View Full Version : Yams My mind's playing tricks on me. What happened in '86??

11-03-2012, 04:57 PM
Hearts v Aberdeen final then, revenge for 86.

Newhaven
11-03-2012, 04:59 PM

They 'mita' won the cup and league :agree:

11-03-2012, 05:03 PM
They 'mita' won the cup and league :agree:

You're Kidding surely.

11-03-2012, 05:07 PM
Wasn't Tears For Fears at number one then?

11-03-2012, 06:12 PM
Sorry guys, you've lost me. Can someone explain what you're talking about?

11-03-2012, 06:14 PM
Aberdeen raped them in the final 3-0 ONE WEEK after losing the league on goal difference :hilarious

11-03-2012, 06:16 PM
Aberdeen raped them in the final 3-0 ONE WEEK after losing the league on goal difference :hilarious

How come nothing about this has ever been posted on .net before? :confused:

11-03-2012, 06:16 PM
1986? Mini hun loyalists lost the league at Dens when Albert Kidd scored twice in the last ten minutes and the mulleted Yams sobbed. Then, with the stuffing knocked oota them, Hearts lost the cup final tae Aberdeen 3-0. Is that '86 ye mean?

11-03-2012, 06:17 PM
Are you telling me that in 1986 Hearts were in the position of being able to do the league and cup double but ended up winning neither? Why have I never heard of this before? Is there any footage of this taken at the time? If only someone could post a link...

11-03-2012, 06:19 PM
Are you telling me that in 1986 Hearts were in the position of being able to do the league and cup double but ended up winning neither? Why have I never heard of this before? Is there any footage of this taken at the time? If only someone could post a link...

Aye mate, though ah cannae believe it masel. Sounds too far fetched. Hearts and the double?

11-03-2012, 06:21 PM
Did they not all have tears of joy in their eye after swooping the double? :confused:

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2011/2071774190_c39222c0ac.jpg

11-03-2012, 06:25 PM
Did they not all have tears of joy in their eye after swooping the double? :confused:

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2011/2071774190_c39222c0ac.jpg

No wae they haircuts, the Gorgie tramps. GIRUT :greengrin

11-03-2012, 06:29 PM
Sorry, this nonsense is clearly fabricated. Are you suggesting that a Scottish institution came within spitting distance of a league and cup double, made a total arse of it, got ****ged in both competitions, and I've never heard about it?

That stretches credence beyond breaking point, I'm afraid.

11-03-2012, 06:33 PM
How can it be revenge when they won it?

I'm sure there were lots of them with 'Double Winners' t-shirts on a few weeks before this misfortune all supposedly happened, so we're all clearly mistaken :agree:

11-03-2012, 06:36 PM
Somebody please post the choose Hearts/Gorgie parody fae trainspotting :thumbsup:

11-03-2012, 06:40 PM
Someone mentioned that they might have a 'special relationship' with the '86 double. Anyone got any videos of their success?

McSwanky
11-03-2012, 06:48 PM
I have a vague recollection of that season, but I'm sure Hearts went into the last game of the season only needing a draw against Dundee. If I remember correctly, they had a superior goal difference to second place Celtic as well. You're not trying to tell me they didn't complete the job are you? And what's this about a cup final? Surely they didn't bottle that as well?

11-03-2012, 06:55 PM
I have a vague recollection of that season, but I'm sure Hearts went into the last game of the season only needing a draw against Dundee. If I remember correctly, they had a superior goal difference to second place Celtic as well. You're not trying to tell me they didn't complete the job are you? And what's this about a cup final? Surely they didn't bottle that as well?

Bill Shakespeare himsel couldnae write such a tragedy. They fe***ns in Leith would huv tae make it up

11-03-2012, 06:56 PM
You're trying to tell me one year Hearts didn't have a special relationship with the cup:confused:

11-03-2012, 06:58 PM

We're forever blowing doubles .....!

McSwanky
11-03-2012, 07:00 PM
Ok, 19 posts and nobody's come up with any video footage to back up the claims? I'm starting to have my doubts...

11-03-2012, 07:06 PM
Ok, 19 posts and nobody's come up with any video footage to back up the claims? I'm starting to have my doubts...

dundee v pinkoids league

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UCjEsN4E85s

aberdeen v pinkoids cup final

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2pGkVGGMFEs

superb viewing

SloopJB
11-03-2012, 07:07 PM
I was at the game, hearts played most of the attacking play while aberdeen counter attacked as they did against most teams at the time.
travelled in a blue transit van full of hearts supporters back to Fife.
I enjoyed it more than them though.

11-03-2012, 07:08 PM

You mean this yin?:thumbsup:

http://youtu.be/UCjEsN4E85s

Macaroon
11-03-2012, 07:16 PM

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/1985%E2%80%9386_in_Scottish_football

11-03-2012, 07:30 PM
Wasn't Tears For Fears at number one then?

Thought it was "don't you want me" by Noyam League.

Coats on.

11-03-2012, 08:10 PM
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/1985–86_in_Scottish_football (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/1985%E2%80%9386_in_Scottish_football)

You cant believe any of the nonsense written on that website!

11-03-2012, 09:42 PM
some pictures form that great day in 86 :agree:

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b168/jamie1971/albert1.jpg
http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b168/jamie1971/greetingjambo02.gif
http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b168/jamie1971/jambos2gs5.jpg
http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b168/jamie1971/jambos3qm5.jpg

Edit: :hilarious

11-03-2012, 09:46 PM
I remember they released a record proclaiming they were going to win the lot.

You mean they didn't? Looking back that was pretty stupid of them.

11-03-2012, 10:05 PM
You mean this yin?:thumbsup:

http://youtu.be/UCjEsN4E85s
To save time, start watching at 6:50 :aok:

Give that man a knighthood.

11-03-2012, 10:23 PM
some pictures form that great day in 86 :agree:

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b168/jamie1971/albert1.jpg
http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b168/jamie1971/greetingjambo02.gif
http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b168/jamie1971/jambos2gs5.jpg
http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b168/jamie1971/jambos3qm5.jpg

Edit: :hilarious

Keep greeting, ye fannies. It's all over

12-03-2012, 07:31 AM
Love how these threads pop up every so often. It never gets boring. Sir Albert Kidd :not worth