View Full Version : Bowling season 2012

19-03-2012, 11:41 AM
Well its nearly that time again fellow bowlers..& Mike Burns .. (the auld yin) :)

Jewel green opening Sat 7th April ..

Hopes ...well I hope my shoulder injury heals up in time, not looking too promising but Im hoping to give it a bash at least...

Split up with my pairs partner so only playing single hands this season as Im time restricted due to work.

Leagues..well Jewel were relegated so hoping to bounce back up soon to be with the big guys again..

Good luck all bowlers..hope you all have success at your clubs ..

19-03-2012, 07:23 PM
Our green doesn't open until 21 April, can't come soon enough for me.

19-03-2012, 08:30 PM
Our green doesn't open until 21 April, can't come soon enough for me.You lot must run into October end Scouse ..we run until Sept end ...green is looking best its looked for a long time ..

19-03-2012, 08:46 PM
I know I'm not a ladeee - I make this appeal on behalf of my good lady.

If anyone knows of any ladies who would like to join a club, where there will be excellent opportunities to play plenty competitive fixtures, as well as friendly matches, can they please PM me contact details and I will have Mrs Jack get in touch.

Its Summerside.

League matches are played on a Friday.

Thank you.

20-03-2012, 07:43 AM
You lot must run into October end Scouse ..we run until Sept end ...green is looking best its looked for a long time ..

I wish we did! September end for us too, it's far too short a season as it is but hey ho the greenkeeper has the final word, rightly so of course. :greengrin

23-03-2012, 11:59 AM
Northern opens on the 14th. As I have an alternative sporting event that day, I will not be at opening day. Actually, not even decided if I am going to join this year or not, bit fed up with bowls. Hopefully the lighter nights and better weather will improve my mood and a brand new set of Hibs stickers will be applied to the bowls again :greengrin

Hibbylad86
23-03-2012, 03:21 PM
The EL CO-OP (or the store as it better known) opens on the 8th. Was due to be the 14th but moved forward a week

Love the bowling season - Friday night league games with a few sherbets thrown in! Aaaaaaaaaaaaah bisto!

23-03-2012, 03:31 PM
The EL CO-OP (or the store as it better known) opens on the 8th. Was due to be the 14th but moved forward a week

Love the bowling season - Friday night league games with a few sherbets thrown in! Aaaaaaaaaaaaah bisto!Played against you lot a few times in the Esk league ..we left you behind when we were promoted to the 2nd but after a couple of seasons we got relegated to the 3rd ..hopefully bounce back up again this year ..

A couple of your guy's play for hibs.net in our yearly friendly v Northern hibbies ..

26-03-2012, 10:18 AM
Played against you lot a few times in the Esk league ..we left you behind when we were promoted to the 2nd but after a couple of seasons we got relegated to the 3rd ..hopefully bounce back up again this year ..

A couple of your guy's play for hibs.net in our yearly friendly v Northern hibbies ..

Need to start thinking of a date for this years challange.

26-03-2012, 10:35 AM
Need to start thinking of a date for this years challange.Agree mate ..hopefully everyone is up for it again this year, another cracker last year ..barr the final result ... :(

Lmc2105
26-03-2012, 01:14 PM
Not bowling this year, but would consider the Net game if required :agree:

27-03-2012, 06:46 AM
Not bowling this year, but would consider the Net game if required :agree:

Don't recall you bowling last year Lee.

Lmc2105
27-03-2012, 12:39 PM
Don't recall you bowling last year Lee.

Yup started the season with the Northern, then got banned from here for a while so yeah. maybe that's why i never posted enough

27-03-2012, 12:55 PM
Yup started the season with the Northern, then got banned from here for a while so yeah. maybe that's why i never posted enough

Disappointing Lee, that means I need a new pairs partner.

27-03-2012, 02:27 PM
Disappointing Lee, that means I need a new pairs partner.Och I will partner ye Mike ....if ye move tae the Jewel .. :)

Hibbylad86
27-03-2012, 02:34 PM
HH,

With you getting relegated you in the Esk does that mean you are in the league with the ELCO again? I don't play for the Esk but if you were around the club then I would be obliged to buy you a pint.

Any more info on the bowling friendly that .net play?

27-03-2012, 02:47 PM
HH,

With you getting relegated you in the Esk does that mean you are in the league with the ELCO again? I don't play for the Esk but if you were around the club then I would be obliged to buy you a pint.

Any more info on the bowling friendly that .net play?

Not yet, but I am looking at Saturday June 23rd as a possibility. Need to see who is available etc for that day.

27-03-2012, 02:59 PM
HH,

Any more info on the bowling friendly that .net play?Hi mate, ELCO eventually overtook us as they went up to the 2nd & we slipped down to the 3rd ...ELCO finished 4th bottom of 2nd & Jewel finished 4th top of 3rd so unfortunately we wont meet this season ..who knows for next though .. :)

I played with the Jewel when we won the 5th in 2004...runners up in the 4th in 2005 & winners of 3rd div in 2006 ...we had some heavy duty games v ELCO during those heady days..as we seemed to progress ELCO went backwards ...then from 2007 we went backwards & ELCO overtook us ... cracking stuff ... :)

I dropped out of league bowls due to work commitments but Im hopefully going to speak to our Captain to see if I could be included every second Friday as I really miss the Esk & the friendly/rivallry/banter .. :

As for the hibs.net v Northern friendly ... always a cracking day ..depending on numbers ..we usually have a rink & a couple of triples playing ..fantastic green down at Northern..superb hospitality from the hosts ..& of course cracking pint or 6 of lager ...

Think (someone may correct me ) but I think it is now 2-2 on the score front after hibs.net holding a 2-1 lead..but we succumbed to our injuries last year & Northern pipped us !! :)

Heres a thread from last year, have a wee look through ..any questions then fire away mate ..

http://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?204553-Bowls-Bring-on-the-Net

Hibbylad86
27-03-2012, 03:10 PM
Cheers mate!

The friendly looks like a good day out, if anythign gets organised then give me a shout. If im not working etc then I would be happy to take part if numbers are required.

HH if your down the ELCO way at all this summer (cup games etc) then give me a shout on here beforehand. I will ensure you are seated in the good seats of our club with a nice wee pint aswell.

We go through peaks & troughs as a club. We have 3 leage teams playing on a Friday night (East lothian Div 1 & 2) & the Esk league. We have too many players for just two teams but sometimes struggle to get quality into the three of them.

27-03-2012, 03:11 PM
Not yet, but I am looking at Saturday June 23rd as a possibility. Need to see who is available etc for that day.Thats a date I dreaded Mike ..I leave for Turkey on 18th for a week .. :(

If thats the preferred date then fire away bud .. I will catch up wi the victorious .netters on my return .. :)

27-03-2012, 03:13 PM
Cheers mate!

The friendly looks like a good day out, if anythign gets organised then give me a shout. If im not working etc then I would be happy to take part if numbers are required.

HH if your down the ELCO way at all this summer (cup games etc) then give me a shout on here beforehand. I will ensure you are seated in the good seats of our club with a nice wee pint aswell.

We go through peaks & troughs as a club. We have 3 leage teams playing on a Friday night (East lothian Div 1 & 2) & the Esk league. We have too many players for just two teams but sometimes struggle to get quality into the three of them.No probs mate ..once a date has been organised/agreed for the Northern game fire your name down on the thread that will appear ..your more than welcome to play this year ..the more the merrier ..

Wi regards the Esk ..I may take you up on that offer mate .. hopefully ELCO & Jewel will lock horns again soon ..as for teams ..you lot are lucky ..we can barely muster up 12 players & a reserve ..been like that since we were in the 5th ...still though ..we always seem to be at the business end of the table ..whether it be top or bottom .. :)

Hibbylad86
27-03-2012, 03:42 PM
No probs mate ..once a date has been organised/agreed for the Northern game fire your name down on the thread that will appear ..your more than welcome to play this year ..the more the merrier ..

Wi regards the Esk ..I may take you up on that offer mate .. hopefully ELCO & Jewel will lock horns again soon ..as for teams ..you lot are lucky ..we can barely muster up 12 players & a reserve ..been like that since we were in the 5th ...still though ..we always seem to be at the business end of the table ..whether it be top or bottom .. :)

Will do! Got to love the summer and the bowling friendlies. On a side note we have a Charity bowls day on the 27th May this year in which visitor teams are always more than welcome. Its a cracking all day event with plenty of money raised for CHAS and other local charities. There is a karaoke disco that kicks off right after the final of the bowling finishes and the hall in the club is always packed. Winning Rink usually get about 160-200 in prize money.

As I said HH you are more than welcome if your down our way for a wee beverage and watch some quality bowling.

Paid my fees last night. £55 for the season which is £50 bowling membership and £1 for each of the competitions.

27-03-2012, 03:46 PM
Will do! Got to love the summer and the bowling friendlies. On a side note we have a Charity bowls day on the 27th May this year in which visitor teams are always more than welcome. Its a cracking all day event with plenty of money raised for CHAS and other local charities. There is a karaoke disco that kicks off right after the final of the bowling finishes and the hall in the club is always packed. Winning Rink usually get about 160-200 in prize money.

As I said HH you are more than welcome if your down our way for a wee beverage and watch some quality bowling.

Paid my fees last night. £55 for the season which is £50 bowling membership and £1 for each of the competitions.Cheers bud ..btw .. £55 isnt too bad actually, but I suppose with the amount of members you have they can afford to keep the prices reasonable ..

£20 for Jewel fee's ... & that includes all competitions (excluding open's)...

27-03-2012, 05:33 PM
Cheers bud ..btw .. £55 isnt too bad actually, but I suppose with the amount of members you have they can afford to keep the prices reasonable ..

£20 for Jewel fee's ... & that includes all competitions (excluding open's)...

£55 & £20 you two have to be on the wind up surely?

Lmc2105
27-03-2012, 08:49 PM
Disappointing Lee, that means I need a new pairs partner.

After the way I played that's not a bad thing.

27-03-2012, 09:18 PM
£55 & £20 you two have to be on the wind up surely?We have been £20 for a few seasons now Scouse ..we used to be £12 & £5 for seniors ..until we lost £4000 from our accounts then we had to bump it up..

Bare in mind though ..the Jewel, unlike the Northern & ELCO are a Miners & Social club ..the bowling section is a sub section of the main club ..Northern & ELCO are bowling clubs in their own right ..:agree:

27-03-2012, 09:54 PM

When did you get back on Lee?

£55 & £20 you two have to be on the wind up surely?

Tell me about it, £150 for Gorgie Mills this year.

28-03-2012, 09:06 AM
Not yet, but I am looking at Saturday June 23rd as a possibility. Need to see who is available etc for that day.Checked Mike ..I dont fly till the Sunday so that date is good for me ...

28-03-2012, 11:32 AM
Thats a date I dreaded Mike ..I leave for Turkey on 18th for a week .. :(

If thats the preferred date then fire away bud .. I will catch up wi the victorious .netters on my return .. :)

Checked Mike ..I dont fly till the Sunday so that date is good for me ...

So does that mean it's Sunday the 24th you fly out Kenny?

Lmc2105
28-03-2012, 11:46 AM

just recently mate,
although i just starting to get my feet back on the ground and stuff
bit of stability, when is the open day at the club mike?
i haven't had anything threw the post

also would like to play in the game if Required

28-03-2012, 12:02 PM

The same for us at Currie.

28-03-2012, 12:05 PM
We have been £20 for a few seasons now Scouse ..we used to be £12 & £5 for seniors ..until we lost £4000 from our accounts then we had to bump it up..

Bare in mind though ..the Jewel, unlike the Northern & ELCO are a Miners & Social club ..the bowling section is a sub section of the main club ..Northern & ELCO are bowling clubs in their own right ..:agree:

We have managed to keep ours at £150 this year, but I think we will seriously need to look at increasing it again next year.

28-03-2012, 12:35 PM
So does that mean it's Sunday the 24th you fly out Kenny?Staying in Glasgow Sunday Mike, we fly Mon morn ...its my other holiday to Turkey (Sept) I fly on the Sun ... :)

28-03-2012, 12:35 PM
just recently mate,
although i just starting to get my feet back on the ground and stuff
bit of stability, when is the open day at the club mike?
i haven't had anything threw the post
also would like to play in the game if Required

Nobody did Lee, due to illness of the member dealing with all that stuff.
Opening day is the 14th April, clashes with another sporting event which I will be attending :wink: :greengrin

03-04-2012, 01:06 PM
Weather for Sat ....:pray:

04-04-2012, 09:03 AM
Weather for Sat ....:pray:

grey and overcast with a maximum temperature of 9C, typical bowling weather really :greengrin

04-04-2012, 12:37 PM
grey and overcast with a maximum temperature of 9C, typical bowling weather really :greengrinAh good .. t-shirt weather for the green then ..:greengrin

08-04-2012, 11:13 AM
Cracking opening of the Jewel green yest...weather held up well, biggest turnout for a few years...good to see a few new bowlers join too (must be our cheap prices:greengrin)..onwards & upwards ...

03-05-2012, 10:00 AM
Off to a bad start last night with a 2-7 defeat at home to Parkside. At one point with 4 ends to go, it looked good, might even have sneaked a 9-0 win if everything had gone well, but three rinks all lost the last 4 ends and it was up left up to yours truly and my lads to bring home the 2 points with 19-3 victory. This could have turned in to another point if anybody had bothered telling us how close it was, and the scoreboards had not been taken away from the other three rinks. Needless to say we were not best pleased to learn we had only lost by 62-60. :grr:

Hibbylad86
03-05-2012, 11:13 AM
We had our first game last Friday, away to Ormiston. I skip a rink of our second string in Division 2 of the East Lothian league.

Won 6 -2 (2 points for each winning rink and 2 points for overall score). I won by a shot (being one day on the last) one rink won by 12 the other got beat by 12. The weather was horrendous lets hope its better tomorrow night!

Next stop away to Dunbar (a trek n half :rolleyes:)

03-05-2012, 11:52 AM
Won through in my first tie 21-20 in the handicap on Monday afternoon, I was off +7 my opponent off +2 ..carded a 2 first end then bloody rain came on ..even a short white was a push ..tit for tat rest of the game with only singles carded until I picked up a pair on a sprung white on the last end at 20-19 down ..

Roll on the better weather ..:rolleyes:

Hibbylad86
03-05-2012, 03:22 PM
Won through in my first tie 21-20 in the handicap on Monday afternoon, I was off +7 my opponent off +2 ..carded a 2 first end then bloody rain came on ..even a short white was a push ..tit for tat rest of the game with only singles carded until I picked up a pair on a sprung white on the last end at 20-19 down ..

Roll on the better weather ..:rolleyes:

Playing in ties already HH? That has to be the earliest I have know for ties to be played. Our comps are not even drawn yet

03-05-2012, 07:04 PM
Playing in ties already HH? That has to be the earliest I have know for ties to be played. Our comps are not even drawn yetAye ...all our ties ..including rinks have been drawn ..in fact I should have played in the 2 bowl single hand yest but I was given the tie ...:agree:..mind you though ..we play early but Im prob out of everything before your ties are drawn ,,,:greengrin

tanfield
06-05-2012, 11:52 AM
Well done on getting through your first tie Kenny, kept your nerve! ;)

Tanfield scored a good 8 - 1 win on Wednesday in our first league game. Away to Parkside on Wed which will be tough.

First internal tie to be played by the 28th so a wee bit of time yet.

07-05-2012, 09:39 AM

Tanfield scored a good 8 - 1 win on Wednesday in our first league game. Away to Parkside on Wed which will be tough.

First internal tie to be played by the 28th so a wee bit of time yet.Cheers Andy & good luck for your up & coming ties ..:aok:

Have a hectic week coming up ..2 bowl pairs Wed night ...4 bowl Scottish pairs Thurs night & down to West Linton as a reserve for the Jewel team in the Esk league on Friday night..

10-05-2012, 07:31 AM
21-9 win in the 2 bowl pairs last night ..Scottish 4 bowl pairs tonight ..weather pending ..

10-05-2012, 11:34 AM

First internal tie to be played by the 28th so a wee bit of time yet.

I fancied you guys to turn over Parkside last night. Although they beat us 7-2 last week, I didn't think they looked that strong.

We are delighted at taking 4 points off Craigentinny on their own green. Managed to win by one shot after being peels at the last end so that's two out of two for my rink :thumbsup:

10-05-2012, 11:37 AM
I fancied you guys to turn over Parkside last night. Although they beat us 7-2 last week, I didn't think they looked that strong.

We are delighted at taking 4 points off Craigentinny on their own green. Managed to win by one shot after being peels at the last end so that's two out of two for my rink :thumbsup:

My daughter's man plays for Craigentinny. Hope you were nice to him.:greengrin

tanfield
10-05-2012, 12:00 PM
Good result for Northern Mike, good to see you playing an enjoying it!?!?

I managed to win my game by 7 after losing a 6 at the first end and very unusual for me to win 2 league games on the bounce this early in the season!! One rink just lost at the end so we could have got 4 points.

ELBA triples tonight it it's playable. Think we're playing Northern next week?

10-05-2012, 12:07 PM
Good result for Northern Mike, good to see you playing an enjoying it!?!?

I managed to win my game by 7 after losing a 6 at the first end and very unusual for me to win 2 league games on the bounce this early in the season!! One rink just lost at the end so we could have got 4 points.

ELBA triples tonight it it's playable. Think we're playing Northern next week?

This number 7 keeps popping up. We were 0-7 down early on, unlike the Yams though, we managed to come back and win our game :thumbsup:

We do indeed play Tanfield next Andrew and looking forward to that. Can't say I have enjoyed it so far though, last night was freezing and as I have been bunged up with a cold anyway, I felt rotten last night and couldn't wait just to get off the green and get home to my scratcher.

10-05-2012, 07:53 PM
Beaten tonight in the Scottish pairs by 6 shots, got of to a flyer then lost 3 bad ends on the trot 4 4 4 to fall behind, opponent stuck the white long & that shot my game to bits ..I just couldnt pick anything up after that ..our strength was short to three quarter ..opponents strength was long ...we didnt get our hands on the white often enough ...

tanfield
10-05-2012, 08:56 PM
Beaten tonight in the Scottish pairs by 6 shots, got of to a flyer then lost 3 bad ends on the trot 4 4 4 to fall behind, opponent stuck the white long & that shot my game to bits ..I just couldnt pick anything up after that ..our strength was short to three quarter ..opponents strength was long ...we didnt get our hands on the white often enough ...

Surprised you had any strength at all playing in that weather Kenny :greengrin

11-05-2012, 07:24 AM
Surprised you had any strength at all playing in that weather Kenny :greengrinAndy, believe it or not the green was running well considering the rain was on from day dot ...both hands were playable & at short to three quarter length both hands were drawing well ...when it went long thats where it became a lottery & a battle of the strongest ..I wasnt the strongest last night ..as you know its about a battle of wits, playing to your strengths & your opponents weakness..they found a chink in my armour last night ...I hate bloody playing in the rain !!!! :greengrin

Hibbylad86
11-05-2012, 08:16 AM
Andy, believe it or not the green was running well considering the rain was on from day dot ...both hands were playable & at short to three quarter length both hands were drawing well ...when it went long thats where it became a lottery & a battle of the strongest ..I wasnt the strongest last night ..as you know its about a battle of wits, playing to your strengths & your opponents weakness..they found a chink in my armour last night ...I hate bloody playing in the rain !!!! :greengrin

Chin up HH! Plenty more games to play this season. Anybody pull out of your league team for tonight? I hope you get a game!

We are at home (first time this season) and play against Elphingstone. Beat last Friday 5-3 away to Dunbar (My rink won by 9 :greengrin, one rink got beat by 7 and the other beat by 2). Not a bad result in the grand scheme of things but should have been 4-4. I was 12 up playing the last and lost a 3:rolleyes:

Hibbylad86
11-05-2012, 08:19 AM
My daughter's man plays for Craigentinny. Hope you were nice to him.:greengrin

CWG,

Daughter's other half's name? Know a few boys from Craigy.

11-05-2012, 08:34 AM
Chin up HH! Plenty more games to play this season. Anybody pull out of your league team for tonight? I hope you get a game!

We are at home (first time this season) and play against Elphingstone. Beat last Friday 5-3 away to Dunbar (My rink won by 9 :greengrin, one rink got beat by 7 and the other beat by 2). Not a bad result in the grand scheme of things but should have been 4-4. I was 12 up playing the last and lost a 3:rolleyes:Cheers Hibbylad ..tbh Im not too disappointed with my performance or my partners last night, it was actually a good close game despite the horrendous conditions. We had plenty banter & for me thats part of the game. None of us wanted to play last night but the tie had to be played by Sunday..due to work & other commitments none of us could make it so rather than ask for a date extension (which we prob wouldnt have got anyway) or tossing a coin we decided to give it a bash ...:agree:

As for the Jewel v West Linton, we had 3 reserves & I was one however 2 reserves have dropped out & one of the leads has dropped out so I will be drafted in as a second ..really looking forward to getting back into league business, its been 3 seasons since ive played a league game ..

Good luck v Elphinstone mate ..oh ..& enjoy yer McPake top ...well done ..:thumbsup:

Viking
11-05-2012, 12:53 PM

We are at home (first time this season) and play against Elphingstone. Beat last Friday 5-3 away to Dunbar (My rink won by 9 :greengrin, one rink got beat by 7 and the other beat by 2). Not a bad result in the grand scheme of things but should have been 4-4. I was 12 up playing the last and lost a 3:rolleyes:

Hibbylad, Who do you play for? and who are you...?!

good luck in the league and getting up to Div 1 beside us......providing we can stay there this year! Sitting third or fourth just now I think with 11 points after 2 games! East Linton at home tonight so that another big game, just gutted I cant play due to work!!

Viking
11-05-2012, 12:56 PM
CWG,

Daughter's other half's name? Know a few boys from Craigy.

Likewise so do i! Beat them every year...oops sorry, i mean play them every year in a friendly! :wink:

Hibbylad86
14-05-2012, 02:05 PM
Cheers Hibbylad ..tbh Im not too disappointed with my performance or my partners last night, it was actually a good close game despite the horrendous conditions. We had plenty banter & for me thats part of the game. None of us wanted to play last night but the tie had to be played by Sunday..due to work & other commitments none of us could make it so rather than ask for a date extension (which we prob wouldnt have got anyway) or tossing a coin we decided to give it a bash ...:agree:

As for the Jewel v West Linton, we had 3 reserves & I was one however 2 reserves have dropped out & one of the leads has dropped out so I will be drafted in as a second ..really looking forward to getting back into league business, its been 3 seasons since ive played a league game ..

Good luck v Elphinstone mate ..oh ..& enjoy yer McPake top ...well done ..:thumbsup:

How did your first league game in 3 years go then HH? On the winning side I hope! You keep your place for next friday? We won 6-2 on Friday night against Elphingstone. I won by 3, other rink won by 9 and one rink got beat by 3. On a side a note, I have NEVER and I mean NEVER played bowls in weather like we had on Friday, constant Rain, wind and cold! it was a total nightmare. How the green held up and never flooded with the amount of water on it is beyond me!

Is bools no meant to be a summer sport? :rolleyes:

Hibbylad86
14-05-2012, 02:09 PM
Hibbylad, Who do you play for? and who are you...?!

good luck in the league and getting up to Div 1 beside us......providing we can stay there this year! Sitting third or fourth just now I think with 11 points after 2 games! East Linton at home tonight so that another big game, just gutted I cant play due to work!!

Now I am racking my brains for to think of your identity Viking....26....plays bowls in East Lothian......supports Hibs.....plays for Macmerry! hmmmmmmmmmmmmm!

Its Cudge mate, super skip at the store! :cb

14-05-2012, 03:50 PM
How did your first league game in 3 years go then HH? On the winning side I hope! You keep your place for next friday? We won 6-2 on Friday night against Elphingstone. I won by 3, other rink won by 9 and one rink got beat by 3. On a side a note, I have NEVER and I mean NEVER played bowls in weather like we had on Friday, constant Rain, wind and cold! it was a total nightmare. How the green held up and never flooded with the amount of water on it is beyond me!

Is bools no meant to be a summer sport? :rolleyes:Game was rained off mate, West Linton called the club at 5.15pm tae tell us not tae travel, shame as I was drafted in to play !! :grr:

Think it has been re-arranged for Thurs night but Im unavailable. Friday nights home game v Polton has also been cancelled, I wouldnt have made it due to work but hopefully if it has been re-arranged for either Wed/Thurs next week then I can make it.....:agree:

True about the weather though ..been absolutley horrendous so far ...must be better weather on the way ...starting with the morns night as Im playing first round of the Scottish ...:agree:

Viking
14-05-2012, 05:58 PM
Now I am racking my brains for to think of your identity Viking....26....plays bowls in East Lothian......supports Hibs.....plays for Macmerry! hmmmmmmmmmmmmm!

Its Cudge mate, super skip at the store! :cb

Ahhh cudge!! Hows it goin mate?! Long time no see!

Ill no doubt see you at some point in the coming weeks/months! Especially now I have a social membership at the store too.....:wink:

See you at the bar :cheers:

Hibbylad86
15-05-2012, 09:17 AM
Game was rained off mate, West Linton called the club at 5.15pm tae tell us not tae travel, shame as I was drafted in to play !! :grr:

Think it has been re-arranged for Thurs night but Im unavailable. Friday nights home game v Polton has also been cancelled, I wouldnt have made it due to work but hopefully if it has been re-arranged for either Wed/Thurs next week then I can make it.....:agree:

True about the weather though ..been absolutley horrendous so far ...must be better weather on the way ...starting with the morns night as Im playing first round of the Scottish ...:agree:

Stick in the night HH! Weather looking promising thus far!

15-05-2012, 12:41 PM
Stick in the night HH! Weather looking promising thus far!Cheers mate, anything will be better than the last few nights ...:agree:

Hibbylad86
15-05-2012, 01:40 PM
Cheers mate, anything will be better than the last few nights ...:agree:

Let us know how it goes? What you playing in?

15-05-2012, 03:54 PM
Let us know how it goes? What you playing in?Scottish championship (club)....:agree:

Hibbylad86
16-05-2012, 07:26 AM
Scottish championship (club)....:agree:

HH do you play off for your scottish? Our club just picks players to play, I never get a game. I have always said it should be played off the season before (Pairs, Triples & Fours). Winners of club tournament go out in the scottish but no, outvoted for a 4th year at our AGM.

16-05-2012, 07:27 AM
Let us know how it goes? What you playing in?Lost 21-19 ...chucked it away early doors ..went from 7 down to 8 up ...then to 10 up at 17-7...then it went all squonky from there..horrendous..went from throwing bowls tae throwing tumshie's !!!! ..

When peels at 19 I was twice lying 3 shots only for my opponent to steal two singles ..really need to tighten my game though as my opponent picked away at the loose heads & the scraps he picked up were good enough for him to card a win ..

Fair enjoyed it though ..:agree:

16-05-2012, 07:36 AM
HH do you play off for your scottish? Our club just picks players to play, I never get a game. I have always said it should be played off the season before (Pairs, Triples & Fours). Winners of club tournament go out in the scottish but no, outvoted for a 4th year at our AGM.That was just our normal club championship last night mate, although, the Scottish if I (ever:greengrin) win it then I could get drawn v winners of other clubs throughout the Lothians ..

The way we do it though & Im sure other clubs do the same is that if I win the Championship (Scottish) at the Jewel then I represent the club in the Scottish, same goes for Scottish pairs, triples etc, however if you are a dual winner ie pairs & single hand then either you will be elected to play in the single hand & most likely a runner up from beaten pairs will replace you in the Scottish pair ...

Ayr ...?...the only chance I will ever get to Ayr will be a holiday tae Butlins ...:greengrin

17-05-2012, 10:30 PM
HH do you play off for your scottish? Our club just picks players to play, I never get a game. I have always said it should be played off the season before (Pairs, Triples & Fours). Winners of club tournament go out in the scottish but no, outvoted for a 4th year at our AGM.

I don't think I've heard of a club that doesn't put their competition winners in the Scottish :confused:

25-05-2012, 07:22 AM
Fantastic 9-0 win for the Northern first XVI on Wednesday night against Hillside, a club we will most likely be battling against the drop with. Also our 2nd XVI went up to Willowbrae, who were unbeaten at the top of the league, and cuffed them 7-2 on their green.
A good evening for the Northern :thumbsup:

26-05-2012, 02:57 PM
Through to the 3rd round of the 2 bowl pairs after a tight 20-16 win....cracking game that went end to end on a very fast Jewel green in fantastic weather ..

31-05-2012, 07:31 AM
Another good win away at Wardie for the Northern last night. It was oh so nearly a 2nd 9-0 in a row as our final rink went in to the last ends peels at 15 but after burning it once, our lads went down by 2 shots. However we were delighted to take a 7-2 away from home and with Tanfield getting humped 9-0 at Craigentinny, we move level on points with them, and possibly even above them on shots difference.

14-06-2012, 10:25 AM
First half of the league season completed last night and a very successful one for the Northern Lads.
On a personal basis, my rink has won six out of the seven, quite incredible and not something I have ever done before, that I can remember anyway. Probably heading for a big fall in the 2nd half of the season now :greengrin

Hibbylad86
19-06-2012, 02:32 PM
Half way in EL league division 2 and EL-COOP site top by 1 point. We always do okay at this level (we are the B team) but this year we have picked up results we were not expected to get. Personally played 8 won 7 and lost 1 (by a shot!!).

Not played many personal ties - got pumped out the champo 21-19. Gutted

How are the seasons panning out for the rest of you?

Happyhibbie - you getting a game in the league team regularly?

19-06-2012, 04:36 PM
Half way in EL league division 2 and EL-COOP site top by 1 point. We always do okay at this level (we are the B team) but this year we have picked up results we were not expected to get. Personally played 8 won 7 and lost 1 (by a shot!!).

Not played many personal ties - got pumped out the champo 21-19. Gutted

How are the seasons panning out for the rest of you?

Happyhibbie - you getting a game in the league team regularly?Jewel are at the turn too & are in 5th, 5pts off leaders..new team this year with many playing league bowls for the first time..dropping silly points at home though aint good enough...I was reserve for the West Linton game that was postponed but again due to work my Fridays are limited ..as for local ties ..beaten in championship, gave away the 2 bowl single hand & handicap due to knacked shoulder, knocked out 2nd round Scottish pairs & knocked out of the 2 bowl pairs 3rd round ..glad this season is done for me, hopefully get shoulder fixed & ready for next year ..:agree:

19-06-2012, 05:56 PM
I can't remember ever playing in the rain so much, it seems like every ****** Friday night it pours down.

Hibbylad86
21-06-2012, 11:36 AM
Scouse - Couldnt agree more! We played last night which was game 10 of 18 this season. It was only the second time I could play with short sleeved club top on. Every other game has been raining and or baltic with a howling gale. Its nae gid! Weather forecast for next league on Friday is........RAIN! Shock horror!

HH - Gutted about the shoulder mate. You down now for the rest of the season or still going to partake in the odd social open competion?

21-06-2012, 12:11 PM
Scouse - Couldnt agree more! We played last night which was game 10 of 18 this season. It was only the second time I could play with short sleeved club top on. Every other game has been raining and or baltic with a howling gale. Its nae gid! Weather forecast for next league on Friday is........RAIN! Shock horror!

HH - Gutted about the shoulder mate. You down now for the rest of the season or still going to partake in the odd social open competion?Knew I was going to struggle HL, but thought I would give it a go ..season completely finished for me, will pop along tae support the lads in the Esk when Im off work though..:agree:

Hibbylad86
21-06-2012, 12:35 PM
Knew I was going to struggle HL, but thought I would give it a go ..season completely finished for me, will pop along tae support the lads in the Esk when Im off work though..:agree:

I hope a few social beverages will be involved! Need everything to ease the pain of the injury.... :greengrin

21-06-2012, 01:04 PM
I hope a few social beverages will be involved! Need everything to ease the pain of the injury.... :greengrinOh defo mate ...need something tae dull the pain ..:greengrin

21-06-2012, 02:15 PM
Oh defo mate ...need something tae dull the pain ..:greengrin

What have you done to your Shoulder mate? Hope it will be fixed in time for the Northern Hibbies pumping you .netters in August. :thumbsup:

GGTTNH

BTW, Also only lost one game in the EBL div one league so far this season, making it 7 out of 8 for my rink.

BarneyBreslin
21-06-2012, 05:07 PM
What have you done to your Shoulder mate? Hope it will be fixed in time for the Northern Hibbies pumping you .netters in August. :thumbsup:

GGTTNH

BTW, Also only lost one game in the EBL div one league so far this season, making it 7 out of 8 for my rink.

Good going Mike, nice to see the northern up there holding their own. Unfortunately it appears to be at the expense of my old club Tanfield who appear to be struggling somewhat this year. Andy, if ur looking in what's going wrong down arboretum way?

Is there a date for the .net challenge? Would be up for it again if available.

21-06-2012, 08:57 PM
Good going Mike, nice to see the northern up there holding their own. Unfortunately it appears to be at the expense of my old club Tanfield who appear to be struggling somewhat this year. Andy, if ur looking in what's going wrong down arboretum way?

Is there a date for the .net challenge? Would be up for it again if available.

No date set as yet but we had been talking about some time in August this year if possible. Having a look at both Hibs & Northern fixtures, if the derby game is moved to the Sunday for T.V. purposes, then Saturday 11th would be good or failing that the following week when Hibees are at Paisley.
If these don't suit or happen, then I think we are going to be toiling this season to get the game played, which would be a shame because it is a great day out and I really enjoy the banter with the lads.

22-06-2012, 06:12 AM

GGTTNH

BTW, Also only lost one game in the EBL div one league so far this season, making it 7 out of 8 for my rink.Ligament damage Mike, its an aggravated injury that I got at work a while back, havent been to Doctors again because I dont want signed off from work as Im looking to move to the ERI so I need my sickness record clean ..it flared up when playing 3 games on consecutive nights in the pishing rain so I decided to give it a rest.

However, nothing other than work will prevent me from playing in the Northern v .net game ...even if I have to use my right (non bowling & generally useless) arm ...:greengrin

Crack on the Northern, well done you guy's ..superb stuff mate, keep it up ....:top marks....:aok:

22-06-2012, 07:13 AM
Ligament damage Mike, its an aggravated injury that I got at work a while back, havent been to Doctors again because I dont want signed off from work as Im looking to move to the ERI so I need my sickness record clean ..it flared up when playing 3 games on consecutive nights in the pishing rain so I decided to give it a rest.

However, nothing other than work will prevent me from playing in the Northern v .net game ...even if I have to use my right (non bowling & generally useless) arm ...:greengrin

Crack on the Northern, well done you guy's ..superb stuff mate, keep it up ....:top marks....:aok:

Cheers Kenny, look after yourself mate. BTW, if move up to the NRIE you will be up beside me :thumbsup:

22-06-2012, 07:23 AM
Cheers Kenny, look after yourself mate. BTW, if move up to the NRIE you will be up beside me :thumbsup:Have you moved ..? ..or is it your work ..?...or will you be a patient ..?...:greengrin

23-06-2012, 02:40 PM
Finally a decent Friday night which considering the weather during the day came as a bit of a surprise.
Fully expected to be playin in the pishin rain at Carrick Knowe last night but tee shirt weather at last!

25-06-2012, 11:21 AM
Have you moved ..? ..or is it your work ..?...or will you be a patient ..?...:greengrin

It's work Kenny, been here for about 8 years now.

The patient part will be in due course, unless I end up back in Clydebank again :wink:

19-07-2012, 08:09 AM
Anybody play last night?

Northern v Wardie (both XVI's) called off.

19-07-2012, 07:50 PM
Anybody play last night?

Northern v Wardie (both XVI's) called off.

Gorgie was playable imo but it was called off.

I know Pilrig played.

Lmc2105
22-07-2012, 07:18 PM
Played my first game in almost a year and really enjoyed it! Played with my dad at the Whitehouse & Grange Invitational Pairs.

close to the Semi-Finals only to lose out by 1 shot!!

Hope everyone is having a good season!

Very proud of my dad as Whitehouse missed the chance of getting to Ayr after losing to Sighthill in the final of the Rinks!

23-07-2012, 07:10 AM
Played my first game in almost a year and really enjoyed it! Played with my dad at the Whitehouse & Grange Invitational Pairs.

close to the Semi-Finals only to lose out by 1 shot!!

Hope everyone is having a good season!

Very proud of my dad as Whitehouse missed the chance of getting to Ayr after losing to Sighthill in the final of the Rinks!

Delighted to hear that Lee, maybe entice you back to the game on a more permanent basis, even if it's not with the Northern, just get back playing.

Playing in the semi-final of the championship tonight. Once again, the weather is looking a wee bit dodgy for tonight.

Sunny Leith
23-07-2012, 12:13 PM
Delighted to hear that Lee, maybe entice you back to the game on a more permanent basis, even if it's not with the Northern, just get back playing.

Playing in the semi-final of the championship tonight. Once again, the weather is looking a wee bit dodgy for tonight.

Due to play our re-arranged game at Corstophine tongiht but it is hosing it down AGAIN - fingers crossed we get it played as we won't be able to play it on Wednesday due to people going to Ayr that day.

Stick in tonight.......

Lmc2105
23-07-2012, 03:29 PM

Possibly thinking about it for next year mike as I really did enjoy playing! That's the problem a stopped as a wasn't enjoying myself but things have picked up and a never played that badly!

Best of luck tonight mate! Let us know how you get on!

24-07-2012, 11:08 AM
Possibly thinking about it for next year mike as I really did enjoy playing! That's the problem a stopped as a wasn't enjoying myself but things have picked up and a never played that badly!

Best of luck tonight mate! Let us know how you get on!

Rained Off last night, water on the green, surprise surprise eh! Normally great with the drainage but we have had so much rain this summer (?) that it is just not getting the chance to dry.
Now scheduled for Friday night with the final, for those two lucky enough to make it, on Monday. Not ideal for me but as usual, some are more prepared than others to be inconvenienced.

BTW Lee, you know if you ever did want to come back playing, and with us, you would be more than welcome. :thumbsup:

29-07-2012, 02:53 PM
Rained Off last night, water on the green, surprise surprise eh! Normally great with the drainage but we have had so much rain this summer (?) that it is just not getting the chance to dry.
Now scheduled for Friday night with the final, for those two lucky enough to make it, on Monday. Not ideal for me but as usual, some are more prepared than others to be inconvenienced.

BTW Lee, you know if you ever did want to come back playing, and with us, you would be more than welcome. :thumbsup:

Managed to do a Steve McQueen and pull off the Great Escape in Friday's semi-final of the Championship. Was losing 18-12 and scraped through 21-20 to play Stan Christie (jambo) in the final.

BTW, Heard news that 'Tanfield' won his Final at Tanfield last week, congratulations Andrew in defending your title.

31-07-2012, 07:32 AM
Managed to win the Northern B.C. Championship last night by beating Stan Christie 21-15 in the final.

Absolutely delighted, if a tad fragile, today. :thumbsup:

01-08-2012, 11:49 AM
Managed to do a Steve McQueen and pull off the Great Escape in Friday's semi-final of the Championship. Was losing 18-12 and scraped through 21-20 to play Stan Christie (jambo) in the final.

BTW, Heard news that 'Tanfield' won his Final at Tanfield last week, congratulations Andrew in defending your title.Well done Andrew ..cracking stuff mate ...:top marks :thumbsup:

Managed to win the Northern B.C. Championship last night by beating Stan Christie 21-15 in the final.

Absolutely delighted, if a tad fragile, today. :thumbsup::top marks:thumbsup:

Hibbylad86
22-08-2012, 07:48 AM
Who said bowls was boring...

http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/scottish-news/bowler-strips-off-and-punches-pensioner-1273126

All joking aside what a waste of a talent. Great bowler on his day.

I hope the guy with cut head is alright and the old women mortified when he dropped to his 'breeks' have managed to get thier heart rates down. :faf:

24-08-2012, 01:02 PM
Who said bowls was boring...

http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/scottish-news/bowler-strips-off-and-punches-pensioner-1273126

All joking aside what a waste of a talent. Great bowler on his day.

I hope the guy with cut head is alright and the old women mortified when he dropped to his 'breeks' have managed to get thier heart rates down. :faf:

I know we have been trying to drag bowling out of the dark ages for a good few years now, introducing the coloured team shirts has been a good step forward. Bottom line though (no, not Scott's bottom) is Bowling is still a game with a huge amount of etiquette involved in it and doing what he did was way out of order. This was no wee club friendly drinking game, it was the Edinburgh Cup Final FFS and I reckon he will be toiling to find another club that will take him in as a member now.

Changing the tone, playing in the Pairs final tonight with Sambajustice :thumbsup:

Hibbylad86
26-08-2012, 06:37 PM
I know we have been trying to drag bowling out of the dark ages for a good few years now, introducing the coloured team shirts has been a good step forward. Bottom line though (no, not Scott's bottom) is Bowling is still a game with a huge amount of etiquette involved in it and doing what he did was way out of order. This was no wee club friendly drinking game, it was the Edinburgh Cup Final FFS and I reckon he will be toiling to find another club that will take him in as a member now.

Changing the tone, playing in the Pairs final tonight with Sambajustice :thumbsup:

Absolutely 100% MB, there is a line that you shouldn't go near let alone cross in bowls and he has crossed it! Its a shame if he can't bowl somewhere next year because he is cracking bowler. Can a club control the baggage tho is they key question!

How did the pairs go? Has this season been a success?

31-08-2012, 01:47 PM
Absolutely 100% MB, there is a line that you shouldn't go near let alone cross in bowls and he has crossed it! Its a shame if he can't bowl somewhere next year because he is cracking bowler. Can a club control the baggage tho is they key question!

How did the pairs go? Has this season been a success?

Myself and Sambajustice went down by two shots in the pairs final. Got off to a poor start but recovered to go down the last one behind. S.J was lying shot on top of the white but the opposition skip played a great bowl with his 2nd last of the game to plant the white in to the ditch for shot and I failed to draw it back so we lost. Good lads we were playing against though so tempered the disappointment a wee tad.

Won the Championship and runners up in the pairs so personally was a good season for me.
Sambajustice won the consolation singles last night, his first singles tournament win so onwards and upwards for him.