View Full Version : Pubs in Glasgow town centre for pre/post semi final pints

16-03-2012, 08:24 PM
Usually go to Drouthy Neebors on Queen Street for pre/post Hampden game pints, good pub for Soccer Saturday, t-time games etc.

16-03-2012, 08:36 PM
Usually go to Drouthy Neebors on Queen Street for pre/post Hampden game pints, good pub for Soccer Saturday, t-time games etc.

Don't know that one, what time does it open?

16-03-2012, 08:44 PM

I'm staying in Glasgow Saturday night, are me and the Mrs invited? we can talk about dropgoals :wink:

16-03-2012, 09:03 PM
The Louden Tavern is nice.

16-03-2012, 09:51 PM
The wee bar in the train station is good. Just make sure you're only wearing designer clothing though.

16-03-2012, 10:00 PM

I was in there before a game at hunbrox- twas an educational experience

16-03-2012, 11:03 PM
Don't know that one, what time does it open?

Doubt it'll be open before the game, its the pub that used to be O'Neills.

16-03-2012, 11:06 PM
I'm staying in Glasgow Saturday night, are me and the Mrs invited? we can talk about dropgoals :wink:

The more the merrier! If i've got to wait a month for that definition then so be it :-)

17-03-2012, 06:46 AM

Which one? There seems to be two of them :confused:

one (http://www.glasgowguide.co.uk/Along%20Govan%20Road/The%20Louden%20Tavern%2002.htm) two (http://www.flickr.com/photos/smartalex-glasgow/279302201/)

I take it it's NOT a Celtc pub :wink:

17-03-2012, 08:43 AM
Go to The Horseshoe Bar on Drury St near Central Station. Great busy pub with cheap food upstairs at 80s prices.

17-03-2012, 09:42 AM
Go to The Horseshoe Bar on Drury St near Central Station. Great busy pub with cheap food upstairs at 80s prices.

Always one of my stopping off points. :agree:

17-03-2012, 10:30 AM
I've got a concert in glasgow on the Sunday so Mrs O and myself will be staying in glasgow Fri, Sat, Sun. We'll be out and about for beers no doubt.

17-03-2012, 10:52 AM
Iron Horse, W Nile St only city centre pub I can think of that will definitely be open. The various Wetherspoons are all open early for breakfast but it may be no alcohol before 11.00.

17-03-2012, 11:03 AM
The Bon Accord or Pot still, both great whisky bars with great draught and bottled beer selections!

:agree::agree:

17-03-2012, 11:26 AM
Iron Horse, W Nile St only city centre pub I can think of that will definitely be open. The various Wetherspoons are all open early for breakfast but it may be no alcohol before 11.00.

Alfredo's on the same street will also be open.

17-03-2012, 11:51 AM

My favourite city centre Glasgow pub. Wonderful old school Scottish boozer.

17-03-2012, 11:53 AM
My favourite city centre Glasgow pub. Wonderful old school Scottish boozer.

... and nicely en route if you have to change trains between Queen Street and Central. :aok:

17-03-2012, 12:36 PM
Oops, just noticed is about pubs for Post-match, thought it was pre-match, will start another thread.

17-03-2012, 01:57 PM
Surprised to find that there doesn't seem to be a lot of Pubs In Glasgow City centre which will be open for a decent amount of time before the big game at Hampden, most open at 11.00.

One I know for certain will be the Iron Horse on West Nile Street which opens at 8.00, think you have to buy a breakfast roll with your first pint if I recall correctly.

Alfredos opposite possibly open as well.

Wetherspoons open but only for beakfast; no alcohol I think

Any others?

02-04-2012, 05:37 PM
Bump! Grand National day too, yet another pub excuse!

02-04-2012, 11:29 PM
Favourite Glasgow city centre pub for me is undoubtedly The Scotia on Stockwell Street. It's reckoned to be the oldest pub in the city and always seems to have a great atmosphere. If you're over thirty-something, and are into pub culture, give it a try.

03-04-2012, 06:38 AM
Alfredos and Iron Horse both open at 8 but you do have to buy a roll. But both full of Jakeys and posties ( no offense to posties) but never any hassle in them in the morning but after the game lots of good pubs in Candleriggs area in the town center

03-04-2012, 07:31 AM
Like the look of the Horse Shoe Bar from their website, proper historic city boozer:aok:

03-04-2012, 07:36 AM
Like the look of the Horse Shoe Bar from their website, proper historic city boozer:aok:

Have you been before? It's a quality boozer, and always where I used to go for Scotland games - celebrating McFadden's winner against France with so much enthusiasm that I strained my back!!

Pours a good pint and generally the bar staff won't commit any of the faux pas that you're liable to get in a Wetherspoons - i.e. serving lager in a glass that's just come out of the dishwasher, and thus is roasting hot!! :grr:

03-04-2012, 07:41 AM
Have you been before? It's a quality boozer, and always where I used to go for Scotland games - celebrating McFadden's winner against France with so much enthusiasm that I strained my back!!

Pours a good pint and generally the bar staff won't commit any of the faux pas that you're liable to get in a Wetherspoons - i.e. serving lager in a glass that's just come out of the dishwasher, and thus is roasting hot!! :grr:

Not been before mate, is now deffo on my 'to visit list' :greengrin

03-04-2012, 08:23 AM
Been visiting the horseshoe years now a classic old style boozer. Although i would imagine it will be chock a block with Hibees and sheep being so close to central station. Anybody know what time it opens on a Saturday.

03-04-2012, 08:29 AM

I remember trailing along to Iron Horse before the Livingston final only to find it was closed. didn't look up to much at all either and I wouldn't bother trailing along again! far better establishments in Das Weeg.

03-04-2012, 08:32 AM
Favourite Glasgow city centre pub for me is undoubtedly The Scotia on Stockwell Street. It's reckoned to be the oldest pub in the city and always seems to have a great atmosphere. If you're over thirty-something, and are into pub culture, give it a try.

Good shout :aok:. Had many a good night in there, as well as the Park Bar in the West end.

03-04-2012, 08:39 AM
Good shout :aok:. Had many a good night in there, as well as the Park Bar in the West end.

Rare to go in to the Park bar and not bump in to somebody you know. And not to have a hangover the next day. :greengrin

03-04-2012, 09:08 AM
There's a few pubs in Victoria Road, which is quite near the ground (you get off the train at Queens Park Stn). They're mostly for the Celtc minded but I never had any problems in any of them when I lived there.

I know the Queens Park Cafe is open at 11AM but I'm not sure about McNeill's or Tir Chonaill (best pub of the three).

It takes about 20 minutes to walk from there to Hampden, so you won't get many pints in, seeing as you're all going to be in your seats before kick-off, for the Card Display :wink:

03-04-2012, 11:12 AM
I was in McNeills before the Scotland v Czech Rep game, decent enough pub.

I think The Horseshoe was better a few years ago compared to now, I stayed through there for about 9 months back in 95 and usually had my tea upstairs in there, the food isnt so good now that they have changed to the generic chain pub type menu.

03-04-2012, 11:29 AM
The Pot Still is a decent whisky bar.

I'm heading through the night before so may well indulge in a few malts in there.

Green Man
03-04-2012, 12:08 PM
The early kick off doesn't leave much pre-match drinking time at all. I'm planning on getting the train that gets to Mount Florida at quarter to 11 so I can get into a boozer as soon as it opens its doors and get a couple of quick beers in. I like the look of Clockwork Beer just off Cathcart Road as it has its own microbrewery :thumbsup:

For convenience, the closest pub to our end is the Montford, just round the corner from the Esso garage opposite the east stand. I've been there once, nothing special but it's handy. If you're getting the train to Kings Park, the Beechwood is on the way to the ground, from what I remember it was a bit nicer than the Montford. Actually now I look at the map, the Beechwood might be slightly closer if you're in the south stand.

Dav1986
04-04-2012, 12:04 PM
Headin through on the train with a few of the lads and wondering what pubs around hampden people will be drinking in so we can soak up a bit of the pre match atmosphere ;)

neilmartinrocks
04-04-2012, 03:40 PM
paper poke and a bottle o' buckie just tae blend in.
when in rome an' that ken.:greengrin

08-04-2012, 08:00 PM
Headin through on the train with a few of the lads and wondering what pubs around hampden people will be drinking in so we can soak up a bit of the pre match atmosphere ;)

Also getting train through, but none of the pubs near Hampden will be open until 11.00 so only an hour at most of pre-match drinking. Early train & Iron Horse in City Centre (open from 8.00) before taxi or train to Hampden in time for KO looks a better option.

09-04-2012, 07:59 AM
Also getting train through, but none of the pubs near Hampden will be open until 11.00 so only an hour at most of pre-match drinking. Early train & Iron Horse in City Centre (open from 8.00) before taxi or train to Hampden in time for KO looks a better option.

Thats my plan. A couple of pints in there, jump on the train out to Hampden another couple of pints there and then let the fun begin!

blueisthecolour
09-04-2012, 11:02 PM
Plenty good pubs in shawlands and battlefield rd where food is on offer also, 20 min walk, 5 mins in a taxi few quid, also pubs at the ground, montford and beechwood 2 mins walk 100 acres 10-15 min walk, foot on offer at these places.

09-04-2012, 11:40 PM
Plenty good pubs in shawlands and battlefield rd where food is on offer also, 20 min walk, 5 mins in a taxi few quid, also pubs at the ground, montford and beechwood 2 mins walk 100 acres 10-15 min walk, foot on offer at these places.

Spent quite a few drunken evenings in Shawlands when I worked in The NSB building at Cowglen.

Is The Granary still there?

10-04-2012, 12:21 AM

Is that what they make toesties out of in the west? :wink:

10-04-2012, 08:22 AM

...and if the bill's a bit expensive, just offer them 12p in the pound

10-04-2012, 08:24 AM
Spent quite a few drunken evenings in Shawlands when I worked in The NSB building at Cowglen.

Yup, still there.

HibbyRod
10-04-2012, 08:32 AM
...and if the bill's a bit expensive, just offer them 12p in the pound

:faf: :top marks

Thanks for that Keekaboo, that really made me laugh.

Cheered me up on a wet Tuesday morning. :aok:

cwilliamson85
10-04-2012, 12:55 PM
The Counting House on George Square is open from 8am on saturday and starts to serve booze from 11.

Unless you order a large breakfast you can then get a pint anytime.:thumbsup:

10-04-2012, 01:26 PM
You sure of this? Drink before 11.00 if ordering food.

The Counting House on George Square is open from 8am on saturday and starts to serve booze from 11.

Unless you order a large breakfast you can then get a pint anytime.:thumbsup:

cwilliamson85
10-04-2012, 02:01 PM
You sure of this? Drink before 11.00 if ordering food.

If you order a large breakfast you can order a pint. called and confirmed.

10-04-2012, 02:20 PM
Interesting!

10-04-2012, 02:28 PM
If you order a large breakfast you can order a pint. called and confirmed.

Is that a large breakfast per pint?

Some of the fat bassas on here could do without 5 pints and 5 full English on a Saturday morning!!

blueisthecolour
10-04-2012, 03:15 PM

Yes still there, also the linen, waverly tea rooms, james tassies ect.

cwilliamson85
10-04-2012, 03:21 PM
Is that a large breakfast per pint?

Some of the fat bassas on here could do without 5 pints and 5 full English on a Saturday morning!!

Not sure about the 5 pints / breakfasts but if you get into Glasgow for 10/1030 ish. Grab a breakfast and a pint and then get a pint at 11 when they start serving.

10-04-2012, 03:24 PM
Not sure about the 5 pints / breakfasts but if you get into Glasgow for 10/1030 ish. Grab a breakfast and a pint and then get a pint at 11 when they start serving.

I'm on Glasgow on the Friday, I'll be needing the breakfast for the hangover and the beer for a quick hair of the dog!

saltandsauce
10-04-2012, 03:51 PM
Am in glasgow friday aswell,I'm just gonna ask folk in the bars ill be in then about early openers,might get a quiet one that way

Rossco1875
10-04-2012, 04:26 PM
you are allowed 2 pints per breakfast just phoned them :wink:

10-04-2012, 04:46 PM
you are allowed 2 pints per breakfast just phone them :wink:

May well make this the first stop for breakfast & drink before the Iron Horse then:thumbsup:

10-04-2012, 06:03 PM
you are allowed 2 pints per breakfast just phoned them :wink:Looks like I'll need tae have two breakfasts then :greengrin......

.......either that or I'll have your pints as well :greengrin

10-04-2012, 06:23 PM
Do you have to eat the breakfasts. :greengrin

10-04-2012, 06:27 PM
Do you have to eat the breakfasts. :greengrin:greengrin

Dav1986
12-04-2012, 06:28 PM

One of the guys said about that place so think we're going to head there. Train about 8 from Waverley so be there around 9

blueisthecolour
12-04-2012, 06:37 PM
Which one? There seems to be two of them :confused:

one (http://www.glasgowguide.co.uk/Along%20Govan%20Road/The%20Louden%20Tavern%2002.htm) two (http://www.flickr.com/photos/smartalex-glasgow/279302201/)

I take it it's NOT a Celtc pub :wink:

There is actually 3 at the moment

12-04-2012, 07:11 PM
May well make this the first stop for breakfast & drink before the Iron Horse then:thumbsup:

and pray that Iron Horse is open....

wasnae before Livingston at hampden.

12-04-2012, 07:14 PM
That was a Sunday IIRC.

12-04-2012, 07:21 PM
indeed it was a Sunday but their website and a phone call to them confirmed it would be open...

sure wasn't!

14-04-2012, 07:21 AM
The Iron Horse is open, as is the pub opposite where I am currently consuming a pint and a black pudding roll.

14-04-2012, 09:29 AM
All sheep in the in the iron horse

14-04-2012, 09:52 AM
Outside The Montford at east end of hampden - 5 mins till opening - must be 1000+ waiting to get in- will be bedlam when doors open

14-04-2012, 10:10 AM
Only letting 10 in at a time to prevent crush at bar - my talent for getting round systems wins again...one of first in and enjoying a cold pint :) happy happy only an hour to KO