View Full Version : Media Hibs fans get first 'football bill' convictions

13-03-2012, 06:34 PM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-glasgow-west-17355788

Two men have become the first football supporters in Scotland to be convicted and sentenced under new offensive behaviour at football legislation.

They were also given a one-year football banning order.

no, i'm not making excuses for them at all, but i do hope the BTP will be travelling on trains with old squirm fans on them :rolleyes:

13-03-2012, 06:40 PM

Two men have become the first football supporters in Scotland to be convicted and sentenced under new offensive behaviour at football legislation.

no, i'm not making excuses for them at all, but i do hope the BTP will be travelling on trains with old squirm fans on them :rolleyes:

Disgrace to our club.

13-03-2012, 06:41 PM
Disgrace to our club.

What were they singing?

13-03-2012, 06:43 PM
actually, after re-reading that report....it doesn't actually say they were indeed hibs fans :)

13-03-2012, 06:44 PM
The fines are exceptionally lenient?

ginger_rice
Disgrace to our club.

Fair do's but just wonder how the infirm will be treated by BTP, by rights we should be seeing scores of them up for these offences.

What were they singing?

Racially offensive songs. What does it matter what one it was?

13-03-2012, 06:45 PM
Fair do's but just wonder how the infirm will be treated by BTP, by rights we should be seeing scores of them up for these offences.

Yep, totally agree!

neilmartinrocks
13-03-2012, 06:50 PM

bah bah black sheep is considered to be racist was it that one?

13-03-2012, 06:51 PM
Yet another footballing first for the cabbage.

13-03-2012, 06:51 PM
What were they singing?

It included the words "weegie" and a swear-word beginning with B. I'm pretty sure I see and hear worse from the OF on a weekly basis.

TheUsualSuspect
13-03-2012, 06:52 PM

For clarification, I suppose. Would be good to know if it was a song that some Hibbies sing or a song that was in bad taste and nothing to do with Hibs?

13-03-2012, 06:53 PM

I'll wait and see how this plays out before coming to any conclusions like that, it looks as though there's going to be some pretty trivial stuff considered offensive. If it was genuinely racist then obviously they are a disgrace but let's just wait and see.

13-03-2012, 06:58 PM
My moneys on the Edinburgh song. :rolleyes:

Duffys13
13-03-2012, 07:07 PM

I am a bit on the fence on this debate. I understand you have to be careful these days, but lets be honest some of the best songs sung at some of the best games in my memory have been controversial. Football is so plastic these days. It is probably just me but I see football songs as very different to say racially abusing a random person on in the street for no reason. I'll no doubt get slaughtered for this.

13-03-2012, 07:13 PM

the 'Oh Edinburgh, is wonderful' one?

13-03-2012, 07:15 PM

neilmartinrocks
13-03-2012, 07:15 PM
I am a bit on the fence on this debate. I understand you have to be careful these days, but lets be honest some of the best songs sung at some of the best games in my memory have been controversial. Football is so plastic these days. It is probably just me but I see football songs as very different to say racially abusing a random person on in the street for no reason. I'll no doubt get slaughtered for this.
should keep the naughty ones for inside the ground and on the supporters bus though.
too many people seem to go out of their way to be offended nowadays.
and no doubt you will:greengrin

13-03-2012, 07:19 PM

I hate that song. Have only heard jambos sing it but obviously some of us do it too.

13-03-2012, 07:21 PM
I hate that song. Have only heard jambos sing it but obviously some of us do it too.

:agree: yes some of our lot do sing it. :rolleyes:

13-03-2012, 07:22 PM
The crowds at the courts would be bigger than some SPL crowds IF this was ever enforced consistently across all supporters!

Duffys13
13-03-2012, 07:22 PM
should keep the naughty ones for inside the ground and on the supporters bus though.
too many people seem to go out of their way to be offended nowadays.
and no doubt you will:greengrin

I see what you are saying but in the same way you could get done for singing them inside the ground these days. It's maybe cos I am not easily offended but football has always been rough round the edges and that's what you grew up with. Different world now and aw that I suppose.

13-03-2012, 07:27 PM
Edinburgh song is the only one that's racist, crap song anyway, cringeworthy

Any other song singled out would be ridiculous - inter city rivalry isn't racism

Duffys13
13-03-2012, 07:29 PM
[QUOTE=joe breezy;3147104]Edinburgh song is the only one that's racist, crap song anyway, cringeworthy

Rudi Skacel is a ??????

13-03-2012, 07:29 PM
bah bah black sheep is considered to be racist was it that one?

Completely off topic but that bah bah black sheep story is one of the biggest and most enduring urban myths going.

The real story dates back to 1986 and is well worth a read. Shows how.media manipulation can make otherwise sensible folk believe total nonsense and downright lies.

13-03-2012, 07:30 PM
Nae doubt we will now see scores of OF fans charged under this new law :rolleyes:

13-03-2012, 07:33 PM
Nae doubt we will now see scores of OF fans charged under this new law :rolleyes:

Overhead congestion may also soon be caused by flying piglets.

13-03-2012, 07:37 PM
Overhead congestion may also soon be caused by flying piglets.http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b168/jamie1971/smilies%202/flyingpig.gif

alexhibs
:flag:The boy fi Tranent is a Jambo anyway!

Duffys13

Rangers fans could use their current predicament to go ahead and have a good old fashioned sing song, including all the classics at their next home match. I mean it's not like the authorities could do anything worse to them than is probably happening to them right now!!!!:greengrin

neilmartinrocks
13-03-2012, 07:40 PM
[QUOTE=Pretty Boy;3147108]Completely off topic but that bah bah black sheep story is one of the biggest and most enduring urban myths going.

The real story dates back to 1986 and is well worth a read. Shows how.media manipulation can make otherwise sensible folk believe total nonsense and downright lies.[/QUOTE

is that when it became offensive?

Newhaven
13-03-2012, 07:56 PM
What were they singing?

Two guys that were on that train got pulled as soon as it reached Central. I assume it was these two that were in court.

I didnt hear any of the racial stuff but they were singing about the Ibrox disaster. One guy did himself no favours by telling the BTP how big a firm had on Saturday - the like not seen since Bolton :crazy:

13-03-2012, 08:08 PM
Completely off topic but that bah bah black sheep story is one of the biggest and most enduring urban myths going.

The real story dates back to 1986 and is well worth a read. Shows how.media manipulation can make otherwise sensible folk believe total nonsense and downright lies.

There's certainly plenty of politically biased media manipulation going on at the moment considering trivial stories like this get more precedence than murder stories and so forth that don't fit with the agendas of today's media.

13-03-2012, 08:21 PM
There's certainly plenty of politically biased media manipulation going on at the moment considering trivial stories like this get more precedence than murder stories and so forth that don't fit with the agendas of today's media.

I'm against racism and all the other "-isms" of that ilk however, the more policing and laws that are put in place, the less freedom we have.
Before you can say "Jack Robinson" (oops! Is it okay to name him?) we'll not be allowed to speak out against politicians and the likes.
The erosion has begun.

"F-R-E-E-D-O-M!" Mel Gibson (Scottish legend of the 14th Century) :saltireflag

13-03-2012, 08:26 PM
I love the Edinburgh song, it never fails to get the do-gooders up in arms.

Prof. Shaggy
13-03-2012, 08:30 PM
bah bah black sheep is considered to be racist

Is it really?

13-03-2012, 08:32 PM
Is it really?

It's definitely considered 'non-PC'. My son was taught "Baa, baa, blue sheep" at his nursery.

Prof. Shaggy
13-03-2012, 08:35 PM
It's definitely considered 'non-PC'. My son was taught "Baa, baa, blue sheep" at his nursery.

I suppose the use of the passive tense will cover a multitude of nonsense.

13-03-2012, 08:38 PM
Pornographic sheep! what next?

13-03-2012, 08:56 PM

You bad man.

13-03-2012, 08:56 PM

Anyone bitten yet?

13-03-2012, 08:58 PM

Do they still sing about "the master" though, thus further entrenching the notion of a patriarchal society?

13-03-2012, 09:02 PM
Anyone bitten yet?

Haha, the do-gooders are in bed Cropley. They will be up in arms tomorrow no doubt. :greengrin

13-03-2012, 09:04 PM
Haha, the do-gooders are in bed Cropley. They will be up in arms tomorrow no doubt. :greengrin

They're maybe singing their bairns off to sleep just now with baa baa blue sheep. :greengrin

13-03-2012, 09:04 PM
[QUOTE=Pretty Boy;3147108]Completely off topic but that bah bah black sheep story is one of the biggest and most enduring urban myths going.

The real story dates back to 1986 and is well worth a read. Shows how.media manipulation can make otherwise sensible folk believe total nonsense and downright lies.[/QUOTE

is that when it became offensive?

I'm not sure it is offensive.

As I say search for the real story and the way a 'nothing' story can snowball becomes clear.

Of course if it suits someones agenda to believe the 'PC brigade' banned 'our' songs then the truth probably won't make much difference to their thinking.

13-03-2012, 09:38 PM

Shirley it should be red sheep? :dunno:

13-03-2012, 09:52 PM

No excuse. We put our own house in order first.

13-03-2012, 10:55 PM
Rangers fans could use their current predicament to go ahead and have a good old fashioned sing song, including all the classics at their next home match. I mean it's not like the authorities could do anything worse to them than is probably happening to them right now!!!!:greengrin

They already have, first game in admin and the book of banned songs came out. The media called it "showing great support"

13-03-2012, 11:09 PM

:yawn:

13-03-2012, 11:18 PM
If it was the Edinburgh song

Dunno what age these two guys are. If they are teenagers then fair does a year ban will perhaps make them realise that they cant and shouldnt indulge in this sort of racist bile.

If they are adults then Hibs should go the whole hog and ban them for life.

LeithBoozy
13-03-2012, 11:54 PM
If it was the Edinburgh song

Dunno what age these two guys are. If they are teenagers then fair does a year ban will perhaps make them realise that they cant and shouldnt indulge in this sort of racist bile.

If they are adults then Hibs should go the whole hog and ban them for life. What, that is discrimination against us oldies. you young cant! :rolleyes:

14-03-2012, 06:17 AM
Was thinking that masel, if it's the boy I'm thinking of he got a doin at ma local for being a total prick. :greengrin

Where's your local?

14-03-2012, 06:52 AM
Does it matter?

Edit: reply to scoopyboy.

Suppose it would matter to the guy who got the doing.

14-03-2012, 07:41 AM
Pretty sure he knows where he got it ;) was a few years ago and he was singing the yams version of the "edinburgh" song.

I think you should name the pub, you saw fit to bring it up so lets hear the name of the pub.

14-03-2012, 07:47 AM
I think you should name the pub, you saw fit to bring it up so lets hear the name of the pub.

If you look back I not even sure its the same boy, so what's the odds?

14-03-2012, 08:57 AM
If you look back I not even sure its the same boy, so what's the odds?

The odds are that many people on here actually know the guy in question and in my opinion he is a very good lad and to hear that he took a tanking in a pub for being a pr*ck (as you put it) is not the kind of news I want to be hearing. It doesnt matter if you dont want to give more details, you dont need to.

JIm
14-03-2012, 09:16 AM
The odds are that many people on here actually know the guy in question and in my opinion he is a very good lad and to hear that he took a tanking in a pub for being a pr*ck (as you put it) is not the kind of news I want to be hearing. It doesnt matter if you dont want to give more details, you dont need to.

14-03-2012, 09:29 AM
Pretty sure he knows where he got it ;) was a few years ago and he was singing the yams version of the "edinburgh" song. That's if it is the same person. You'll maybe know if he's a yam since he comes from your neck of the woods.

I know him well and regard him as a mate. I can't think of many weeks I don't have a drink with him.

If it is him I would get back on here and say so, however if it isn't him then I think you should be big enough to withdraw the remark about him.

To establish this however I would need the name of the boozer.

14-03-2012, 10:23 AM
Will withdraw all the posts no problem even if it is him. You'll notice that I've said that I don't know if its him in every post. Apologies to the boy if I'm incorrect, but there was a boy from tranent with what I'm pretty sure is the same name that came into a boozer in the south of the city thinking he was a big shot. Some of the local younger lads didn't agree when he started belting out some yam songs.

14-03-2012, 10:47 AM

Or even a racist pr*ck

14-03-2012, 11:03 AM
I never fail to be amazed how quickly threads on hibs.net get hijacked onto some other subject.

Back to the point. IF the guys were singing racist/bigoted songs (e.g. The "Edinburgh Song" managing both), then good on the polis for lifting them.

Now lets see you apply the same principle across the board, e.g. with the Old Firm fans.

14-03-2012, 11:07 AM
Or even a racist pr*ck

Ha - you were there as well, would you care to name the pub? I cant understand why the name of this pub is such a secret.

14-03-2012, 11:09 AM
Ha - you were there as well, would you care to name the pub? I cant understand why the name of this pub is such a secret.

Could you lot PLEASE get a room :greengrin

14-03-2012, 11:18 AM

I dont have a clue about the incident. I'm just pointing out the boy is allegedly a racist.

edit - not allegedly, hes been found guilty of being a racist prikc

14-03-2012, 11:23 AM
Will withdraw all the posts no problem even if it is him. You'll notice that I've said that I don't know if its him in every post. Apologies to the boy if I'm incorrect, but there was a boy from tranent with what I'm pretty sure is the same name that came into a boozer in the south of the city thinking he was a big shot. Some of the local younger lads didn't agree when he started belting out some yam songs.

I don't think it is him to be honest, I'm sure I would have heard about it. I have known him well for over 20 years and know most of his stories.

I asked about the boozer simply because he is getting flak about the weekend and I didn't think he deserved to have other bits added on that may not be true.

14-03-2012, 11:29 AM
I dont have a clue about the incident. I'm just pointing out the boy is allegedly a racist.

edit - not allegedly, hes been found guilty of being a racist prikc

He pleaded guilty to a charge made against him, he wasn't found guilty.

As I'm sure plenty on here could testify to it is often cheaper and easier to plead guilty at the first time of asking.

To fight a football related offence is often a lost cause even if innocent and there is lesser penalties than if you go to trial.

Regardless of what happened at the weekend I have never thought of him as a racist prikc.

14-03-2012, 11:36 AM
I can categorically 100% confirm there was no racism involved, unless you believe the term "Weegie b**tards" is racist. Case closed.

On a sidenote, good to meet you on Saturday, Scoops and Brooster. Nae idea what I said to you both as I was severely under the influence but I trust our meeting was cordial and we left on gentlemanly terms.

M11BMO
14-03-2012, 11:42 AM
I can categorically 100% confirm there was no racism involved, unless you believe the term "Weegie b**tards" is racist. Case closed.

On a sidenote, good to meet you on Saturday, Scoops and Brooster. Nae idea what I said to you both as I was severely under the influence but I trust our meeting was cordial and we left on gentlemanly terms.

Trousers round your ankles, Bri? :rolleyes:

14-03-2012, 11:50 AM

As I'm sure plenty on here could testify to it is often cheaper and easier to plead guilty at the first time of asking.

To fight a football related offence is often a lost cause even if innocent and there is lesser penalties than if you go to trial.

Regardless of what happened at the weekend I have never thought of him as a racist prikc.

Whoever this guy is, whether he pled guilty or was found guilty, he's guilty. You could argue its worse the fact he admitted and pled guilty.

I realise hes your friend but racism should never be defended.
Who knows, it may have been a drunken slip of the tongue but it doesnt make it ok. I can see your point re football related offence though especially with this type of offence.

If its a racist slur/chant/song on a train why not just charge him with that? Is it easier to accept if we tag this sort of behaviour as football related instead of being Scottish cultural related?

Nonetheless he deserves all he gets.

14-03-2012, 11:56 AM
Whoever this guy is, whether he pled guilty or was found guilty, he's guilty. You could argue its worse the fact he admitted and pled guilty.

I realise hes your friend but racism should never be defended.
Who knows, it may have been a drunken slip of the tongue but it doesnt make it ok. I can see your point re football related offence though especially with this type of offence.

If its a racist slur/chant/song on a train why not just charge him with that? Is it easier to accept if we tag this sort of behaviour as football related instead of being Scottish cultural related?

Nonetheless he deserves all he gets.

It wasn't racist. End of story. :aok:

14-03-2012, 11:56 AM
Trousers round your ankles, Bri? :rolleyes:

Doesn't make you a bad person, babes :cb

14-03-2012, 11:59 AM

Regardless of this I suspect he probably knew he would be found gulity. Seems like your trying to imply he was innocent and to be fair he probably wasnt.

I know big S very well also and I totally support your comments I wouldnt ever think of him as a racist either, probably just been away with it and sang sumit stupid, like im sure alot of people including myself (years ago) have done when intoxicated. Doesnt make it right of course, but im defo not a racist and suspect alot of other who hav esang that song before arnt either.

No getting into this debate tho as there will be counter arguments galore on this and it shouldnt be sung IMO, simple.

Daft big Hearts **** that he is :greengrin

14-03-2012, 12:01 PM
If they deserved it fair enough. It was always going to be some non Old Firm fans that would get pulled up first though eh?

14-03-2012, 12:28 PM

Hi Pedantic, everything was fine until you started racially abusing us and calling us all the weegie b'tards under the sun. :wink:

14-03-2012, 12:30 PM
Regardless of this I suspect he probably knew he would be found gulity. Seems like your trying to imply he was innocent and to be fair he probably wasnt.

I know big S very well also and I totally support your comments I wouldnt ever think of him as a racist either, probably just been away with it and sang sumit stupid, like im sure alot of people including myself (years ago) have done when intoxicated. Doesnt make it right of course, but im defo not a racist and suspect alot of other who hav esang that song before arnt either.

No getting into this debate tho as there will be counter arguments galore on this and it shouldnt be sung IMO, simple.

Daft big Hearts **** that he is :greengrin

Agree with your post squire, except maybe ex Hearts in the last line.

14-03-2012, 12:31 PM
I look forward to reading about consistency being shown and lots of Celtic and Rangers fans being arrested at the weekend. If we are being told that this is now the law and the precedent has been set then it absolutely has to apply to everyone.

FWIW though the term "Weegie *******" isn't racist although it could be percieved as offensive, since it's hardly a compliment.

14-03-2012, 12:32 PM

You were fine, a brave guy slagging big Matty though (even if you are brother in laws).

14-03-2012, 12:33 PM
If they deserved it fair enough. It was always going to be some non Old Firm fans that would get pulled up first though eh?

Agree with this as well.

14-03-2012, 12:40 PM
Hi Pedantic, everything was fine until you started racially abusing us and calling us all the weegie b'tards under the sun. :wink:

Did anyone mention "West Coast Sc*m"?

:offski:

booboo_hibs
14-03-2012, 12:41 PM

Im glad you know you are 100% certain there was no racism. I was sitting in this carriage, completely by accident, when the guys started all this. The Edinburgh Song was sung over and over and also another song was sung which was just racism, nothing to do with football, hibs, edinburgh or the 'weegies', but I dont want to bring the words onto here.

It was great that even when the polis told these guys they would be lifted at Central, they decided to continue.

14-03-2012, 12:47 PM
Im glad you know you are 100% certain there was no racism. I was sitting in this carriage, completely by accident, when the guys started all this. The Edinburgh Song was sung over and over and also another song was sung which was just racism, nothing to do with football, hibs, edinburgh or the 'weegies', but I dont want to bring the words onto here.

It was great that even when the polis told these guys they would be lifted at Central, they decided to continue.

Thanks for confirming this.

In which case, can we please stop any pathetic attempts to defend these people and just admit we have idiots in our support the same as anyone else. The first step to fixing a problem is to admit that there is one.

ChrissyG1875
14-03-2012, 12:48 PM
If it's the same people on my train they 100% deserved it. They were singing the edinburgh song and other pish, it was quite embarrassing as I was wearing my hibs scarf sitting near them. Definitely more than 2 people though.

14-03-2012, 12:58 PM
I just dont get it, how ****ing difficult is it to
CHANGE THE WORDS
to the Edinburgh song, deary ****ing me.

14-03-2012, 01:07 PM
The Edinburgh sung was sung at game at Ayr as well. Most of those who started it stopped at the actual 'apart from' bit but a few continued.

There were a couple of idiots in front of me away from the main signing section guys who were also from time to time sniffing something from in their pockets and spent the whole game, when they weren't sining p1sh, fidgeting about and looking all over the place for stewards or police.

We undoubtedly have a new breed of numpty coming through.

14-03-2012, 01:08 PM
That song is disgusting and a complete embarressment to the club and is as racist as you can get so no sympathy if that is what was sung.

14-03-2012, 01:14 PM
The Edinburgh sung was sung at game at Ayr as well. Most of those who started it stopped at the actual 'apart from' bit but a few continued.

There were a couple of idiots in front of me away from the main signing section guys who were also from time to time sniffing something from in their pockets and spent the whole game, when they weren't sining p1sh, fidgeting about and looking all over the place for stewards or police.

That is worrying. Even the most mentally challenged members of our support have, in general terms, been historically been able to grasp that being a Hibs supporter is about being cool, classy and unique. Therefore, if you have to be offensive and provocative, you do it in an entirely different way (i.e.: non-racist, non-sectarian) to Jambos, Huns, Smellies and just about other support in Scotland.

14-03-2012, 01:29 PM
If you were a bad boy/girl on Saturday going to, at, or coming back from Ayr then there is good chance you will be getting an early morning call some time soon from Strathclyde and Lothian & Borders police force, good result for Hibs on the pitch, away from it another bad day from some of our fans who were arrested in Ayr, Glasgow, Glasgow train station and on the train travelling home from game.

14-03-2012, 01:30 PM
The lesson is: there's no way anyone can duck the consequences of this bill.

14-03-2012, 01:32 PM
I never fail to be amazed how quickly threads on hibs.net get hijacked onto some other subject.

Back to the point. IF the guys were singing racist/bigoted songs (e.g. The "Edinburgh Song" managing both), then good on the polis for lifting them.

Now lets see you apply the same principle across the board, e.g. with the Old Firm fans.wouldnae haud yer breath waiting on that tae happen.

14-03-2012, 01:39 PM

If it's the same people on my train they 100% deserved it. They were singing the edinburgh song and other pish, it was quite embarrassing as I was wearing my hibs scarf sitting near them. Definitely more than 2 people though.

Far from a "new breed" Andy

At big away games over the past 25 years, a certain type always come back out from under their stones. They also fill up the South End of the East Stand at Derby games.

For the most part, no team colours. Some spend the day getting completely wasted, high or both and looking for trouble. On Saturday there were several pockets amongst our crowd, mostly of the "we think we're hard" brigade. On that train there was a crew going up to meet with other firms for a scrap at Central Station.

We shouldn't forget that there was a high degree of fascist and racist involvement in football hooliganism in the 80's. A large amount of coke use too. It's never really gone away and those individuals do show up occasionally. I was idealogially on the left (ANL, AFA) but most of the hooligans I know had or have far right (NF, BNP, EDL, SDL) sympathies. It's not surprising that these big trips encourages a "reunion". Some hangers on may then find themselves joining in with the dodgy songs.

Nae excuse but hardly a new problem

14-03-2012, 02:08 PM
I told you the do-gooders would be out in force today.

14-03-2012, 02:11 PM

Are you at the wind up or do you seriously think that condemning the Edinburgh song makes somebody a do-gooder?

14-03-2012, 02:13 PM

You mean the anti-racists?

14-03-2012, 02:15 PM
I told you the do-gooders would be out in force today.Would you allow the Edinburgh song to be sung on your bus ?

14-03-2012, 02:24 PM

What is a do-gooder exactly?

14-03-2012, 02:26 PM
Of course Im at the wind up, some folk on here need to lighten up though. I dont know if half the folk on here dont really go to many football games but some seem a little bit fragile to be going to games on their own. Yes the Edinburgh song is distasteful but is it really the end of world for Hibs and their fans if it occasionally gets sung on a train load of Hibs supporters heading from Ayr to Glasgow after a QF Scottish cup win?

14-03-2012, 02:31 PM
Of course Im at the wind up, some folk on here need to lighten up though. I dont know if half the folk on here dont really go to many football games but some seem a little bit fragile to be going to games on their own. Yes the Edinburgh song is distasteful but is it really the end of world for Hibs and their fans if it occasionally gets sung on a train load of Hibs supporters heading from Ayr to Glasgow after a QF Scottish cup win?

It's not the end of the world. That song is unacceptable though isn't it?

Edit. Just noticed the band in your Avatar. There's irony.

Suburban Hibby
14-03-2012, 02:39 PM

Another non 'pc' witch hunt begins. Well in brooster.
Go and get it really going and tell us the pros & cons on Tricolour waving.....:aok:

14-03-2012, 02:44 PM

No it's not the end of the world but it's certainly does our clubs reputation no good and it's not something I want to be associated with.

It's disturbing that this is even being argued on here.

14-03-2012, 02:53 PM

Also illegal and patently unacceptable.

14-03-2012, 03:00 PM
No it's not the end of the world but it's certainly does our clubs reputation no good and it's not something I want to be associated with.

It's disturbing that this is even being argued on here.

Disturbing? Disturbing that folk are discussing a distasteful football chant on a hibs message board? Are you having a giraffe?

For the record: I'm not racist, Im not a weegie, I dont like the Edinburgh song, I like The Specials, I like a wee wind up now and again. I dont take things too seriously. Over and out.

14-03-2012, 03:01 PM

So you are certain that there was no racism involved but in the next breath say that you were so pashed that you cant remember what you said to Scoops and Brooster. :confused:

14-03-2012, 03:11 PM

What if the train-load of Hibs supporters includes some Hibs supporters of Jewish or Pakistani heritage?

14-03-2012, 03:12 PM
Disturbing? Disturbing that folk are discussing a distasteful football chant on a hibs message board? Are you having a giraffe?

For the record: I'm not racist, Im not a weegie, I dont like the Edinburgh song, I like The Specials, I like a wee wind up now and again. I dont take things too seriously. Over and out.

What I should have said was its disturbing that this is even being defended on here....
"but is it really the end of world for Hibs and their fans if it occasionally gets sung on a train load of Hibs supporters heading from Ayr to Glasgow after a QF Scottish cup win"...

Being a wind up merchant is one thing, sympathising with racists is another.

14-03-2012, 03:14 PM
West ham sing "East London is wonderful, it's full of tits fanny and West Ham" maybe that's the way to go :)

14-03-2012, 03:19 PM
Yet another footballing first for the cabbage.

chortle chortle :thumbsup:

andy1875
14-03-2012, 03:32 PM

Some folk on this board are like stray dugs wi a bowl o stovies when they smell a wiff of getting their PC hats out. Pathetic really when it was quite obvious Brooster was at the wind up.

Also for the record, I'd tend to believe this lad from Tranents mate, Scoopyboy, over a guilty plea and slap on the wrist fine. Folk get caught up in the moment at times, end of.

14-03-2012, 03:53 PM

Me too - and if that's the case then they deserve everything that's coming to them.

That said, it is nothing short of INCREDIBLE that with 10s of thousands of weegies singing morally bankrupt allegories to "the 'RA" and various fenion blood swilling ditties on a weekly basis - both inside their grounds and in the streets, buses and towns thereafter - that it has taken the visit of an Edinburgh team in Ayrshire for the police of that area to actually act on this new bill.

This says an awful lot about the ingrained acceptance of bigotry as "normal" in the west - and also suggests that the Police are not exempt from the childish jealousy that exists in the West for all things edinburgh.

14-03-2012, 03:58 PM
That said, it is nothing short of INCREDIBLE that with 10s of thousands of weegies singing morally bankrupt allegories to "the 'RA" and various fenion blood swilling ditties on a weekly basis - both inside their grounds and in the streets, buses and towns thereafter - that it has taken the visit of an Edinburgh team in Ayrshire for the police of that area to actually act on this new bill.

This says an awful lot about the ingrained acceptance of bigotry as "normal" in the west - and also suggests that the Police are not exempt from the childish jealousy that exists in the West for all things edinburgh.

We will see just how serious they are in policing this new legislation, remembering though that the chief of police who's name i forget, said on tv you cant arrest your way out of this problem.

I'm not condoning what was done last week, but i do get the feeling the authorities will always take the easy option every time.

14-03-2012, 04:07 PM
Football being used to tackle an issue that is ingrained in Society............. unbelievable!

14-03-2012, 04:15 PM
That song is disgusting and a complete embarressment to the club and is as racist as you can get so no sympathy if that is what was sung.

:agree: indeed it is and it has NO place amongst the Hibs support.

Of course, the great irony of the song is that Edinburgh is indeed wonderful - apart from the sort of stupid ****my ham-shankers who like to sing it!

LintonHibs
14-03-2012, 04:42 PM
West ham sing "East London is wonderful, it's full of tits fanny and West Ham" maybe that's the way to go :)

Sexist. :stirrer:

http://www.crackajack.de/wp-content/uploads/2007/11/woman.jpg

14-03-2012, 07:21 PM
So you are certain that there was no racism involved but in the next breath say that you were so pashed that you cant remember what you said to Scoops and Brooster. :confused:

Aye, 'cos whilst I was oot the box on Saturday night, I was perfectly fine on Monday night when I got the honest truths of the matter. I trust this clarifies matters :aok:

14-03-2012, 07:30 PM

The Wallace Mercer song is distasteful, the Edinburgh song is racist and if you condone it (even in jest) then you too are a racist. Simple really.

HibeeMcGinn1
14-03-2012, 09:36 PM
any particular reason why my previous post was deleted? cause i didnt agree with the mass?

14-03-2012, 10:10 PM
So hiberlin can call me a racist and I cant call him/her a clown? How does that work? Delete both posts or no posts surely?

14-03-2012, 10:15 PM
So hiberlin can call me a racist and I cant call him/her a clown? How does that work? Delete both posts or no posts surely?

Thought you'd be happy. Wasn't your intention to get the "do gooders" up in arms? Didn't you get the response you were fishing for? Or did I touch a nerve?

14-03-2012, 10:18 PM
Check you.

Thought you'd be happy. Wasn't your intention to get the "do gooders" up in arms? Didn't you get the response you were fishing for? Or did I touch a nerve?

14-03-2012, 10:30 PM
Let me get this right, some yam gets pissed, makes a **** of himself by singing a song you expect a 16 year old to sing and gets done. What's with all of the defending of him?

14-03-2012, 10:41 PM
Let me get this right, some yam gets pissed, makes a **** of himself by singing a song you expect a 16 year old to sing and gets done. What's with all of the defending of him?

With respect, I didn't as much come on to defend him it was to try and establish if it was him or not that was the Hearts prick from Tranent that got filled in at your unnamed pub.

He got fined for singing an unlawful song going by the accounts on here and in papers, I never challenged that.

14-03-2012, 10:57 PM
What I'm getting at is we've got hibs supporters bickering over what some ****ing jambo did. I'll find out on Saturday the name of the boy that got a doin for being a prick and singing the yam version of the "edinburgh" song. Thumbs up smiley.

14-03-2012, 10:59 PM
It's pathetic how wound up folk on here get, tbh.

14-03-2012, 10:59 PM
I wont sleep until i find out the name of that pub. :wink:

14-03-2012, 11:00 PM

Feisty.

14-03-2012, 11:04 PM
I wont sleep until i find out the name of that pub.

Lol, ****ed if I know what difference it makes. I didnae even say it was him, the big T must be some band of brothers :)

francobaresi
14-03-2012, 11:05 PM
There are an awful lot of perfect supporters on here... I'm glad I'm one of those supporters that sits down and doesn't show any emotion... Hibees ra ra ra...

Football is getting rather dull these days...

HibeeMcGinn1
14-03-2012, 11:54 PM
check the keyboard gangsters out tonight eh

HibeeMcGinn1
14-03-2012, 11:56 PM

What I'm getting at is we've got hibs supporters bickering over what some ****ing jambo did. I'll find out on Saturday the name of the boy that got a doin for being a prick and singing the yam version of the "edinburgh" song. Thumbs up smiley.

what yous getting all angry for? your getting really annoyed eh?

15-03-2012, 06:23 AM

Annoyed about what? And keyboard gangster, really?

:)

15-03-2012, 06:25 AM

Angry, no. Annoyed, no. Just resigned to fact that a small (but thick) element of our support will always be racist or racist apologists.

15-03-2012, 06:34 AM
There are an awful lot of perfect supporters on here... I'm glad I'm one of those supporters that sits down and doesn't show any emotion... Hibees ra ra ra...

Football is getting rather dull these days...

Sometimes, the posts on here are straight out of the 'Follow Follow' book of excuses.

I wish folk would stop implying that if you can manage to avoid singing offensive songs, you don't show emotion at the football. If racist/sectarian/whatever songs are what stops football being dull, we're no better than the bigots from the West.

15-03-2012, 06:37 AM
Sometimes, the posts on here are straight out of the 'Follow Follow' book of excuses.

I wish folk would stop implying that if you can manage to avoid singing offensive songs, you don't show emotion at the football. If racist/sectarian/whatever songs are what stops football being dull, we're no better than the bigots from the West.

This sums up my muddled thoughts quite nicely. :-)

15-03-2012, 06:43 AM
You are getting your knacks in a right old fankle with this one, so much that you are resorting to insults, now thats thick lol.

Angry, no. Annoyed, no. Just resigned to fact that a small (but thick) element of our support will always be racist or racist apologists.

15-03-2012, 06:49 AM
You are getting your knacks in a right old fankle with this one, so much that you are resorting to insults, now thats thick lol.

Lol, just because I didn't respond to your post that got deleted doesn't mean I didn't get the chance to read it before the admins launched it. :-) Brilliant stuff, please keep it coming.

15-03-2012, 06:54 AM
Over and out.

15-03-2012, 07:18 AM
Over and out.

Over AND out? Wish you'd make up your mind.

15-03-2012, 07:29 AM
check the keyboard gangsters out tonight eh

I've just noticed your location. It's YOU they're all talking about, admit it :wink:

15-03-2012, 07:30 AM
Over and out.

:troll:

15-03-2012, 07:41 AM
Should the title of this thread not read Hibs and yam fans? ;)

15-03-2012, 08:02 AM
New version
:singing: Oh Edinburgh is wonderful, Oh Edinburg is wonderful
It's full of theatres, museums and a castle
Oh Edinburgh is wonderful
Sorted, I thank you. Should attract a more cultured demographic to our support, never a bad thing:aok:

15-03-2012, 08:06 AM
Am I the only one that doesn't know what the Edinburgh song is?:confused:

15-03-2012, 08:55 AM
That is worrying. Even the most mentally challenged members of our support have, in general terms, been historically been able to grasp that being a Hibs supporter is about being cool, classy and unique. Therefore, if you have to be offensive and provocative, you do it in an entirely different way (i.e.: non-racist, non-sectarian) to Jambos, Huns, Smellies and just about other support in Scotland.

Youve nailed the new song o'edinbra is.......except for jambos huns and smellies o edinbra is wonderful:greengrin

15-03-2012, 12:48 PM

Nope, i dont have a clue either.

15-03-2012, 01:15 PM

Nope, cant say i have heard this song before.

Anyway has anyone found out the name of the pub yet, does Tranent have many pubs.:confused:

JIm
15-03-2012, 01:15 PM

I would tell you what it is but Hiberlin would probably call me rascist.

15-03-2012, 01:20 PM
New version Mark 2
To the tune of "Oh when the Saints go marchin in" :singing:

Oh Edinburgh .....is wonderful !
Oh Edinburgh is wonderful !
Apart from sad football casuals
Oh Edinburgh is wonderful !

Hopin naebody will want to kick ma heid in noo

15-03-2012, 01:32 PM

More likely not.:wink:

15-03-2012, 01:45 PM
Nope, cant say i have heard this song before.

Anyway has anyone found out the name of the pub yet, does Tranent have many pubs.:confused:

To answer your question Silv, Tranent has a few pubs but no as many as there used to be.

However the mystery pub is on the south side, presumably of Edinburgh:wink:

HibeeMcGinn1
15-03-2012, 02:15 PM

Stop getting all annoyed though. Just calm down

15-03-2012, 02:20 PM

Completely agree.

neilmartinrocks
15-03-2012, 02:25 PM

apart from our maroon friends, the chosen people and peole from the north west of the indian subcontinent. hope that clears that for you.
terrible song a damned slur on our good name.:greengrin

15-03-2012, 02:27 PM
Stop getting all annoyed though. Just calm down

Mr McGinn, are you the said racist from Tranent or not? If you are, please let everybody know, so it stops everyone from continually asking.

Cheers!

HibeeMcGinn1
15-03-2012, 04:19 PM
Mr McGinn, are you the said racist from Tranent or not? If you are, please let everybody know, so it stops everyone from continually asking.

Cheers!

calm doon

15-03-2012, 04:38 PM

No mate, unless you also add that it's only a bit of a laugh and doesn't do any harm then I might just do ;-) I'd more likely call you a nazi though because you might be able to spell that ;-)

15-03-2012, 07:06 PM
No mate, unless you also add that it's only a bit of a laugh and doesn't do any harm then I might just do ;-) I'd more likely call you a nazi though because you might be able to spell that ;-)

I'm not taking any sides here, but is implying someone is a "nazi" for expressing an opinion not a bit ironic? Or does everyone have to agree with you in your world?

15-03-2012, 07:27 PM
I'm not taking any sides here, but is implying someone is a "nazi" for expressing an opinion not a bit ironic? Or does everyone have to agree with you in your world?

That's quite a silly post if you've actually read what I've said. The implications made by me are not because anyone differs in opinion to me, rather because they have either made light of racially abusive songs or condoned them. If it talks like a racist then it probably is a racist.

hibbill2002
15-03-2012, 07:29 PM
To answer your question Silv, Tranent has a few pubs but no as many as there used to be.

However the mystery pub is on the south side, presumably of Edinburgh:wink:

Captains Cabin? Burdiehouse Inn? Gay Gordons? Straiton Inn?:wink:

hibbill2002
15-03-2012, 07:33 PM
That's quite a silly post if you've actually read what I've said. The implications made by me are not because anyone differs in opinion to me, rather because they have either made light of racially abusive songs or condoned them. If it talks like a racist then it probably is a racist.

Looking at the sig under your posts, I take it your into anal sex then?

15-03-2012, 07:51 PM
Looking at the sig under your posts, I take it your into anal sex then?

:faf::faf: :top marks Thread hijack alert. :thumbsup:

HNA5
15-03-2012, 08:02 PM
I think this has run it's course now and we're going way off topic.

Thread closed.