View Full Version : Rangers attempt to buy St Mirren

HibeeMcGinn1
17-03-2012, 04:41 PM
According to the St Mirren chairman, Rangers attempted to buy the club with a look ahead to liquidation to make them a follow up from Rangers. St Rangers? :na na:

http://forum.rangersmedia.co.uk/index.php?showtopic=214262&st=0

17-03-2012, 04:43 PM
According to the St Mirren chairman, Rangers attempted to buy the club with a look ahead to liquidation to make them a follow up from Rangers. St Rangers? :na na:

If true, it only goes to show just how bloody arrogant these tossers are? :rolleyes:

17-03-2012, 04:48 PM
If true, it only goes to show just how bloody arrogant these tossers are? :rolleyes:

Both the old firm are arrogant beyond belief, and don't care about Scottish Football beyond their own means.

I really hope that Rangers go defunct, despicable vile institution.

The I hope the yams are next, and Celtic third......Mission would be accomplished then....

17-03-2012, 04:53 PM
Both the old firm are arrogant beyond belief, and don't care about Scottish Football beyong their own means.

The I hope the yams are next, and Celtic third......Mission would be accomplished then....

I wish you'd get off that fence, and tell us what you really mean. :greengrin

17-03-2012, 05:00 PM
I wish you'd get off that fence, and tell us what you really mean. :greengrin

Got splinters in my bahookie:wink:

17-03-2012, 05:00 PM
They were talking about this on the radio a few hours ago.

St Mirren received an approach from someone who was still connected to the current buns ( club secretary I think ) looking to buy the club. It didnt take them two seconds to kick the offer into touch though, well done to them.

If this it true can you believe the arrogance of these people. Most clubs might look at buying out a small club like Dumbarton or East Stirling, somebody like that. But not a classy outfit like the current buns, they try to take over a fellow SPL club, without giving a second thought to the people who have followed it for years and who have ( to their credit ) avoided the temptation to follow one of THEM. Fans of my two small club examples are the same by the way .... Hats off.

Just another example, if any were needed, of why they are a despicable club !!!

17-03-2012, 05:02 PM
Let's hope Rangers go down the pan where they belong.
Horrid, rancid people. every one connected with them.

17-03-2012, 05:02 PM

St Mirren received an approach from someone who was still connected to the current buns ( club secretary I think ) looking to buy the club. It didnt take them two seconds to kick the offer into touch though, well done to them.

If this it true can you believe the arrogance of these people. Most clubs might look at buying out a small club like Dumbarton or East Stirling, somebody like that. But not a classy outfit like the current buns, they try to take over a fellow SPL club, without giving a second thought to the people who have followed it for years and who have ( to their credit ) avoided the temptation to follow one of THEM. Fans of my two small club examples are the same by the way .... Hats off.

Spot on Bovril.....

17-03-2012, 05:03 PM
Chick Dung would love this, an amalgamation of his two loves. He'd hyper ventilate at that thought.

17-03-2012, 05:05 PM
As nobody at Rangers other than the administrators has any authority to do anything I think someone has been taking a rise out of St.Mirren.Where would Rangers get the money?It's tosh.

17-03-2012, 05:10 PM
As nobody at Rangers other than the administrators has any authority to do anything I think someone has been taking a rise out of St.Mirren.Where would Rangers get the money?It's tosh.

It appears to have happened a few weeks back.
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/scotland/17417004

Malonga's Cat
17-03-2012, 05:12 PM
Both the old firm are arrogant beyond belief, and don't care about Scottish Football beyond their own means.

I'm with you there. Nae money but still plenty arrogance!!

17-03-2012, 05:35 PM
Both Hearts and Rangers, as a result of past and present misbehaviour could and should be charged with bringing the game into disrepute.

17-03-2012, 05:46 PM
Chick Dung would love this, an amalgamation of his two loves. He'd hyper ventilate at that thought.

His two loves ? The wee baldy runt loves himself more than anything else. He would name the new team Chickhun Mirren.

17-03-2012, 05:46 PM
It appears to have happened a few weeks back.
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/scotland/17417004

Ahh.. the famous Gary Withey again. The boy gets about :rolleyes:

17-03-2012, 05:47 PM
Die. Just **** off and die.

17-03-2012, 05:53 PM
Both Hearts and Rangers, as a result of past and present misbehaviour could and should be charged with bringing the game into disrepute.

Agree, add in Celtic for their sectarian singing offences, and throw the book at them all. Basic floutings of the rules of our game, SFA dont have a backbone unfortunately

17-03-2012, 05:54 PM

Agreed, straight to the point:wink:

17-03-2012, 05:56 PM

couldn't put it any better!

17-03-2012, 06:38 PM

:not worth

17-03-2012, 06:56 PM
I'm inclined to believe the claim that it just happened to be Gary Collier who was involved. There are much easier and cheaper targets for the Huns to use as a Plan B Trojan horse. Having said that .......

Them and their Celtc brethren.

17-03-2012, 06:57 PM

Don Giovanni
17-03-2012, 06:58 PM
Absolutely disgusting behavior from one club to another.

Stunning amount of arrogance to even think this one would ever fly.

I hope they get wound up and have to start from scratch - its the least that horrible "institution" deserves.

17-03-2012, 07:04 PM

Nothing to do with the current Rangers.

This was all about advance planning after liquidation in the event that the Newco Rangers were not admitted to the SPL. If a third party purchased St Mirren for a knock down price, that could be the insurance policy. It would be a lot cheaper to buy Ibrox and move St Mirren there and change their name that dealining with HMRC, Ticketus, et al.

17-03-2012, 07:14 PM
To be fair, there's a few St. Mirren supporters on their site not jumping to conclusions. They are wanting Ken McGeoch, the bidder in question, to make a statement to clarify things first.

17-03-2012, 07:16 PM
I hope they got it wrong and it was actually St Mirren who tried to buy Rangers.

17-03-2012, 07:25 PM
Whatever the truth in all of this, there is no doubt that the word of the moment in Scottish football is "duped".

David Murray - "duped"

Stewart Gilmour - "duped"

Who's next?

17-03-2012, 07:32 PM
I hope they got it wrong and it was actually St Mirren who tried to buy Rangers.

17-03-2012, 07:38 PM
I'm inclined to believe the claim that it just happened to be Gary Collier who was involved. There are much easier and cheaper targets for the Huns to use as a Plan B Trojan horse.

And who would that be?

Certainly there are cheaper options to secure a SFL place such as buying East Stirlingshire (it happened to them in the mid 1960s) but to secure an SPL place, St Mirren are probably the only option.

17-03-2012, 08:31 PM
A bit more clarity:-

However, businessman McGeogh insisted that his own bid was not yet dead.
"Collyer Bristow, a well-known and highly respected firm of solicitors, were recommended due to their specialised expertise and knowledge of football clubs," he told BBC Scotland.
"My colleague, Paul Davies, and I worked with them for a number of months to advise and oversee our prospective bid for St Mirren.
"This relationship ended by mutual consent in February and we are now being advised by another firm of solicitors.

Let's not forget that Gary Withey doesn't work for Collyer Bristow any more.

Stewart Gilmour said the bid came in in January.

If there was any conspiracy going on here, it was planned well before Rangers went into administration.

My question.... why did SG only mention it this week?

17-03-2012, 10:13 PM
And who would that be?

Certainly there are cheaper options to secure a SFL place such as buying East Stirlingshire (it happened to them in the mid 1960s) but to secure an SPL place, St Mirren are probably the only option.
In their shoes I would buy Ibrox from the liquidators and go down the SFL route (eg East Stirlingshire or Clyde), then get the team promoted back to the SPL in a couple of seasons. Far fewer people would get upset about the demise of a perennial second or third division club and the token humility involved in starting over in a lower league would take some of the heat out of the situation.

Note that the above is hypothetical, partly because I have no desire to see the Huns saved but mainly because I remember Mercer and don't want fans of any club to find themselves in a similar takeover situation.

17-03-2012, 10:16 PM
Rangers looking for a club with SPL status.

Romanov looking to sell.... :hmmm:

17-03-2012, 10:18 PM

Quit sitting on the fence and just get the feelings out. :wink:

17-03-2012, 10:25 PM

Totally agree with everything you just said.

Don Giovanni
17-03-2012, 11:17 PM
In their shoes I would buy Ibrox from the liquidators and go down the SFL route (eg East Stirlingshire or Clyde), then get the team promoted back to the SPL in a couple of seasons. Far fewer people would get upset about the demise of a perennial second or third division club and the token humility involved in starting over in a lower league would take some of the heat out of the situation.

Note that the above is hypothetical, partly because I have no desire to see the Huns saved but mainly because I remember Mercer and don't want fans of any club to find themselves in a similar takeover situation.

Good post.

18-03-2012, 09:52 AM
http://www.scotsman.com/scotland-on-sunday/sport/st-mirren-shun-craig-whyte-approach-1-2181099