Think Leigh strained his back lobbing that bib ...

21-03-2012, 01:44 PM
Wee Gordon with Fergie, Rush with Souness, Beckham with Fergie......present day McGeady with WGS, Tevez with Mancini......fall outs happen......Mark Venus was known for his temper when he was at Hibs....

Let's just hope this is a storm in a tea cup and it (the story) galvanises the squad and manager and they start to channel it on the park.

I'm a wee bit old school though, I like hearing about dust ups.....suggests passion and a dislike of losing. Prior to the Hearts game the team looked united, committed and were on the right track. I'm sure that will continue on Saturday.

21-03-2012, 01:56 PM
pat fenlon will be at tomorrows press conference sporting a neck brace, huge black sunglasses and mask to hold his broken nose together,but nothing untoward went down at training(except billy brown)

21-03-2012, 02:39 PM
Quite disappointed that hibs fans on here telling LG to GTF etc because of what they read in the daily rags that has absolutely no foundation to it.

Have a word with yourselves.

As has been pointed out, there was some foundation to it. You just need to read the quotes from Stack to see that. Now clearly the DM have over played the situation, but you can be sure hibs have underplayed it too.

21-03-2012, 02:42 PM
As i said previously. In a direct square go ,my money would be on wee Nutsy coming out on top. Nae sunglasses or make up needed! :greengrin

21-03-2012, 02:42 PM
Sounds like:-

1. Something has happened in training involving LG and the members of the management team. By the sounds of it perhaps a bit of shouting/swearing in each others faces, finger pointing and maybe pushing.

2. Chinese whispers have led the paper to write that head butts were made and punches were thrown.

3. Online forums have led to much speculation and publicity

4. Hibs have rightly moved to address the matter and dismiss the speculation.

We'll never know what has really happened we'll just have to take the club's word for it and assume they have not just gone on a major party line damage limitation excercise. I think most telling will be the extent to which LG is involved on Saturday though given his performance in the derby he may have been dropped anyway irrespective of this incident or non-incident. If he is not in squad at all then that will cast a different shadow over the event altogether.

Surely if LG had done as he is alleged to have done then the club would have confirmed that the matter was being investigated or that he was being disciplined. Unless they are just sweeping the whole thing under the carpet due to our position in the league and an acknowledgement that we need every player available to us.

On LG, whether this is true or not or just heavily exagerated, I do wonder if he is just yet another Hibs player whose "baggage" over powers his talent and makes him more hassle than he is worth. We seem to have had a lot of these over the years. I suppose if these players didn't have this baggage they would not be at Hibs.

Another worry is that in recent years we seem to have more than our fair share of "heated" training ground incidents and behind the scenes discontent even though we have had such a huge turn over of players and managers.

Your post sounds like a load of Tom Kite.

21-03-2012, 02:44 PM
Leigh is going nowhere but was told to take today off. Fenlon wasn't at morning training either.

The whole first team squad were off today. This day off was planned and agreed before yesterday's incident.

21-03-2012, 02:48 PM
rendition

There were a few posters on this thread this morning looking for Leigh to suffer this experience. Drama over until tomorrows offering!

21-03-2012, 02:51 PM
10 pages on a non-story , brilliant

21-03-2012, 02:52 PM
Some punter on the DM responses has stated LG & Fenlons voice mail messages are both denying anything of note happened

I'm not sure that's exactly what it says...

I would get rid of him, anyway. People will remember the headline not the Hibs version. Five years down the line people will post on here saying the rot set in, when Rod Petrie told Griffiths it was fine to punch John Collins, if he told him to cut out cakes and pastries.

:hilarious Rod was pouring a glass of red wine over his own head while giving Griffiths the ok.

EH6 Hibby
21-03-2012, 03:03 PM
As has been pointed out, there was some foundation to it. You just need to read the quotes from Stack to see that. Now clearly the DM have over played the situation, but you can be sure hibs have underplayed it too.

I don't think Hibs have downplayed anything. The wording on the website is very clear, if the incident did happen as the Daily Mail is suggesting or even close to it, then Hibs would be guilty of libel. Obviously there were strong words exchanged, but the official site says this.

21-03-2012, 03:10 PM
[QUOTE=PapillonVert;3155553]

Fabulous word - juxtaposition - even just to say out loud! :agree: :wink:

21-03-2012, 03:12 PM
I don't think Hibs have downplayed anything. The wording on the website is very clear, if the incident did happen as the Daily Mail is suggesting or even close to it, then Hibs would be guilty of libel. Obviously there were strong words exchanged, but the official site says this.

It says that there was not a headbutt or a punch. It certainly doesnt say nothing happened.

But as long as it is dealt with internally that is good enough for me.

21-03-2012, 03:14 PM
Could we PLEASE keep this thread on topic :grr:

21-03-2012, 03:18 PM
Is this a Yam conspiracy to destabilize Hibs?, can't help thinking this, not paranoid or anything but it does seem strange that fat jumbo taking over at East End Park and now this, we should sue The Mail in my opinion or at least demand an apology, if this was the smellies or the huns they would kicking up a stink.

21-03-2012, 03:20 PM

No they wouldn't.
The Mail may be guilty of defamation,though, if Hibs are correct.

21-03-2012, 03:22 PM
Is this a Yam conspiracy to destabilize Hibs?, can't help thinking this, not paranoid or anything but it does seem strange that fat jumbo taking over at East End Park and now this, we should sue The Mail in my opinion or at least demand an apology, if this was the smellies or the huns they would kicking up a stink.

Wouldnt rule it out.

21-03-2012, 03:22 PM
10 pages on a non-story , brilliant

This will end up a 30 pager. I for 1 don't want to see LG emptied. Maybe given some help from the club regarding his anger issues. All rumour at the moment and I expect LG to play on Saturday.

DAVE1875
21-03-2012, 03:24 PM
And I would hope for an appropriate celebration, with Sparkotelli running to the dugout and mockingly butting Pat and swinging at Billy ;-)

Would celebrating by hugging them both not be a better sign? Basically say "F*** you Daily Mail!"

21-03-2012, 03:26 PM
Had to laugh at James McPakes comments on twitter!
He quoted the paper saying that "Leigh Griffiths sped away from the training centre with all the stuff from his locker, he doesn't even drive!!!!!!"

21-03-2012, 03:26 PM

As long as LG's at Hibs, he's going nowhere.

[QUOTE=PapillonVert;3155553]

I think it’s contemptible that a fellow comrade would assume that juxtaposition was the least used word on .net. I am incandescent with ire at the mere proposition of this scenario

21-03-2012, 03:27 PM

I agree with most of this but I had a wee quiet s****** at 'destabilize Hibs'. How do you do that to something that quite honestly hasn't been on an even keel for the past five years or so? :rolleyes:

21-03-2012, 03:30 PM
Had to laugh at James McPakes comments on twitter!
He quoted the paper saying that "Leigh Griffiths sped away from the training centre with all the stuff from his locker, he doesn't even drive!!!!!!"

He sped off on his jet pack.

21-03-2012, 03:32 PM
[QUOTE=Kato;3155517]

Maybe it was one of these minimal headbutts.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kpQTxZAAnIk :greengrin

21-03-2012, 03:32 PM
The whole first team squad were off today. This day off was planned and agreed before yesterday's incident.

Ah right fair enough mate, was just passing on what my source told me!

21-03-2012, 03:34 PM
I agree with most of this but I had a wee quiet s****** at 'destabilize Hibs'. How do you do that to something that quite honestly hasn't been on an even keel for the past five years or so? :rolleyes:

I actually meant more than we are at the moment...:wink:

21-03-2012, 03:34 PM
LG's wiki page has been updated more often than a teenager's facebook status today.

At 10.30am, Hibs had terminated his contract and he was back at Wolves. Now, reports of a training ground bust up involving Griffiths have been denied.

21-03-2012, 03:37 PM
Think Leigh strained his back lobbing that bib ...

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/HIBERNIAN-Football-Baby-Bib-No-1-Fan-/300464783521 :greengrin

21-03-2012, 03:40 PM
LG's wiki page has been updated more often than a teenager's facebook status today.

At 10.30am, Hibs had terminated his contract and he was back at Wolves. Now, reports of a training ground bust up involving Griffiths have been denied.

Ultimately, if Hibs had terminated his contract, his career at Hibs would be significantly shortened and the likelihood would be we would have one less striker to choose from. This, arguably, would have limited the managers options somewhat.

21-03-2012, 03:40 PM
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/HIBERNIAN-Football-Baby-Bib-No-1-Fan-/300464783521 :greengrinThe very one Silv ... :) ..

21-03-2012, 03:41 PM
Could we PLEASE keep this thread on topic :grr:

EH6 Hibby
21-03-2012, 04:12 PM
No they wouldn't.
The Mail may be guilty of defamation,though, if Hibs are correct.

Surely if what the Mail said was accurate then Hibs are guilty of the same thing by saying it's not true. Hibs have in no uncertain terms called the Daily Mail liars.

21-03-2012, 04:22 PM
Surely if what the Mail said was accurate then Hibs are guilty of the same thing by saying it's not true. Hibs have in no uncertain terms called the Daily Mail liars.

the mail will contend they got their story from who they thought was a reliable source but who was in fact talking pish. This fails all four tests of legal defamation: justification, fair comment, live broadcast or privilege (see attached useful beginners guide).

http://www.bbc.co.uk/journalism/law/defamation/defamation-defences-privilege.shtml

If i was Rod id sue till the pips squeak.

21-03-2012, 04:25 PM
http://p.twimg.com/Aohsx--CEAA104-.jpg

21-03-2012, 04:26 PM

The mail report is full of journalese type allegeddlys, if they are telling the truth how come the story has been deleted?

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-2117958/Leigh-Griffiths-headbutts-Hibs-manager-Pat-Fenlon.html?ito=feeds-newsxml

I'll call them liars here and now if you want.

The Daily Mail told lies about Leigh Griffiths, Pat Fenlon and Billy Brown.

Expecting a knock on the door any minute.

21-03-2012, 04:31 PM
the mail will contend they got their story from who they thought was a reliable source but who was in fact talking pish. This fails all four tests of legal defamation: justification, fair comment, live broadcast or privilege (see attached useful beginners guide).

http://www.bbc.co.uk/journalism/law/defamation/defamation-defences-privilege.shtml

If i was Rod id sue till the pips squeak.

The fact that the DM has made a statement of fact, that being Leigh has 'played his last game for Hibernian' and headlined with 'finished at Hibs' will land them in bother in my opinion. Interesting they have pulled the story online. Methinks Hibernian have made the call.........

They have also alleged two criminal acts, so if I were Leigh, I'd be getting my lawyer/agent to write to them too......

21-03-2012, 04:31 PM
Your post sounds like a load of Tom Kite.

Instead of making snide comments, why not elaborate on why you think that?

EH6 Hibby
21-03-2012, 04:34 PM
The mail report is full of journalese type allegeddlys, if they are telling the truth how come the story has been deleted?

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-2117958/Leigh-Griffiths-headbutts-Hibs-manager-Pat-Fenlon.html?ito=feeds-newsxml

I'll call them liars here and now if you want.

The Daily Mail told lies about Leigh Griffiths, Pat Fenlon and Billy Brown.

Expecting a knock on the door any minute.

I think you are misunderstanding me. I was arguing that Hibs are not playing anything down, they stated that there were words said but that there were no punches or headbutts. I don't think they could say this if it was a lie.

dirtydirk
21-03-2012, 04:37 PM
Haven't trawled the whole thread but any suggestions who the rat could be??? Someone in the hibs camp has clearly went to the paper with a view of unsettling things. That's quite worrying at this stage in the season

21-03-2012, 04:38 PM
i'll be interested to hear how those inane lobotomized ***** on Sportsound report this. Theyve wasted no time in the past getting stuck into Fenlon, unjustifiably.

21-03-2012, 04:40 PM
i'll be interested to hear how those inane lobotomized ***** on Sportsound report this. Theyve wasted no time in the past getting stuck into Fenlon, unjustifiably.

Why would Sportsound be on tonight? Big match on or something? :confused: :rolleyes:

21-03-2012, 04:42 PM
I think it’s contemptible that a fellow comrade would assume that juxtaposition was the least used word on .net. I am incandescent with ire at the mere proposition of this scenario

It's lucky for you that you only think it's contemptible. Had you considered it worthless, I'd probably have asked you to cease your floccinaucinihilipilification.

21-03-2012, 04:42 PM
I think you are misunderstanding me. I was arguing that Hibs are not playing anything down, they stated that there were words said but that there were no punches or headbutts. I don't think they could say this if it was a lie.

OK, I see. It's just that there are still posts being made with a proviso of "if the DM are telling the truth". Even rhetorically put this is giving the story a touch of credence - which is doesn't deserve.

21-03-2012, 04:44 PM
From what I've heard, Hibs (Petrie) have asked players to cover this up. The journalist is today claiming the story is 100% accurate.

However much we want to believe Hibs are correct in their defence, let's not pretend a glossy statement and denial is guaranteed to be of the utmost truth.

21-03-2012, 04:47 PM
Journalist just trying to cover his own arse IMO.

21-03-2012, 04:48 PM
Instead of making snide comments, why not elaborate on why you think that?

That was not a snide comment. It was up front.

On reflection it was all of your post that was Tom Kite.

This bit is giving the story credence ...

Unless they are just sweeping the whole thing under the carpet due to our position in the league and an acknowledgement that we need every player available to us.

This bit is just uncalled for, not to mention slighty, errrm snidey. ...

..and this bit is just raking over the ashes of long gone incidents and exaggerting the amount of "past incidents".

21-03-2012, 05:00 PM
Why would Sportsound be on tonight? Big match on or something? :confused: :rolleyes:

i believe the yams have a quarter final of a cup they have a 'special relationship' with. Champions league or something?...

21-03-2012, 05:04 PM
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/home/search.html?sel=site&searchPhrase=leigh+griffiths

Done a great job of deleting that article, Daily Wail. Click on it, comes up as not found.

21-03-2012, 05:05 PM
That was not a snide comment. It was up front.

On reflection it was all of your post that was Tom Kite.

This bit is giving the story credence ...

Unless they are just sweeping the whole thing under the carpet due to our position in the league and an acknowledgement that we need every player available to us.

This bit is just uncalled for, not to mention slighty, errrm snidey. ...

..and this bit is just raking over the ashes of long gone incidents and exaggerting the amount of "past incidents".

Thanks maybe you could have just said you disagreed with what I had written and explained why in the first place, instead of making an up front comment.

Steven_Hibs
21-03-2012, 05:05 PM
From what I've heard, Hibs (Petrie) have asked players to cover this up. The journalist is today claiming the story is 100% accurate.

However much we want to believe Hibs are correct in their defence, let's not pretend a glossy statement and denial is guaranteed to be of the utmost truth.

Sounds about right, it wasn't until after the club statement when McPake tweeted, why not tweet beforehand? Say that it was a load of BS. Sounds like the players have been told what to say, pathetic

21-03-2012, 05:07 PM
The journalist is today claiming the story is 100% accurate.

Where can this claim be found?

If so why has the story been taken down from the DM's site?

21-03-2012, 05:07 PM
Haven't read through the whole thread.

Whats the scoop? :confused:

21-03-2012, 05:10 PM
Sounds about right, it wasn't until after the club statement when McPake tweeted, why not tweet beforehand? Say that it was a load of BS. Sounds like the players have been told what to say, pathetic

I'd imagine the players were told by the club to not comment on it until they had. Seems like the professional thing to do. Hardly "pathetic"

21-03-2012, 05:11 PM
sounds about right, it wasn't until after the club statement when mcpake tweeted, why not tweet beforehand? Say that it was a load of bs. Sounds like the players have been told what to say, pathetic

ltyf

21-03-2012, 05:15 PM
Thanks maybe you could have just said you disagreed with what I had written and explained why in the first place, instead of making an up front comment.

I'm told that these forums are all about opinion. I didn't realise that opinion needed to be accompanied by explanation. My opinion was given in my up front comment. On reflection maybe my opinion was best kept to myself. I'll try hard in the future to keep my opinion on your opinion to myself. Self restraint. It may even catch on.

21-03-2012, 05:17 PM
Haven't read through the whole thread.

Whats the scoop? :confused:

Loads of people, some Hibbys and some Jambos pretending to be Hibbys, can't wait to stick the boot in to Hibs at the first sign of any dirty laundry, spurious or not. Whodathunkit, eh?

Mac
21-03-2012, 05:17 PM

Holy Moly, ive heard some propoganda in my time but this has to be the most niave comment i have ever read on here, thats saying soemthing!!

So a journo spouts keek because someone has spun him a line and because he wont back down its a conspiracy from the club!!!

Ok, ok, so should this have taken place then there will undoubtedly be a right good scud mark on both Fenlon & Brown whether a hard blow or not if hes made contact then it will be clear for all to see, i will also go as far to say that there isnt a manager or assistant that would accept this and carry on in their job as if nothing has happened.

Mac
21-03-2012, 05:19 PM

hahahahaha, seriously you have to be on the wind up!!

BarneyK
21-03-2012, 05:24 PM

So Nutsy was nutted but has chosen to pretend nothing happened, is that what we're saying? Might that not undermine his authority just a bit?

21-03-2012, 05:30 PM
So Nutsy was nutted but has chosen to pretend nothing happened, is that what we're saying? Might that not undermine his authority just a bit?

My thoughts exactly. If something serious had happened Griffiths would have been out the door today, you don't cover up serious allegations like this!

21-03-2012, 05:39 PM
I fancy Doyle to come good with a run of games been unlucky to not had more of a shout IMO

sorry mate - but doyle is single fish

21-03-2012, 05:39 PM
PF ..... After Sunday Leigh I want you to work on your Movement, shooting, passing, ball control and free kick taking.

LG .... Nut ah dinnae want tae.

PF .... Aye yer gonna

LG ..... No um no.

PF .... If you trow dat bib oim gonna kill ye.

LG ..... Take that !!! I'm away hame !!!

BB .... I'll get him back boss.

LG ..... Sod off Broon ya Yam jobbie !!!

BB .... Ouch !!!!

Pretty accurate I would guess.

21-03-2012, 05:40 PM
Billy Brown just being interviewed on Sportsound the now and saying that the reporting was a disgrace this morning and that nothing happened other than the usual training ground arguments. Allan Preston confirmed that he spoke with Wotherspoon who also said it was nonsense.

It simply did not happen.

21-03-2012, 05:44 PM
Haven't trawled the whole thread but any suggestions who the rat could be??? Someone in the hibs camp has clearly went to the paper with a view of unsettling things. That's quite worrying at this stage in the season

I doubt that.

More likely is that a player told his mate who told his mate who told his made and "send three and fourpence, we're going to a dance" results.

A Yam gets a hold of it, embellishes it some more and goes to the paper.

21-03-2012, 05:44 PM
My thoughts exactly. If something serious had happened Griffiths would have been out the door today, you don't cover up serious allegations like this!

Some folk just won't let it go, it doesn't matter what the board, manager or players say.

This whole episode will become FACT to many :agree:

21-03-2012, 05:45 PM
It simply did not happen.

Be prepared for those whose opinion on Hibs is more important to them than Hibs to sling this a total deefy.

21-03-2012, 05:45 PM

lol

How would the journo know? He wasn't there.

21-03-2012, 05:46 PM
I want the names of the players who did not take part in the Battle of East Mains(alleged).If they can't take part in a training ground skirmish they're not up for the battles ahead-no iffs or butts.

21-03-2012, 05:47 PM

That post is pathetic.

21-03-2012, 05:47 PM
ltyf

My thoughts too. :agree:

21-03-2012, 05:48 PM
Holy Moly, ive heard some propoganda in my time but this has to be the most niave comment i have ever read on here, thats saying soemthing!!

So a journo spouts keek because someone has spun him a line and because he wont back down its a conspiracy from the club!!!

Ok, ok, so should this have taken place then there will undoubtedly be a right good scud mark on both Fenlon & Brown whether a hard blow or not if hes made contact then it will be clear for all to see, i will also go as far to say that there isnt a manager or assistant that would accept this and carry on in their job as if nothing has happened.

100% on all counts.

21-03-2012, 05:54 PM
I wouldnae believe anything in the Daily Mail, even the date at the top of the page.

21-03-2012, 05:56 PM
This story reeks of pish!!

I'll wait for something official before I start slitting my wrists I think. Funny how this comes out the same day as FJK signs for Dunfermline:rolleyes:

knew it was a load of pish :smokin

21-03-2012, 05:58 PM

Was the journalist there? NO, so he can't be 100% sure about anything he has reported.

Do you honestly think that if it were true that Griffiths would be remaining at Hibs? He'd have been back at Wolves by lunchtime today.

I believe Hibs and the players version of events, if they were going to cover up stuff like this we would have had a denial or some cover story about the Scott and Welsh incident, but they didn't deny that because it actually happened.

21-03-2012, 06:06 PM
The players who were there are definately speaking pish IMO :agree: The journos who weren't there will definately be more clued up.

21-03-2012, 06:08 PM
Was the journalist there? NO, so he can't be 100% sure about anything he has reported.

Do you honestly think that if it were true that Griffiths would be remaining at Hibs? He'd have been back at Wolves by lunchtime today.

I believe Hibs and the players version of events, if they were going to cover up stuff like this we would have had a denial or some cover story about the Scott and Welsh incident, but they didn't deny that because it actually happened.

Welsh had a broken jaw so more difficult to cover up.

I think the truth will probably be somewhere in the middle of the two stories.

Whatever happens, now he's staying he needs to start scoring goals, and not just the odd penalty.

21-03-2012, 06:09 PM
lol

How would the journo know? He wasn't there.

I don't know, only passing on what I was told.

I never said it was correct, I was giving a counter-claim to Hibs' statement. Hibs have claimed it's a lie, the guy who wrote it is apparently adamant it's not. It's not official by any means or has been publicised in any way. The truth's probably somewhere in the middle.

I think we can all be confident that Nutsy wasn't properly nutted, to either the damage of his pride, facial features or glasses. Whatever degree of truth there is in the Mail report, be it some or little, it's hardly naive to think Hibs have likely produced a statement of damage limitation. Whatever Griffiths has done, I'm guessing it isn't acceptable to Fenlon and Brown, or Petrie for that matter. In current circumstances though (bit like Jack Mellis and Ashley Cole at Chelsea?), Hibs have probably taken an apology from Griffiths and everyone will attempt to move on for the greater good.

It's not a case of WANTING to believe the worst case scenario at all - much rather Griffiths stayed whatever he has done. Just not sure it's quite as straightforward as him being free to start Saturday's game without some form of punishment (whatever the crime was - NOT a headbutt and a haymaker).

21-03-2012, 06:15 PM
I never said it was correct, I was giving a counter-claim to Hibs' statement. Hibs have claimed it's a lie, the guy who wrote it is apparently adamant it's not. It's not official by any means or has been publicised in any way. The truth's probably somewhere in the middle.

I think we can all be confident that Nutsy wasn't properly nutted, to either the damage of his pride, facial features or glasses. Whatever degree of truth there is in the Mail report, be it some or little, it's hardly naive to think Hibs have likely produced a statement of damage limitation.

Then why have the Daily Mail pulled the story? They're obviously not that confident in it.

21-03-2012, 06:15 PM
I'm totaly disgusted with this thread. Only 1 yam outed amongst that lot, bunch oh p*"^@s them admins right enough. :greengrin

21-03-2012, 06:16 PM
Billy Brown leaked story to unsettle Hibs and give his old fat pal and his new team a boost. His last chance to mess Hibs up before he scuttles along to be said fat pal's assistant !!

21-03-2012, 06:19 PM
Then why have the Daily Mail pulled the story? They're obviously not that confident in it.

If they're not confident in it, then perfect; we all move on and have a far better chance of staying up that we would have done.

21-03-2012, 06:20 PM
Billy Brown leaked story to unsettle Hibs and give his old fat pal and his new team a boost. His last chance to mess Hibs up before he scuttles along to be said fat pal's assistant !!

Nothing to see here - let us move on an leave this yam food behind.

21-03-2012, 06:20 PM
The STV report said the newspaper who broke the story said they were standing by the report.

The board at ER should man up and grow a pair and let it rip about this instead of the usual "wall of silence" or "the Hibs way"

Pig sick of this now and will be emailing the club to protest.

21-03-2012, 06:21 PM

Uh huh. I guess the moon landing was faked an all.

21-03-2012, 06:21 PM
I hope Fenlon told the wee **** his performance on Sunday was crap and pointed out his role in the 2 goals we lost.

21-03-2012, 06:22 PM
The STV report said the newspaper who broke the story said they were standing by the report.

The board at ER should man up and grow a pair and let it rip about this instead of the usual "wall of silence" or "the Hibs way"

Pig sick of this now and will be emailing the club to protest.

"Standing by the report" = pulling it from their website? Okay.

21-03-2012, 06:25 PM

I think we can all be confident that Nutsy wasn't properly nutted, to either the damage of his pride, facial features or glasses. Whatever degree of truth there is in the Mail report, be it some or little, it's hardly naive to think Hibs have likely produced a statement of damage limitation. Whatever Griffiths has done, I'm guessing it isn't acceptable to Fenlon and Brown, or Petrie for that matter. In current circumstances though (bit like Jack Mellis and Ashley Cole at Chelsea?), Hibs have probably taken an apology from Griffiths and everyone will attempt to move on for the greater good.

It's not a case of WANTING to believe the worst case scenario at all - much rather Griffiths stayed whatever he has done. Just not sure it's quite as straightforward as him being free to start Saturday's game without some form of punishment (whatever the crime was - NOT a headbutt and a haymaker).

PF was spotted at the Falkirk game last night, no elastic band holding his glasses together, no marks on his face and didn't look in any way to bothered about the day he had at work.

Suppose the big question is, who was he watching last night. :aok:

21-03-2012, 06:26 PM
Some folk just won't let it go, it doesn't matter what the board, manager or players say.

This whole episode will become FACT to many :agree:

Agree, but the really annoying thing is that it is so called Hibs supporters that are all to willing to believe it's FACT & in some cses give the impression they want it to be FACT.

21-03-2012, 06:28 PM
Are the Daily Mail still running that story about Diana? In fact does Leigh have an alibi for that night?

21-03-2012, 06:34 PM
Are the Daily Mail still running that story about Diana? In fact does Leigh have an alibi for that night?

My source texted me to say it was him

21-03-2012, 06:36 PM

He was definitely seen speeding away.

dmc1875
21-03-2012, 06:38 PM
I think there is something in the story but seems the typical journos blowing everything out of proportion.

It would be niave to think that its complete bullsh*t though, we all know what Griffiths can be like when he has been wound up.

There will definitely be some sort of gagging order placed on the players by Petrie I'm sure about whatever events happened but all in all it was probably just a small coming together over a disagreement.

And if nutsy was having a go at his derby performance and inability to perform in big games then he was 100% justified.

21-03-2012, 06:38 PM
Any chance we can wrap it.

It's clearly tabloid spin.

All the wee sweetie wives and yams can take it from here.

21-03-2012, 06:47 PM
I think there is something in the story but seems the typical journos blowing everything out of proportion.

It would be niave to think that its complete bullsh*t though, we all know what Griffiths can be like when he has been wound up.

There will definitely be some sort of gagging order placed on the players by Petrie I'm sure about whatever events happened but all in all it was probably just a small coming together over a disagreement.

And if nutsy was having a go at his derby performance and inability to perform in big games then he was 100% justified.

:lips seal:faf:

21-03-2012, 06:51 PM
PF was spotted at the Falkirk game last night, no elastic band holding his glasses together, no marks on his face and didn't look in any way to bothered about the day he had at work.

Suppose the big question is, who was he watching last night. :aok:

Possibly Stewart Murdoch SH :cb however I think he broke his foot last night......was called up to the U21's recently too I think.

21-03-2012, 06:56 PM
My thoughts too. :agree:

No thoughts required Mr Radge, clumsy and obvious.

21-03-2012, 06:58 PM

Why?

Whatever Griffiths has done, I'm guessing......

Why?

21-03-2012, 07:01 PM
I think..........

In your opinion.

21-03-2012, 07:04 PM

I think it's something else that's leaking. Is your seat wet?

21-03-2012, 07:21 PM
Coming late to the thread, I note that the Daily Mail have pulled the story. That says it all to me.

Odds are that an out-of-favour player unhappy with Fenlon's training regime gave an exaggerated version of a shouting match to a tabloid "journalist".

21-03-2012, 07:38 PM
I know there's the odd person on here that disagrees with some of my views.But I'm telling all that care to listen, that my source is 100% reliable and what I said was the way it was conveyed to me. This guy was in the room where it happened! And I think there's every chance players are being encouraged to toe the club line!

So you're claiming you know the source, probably the same guy who grassed to the papers if he's willing to spill to any old clown.

Who is it? He should have nothing further to do with Hibs.

21-03-2012, 07:45 PM
I have to wonder: Leigh Griffiths - does he cure or cause cancer?

21-03-2012, 07:47 PM
Just had a long phone call with a very reliable itk source, told me it's basically all bs. Nutsy had a go at the players for showing no passion and griffiths and others took offence, leigh was up in paddys face and brown tried to pull them apart and fell over... That is it.

21-03-2012, 07:54 PM
I have to wonder: Leigh Griffiths - does he cure or cause cancer?

21-03-2012, 08:02 PM
Just had a long phone call with a very reliable itk source, told me it's basically all bs. Nutsy had a go at the players for showing no passion and griffiths and others took offence, leigh was up in paddys face and brown tried to pull them apart and fell over... That is it.

Thats what i kinda thought - nae mair than Handbags at dawn.. :cb

same kind of thing probably happens at every club now and again..

apparently lee apologised straight away and was punished at the time..

A Complete Non-Story really - and thats how all (but 1or2) of the players kinda felt about it ..

There was no headbutt - was only the kinda onfield im gonna headbutt you gesture kinda style that was used..

and BB only got in the way whilst he was actually on his way to the vending machine.. :aok:

21-03-2012, 08:03 PM

So who threw the banana skin on the floor? :confused:

21-03-2012, 08:10 PM

Yamtastically full of Yam5hite. Launch

21-03-2012, 08:23 PM

I assume he tried to pull apart, a few hands were flung and he took a sore one on the forehead. That combined with his old creaky body and you have a man down! :wink:

21-03-2012, 08:28 PM
The actual story sounds more positive than anything. Shows a bit passion at least!

21-03-2012, 08:32 PM
Yamtastically full of Yam5hite. Launch

seconded, fricking hate agreeing with you:greengrin

Hibby 2005
21-03-2012, 08:48 PM
If Griffiths was scoring goals for fun then I'd accept his ned qualities but he's not so not sure what all the fuss is about.

Fantic
21-03-2012, 08:53 PM

I heard it was Rod Petrie.

21-03-2012, 08:58 PM
I heard it was Rod Petrie.

No chance, Rod is too tight to throw anything away:wink:

21-03-2012, 09:34 PM
My money would have been on wee Nutsy to skelp him good style anyway :greengrin

I heard he was a bottle merchant with No Heart :shhhsh!::shhhsh!::shhhsh!:

21-03-2012, 09:37 PM
No chance, Rod is too tight to throw anything away:wink:

apparently after his training punishment - he had to pay fer his own taxi to easter road - to have it oot with someone else !!

was it more boxing ?? or just to be called to head office to visit uncle rod ?? and to end up saying sorry :wink:

21-03-2012, 09:40 PM
Thats what i kinda thought - nae mair than Handbags at dawn.. :cb

same kind of thing probably happens at every club now and again..

apparently lee apologised straight away and was punished at the time..

A Complete Non-Story really - and thats how all (but 1or2) of the players kinda felt about it ..

There was no headbutt - was only the kinda onfield im gonna headbutt you gesture kinda style that was used..

and BB only got in the way whilst he was actually on his way to the vending machine.. :aok:

Yip Giggsy and the Roonster are often nose to red nose with Alex with the threat of head butting never far away. Auld Red Nose says it is part of the game happens every week. :wink::wink:

Lets face it if Leigh was in Paddys face he is well out of order do that with team mates doing that with the manager is a complete no no.

green glory
21-03-2012, 10:01 PM
Jeez are yous still talking about this?

DAVE1875
22-03-2012, 05:46 AM

http://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/scotsol/homepage/sport/spl/4210098/Youd-have-to-be-CRAZY-to-stick-the-nut-on-Nutsy.html

22-03-2012, 06:23 AM
ltyf

He's not a yam.

22-03-2012, 06:23 AM

Yeah...rightyo

22-03-2012, 06:40 AM

http://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/scotsol/homepage/sport/spl/4210098/Youd-have-to-be-CRAZY-to-stick-the-nut-on-Nutsy.html

Fine, this tells us all about Fenlon's grittiness and passion etc etc and yes we can dismisss whatever happened as trivial and commonplace. What we can't dismiss is the reason for Fenlon's having to berate his players ........... their lack of passion and poor attitude in matches which could determine what league we'll be in next season.

22-03-2012, 06:50 AM
Fine, this tells us all about Fenlon's grittiness and passion etc etc and yes we can dismisss whatever happened as trivial and commonplace. What we can't dismiss is the reason for Fenlon's having to berate his players ........... their lack of passion and poor attitude in matches which could determine what league we'll be in next season.

Aye but we'll at least be two divisions above Rangers...or whatever they will be called by then! :greengrin

scott7_0(Prague)
22-03-2012, 07:06 AM
I notice the Daily Mail story has been pulled - http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-2117958/Leigh-Griffiths-headbutts-Hibs-manager-Pat-Fenlon.html

22-03-2012, 07:14 AM
I notice the Daily Mail story has been pulled - http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-2117958/Leigh-Griffiths-headbutts-Hibs-manager-Pat-Fenlon.html

The damage has been done, more bad publicity for Hibs.

22-03-2012, 07:17 AM
The damage has been done, more bad publicity for Hibs.

This....

22-03-2012, 08:12 AM
Martin Scott been fined 2 weeks wages and suspended for a week according to a journalist on Twitter, full story in the express apparently

22-03-2012, 08:24 AM
I'm told that these forums are all about opinion. I didn't realise that opinion needed to be accompanied by explanation. My opinion was given in my up front comment. On reflection maybe my opinion was best kept to myself. I'll try hard in the future to keep my opinion on your opinion to myself. Self restraint. It may even catch on.

Opinion yes but surely if someone posts something like that against something you have posted you want to know why. I thought it was about more than just indicating that you disagree with someone particularly in that manner. There are other ways to articulate your disagreement than using witty ryhming for swear words. Doesn't seem in the spirit of the forum where I thought respect for fellow posters and manners counted for something.

22-03-2012, 08:26 AM
Martin Scott been fined 2 weeks wages and suspended for a week according to a journalist on Twitter, full story in the express apparently

Report says Scott didn't get a text that he should train the day after the Ayr game due to a number change. Fined two weeks regardless. Allegedly.

Not quite worthy of the HIBS ARE AT WAR headline.

22-03-2012, 08:32 AM

The "exclusive" article goes in to some detail about the Leigh Griffiths situation and is absolutely full of phrases such as "it's claimed" and "is alleged". It then goes on to say that Martin Scott was fined for failing to report to training albeit there appears to have been some sort of communication mix up between the Club and the players who were requested to attend the session which was arranged at the last minute.

It looks like another piece of journalistic mischief making as it further states " It shows that all is not well behind the scenes at Easter Road" and "Many of the squad are believed to be unhappy with Fenlon's attitude and the way he goes about his business."

Not good reading but it looks more and more likely that there is an unhappy mole at East Mains.

Bighoose
22-03-2012, 08:37 AM
More "quality journalism"...

http://www.express.co.uk/posts/view/309648/Fenlon-s-double-bust-up-angers-Hibs-players (http://www.express.co.uk/posts/view/309648/Fenlon-s-double-bust-up-angers-Hibs-players)

FENLON'S DOUBLE BUST-UP ANGERS HIBS PLAYERS
STRUGGLING Hibs manager Pat Fenlon has had a second player bust-up as he struggles to cope with the pressures of an Scottish Premier League dogfight.

Fenlon had a training ground set-two with on-loan Wolves striker Leigh Griffiths on Tuesday just 24 hours after midfielder Martin Scott had returned from a week’s club suspension, which saw him miss the weekend derby defeat to Hearts.

Express Sport can reveal former Ross County star Scott was also fined two weeks wages after he failed to report for training the day after their Scottish Cup win over Ayr United.Scott was hit with the maximum punishment from Fenlon and his club even though the player is adamant he had done nothing wrong.

Fenlon decided at the last minute that his players who hadn’t played or been involved in the cup win would have to come in and train the following day and many of the players were informed by text.But Scott had changed his mobile number and was adamant he never got the text

The manager however refused to accept his explanation and decided to hammer him sparking more bad feeling within the playing squad towards their bosses.

Hibs meanwhile moved yesterday to deny via an official statement claims that Griffiths had headbutted Fenlon and then punched assistant Billy Brown during a coaching session fracas.
Former Bohemian boss Fenlon said: “Yesterday was typical training ground stuff and I’m surprised at the rubbish in the press today. As is usual for high tempo training sessions, involving committed players and coaching staff, robust views and opinions were shared and yesterday’s session was no different. Leigh is a quality striker and a lively personality and we will remain a key part of my team for the rest of the season. We just want to focus on winning games and getting up the table.”

Express Sport understands that Griffiths and Fenlon did get involved in a heated argument after the manager cut a training game short and that led to the player being ordered back to the dressing room.

The former Dundee star hauled off his training top and bib and threw it hitting his manager in the face. Fenlon and his assistant Liam O’Brien then had to be kept away from Griffiths by some of the other players while No. 2 Brown followed Griffiths back into the dressing room. That sparked another heated exchange resulting in the ex-Scotland under-21 striker Griffith pushing Brown before the rest of the stunned Hibs stars moved in to intervene.

It shows that all is not well behind the scenes with a lot of the squad unhappy with Fenlon’s attitude and the way he goes about his business – making it a them and us attitude between the players and management.

The news will certainly give hope to their drop rivals Dunfermline, who are just four points behind and have just been boosted by the appointment of former Hearts boss Jim Jefferies.

Fenlon, who has never managed outside the league of Ireland, was appointed earlier this season after Hibs fired manager Colin Calderwood..

22-03-2012, 08:44 AM
The last three paragraphs are hilarious. Pure conjecture. The press really do serve up slops and expect us to gratefully lap it up. Quality journalism in this country is a thing of the past.

22-03-2012, 08:48 AM

http://www.express.co.uk/posts/view/309648/Fenlon-s-double-bust-up-angers-Hibs-players (http://www.express.co.uk/posts/view/309648/Fenlon-s-double-bust-up-angers-Hibs-players)

STRUGGLING Hibs manager Pat Fenlon has had a second player bust-up as he struggles to cope with the pressures of an Scottish Premier League dogfight.

Fenlon had a training ground set-two with on-loan Wolves striker Leigh Griffiths on Tuesday just 24 hours after midfielder Martin Scott had returned from a week’s club suspension, which saw him miss the weekend derby defeat to Hearts.

Express Sport can reveal former Ross County star Scott was also fined two weeks wages after he failed to report for training the day after their Scottish Cup win over Ayr United.Scott was hit with the maximum punishment from Fenlon and his club even though the player is adamant he had done nothing wrong.

Fenlon decided at the last minute that his players who hadn’t played or been involved in the cup win would have to come in and train the following day and many of the players were informed by text.But Scott had changed his mobile number and was adamant he never got the text

see me, if i had changed my contact number, my employer would have been one of the first to be informed, unless i couldn't be ers*d and didn't want contacted, and if he did change his number it should be relatively easy to prove it i imagine

22-03-2012, 08:58 AM
Yet more sensationalist journalism, and I use the word journalism loosely. Pat's been in charge for a wee while now, yet it's only now, when news at Rangers is slow, Celtic have won the league, they need to start a wee bit of unsettling news to make the run in more interesting. Positive spin on it would be 'manager tells player it's his way or the highway ' or 'hibs boss gets tough on slackers' !

I recall a time where a now retired player had a square go with an opposition player in the car park after a game, yet it went unreported......it happens, the journos know it, yet they'll try and shift their papers with spin.

The players have downplayed it, the manager and Billy have, the club have - unite, galvanise, and pump United at the weekend lads.

22-03-2012, 08:59 AM
The last three paragraphs are hilarious. Pure conjecture. The press really do serve up slops and expect us to gratefully lap it up. Quality journalism in this country is a thing of the past.

Yes, agreed. A lot of articles published these days seem to tell a story (true, exaggerated or otherwise) but are also littered with comments designed to have a dig at people (in this case Fenlon and a guised dig at the Hibs board) without actually having a dig if you see what I mean.

They also seem to be written with getting a reaction on forums such as this in mind and the journo probably thinks he is playing a role in cranking up the relegation battle. If Hibs and Dunfermline where in each others current positions don't think there would be articles appearing trying to disrupt Dunfermline. That article reeks of someone who dislikes Hibs and wants to see us go down. There seem to be a few like that out there in the Scottish written and broadcast media for some reason.

22-03-2012, 09:04 AM
That article reeks of someone who dislikes Hibs and wants to see us go down. There seem to be a few like that out there in the Scottish written and broadcast media for some reason.

I think that that is just paranoia tbh. A tabloid journalist's job is to help sell papers, bring traffic to their website and generate 'buzz' about the story.

The journalism might be rubbish but it's not an agenda against Hibs specifically.

22-03-2012, 09:08 AM
To be honest with you would it have asked to much for someone at hibs to actually make a call to the players that were to go into training, pat and billy boy could have split the names between them, 5 mins later, job done. Then you know if their taking the p**s..

Sergio sledge
22-03-2012, 09:08 AM
It shows that all is not well behind the scenes with a lot of the squad unhappy with Fenlon’s attitude and the way he goes about his business – making it a them and us attitude between the players and management.

The news will certainly give hope to their drop rivals Dunfermline, who are just four points behind and have just been boosted by the appointment of former Hearts boss Jim Jefferies.

Fenlon, who has never managed outside the league of Ireland, was appointed earlier this season after Hibs fired manager Colin Calderwood..

I'm wondering if this article was penned by "hibsforchange" or whatever they were called who had wanted a different manager, the article is put together purely to undermine Fenlon.

Martin Scott should have told the club that he had changed his contact details, especially since the club use his mobile number to contact him.

22-03-2012, 09:09 AM

The manager however refused to accept his explanation and decided to hammer him sparking more bad feeling within the playing squad towards their bosses.

Hibs meanwhile moved yesterday to deny via an official statement claims that Griffiths had headbutted Fenlon and then punched assistant Billy Brown during a coaching session fracas.
Former Bohemian boss Fenlon said: “Yesterday was typical training ground stuff and I’m surprised at the rubbish in the press today. As is usual for high tempo training sessions, involving committed players and coaching staff, robust views and opinions were shared and yesterday’s session was no different. Leigh is a quality striker and a lively personality and we will remain a key part of my team for the rest of the season. We just want to focus on winning games and getting up the table.”

Express Sport understands that Griffiths and Fenlon did get involved in a heated argument after the manager cut a training game short and that led to the player being ordered back to the dressing room.

The former Dundee star hauled off his training top and bib and threw it hitting his manager in the face. Fenlon and his assistant Liam O’Brien then had to be kept away from Griffiths by some of the other players while No. 2 Brown followed Griffiths back into the dressing room. That sparked another heated exchange resulting in the ex-Scotland under-21 striker Griffith pushing Brown before the rest of the stunned Hibs stars moved in to intervene.

How many chances is this chancer going to get, fined for a training ground bust up where a player recieved a broken jaw, turning up late for a game and fined then, and now this. Darren McCormack got sacked for less, about time Hibs started showing that this nonsense wont be tolerated.

Once again more bad publicity for Hibernian FC.

22-03-2012, 10:06 AM
How many chances is this chancer going to get, fined for a training ground bust up where a player recieved a broken jaw, turning up late for a game and fined then, and now this. Darren McCormack got sacked for less, about time Hibs started showing that this nonsense wont be tolerated.

Once again more bad publicity for Hibernian FC.

Agree to an extent SH, but, Darren didn't have to look too hard for trouble to find him. Which was/ is a shame because I felt a lot of that came down to guidance off the field.

I still think it's a slow news week if they are picking up on this kind of indiscipline.

You'll know far better than me, and I hope I am not speaking out of turn, but I was told by a then first team player at Hibs about Deek and Venus having to be kept apart at Tynie after Derek and Caldwell argued off the pitch at half time. It happens, or indeed, it may not....it's peoples perceptions that can skew a story.

And I consoled myself with a family bag of peanut M&Ms on Sunday bud

22-03-2012, 10:14 AM
Opinion yes but surely if someone posts something like that against something you have posted you want to know why. I thought it was about more than just indicating that you disagree with someone particularly in that manner. There are other ways to articulate your disagreement than using witty ryhming for swear words. Doesn't seem in the spirit of the forum where I thought respect for fellow posters and manners counted for something.

What about respect for Hibs when journos are clearly just making up copy?

22-03-2012, 10:36 AM
I think that that is just paranoia tbh. A tabloid journalist's job is to help sell papers, bring traffic to their website and generate 'buzz' about the story.

The journalism might be rubbish but it's not an agenda against Hibs specifically.

While you are probably correct that doesnt stop the sort of rumour mongering that has come around this week which IMO is designed to deliberately affect Hibs and the perception of the club by fans. I dont think there is a coincidence that JJ arrives at Pars then suddenly we are told Hibs are in disarray and at War behind the scenes which personally I think is complete nonsense.

The main thing though is how the club (players, management and support) respond to this sort of thing. You would hope it would make the club more determined to get out of the mess they are in. The next three games are massive and a decent return would IMO end any talk of relegation.

22-03-2012, 10:52 AM
The main thing though is how the club (players, management and support) respond to this sort of thing.

I agree and think the attitude and stupidity shown by some supporters to this story in the context of this message board shows a naivity beyond imagination. Every bit of "I think" speak on here has helped the journalist undermine the club. Its' a drip-drip effect.

The guy who first started the website with the name "Hibs.Net" way back in the mid 1990's when it was a "bravenet" style board never visits here and now calls it "Whinge.net". No ones opinion on a occurance they never witnessed si more important than the club.

22-03-2012, 11:14 AM
The league title is sewn up the only thing that really matters now is the other end of the table. Anything to spice that up will be fair gane. Get used to it till someone goes down.

Hibstrooper
22-03-2012, 11:19 AM
The league title is sewn up the only thing that really matters now is the other end of the table. Anything to spice that up will be fair gane. Get used to it till someone goes down.

It's funny how all Fenlon's ex-players praise him to the hilt however we've now got Journalists claiming that all the Hibs players are unhappy (without a single quote in sight)!

22-03-2012, 12:12 PM
The "exclusive" article goes in to some detail about the Leigh Griffiths situation and is absolutely full of phrases such as "it's claimed" and "is alleged". It then goes on to say that Martin Scott was fined for failing to report to training albeit there appears to have been some sort of communication mix up between the Club and the players who were requested to attend the session which was arranged at the last minute.

It looks like another piece of journalistic mischief making as it further states " It shows that all is not well behind the scenes at Easter Road" and "Many of the squad are believed to be unhappy with Fenlon's attitude and the way he goes about his business."

Not good reading but it looks more and more likely that there is an unhappy mole at East Mains.

Martin Scott

Guy should count himself lucky he wasn't emptied after banjoing Welsh.

22-03-2012, 12:59 PM
Let the Medjia keep coming out with revelations such as this, if they are untrue all it can do is galvanise our management and players even more to get us out ot this mess and stick one right up them.

22-03-2012, 01:10 PM
:top marks:not worth

LG is allergic to the soap powder used to wash them at EM. Meanwhile, you should have seem BB seeth when Tam delivered them from the laundry and Paddy started singing 'Hail Hail, The Bibs are here'

He'll be off to Glasgow in the transfer window.

22-03-2012, 07:02 PM
http://tabloid-watch.blogspot.co.uk/2012/03/mail-removes-story-about-hibs-after.html#comment-form

Pointed them in the right direction of this, great blog and good to see them running this too.

22-03-2012, 07:07 PM
http://tabloid-watch.blogspot.co.uk/2012/03/mail-removes-story-about-hibs-after.html#comment-form

Pointed them in the right direction of this, great blog and good to see them running this too.

Nice one.

22-03-2012, 07:40 PM

great stuff. i follow tabloid watch and the daily mail is the worst offender for printing erroneous stories and then deleting them without comment or formal retraction. worse than the red tops.

andudare2
22-03-2012, 08:36 PM
Sounds about right, it wasn't until after the club statement when McPake tweeted, why not tweet beforehand? Say that it was a load of BS. Sounds like the players have been told what to say, patheticjeezo!!!!!!!!!

22-03-2012, 09:35 PM
Anyone desperate to keep Griffiths?

22-03-2012, 09:37 PM
I wouldn't say desperate, but i'd take him if we could get him. He's the best we have at the minute imo.

22-03-2012, 09:40 PM
I wouldn't say desperate, but i'd take him if we could get him. He's the best we have at the minute imo.

With the right application, maybe the best we could afford.... :dunno:

22-03-2012, 09:40 PM

Thanks for that, really good website.

http://tabloid-watch.blogspot.co.uk/2012/03/mailonline-doesnt-do-research-falls-for.html Look at this non-football related one as well. Horrendous!

22-03-2012, 10:14 PM
Thanks for that, really good website.

http://tabloid-watch.blogspot.co.uk/2012/03/mailonline-doesnt-do-research-falls-for.html Look at this non-football related one as well. Horrendous!

When making up bollocks extends to murder cases days after grieving family members have been given the worst news of their lives, the media in this country do not deserve the oxygen of oxygen anymore.

23-03-2012, 02:17 AM
great stuff. i follow tabloid watch and the daily mail is the worst offender for printing erroneous stories and then deleting them without comment or formal retraction. worse than the red tops.

I was just surprised they didn't tie it in with a story about cloths-peg-selling gypsy caravan-dwellers at East Mains bringing property values down in East Lothian, and another about transient Irish immigrants taking jobs from the natives.

Well, no one can say that following Hibs is boring ... :rolleyes:

23-03-2012, 02:25 AM
Let's hold our fire until we know for certain what actually happened?

As much as I don't want to say "I told you so"....well..."I told you so". We excel at putting the boot into our own at times. A bit of faith, solidarity and defiance might not go amiss when accusations are made against us as a club.

23-03-2012, 04:16 AM
More negative stuff

http://www.scotsman.com/news/hibernian-undermined-by-a-culture-of-indiscipline-1-2191702

23-03-2012, 05:29 AM
More negative stuff

http://www.scotsman.com/news/hibernian-undermined-by-a-culture-of-indiscipline-1-2191702

The hack mafia are hardly likely to turn on one of their own. Still pathetic though.

23-03-2012, 05:58 AM
I wonder who the alleged "ex players" are.....

I take it, its pick on Hibs week...

23-03-2012, 06:03 AM
I wonder who the alleged "ex players" are.....

I take it, its pick on Hibs week...

It's Kano, he's said similar things several times in defence of Yogi.

23-03-2012, 06:08 AM
[QUOTE=Part/Time Supporter;3157153]It's Kano, he's said similar things several times in defence of Yogi.[/

Sure I read that a while ago right enough, probably these are quotes from back then, hence the reason there's no names mentioned...

23-03-2012, 06:17 AM
Come on journos
Roll up Roll up HaveadigatHibsweek.

23-03-2012, 06:48 AM
Funny, Sir Tom didn't have a 'pastoral approach' with me when I questioned the value for money I was getting if buying a season ticket.

Moira is a lovely lady, but for me knows heehaw about football. I remember listening to her at a pre-season tournament at Spartans and thinking that her paper must have been toiling during the recruitment process.

That article, whilst a couple of points are valid, is a regurgitation of old news, at a time where the tabloids need a story in the absence of any goings on at Rangers, Celtic or Hearts.

Also looks like the pair have been trawling the messageboards and cherry picking opinion.

23-03-2012, 06:53 AM
Sure I read that a while ago right enough, probably these are quotes from back then, hence the reason there's no names mentioned...

Some of the quotes mention McPake.

Folk need to chill out about there being some sort of agenda against Hibs (which is terribly Yam/Soapy-ish). The press think that there is a story to be found after the rumours of arguments/fights/whatever at East Mains and are trying to find it. It happens.

23-03-2012, 06:55 AM
Lazy lazy lazy, as usual its a ( deep-lying problem in the culture of the club. One which has played a part in the demise of several managers, and is now threatening to undermine Fenlon’s )

Who is left from the players that went to see Rod, Stevenson? Bull**** of the highest order. :rolleyes:

Teo10
23-03-2012, 07:00 AM
It does seem a total dig TBF, like they are annoyed Fenlon has come out and critised the media and they have taken offence...

23-03-2012, 08:23 AM
Ok, it's lazy journalism, have a go at hibs, etc, but is it wrong?
We can't deny the constant problems we've had. We also have no constant leadership. The change in players and management have not stopped the behind the scenes problems.

23-03-2012, 08:36 AM
Ok, it's lazy journalism, have a go at hibs, etc, but is it wrong?
We can't deny the constant problems we've had. We also have no constant leadership. The change in players and management have not stopped the behind the scenes problems.

What "problems" are these? Staff falling out with each other?.... hardly a new phenomenon in any workplace.

23-03-2012, 08:42 AM
More negative stuff

Poor, poor stuff.

There seems to have been dislike and resentment towards PF from the Scottish media mafia almost from day one. But for Moira Gordon to say the Griffiths thing was a, 'trifling matter', is pathetic.

Mind you, maybe she wants an easier life? If the Daily Mail can just make up stories on a whim or embellish second hand rumours into back page exposes, then we do not need proper sports journalists at all!

Yes, there is a problem at our club, but it looks like - at last - we have a manager who is going to take no **** and change things.

:cb

23-03-2012, 08:55 AM
The hack mafia are hardly likely to turn on one of their own. Still pathetic though.

Absolute w******s.

23-03-2012, 09:11 AM
More negative stuff

It's simply Bathgate's views put forward as fact dressed up with recycled/regurgitated quotes from the usual ex-players about something that happened five years ago that they roll out when they need to take a dig at the board.

It's a poor piece of journalism, and further evidence of how far downhill the Scotsman has gone when one of their lead stories is this.

23-03-2012, 09:17 AM
This isn't the Scotsman putting the boot in. It's yet another pop at the board by an un-named "former player" who clearly has an agenda.

I wonder who that could be! :rolleyes:

23-03-2012, 09:26 AM
My opinion is that that article by Bathgate and Gordon is probably not too far off the mark.

Some of us said at the time (in 2007) that Petrie should have sent those players packing when they turned up on his doorstep. Once he listened to them, Collins' position as manager was entirely undermined and untenable, and the truth is we haven't been right since. (One of the reasons I don't share in the Rob Jones love-ins is that he was club captain at the time and should have supported the manger who sustained him in that role instead of adopting the passive attitude he did. The captain is part of the authority structure of the club, running from owner to chairman to manager to coaches to captain to players. I don't think we have that sort of effective chain of command at Hibs.)

Mixu has since spoken of the poisonous atmosphere he found in the dressingroom when he arrived. He tried to clear out the rotten apples and bring in new, but failed; Hughes did the same, and failed as well, both IMO because you can't solve the problem by clearing out from the bottom. We need to clear out at the top, and my personal opinion is that neither Farmer nor Petrie are really concentrating on running Hibs as a football club. Their eyes are on the account books, and in STF's case apparently on making Easter Road a haven for neds and bampots other clubs won't touch.

Hibs have had their share of waifs and strays in the past, but since the bosses then tended to have their eye on the ball, that didn't damage us too much. Jock Stein could keep a reasonable rein on guys like Willie Hamilton because he knew he would be backed by Bill Harrower. Turnbull could bring in Alex Edwards - who had as bad a reputation in the day as Griffiths has now - because Tom Hart had his back. Alex Miller could sign Andy Goram - another prize chancer - because at that time he had Dougie Cromb behind him, and Dougie was a football man first and always.

Only this season we saw Colin Calderwood openly talking to managers of English clubs with a view to moving back south - first Steve McLaren AND THEN Chris Hughton, for crying out loud - and Petrie kept him on knowing that he didn't want to be here. Talking to McLaren about a job at Forest while supposedly engaged in organising Hibs' pre-season training and assembling a squad for the new season surely constitutes grounds for dismissal, especially when Calderwood started talking about 'wanting to check out all the sweeties in the sweetie shop'. He'd already bought his sweeties - taken the Hibs job - and had no right to be messing his employers about the way he was.

AND Hibs farther allowed the so-an-so to sign players, some of whom now appear to be more than a little challenged motivationally in terms of keeping the club in the SPL.

Another question - did Calderwood sign Sproule and O'Connor, or was that an example of Farmer's charity reaching out to players we really shouldn't have looked at for a second longer than it took to say 'no thanks'?

With respect to STF and RP, the time has come when we need a new man at the helm - in the boardroom. Someone with full powers to hire and fire without reference to Farmer's charitable instincts regarding the waifs and strays of football. Someone with his eye on the pitch, prepared to back the manager and coaches to the hilt whenever some wee prima donna starts complaining about being required to break sweat on the training round or on the pitch. Otherwise some of us aren't going to be back - ever. I don't intend to pay £25 a time to watch a team of moral cripples and layabouts just because Farmer has a sense of mission to save them from the consequences of their previous misbehaviour.

Or give my hard-earned cash to a club whose owners haven't worked out that results, in football, are everything.

There's a story of Bill Shankly being less than impressed by the effort put in by his Liverpool players in a certain match. He was uncharacteristically quiet after the game - no caustic comments, no tearing-off of strips, nothing much at all., But on the Monday morning when they turned up for training, he put them on a bus and took them to visit a coalmine. Took them below, let them see what the miners did for a liv9ing. Then explained to them that what a coalminer did was WORK; what THEY did was PLAY A GAME for money, far better money than any miner earned. Anyone who wasn't prepared to put in a proper shift was free to leave and get a job in the pits - if the pits would take them.

Shankly understood the difference between real life - the mines - and fantasy - football. And that the people who pay their wages over the turnstiles to watch the game are the people who really matter.

I'm beginning to wonder whether Farmer and Petrie understand that. I came to the conclusion a long time ago that too many of the 'players' at ER right now DON'T.

Famous5forever
23-03-2012, 09:30 AM
This isn't the Scotsman putting the boot in. It's yet another pop at the board by an un-named "former player" who clearly has an agenda.

lets get Columbo on the case to try and work it out.:confused:

23-03-2012, 09:33 AM
lets get Columbo on the case to try and work it out.:confused:

Columbo is a fictitious detective. Unfortunately, the former player who keeps kicking Hibs, is real.

23-03-2012, 09:36 AM

And there's NO chance that the 'un-named player' might be right in some of what he's saying?

If he's saying that Hibs haven't been right since the dressingroom revolt of 5 years ago, when Petrie listened to players he should have blasted off his doorstep, I agree with him.

IMO there's a problem in the ethos and culture of Hibernian Football Club, and neither the owner nor the board are addressing it.

23-03-2012, 09:50 AM
And there's NO chance that the 'un-named player' might be right in some of what he's saying?

If he's saying that Hibs haven't been right since the dressingroom revolt of 5 years ago, when Petrie listened to players he should have blasted off his doorstep, I agree with him.

IMO there's a problem in the ethos and culture of Hibernian Football Club, and neither the owner nor the board are addressing it.

Doddie, I agree 100% on both your posts. It was what I meant but was unable to put it across like you have.

23-03-2012, 09:50 AM

I read your post above and you make a lot of interesting points, but you're a fan, speculating in private(ish) about the reason we're punching below our weight.

This "former player" knows he will be widely quoted and uses this to have a pop, in the certain knowledge that there will be no consequences, even if he's well wide of the mark. He didn't even put his name to his comments this time, presumably either to hide, or to create even more speculation as to who is responsible.

IMO, this person has a long running grudge against Petrie and STF in particular, stemming back to the attempted Mercer takeover, and it has little to do with the recent performances of the team.

23-03-2012, 09:51 AM
The Scotsman article sounds like the sort of thing that gets regurgitated every time something negative about Hibs occurs in the press. A couple of made up negative stories this week and at the Scotsman its, "Stuart, can you look on the network for the Hibs player power article its in the Moaning Kano folder". :greengrin

Old news, seen it before, move on we have games to win.

23-03-2012, 09:51 AM
Some of the quotes mention McPake.

Folk need to chill out about there being some sort of agenda against Hibs (which is terribly Yam/Soapy-ish). The press think that there is a story to be pfound after the rumours of arguments/fights/whatever at East Mains and are trying to find it. It happens.

To be fair, I didn't exactly say they had an agenda against Hibs...

23-03-2012, 09:56 AM
I read your post above and you make a lot of interesting points, but you're a fan, speculating in private(ish) about the reason we're punching below our weight.

This "former player" knows he will be widely quoted and uses this to have a pop, in the certain knowledge that there will be no consequences, even if he's well wide of the mark. He didn't even put his name to his comments this time, presumably either to hide, or to create even more speculation as to who is responsible.

IMO, this person has a long running grudge against Petrie and STF in particular, stemming back to the attempted Mercer takeover, and it has little to do with the recent performances of the team.

23-03-2012, 09:57 AM

You have lost me on that one.

Why would the 'former player' have an agenda about Petrie or Farmer regarding the attempted Mercer takover?

23-03-2012, 10:06 AM
You have lost me on that one.

Why would the 'former player' have an agenda about Petrie or Farmer regarding the attempted Mercer takover?

If it's the one I am thinking about, he was one of the players that had to be sold to reduce the borrowings after the STF takeover. Rod wasn't with us at that time.

23-03-2012, 10:29 AM
It does seem a total dig TBF, like they are annoyed Fenlon has come out and critised the media and they have taken offence...

I agree. Today's DR is ridiculous, banner headline saying " Disgusting Lies " re Griffiths. That sounds good until you see the word " Lies " appears on a separate page & with different font, typeset & background. This makes only " Disgusting " stand out. The sub heading then says " Hibs boss Fenlon lies into rage over Griffiths " when in fact his rage is over the inaccurate reporting. There's no doubt in my mind that the word " Disgusting " is intended to be about LG & it's a deliberate intent to convey the impression this is PF's opinion.
I've written to the DR ( & cc'ed Hibs ) this morning, I encourage others to do likewise. See P2 in DR.

GreenPJ
23-03-2012, 10:43 AM
Its difficult to argue when you see Gary O waddling onto the pitch that there is not some sort of discipline void at ER. I think Pat will sort it out but still has a bit to do and maybe the summer will rid us of the indiscipline.

23-03-2012, 10:43 AM

A wee trip to Southampton should sort the lad out. :greengrin

23-03-2012, 10:53 AM
To be fair, I didn't exactly say they had an agenda against Hibs...

Sorry, the second paragraph was a general comment rather than being aimed at you. This thread has descended to the sort of conspiracy theory/paranoid/"everyone's out to get us" nonsense you see on Sickbag whenever a negative story appears in the press.

23-03-2012, 11:36 AM

:agree: the actions of a coward.

23-03-2012, 11:58 AM

I'm rapidly ceasing to be a fan of the present regime. And while I concede I have no inside knowledge about the present state of the club, I have my eyes and ears as wode open as most long-term fans of the club, and I don't think I'm too far off the mark.

What IS undeniable is that we ARE punching well below our weight. We have a record of tolerating indiscipline, and a succession of recent team managers have had difficulty (some would say great difficulty) in getting the best out of the players they and their predecessors have signed.

I would farther suggest that the roots of the dressingroom rebellion of 2007 lie in the appalling behaviour of Scott Brown and Kevin Thomson immediately after john Collins took over the team - behaviour that had the club's name plastered across the back pages of the Daily Record for months and which almost certainly made sure Collins, who for all his faults knows tactics and fitness and could well have been an excellent manager for us, would fail.

Since then there's been a sense of 'drifting' about the club - we must have set world and European records for the turnover in players, managers, and coaching-staff in the five years since we won the League Cup with such style and elegance against Kilmarnock.

Whether I'm right or wrong about the details - and I'm more than ready to concede that I'm wrong if someone produces some hard evidence - the fact is that Hibs, a club that should be in the upper echelons of Scottish football, challenging for European places and figuring in the semi-finals and finals of the domestic Cups, have been slowly but surely drifting down the League over the past 5 years without any clear evidence of purposeful direction from either the owner or the CEO the owner appointed.

FWIW, I have no particular liking for the player in question - I assume we're all talking about Paul Kane.

Even supposing he's carrying a grudge against Farmer, he could still be right.

Whether being quoted anonymously makes him a 'coward' or not, he could still be right. (I'd be inclined to suggest that his views would carry more weight if he had spoken out openly, myself.)

Farmer isn't a football man - he never pretended to be. That's fair enough, but then he needs to make sure that the CEO and board he appoints to run the club ARE football men, the most able and committed football men he can find to run the club with a view to making it one of the strongest and most consistent teams in the SPL. Otherwise, he's just wasting his time and everyone else's.

23-03-2012, 12:16 PM
I skimmed the article very quickly, earlier on.

Are the comments of three former players not 'quoted'? If so, who do we think the other two might be?

23-03-2012, 12:26 PM
I'm rapidly ceasing to be a fan of the present regime. And while I concede I have no inside knowledge about the present state of the club, I have my eyes and ears as wode open as most long-term fans of the club, and I don't think I'm too far off the mark.

What IS undeniable is that we ARE punching well below our weight. We have a record of tolerating indiscipline, and a succession of recent team managers have had difficulty (some would say great difficulty) in getting the best out of the players they and their predecessors have signed.

I would farther suggest that the roots of the dressingroom rebellion of 2007 lie in the appalling behaviour of Scott Brown and Kevin Thomson immediately after john Collins took over the team - behaviour that had the club's name plastered across the back pages of the Daily Record for months and which almost certainly made sure Collins, who for all his faults knows tactics and fitness and could well have been an excellent manager for us, would fail.

Since then there's been a sense of 'drifting' about the club - we must have set world and European records for the turnover in players, managers, and coaching-staff in the five years since we won the League Cup with such style and elegance against Kilmarnock.

Whether I'm right or wrong about the details - and I'm more than ready to concede that I'm wrong if someone produces some hard evidence - the fact is that Hibs, a club that should be in the upper echelons of Scottish football, challenging for European places and figuring in the semi-finals and finals of the domestic Cups, have been slowly but surely drifting down the League over the past 5 years without any clear evidence of purposeful direction from either the owner or the CEO the owner appointed.

FWIW, I have no particular liking for the player in question - I assume we're all talking about Paul Kane.

Even supposing he's carrying a grudge against Farmer, he could still be right.

Whether being quoted anonymously makes him a 'coward' or not, he could still be right. (I'd be inclined to suggest that his views would carry more weight if he had spoken out openly, myself.)

Farmer isn't a football man - he never pretended to be. That's fair enough, but then he needs to make sure that the CEO and board he appoints to run the club ARE football men, the most able and committed football men he can find to run the club with a view to making it one of the strongest and most consistent teams in the SPL. Otherwise, he's just wasting his time and everyone else's.

When do we stop blaming a succession of managerial failures on the fall out with players and Collins in 2007. As far as I am aware there are no players from that era (Lewis apart) still at the club so to me it seems to be stretching it a bit to say that is the root cause for all our woes. I have no idea what happened however it sounds like the sort of fall out which can happen at any work when maybe you have a young idealistic manager trying to impose a new regime on players.

Hughes had Hibs playing some decent stuff after that as did Mixu now and again. CC was an unmitigated disaster who obvioulsy was biding his time at Hibs until he could get back with his mate down south.

We have under achieved however to me it is down to poor managerial choices which havent worked out for one reason or another. Hopefully we now in Fenlon have a man in charge that 1) wants to be here and 2) has the necessary fortitude and ability to see the job through. As this last week has shown clearly not everyone wants Hibs to do well therefore he needs our support more than ever. Harping back to almost 5 years ago and indicating that set the tone for failure is to me unhelful and an unnecessary diversion at this vital time.

23-03-2012, 12:32 PM
When do we stop blaming a succession of managerial failures on the fall out with players and Collins in 2007. As far as I am aware there are no players from that era (Lewis apart) still at the club so to me it seems to be stretching it a bit to say that is the root cause for all our woes. I have no idea what happened however it sounds like the sort of fall out which can happen at any work when maybe you have a young idealistic manager trying to impose a new regime on players.

Hughes had Hibs playing some decent stuff after that as did Mixu now and again. CC was an unmitigated disaster who obvioulsy was biding his time at Hibs until he could get back with his mate down south.

We have under achieved however to me it is down to poor managerial choices which havent worked out for one reason or another. Hopefully we now in Fenlon have a man in charge that 1) wants to be here and 2) has the necessary fortitude and ability to see the job through. As this last week has shown clearly not everyone wants Hibs to do well therefore he needs our support more than ever. Harping back to almost 5 years ago and indicating that set the tone for failure is to me unhelful and an unnecessary diversion at this vital time.

Exactly, ffs it was 5 years ago.

23-03-2012, 12:33 PM

:agree: I agree with all of that.

23-03-2012, 12:42 PM
This thread has descended to the sort of conspiracy theory/paranoid/"everyone's out to get us" nonsense you see on Sickbag whenever a negative story appears in the press.

:top marksMy thougths exactly. This is embarrassing nonsence best left to Sickback. Anytime anything slightly negative is written in the press we get all this anti-Hibs agenda crap on here, whereas if its a positive article then we lap it up.

Funny that if its's a negative story about Hearts we all believe every word :confused:

We can't have it both ways.

23-03-2012, 01:08 PM
It must be time for the accusations that for some reason Farmer and Petrie don't want the club to succeed.How can you run a football club for the best part of 20 years and not be a football man?As for the rubbish about bringing back waifs and strays if it hadn't been for O'Connor's goals we would be in even worse trouble than we are. As for blaming a 5 year old players "revolt"which lasted 10 minutes for the position we are in now it's ridiculous.The reason for our position is that the Board hired the wrong man to take over from Hughes and then hung onto him for tool long.That was and is indefensible.

23-03-2012, 01:28 PM
The guy who first started the website with the name "Hibs.Net" way back in the mid 1990's when it was a "bravenet" style board never visits here and now calls it "Whinge.net". No ones opinion on a occurance they never witnessed si more important than the club.

Well we could always delete all the negative stuff and pretend all is ok.

23-03-2012, 01:40 PM

There's such a thing as corporate culture, Jim, and if the culture at Hibs is that players can get away with not doing too much in training, have the expectation that if they complain they'll be listened to regardless of how unreasonable their complaints may be, that the blame always lands on the manager rather than on underperforming players, and that bad behaviour on and off the field is tolerated, then the problems facing the team manager and his coaching staff are multiplied way above what they would be if the club culture were one of discipline, application, and uncomplaining commitment.

I'm sure that we now have players who DO want to do well here, who want to perform well for the supporters, and who work hard at training and on the field. But I have a mate who was in the navy, long service, and he told me that sometimes you get a ship that just doesn't quite work right, regardless of how often you change the personnel, because there's always a remnant who carry on the bad vibes from the previous crew. They're just crank, and the only way to sort things is to start from scratch with a new complete new crew, new officers, sometimes even a change of name. I can think of schools like that, too.

I reckon Pat Fenlon's doing his utmost to change things at ER, but he seems to me to be having to fight against an atmosphere of bad behaviour and less than exemplary levels of effort and commitment which haven't arisen overnight. If it's just bad managemnet choices, then we're on our fifth manager in five years, and all of them have struggled. If they were all bad choices, then that doesn't say anything positive about the upper management people who appointed them. They're either appalling judges of character, or they haven't thought out properly what thye're looking for in a manager. Either way, it's time - long past time - that was sorted out.

And oif upper management are so bad at selecting and appointing the team manager - cast your mind back over the events of the past 12 years, Jim - what does THAT say about the man who appoints the upper management?

As my old Classics master used to say, "Quis custodiet ipsos custodes?" I think we should be told...

Or as an old friend from my days on the high terracing would have said, "They couldnae dae debauchery in a brothel." :cb

23-03-2012, 02:22 PM
There's such a thing as corporate culture, Jim, and if the culture at Hibs is that players can get away with not doing too much in training, have the expectation that if they complain they'll be listened to regardless of how unreasonable their complaints may be, that the blame always lands on the manager rather than on underperforming players, and that bad behaviour on and off the field is tolerated, then the problems facing the team manager and his coaching staff are multiplied way above what they would be if the club culture were one of discipline, application, and uncomplaining commitment.

I'm sure that we now have players who DO want to do well here, who want to perform well for the supporters, and who work hard at training and on the field. But I have a mate who was in the navy, long service, and he told me that sometimes you get a ship that just doesn't quite work right, regardless of how often you change the personnel, because there's always a remnant who carry on the bad vibes from the previous crew. They're just crank, and the only way to sort things is to start from scratch with a new complete new crew, new officers, sometimes even a change of name. I can think of schools like that, too.

I reckon Pat Fenlon's doing his utmost to change things at ER, but he seems to me to be having to fight against an atmosphere of bad behaviour and less than exemplary levels of effort and commitment which haven't arisen overnight. If it's just bad managemnet choices, then we're on our fifth manager in five years, and all of them have struggled. If they were all bad choices, then that doesn't say anything positive about the upper management people who appointed them. They're either appalling judges of character, or they haven't thought out properly what thye're looking for in a manager. Either way, it's time - long past time - that was sorted out.

And oif upper management are so bad at selecting and appointing the team manager - cast your mind back over the events of the past 12 years, Jim - what does THAT say about the man who appoints the upper management?

As my old Classics master used to say, "Quis custodiet ipsos custodes?" I think we should be told...

Or as an old friend from my days on the high terracing would have said, "They couldnae dae debauchery in a brothel." :cb

Hear what you are saying however to me any failure is down to the managerial appointments which yes the Board need to accept responsibility for. We are in a poor place at present however I am not sure it has alot to do with corporate culture as managers not working out at the same time as the club was going through massive capital investment. Will the corporate culture at Hibs being any different or worse than most other SPL teams, tend to doubt it. With footballers you are going to get misbehaviour now and again, it is a competitive environment, players are competing with colleagues for places and there will be fall outs and people that dont like each other. That is reflected in every work environment the world over.

From what I see managers are in charge of the team and team discipline as they should be. All IMO we need is a half decent manager which I think PF is to get the team sorted and get us start moving up the league. To me if he gets to a final and gets us safe he will have provided a decent foundation for the club and team to kick on. If that happens and we are doing better then no-one will really be interested whether we are endemic losers because of something that happened 5 or 12 years ago.

23-03-2012, 02:27 PM
It must be time for the accusations that for some reason Farmer and Petrie don't want the club to succeed.How can you run a football club for the best part of 20 years and not be a football man?As for the rubbish about bringing back waifs and strays if it hadn't been for O'Connor's goals we would be in even worse trouble than we are. As for blaming a 5 year old players "revolt"which lasted 10 minutes for the position we are in now it's ridiculous.The reason for our position is that the Board hired the wrong man to take over from Hughes and then hung onto him for tool long.That was and is indefensible.

Apart from Calderwood, the Board hired the manager that most on here were demanding: John Collins, Mixu, and Yogi. Before that they hired the manager the Scottish press were demanding: Duffy and McLeish. The only one from leftfield was Tony Mowbray, by far the best of the bunch.

23-03-2012, 03:01 PM

I'm not saying that they don't want the club to succeed, but I AM saying that the hunger for success on the field has to come from the top. Think Tom Hart - for all his faults, the one thing you knew about Tom was that he desperately wanted to see a winning Hibs team on the park. No one questioned that. Are you as sure about Farmer and Petrie? I'm certainly not.

I know it's a dodgy business to raise questions about Farmer on tis board, but maybe that's why someone has to? Farmer said right at the start that he wasn't a football man and was rescuing Hibs because the club was (as he saw it) an essential part of the fabric of the local community - of which he himself was a member. Family connections with the club and a direct appeal from the Hands Off Hibs group persuaded him. But if he were a football mna, he'd be in that directors' box a lot more frequently than he is.

Nor am I suggesting that Farmer's input to Hibs has been anything but beneficial long-term.. We're still here, which is a big thing, considering the trouble we were in when he took over.

But what I AM saying is that over the past five years we've drifted from one manager to another, we've set records for the turnover of our playing staff, and given the distinct impression of being a club without a clue as where we hope to be 5 years down the line from now.

Moreover, I can't see the point of appointing a professional to run the team, and then not supporting him to the utmost. (That's always supposing that the professional in question really wants to be here - the Calderwood affair still baffles me - why insist on holding on to a man who clearly wanted to be anywhewre but at Easter Road? Allowing that if he stayed, he'd have to sign players, whose own commitment would then be out to question? And who exactly had the idea to sign Ivan and Garry O? Calderwood? Or were they baoad signings? Rod Petrie signings? That was NOT the appearance of a well-run club whose custodians had a clear vision of were they were intending to lead that club.)

I say agan - there's such a thing as corporate culture, and to all appearances Hibs' corporate culture stinks. That doesn't happen overnight, and the fact that once or twice in the subsequent 5 years the team has managed to function reasonably acceptably doesn't persuade me that there isn't something rotten in the state of Hibernian.

23-03-2012, 03:58 PM
I think they have supported managers too whole heartedly-they certainly did that in Calderwood's case when they should have given him 24 hours to make up his mind instead they stood by him in what was a difficult decision for him to make when the board should have shown leadership.As far as I'm aware there has been no interference in who managers have tried to sign as long as the money is there.If it can be done within budget it's up to the manager.Can't be fairer than that.You could of course argue that the budget should be bigger-squander even more on Alan O'Brien for example.

23-03-2012, 04:16 PM
I think they have supported managers too whole heartedly-they certainly did that in Calderwood's case when they should have given him 24 hours to make up his mind instead they stood by him in what was a difficult decision for him to make when the board should have shown leadership.As far as I'm aware there has been no interference in who managers have tried to sign as long as the money is there.If it can be done within budget it's up to the manager.Can't be fairer than that.You could of course argue that the budget should be bigger-squander even more on Alan O'Brien for example.

:agree: We have a board who have backed every manager more than before, and more than most in this league. Are they then telling whoevers in charge, not to bother with any disipline or fitness, they are not that bothered either way where we finish. I dont think so :rolleyes:

23-03-2012, 04:18 PM
:agree: We have a board who have backed every manager more than before, and more than most in this league. Are they then telling whoevers in charge, not to bother with any disipline or fitness, they are not that bothered either way where we finish. I dont think so :rolleyes:

Mutual admiration society!:top marks

23-03-2012, 04:23 PM

I'll second that but get ye're spellin sorted oot sharpish.

23-03-2012, 04:59 PM
Sorry, the second paragraph was a general comment rather than being aimed at you. This thread has descended to the sort of conspiracy theory/paranoid/"everyone's out to get us" nonsense you see on Sickbag whenever a negative story appears in the press.

Nae bother big guy :-)

23-03-2012, 07:56 PM
Apart from Calderwood, the Board hired the manager that most on here were demanding: John Collins, Mixu, and Yogi. Before that they hired the manager the Scottish press were demanding: Duffy and McLeish. The only one from leftfield was Tony Mowbray, by far the best of the bunch.
Not a great excuse for the well-paid leaders of our football club, is it?

"We went for the populist option more often than not and so it ain't our fault!"

:spider:

reservoir hibee
23-03-2012, 10:20 PM

:cb

http://freekvermeulen.blogspot.co.nz/2008/08/monkey-story-experiment-involved-5.html

been thinking that for a while myself even from afar

24-03-2012, 05:50 AM
http://freekvermeulen.blogspot.co.nz/2008/08/monkey-story-experiment-involved-5.html

been thinking that for a while myself even from afar

Bugger me Dave, you still alive ????

24-03-2012, 06:18 AM
I'm not saying that they don't want the club to succeed, but I AM saying that the hunger for success on the field has to come from the top. Think Tom Hart - for all his faults, the one thing you knew about Tom was that he desperately wanted to see a winning Hibs team on the park. No one questioned that. Are you as sure about Farmer and Petrie? I'm certainly not.

I know it's a dodgy business to raise questions about Farmer on tis board, but maybe that's why someone has to? Farmer said right at the start that he wasn't a football man and was rescuing Hibs because the club was (as he saw it) an essential part of the fabric of the local community - of which he himself was a member. Family connections with the club and a direct appeal from the Hands Off Hibs group persuaded him. But if he were a football mna, he'd be in that directors' box a lot more frequently than he is.

Nor am I suggesting that Farmer's input to Hibs has been anything but beneficial long-term.. We're still here, which is a big thing, considering the trouble we were in when he took over.

But what I AM saying is that over the past five years we've drifted from one manager to another, we've set records for the turnover of our playing staff, and given the distinct impression of being a club without a clue as where we hope to be 5 years down the line from now.

Moreover, I can't see the point of appointing a professional to run the team, and then not supporting him to the utmost. (That's always supposing that the professional in question really wants to be here - the Calderwood affair still baffles me - why insist on holding on to a man who clearly wanted to be anywhewre but at Easter Road? Allowing that if he stayed, he'd have to sign players, whose own commitment would then be out to question? And who exactly had the idea to sign Ivan and Garry O? Calderwood? Or were they baoad signings? Rod Petrie signings? That was NOT the appearance of a well-run club whose custodians had a clear vision of were they were intending to lead that club.)

I say agan - there's such a thing as corporate culture, and to all appearances Hibs' corporate culture stinks. That doesn't happen overnight, and the fact that once or twice in the subsequent 5 years the team has managed to function reasonably acceptably doesn't persuade me that there isn't something rotten in the state of Hibernian.

:agree: all of this.

24-03-2012, 03:08 PM
I'm not saying that they don't want the club to succeed, but I AM saying that the hunger for success on the field has to come from the top. Think Tom Hart - for all his faults, the one thing you knew about Tom was that he desperately wanted to see a winning Hibs team on the park. No one questioned that.

Have only quoted this portion but I pretty much concur with your previous 4 posts. Tom Hart knew what it FEELS like to be a Hibs supporter and I'm not sure the current regime is of similar aspect - that's not however, to say they are the wrong people to be effective in their respective executive roles.

You said as a prefatory note that you are 'rapidly ceasing to be a fan of the present regime', which is fair enough, but is it indicative of an increasing disaffection with the Scottish football culture as a whole? For what its worth I am at best ambivalent to the present fare over the board but remain unsure if it's the mists of nostalgia influencing my apathy or if the game really is as crap as its made out to be.

24-03-2012, 03:13 PM

Actually, how about building a structure that allows Pat Fenlon to make contract offers to good players with a better chance of them accepting and signing for us? maybe for a wee while longer than 18 months? maybe as HIBS players, and not Wolves/Stoke/Coventry players on pemporary loan deals? Nobody said anything about "squandering" money. Or about signing up dross like O'Brien.

With all the loans and short contracts we have right now, there's a feeling that ER is the place players isgn when they have nowhere else realistic to go. the place they go to get their careers back on track so that they can sign for a someone else later on who'll give them a better deal and where they can play more serious football - not just pass the time until a better offer comes along.

But I'm not talking about the financial support (or lack of same) extended to the managers by the board over the past five years. I was talking about the ethos and atmosphere of the club.

Nor was I suggesting that Pat Fenlon was appointed and the told not to bother doing a proper job. But if he's trying to instil a positive, fighting spirit in the team, the sort of spirit where all the players are working hard and supporting one another on and off the field - which I think he is - it's not going to make that job any easier of he's still encountering an attitude of "anything'll do" from others working alongside him - or if he's getting the message that results, good or bad, aren't the absolute be-all and end-all of life at Easter Road. Which they should be - for everyone, from the owner and CEO down to the guys on the gates and the ball-boys and groundstaff and all.

24-03-2012, 06:03 PM
If you are reading Leigh, your brother is a tube, maybe you should point out to him that our Manager and some players are from Ireland and calling them Irish p***ks is out of order, and having a go at big Gaz as well when he got up to warm up, you should be having a word with him.

24-03-2012, 06:33 PM
Id be perfectly happy if Leigh went about sticking the heid on most of his teammates after todays gutless capitulation.

Osborne would have benefitted from Francis Begbie as a motivational speaker at ht today. Put in a shift or ahl chib ye ya doss ****.

24-03-2012, 06:35 PM
If you are reading Leigh, your brother is a tube, maybe you should point out to him that our Manager and some players are from Ireland and calling them Irish p***ks is out of order, and having a go at big Gaz as well when he got up to warm up, you should be having a word with him.
Stupidity must run in the family.

24-03-2012, 06:49 PM
Anyone know why Leigh Griffiths was the only Hibs player that Pat Fenlon DID NOT shake the hand of on the pitch immediately after the final whistle today? :dunno:

24-03-2012, 06:53 PM
Anyone know why Leigh Griffiths was the only Hibs player that Pat Fenlon DID NOT shake the hand of on the pitch immediately after the final whistle today? :dunno:

Maybe he heard his brothers comments coming from behind him. :cb

loanheadhibby
24-03-2012, 07:00 PM

No Goals in four home games. Maybe Fenlon did try to shake his hand but griffiths missed?

I mind Jackson dragging the team thru a season on his own. Time griffiths stepped up to the plait and grew a pair.